ian_carrington
Ian Carrington, Director of Finance

Ten  years have elapsed since the 2008 global financial meltdown left Barbados exposed for the open economy we have been taught it is in primary school. Across the Caribbean our little economies find themselves in the same boat with high debt to GDP and rotting infrastructures, rising corruption and a dearth of leadership.

Barbados WAS considered the gem of the Caribbean.

With all of our problems – some of our making – others caused by the vagaries of life’s existence- the blogmaster is concerned that after five months in office no definitive statement has been formally issued by the government about the current and future state of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS).

• Is the NIS fund still marketed as our life line?
  • Was it established to provide financial support to citizens in the golden years?
  • Is the knowledge that we have a well managed NIS  fund an emotional comfort for the citizenry?

It appears from all the talk we have been hearing the NIS Fund is under threat. Given the catastrophic impact a failing fund would have on the Barbados society Prime Minister Mottley would do well to schedule another press briefing to lay the issues on the table and outline, what is the plan to stabilize and rescue the fund after it was used as a lender of last resort to add debt like no other time in modern history. To add to the problem, we have been told the former government didn’t pay 400 million dollars in employee deductions to the fund.

The blogmaster has posted several blogs about the lack of management demonstrated by successive NIS Boards and by extension government. The latest Actuarial Review is late (what is new?). Audited financial statements of the fund have not been laid in parliament to comply with the law for many years. Several projects funded by the NIS and decisions taken have been questionable.

1. Prime Minister we need to know when the Actuarial Review due will be completed or if it was completed when will it be made public?
  2. Prime Minister we want to know when will the audited financial statements be laid in parliament and soon after be made public?
  3. Prime Minister we want to know on what basis Ian Carrington who was director of the NIS fund during the lost years has been given a leading role in the BERT execution in his current role as Director of Finance?
  4. Prime Minister we want to know why Dr. Justin Robinson remains active given his leadership role on the important Boards of the Central Bank and NIS Boards.
  5. Prime Minister we want to know who will be held accountable for the unconscionable squandermania of NIS funds in the last ten years.

In the debt restructure project the IMF document details that:-

NIS: T-bills, treasury notes and debentures. T-bills held by the NIS will be swapped for the new 15-year debenture; and its treasury notes and debentures will be exchanged for a 20- year discount debenture. The debenture will have with a 2-year grace period. Principal will be reduced by 17.5 percent at the issuance of the security; after the 2nd successful review under the proposed EFF-supported program, principal will be reduced by an additional 12.5 percent of the original principal; and after the 4th successful review under the proposed EFF-supported program, principal will be reduced by a final 5 percent of the original principal. Interest will be paid at a rate of 4 percent per annum for the first 3 years, followed by an interest rate of 8 percent per annum for remaining years.

Leading into the last general election the blogmaster had a brief exchange on Facebook with the former Chairman Justin Robinson about when current NIS financial will be laid in parliament- his response did not give hope the matter will be resolved anytime soon.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley you have been a big advocate for transparency AND accountability in government. We waiting to see!

67 responses to “Government MUST Clear the Air on the State of the NIS Fund, it is Our RH Lifeline”

1. We done know the destruction of Barbados is all because of the corruption, the corrupt ministers and their corrupt friends..someone wrote an article on this.

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/902218469987693/?t=270

2. @NothernObserver. Interesting. If what you highlighted is true, then my follow up question is : Where does the NIS find the cash to lend the goverment if 75% of its asset portfolio is goverment treasury, whose interest income if offset by more debenture instead of cash, plus the secondary market for goverment debt is highly illiquid.?

How do they balance pensioner payments and goverment funding at the same time without compromising one?

3. @NorthernObserver October 22, 2018 12:12 PM Don’t be surprised if the next envelope you receive from the NIS contains a T-Bill, because they have cupboards full of them.”

As long as Barbados Light and Power, Barbados Water Authority, FLOW, the supermarket, the church, the carpenter, the hairdresser, the gardener, the doctor and the vendors at Q in the Community are willing to accept T-bills then I am cool.

Otherwise this pensioner wants the Grantleys back please. Right away please.

The government, the NIS understands that I have to carry money to the shop.

Right?

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

@40
    I “think” the answer is the NIS has been unable to achieve the balance you speak of in recent years. But they have still been getting returns on GoB paper, plus the other 25% of investments. And remittances from employers. So they have money coming IN. They are not going bankrupt this year or the next.
    Appreciate when the CG and SOE’s deduct NIS but do not remit it, they are creating a forced loan. That is NIS money they are using to fund other things. We do not know if somebody had a Worrellesque ‘come to Jesus’ moment, and told the GoB “no more”, and the so the GoB decided, we just will not remit. Use an A/P as a loan.
    Going forward, the debt restructuring reduces the NIS total investment portfolio, but also their cash flow, how much they get and when.
    This is when the financial gurus have to examine predicted inflows and outflows.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    they cannot give you what they do not have?
    Mine was a tongue-in-cheek comment. For the next few years, unlikely to be any worries.
    But, once all get their head around the financial situation at the NIS, they will need more money. The choice is, increase NIS premiums or cut benefits, or a little of both.

6. The tiefing, crooked pot and abuser/exploiter of the elderly…calling the kettle black.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/22/too-much-nhc-exploitation-payne/

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ NorthernObserver

Your analyses are on target wrt NIF.
    If you can see that from as far north as you are, pray tell, how come the local technocrats cannot/did not see it.
    Again I repeat fundamental analysis from all perspectives is necessary. Otherwise we will continue to get knee jerk responses. The latter worsen the situation.

8. @NorthernObserver October 23, 2018 1:20 AM

Whew!!!

Relieved.

I expect that I have less than twenty years left, maybe less that ten, so I will let the bright young people sort this one.

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    a debate already had?
    did not/cannot see or were obstructed?
    Barbados is a microcosm of the north, both ex-colonies, both with a similar government structure, and both with a political class who primarily operate by borrowing at any cost, the only path they see to re-election (keeping promises they made before they understood anything about funding them). Our debt/capita would have bankrupted Barbados long ago. But we have a God provided abundance of natural resources, and a constant flow of immigrants who can produce, and haven’t yet adopted the entitlement mentality, which takes a generation or two to become entrenched.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    wha you worrying bout, don’t you have at least a dual public pension?

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    because you seem to take public transport more than most….can Barbados operate WITHOUT Transport Board buses?

12. @NorthernObserver October 23, 2018 12:16 PM “@SS wha you worrying bout, don’t you have at least a dual public pension?”

Long ago I worked for an SOE, but left in March of 1977. Haven’t worked for the GOB nor any of its agencies since then. To tell the truth I am not worried about me, but concerned for others. Family and friends.

@NorthernObserver October 23, 2018 4:10 PM “@SS because you seem to take public transport more than most….can Barbados operate WITHOUT Transport Board buses?”

Yes. But…

There is always a but.

But not right now.

Barbados cannot operate without some sort of good public transport. Truthfully I don’t care who owns the rolling stock, or who pays the operators, as long as the system is safe, efficient, clean, and delivered at reasonably cost to all those families who cannot afford private vehicles.

I haven’t kept a private vehicle since 1999. But my old man, bless him, who did not go to any school past the age of 13, advised me in the 1970’s to buy a piece of land within 10 minutes walk of the nearest bus stop, because the time may come when I did not have a car.

When that time came I was able to get to work by public transportation without difficulty, and even now I am able to get my routines done without difficulty. I take the supermarket shuttle for grocery shopping. This is a paid $3 BDS service. I take the occasional taxi, maybe half a dozen times a year typically at less than
    $40 BDS per trip,

This works very well for me.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    Thanks
    btw I was referring to a Canada pension, you talk about that plenty lol

14. […] The blogmaster recently read a speech by the Governor of the Bank of Uganda, Professor Emmanuel Tumusiime-Mutebile on the subject – The importance of central bank independence while ensuring public accountability. It hammered the point that we need to ring fence the Central Bank from political interference by making the governance and oversight structure more robust. Given the reports of interference of the NIS fund by politicians the same argument can be made –Government MUST Clear the Air on the State of the NIS Fund, it is Our RH Lifeline. […]

15. Clear the air on the NIS Fund??? You must be joking. Does anyone not understand the current state of affairs? You need a map?

It can be summarized in one Bajan phrase.

DEM lick it out.

That explanation enough?

16. Vapidora Allman Avatar

When you here “the NIS coping with claims on a month to month basis”, the logic tends to agree with the above. Crusoe is right, the whole thing gone, not a cent left except the bonds. Vapidora tell you so.

17. The big issue now is if the NIS accounts will now be brought up to speed. It is already a year late with the latest actuarial report.