The following was posted by Niel Harper to his blog, a technology SME – David, Barbados Underground

There’s a common misconception that IT governance, risk and control (GRC) professionals like myself impose unreasonable demands on those trying to innovate and deliver human, social and economic benefits to society. But this is the furthest thing from the truth – our role is to ensure that those who are delivering technological solutions understand the risks and impacts associated with their IT platforms, and mitigate them in an adequate, effective, and sustainable manner.

The aforementioned point is key as I will go on to explore the privacy, security, and socio-economic implications of two recent announcements by the Government of Barbados pertaining to the implementation of Blockchain-related technology in the country. In a September 19th article titled ‘E-currency pilot coming’, it was stated that Prime Minister Mia Mottley “did not give details of the planned mobile wallet pilot project or when it would begin but gave the assurance that it would not be done in a reckless manner.” Barbados Today published an article on September 25th which stated ‘BSE to begin crypto-trading’, essentially heralding the decision of the Barbados Stock Exchange to trade in security tokens or crypto assets.

Given my intimate knowledge of privacy and security weaknesses in both the public and private sectors, the PM’s words do not instill in me any great confidence around the robustness of the security controls that will accompany these projects. The implementation of e-currency is a complex undertaking, that if not done correctly, can have a material impact on the country’s already weakened economic position. Security tokens are an extremely nascent solution with a lot of potential, but that doesn’t exempt them from security and privacy deficiencies. As such, I want to delve into some of the key areas that must be addressed before these solutions are widely deployed across our beloved nation.

Contract management and due diligence

Before any contracts are signed to commence these projects, the government must understand where personal data of Barbadian citizens will be stored. To provision users onto these platforms, personal data will need to be collected for AML and KYC purposes such as name, address, phone number, driver’s license, passport details, etc.

If the data is stored outside of Barbados, the privacy of Bajans may not be safeguarded as it will be subject to the laws and regulations of the jurisdiction in which the data resides (meaning that the legislation of a foreign country could permit them access to any and all data kept on Barbadian citizens). This is particularly concerning given the absence of data protection legislation in Barbados that would force any fintech company to ensure that transnational data flows must only occur where the destination country has an adequate legal framework in place to protect the rights of data subjects.

The lack of data protection legislation presents another problem in terms of imposing strict obligations on fintech providers to uphold the rights of data subjects. This includes setting requirements and fines for both data controllers and data processors as it pertains to protecting personal and sensitive data, obtaining consent to share personal/sensitive data, reporting data breaches to government and data subjects, among other rules. Hence, it would be in the best interests of Barbados citizens and foreign nationals if the 2018 Data Protection Bill was enacted into law before the launch of the new platforms.

In an ideal situation, the government should obtain 2-3 references from previous instances where the contracted parties have deployed solutions of this kind for other customers. However, it appears that Barbados will be the first country where the vendor will be deploying a ‘true’ e-currency platform, thus making the need for strong controls even more critical. As it pertains to tokenized securities, similar due diligence must be undertaken to protect our citizens.

The government must ensure that a qualified and independent security professional conducts a site visit to the vendors’ facilities to undertake a thorough assessment of their security controls. If this cannot be done, the vendor should be required to furnish government with a signed attestation from an independent and qualified third party that the facilities meet all the necessary best practice security requirements. Additionally, there should be a “right to audit” clause in the contract that allows the government to turn up at the vendors’ facilities at any time to conduct a security assessment.

The vendors’ financial statements should be reviewed by an independent auditing firm such as PwC, EY or Deloitte to ensure that they are in good standing and that they are able to remain going concerns for the foreseeable future. The viability of their business models should also be assessed as ‘feasible’. This would protect the country and its citizens from being left at the mercy of fintech service providers whose platforms enjoy massive uptake and integration into the socio-economic fabric of the country, and then they are quickly no longer in business.

