Submitted by DAVID A. COMISSIONG, Attorney-at-Law and Son of the Caribbean Community

A national Referendum on the issue of whether a Caribbean nation should disengage from the British Privy Council and accede to the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) as the nation’s highest appellate Court is more than just a vote about a court of law!  Rather, it is a vote that presents the national population with an opportunity to assert their inherent human right to self-determination and personal dignity, and to make a major advance in their historical journey towards the interlinked goals of full national sovereignty and Caribbean civilizational independence.

It is with this understanding in mind that I therefore look forward with great anticipation to see how the people of Grenada – the citizens of my late father’s native land – will vote in the 6 November 2018 Referendum on the CCJ.

Grenada, for me, has always been an “island of heroes”!  Aside from the fact that my late Grenadian father – Rev. Vivian Comissiong – is one of my own personal heroes, I am of the view that, for its size, Grenada has produced more heroic historical figures than perhaps any other nation in the world – heroes that have valiantly resisted European imposed enslavement and colonial domination as they sought to bring their people into a promised land of full autonomy and self-determination.

It is this struggle/journey that the Grenadian people should have at the back of their minds when they make their way to the various polling stations on 6 November.

Spare a thought for the original owners of the island of Grenada – the Carib or Kalinago people – who were so determined to resist the European colonisers and to maintain their autonomous nationhood that in 1651 (at Sauteurs in the north of the island) they chose death rather than to live in a state of European imposed servitude and national dishonour.

Recall that as early as 1765 our enslaved African ancestors – faced with the onslaught of an influx of rapacious British slave plantation owners who had descended upon Grenada – revolted against the British plantocratic regime and tried their best to escape the jurisdiction of the British slave plantation by setting up their own maroon communities.

Reflect on the tremendous example of the so-called “free-coloured” revolutionary leader, Julien Fedon, and his lieutenants – Stanislaus Besson, Etienne Ventour and Joachin Phillip – who, in the 1790’s fought the British colonisers to a standstill and almost succeeded in destroying the British colonial and slavery regime.

And then contemplate the fact that from the very beginning of the 20th century a succession of heroic Grenadians have been in the vanguard of the Caribbean struggle to extricate our region from the tentacles of British colonisation and to establish not only an independent Grenadian nation, but also an autonomous, integrated Caribbean Civilization.

This latter period of Grenadian nationalist struggle encompasses the turn-of-the century activism of the great black patriotic newspaper editor William Galway Donovan; the decades long Pan-Caribbean political, journalistic, and industrial activism and institution building of Theophilus A. Marryshow; Eric Gairy’s 1950’s radical, grassroots mobilization of the Grenadian peasantry and working class against the British colonial authorities and the social elite of Grenada; and – of course – the mighty “Grenada Revolution” of 1979 to 1983 and the efforts of Maurice Bishop, Unison Whiteman, Jacqueline Creft and others to demonstrate that Grenada would never be content to remain in anybody’s colonialist backyard.

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) that the Grenadian people will be voting for (or against) on 6 November 2018 is our very own Grenadian and Caribbean institution and is part of a structure of freedom and nationhood that we Caribbean people started to build for ourselves way back during the early struggles of our indigenous and African ancestors.

The CCJ is the outgrowth of a centuries long process, but its more contemporary roots are to be found in our 1965 establishment of a Caribbean Free Trade Area (CARIFTA); our 1973 transformation of CARIFTA into the more developed Caribbean Community (CARICOM); our 1981 establishment of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS); and the goals that we set for ourselves in 1989 with our Grand Anse Declaration and its aspirations towards a Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME).

As we set about building for ourselves a regional nation or civilization it became clear that a natural and necessary component of that process must be that we take ownership of our entire national judicial system, inclusive of our highest national Court of Appeal.

And so, in 2001, Grenada joined together with nine other CARICOM nations – Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago – to sign the Agreement Establishing the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) as both an “international court” vested with jurisdiction in respect of the interpretation and application of our Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, and as the highest “municipal or national” Court of Appeal for our CARICOM region.

