The Debt Holder Bill is currently being debated in Parliament.  It is an attempt to make the Government’s plan to restructure some of our national debts legal.  What is this restructuring all about?

The Government normally spends more money than it receives in taxes.  One method of making up the short-fall is to invite persons and institutions to lend the Government money for a fixed period.  In exchange for this loan, the Government promised to pay investors a fixed amount of interest every year.

To give investors sufficient confidence that they would get their money back with interest, the Government guaranteed that the loan and interest payments would be paid from the same fund that pays parliamentarians, namely, the Consolidated Fund.  Should that fund become insolvent, then Government assets were promised to secure the loan.

With these ultra-low-risk terms, individuals and institutions were encouraged to enter into binding contracts to lend the Government money, and the Government agreed to repay the loans, with interest, under the specified terms.

The Government now wants to change the terms of repayment.  That is not unusual since borrowers typically want to renegotiate repayment terms if they encounter adverse economic circumstances.  However, rather than negotiate with the other party to the contract, the Government is planning to pass a law, to allow a vote, to make the repayment terms less favourable to investors.

The Bill notes that if at least 50% of eligible voters participate in the vote, and 75% of the participants agree to the new terms, then the vote will be binding on all loan contracts – both of those who agree to less favourable terms and of those who do not.

Our Parliamentarians are using a very crude method of getting their way.  There are far more elegant solutions that they could have considered.  However, they seem too terrified of their economic advisors to consider any other solution.  Let me identify three principal concerns with this approach.

First, to justify their planned actions, the Government declared that it did not have the ability to repay the loan as agreed.  This declaration of insolvency causes investors to lose confidence in the Government.

Tragically, the declaration was unnecessary.  The Consolidated Fund reportedly has severe leaks, including the mismanagement of public services, excessive wastage and gross corruption.  Why not patch those leaks before declaring an inability to pay.

Further, since the Government claims that it cannot pay investors from the Consolidated Fund, then why did our Members of Parliament vote to increase public worker’s salaries (including their own) by 5%, if they knew that the Consolidated Fund was insolvent?  Does this mean that our Parliamentarians were not paid last month?  If they were, then clearly the Fund is not insolvent, and we were misled.

Secondly, the Bill appears to give power to the majority of voters.  However, a voter is defined in terms of the size of the investment.  So, it is not the number of voters, but the size of the voter.  Therefore, one large voter can have more weight than 1,000 individual voters.  Let me explain.

Approximately 85% of the National Insurance investment fund comprises approximately $3.5B lent to the Government in Treasury Bills, Treasury Notes and Debentures.  It is unlikely that 1,000 pensioners’ individual investments are anywhere close to this amount.

The votes of the NIS, banks and insurance companies exceed the 75% limit for the measure to pass.  If the NIS is excluded from the vote, votes of the banks and insurance companies still exceed the 75% limit.  Since these entities are all-aboard, it makes the vote farcical – but it is good public relations.

Thirdly, and most importantly, the idea of crudely legalising changes to a contract between two parties, is concerning.  If the Government wants to change the terms of an existing contract, then they should simply renegotiate, which is a normal business action – not dictatorially pass a law to unilaterally make it so.

The Constitution of Barbados recognises contracts.  In my opinion, the Government’s intended action is unlikely to survive a constitutional challenge.  However, who will bell the cat now that the former cat-beller appears to have been offered spillage?

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

161 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The Way of the Dictator”

1. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Peter Lawrence

You really like DpD cant be serious about this spiel about individual property and how the constitution protects people against government teifing from them?

Wait a moment Theophillus and Hants when is that law about legal marijuana being passed in Canada?

Has barbados signed so sort of dual recognition agreement with Canada dat de ole man ent know about?

Man dese feller talking like if dem under de influence though SERIOUSLY!!

2. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

October 17th is the day when we can smoke weed. I will be able to smoke and listen to G G without getting arrested. lol

3. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

A thirty to nought victory has created a de facto dictatorship.

The government will change the constitution when ever they want.

Their spinners will bowl chinamen at Bajans, the majority of whom can’t bat.