With regards to PwC, EY, Deloitte, and other accounting firms (or any qualified professional services firm as a matter of fact), government should enlist one of them to have experienced IT auditors assigned full-time to both projects. This would ensure that IT governance, risk and control processes are embedded throughout the project lifecycles and don’t become an afterthought.

Another area of due diligence is assessment of the team who will be delivering and supporting the solutions. The government must obtain assurance that the right mix of skills is available to deliver and provide ongoing support for high performance, scalable and secure fintech platforms. Along with the technical positions, key roles that should be in place are Internal Audit (assurance), Privacy (compliance) and Information Security (availability, integrity and confidentiality).

Finally, a software escrow agreement that allows government access to the vendor’s proprietary code in the event they go out of business should be put into place.

Technical architecture

Undertaking a technical architecture assessment is critical to implementing both these projects. Once again, independent and qualified 3rd parties need to look at how the different elements of these platforms will integrate with each other and how they will be secured against cyber-attacks. A number of the questions that the selected fintech service providers need to answer and verify are as follows:

• How will web and application servers be hardened against attacks?
  • How will database systems be hardened against malicious actors?
  • How will operating systems be hardened and secured from hackers?
  • How will identity and access management (IAM) be delivered to manage privileged access to these platforms?
  • Will middleware and APIs have built-in authentication mechanisms?
  • Will all data transmitted over public networks be encrypted?
  • What encryption schemes will be used to protect sensitive data in storage?
  • Will network devices such as routers and switches be hardened and utilize strong authentication mechanisms?
  • Will there be separate firewall tiers to isolate and protect servers with higher risk profiles?
  • How will administrators and developers securely access the platforms remotely?
  • How strong will the controls be around disaster recovery/business continuity?
  • Will online or offline wallets be used and how will they be secured (e.g. passwords, passphrases, two-factor authentication, biometrics, etc.)?
  • How are mobile applications designed with security in mind (e.g. storage, communication, authentication, cryptography, etc.)?
  • How are web applications designed with security in mind (e.g. input/data validation, authentication, authorization, storage, communication, cryptography, etc.)?
  • Will private or public Blockchains be used? How will the Blockchain, smart contracts and related elements be secured?
  • If fintech companies are using cloud services, how are issues like multi-tenancy, distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks, breach notification, malicious insiders, etc. being addressed?
  • How will integration with external systems be secured?

These questions and others need to be satisfactorily answered before these fintech solutions become live. A technical architecture review should be conducted to set a baseline of expectations with regards to the final solution. Bringing trusted, independent cybersecurity experts to the table will ensure that they are no controls gaps in the end-state architecture.

Testing

Testing is one of the best phases in software development to flesh out security issues. Hence, this is where government needs to double down on its due diligence. Below are a couple of questions that government should be asking and receiving answers/evidence for:

• How are code repositories being used and secured?
  • What processes and tools are used to manage version control and to promote code from testing to live environments? Are these tools fit for purpose?
  • What secure coding standards are being used by developers and what tools are being used to force adherence to these standards?
  • How are static application security testing (SAST) and dynamic application security testing (DAST) being employed?
  • How are source code analyzers being used to detect security weaknesses in both non-compiled and compiled code?
  • Will stress testing be conducted to ensure the system design and resources can support transaction volumes?
  • Are dynamic scanners being used to simulate attacks during the quality assurance (QA) cycle?
  • Have threat modeling and risk assessment been conducted on the end-to-end solutions? Has an independent party verified the results?
  • Does the test environment mimic the production environment as much as possible?
  • Will an independent security architecture review be performed on the system before it goes live? Will all the material weaknesses found be remediated before the solutions go live?
  • Will independent penetration tests (externally looking inwards) and vulnerability scans (internally looking outward) be performed on the system before it goes live? Will all the material weaknesses found be remediated before the solutions go live?
  • What security-related scenarios will be included in user acceptance testing (UAT) or closed user group (CUG) testing (e.g. input/data validation, password quality rules, repudiation, roles-based access controls, path traversal, missing authorization, error handling, privilege elevation, etc.)?
  • What levels of audit logs are generated by the systems? Are audit logs properly secured?