Grenada also acted with great vision and a sense of responsibility by contributing its portion of the US$100 Million trust fund that our CARICOM states established to finance our CCJ on a permanent and secure basis, and by playing a role in establishing our independent and well-structured Regional Judicial and Legal Services Commission to oversee the running of our CCJ.

But in spite of the highly commendable role that Grenada played in constructing and investing in the CCJ, Grenada has– up to today– only ever utilized the CCJ in its original “international court” jurisdiction, but never in its “municipal or national” jurisdiction as Grenada’s highest Court of Appeal. That honour and critical function has –up to today– been reserved for the foreign-based British Privy Council ! 

The CCJ was inaugurated on 16 August 2005 in Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, and has therefore been in operation for some thirteen and a half years now.  And during that extensive period of time it has served all of our CARICOM nations as our  “international court” vested with jurisdiction in respect of the interpretation and application of our Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, and as the highest municipal or national Court of Appeal — but only for the nations of Barbados, Guyana, Belize and Dominica.

Needless-to-say, over the thirteen and a half years of its existence our CCJ has performed excellently well in its role as a final Court of Appeal, and, along with the University of the West Indies, has proven to be an institution of our Caribbean Community of which we can be justly proud – an institution of our Caribbean Civilization that does justice to our fore-parents’ historic struggle for dignity, self respect, autonomy and nationhood.

Why then should Grenada or any other Caribbean country for that matter have any reservations about extricating itself from the inherently “colonialist” situation of having a foreign, European court that is located thousands of miles away from the Caribbean as its highest supposedly “national” Court of Appeal ?

If we reject the CCJ – one of our greatest indigenous Caribbean constructions – we are in danger of rejecting both ourselves and our ancestors and their heroic struggles.

148 responses to “Will the “Island of Heroes” Deliver an “Heroic” vote for the CCJ on 6 th November?”

1. Do we agree Grenadians and Antiguans should vote to kick the Privy Council out!

The principals on the privy council have already said publicly that we should take care of our affairs.

https://today.caricom.org/2018/07/12/opinion-caribbean-court-of-justice-vs-the-privy-council/

2. @45gov
    “Quite right TheO for once it wasn’t a Nigerian but an Ayrab. Nice to ring the changes”.

Your commie hating Arab friend will pee herself when sees that.
    “You mean that after 45govt gets rid of TheO, he will come for me 😢. He hates everyone who is not like him )-: “.

3. Do mind that fraud lowIQ45…he is just like that unmasked liar in Brooklyn and should be equally humiliated..

4. Dream on Wot A Racist Udder. You keep trumpeting your blackness as your only claim to fame and as some sort of badge of superiority, yet you couldn’t find one to marry, and married up to a blind man. Reminds me of Tiger Woods, OJ, Naomi Campbell and all the others like you who in truth labour under an inferiority complex. Rightly so.

5. Do NOT hijack this topic with the usual nonsense.

6. Tell that to TheO who by his own admission was intemperate. Wot A Racist Udder is always so.

7. @ David Come Sing a Song,

As usual you are singing for your dinner as you selectively choose which band wagon to jump on EVERY FREAKING TIME.

Let me not mention the Fingerprinting fiasco lest it be clearly seen the true character of the man and who you are at heart, so de ole man will pass you by with that one but suffice it to be said that you are an opportunist and a person who uses people and circumstances for you sole belefit AND NONE OTHER.

If people benefit from your interventions THAT IS PURELY incidental and coincidental to your objectives

Let me bring another perspective to this matter which as wunna examine the facts you will see that the Grenadians SEEM TO BE SERIOUSLY EXAMINING as they consider their next steps.

Note that I did not even say look at David Commissiong’s jobby post, cause that is not on their scope and is one of his most obsequious articles to date.

The CCJ has been established from 2001 and, during that period, how many decisions have they rendered? and what type?

Take a gander at http://www.worldcourts.com/ccj/eng/index.htm and see what their decisions were.

Then If you would, take a similar gander at the amount of cases at the Privy Court site at https://www.jcpc.uk/decided-cases/index.html and more importantly, the type of cases.

Now de ole man MUST ADMIT TO A BIAS AGAINST this CCJ organ. My bias finds its basis in the same premise as many of the states that are against the adoption of the CCJ as the final court of appeal.

Their bias as well as the insignificant one of de ole man, lies in our perception of the “impartiality (or lack thereof) of the local/regional old boy’s network” represented by said CCJ.

In face we have a belief that there is an inability of the CCJ to divorce itself from the “allegiances” that permeate the institution and which will complexion its decisions.

And while it may be argued that we Caribbean people love to import outsiders into our decision making processes these “allegiances” must be taken into consideration when wunna see why why Grenada going vote to keep its Appeals Court in Englant, wid de white people, outside of the purview of we xenophobes

8. Sooner or later the whole Carribbean would get to see the truth behind the influence of this person called David Commissiong
    In all of my comments when Commissiong name is mentioned i have called out his intellectual poweress as an act to conquer and divide
    Never shying away to pull his dagger to draw blood from the circumspect

9. @de pedantic Dribbler October 13, 2018 11:15 AM “I too think Maurice Bishop was a hero despite his left leaning inclinations which @45 trashes above…he was a hero because he gave his life fighting to take ‘his’ people from under the yoke of an oppressive local dictator (a local imperialist).”

Maurice didn’t give his life. he had it taken from him.

Therefore he was a martyr, not a hero.

10. @Lexicon October 13, 2018 12:20 PM “considering the framer of the American Constitution Alexander Hamilton a West Indian or a British subject, when he migrated to the United States as a young child.”

Hamilton was Nevisian, a a British subject, before he became an American. He migrated to the U.S. when he was a teenager. Granted some teenagers are children, but none can be considered young children. Thirteen marks the end of young childhood, and eighteen marks the beginning of adulthood.

11. @David October 13, 2018 1:16 PM “Do we agree Grenadians and Antiguans should vote to kick the Privy Council out!”

Yes we agree.

But I am still in wait and see mode.

Antiguans might if they follow the leader.

Grenadians may not [too much shade prejudice]

But I could be wrong, wrong, wrong.

12. Like the author I too think Maurice Bishop was a hero despite his left leaning inclinations which @45 trashes above….he was a hero because he gave his life fighting to take ‘his’ people from under the yoke of an oppressive local dictator (a local imperialist)
    Isn’t it cruel irony that Bishop died at the hands of those whom he led to overthrow “an oppressive local dictator”. Bishop’s death precipitated the US invasion and ultimately the Grenada experiment was a brief socialist interlude.

Bishops body has never been located, one of the 17 persons tried for his murder J Ewart Layne has written a book titled “Tonight we move” it describes the events leading up to Gairy’s overthrow but notably stops short of Bishop’s time in office and doesn’t cast any light on Bishop’s execution although the author was accused of giving the orders for the execution.

13. Mariposa, good hair, ghoulish nails, but do you really think anyone is going to stay awake watching you drone on for twenty-five minutes?
    Steupse.
    Maurice Bishop whom I met, was a self-serving communist with delusions of grandeur, not so different from the clown Gairy in fact. His elimination was a good thing for Grenada and the Caribbean.

14. wasnt it commisong that solved the bed bug problem on the island by organizing them into collective farms….half of them fled and the other half starved to death.

O gazerts you irish twit why is it if someone has an idea different from you they are a racist, your ilk use that word way too much, now it is pardon the pun white noise. But you sound like that idiot who thinks he is spartacus in the us congress by leading the charge against the white man, people are getting fed up with your kind of thinking, .

15. The humiliated racists are out in force today, lowIQ45 at his lowest and Lawson the mongrel at his drunkest..

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@The Blogmaster, this vote takes us back to the original debate on the CCJ of late 90s through early 2000s and all the machinations that led to the court being situated in Trinidady but that nation not using that same court as its final appellate arbiter, nor too Jamaica or …several others.

As we know ONLY four nations in the region now travel to POS for CCJ final appellate justice….So yes “The principals on the privy council have already said publicly that we should take care of our affairs” but don’t the ridiculous (political) contrivances which prevented full adoption as an appellate court still remain!

If it were a child this CCJ would now be a rambunctious 16 – 18 yr teen (based on date of initial treaties for CCJ) soon about legal to consent to many things of adulthood yet here we are still desperately trying to get multiple nations to take the freaking next ‘baby’ step to wean off the Privy Council…..aaand….with videoconferencing now seemingly ubiquitous (and inexpensive) for court proceedings the argument about high travel costs to London becomes moot.

But regardless, as the author echoes above our sovereignty cannot be complete on legal issues until we have an indigenous court as the definitive and final arbiter.

@SimpleS, surely you jest most cynically and quite hairsplittingly academically to state: “Maurice didn’t give his life. he had it taken from him….Therefore he was a martyr, not a hero.”

If you really can attempt to bamboozle folks here that there is that distinction between a martyr and hero as if the two terms are so exclusively separable then I suspect the author and millions of others would need to reorient their thinking!

So his piece would have to be: ‘Will the island of Martyrs deliver an heroic vote…’ smh!

17. @Dee Word

What we have here is a people lacking confidence to strike out on its own. The years of investing in education means nothing. The talk about sovereignty means nothing. The investment in Caricom and CSME means nothing. Need we go on?

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

But David Mr Blogmaster can you really be so harsh at 8:36.

Your friend @Pieces above says “[he] MUST ADMIT TO A BIAS AGAINST this CCJ organ. My bias finds its basis in the same premise as many of the states that are against the adoption of the CCJ as the final court of appeal.”

You are familiar with all those arguments I am sure….and as @Pieces further noted one being a “… perception of the “impartiality (or lack thereof) of the local/regional old boy’s network” represented by said CCJ” has actually been a point of “serious” debate by folks no less than former PM Edward Seaga…

The former PM spoke back then of the more erudite and learned decisions emanating from the English court…or words to that effect.

So can you just distill those types of assertions as just lacking confidence to strike out on our own!

I think they are ridiculous actually because I would ask the Hon Mr Seaga or the equally honourable @Pieces: why does a neophyte CCJ of honest men and women be expected to show any more bias to political masters than the white judges of the UK High Court (who are appointed to the Privvy Council) show to their political masters?

Or why wouldn’t our very intelligent and well educated CCJ judges perform with first rate legal decisions of the finest schlarship?

And more pointedly I ask also: Have there been ANY CCJ rulings with even the slightest hint of political bias to the powerful or otherwise a semblance of improper partiality?

So all taken together we are conflicted with various concerns re CCJ but the fear to strike out on our own I offer to you is really an euphimism for elitism by the Seagas of the region and finds voice as a trope of suspicious lack of impartiality by others…and that too for CSME and all.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David October 14, 2018 8:36 AM

But Blogmaster don’t you think that the basic instinct of skepticism by the ordinary people is somewhat justified?

If the political leaders and the civic elite (especially lawyers) are themselves expressing serious reservations of the non-partisan functioning of the CCJ why can’t the people follow suit?

Do you remember what some so-called erudite Bajan lawyers had to say about the same CCJ?

How about the more recent public threat made by a regionally-trained lawyer and political leader to remove Barbados from the tentacles of discrimination as exhibited by the same CCJ?

If the UWI is seen as the crucible or nursery for the nurturing of regional integration- with the CCJ being one of its proud beneficiaries- how can it then turn around and pay homage to those who have demonstrated such intent of regional disintegration?

What a game of charades!

20. ThisIsOurTime&WeDontWantAnyEmptyHenHouse Avatar
    ThisIsOurTime&WeDontWantAnyEmptyHenHouse

We know but…

21. When White Supremacists talk about Freedom they are not talking about Black Freedom, same goes when they talk about anything they are not talking about a black perspective. When I talk about White Supremacists I am talking about all Whites and I’m talking about present and the past and also their future, unless you get on the ball and fight to normalise human rights and truth and rights.