4. The Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme should have been implemented at least a decade ago, said the Barbados-born IMF economist attached to the Government economic recovery council.
    The Government’s economic advisor Dr Kevin Greenidge, said a homegrown austerity programme should have been implemented at the height of the recession in 2008.”(Quote)

Nonsense. An ignorance of recent economic history. The economic crisis was only officially realised with the collapse of Lehman Bros. Until then we were in Bernanke’s Great Moderation. In any case, by 2010 growth had returned globally, driven by the major economies which transferred debt from the private sector onto taxpayers in a multi-billion dollar programme…
    The Barbados economy has been mismanaged since 1966. Barbados does not need an austerity programme, but one of massive stimulation, led by infrastructural investments and job creation. BERT is not the answer. It will end in tears.

5. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

We finally have arrived where we have been for a longgggggg time with a few different actors on the stage

https://i.imgur.com/4PD5Xmg.png

6. Global economic activity continues to firm up. Global output is estimated to have grown by 3.7 percent in 2017, which is 0.1 percentage point faster than projected in the fall and ½ percentage point higher than in 2016. The pickup in growth has been broad based, with notable upside surprises in Europe and Asia. Global growth forecasts for 2018 and 2019 have been revised upward by 0.2 percentage point to 3.9 percent. The revision reflects increased global growth momentum and the expected impact of the recently approved U.S. tax policy changes.(Quote)

The cyclical upswing underway since mid-2016 has continued to strengthen. Some 120 economies, accounting for three quarters of world GDP, have seen a pickup in growth in year-on-year terms in 2017, the broadest synchronized global growth upsurge since 2010. Among advanced economies, growth in the third quarter of 2017 was higher than projected in the fall, notably in Germany, Japan, Korea, and the United States. Key emerging market and developing economies, including Brazil, China, and South Africa, also posted third-quarter growth stronger than the fall forecasts. High-frequency hard data and sentiment indicators point to a continuation of strong momentum in the fourth quarter. World trade has grown strongly in recent months, supported by a pickup in investment, particularly among advanced economies, and increased manufacturing output in Asia in the run up to the launch of new smartphone models. Purchasing managers’ indices indicate firm manufacturing activity ahead, consistent with strong consumer confidence pointing to healthy final demand.(Quote)

7. Hal

You heard that from Dr.Greenidge’s mouth? I am flummoxed, so please explain to me how this infrastructural investment would be funded without some rejigging of the debt profile, because as I understand it the objective is to go down the infrastructure route with the money saved from reduced debt payments?

8. Sorry. I cannot continue to repeat myself. Ask @PLT. We only had the latest in this discussion weeks ago.

9. Heard the intelluctual nonsense. being spewded by the moderator on brass tacks
    Even the media is giving the people their dose of poison
    The way things going in barbados dont see how the people going to survive five years of a govt constantly hog tying them and throwing them to the IMF wolves
    Govt bonds are govt insured and people have a right to collect on or before maturity

10. Heard the intelluctual nonsense. being spewded by the moderator on brass tacks
    Even the media is giving the people their dose of poison
    The way things going in barbados dont see how the people going to survive five years of a govt constantly hog tying them and throwing them to the IMF wolves
    Govt bonds are govt insured and people have a right to collect on or before maturity

11. Mariposa,

Have you heard Peter Wickham on Brasstacks?

12. If I have no money and no salable assets you can sue me if you like, but you are unlikely to collect.

I didn’t buy any of the government thingies, because (1.) I had no money, and (2.) The way the government was doing things I thought that it was unlikely that the promises could be kept.

Human beings make promises. Human beings break promises. That is how we human beings are.

It is like an old friend of mine who “did not believe in divorce” His wife who had left him and migrated to the U.S. decades ago, so long ago that he did not even know that she had died. He was a widower, and did not know it.

Yet he “did not believe in divorce”.

Sadly sometimes solemn promises have to be broken. Because to keep the promise would cause greater harm, than breaking the promise.

13. @Hal Austin October 3, 2018 1:26 PM “The economic crisis was only officially realised with the collapse of Lehman Bros. ”

Who and what caused the collapse of Lehman Brothers?

14. @October 2, 2018 8:18 PM “That is what a 30 -0 victory will do.”