The testing phase provides an opportunity to iron out most of the security issues before the live solution is released to the public. The importance of this stage should not be underestimated, and government must ensure that they are fully engaged and involved throughout.

Deployment and ongoing support

Deployment and ongoing support will be integral to delivering a truly disruptive fintech solution to the citizens of Barbados. Of course, the first step is deploying the exact system configuration that was thoroughly assessed and remediated during the architecture and testing phases. This can’t be emphasized enough – You don’t want to deploy a system full of security vulnerabilities. That being said, there are a number of questions relevant to supporting the environment on an ongoing basis:

• What processes will be in place for identity and access management? How will day-to-day access for normal users and super users of the systems be managed (e.g. granting, revoking, and updating access)?
  • How will secure configurations be maintained throughout the system lifecycles (e.g. mobile security, desktop hardening, server hardening, switch and router hardening, etc.)?
  • What processes/solutions will be in place for managing system vulnerabilities?
  • What processes/solutions will be in place for managing system upgrades and patches?
  • What processes/solutions will be in place for making changes to production systems?
  • How will production systems be monitored for performance issues, normal and privileged account usage, network intrusions, unauthorized file changes, access to restricted systems, etc.?
  • How will malware be addressed on production systems (e.g. cloud services, virtual guests, servers, mobiles, etc.)?
  • How will security awareness for end-users of the systems be addressed (especially given that the intention is for the mobile wallet to be deployed widely to the public)?
  • What processes and systems will be in place for disaster recovery/business continuity?
  • How will government ensure that the right legal framework is in place to protect the country and its citizens (e.g. anti-money laundering, taxation, consumer protection, privacy, critical infrastructure protection, etc.)? NOTE: The legal framework is already deficient and they’re going forward with the project(s).
  • Who will be supporting the production systems on an ongoing basis – government or the fintech companies? Will there be sufficient knowledge transfer to government personnel if they are tasked with ongoing support and maintenance?
  • Has there been detailed assessment of ongoing costs? Will these costs be borne by the fintech provider or government? If by the fintech provider, what’s the business model that will be in place to sustain their operation in a profitable manner? If by the government, are the right staff in place to support and maintain the platform? Will the overall cost burden undertaken by government be sustainable (especially given the country’s existing financial situation)?

Monitoring and evaluation

For any system implementation to be truly successful, there must be a plan for realization of the benefits articulated at the beginning of the project. Here are some of the key questions to be answered:

• What does success look like?
  • How will success be measured?
  • Will success metrics be shared with the public (they should be when taking into consideration the levels of risk and investment in these projects)?
  • Are the projects delivered on time and within budget?
  • Have technical objectives been achieved?
  • Have financial objectives been achieved?
  • Are socio-economic benefits being realized by the population?
  • Have human behaviors changed in terms of the use of mobile payments?
  • Has the Barbados Stock Exchange (BSE) become more liquid? Has there been a significant uptick in foreign direct investment (FDI) via the BSE? Are we seeing more security tokens being traded on the BSE?
  • Are there less underbanked or unbanked individuals in the country? Have financial inclusion statistics improved? Is the common man less burdened by the cost of banking? Is it now easier to send money overseas (money transfers) or send money back to Barbados (remittances)?
  • Has government reduced the costs of funding the fiat monetary system?
  • Have the substantial risks associated with correspondent bank de-risking been mitigated?

These questions and more need to be answered once the systems go live. More importantly, a benefits realization/monitoring & evaluation (M&E) plan needs to be in place up front. The government and its fintech partner should not be deciding what needs to be achieved and measured once the systems go live – these benefits should be stated up front to convey the value proposition and return on investment (ROI) for the systems, and to support the level of investment and risks undertaken.

Conclusion

These projects represent significant benefits for the country. Conversely, they also represent significant risks. I am not against technology; I have spent the last 10 years of my life committed to facilitating the use of ICTs for development (ICT4D) in emerging economies. However, I am of the firm belief that citizens have a right to know exactly what their leaders are getting them into (i.e. openness and transparency are of utmost importance). It is my hope that government will engage in a more transparent process as it pertains to the planned implementations of Blockchain and distributed ledger technologies (DLT). Moreover, if fintech is being done, it needs to be done RIGHT. One of the most basic, yet important, tenets of information systems auditing is “TRUST, BUT VERIFY”. All of the questions I have posed deserve answers. Not only answers, but verifiable evidence. Government is not known for strong expertise in IT law, policy and regulation; systems development; and cybersecurity. This is why the citizenry of Barbados cannot be expected to abide by only trust as it pertains to the implementation of Blockchain technologies across the country. The potential benefits, and the risks, are way too high!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Niel Harper is a highly experienced, results-focused and globally recognized technology leader with 20+ years of sustained achievement in IT governance, risk and control (GRC), cybersecurity, telecoms engineering, application development, IT service management, enterprise architecture, and business continuity management. He has held leadership positions at organizations such as AT&T Wireless, Bermuda Commercial Bank, CARICOM Secretariat, CIBC, Internet Society and the Sint Maarten Telephone Group of Companies. He has also delivered consulting engagements in 20+ countries with organizations such as Bemol Lojas, European Union, First Global Bank, and LEX Caribbean, among others. He is a Member of the Expert Networks on Cybersecurity, Telecoms and IT at the World Economic Forum and a Member of the Research Advisory Group (RAG), Technical and Information Security at the Global Commission for the Stability of Cyberspace.

71 responses to “What the Government of Barbados Needs to Do to Get Fintech Right”

1. You are aware the law was changed to accommodate independent Senator Wiggins as well? McConney is a government senator therefore no need to mention her.

You are aware that creating a sandbox to offer a measure of oversight for fintecs is late in coming? The fact that Bitt Inc has been unregulated up to this point reflects on the former government NOT Bitt Inc.

You are aware that digital currency is not untested technology? What is untested is our inability to have implemented sturdy testing and monitoring guidelines as Niel Harper has articulated.

2. You are aware the law was changed to accommodate independent Senator Wiggins as well? McConney is a government senator therefore no need to mention her. (Quote)

Senator Wiggins was out of the country on official duties, the others had been domiciled overseas. The law was flawed. As to the perverse thinking behind the so-called Regulatory Sandbox I refuse to discuss such regulatory matters with David BU, apart from the obvious: wat legislation created this new regulatory body? When was it discussed in parliament? Who are its members? What is its authority?

3. @ David
    Poor Hal does not yet grasp that your provocative stances on these Blogs are designed to try to elicit responses from otherwise indifferent brass bowls.

However this idea of the BLP so BLATANTLY pushing the interests of their favourite persons, changing the constitution, promoting jokers to high office, getting their 5% iINCREASES just prior to major job cuts…. (just as the damn DLP did for themselves) is so REPULSIVE… that you need to be careful how you (even if provocatively) seem to be supportive….

It is a lotta shiite…. PERIOD.!!!

4. @Bushie

You are that even if the government did not select Adams and McConney at the first pass the law had to be changed anyway to accommodate Wiggins? Which came first the chicken or the egg? Around and around we go eh?

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Others have answered in my stead.

But I will add these inconsequential points

Why change the law at all?

What is one year? In the grand scheme of things that you and a transparent and accountable government, with a unanimous mandate by the people, would interfere with the constitution of this country FOR SO FRIVOLOUS A THING?

All over this blog you, carswell Franklyn? and others went off pun Kellman for overlooking an employee with seniority and hiring he cousin!

Everybody was talking bout optics den but Mugabe do the same thing, THREE EFFING TIMES, and neither you nor Caswell?(at least not here of late) nor none of the other DLP castigators ent say one word!

It was wrong for Michael Lashes to hire he family at de Transport Board and all the rest of nepotism infelicities BUT NOT ONE BADWORD IS WRONG WITH MUGABE DOING THIS BADWORD.

Explain to me what that sandbox is as it compares to Niel Harper’s terms of qualifying a national Fintech Strategy?

Truly beaty hath fled to Brutish Beasts and men hath lost their reason

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here.

“…You are aware that creating a sandbox to offer a measure of oversight for fintecs is late in coming?…”

Yes I am sadly aware of that fact but your following statement is a non sequitur AND MOST ASSUREDLY DOES NOT FOLLOW!

And I will show you why!

BITT IS VAPOURWARE!

It does not exist so your statement which follows is meaningless.

“…The fact that Bitt Inc has been unregulated up to this point reflects on the former government NOT Bitt Inc…”

You then go on to deflect what IS NON EXISTENT by talking bout A FORMER GOVERNMENT!!

David please!

This reminds me of a time a girl invited me to he home while mummy and daddy were at home and the father returned to find me in her room with the condom in one hand….and tings dem in the other …and me there mumbling shyte to Mr. **** bout “how I sorry and I was overcome by …and it would never happen again ” and a whole set of ingrunt things

My man…Mugabe feel that sheeple stoopid but we got this and we got her number.

This MyMoney scam is a trick to syphon off money and to virtualized VAT returns, and go claim that x money is collected and reallocate such to the real ” MmMoney REGULATORS”

And all the FSC and Central Prank Shyte dat wunna proposing with this Sandbox reminds me of the sand we had in a box go hold the shite for the yound kittens in we house when we was growing up.

TO STOP DEM SHITTING IN WE BED WHICH IS WHAT MOTTLEY IS DOING…

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with 2 items here thank you

8. Yours is another view.

9. Regulation is Barbados is beyond a joke. If the agencies in Bdos charged with regulatory oversight e.g. FSC, CBB, etc. are such a shambles imagine how much a farce this regulatory sandbox will turn out to be?

If oversight of simple financial products is so poor in Bdos imagine the challenge of monitoring the complex interactions between financial services, data and the internet which occurs in the fintech space?

Bdos needs to attack the fundamental problems first instead of trying to copy everything seen in the developed markets.

This “Punching Above Our Weight” nonsense has gone to our heads.

10. @A. Dullard,

Last year Gibraltar launched the Gibraltar Blockchain Exchange to regulate cryptocurrencies. It is now ten years since cryptocurrencies were created. The market is now valued at an estimated £152bn.
    In such a lucrative market, which largely remains unregulated, and in which it is difficult, if not near impossible, to verify claims as o heir reserves (just check out Tether, which claims to have reserves of US$2.7bn, but so far has declined to be transparent about this) and others.
    I am not an expert on cryptocurrencies, not am I even interested (recently two friends of mine, one of Jamaican heritage and the other of Chinese, asked me to become involved in a syndicate, but I refused). But I do know a bit about financial regulation, and this is a catastrophe waiting to happen.
    The top four global accountancy firms have responded to this challenge by hiring hundreds of specialists in order to offer a new audit service.
    As we speak it is not clear how these assets will be accounted for on the books; are they intangible assets or inventory, some ask. PWC alone has hired 400 blockchain experts. Most mainstream banks are reluctant to become involved and serious regulators want t know if these blockchains carry out due diligence on would be clients, given the fear of moneylaundering. Despite all these cautions, little Barbados wans to punch above its weight.
    We now have a prime minister and minister of economic affairs, whose training is in the law, being briefed by colleagues as if this is a case, and who is prepared to go out in to the public and argue a case as if she is an expert. She is no financial expert.
    Ten years ago something similar happened: top notch financial engineers came out with all kinds of new vehicles, such as SPVs and SIVS, which they sold to their CEOs, who to a man and woman (mainly men) were armed with MBAs, from our top business schools. The only problem was most of them were marketing experts and had not a clue about financial engineering. When the proverbial hit the fan they were as lost as the general public. Not being part of that international debate, Barbados is about to make a mess of it.
    I still ask: what is the legal status of the Regulatory Sandbox? What legislation created this body? When was it discussed in parliament? It is all going to end in tears.
    Barbados is a failed state?

(PS: I see Marla Dukharan is taking part in the Kilkenomics economics seminar; good luck to her)

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

This is what any Bajan Sandbox has to look like to pass the standards

Barbados is a corrupt turd world country

ITS EXISTING FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS CANNOT BE TRUSTED

For there to commence a modicum of trust, the first thing that has to happen is for the government to enlist the services of a Fintech Specialist under the Interamerican Development Bank’s Enterprise Innovation Credit Fund or similar credible professional facility funded by professional entities like The program, jointly funded by the same Inter-American Development
    Bank (IDB), the United Kingdom Department of International
    Development (DFID) or the Canadian International Development
    Agency (CIDA).

They will find credible experts to effect a desirable outcome

Secondly, the contract must state that the reports of that party MUST BE PUBLIC!!!

So we not only get an unbiased party but AS THEY WORK THROUGH THEIR ASSIGNMENT, their issues and concerns are made public!!

This way Rawdone’s project is exposed to we bajans and we get to see real people providing non biased commentary about this MyMoney scam.

Anything other than this is Sleight of Hand and presents a shoe-in for this highway robbery that is another Trade Confirmers Limited scandal waiting to happen.

Nothing less than full disclosure using Niel holders stringent definitions and ToRs

But dat is not going to happen cause the M in MyMoney stands for Mugabe

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with my response to your response to my response…thank you

13. CXC to issue e-certificates using blockchain technology

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

The Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) will begin issuing electronic credentials in addition to traditional paper-based certificates tomorrow, as part of a pilot aimed at boosting security and portability of official examinations records.

CXC yesterday announced that some 24,000 candidates who sat the May/June 2018 examinations, and for whom the council has e-mail addresses, will receive Blockcerts or blockchain-based credentials.

“CXC is extremely excited about this latest development as we transition several of our processes to electronic workflows,” CXC Registrar Glenroy Cumberbatch said in a release. “Our candidates as well as users of the certificates, that is, employers, colleges and universities will find Blockcerts very convenient to use.”

The registrar said that as an examination board, security of the certificates is a CXC priority and the blockchain technology provides the most robust protection available.

CXC said with the shift to Blockcerts, candidates will be sent their certificates via the free, open source Blockcerts Wallet, which is a highly secure credentials wallet that stores, shares, and verifies evidence of candidates’ achievement in CXC examinations.

The Blockcerts will be issued using the Learning Machine Federated Issuing System, an enterprise platform for nation-states and multinational organisations looking to securely digitise the issuance and verification of official records.

The council reasoned that issuing documents as Blockcerts helps to prevent the loss of official records in the event of relocation, natural disasters such as hurricanes, floods, earthquakes and volcanic eruptions, all hazards that affect the Caribbean periodically.

Natalie Smolenski, Learning Machine Vice- President of Business Development, was quoted as saying: “It is institutions like the CXC that are advancing the cause of individual ownership of their official records. Students and workers travel frequently to live, study, and work throughout the Caribbean. Having easily shareable, portable electronic credentials can speed up a verification process that usually takes weeks or months into a matter of seconds. This is a win/win for both issuing institutions and Caribbean citizens.”

CXC said Blockcerts was selected because it offers several advantages: preserves vendor independence for records issuance, sharing, storage, and verification, and is it is the most widely-adopted global open standard for blockchain credentials.

In addition, the council noted that there are no fees for current and future candidates to receive their e-certificates, and for users of Blockcerts to authenticate a candidate’s record.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You are conveniently side stepping this issue with all sorts of extraneous issues

The use of inviolable technology to certify data IS NOT THE ISSUE HERE.

To confirm this point every country in the world grapples with issuing ID and things like passports THAT CANNOT BE REPLICAGED AND SOLD IN THD BLACKMARKET BY HUMPTY DUMPTY AND STACIE

Those are things that got Barbados ‘ former chief immigration officer shot dead in his gallery at Butler’s Road in Spooners Hill!

What we are talking about here is the willy Billy adoption of MyMoney ‘s scam by the Country’s Prime Minister who changed the law to import said principal Rawdone AND MAKE HIM A SENATOR!!

Is this so hard to comprehend?

Which part of biased nepotism and lack of transparency do you not understand?

I mean, I understand Mugabe Mottley doing she thing but for you to come here and repeatedly seek to ram this position down our throats is unbelievable and disingenuous

This MyMoney scam is going to end in sorrow because the FSC nor the Central Prsnk DO NOT HAVE THE RESIDENT EXPERTISE TO EVALUATE BACK DOOR CODE

“…A computer trapdoor, also known as a back door, provides a secret — or at least undocumented — method of gaining access to an application, operating system or online service…”

What de badword does FSC or Central Prank know about MyMoney that this hurriedly constructed 12 week coverage of the Mottleyian regime scam is going to reveal?

Steupsee this IS GOJNG TO END DISASTROUSLY!!

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for you thank you

16. We will have to take you at your word that it is a scam what else can we do.

17. I know it is a scam but what i am suggesting is that people agitate for them to change the parameters for ALL FINTECH PROJECTS and MAKE THEM GO THROUGH ONE PROCEDURE which at least will safeguard us going forward David.

Remember that I am for the industry 100% but I am against this system and shoe in THAT DOES NOT HAVE CLEAR guidelines and a transparent element that protects Bajans.

We just get unfair by Clico, Trade Conformers and all sorts of other scams, you mean that just begging for a reasonable mechanism that exposes all of the flaws to bajans is asking too much?

Wow this is really unbelievable.

But you do realize that if you, champion on the forefront of the Fourth Estate are so much of the inclination to beleive that what I am asking for is just that I am opposing for the sake of opposing, then you dun know that the sheeple out there just do not give one damn about it.

That is simply frightening!!!

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Let me just show you how serious people are doing this sort of thing and not frigging spiders

“…Copyright © 2018. Inter-American Development Bank. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons IGO 3.0 Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives (CC-IGO BY-NC-ND 3.0 IGO) license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/igo/legalcode) and may be reproduced with attribution to the IDB and for any non-commercial purpose. No derivative work is allowed.

Any dispute related to the use of the works of the IDB that cannot be settled amicably shall be submitted to arbitration pursuant to the UNCITRAL rules…”

That is from the same Interamerican Development Bank that Mugabe is drawing down national indicative programme funding from.

And, were I to go to Worldbank or the IMF or any of the other agencies she is currently seeking free money from, it would be clearly evident that these entities have a policy for and about people’s property , be that intellectual or physical, a concept that Mia Mugabe nor her henchmen of Teets and Pain robbers of elderly people’s property CANNOT UNDERSTAND.

This is why all those SBA loans for small businesses and Ideas4Barbados schemes WILL FAIL!!!

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

20. The average Joe in Barbados is ignorant about patent and copyright and everything that falls under that branch of the law. We have invested billions of dollars in education however the challenge remains how has it manifested itself for the benefit of the country/people to ensure there is a sustained way of good life.

This is how any government and the supporting task must be appraised. This is directed to Vincent, the performance must be tangible, it must be seen and felt. It has to be judged by what is visible i.e. discrete activities. Not on a whim and a prayer driven by the subjectivity of people in a small, insular and polarized society. This is why scientific systems are implemented to compensate. It is never a perfect system, it is man made after all.