Officially from today, the second airline departure tax will be levied on all flight tickets purchased, adding another US$70 per person, irrespective of age, for extra regional travel and US$35 within the Caribbean.

Time will tell of course of the impact that it will have on arrival numbers and perhaps more importantly, average spend, but clearly in certain markets, it will have a profound effect.

Thomas Cook, one of the largest British tour operators, has reported a substantial drop in projected profits for the financial year ending 30th September. They are predicting a fall of GB Pounds 43 million, which when announced saw their share price fall by up to 25 per cent, blaming mostly the unseasonal long summer and prolonged hotel weather across Europe.

Chief executive, Peter Fankhauser, commented that ‘summer 2018 has seen a return of popularity of destinations such as Turkey and Tunisia’ and that ‘many customers spent June and July enjoying the sunshine at home and put off booking their holidays abroad, leading to even tougher competition and higher than usual levels of discounting in the late market of August and September’.

Concluding that, ‘our recent trading performance is clearly disappointing’.

While Barbados is not necessarily in the same market as Turkey and Tunisia, it must reflect of the value of currency exchange, price affordability and perceived value-for-money.

For many of our long term loyal British returnee visitors, this year they will be summing up if they can still continue to include us as a destination of choice, when as a result of our economic position, the cost of just about everything has risen substantially.

Should our tourism policymakers and planners be looking for additional creative ways to help mitigate these price hikes?

Absolutely!

Thomas Cook over the last few years have substantially increased their interests in owning and operating hotels, with a total now standing at 190, according to their website.

Is there some way that otherwise derelict hotels, like Silver Sands could be brought back into profitable use by smart partnering with them?

Not only would it create much needed employment in that area, but generate more foreign currency and entice the airline division of the company to extend its season service from Gatwick and Manchester to Barbados, throughout the summer months.

A revitalised Silver Sands could attract a year-round predominately ‘millennial’ following, who have a special interest in water sports, including kite, windsurf and SUP paddle boarding.

This property would appear to be a perfect match for their Cook’s Club or Casa Cook brands and as a recent media release indicated, the company is ‘hopeful of opening another ten youth focused hotels next year’.

I always find declared mission statements interesting, if not always compelling.

Cook’s Club is ‘leading the way in bringing a sense of urban cool to the beach’ and Casa Cook’s declaration is ‘laid back places for kindred spirits’ and ‘across cities and continents we’re connecting a new and multi-facet tribe of travellers – foodies, creators, trekkers, soul searchers, beach buffs, dancers, dreamers – individuals bound together by similar values and their shared quest for a deep fulfilling experience’.

Perhaps for a dinosaur like me, a touch too heady and feely, but maybe for many, captivating and alluring enough to book.

71 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – The tax, the tax!”

1. ” A race against time is on to fix the outstanding sewage issues on the South Coast – with the finish line being the December 15 start of the vital winter tourist season, the Government acknowledged today.

“I appreciate the urgency… and we have started the process of the fix and we aim to have this rectified as soon as possible,” Minister of Energy and Water Resources Wilfred Abrahams has told Barbados TODAY.”

2. @ Bruddah Bim

You said and I quote “…the very fact that the current prime minister has reached out to the Barbadian diaspora in the United States, Canada, as well as the United Kingdom, gives me a sense of great optimism.

She seems keen to ask questions on how we as a people both at home and abroad can come together and collectively save the nation…”

So “keen” Mia Mugabe is, in deed and in fact on, “reaching out” to the Barbadian diaspora that she has

(a).made an outreach for 3 bajans in the diaspora AND HAS CHANGED THE CONSTITUTION FOR THE SAME 3

(b).Mia Mugabe then turned around and changed the Barbados government’s rules and regulations related to tenders for the supply of goods and services to the GoB

She unilaterally took a proposal by one of the same senators that she changed the constitution for and has made that person’s vapourware the platform of choice in the fleecing of Barbados you can read about it under Barbados PM endorses BITTcoin MMoney and

(c)Mia Mugabe, not to be outdone, has taken sovereign bonds and investments of people in the Diaspora, like you (if you really exist) and unilaterally devalued these instruments, so that investors do not get the stated yields on the debt instruments but WHAT MUGABE FEELS LIKE PAYING YOU!!

Yes siree Bruddah Bim, I can understand why you with your mek kup name, as a mekkup IP blogger?, one who has been made up to look like someone in the Diaspora , WOULD BE SO OPTIMISTIC about congratulating this shite by Muggabe Mottley.

Accept that this tax is the most stupid idea that has ever been proposed by any Tourism Minister and that Kerrie oblong head in a true phrenological subject, notwithstanding the status of phrenology in the medical community

3. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

News that will bring a smile to Adrian.

” PARADISE ISLAND, Bahamas – Barbados and other Caribbean tourist destinations are being challenged to transform the region into a global centre for tourism excellence that drives innovation in the industry.

Bahamas Prime Minister Dr Hubert Minnis has urged regional officials to explore “ground-breaking” ways to improve the tourism product, saying that he was confident Caribbean tourism would continue to be the leading engine for economic growth and development.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/04/make-caribbean-global-tourism-centre/

@ BRUDDAH BIM,

The great GP was forced out of Barbados many years ago. Ask him why? It is highly doubtful that Mia’s campaign to attract the Barbadian diaspora to contribute towards the development of the country will not work. The diaspora has no faith in the country or her leadership. One would be foolish to divest your savings from a developed country to a a highly unstable country racked by so much uncertainty.

4. @ Talking Loud and Saying Nothing

That is precisely the point kind sir.

They have changed the constitution to appoint one of their own.

They now change the laws to discommode every bajan investor

They then used “underhand means” to purportedly advance one of their proposed ammmmmm Diaspora Initiatives

Yet you hear all of them here pun BU talking bout step up or STFU .

Yet the simplest of “LAWS” that will give any diaspora dweller confidence that they are really serious about respecting people’s property and Innovations THEY REFUSE TO IMPLEMENT.

In fact de Attorney General one Dale Smiley Teets Marshall is the first among equals who refuses to respect any such rule or representation of “LAWS” as it relates to IP.

Yes sireee remember that IRRESPECTIVE OF THIS BLATANT MODUS OPERANDUM, you are to remember first and foremost that “MIA Cares!!!” (bout she fadder law practice and contracts for wuk for she family and business partners both No. 1 & 2 heheheheheheh no pun intended.

5. @pieceuhderock

So exactly what steps should the current PM be taking then? Rather than trying to blister me with your flamboyant and colourful “vocabulary”, I failed to detect any solutions offered up on your part that could prove to be more constructive. Oh and FYI, I commended Mia on her honesty and opening up to the nation and diaspora on an appeal.

It takes courage and strength for any leader to take such a stance. It will be a COLLECTIVE endeavor for our nation and its diaspora in order to salvage and safeguard our nation, as with any country.

As far as how her term in office has been, I made ABSOLUTELY NO COMMENT about such as I live in the States, not Bim. Rather than being so quick to erroneously and petulantly quip on about matters you know nothing about as if you were some bonafied Poindexter, might I suggest that you actually take your time and READ/LISTEN to what the person is actually trying to convey?

Y’know, to save yourself from making warped ‘conclusive’ statements about matters and people that effectively make YOU look asinine, if not a complete ass.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bruddah Bim

The thing about insults that I have learn over the years is that WHILE THE INSULT MAY BE GIVEN for it to be effective, it must be taken.

That will confuse you to be sure Bruddah Bim but that is just the way it is.

You operate under a misconception about you being the focus of my blistering.

You ARE NOT! You are just one of the cool aid drinkers who are caught up in the hype by minister Mao.

De ole man is hoarse shouting like John the Baptist in the Wilderness to these a hardback set of brutes and beasts of burden

And I forgot to mention THIEVES! of an order and magnitude like the tsunami that hit Indonesia recently.

The problem sir is NOT the desire nor the skill to provide solutions!

That has been done for over 20 years and has been done as recent as ***.

No sir. It is the proactive theft of this government of things THAT DO NOT BELONG TO IT and then packaging those assets as its own.

That is what de ole man speaks to.

Theft as in the theft of people’s investment in government bonds as has happened recently under the unilateral measures of this government

And as happened during its acts Plenipotentary which you, because of your pay grade, are not privy to.

Am I lying Honourable Blogmaster?

If I am lying say here and now that the ole man is a liar?

And not one man can say that all my colourful prose is a lie.

NOT ONE Bruddah Bim, so you, newly arrived and all uniformed with your assumptions, should take a step back and say “how is it that he shouts so loud, is there anyone else” and no one comes to his national challenge?

And that would caution you to put your tail between you legs and walk away from this one…seek another full moon…

7. Not only is Brudda Bim talking pup about Mia reaching out to the Diaspora most govt have always reached out to the people in the dispora
    However unlike you who might have consumed too much koolaid and now blinded by smoke and mirrors
    Most in the diaspora are taking a second look at Mia and her politics of voodoism and for sure will be reluctant to place any confidence in a govt who seemingly thinks that policies and plans similar to those of tyrannical regimes would be washed and glazed over as the way to go
    While their brothers and sisters suffer the ravages of harsh austerity measures and the retirees fleece of their savings
    Not gonna happen

8. RE One would be foolish to divest your savings from a developed country to a a highly unstable country racked by so much uncertainty.

THIS ADVICE IS AS SOUND AS THE SOUND OF A BELL……….AND CAN NOT BE REFUTED

RE So “keen” Mia Mugabe is, in deed and in fact on, “reaching out” to the Barbadian diaspora that she has

(a).made an outreach for 3 bajans in the diaspora AND HAS CHANGED THE CONSTITUTION FOR THE SAME 3

(b).Mia Mugabe then turned around and changed the Barbados government’s rules and regulations related to tenders for the supply of goods and services to the GoB

She unilaterally took a proposal by one of the same senators that she changed the constitution for and has made that person’s vapourware the platform of choice in the fleecing of Barbados you can read about it under Barbados PM endorses BITTcoin MMoney and

(c)Mia Mugabe, not to be outdone, has taken sovereign bonds and investments of people in the Diaspora, like you (if you really exist) and unilaterally devalued these instruments, so that investors do not get the stated yields on the debt instruments but WHAT MUGABE FEELS LIKE PAYING YOU!!

AGAIN THESE FACTS CAN NOT BE DENIED OR REFUTED

HAS BARBADOS GONE FROM THE FRYING MAN INTO THE FIRE?
    WAS ARTHUR CORRECT ABOUT MIA MAO MUGABE, THE VULVAE BITER?
    DOES ANY OF THE OTHER 28 HAVE A SAY?
    HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE BAJANS TO WAKE UP AND SEE THAT MIA IS CLUELESS……..AND THAT SHE DONT REALLY GOT THIS?

DOES MIA REALLY CARE?

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge

You said and I quote “…Cook’s Club is ‘leading the way in bringing a sense of urban cool to the beach’ and Casa Cook’s declaration is ‘laid back places for kindred spirits’ and ‘across cities and continents we’re connecting a new and multi-facet tribe of travellers – foodies, creators, trekkers, soul searchers, beach buffs, dancers, dreamers – individuals bound together by similar values and their shared quest for a deep fulfilling experience…”

I realize that the context that you put this in is tainted by that experience being “owned” by another colonialist investor.

And, given the Gems of Barbados experience, and abysmal failure, one can identify, in part, with not promoting any type of indigenously owned, hotel plant.

But I would counter this by solely lifting a part of that Thomas Cook mission statement, the part about “individuals bound together by similar values and their shared quest for a deep fulfilling experience…”

The Heart of Barbados brand as it was originally conceived and shared 30 years ago was crafted to embody a built to purpose community tourism product for such an experience!

Along comes AirBnB and now it’s a household word, a multi billion dollar product YET IT IS STILL NOT THAT BUILT TO PURPOSE EXPERIENCE LIKE YOU IMPUTE COOK WOULD BE.

And even though that niche exists Loveridge which would not take away from your hotel, nor Cook’s nor Sandals, de ole man puts this to you that, for oblong headed Kerrie, such an investment would be A BRIDGE TOO FAR.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your assistance is appreciated with an item that is in suspense here. Thank you

11. @ Brudda Bim

No Bajan in their right mind, who sloshed through snow, hail, sleet and -40C temperatures are going to invest in Barbados. Not when they have been abused and cast aside by the local populace. With regard to giving ideas and/or solutions, we would have to be stark raving mad. We have been called crazy, and told to our faces ‘because we live away, we think we know everything”. No siree! Barbados has no Intellectual Property Act. Why would we give them down their ideas to steal and benefit from our intellect and know how? It ain’t happening Brudda Bim.
    Mia Mao Mugabe Mottley is for her family, friends, BLP cohorts and business partners, not the ordinary Joe. Just watch what she has done in the short time she has been in power. Mia cares alright…for her own.

12. @ David

So you’ve been indilging ego-tripping trolls in my absence, eh brother David?

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Here is an item for the wise to understand what so many of you brimlers simply don’t have the grey matter to understand.

https://www.bbc.com/reel/video/p06fs373/the-substance-that-can-withstand-75-nuclear-blasts-

Watch all six videos and then, if you can, multiply the construct by ***

Now perchance, if you begin to comprehend that state “knowing that which others around you “do not know, and cannot comprehend EVEN IF IT WERE SHOWN TO THEM IN LETTERS AS BIG AS A BREADFRUIT, you get a jist of the indifference

What people (like you) think you see is disdain (which a being of your intellect would see)

But de ole man asks you to consider this, when the elephant encounters the ant on the plains of the swahili, the former when he places his foot on the latter, is only passing by, why do you think that it is the elephant ‘s intent to eradicate all ants?

Much like the sea manatee, she who you worship, when she must eat, she imbibes adequate food and sustenance for her girth, the act carries no evil intent against the krill on which she feeds.

So here you have a being that is black (and so very proud of his blackness), agitating among a few blacks who too are similarly disposed to total enfranchisement of our blackness.

we refuse to beg for this entitlement

You, as an individual ant, are disturbed by what is a movement gathering momentum and which you cant understand and which you fear. And, I have learnt that what God sent fears they see to kill.

You get off on bringing discussions down to the level of what approximates “protecting your ant trail” and, as is the wont of your kind, you group together instinctively to destroy anything that perforce will move past the meagre expectations of your ant hill.

But here is the thing, oh insect that you are, if you, and this Mottleyian crew don’t up your ant hill thinking rapidly, in light of what is going to happen soon, you will all become a casualty of the ***.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

A second item languishes here thank you

15. Interesting reading some of the sentiment expressed by Bajans living in the Diaspora and compare to similar from Jamaicans, Trinis et al.

16. David, Jamaicans always look out for their own. Not so Bajans. Bajans would hire a foreign white or Indian or Arab before they repatriate their own Bajans with the same or better qualifications. It has happened more often than you think. Bajans have allowed the foreign business and hotel maguffies to bypass local labour laws to bring in foreign workers over hiring qualified locals. I cant speak to Trinidad as I do not have much contact there. So, please, give it a rest.

17. @Bajans

Agree with you, the question was the usual provocative question from the blogmaster. We have to change the mindset.

Barbados belong to ah we!

18. Surely you misquoted and meant to say “Barbados belong to some ah we!

One would anticipate your rewrite of the misleading statement but one understands that it will remain because “it is provocative” heheheheh

19. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Why would Sunil Chatrani, CEO of the Elegant Hotels Group have released a press announcement with regard to modern day slavery? How much information do we have on this company. I would be interested to know how many Bajans are employed in their service and at what level.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/202178/elegant-steps-threat-modern-slavery

20. @Talking Loud

How are you translating the Nation newspaper report you have referenced?

21. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

@Talkingloud

Don’t mind Sunil he is a bullshitter and trickster.

I know him well from playing golf with him many times.

He is one of Peter and Thomas Harris mates and like Charles Herbert should be investigated for ‘white powder’ trafficking.

He owned or is still the owner of two hotels in St. Lawrence Gap.

Leave a Reply to bajansCancel reply