Monica_Boyce
Submitted by Monica Boyce, nee Greaves, Coverley homeowner

I just wanted to put behind the past and live a quiet life – me, Monica Yvonne Boyce (nee Greaves), a 61-year-old Barbadian who spent 20 years in the US, and then lost my dream home at #28 Prior Park Heights, Stage 2, St. James in unprecedented malicious and horrific circumstances.

After seeing the offerings at The Villages at Coverley, some seven and a half years ago, I decided to purchase a home there for the sum of $289,000, with an agreed $100 plus in monthly maintenance. My conveyance is not with Coverley’s management, but the Ministry of Housing (from Derek Alleyne, Director of Urban Development Commission).

I chose # 979 Tamarind Drive because I found the view of the St. George valley and the St. Philip skyline, particularly inspiring. I bought this cash, and moved in April 7 2011. My home consists of two bedrooms, one bathroom, a living room, and back patio, outfitted with washer, dryer, fridge, stove and plumbing and electrical fittings.

There were only a few of us at the time, and I basically kept to myself, but, as time went on, I met other residents at the Meet & Greet sessions. I felt it was a warm place until I saw little things that were not adding up.

The defectiveness of the finishes soon became apparent. From the outset, there were constant leaks in the roof, so I constantly needed to do repairs, after the six-month warranty. When I called on management (“Anna” on behalf of Mark Maloney), there was no satisfaction. The roof would be fixed, yet the leaks persist to this day. Other residents experienced similar issues, and I noticed a pattern. Whites are catered to, while Blacks are ignored.

The Whites live almost exclusively in Avocado Avenue, and appear to have different rules from the other residents, and are treated differently. For example, trees are not to exceed the height of the fence. Yet Avocado Avenue residents have trees a number of feet over this height and are allowed to erect garden ornaments, a liming spot and decorative figurines. This practice is not permitted in the Villages by Mr. Mark Maloney.

When the Fresh Market supermarket opened three years ago, I decided to support it and would spend $300 in produce every week, only to have it rot by the time I got home in the shuttle. The quality is poor and pricey, so I no longer shop there. I go to Massy, Worthing, which is, ironically, cheaper. Similarly, the store fronts are empty. Tenants move in and quickly move out due to high rents.

It’s not “a place to call home”. It’s a TRAP! Coverley is an 18th century plantation, with Anna as overseer, cracking the cat ’o’ nine tails on the backs of the black residents, with her lynch men on bicycles reporting on residents’ activities.

There are strict rules in force. For example, if you want to sell your home, you are not allowed to erect a “For sale” sign in front your house. Initially, garage doors had to be uniform, although they were later changed when purchasers were not forthcoming because of this restriction. Management makes changes at will and then informs residents, as if by decree.

Notably, on signing up, I was informed there would be a bowling alley and church constructed behind my home. However, two years ago, after being away in New York I returned to find instead a monstrosity erected (a warehouse for Fresh Market), a blatant breach of contract. The construction was so massive that it compromised the structural integrity of my back wall, causing a crevice.

One of my immediate neighbours wrote a letter to Management about this, and was informed that structural engineers would assess the damage. I then spoke with the supervisor, Rommell, and, in true puppet form, he reiterated this. However, this never materialised, and whenever I brought up the issue with management, no action was taken.

The Coverley product is clearly of poor quality. The tiles are extremely dangerous and slippery when wet, and, once when I accidentally broke a tile, to my shock, it was a plastic covering.

The countertops are just veneers. Imagine the supposed “granite” finish in the kitchen has started to bubble up! Furthermore, the house was to be outfitted with a lawn, as outlined in the contract, but this, also, did not materialise. When I queried this, I was told the six months’ warranty had expired, so I would have to look after it myself. The maintenance fee is also questionable – supposedly for street cleaning, garbage collection and with the mail boxes in a state of disrepair, needing painting.

You fall in love with the concept and without scrutinizing the property, overlooking any faults. You, honestly fall victim to “buyer beware”. By January 20 this year, I was at the end of my tether, and approached Management, boisterously complaining about the warehouse’s location, the rotten produce at Fresh Market and the poor garbage service collection. A light-skinned woman came out the office and asked me not to curse at her. I calmly explained I was chastising her (as opposed to her presumption that I would use profanity).

The Police have forcibly picked me up twice this year since my interaction with management and taken me to the Psychiatric Hospital where I have been detained and treated in an undignified and contentious manner. The first time occasion was on January 21st, Errol Barrow Day. I remember vividly as I was listening to excerpts from his speeches. I was detained there for two and a half weeks, and the more recent incident occurred August 14th for a two-month period.

While there, Coverley’s management somehow obtained my daughter’s e-mail, and informed her there was human and canine faeces in my house, and that the neighbours were complaining about rodents’ entering their homes.

They harassed her to such an extent that she suffered a nervous breakdown and had to be hospitalised. Since she, too, has been persecuted and given the fact that I never at any point gave them her contact information, I need an award on her behalf. I gave no authorisation to anyone to enter my home. They were trespassing. The e-mails clearly show that Coverley‘s management had been in my home unlawfully. I have all the e-mails sent to her as evidence.

I live on a disability cheque from the US, and when I came home, I had to pay almost $400 to have my phone reconnected, and my water bill was $500, although there was clearly no progression on the metre.

All over Coverley it was rumoured that I was a mad woman. WhatsApp was abuzz. People were looking at me strangely, and gossip was rampant. Life was never the same. I realised who were genuine neighbours and who were fake. Every time I see a Police car, I’m traumatised. My every move is watched and whenever I have a visitor, a management truck is in front my door. These are the conditions you are living under at “a place to call home”’. I reiterate it is a trap.

I should mention that I have been diagnosed “bipolar” for 36 years, but in the US I was never treated in this inhumane and callous manner. Over there you are classified as “special needs”, but in here in Barbados, you are labelled “mad.” It’s most unfortunate – derogatory, extremely archaic and colonial, dungeonous even, based on ignorance, void of basic education, no compassion, no understanding. These are the conditions under which I live in Barbados, a supposedly educated and literate people. I have nothing to be ashamed of. It’s their problem, not mine. After the unlawful detention, I kept my own space because I knew one day I would come to the Press.

Now let me make it clear. I have NO intention of leaving Coverley. I bought this house as a retirement home. Management has to be replaced, and my daughter also must be compensated for the persecution she suffered.

After spending some $500,000 total on my home to date, I want compensation. I want money. I have a criminal attorney, Lennox Miller, on the case, and I am suing the Police and the Psychiatric Hospital for abuse of power and Coverley’s management for breach of contract.

Assistant Superintendant Thomas visited my home October 8 and said she had received a complaint from my lawyer, and assured me that the case is being investigated. I was happy you see that at least SOMEONE has principle. The Commissioner of Police at all levels also appears to be an honest and upright human being.

The Treaty of Chaguaramas, of which Barbados is a signatory, categorically states you are to be free from Police persecution and free to walk freely as a human being (among other things). Yet, all of my rights were violated by Coverley’s Management, the Police and the Psychiatric Hospital. So I’m demanding justice.

246 responses to “Villages at Coverley Cover up – not a place to call home!”

1. “Outside of Mr Rudy Thomas who was a former resident in this new plantation, and the writer of this blog Ms. Boyce needs Greaves the rest of the real inhabitants in the enclave are using pseudonyms of fear of retribution by Mark Maloney and Anna

Does this picture not galvanised the rest of us to any action ?

Do we not feel anything?

Are we but rocks and non sentient objects tossed from one site to another, at the whim and fancy of these men and women?”

The government ministers can put an end to the Maloney nastiness negatively impacting these homeowners…if they were not all so CORRUPT and BRIBETAKING…it is the government giving the likes of Maloney license to violate the rights of the citizens unchecked…that is why Mia and her clowns must go, to date they have done nothing to make sure the people are not victimized by thieving minorities like Maloney et al.

2. @Bush Tea October 26, 2018 8:11 AM “Simple Simon understands gardening and ZRs…[and mental illness]

Thanks.

You are right.

I spent more than 20 years living 2 houses away from a person with severe mental illness, schizophrenia. This person was married to a close relative.

I have seen. I understand. I AM compassionate. If a person has diabetes, hypertension, cancer we take them to the doctor/hospital, that is the compassionate thing to do. If a person is mentally ill they should also be taken to the doctor or hospital, preferably by a close relative. That is the compassionate thing to do.

IF THE LADY HAS NOT RECEIVED WHAT SHE HAS PAID FOR SHE SHOULD RECEIVE IT.

But I won’t join others in pretending that mental illness is not real, that it does not require ON-GOING treatment. To behave like that is the very worse kind of stigmatization, and does those people disabled by their illness no favours.

3. @TheOGazerts October 26, 2018 6:27 AM ‘Wow! I am at lost for words. I can only hope that all continues to go well for Simple Simon.”

I too have multiple illnesses which all require lifelong treatment. I have to see my doctor regularly, and take my medicine every day. I am very fortunate to have supportive family nearby. Family who insists that I keep my 4 times per year appointments and take my medicine every single day.

i know illness. i know disability. I know compassion.

But I have no use for fake compassion.

4. @ Mr. Rudy Thomas

The houses were manufactured Badly elsewhere and put up at Coverley on botch foundations

5. @T.Inniss October 26, 2018 8:29 AM “In Barbados people like to hold any episode or history of mental illness against those who battle with it – as a weapon – to keep people in check and to name and shame them.”

The lady brought her own name into the public domain, which perhaps is symptomatic of her illness, and her deteriorating health.

I did NOT bring the matter to public attention. I do not know the lady. i do not know Maloney.

6. I understand why this woman would cuss and carry on having previously lived in the USA for 20 years and would have come to expect a level of professionalism which does not exist in Barbados.

In her frustrations after being milked for $hundreds of thousands and being treated far worse than a rabid dog and a serious lack of professionalism any normal human would overreact.

I had to overreact many times living on the island where large sums were involved.

Bajans like to rob you and then seek to destroy you after the damage.

I have been in her shoes locally and I am not Bi-Polar.

7. Those Coverley kennels were assembled in Miami and shipped to Barbados..the usual scam where Bjerkham went looking for some investor mutt with more money than sense…they were getting a lot of such fools at the time, but the dude died…they continued the scam with Maloney as front man and ended up ripping off the taxpayers, the pensioners AND the homeowners who were not informed enough….to know not to buy those kennels..

8. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

Monica Boyce nee Greaves needs help.

It is her misfortune she lives in a country where mental illness is treated by some as a character flaw and not an disease.

A lot of Bajans including some on this blog are uncaring low life scum sucking vermin who don’t give a flying puck
    about some less fortunate than them.

I wish Monica well. I hope she has family members who can find a way o help her.

9. @bajans October 26, 2018 12:17 PM “I worked with three colleagues who all had the condition. Two had masters degrees and they had all reached senior positions in their field. They worked hard, took their medication.”

TOOK THEIR MEDICATION.

10. But now that the Cow, Bizzy, Bjerkham, Maloney et al are blacklisted and exposed worldwide because of their dishonest ways, hopefully this level of scamming people on the island…and scamming the likes of Andrew Lloyd Webber and Simon Cowell will be significantly reduced.

The only scams the people now have to watch out for like hawks are the ones involving the same minority crooks and government ministers again ripping off the treasury through taxpayer funded contracts and dipping their hands into the social security pension fund., because they are all too greedy and blinded by corruption to stop.

11. @Hants October 26, 2018 1:21 PM “A lot of Bajans including some on this blog are uncaring low life scum sucking vermin who don’t give a flying puck about some less fortunate than them. I wish Monica well. I hope she has family members who can find a way o help her.”

Did I not suggest last night that her daughter, or iImay add now, other family have her hospitalized.

12. @ WARU

Those Coverley houses were manufactured at Lears

13. The major ingredient in the houses is cement … Rock Hard Cement!!

14. Have yo figured out the business model yet?

15. These are what are referred to as prefab houses. The prefab work as John alluded was done by PRECONCO, a company owned by Maloney and Co.

16. “@ WARU

Those Coverley houses were manufactured at Lears”

Certain parts of those houses were imported from Miami…I remember vividly it was in the newspapers when large slabs were imported. photographed and shown in the newspapers …don’t know if it’s the roof and other parts were done by Preconco…but not everything…

17. @John

The concept and business model is from a USA partnership, manufacturing started before Rock Hard Cement came to Barbados. The other ingredient is a fine stranded wire, and hardener.

18. And they still look like dog kennels..I can’t believe they were selling those as houses for people to live in….with families.

19. You are right…there was no Rockhard cement then…

It was a big show in the newspapers, large slabs imported, I guess the Miami billionaire who was paying for all that at the time called the tune.

20. @ Hants
    A lot of Bajans including some on this blog are uncaring low life scum sucking vermin who don’t give a flying puck about some less fortunate than them.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

If you really knew how endemic it is what you have outlined above.

21. Unfortunately positions will be taken based on political and social affiliation, neighbourly concern will not be the overriding consideration. This is what the Barbados we use to know has transformed to.

22. I am glad the lady had the courage to admit she had bipolar disorder. Having people admit to problems of this type will help remove some of the stigma of having a mental disease.

23. Some are saying ‘they know differently’, ‘this is not the full story’, ‘ BU needs to investigate more’

You are right there; you know the story; you have a computer; you can write anonymously….. why don’t you tell the story?

Even scared to be one of the anonymice

24. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Unbelievable! A black government gave permission to a “private developer” to build real estate on a tropical island minus vegetation – and i’m talking specifically about trees. Trees provide natural solar shading, lowers the heat island effect in built up areas, breaths in harmful carbon dioxide and expels oxygen.

The site looks like a death trap. Just imagine if a fire was to break out – it would spread quickly. How does one evacuate safely such a narrow site.

My heart goes out to Monica. This development should never have been given clearance by our “town planning department”.

Even on a modest estate such as the Coverleys, the stench of apartheid appears to be embedded where whites appear to be looked after better than the black residents. Look carefully at the layout of the estate, it appears to be modelled on the design of a slave ship.

This story is truly shocking and demands a response from the government. Will this government be prepared to pass legislation that will stop the local black population from being exploited. There is something rotten at the heart of this country.

@ Hants,
    Did i read you correctly. Did you really say that the houses were fine for students and pensioners?

@ Simple Simon,
    All I can say is wow!

25. We keep warning BAJANS in the Diaspora…do not bring your money to Barbados…the government ministers will sell you out to the dirty maggots, Cow, Bizzy,Bjerkham, Maloney and all the racist criminals and thieves on the island…keep your money outside of Barbados until ALL this reaches its climax…and comes to its inevitable conclusion.

26. The policy based loan (ie from the CDB)will be used to aid in enhancing how business is done in Barbados, improve resistance to climate change and increase social protection systems(Quote)

What are the plans for the improvement in how business is done in Barbados? What is the government’s environmental policy, including preparations for climate change? Did the CDB carry out full due diligence?

27. @ Talkingloudsayingnothing
    Even on a modest estate such as the Coverleys, the stench of apartheid appears to be embedded where whites appear to be looked after better than the black residents. Look carefully at the layout of the estate, it appears to be modelled on the design of a slave ship.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I played golf at every golf course in Barbados for years and I always said to the blacks that Barbados is former South Africa however still in Apartheid.

28. @ Talking Loud Saying Nothing,

Yes I said the houses are fine for students and pensioners. ( 2 or 3 people per house )

I also said the houses need air-conditioning because small rooms, small windows in a concrete house would be uncomfortable.

I lived in a chattel house in Barbados for the first 20 years of my life. I also lived in a 600 sq.ft concrete box in the 70s in Barbados.

If I had to live in a Coverly house I would install air conditioning and make the garage living space. A car does not need a stable. lol

@ David the blogmaster,

One of these days I will send you my resume. lol

29. @Hants
    It is her misfortune she lives in a country where mental illness is treated by some as a character flaw and not an disease
    Wise words but not only in Barbados, although there has been much acknowledgement and improvement in the treatment of mentally ill persons in the country where you reside they still show up disproportionately in Police blotters, on the street or as victims of Police activity.

30. This nails woman should go do a video about the white man that called that elderly black woman “an ugly black bitch” and remained on Ryannair, and instead of being charged is on national tv blaming temper. These people kill me.

31. @Enuff another Jackass who posts on this BU blogs unlike Barbados the below happens in the Devoloped countries:

Mesher apologized for the incident, which is now being investigated by police in both England and Spain, in a recorded interview aired on Friday’s broadcast of “Good Morning Britain.”

http://www.yahoo.com/news/man-racially-abused-black-woman-105027277.html

32. IMF Tentacles – I stand by my statement. Of course you’re not smart enough to see beyond the surface of it. Unlike you, I don’t need to constantly change my moniker. #restmuh

33. Enuff of Wonderland 68…..Ryannair is being dealt with, so is the heart attack waiting to happen… vile old racist…

Ah know ya jump out to tell me that ah forgot the US has permanent residents, but before ya tell me that…let me tell ya the real issue that Jackie is dealing with…

ya masters in the BLP should be putting Maloney in his place…but they can’t because they have taken the bizzy, cow, bjerkham bribes…so they allow them all to practice racism against the majority black population while they tief their tax dollars and pension money…but we are waiting for yall…

Then there is PAIN and TEETS tiefing old people’s estates and selling or giving them away to the same Cow, Bizzy thieves…..that too gotta be dealt with…

So that is really the issues need addressing in Barbados..not Ryannair….the flight I think was from Brussels or Portugal to UK…it did not happen in UK airspace..

Anyway…ah see Mia suing Nationnews to put money in her own pocket…..what about Mia pursuing the thieves in DLP …and bizzy, cow maloney for ripping off the treasury and pension fund, lock them up for the thieves they all are…recover the money and return it to the taxpayer’s and pensioners pockets…how about that…

34. @Sargeant you are correct. Police in Canada do not always treat mentally ill people with compassion.

35. “Mesher apologized for the incident, which is now being investigated by police in both England and Spain, ”

Thanks IMF Tentacles…I was too lazy to confirm where the incident took place…it was a flight in Spain’s airspace..

36. Enuff you come with nothing better to say the lady Jackie Stewart talks the truth something you dont .Again attack the victim .you dont defend no one but the crooks enough of you ENUFF.

37. @Hants

Many of the problems highlighted by BU like in this case are universal. Some here make an ado like if Barbados is the last place on earth where the problems exist.

38. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

If u are rich/wealthy and mad as hell(suffering from mental illness) u are called/considered eccentric.

If u are not rich/ not wealthy and mad as hell(suffering from mental illness) u are tied and bound sent to psy hospital

it just the where we are. All living in Hope.

39. WARU – Why you don’t go decide whether Maloney built the slabs for the houses at Coverley at Preconco or imported them from Florida? #restmuh

40. This matter was clarified by the blogmaster in an earlier post. Preconco built the prefabs for the Coverley houses. Some maybe confusing the issue with Rock Hard.

41. @ Enuff

I don’t need to see below the surface for anything BLP stool pigeon, keep licking George Payne & Dale Marshall balls and ass.

You seem to always like shit in your face.

42. David

Thank you, that’s the root of my statement, but the Salemites ain’t that bright!!

43. We have this habit on BU of playing the man and not the ball.

44. Photo of Alabama man holding stranger’s sleeping baby goes viral: ‘Maybe there is hope for humanity’

http://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/photo-alabama-man-holding-strangers-sleeping-baby-goes-viral-maybe-hope-humanity-124317138.html

45. @ David,

I try to deal with the issues in Barbados because unlike a lot of Bajans in the Diaspora, 90% of my assets are in Barbados.

For purely sejfish reasons I want the ship Barbados to be re floated.lol

Still hope someone will help Monica Boyce.

46. Barbados’ issues regarding theft from the people, violation of their human rights…that nasty, corrupt special relationship that the black government ministers and lawyers have with the likes of bizzy, cow, maloney, bjerkham et al and all the other minorities from the other groups who have been bribing them from the 70s in order to rip off the people…is a little more convoluted and complex than is the norm…and a hell of a lot more destructive…check out all the black lives that have been ruined because d black government ministers use the police to destroy them to protect criminal minorities who rob bajans..

That is not normal..

couple years ago the commissioner of police invited bizzy to speak before some coming out parade, not sure if it was for new police recruits…but he knows bizzy is a criminal who allows his scum employees to attack black customers, he knows bizzy is corrupt…so what does bizzy do..only what he knows to do….promptly and publicly bribes the police with a 10K donation…so when bizzy or any other corrupt minority calls on the police and tells them to lock up their own black people or take them to the psychiatric hospital …those negros will NOT even think twice…

47. IMF Tentacles – I expected nothing else from one so vapid. When proved to be ignorant, resort to the yardfowl attack.

48. @WARU, the flight was from Barcelona to Uk and was still on the ground when the abuse occurred. that is why Ryannair staff should have alerted the Spanish police, but they did not. If the role was reversed I am sure the lady would have been cuffed and led off said plane.

49. Enuff in Wonderland…we know yardfowls have 15 second attention spans…this happened many years ago…as far back as 2005-6 because I saw the article about the SLABS being imported…and maybe by 2007…I went to take a peek at the kennels at Coverley..

I did not say Preconco did not build certain aspects of the Coverley kennels…I said it was a big circus in the press when SLABS were imported from Miami for the project..

Why don’t you deal with the issues I outlined..

Leave a Reply to MoneyBrainCancel reply