Submitted by an Anonymous blogger

arbados Association of Journalists and Media Workers (BARJAM)1

Journalism in Barbados is dead and unfortunately no one seems to know when it died. Was it one single event or a series of events? Perhaps we can point our fingers to defamation laws or perhaps we can point our fingers at the close ties between the media and the government or maybe it is the business class. You don’t think journalism is dead? Let me show you why I think it is.

Apes Hill

In 2015 the Apes Hill project owned by Bizzy Williams borrowed 25 million from the NIS “Dat is the people pensions.” Apes Hill has since “defaulted” on this debt  according to the upper echelons of NIS with not so much as a blink of an eye. I’m just a nobody and know this, I have alerted the various political parties and they seem unbothered, whispered in the ears of the media and they seem unbothered.

This article isn’t about “poor” Bizzy though so let me continue, hopefully a journalist can interview him and ask him if he even plans on returning the money. But moving on…

Corruption Allegations

In like every year since independence allegations of corruption existed ? Honestly I’m not old enough to know or remember, but it feels that way. The BLP elite fan the flames of allegations, while stating there is evidence of over-invoicing and other questionable practices, but somehow not enough to bring anyone before the court. They are playing a dangerous political game and any reasonable journalist would ask about the evidence or stop writing about it. For example you allege to have evidence of various overpaid lawyer fees yet fail to bring it to court? Surely the government has access to not only to the old paper trail, but also to the bank accounts of government to generate new statements. I’m sure a journalist can figure this out, so what is the issue?

Alternatives to Defaulting?

From my extensive research as a non journalist countries don’t default on their debt; it is exceedingly rare. From the Washington Post to The Economist that point is reiterated over and over again. My simple journalistic question is this;

“If a country goes to the IMF to improve its creditworthiness, why default and then go to the IMF?”

Let me ask that a different way, what sense would it make publicly telling your bank that you are are going to refinance and their is nothing they can do about it (defaulting) and then hoping that a future bank or lender would want your business.

Journalism Under DLP rule

Before some partisan person states that I have DLP bias I should perhaps state that journalism under the DLP was equally as woeful. The only thing I’m thankful for is that the media really did their job in helping to oust the persons who brought the economy and country to its knees. Perhaps one could argue that journalism wasn’t dead in the months leading up to elections, the media struck back? So kudos to the media there for that small victory, however if the media were perhaps doing their job the economy wouldn’t have gotten so bad and perhaps we wouldn’t even had had the DEMs again in 2013, but alas that is history.

Investigating, shaping the minds of the public  

Perhaps the media houses had too much control in any case and this dilution of power is a good thing and the tradeoff is simply shoddy journalistic standards as the media can no longer afford to retain the best talent. Perhaps we need more civic minded persons to write and speak out or perhaps only experts not auditors speaking out as economists or politicians speaking out as professionals beyond their scope. I don’t have all the answers so don’t mind me either for I’m not a journalist.

P.S. Advocate, Nation or Barbados Today(pretty sure Barbados Today wished a reporter recently) I apply to be a journalist as of mid October 2018 Terms and Conditions apply. Perhaps I can contribute in some small way.

2nd P.S. Freelance only ! I don’t wish my NIS going to well never mind.

Signed,

Humble farmer

104 responses to “Open Letter to Media Practitioners”

1. Bush Tea

I am in the best place to criticize the BLP shite.

My feet firmly placed on higher ground – its called moral standing,or integrity or even principle.

The DLP got to tek dey lashes – but Bushie trust me – Mia is a Category 6 – yuh hear.

Yuh remember Caswell words last week in the Sunday Sun – how the last govt was doing crap and he was glad to se the back of them but he never thought he would miss Sinckler when he see what Mia is doing.

And if we really want to be objective and not play this ‘both sides ‘ business – without looking at degree – then we will all be part of the hypocrite society.

2. T. Inniss,

Have yo noticed that Barbados Today has three pictures of Mia on its home page. Is this Mr Jong working overtime? Or Barbados Today indulging in the sweet and sour pork?

3. The Barbados Association of Journalists and Media Workers (BARJAM) has a new face.

Following voting at the Association’s Annual General Meeting earlier today, at the Argentina Embassy at Hastings, Christ Church, those in attendance cast their ballots and elected the body to represent them for the remainder of this year and on to 2020.
    Veteran journalist Emmanuel Joseph beat Ryan Broome to be re-elected as president.
    Broome however was elected as vice president by acclamation, while general secretary Rachelle Agard, treasurer Marlon Madden and public relations officer Deanzer Roberts were all elected in the same vein.
    The floor members selected to represent the body are Christina Smith, Trevor Thorpe and Anthony “Admiral” Nelson. (RA)(Quote)

Is this what passes as news reporting?

4. An example of bad reporting. Why was he remanded, when he pleaded guilty? Was it for reports, if so say so. How long for?

In full view of the surveillance cameras attached to Central Police Station, Guyanese proprietor Hamenauth Sarnedranauth was conducting business at his Tudor Street store.

In fact, not only was he caught on two occasions, but one of those days was last Sunday when all stores were supposed to be closed.

Sarnedranauth, 48, of Tudor Street, St Michael, was in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court yesterday where he pleaded guilty to contravening Paragraph (3), Subparagraph (1) of the Emergency Management COVID-19 Protocols Special Curfew No. 3 Directive 2021, in that there being a directive requiring every person to observe such social distancing and associated protocols in the interest of public health imposed on the island from February 3 to 17, being the owner of a non-essential service not permitted in this directive namely Premier Wholesale, he failed to remain closed on February 14 and again on February 16.

Leave a Reply to Vincent CodringtonCancel reply