22. SSDumbShit, it is cretins like you who keep the black race down. Like the so-called Palestinians you are nothing but a steaming pile of whingeing victimhood ripe for being used, and used you are. You spread your poison from generation to generation making sure that if anything does improve for you and your brothers and sisters it will be as glacial as possible because advancement means the end of your sad raison d’etre.
    Pathetic creature that you are, you can’t even see it.

23. Female Canadian MP…born in St. David’s Grenada..

https://www.facebook.com/mikebas/videos/10156378480311083/?t=11

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I wonder if the case against Yugge Farrell were go find it’s way to the CCJ what would be the outcome of this matter when juxtaposed against the scholarship of these erudite and impartial judges

So you see when I look at the numerous tragedies and injustices of the local and regional judicial landscapes you must understand why I tend to err on the side of the privy council versus the turd world kangaroo courts which we revere

25. waru the only thing that would make her a shoe in for primeminister is if she walked with a limp or had a lisp

26. Biggest “snowflakes” are Americans and Israelis crying about Anti-Americanism and Anti-Semitism while normalising White Supremacy with scum like Trump and Bannon’s alt-right far right Movement linking up with racists all over like White Boy Trolls

27. “waru the only thing that would make her a shoe in for primeminister is if she walked with a limp or had a lisp.”

So how come you never made it.

28. @piece
    I noticed that your attention span is longer than a few weeks. You mentioned Yugge Farrel. Do you see how she has faded into oblivion.

I believe that if GP and DM keep silent and let nothing escape their ‘lips’ (mouth closed and butt cheek clenched) and if Mia does nothing then Jackie Stewart and her story, like Yugge Farrel, will fade into obscurity. Perhaps, in time, we will find some other story that grab our attention.

Time and do nothing is a friend of the political class. And when they do something like the ‘integrity legislation’, the do nothing.

29. And now ladies and gentlemen, more cruel than the death penalty, in fact you will beg for it before he’s over, the devil’s favorite comedian, introducing the non-funny guy …Lawson

30. Well it would certainly be a long haul for govt
    Not only is Jackie using new facebook strategies on face book
    But have also managed to breathe new life into the Violet Beckles story( a story which i had no interest and originally found hard to belive except now that another voice/s are added with their own stories) which have propelled me to take another look.
    What started out as an ants hill has grown into a mountain atrracting million of viewers world wide
    At this point govt strategy of silence does not help in receding the tidal wave of corruption heaped on the forehead of Marshall and George Payne across the world wide web and would only get worse
    There is a story in the bible where Joshua blew his trumpet and the walls came tumbling down..plenty inspiration and a good food for thought which govt should heed. …
    Also

The old saying of day runs till night catches up still works
    Keep that in mind

31. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

there is a video that says Yugge Farrel is in Cuba. I did not post said video because I cannot verify the veracity of a vincy especially when I have an imaginary friend called Googlit. lol

32. Btw what happened to George Payne he seems to have “dug”a hole (lol)where he can hid

33. “…………the Violet Beckles story( a story which i had no interest and originally found hard to belive except now that another voice/s are added with their own stories) which have propelled me to take another look.”

Come off it, Mariposa

The only reason you are now interested in Violet Beckles is because her situation comes under scrutiny under a BLP administration.

Chances are, if Beckles’ matter is not resolved any time soon and extends into the term of a prospective DLP administration, you would lose interest, similarly to how you did over the past 10 years.

Your hypocrisy is one of the many reasons why I don’t take, seriously, anything you contribute to this forum.

34. Now hear you Artax come talking pup about political differences
    For your information the Beckles story was given consideration as one to be looked into by Thompson yet still i had no interest
    The chain of events and circumstances in my mind were hard to logically prove
    However now that Jackie has given information as to how these scams work and can be achived throught mischievous and corrupt handlers within the system the Beckles Story becomes a lot cleared to understand

35. Nice try!!

36. Artax u can try again also

37. My friend, your comprehension skills are definitely lacking.

If you really understood what is meant by the term “political differences,” you would not have written the above comment in response to my contribution.