So why did the DLP not get a 30-0 victory.

This is a serious question.

15. @peterlawrencethompson October 2, 2018 9:00 PM “the constitution recognizes contracts, specifically section: “(2) Nothing contained in or done under the authority of any law shall be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention of this section- (a) to the extent that the law in question makes provision for the taking of possession or acquisition of any property-[…] (iii) as an incident of a lease, tenancy , mortgage, charge, bill of sale, pledge, contract, grant, permission or licence ;” It seems to me that the change in interest rates for Treasury Bills, Treasury Notes & Debentures amounts to “… the taking of possession or acquisition of […] property…” by using the law to unilaterally alter a contract. This put the proposed legislation in contravention of the constitution.”

In 1962 the government of the day created the water zone system and zoned ALL of my parent’s land as Zone 1. My parents purchased this land in 1957 with the intention of providing house spots for their children. Some other spots had been purchased from the 1930’s onwards. This zoning done without permission or consultation. The result has been that the hotel sector on the west coast has received nice fresh water, harvested from under our lands. We have received NOT ONE CENT. All of my parent’s children have had to buy house spots elsewhere at whatever the prevailing market rates were at the time. Now my parent’s grandchildren are having to do the same.

In the late 60’s and again just before this election my family was approached by DLP operatives who have wanted to buy the land at less than its assessed value. Perhaprs these operatives would get a rezoning, when we poor black people cannot.

I ain’t going happen.

It will return to natural woodland. But no political party, or party operative will even benefit from my parents sweat.

16. Hal No. It was not Peter Wickham never listens to him
    But another branzen intellectual con artist moderator call Sanka Price who belives that giving the retirees a double of koolaid would suffice and calm the people nerves

17. @T.Inniss October 3, 2018 8:08 AM “Isn’t it strange that the same BLP pups who were constantly haranguing the govt about paying back the clico annuity investers their money.”

I am not a BLP pup, but I was one of those who thought, and I still think that the government should NOT take up the taxpayers money, and “pay back” the CLICO invvestors.

The CLICO incestors took a chance, they lost. If they had won they would not have shared their winnings with the taxpayers.

Life is tough.

We are REASONABLE adults aren’t we?

18. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right October 3, 2018 1:36 PM

I NOTICE DAT IN YOUR CARTOON THE TRIDENT IS POINTING NEITHER UP OR DOWN
    IT LIKE UM POINTING ALL AROUND! UM ALL OVER THE PLACE! UM MIRRORING THE CONFUSION OF THE PEOPLE THAT MIA MAO MUGABE GOT DE PEOPLE IN AFTER AND DESPITE THE 30-0 WOW! MURDAH!

19. @Georgie Porgie October 3, 2018 8:30 AM

Stupseee!!!

You vex because nobody wants to have oral sex with you?

20. @Bush Tea October 3, 2018 11:32 AM “DO NOT trust your money to an idiot. NO MATTER what shiite he promises up front.

BRILLIANT.

21. What next govt taking up retirees land and selling it under the diguse that the did not pay taxes
    With this govt nothing can be ruled out
    This latest revelations is just the beginning of what is in store for bajans
    I recommend all get to hell out of Dodge
    There is a new sheriff in town and she is ugly

22. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

The moral of the story do not trust ANYTHING coming out of a BLP or DLP politician mouth.

In the future ALSO do not buy anything sold by Barbados Government in the form of bonds/treasury bills.

23. @Gabriel October 3, 2018 11:33 AM “Grantley put it this way….’Mr Speaker,the only thing Parliament cannot do is make a man into a woman’.”

Actually the government CAN make a man into a woman. It happens all of the time. Long ago when I lived in another place a Bajan who was born male but had had a sex change complained to a widely circulated newspaper column that the Barbados government was refusing to issue him a passport in his new gender. The newspaper intervened. The Barbados government issued the passport in the new gender, effectively turning a man into a woman. That was back in the early ’80’s.

So yes a government can turn a man into a woman.

And a government can if it has no money refuse to pay a debt.

Just like i can.

Just like you can.

24. @Mariposa October 3, 2018 3:11 PM “What next govt taking up retirees land and selling it under the diguse that the did not pay taxes.”

For the land being sold, those people DO owe taxes to the PEOPLE of Barbados.

25. Barbados under the 2008-2018 DLP had become a straw man.

Try getting blood out of a straw man.

26. @ Dr. GP,

What you are seeing is an optical illusion caused by the fact that said flag is one furling “in the winds of the times of Constitutional change”

If it might seem to you to be a warped Trident that is but an illusion.

The Time between World War I and World War II was not many years and there consequently would have been many citizens who spanned both wars.

Certainly, by 1945, there was a desire by many who has suffered through both of them to have a hope that WWII would have been ?the war to end all wars” but then there was 51-53 and others where the embattled were the same combatants and they learnt nothing.

I liken the Scourge of the Demonic Labour Party, followed WITHOUT A PAUSE, on May 25th, by the Mia Mugabe pestilence, as being our own double whammy.

It is our succession of wars designed to either (a) KILL OUT ANY VESTIGE OF INDEPENDENT THOUGHT (b) WIPE OUT THE FINANCIAL SECURITY AND STABLE ECONOMY barbados has known or (c) awaken the ever sleeping population of Barbados to a self actuation IT HAS NEVER KNOWN from its independence.

That last hope is “A Bridge Too Far” though since we are at the start of our WWII

27. But wait a second now is this tge same govt who found excuses to give millions of dollars in tax waivers to the rich
    Now think it is alright to steal retirees savings to pay them waivers
    Well ill be dam

28. Are we now going to get an inheritance tax in Barbados.

29. At the rate everything is going in Barbados everything is being taxed.

I expect to hear that the new minister of the SSA going pass a shitting fee and every time people go and take a dump the MMoney Application is going to take a $5 bill

Politicians will be exempt of course and certain pooch suckers will be awarded credits for collecting at source heheheheheheh

They know who they are but the ole man has assigned them the “accursed thing” status and will call their names no more.

https://i.imgur.com/oOs1XdI.png

30. Mariposa October 3, 2018 3:11 PM

There is a new sheriff in town and she is ugly
    ……………………………..

Wuhloss!!!, Angela Cox call somebody ugly???

Woman, I would advise you quite while you are ahead, your pictures are on the internet…

A word to the………(can’t include because you are NOT)

31. Also hear that on the agenda the selling off of more land on the west coast is up for grabs not only the retiree s going get a kick in the a.ss but their children depending on owning a piece of the rock would be totally shut out
    As if it wasnt bad enough now

On another note it looks like Annakani took advantage of membership fees to feather his own nest
    Cat piss and pepper at NUPW
    Also wuh happen to big mout Caswell who had an answer for everything
    Now he got access to the bully pulpit in Parliament he gone deaf and dumb except for a few occasional outburst

32. Calm

You know that person too got to agree with you she is one ugly mudda f..ucker

33. Mia took one of the CLICO Crooks Haynes who helped rip off Clico policy holders and put him to chair/direct the National Insurance Pension FUND/Social Security of the same elderly senior citizens they ALL rob and abuse…I did not make that up.

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/891835164359357/?t=97

34. WARU @ 5.52pm
    I agree that that man should not be on any board given his association with the Clico collapse.Is he not on the Electoral & Boundaries Commission as well.I don’t trust this fellow.

35. Gabriel.. Leslie Haynes and the other 2.. Marshal and Payne will upend Mia..but maybe that is what she wants..she is going to self destruct if she does not do something, we cannot make her do anything, but the BLACK people who ELECTED her will have to protect themselves, their families AND each other from them all….from all these corrupt criminals she continues to harbour.

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

O what a tangle web we weave
    If only we were stupid and keep it simple
    Life would be easy and riches ample

37. My oh my ! !

They got Lord Evil (one of Mia’s drug lord who was invited to the opening of parliament) now in custody after the killing and shooting in Crab Hill.

I tell yuh Ty. P. Griffith don’t play hear.

I wonder if Lord Evil will reach out to Mia.According to all reports he was her man in charge of the get out to vote – for St Lucy.

When you lie down with dogs yuh does catch fleas.A word to the wise is enough.

38. This is a S.O.S for fair minded,patriotic Barbadians.

We need you in the judiciary to stand up and be counted.You in the media,you in the private sector,you in the civil service,you at Cave Hill,you who are the social commentators.

Start speaking truth to power – wherever it falls.

39. T INNIS
    RE They got Lord Evil (one of Mia’s drug lord who was invited to the opening of parliament) now in custody after the killing and shooting in Crab Hill.

YOU LIKE YOU CANT HEAR
    TEK IT EASY
    MIA MAO MUGABE BRIDGE IS BREKING DOWN
    UM BURNING UP SLOWLY

40. @Dr. GP;

Maybe T. Innis is off island and has no fear of the Cabal.

41. BAJANS
    I HOPE YOU REAPED ALL YOUR HARVEST FOR THIS YEAR

I OFFERED TO HELP YOU FOR COFFEE AND PUMPKIN PIE

BUT YOU DIDNT GET BACK TO EMPLOY ME

42. This is what happens when a weak leader..read Mia…leaves an ignorant, arrogant fool…Dale Marshall…in charge and in a position he has no right being in to begin with…at the expense of taxpayers…it costs the taxpayers even more and will continue to cost the people heavily.. until the electorate gets rid of THEM ALL….

And as long as she continues to harbor the most vicious, cruel lawyers like Payne, Narshall and Leslie Haynes around her…at taxpayer’s expense…she will remain a weak leader…unnecessarily costing the taxpayers when they could least afford it and costing the elderly and others in the Supreme Court who have no choice but to criss paths with these beasts..dearly..

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/201182/buses-affected-tropical-storm-kirkhttp://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/201182/buses-affected-tropical-storm-kirk

“The Transport Board issued a statement today informing the public of some of the challenges the authority is facing.

Too many problems with Transport…
    The release stated that due to the passage of Tropical Storm Kirk “a number of buses which traversed areas with rushing and/or high water levels experienced damaged panels and electrical issues”.

43. And to insult the people’s intelligence even more..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/04/blame-kirk/

They are blaming the storm for damaging the buses, no the storm did not damage the buses…the Jackass Dale Marshall SENT the buses out in the storm so that they can be damaged…..

..which would never had happened had he HE SHUT THE ISLAND DOWN…at 3pm due to the approaching storm….and kept it shut down into the following day until the flood waters receded.

Blame Mia…the weak leader…for foisting the Jackass Dale Marshall on the people AND island as Deputy PM…while she was away..when she is well aware that Marshall LACKS any critical thinking skills unless it involves robbing the elderly of their estates, land and properties.

That is who should be blamed for the damaged transport board buses after Kirk passed……the weak leader Mia and the idiot Dale Marshall.

4 months after election and they do not want to take any responsibility for their backward unintelligent actions..just like the previous useless government, .it will be a long 5 years.

44. ….when Mia is well aware that Marshall LACKS any critical thinking skills unless it involves ROBBING the elderly of their estates, land and properties…..and ROBBING the INJURED who traverse the blighted, cursed and corrupt Supreme Court looking for justice….of their compensations.

Compare Mia to Gaston Browne in Antigua…who does not tolerate even a whiff of incompetence or corruption in any of his ministers or in his government, one whiff and ministers are removed under investigation OR immediately fired. ..that is strong leadership.

Weak leadership is allowing, harboring and feeding into the incompetence and criminal corruption of your ministers while the world is watching.

45. For the 999th time, this is unwarranted

…1 This is MAM made.
    …2 No investigation of what caused the sudden decline in the reserves
    …3 No action against businesses and individuals that divert US$ revenue to overseas accounts
    …4 No action against those owing millions in taxes of all types
    …5 No action to reduce a public service that is not earning its keep
    …6 No action to investigate goods passing through the ports without paying the appropriate duties
    …7 Pursuing political promises of paying all UWI fees
    …8 Pursuing political objectives of making “every” MP a minister to allow for the senators and consultants being hired
    …9 No attempt to use assets to pay the debt holders
    …10 Failing to place the burden of the cure on those that caused the problem – those that refused to pay their taxes; those that bribed others to evade paying their taxes; public servants that failed to collect the GoB’s revenue; and the politicians
    …11 The division of the country into MAMhaves and MAMhavenots without reference to past effort
    …12 No investigation of the members of the last administration after accusing them of corruption
    …13 The debt restructuring should be the near-to-last action and not the first.
    …14 Do not place additional burden on the cash flows – UWI students continue to pay fees, no increase for the public service
    …15 Collect amounts owed for vat, income tax, import duties and so on
    …16 Recover amounts stolen through the use of bribes etc.
    …17 Recover US$ amounts diverted to overseas accounts
    …18 Reduce the public service to an appropriate size by reducing compensation and eliminating those that have no interest in work
    …19 Terminate 50% of the cabinet, consultants and the like
    …20 Dispose of or securitize appropriate assets to reduce the debt
    …21 After all of the above, then talk to the debt holders about contributing a portion of their income

46. Wuh loss when i was being concerned about preventive measures which govt should have taken at least 24hrs in advance
    Measures which would have cost the govt liltle to nothing David BU silenced my efforts
    Now lo and behold transport board buses have been dsmaged because of lack of implementing commonsense which could have provided efficiency for sheltering and keeping the buses out of flooded areas
    Barbados will continue its downward spiral because of poor leadership
    There will be no economic or social recovery under this piss poor govt
    A govt that has shown its inability to tackle small issues
    Now kirk has opened the window wide for all to see
    This time around govt can’t blame Stuart or Sinckler for this blantant misuse of inefficiency and total lack of common sense
    Eventually a cost to tax payers money and more debt accumulated

47. yep.. very WEAK leadership = Mia

..and it will only get worse given the current trajectory, the upside = it is still very early in the life of the administration and as PM she has the power to make the appropriate changes…BUT…given her already very weak starting position because of who she has surrounded herself with, can she make the appropriate changes..

We shall see.

48. Senior Lecturer in Political Science at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Cynthia Barrow-Giles, made the case for a replacement of the Westminster parliamentary system as she addressed a discussion on good governance put on by the St. Michael Centre for Faith and Action at the St. Michael’s Cathedral.(Quote)

This appalling ignorance masquerading as academic intelligence, is part of the reason why our institutions do not function properly. Instead of making a bold statement about something she does not fully understand, she should say what in her view is wrong with the so-called Westminster/Whitehall model and how it could be remedied.
    The Bajan disease/habit of making unsubstantiated statements has worn thin.

49. Hal

Cave Hill is an empty tomb – where scarce govt funds are expended and there is no real return on your investment.

Imagine the billions of taxpayers dollars spent there over the years to produce someone like this Giles Barrow Character – whose only claim to fame is that she makes the most idiotic of statements – and is given free media coverage for that.

Where are the true political scientists (not George Belle because he is a clown who has been pimped out),where are the objective scientists or the Economists who can dissect and bring balanced commentary on how we got here – going right back to the inception of this huge public debt – who started us off on this wrong path – why we have been doing it wrong – and what we need to do to climb out of this economic stranglehold.

But instead we are getting more political pimps and opportunists like Jeremy stephens,ryan straughan,clyde mascoll and the whole ’empty headed’ lot spouting a lot of theory and textbook speak.

Where are the true journalists like the late Gladstone Holder – instead we get more poltical opportunists who sell their integrity to the highest bidder – that is, people like David Ellis, Sanka price,Stetson Babb,Carol Martindale & those anonymous BLP Operatives the Nation newspaper uses to write these slanted editorials -without putting a name or a face to these hit pieces.

Bar bados is crying out for reasoned,well thought out objective analysis on a wide range of issues but instead we get Certified persons throwing out a lot of jargon without really connecting with the issues.

Now for those who would have read this carefully – watch and see how the Mottley defenders (including the Blog Moderator) will come and reduce what you have to say – to some meaningless trifle.

50. Inniss..I am so sorrow you weren’t around when Freundel and the gang were doing just as much crap to the people and for 10 whole years…this is an extension of DLP and their useless, arrogant corrupt ministers, so you are still managing to help dismantle the other half of these two very, vey corrupt and incompetent governments.

I can only support you.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply