Monica_Boyce
Submitted by Monica Boyce, nee Greaves, Coverley homeowner

I just wanted to put behind the past and live a quiet life – me, Monica Yvonne Boyce (nee Greaves), a 61-year-old Barbadian who spent 20 years in the US, and then lost my dream home at #28 Prior Park Heights, Stage 2, St. James in unprecedented malicious and horrific circumstances.

After seeing the offerings at The Villages at Coverley, some seven and a half years ago, I decided to purchase a home there for the sum of $289,000, with an agreed $100 plus in monthly maintenance. My conveyance is not with Coverley’s management, but the Ministry of Housing (from Derek Alleyne, Director of Urban Development Commission).

I chose # 979 Tamarind Drive because I found the view of the St. George valley and the St. Philip skyline, particularly inspiring. I bought this cash, and moved in April 7 2011. My home consists of two bedrooms, one bathroom, a living room, and back patio, outfitted with washer, dryer, fridge, stove and plumbing and electrical fittings.

There were only a few of us at the time, and I basically kept to myself, but, as time went on, I met other residents at the Meet & Greet sessions. I felt it was a warm place until I saw little things that were not adding up.

The defectiveness of the finishes soon became apparent. From the outset, there were constant leaks in the roof, so I constantly needed to do repairs, after the six-month warranty. When I called on management (“Anna” on behalf of Mark Maloney), there was no satisfaction. The roof would be fixed, yet the leaks persist to this day. Other residents experienced similar issues, and I noticed a pattern. Whites are catered to, while Blacks are ignored.

The Whites live almost exclusively in Avocado Avenue, and appear to have different rules from the other residents, and are treated differently. For example, trees are not to exceed the height of the fence. Yet Avocado Avenue residents have trees a number of feet over this height and are allowed to erect garden ornaments, a liming spot and decorative figurines. This practice is not permitted in the Villages by Mr. Mark Maloney.

When the Fresh Market supermarket opened three years ago, I decided to support it and would spend $300 in produce every week, only to have it rot by the time I got home in the shuttle. The quality is poor and pricey, so I no longer shop there. I go to Massy, Worthing, which is, ironically, cheaper. Similarly, the store fronts are empty. Tenants move in and quickly move out due to high rents.

It’s not “a place to call home”. It’s a TRAP! Coverley is an 18th century plantation, with Anna as overseer, cracking the cat ’o’ nine tails on the backs of the black residents, with her lynch men on bicycles reporting on residents’ activities.

There are strict rules in force. For example, if you want to sell your home, you are not allowed to erect a “For sale” sign in front your house. Initially, garage doors had to be uniform, although they were later changed when purchasers were not forthcoming because of this restriction. Management makes changes at will and then informs residents, as if by decree.

Notably, on signing up, I was informed there would be a bowling alley and church constructed behind my home. However, two years ago, after being away in New York I returned to find instead a monstrosity erected (a warehouse for Fresh Market), a blatant breach of contract. The construction was so massive that it compromised the structural integrity of my back wall, causing a crevice.

One of my immediate neighbours wrote a letter to Management about this, and was informed that structural engineers would assess the damage. I then spoke with the supervisor, Rommell, and, in true puppet form, he reiterated this. However, this never materialised, and whenever I brought up the issue with management, no action was taken.

The Coverley product is clearly of poor quality. The tiles are extremely dangerous and slippery when wet, and, once when I accidentally broke a tile, to my shock, it was a plastic covering.

The countertops are just veneers. Imagine the supposed “granite” finish in the kitchen has started to bubble up! Furthermore, the house was to be outfitted with a lawn, as outlined in the contract, but this, also, did not materialise. When I queried this, I was told the six months’ warranty had expired, so I would have to look after it myself. The maintenance fee is also questionable – supposedly for street cleaning, garbage collection and with the mail boxes in a state of disrepair, needing painting.

You fall in love with the concept and without scrutinizing the property, overlooking any faults. You, honestly fall victim to “buyer beware”. By January 20 this year, I was at the end of my tether, and approached Management, boisterously complaining about the warehouse’s location, the rotten produce at Fresh Market and the poor garbage service collection. A light-skinned woman came out the office and asked me not to curse at her. I calmly explained I was chastising her (as opposed to her presumption that I would use profanity).

The Police have forcibly picked me up twice this year since my interaction with management and taken me to the Psychiatric Hospital where I have been detained and treated in an undignified and contentious manner. The first time occasion was on January 21st, Errol Barrow Day. I remember vividly as I was listening to excerpts from his speeches. I was detained there for two and a half weeks, and the more recent incident occurred August 14th for a two-month period.

While there, Coverley’s management somehow obtained my daughter’s e-mail, and informed her there was human and canine faeces in my house, and that the neighbours were complaining about rodents’ entering their homes.

They harassed her to such an extent that she suffered a nervous breakdown and had to be hospitalised. Since she, too, has been persecuted and given the fact that I never at any point gave them her contact information, I need an award on her behalf. I gave no authorisation to anyone to enter my home. They were trespassing. The e-mails clearly show that Coverley‘s management had been in my home unlawfully. I have all the e-mails sent to her as evidence.

I live on a disability cheque from the US, and when I came home, I had to pay almost $400 to have my phone reconnected, and my water bill was $500, although there was clearly no progression on the metre.

All over Coverley it was rumoured that I was a mad woman. WhatsApp was abuzz. People were looking at me strangely, and gossip was rampant. Life was never the same. I realised who were genuine neighbours and who were fake. Every time I see a Police car, I’m traumatised. My every move is watched and whenever I have a visitor, a management truck is in front my door. These are the conditions you are living under at “a place to call home”’. I reiterate it is a trap.

I should mention that I have been diagnosed “bipolar” for 36 years, but in the US I was never treated in this inhumane and callous manner. Over there you are classified as “special needs”, but in here in Barbados, you are labelled “mad.” It’s most unfortunate – derogatory, extremely archaic and colonial, dungeonous even, based on ignorance, void of basic education, no compassion, no understanding. These are the conditions under which I live in Barbados, a supposedly educated and literate people. I have nothing to be ashamed of. It’s their problem, not mine. After the unlawful detention, I kept my own space because I knew one day I would come to the Press.

Now let me make it clear. I have NO intention of leaving Coverley. I bought this house as a retirement home. Management has to be replaced, and my daughter also must be compensated for the persecution she suffered.

After spending some $500,000 total on my home to date, I want compensation. I want money. I have a criminal attorney, Lennox Miller, on the case, and I am suing the Police and the Psychiatric Hospital for abuse of power and Coverley’s management for breach of contract.

Assistant Superintendant Thomas visited my home October 8 and said she had received a complaint from my lawyer, and assured me that the case is being investigated. I was happy you see that at least SOMEONE has principle. The Commissioner of Police at all levels also appears to be an honest and upright human being.

The Treaty of Chaguaramas, of which Barbados is a signatory, categorically states you are to be free from Police persecution and free to walk freely as a human being (among other things). Yet, all of my rights were violated by Coverley’s Management, the Police and the Psychiatric Hospital. So I’m demanding justice.

246 responses to “Villages at Coverley Cover up – not a place to call home!”

1. Cut dear
    The woman calls herself ‘Simple Simon’…
    What wunna expect…?

If indeed Ms Boyce is medically challenged … and has paid cash upfront for her property, then it behoves baloney and his minions to be PARTICULARLY disposed to ensuring her comfort and safety.
    Albino-centrics tend NOT to think this way – but to focus on beating down complainants and critics….

Simple Simon understands gardening and ZRs……

2. @Toni Mika

Can you be specific about the complaints which have merit based on your familiarity with the matter?

3. @David, to be honest, I am way too close to the situation to give more details… suffice it to say that there are a whole bunch of other sides to this story that are not being examined.

4. For all the bloggers who are disgusted by Simple Simon callous,insensensitive remarks about Ms Monica Boyce – I too share your views.

I have noticed (don’t know if you have) for a very long time – that this simple simon person is a quite miserable old person who cannot post an independent view on any of the subjects raised.

Have you noticed the pattern ? She comes out late evenings most times and she scrolls through whatever contributions the bloggers have made – and then she picks out a line and post some crap.Then she moves on to another line and post some more jobby.

All other bloggers give their opinion – whether you agree or disagree – but her motive is always to be disparaging about what others say –

Miserable ole brassbowl.

To Ms Monica Boyce

I sympathise with you and if things are as you stated then you are right to keep exposing the filth up there with Maloney.

Maloney needs to check himself !

In Barbados people like to hold any episode or history of mental illness against those who battle with it – as a weapon – to keep people in check and to name and shame them.

So the narrative they will try to push against you is – SHE MAD – Please ignore the ignoramuses and live your life freely.

The episode with your daughter should also be dealt with by her father (if he’s around) and/or any other family members.

I for one have no doubt – that the white owners are treated more favourably.Isn’t it interesting that just by coincidence all the white owners live in one avenue ?Steupes.

5. Bushie – Spot on my man ! hahahah

To Ms Toni Mika

How do we know you are not representing Mark Maloney huh ?

6. @T.Innis representing who? You mad? I have my own issues. I represent no one but myself. So please do NOT go down that road!

7. @T.Inniss and as one of quite a few people who has been directly affected by this situation, I am a little offended… but it’s all good… If you don’t know, you don’t know.

8. @Tony Mika

Thanks for adding to the discussion, the objective of the blogmaster is to focus on the defects highlighted that maybe contributing to the behaviour of Monica. If we accept that she has been exhibiting eccentric’ behaviour, it is no excuse for the property managers to ignore her concerns. The other point is if Monica has valid concerns why have the other property owners stood silent and allow Monica in her bipolar condition to champion the issues alone?

9. Is this the same lady with the story about a bajan priest?..asking for a friend

10. Please note we have not been silent. That’s all I will say at this time… I am just asking people to acknowledge amd respect that this issue has many different layers…

11. @jade

What are you saying? The concerns raised by Monica are not legitimate? Ad hominems will not remove the concerns of the homeowner. She has rights you know.

12. @Jade I think so…

13. You better make the layers know because the matter is in the public domain and has gone viral on social media.

Put the issues out there IF you are a concerned homeowner so that the public scrutiny will help to force a resolution in the interest of those vested. Clearly this is bad press the investors do not want at this time?

14. Toni Meka

With the crap Monica has to put up with after spending her hard earned money on the House it makes for understanding for her response to take revenge
    The owners of the property needs to take full responsibilty
    Maybe u ought to read Monica post and understand why she would be outrage as shit instead of trying to villify and condemn her actions
    After all her 298thousand dollars is being toss into a heap of garbage with owners response as to say “So what”

15. Pardon me, but there is no IF about this. Complaints have been made at the office level, the political level and the legal level with petitions… And persons are still waiting….

16. How does “Toni Mika” become “Tony Mika”

17. @Tony Mika

We need you to be more specific and granular in your response.

What are the complains submitted at “the office level, the political level and the legal level with petitions”?

When were they made?

Do the complaints mirror those of Monica?

Is there an ultimatum statement included in the documents sent to property management for resolution to the issues raised?

18. I will repeat. Since this is a legal matter, I cannot comment further. For those who either are lawyers or understand the law, I think you understand why I say what I say.

19. This being a legal matter has nothing to do with confirming the grievances how they align with those highlighted by Monica.

20. The warranty on a new-build home should at least be ten years. Six month is not even what you will get on a good computer. The warranty on a new car is three years. Where are our consumer protection officials? Where are the regulators?
    Barbados is s failed state.

21. This is the high price people pay for wanting to be “middle class.”

22. @ David,

Who is the parliamentary representative for Coverly. He / she should be informed of the apparent problems facing one of the constituents.

If this 61 year old lady is having health / mental problems she should be helped.

23. I sat and read all the comments and someone ask if she bough a lego box, to that person i doubt you have your own home and probally living and paying rent, also if i had the money i would rather pay for those houses than the ones in Lower Greys or the ones the Government gives you. Now this lady has told us that she is Bi Polar( think) and how can fruits spoil from a mere less than five minutes drive, how come no other residents are complaining to such an extent? BAJANS LIKE TO JUMP PUN A BAND WAGON TO MUCH WITHOUT KNOWING ALL THE FACTS. I know people up in there who have no problem with the place, so what is her issue. If you have a leak it has to be fixed, There is clearly something wrong with this picture. ANYHOW I GUINE DE BANK AND GET A MORTGAGE AND BUY ONE BEFORE YEAR END!!!!!! I would rather live there than LOWER GREYS (EASTERN LAND DEVELOPMENT) or get a house from the BARBADOS GOVERNMENT. Oh to the person who says that aircondition units should be put in”WHAT FOR” the choice is yours.

24. ” Her condition has degnerated seriously ……. I am not saying that some of her report aren’t factual, but everything needs to be taken with alot of grains of salt…”

Has it occurred to yall that the nasty crap she is being subjected to …crap that you too is admittedly experiencing is causing her condition to deteriorate rapidly…that nasty pretence and bullshit racism and lowlife antics of Maloney et al are no joke, it’s not that she cannot recognize it when she sees it, she also experienced it in US…and to then have to be subjected to it by a bunch of halfassed thieving minorities who are pretenders and frauds in Barbados will certainly not help her condition mentally.

Yall are used to being treated like shite and accept it as the norm ……but it is much harder for someone with mental health issues…it causes their mental health to deteriorate significantly.

And then there are the a*sholes who lack empathy for their fellow black people who are being treated like second class citizens after their spent their money buying those shite houses which I myself looked at and would not allow a dog to live in them..

25. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

@ Toni

U say it now a legal matter. Has the matter being filed in the courts? My questin to you is a simple one.

Does any of Monica’s concern about “BIULD QUALITY” form part of the legal proceeding?

26. My apologies… only one or two people are willing to hear all sides in an impartial manner and the others are here simply to judge so I will rescind all of my statements. Could the blog master please tell me how to delete my comments? Thanks everyone and blessings.

27. “This being a legal matter has nothing to do with confirming the grievances how they align with those highlighted by Monica.”

She admitted there are problems but is one of those bajans who although they are being marginalized and their human rights are being trampled …they still want to keep. it a secret talking about it’s a legal matter, still trying to keep up appearances…it is a matter that will never be resolved with the kind of dirty people like Maloney ya dealing with if it is not exposed to the world..

A child died at the entrance of Coverley because Maloney thinks he can do as he likes on the island because he owns dumb, corrupt ministers of government….and he built an illegal protrusion to kill Bajans despite Town Planning telling him it was an illegal build…..and everyone is sitting back and acting like it is ok..when. his ass should be in prison for that child’s death..

Yall need to wake the hell up..

28. As a fellow resident, Tony Mika is spot on and they are several layers to this story. I suggest before running such stories BU does some investigative journalism. Do you have evidence to support any of her claims? Where is the other side of the story? Did you interview any of her neighbours? Did you give the management of Coverley and opportunity to respond to her claims? What you have here is her side or what she perceives to be what happened. Coverley is not perfect but it is home for us who chose to make it our home. I am so tired of people grabbing at straws and actively looking for negativity in our development.

On a final note, there are two publications circulating by the same author in this one she admits to being diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder and suffering from the conditions for 36 years. In the other, she accuses others of falsely making this acquisition to get her committed to the psychiatric hospital. Both articles were published this week. Maybe BU should also do some basic investigation as to whom they receive stories from before publishing.

I know I will be accused of being a Maloney minion like Tony but just like them, I am a simple resident who knows the author and have a better understanding of the situation.

29. @Tony Mika

There is nothing to prevent you from redacting a document that has been sent to Coverley property owner. The blogmaster will ensure there is no metadata etc. So far we have not offered a concrete counter to what has been put on the table by Monica and by your admission she has a legitimate grouse.

30. @BajanGirl

You have the opportunity to offer the other view. Why not take it?

31. Given the Bajan culture of bottom feeding and selling out..of course Maloney minions would appear, that is all some people know…BUT…we all know how low class and dirty Maloney and his ilk are, so nothing disgusting they do to black people whom they ROB…will surprises anyone..particularly not us..

32. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

To the best of my knowledge almost all builders and/or developers encounter building issues and build issues with the houses they construct. The difference is how does the constructor/contractor/developer deal with the issue they encounter after the house become homes of the families that occupy them etc.

What says you Toni & BajanGirl

Just asking

33. Agreed Sir Fuzzy, one major issue is that people do not read or understand their legal contracts and do not seek to have them clarified when they are confused. They sign on to documents and have no understanding of their legal rights and those of the other parties. I have seen so much incorrect information circulation about Coverley over the years even from residents and I am always like did you read your contract. For example, one error in this story is that the maintenance fee is for garbage collection. That is incorrect just like all Barbadians we receive garbage collection from SSA and now pay the levy like every Bajan with a water bill.

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

“I just wanted to put behind the past and live a quiet life,….and then lost my dream home, in unprecedented malicious and horrific circumstances…..”
    kinda got the feeling this story wasn’t going to end well?
    “You, honestly fall victim to “buyer beware”…..I decided to purchase a home there for the sum of $289,000…After spending some $500,000 total on my home to date, I want compensation. I want money.”
    I guess it could be worse, you could have bought a $300,000 T-Bill.
    Saddening how unprecedented and horrific experiences seem to just follow some people through life. They are victims over and over. Are we without compassion, or more adept at recognizing a Spade.
    SS and BT have sharp cognitive skills, ignore either at your own risk.

35. I will say this anonymously. I believe Monica because I too was living in the villages of coverley and the leaks she complains about have been in my property also and may I add cracks in the walls and the tiles as the house settled. I have photos and complaints to management but because you are outside the 6 month warranty you have to fix it yourself. The square was always a hive of good activities but the management aka Anna does a terrible job at having compassion for anyone, it could be a resident or a worker as long as you are black, you could see how her racial bias is. All question and queries are sent to her and she makes ALLLL the decisions. I had to move from the villages at coverley and buy another property elsewhere because of the horrible encounters I had. This is why now the town square is a graveyard. Anna Clarke is literally the person behind the scenes pulling all the strings. Monica I honestly understand your plight and I wish you all the best and you persue them. Stand up for your rights. God is not sleeping and judgement will come to these people who think they can have their power over us.

36. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@BajanGirl.

I agree we must read the contract cover to cover. But seldom do we and many of us are not legally inclined and it will be a painstakingly long and uneventful trek. Given the fact this may also be a “cash flow” decision. it often comes down to can i afford this unit with all the “associated legalities in the unread contract ” or “promises from the sales pitch (wo)man ” or the “other unit in another development” etc. ‘ Common sense contracts are a thing of the past.

The sales pitch may vary a bit or a lot from the written contract signed, so i can see where “verbal misunderstanding my ensue about garbage collection and other things etc”

My question still remains; does the build quality meet your expectations? Do they response in a reasonable time frame to correct the issues the home owner highligths, etc

37. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

How can a 250000investmet come with only a six month warranty. Some New vehicles come with longer period of warranty. A Tv or iron you get 90 days. But an irom or washer is 90.00 and 1500.00 respectively. So another 287500.00 you get an addition 90 days.

Now lets get real; how often does anything go bad in six months. But then again if you have pretty shoddy workmanship on the houses u can see many of the defects pretty soon. However six months is way to short. Two years on a known schedule of cost sharing would be much better.

But we live in hope in the village and the Villages (@ david :-)). BTW Davis i think i know where Hope is NOT located. Its not Coverley lol.

38. Sir Fuzzy, to answer your questions. Firstly I selected my house before it was built, I did not purchase one of the ones that were complete this gave me a unique opportunity to visit during construction and to see how things where done I also had my dad who has some building knowledge and we monitored the progress like two hawks. After purchase, I had three small issues nothing serious and they where all rectified to my satisfaction. Even though I don’t think it should matter I think my approach is what brought me sucess first off I verbally reported the issue, secondly, I invited management on my property to see first hand what I was talking about and lastly I followed-up with a written letter. Going to the ppl of office and cussing up the place verbally abusing there staff gets you nowhere. I will also stress the importance of civil communication and written documentation. You also cannot demand they fix something outside of the warranty period (it varies depending on the item for example roof vs. way windows) you signed onto unless it was reported before and was not rectified by before the expiration of the warranty. My advice, have a professional such as an engineer inspect your home before purchase if purchasing a built home and READ your contract. My advice is for purchasing any property whether Coverley or not.

39. I notice an obvious pattern in Barbados having resided on the island and seeing it in the Stewart’s family case.

Whenever skullduggery in Barbados is exposed you have all type of individuals seeking to destroy the individual’s character who exposed the wrong doings.

Then the naysayers always bring up being a court matter which they use also to silence and act as a cover.

I know of no developed country where one only gets a 6 months warranty on any part of a new home build.

In fact the Builder/Contractor would be termed a cowboy, shutdown and prosecuted.

I admire this woman for speaking out like Jackie Stewart and her mother.

Barbados is full of fraud, dishonesty and corruption.

40. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

BajanGirl i am glad you seem to have a more pleasant experience with the developer than Monica. However we are not all cut from the same cloth. I make no excuse for cussing or bad behaviour etc. But if you lodge a complaint within the warranty period the office person should be professional enuff to ignore the “bad behavior of the home owner” and resolve it with in a reasonable time.

Key words “reasonable time” and “resolve”

if you resolve it in a reasonable time they should be no need for the home owner to revisit the office with that same complaint.

On another note. Mental illness often goes undiagnosed and untreated. it some thing we as a society have to come to grips with.

41. In the USA

Builder warranty policies typically cover up to 10 years of structural defects; one year of coverage on items such as stucco, drywall and paint; and two years of coverage on HVAC, plumbing and electrical systems. Appliances are typically covered for about six months.

Sep 14, 2010

42. Having being very close to workers and residents .. coverley has a very high turn over rate due to how Anna treats the staff… management is very nice before you purchase your home and then turn their backs afterwards. I am not surprised at this article as i have seen with my 2 eyes what goes on in there and I wouldn’t purchase a home even if you pay me to. Trust this is on levels you wouldn’t believe. Are you aware that even as simple as giving out fliers at a cropover party Maloney wants nothing of, saying he doesn’t want “those people in there” .. wake up… wake up

43. Apparently homeowners at Coverley live in appliances…I have never heard that before… 6 months builder warranty on a whole house…and that was ok with the briebtaking former minister of housing who greenlighted that Coverley scam….and the stupidity of government paying for each kennel not sold….most of them never sold…

….so how much of taxpayers money went to fraudulent Maloney and the balance given to both ministers of housing in kickbacks.

44. I looked at the houses in Coverley and would not live there. They are concrete boxes, with low ceilings and no yards. There are no built in closets. The rooms are so small if you put in a queen size bed and a dresser there will be no room for a wardrobe. For a country as hot as Barbados, those houses should have large windows to allow the breeze to cool down the interiors as there is no AC. What is the $100+ maintenance fee for? Are these condominiums? There are builders in Barbados who will give you a proper house on land for the same or less money. Try Signature Homes.

Re bipolar disorder: I worked with three colleagues who all had the condition. Two had masters degrees and they had all reached senior positions in their field. They worked hard, took their medication and got along with staff. They were respected but in Barbados mental illness is a bad word and sufferers are treated as if they have the plague.

45. @pieceuhderockyeahright October 26, 2018 1:15 AM “@ Simple Simon. You are talking badword about the social security payments and i will tell you why you are talking badword.”

I simply quoted from very reliable sources that the average social security payment is about $1,500 USD per month, that however 3 states pay a bit more.

I also quoted that for the average American social security payments make up most of their retirement income.

So let us say $1,499 Social Security + $1,499 other retirement income=$2,998 USD is what the average American retiree lives on. This is an average, so of course some people get less income, and of course some get more, perhaps a lot more if they were in a high paid job or profession, or if they took advantage of investment opportunities to acquire income generating assets.

That is all I said. I did not make up the data. The data is in the public domain for all to see.

America is believed to be a rich country, and we non-Americans may want to believe that all Americans are rich. The truth is the average elderly American gets by on about $3,000 USD per month. In small towns and cities, and if the elder has a spouse or partner, and if the elder has a paid up home in good repair, $6,000 USD per month can buy a nice standard of living. But in big cities, some elders, especially those elders who live alone, who do not own their own homes, who face, high and rising rents sometimes struggle.

That is all I was pointing out using publicly available data.

46. @WARU October 26, 2018 3:27 AM. “ya cannot access social security disability or pension….UNLESS YA ARE A US CITIZEN.”

This is NOT true.

People who have lived and WORKED, and PAID in the U.S. Social Security System that is those who hold what are commonly called “green cards”, that is lawful permanent residents, can access their social security pension starting at the age of 62, although some prefer to wait a bit longer and so collect a bigger pension. The widows and widowers of such people can also get a social security pension, even if they are themselves not Americans. America has its faults, but is not so unjust as to deny a Bajan widow of an American citizen or green card holder who has spent many years paying into the system some portion of her late husband’s pension.

You do NOT have to be a citizen to collect a social security pension.

Please spend a little time becoming familiar with the U.S. Social Security system: https://www.ssa.gov/

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

No matter where you go in Barbados you arrive back at the same destination of “Privilege and Rights for the Selected Few” and “Suffer you RH Suffer” for the common man who invariably is IN THE CASTLE OF MY SKIN

However which way we cut this, we have a major problem as it relates to the Rights of Individuals AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, the ability of consumers to first seek and then get, equitable justice for their matters.

Outside of Mr Rudy Thomas who was a former resident in this new plantation, and the writer of this blog Ms. Boyce needs Greaves the rest of the real inhabitants in the enclave are using pseudonyms of fear of retribution by Mark Maloney and Anna

Does this picture not galvanised the rest of us to any action ?

Do we not feel anything?

Are we but rocks and non sentient objects tossed from one site to another, at the whim and fancy of these men and women?

THE WRITER SAYS SHE IS ILL, NO ONE HAD TO COME AFTER HER AND ACQUAINT US OF THAT MEDICAL CONDITION.

Yet, incredibly, the issues about a 6 month guarantee, defects in the property, treatment by the developers, take precedence over everything else.

This is incredible and should the ole man call this the behaviour of Sheeple, many going get real vex and start cussing de ole man.

As I have said before “High wind know where old roof is…”

One day coming soon one of these elites going do this pup to the right bajan and dat bajan going slaughter them on the spot AND ALL THUS STOOPIDNESS GOING STOP!!

Mark (no pin intended) de ole man’s words

48. “can access their social security pension starting at the age of 62, although some prefer to wait a bit longer and so collect a bigger pension.”

I actually forgot the permanent residents …Simple….

But that does not excuse your nonsense with regards to a female in mental distress….who is being victimized by the Coverley gang of thieves., lowlifes and racists…

And am sure the lady is a citizen…

49. I actually forgot the permanent residents…AND their spouses…AND their disabled children …Simple….

50. @PUDRYR

A good comment.

BU’s strength is the community centric focus on issues. A society is about people, especially the vulnerable.

Leave a Reply to IMF TentaclesCancel reply