Four transformational truths are Timing, Innovation, Strategy and CollaborationThe Elements of Transformation Strategy

There is the proven that individuals and businesses who continually adapt to the environment in which they operate will likely succeed. If we try to fit how the local public sector has been managing its business compared to the private sector and the world it gives currency to the use of the word anachronistic. Prime Minister Mia Mottley has been a frequent user of the word of late.

Unfortunately as part of government’s objective to modernize processes in the public sector, hundreds of low level, low skilled workers have been retrenched. Understandably concerned Barbadians have inquired why send home workers from the bottom if the exercise is about cutting cost? We have to protect the most vulnerable and we will be holding the government to its word that BERT has an adequate safety net included.

Honest Barbadians will admit  however if the public service is to operate efficiently in the current environment there must be a job redesign. We have listened to successive governments braying about improving business facilitation. It is not the fault of the workers although the blogmaster will suggest this is where trade unions- the workers representative- have failed in the last 25 years to strategically add value to the process of nation building.

It is an indictment on the leadership of Barbados that in 2018 government departments still record transactions in ledgers- documents still require the ‘lick’ of a stamp. The blogmaster supports the requirement to urgently transform from the analogue to the digital. Leveraging technology to efficiently deliver services is a no-brainer.  What is difficult to understand is how come successive Barbados governments have invested billions in education per capita and lag scores of other countries that have expended less!

During a recent press conference Sir Hiliary and Eudine Barriteau of the University of the West Indies (UWI) highlighted that the regional university was ranked 591 out of the 1,258 in the  Times Higher Education (THE) World University Rankings. Of interest is that both of them touched on the ‘technology and innovation park‘ which is promised to open in Bridgetown in January 2019.

In the link provided we are informed the facility will house classes to support a Bsc. Software Engineering degree programme and also technology start-up bushiness to conduct research and development in conjunction with students at the UWI. She also revealed that talks have started with Gabriel Abed of Bitt Inc about supporting new tech start ups.  Beckles also shared this is being done with the cooperation of Chinese Universities.

In BU’s most recent blog – Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate  Adams asked what kind of Barbados do we need to build now that we have dismantled what was to deliver on the kind of life we want (words to this effect).
Barrow presided over an agrarian economy, Tom Adams shifted to a mix of agrarian and services and Owen Arthur went the whole hog by switching out to a services economy. Given the suspicion how the world views jurisdictions that provide services for international business companies there is clearly an urgent requirement to incorporate new business lines to diversify and hopefully spur economic growth. Feedback so far is that the RERE programme is only a baby step in the right direction, it has to go a lot further.  Making Bridgetown a smart city is a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) manifesto promise. Ronald Jones had responsibility for Human Development and innovation. What was achieved in this regard is not worth mentioning. Pushing more ‘coding‘ in schools is a national imperative.
Although mentioning China is a hot button word for many- a hegemonist is a hegemonist- a look at how it has been integrating technology to create opportunities for its people is instructive.

396 responses to “Time to Build Barbados Silicon Valley”

1. @David October 23, 2018 8:22 AM “Here we go again allowing an important topic to be hijacked by a rehash over a trivial point.”

Dear David: The history of TransAtlantic slavery is NOT a trivial point.

Those who wish to post on your substantive topic “To Build a Barbados Silicon Valley” are still free to do so.

2. To build a Barbados Silicon Valley do the following:

3. Because it certainly did not work for my grandmother’s grandparents who worked hard all the days of their lives and left nothing materially to show that they had ever lived.

IS IT REALLY NECESSARY FOR PERSONS TO LEAVE MATERIAL THINGS TO SHOW THAT THEY HAVE LIVED?

WHAT SHALL IT PROFIT A MAN IF HE SHOULD GAIN THE WHOLE WORLD AND LOSE HIS SOUL?

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@SImple….your moniker belies your often serious intersections but also supports your otherwise trivial prose!

Surely your remark that the Blogmaster suggests that the slavev trade is a trivial point is one of the latter….oh lordie….what WAS TRIVIAL were the attempts at academic definitions of “slave”.

Back to your serious side.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“Intersections” maybe for another time, but interjections was intended in that sentence

6. @lexicon
    “You are ignorant of the concept of Slave”

Let me wallow ignorance.. it is preferable to some states of knowledge

7. @ William Skinner

A citizen who is with you in spirit awaits your paper

@ Brother in Arms Bush Tea

De ole man shall try, even though I might fail to advance your sage suggestion which de ole man knows well that the sheeple and the “class idiots” (the words of the Honourable Blogmaster not mine) have forgotten by now

“…Something like a national council of say eleven such persons, given the authority by law and the constitution to transform the economy over the next three years by executive order, would be needed to execute the kind of change that Barbados would need to have a good chance of survival and success…”

So de ole man previously submitted what in my humbe opinion would be required to enable this Creativity and Innovation Centre (a) a declared national IP policy to stop dese people at EGFL, and Fund Access from teifing people ideas (b) performance validated contracts of service (c) a time bound deliverables contract with outputs for 3 months and (d) an initial operational budget for that agency of $250K with a deferred compensation budget of **** dont worry we going work it out together

Since de ole man ent to bright I going use 10 people to calculate this salary/budget but there will be 11 staff and the head person dat de ole man going recommend righ now for that post is Brenda Pope but I going come back to her later

So that wunna “class idiots” going be on the same page, and fellers like the Innovation Pretender who does glean these things as he picks up information from Bush Tea will keep up de ole man going use some charts and ting

https://i.imgur.com/IjTfRRY.png

So Let me go back and work through the numbers first

So we decided that the operational budget for the trial period while Mia Mugabe is proving all dese pretenders is going to be $250,000 and it will be split beween each of the 10 Innovation Facilitators equally with the caveat that they have to deliver a self sufficent portfolio of projects that generate $25,000 in 6 months. or that any of their “?” initiatives MUST GENERATE ITS INVESTMENT IN 6 months and, at least, sustain that output EVERY SINGLE MONTH THEREAFTER!!!

ANY THING OTHER THAN THESE SEVERE METRICS IS A WASTE FOOP

So let us say that Peter Lawrence Thompson is one to the GURUs appointed to man one of the IP posts.

And say that he is hired to said post at $10K a month which is potentially 120K a year, it would mean that the salary for that complex is $1.2M potentially.

But as de ole man said before PLT’s contract is on a two tier structure which comprises (a) a draw of $1,000 a month (to permit him to get to the complex etc I going deal with that complex later) and (b) his ability to participate in the revenues of his ward or wards the so called creatives and innovators that he always talking bout.

The other $9K is held until his wards achieve their targets WHICH IN THE CASE OF THIS IF entity HAS TO BE A MULTIPLE OF THE $25K that is invested in each sub cluster.

Byt that “multiple of $25K” de ole man means that only initiatives which will produce high ROIs should be considered by the cluster in its pilot phase cause we gots to see the calibre of the Innovation Facilitators and that we ent getting pigs in a poke

Ohhhhhh Ohhhh de ole man want to also say that the markets for the products must have a 75/25% forex generation component to be considered else we dun know dat some of de IF fellers going get dem friends pretend to buy “product/services” and falsify the profitibility of the initiative.

But that is one of the reasons dat i choose Brenda cause she knows all uh wunna RH tricks and how to strain wunna out

Anyways back to Brenda Pope and My “Characteristics of the Innovation Director”

The reason de ole man is targeting Brenda Pope is because of the following

What this Bush Tea facility needs to begin is a “creative thinker”, someone who is able to identify and/or generate creative ideas that will be the matrix of Barbados indigenous innovations.

THe Blogmaster does talk bout Mia Mottley bright, but Brenda Pope is really bright & she is humble and she has integrity.

And this is where Brenda’s skills manifest because she is one of the few local naturally creative visionaries who not only has big ideas but more importantly, is a humble woman, ( I said humble already didnt i?) who can motivate people around her to turn those nascent dreams into reality.

Wunna needs to first understand that the Director of this facility DOES NOT NEED to be the generator of the idea(s), she just has to have the ability to see the idea, and know the path that will make that idea crystallize.

Brenda, once she “sees” that idea, she has the tried and proven ability to share that vision with the entire ecosystem of shareholders and MAKE IT SO

Brenda Pope, the Director of the Innovation Cluster IS PAID $1 a month but she will participate in the revenues of the sub clusters on a schedule dat de ole man can provide if requested (which de ole man know wil not happen cause wunna scvunt going go an try to do di wunna selves AND FAIL)

THis creates an inbuilt accountability system

Brenda’s pay is conditional on the success of her IF’s projects and the IF’s pay is conditional on the successes of their charges and their continuum in those jobs are predicated on their deliverables

But de ole man dun know that this is a Bridge too Far for the class idiots and the pretenders so dat idea dat builds on Brother in Arms Bush Tea’s brilliant suggestion GOING DEAD RIGHT HEAH IN THE RUM SHOP cause McCunny and Rawdone ent guaranteed any benefits up front from this idea and Sandra Wives and Lynette Holdim cannot fich any IMF money from this system

And the sheeple gather and they say “baaaaaaaaaa…”

8. Piece

When are going to bring some serious ideas to bear and stop all of joking around Sir?

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Lexicon at 2;24 PM

You need to read PUDRYR’s submission at least twice before you grasp the seriousness of his inputs to the debate. He has to use cryptography to protect the authorship of his ideas. LOL!!

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Lexicon

Where in any of my submissions on this, ONE OF THE MOST SERIOUS TOPICS SUBMITTED BY THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER, WAS there even the hint of joking?

You are still in a fire rage mode for something I said to you over a week ago THAT I HAVE FORGOTTEN!!

And that is precisely the point that I try to make here everyday.

Wunna does hold grudges against a feller forever BECAUSE HE DOESN’T AGREE WITH YOU.

I say what I say and move on. If what you have floated is foolishness I going tell you that it is stupidness.

And if you persist I going either find a way to help you see your stupidity, as with the Demonic Lying Party and “not one rh seat ” or I going walk away and leave you to your devices. FULL STOP.

Lexicon here is the thing.

When you say anything about the turd world powers that be, and even some of you who have left such countries but claim to be gentrified by 1st world societies the result is perpetual hatred by small minded men and women.

Bush Tea presented two major foundation blocks for this “building” that the Honourable Blogmaster provided.

We are close to 350 submissions and yet to really explore the meat of the matter.

But I am prepared to accede to your observation that I am joking with these mind maps.

We are at 350 submissions and just got one name of a Director of The creativity and Innovation Centre and the characteristics for her or any such person.

When do you guess that we will be able to submit just one project for said project.

Ooops de ole man did that this morning while joking around on the Adrian Loveridge blog didn’t I?

See what it is so hard Honourable Blogmaster to discourse with your “class idiots?”

11. Piece, can you a least take a brief moment to reflect upon the seriousness of the time … rather than infusing the blog with your dry humour? Brother, you aren’t at all … because what you think is humorous … comes across as someone who is in the early stage of a cognitive insufficiency. So stop it… and employ what is left of the little brains you have to help solve some of these problems the country is now facing.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The Central Bank of Barbados and the Financial Services Commission announced today in a press statement that they are establishing a framework for a regulatory sandbox, which will provide regulatory clarity for businesses offering viable and new financial technology (Fintech) products, services and solutions. A regulatory sandbox is a framework under which businesses can live test their innovative products and services on a small scale, while being closely monitored by regulators. Sandboxes give businesses an idea of how their products or services will perform on the market, while allowing regulators to determine if and how these products or services should be regulated. For more information, visit http://www.centralbank.org.bb/regulatory-sandbox.

13. I won’t let people like John get away with pretending that “slavery worked”
    My question to him and to people who think like him is “slavery worked for whom?”

Barrow inherited an agrarian economy which was booming as were most after the war!!!

That booming economy was founded in slavery!!

So, slavery worked.

The evidence is incontrovertible!!

If we want a booming economy do we need to go back to slavery?

The question which I have always posed is what can we learn from our past?

This is no rocket science.

Any class idiot can do it!!

It is called learning from the successes of our past!!

14. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John,
    I’ve proved this to you before, but you brain damage has allowed you to forget. Your “booming economy” that Barrow took over was one where the majority of children were malnourished and many suffered from starvation. Go and reread Dr. Frank Ramsey’s book on protein energy malnutrition in Barbados. http://sir-frank-ramsey.memory-of.com/legacy.aspx

15. @Georgie Porgie October 23, 2018 12:06 PM “WHAT SHALL IT PROFIT A MAN IF HE SHOULD GAIN THE WHOLE WORLD AND LOSE HIS SOUL?”

“You shall give him his wages on the same day, before the sun sets (for he is poor and counts on it), lest he cry against you to the LORD, and you be guilty of SIN.” Deuteronomy 24:15

The labourer is worthy of his hire. 1 Timothy, 5:18

16. peterlawrencethompson
    October 23, 2018 9:03 PM

@John,
    I’ve proved this to you before, but you brain damage has allowed you to forget. Your “booming economy” that Barrow took over was one where the majority of children were malnourished and many suffered from starvation. Go and reread Dr. Frank Ramsey’s book on protein energy malnutrition in Barbados. http://sir-frank-ramsey.memory-of.com/legacy.aspx

Have you also noticed that today, in a shrinking, failing economy, that the majority of children (and adults) are obese and diabetes makes the island the amputation capital of the world!!

17. Simple Simon
    October 23, 2018 9:11 PM

@Georgie Porgie October 23, 2018 12:06 PM “WHAT SHALL IT PROFIT A MAN IF HE SHOULD GAIN THE WHOLE WORLD AND LOSE HIS SOUL?”
    “You shall give him his wages on the same day, before the sun sets (for he is poor and counts on it), lest he cry against you to the LORD, and you be guilty of SIN.” Deuteronomy 24:15
    The labourer is worthy of his hire. 1 Timothy, 5:18

Fed, clothed and housed … all given the same day!!

18. THE LORD JESUS CHRIST, HIMSELF ASKED “WHAT SHALL IT PROFIT A MAN IF HE SHOULD GAIN THE WHOLE WORLD AND LOSE HIS SOUL?”
    THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

JOHN

IT IS AMAZING THAT DR RAMSAY BY HIS WORK ERADICATED MALNUTRITION IN THE FORM OF PROTIEN DEFICIENCY FROM BARBADOS STARTING IN THE MID 50’S………AND NOW 60 YEARS LATER THERE IS AGAIN MALNUTRITION IN THE FORM OF OBESITY!

SO HAVE WE GONE FROM TOO LITTLE OR NO PROTEIN TO TOO MUCH PROTEIN?
    SURELY THE PROBLEM CAN NOT BE JUST SUGAR (as the maguffies are proclaiming) ………BUT TOO MUCH ACETYL CO ENZYME A!

19. We went through all this already when I posted it back in September 2017!!

Here is the extract that seemed to unbalance you at the time !!

“One of the gripping stories in Dr Ramsey’s book is that of the title – Shocking The People’s Conscience. He describes how on a round of the Children’s Ward with the Medical Superintendent, Dr Graham Humby, Dr Humby became frustrated at the many sick malnourished children; he placed three malnourished children in a cot with three others and summoned the Advocate journalist and photographer.

Next morning the photograph appeared on the front page (and is reproduced on page 95 in the book) with a letter from Dr Humby which read in part: “Some time ago I made a sincere plea from the bottom of my heart that too many of our children were being neglected. There has not been the slightest response to my sincere appeal – hundreds still turn up all over the island and it makes me vomit.

“You talk, talk, and talk, and you spend thousands dressing your children beautifully on Sundays; but for heaven’s sake, first things must come first . . . . This primitive inhumanity must be stopped and nothing will stop me shouting at you from the roof tops until it is stopped. Are you hypocrites or just ostriches?”

The letter received the strongest possible support and praise from the Advocate editorial which predicted that any victimisation of Dr Humby for his dramatic action would produce a “public outcry . . . the likes of which has never been seen. . .”

In fact, what happened next was described by Dr Ramsey as a political outcry! It was near election time and in a meeting in the Lower Green, Sir Grantley proclaimed: “There is not enough room in Barbados for Dr Humby and me. I was born here and I don’t intend to go anywhere.” Within days Dr Humby was gone.”

20. PLT

Your analysis of the Humby affair was that he was a racist and all Dr. Ramsey did was give food to starving children.

I guess your diagnosis of the obesity epidemic is to bring a doctor who takes away food from children!!

The problem is in the households with the parents.

21. RE “There is not enough room in Barbados for Dr Humby and me. I was born here and I don’t intend to go anywhere.” Within days Dr Humby was gone.”

THIS BEHAVIOUR BY THE REVERED ADAMS INDICATES THE FOLLY OF POOR AND CORRUPT LEADERSHIP HIGHLIGHTED BY SOLOMON SEVERAL PLACES IN ECCLESIASTES.

INSTEAD OF SEEKING TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM THE WHITE EXPATRIATE DR WAS EVICTED! SAME THING HAPPENED IN THE 90’S WITH STROSBURG WHO DISAGREED WITH THE LOCAL MAGUFFIES ABOUT HIS PROJECTIONS ON THE INCIDENCE OF AIDS! THEY WOULD NOT EVEN SHAKE HIS HANDS!

RAMSEY SUCCEEDED BECAUSE HE WAS BAJAN AND COULD NOT BE DEPORTED, AND HE WAS SMART ENOUGH TO GO ABOUT HIS BUISNESS QUIETLY!

IF RAMSEY HAD COME 20-25 YEARS LATER, HE WOULD HAVE BEEN SNUFFED OUT AND DESTROYED BY HASSELL AND FRASER

RAMSEY AND MAURICE BYER—–THE FATHERS OF OUR PuBLIC HEALTH! TWO GREAT AND HUMBLE MEN! .

SINCE THEIR DEPARTURE, WE HAVE FALLEN TO THE POINT WHERE WE RECENTLY HAD SHIT FLOATING ALL ABOUT THE STREETS OF THE SOUTH COAST.

22. RE all Dr. Ramsey did was give food to starving children.

ACTUALLY A LOT OF GOOD WORK WAS DONE AT THE NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT CENTER, AND ALSO BY ITS EXTENSIONS IN THE FORM OF THE VISITING COMMUNITY NURSES.

MORE THAN FOOD -MILK, WAS GIVEN!

THE WORK PREVIOUSLY DONE BY THE FORMER VISITING COMMUNITY NURSES IS NOW CONTINUED BY THE VISITING PUBLIC HEALTH NURSES OUT OF THE POLYCLINICS………..WHO DO A VERY, VERY GOOD JOB

23. Hants
    October 22, 2018 4:07 PM

This is how we roll. Champagne taste.
    “The curtain came down on the annual Food and Rum Festival last night with the much-anticipated Taste the Spirits of Polo event.”
    The ladies in the photo looking sweet.
    https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/food-fun-and-fashion%C2%A0

Look at the picture of the two young women in the picture.

Will their offspring be starved out and scrawny or will they be obese?

If the mothers don’t get it their children won’t either!!

Giving or taking food is clearly not the way PLT!!

24. JOHN

LIKE ALL GREAT CLINICIANS DR RAMSEY OBSERVED PROTEIN MALNUTRITION AMONG THE POOR YOUNG CHILDREN HE SAW IN THE EATLY 50’S

HE WISELY ADRESSED WHAT HE SAW EFFECTIVELY ON ALL FRONTS

I GUESS THAT IN THAT TIME THE MOTHERS OF THE TIME WERE FED MOSTLY CARBS, AND UNLESS THEY HAD LIVESTOCK FOR MILK AS A PROTEIN SOURCE THEY HAD LITTLE PROTEIN IN THEIR DIETS. THEY CERTAINLY DIDNT HAVE, OR CONSUME THE AMOUNT OF MEAT AS IS CONSUMED TODAY

DR RAMSEY DID MUCH MORE THAN JUST GIVE FOOD!
    ALONG WITH DR BYER HE PUT OUR PUBLIC HEALTH ON A VERY FIRM FOOTING
    HE DESERVES HIS ACCOLADES! THEY BOTH DO!

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Lexicon

As with the other two to whom I have said I am done, there is no subject here that you can or will ever get de ole man go pick my teeth ever again.

Your thin skinned-ness is evident but that is not why i shall cease and desist with you.

It is the paucity of content of your counters.

You, nor your type of idiot, cannot debate with me even if i were on Salvia divinorum.

My time here is short, but I have made a promise that I will now spend one second longer with fools one I have determined them to be such.

Have a nice life!

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I wanted to understand something about your “tagging” conventional

For example you have this article tagged

“…tagged with Digital Economy, Gabriel Abed, Rawdon Adams, Technology, UWI…”

Now generally the tagging practice will “chain” to substantive contributors to, or articles about the subject matter..

So I was trying to understand Gabriel Abed and the Rawdone Adams tag since neither has to the best of my knowledge contributed to this article nor does either seem to be at the forefront of a Silicon Valley type construct.

But I could be wrong and will defer to your inside reasoning on the above.

One would hope that this SEO association with their names is not part of some sort of digital promotion for either of the two lightweights in the Silicon Valley debate

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Dr Ramsey and my Dad were close friends… my Dad gave the eulogy at his funeral. I paid no attention at all to the Humby affair… my knowledge of Dr Ramsey’s work was first hand.

I am glad to see you expose yourself as an evil racist, but I am saddened that you have lost just about all your former intelligence.

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Oh and before you respond and expose your bias de ole man would respectfully observe that a true and verifiable tag in this Silicon Valley debate would be Neil Harper

Neil in his extensive article contributed more to the substantive debate than either of these fly by night characters, one who is purported to be facilitating the cleansing of illegal drugs proceeds and the other whom the Barbados Constitution was changed to reimport.

Both of whom now work for the same company that has been unilaterally approved by the government of Barbados

If you are going to be truly fair and unbiased to the subject I would have thought that Neil’s comprehensive matrix of this matter would have featured in the fore of your tag as opposed to the less patriotically inclined Bittcoin directors

But then again de ole man is probably reading the optics on the tagging wrong

Forgive my obsessive compulsive disorder with these anomalies but it “sticks out” as an aberration to the pattern so…

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Notwithstanding this excerpt on Rawdone

“…In BU’s most recent blog – Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate Adams asked what kind of Barbados do we need to build now that we have dismantled what was to deliver on the kind of life we want (words to this effect)…”

how did the Gabriel Abed fellow mek in in there and not Neil Harper?

Please consider that my comments are to elicit discussion and a fuller understanding of this inconsequential item

30. @ Piece
    Niel

31. RE I paid no attention at all to the Humby affair… my knowledge of Dr Ramsey’s work was first hand.

THOUGH THE HUMBY AFFAIR OCCURED BEFORE WE COULD UNDERSTAND IT DR HUMBY WAS 100% CORRECT! HIS OUTBURST WAS A RESULT OF HIS PASSION AND CARE FOR THE DILLEMMA HE WAS WITNESSING. IT COULD NOT HAVE BEEN EASY FOR HIM AS A KEEN PHYSICIAN TO WITNESS THE SUFFERING AND TO SEE THAT HE COULD DO NOTHING ABOUT IT AND THAT HE COULD NOT GET HELP FROM THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT……..WHO OUGHT TO HAVE CARED!

GUESS NOTHING MUCH HAS CHANGED!

I HAD THE JOY OF BEING TAUGHT BY BOTH DR RAMSEY AND DR BYER. THEY INSPIRED ME TO DO PUBLIC HEALTH.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT
    re Sandbox
    Did you read the application and confidential statement forms?

33. @PUDRYR

You asked a question, however, you seem to have the answer and immediately ascribed a bias to the blogmaster so carry on smartly.

34. PLT

Maybe Hants could tell us what he means in referring to the ladies as “looking sweet”.

Is it the predisposition to diabetes we are told that is attendant on consuming a lot of sugar he is seeking to highlight ….

…. or, even more sinister, is he being wantonly sexist and a candidate for the chagrin of the #metoo movement!!

I don’t see how you get racism to enter … but since you are convinced Trump is a racist, then it may be just a touch of TDS, Trump Derangement Syndrone from which you suffer!!

Remember, I am no doctor.

35. Side comment

Some here use the word racist as if it is a label that can be taken on and off.
    I keep a very simple ledger… once a racist always a racist.
    It is not a category that you can transition in and out of.

36. “This is no rocket science.

Any class idiot can do it!!

It is called learning from the successes of our past!!”

Brilliant…, we learned if we ENSLAVE the 7,500 minority whites on the island, it will improve the economy and ENRICH the over 265, 000 Black population.

It is damn well worth a try, given the current economic situation.

I would try it for sure…new age slavery should not require more the 7,500 white slaves to be a success, I would damn well find a way to make it work for black bajans for 500 years into the future…all that is needed would be 100 likeminded people like myself…..for maximum success.

37. @ David is this a case of great minds think alike. lol

” BARBADOS can become the Silicon Valley of the Caribbean.”

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/biba-president-supports-fintech-push

@ John,

yes I was trying to allude to the fact that Bajans still partying and eating nuff despite the impending doom of grass with plimplers but

I will not hide the fact that I like sweet looking women too.

38. Could be Hants!

Here is the text of the article you posted.

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/sites/barbadosadvocate.com/files/styles/large/public/field/image/web-IMG_2685.jpg

Minister of International Business and Industry Ronald Toppin (right) with BIBA president Julia Hope and 1st Vice President Derrick Cummins during a church service held at the St. Cyprian’s Anglican church to mark the start of International Business Week 2018.

BIBA president supports fintech push

Tue, 10/23/2018 – 12:00am

This is the view of President of the Barbados International Business Association Julia Hope who was speaking to the media yesterday after a church service to mark the start of International Business Week 2018.

Explaining that the association is currently working to meet deadlines imposed by the OECD through its Base Erosion and Profit Shifting programme, she said next on BIBA’s Task Force’s agenda is identifying new products and services, and the jurisdictions needed to which those products and services can be marketed.

“So one of those huge areas which we are already having some success in, is the area of financial technology (fintech). We have some good companies in Barbados already operating – the likes of Polymath and AION, to name a couple.”

“They are here; they are operating and this isn’t just digital currency, this is block chain. We need to get the regulatory framework in place to enable these companies and others to thrive here, but we could very much become the Silicon Valley of the Caribbean and that is something to aspire to.”

“We are down the road trying to get this in place and that will be our next move. We have the people. If you think about a lot of the other territories that provide international business services, they don’t have the manpower.”

Hope, who worked in Bermuda as an attorney for four years noted that territory is staffed by expats. “Because they simply don’t have the manpower in Bermuda. We have it. We’ve got a university… These things are all the reasons why international business will thrive in Barbados. So we are excited,” she said.

While the sector has taken a multimillion dollar hit in recent years, she believes efforts have to be made to refocus.

“The industry changes and legislation in other countries changes. What we need to focus on is not driving business from a tax reason, or just a tax alone solution. We want people to come to Barbados to do business because of the good business environment, the regulatory environment, the political stability, the integrity of the jurisdiction. If that is then combined with a low tax rate, we’re winning,” she said. (JH)
    Section:

39. I will not hide the fact that I like sweet looking women too.

… but perhaps you should hide any rolling pins you have around the house!!

https://www.google.com/search?q=maggie+and+jiggs+rolling+pin&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=xzWIrLMJvplDCM%253A%252CdQVeZjuKrmS_jM%252C_&usg=AI4_-kQynvweWLcsPyZJUgWgaTYKDhXUQQ&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjNrpLZ25_eAhWJt1kKHaYNCZgQ9QEwAHoECAUQBA#imgrc=xzWIrLMJvplDCM:

40. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Many years ago I stated that our university should be carrying out research on human waste: faeces and urine. Woke up early this morning and the BBC world service had a new’s story on this very subject.

https://www.businessinsider.co.za/worlds-first-brick-made-from-urine-made-in-south-africa-uct-2018-10

41. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Check out the short podcast below by Lecturer and project leader Dr Dyllon Randall.

http://www.capetalk.co.za/articles/290142/uct-project-turns-recycled-urine-into-fertiliser-and-bricks-here-s-how

42. I am told Fanny Fields used to grow and sell lettuce on the side.

When asked what he used as fertilizer he would say “UREA”!!

I know a lady who gave instructions to her husband to pee on her flower garden every morning when he woke up … needless to say, beautiful blooms!!

43. So, are human faeces useable as fertilizer?

Google and you will see the problem.

…. I think I got it figured out though!!

44. Maybe this is the reason that you, when your brilliance is exhausted with your pelucid writings here, move to writing it encapsulated in your Quaker diatribes and calls for the re-establishment of slavery (though to tell the truth its no reestablishment as much as reintroduction of the physical manacles heheheheheh

Doan worry de ole man does got me moments too heheheheheh

Some would even say de ole man does have diarrhea and does be delivering drivel all de time heheheheh

45. Build Silicon Valley in The Center of Island next to the Chinese School and resort!