Now, please read it S L O W L Y…. and wheel and come again.

38. @45govt.

Why are you so hateful? Do you think that Kiki (555dubstreet), is black or Bajan? He is not!! He is a successful professional from a highly intellectual and educated professional cadre. It is amazing how you come on here, read a few blogs and pigeon hole contributors without knowing anything about the person. Shame….

39. And the humiliation continues..lol

40. “Wheel and come again”what! suffice to say
    You understood quite well what i meant
    Steupse
    Wheel and come again bro

41. Bajans, you must be mixing up SSDumbShit with someone else. The one peddling his hatred of whites is the moron I am addressing.
    Successful? Professional? What a joke. You sure you spelled cadre right?
    Shame on you. Butt out.

42. @ Theophillus

These are names of the poor man and the downpressed that de ole man does not forget.

Nazzim Blackett, Abijah Holder and Yugge Farrell are three such names.

I noticed that you too have been the sole party that has been carrying a campaign for Yugge.

What i have noted Theophillus is that, when people talk about injustice and wrongs and doing the right thing that most of us do it in abstract.

Like David Come Sing a Song, when you examine the matters he would have “fought” for you notice that all of them are either (i) sensationalist (ii) contra the Democratic Labour Party (iii) pro Cuba and other communist sympathies or (iv) pro Africa and the Dark Continent so that it can show how black his Hunkie Corner (by the Tamarind Tree outside the Geography Room at Harsun College is)

I am sorry if, at this my golden years, de ole man ent drinking de coolaid like Gabriel and others who now exist in the shadow of the CARICOM Ambassador.

I to ole to lik pooch or to get ammmmm dat badword dat de bajan menses like.

The true practicuum Theophillus lies in what we do when the rubber hits the road.

De ole man could prosper immensely from the suck poochism but you know what, i cant sleep good when Mia Mugabe doing shy$# to Bajans and I know that it is badword.

I going watch and see if Andrew Pilgrim going prosecute the government of St Vincent for Constitutional abuses at the Inter American Human Rights Commission or if he going just left it like that.

But we shall see shan’t we??

43. @ the Honourable Blogmaster, your assistance please with an item of r Theophillus thank you

44. 45govt:

No you butt out. You are a johnny come lately. you do not know anything about the bloggers. You peddle hatred of blacks so what is the difference between the two of you?

45. Ralphie duck the Vincy Yankees,preferring to meet in selected homes rather than a town hall.I dont know this Ralphie atall atall.Probably getting timid in his senior years.

46. @bajans – you sound like a silly little girlie, a WARU in the making relying on victimhood and the false hope of ‘reparations’ to keep your sorry body and soul together.
    I do NOT peddle hatred of blacks, it would be hard to square that with BEING a Bajan, but I do denounce those who think two wrongs will make a right by peddling hatred of whites, as people like you do. “Johnny come lately”?? I have been here longer than you, and have known Barbados a LOT longer than you, and unlike you, understand it is in deep trouble. The attitudes of race-baiters like you will do what to the popularity of the island to white tourists, do you think?
    Grow up.,

47. The white mindset is typified by Times article headline on 6/10/18
    “Black rights activist Alice Walker cites ‘racist’ Kipling poem as a favourite”

All blacks were Black Rights activists (fighting for equal rights)
    All whites were racists (white supremacists) (no quotes are required for ‘racists’)

48. Awwww….the humiliated lowIQ is trying to make back hand amemds…which still sounds racist as hell..

49. Cause he still think he got straws to clutch at …that lowIQ…eg….we still got wunna though, wanna need white tourists….

But that is only because the dummy house negros refuse to diversify the economy…when that finally happens…lowIQ45. will not be able to clutch at straws anymore…he ah go drown..

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply