IMF Press Release No:18/370

IMF Executive Board Approves US$290 million Extended Arrangement Under the Extended Fund Facility for Barbados

October 1, 2018

• The IMF supported program aims to help Barbados: restore debt sustainability, strengthen the external position, and improve growth prospects.
  • Approval of the program allows for the immediate disbursement of about US$49 million immediately.
  • A comprehensive debt restructuring will complement the fiscal consolidation. The authorities have identified parameters that would provide debt relief without jeopardizing financial stability.

On October 1, 2018, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) approved a four-year Extended Arrangement under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) for Barbados for an amount equivalent to SDR 208 million (about US$290 million, or 220 percent of Barbados’s quota in the IMF). The Board’s decision enables the authorities to purchase the equivalent of SDR 35 million (or about US$49 million) immediately. The remainder will be available upon successful completion of seven semiannual reviews.

The EFF-supported program aims to help Barbados: restore debt sustainability, strengthen the external position, and improve growth prospects. Upfront fiscal consolidation, meaningful debt restructuring, and structural measures to support growth should put debt on a clear downward trajectory. The program will seek to protect vulnerable groups through strengthened social safety nets.

Following the Executive Board discussion, Mr. Mitsuhiro Furusawa, Deputy Managing Director and Acting Chair, said:

“The Barbadian authorities have developed a homegrown economic program to address longstanding challenges, which will be supported under the IMF’s Extended Fund Facility. Over the last decade, Barbados’s economy has experienced low growth, while fiscal and external imbalances have gradually widened to reach an unsustainable situation, with very high debt and very low reserves. The authorities’ reform program seeks to address these challenges with a combination of front-loaded fiscal consolidation, measures to boost growth, and debt restructuring, while protecting social spending.

“Fiscal consolidation is key to the adjustment effort. The authorities aim to increase the primary surplus to 6 percent of GDP in FY2019/20 and maintain it at that level for several years thereafter. Reducing transfers to state-owned enterprises will be key in reaching the primary surplus targets. The program aims to reduce these transfers with a combination of much stronger oversight of state-owned enterprises, improved reporting, cost reduction, revenue enhancement, and mergers and divestment. A planned comprehensive review of tax policies is expected to lead to improvements in the tax system. The adoption of a fiscal rule and reforms in public financial management will help sustain the fiscal reform effort.

“A comprehensive debt restructuring will complement the fiscal consolidation. The authorities have identified parameters that would provide debt relief without jeopardizing financial stability, and an exchange offer for domestic debt (Barbados dollar-denominated) to private creditors was launched on September 7, 2018. The proposed debt restructuring includes features, including a natural disaster clause, that are expected to help the authorities stay current on their future debt obligations. It is important to continue good faith negotiations with domestic and external creditors.

“Bold structural reforms are needed to improve Barbados’s growth potential and competitiveness. There is significant room for improvement in key business facilitation processes, including speeding up the process for providing construction permits and faster clearing of goods through customs.

Adequate social spending and an improved safety net are key priorities for the program. Targeted reforms, to be pursued in close collaboration with development partners, aim at improving the efficiency and effectiveness of social spending.”

ANNEX

Recent Developments

A new government that took office in May 2018 has inherited a precarious economic situation. Over the last decade, Barbados’ economy has experienced very low growth, and fiscal and external imbalances have gradually led to an unsustainable situation, with very high debt, and very low reserves. Public debt has increased to 157 percent of GDP, while international reserves dropped to 5-6 weeks of import coverage.

Although the fiscal deficit has decreased over the last few years, it remains large, at about 4 percent of GDP in FY2017/18. In 2017 and early 2018, the economy slowed owing to measure taken by the previous government to tighten the fiscal stance and uncertainty about the road ahead, with the Central Bank of Barbados (CBB) reporting a contraction of 0.6 percent in the first half of 2018 (over the same period last year).

The new government announced a comprehensive debt restructuring, including commercial external debt and treasury bills, on June 1, 2018. Significant progress has been made in discussions with domestic and external creditors, and an exchange offer for domestic debt (Barbados dollar-denominated) was launched on September 7, 2018.

Program Summary

Key element of the authorities’ homegrown economic reform program are:

(i) upfront fiscal adjustment: the authorities aim to increase the primary surplus by 2½ percent of GDP to reach 6 percent of GDP in 2019/20 and maintain it at that level for several years thereafter, while protecting vulnerable groups through strengthened social safety nets. Adjustment measures include reduced transfers to state-owned enterprises, higher taxes on tourism, and increased personal income tax and corporate income tax rate rates. The fiscal adjustment effort will be supported by the adoption of a fiscal rule, and Public Financial Management (PFM) reforms.

(ii) reform of state-owned enterprises (SOEs). At 7½ percent of GDP, transfers from the central government to state-owned enterprises are very high, and a major contributor to fiscal risks. The program aims to reduce transfers by about 2 percentage points of GDP, by a combination of much stronger oversight of SOEs, supported by improved reporting; cost reduction, including reduction of the wage bill; revenue enhancement, including an increase in user fees; and mergers and divestment.

(iii) structural reforms to support growth. The program seeks to address weaknesses in the business climate, including slow processes for obtaining construction permits, getting electricity, and registering property, and will include financial and labor market liberalization policies.

Table 1. Barbados: Selected Economic, Financial, and Social Indicators
I. Social and Demographic Indicators (most recent year)
Population (2016 est., thousand) 280.4 Adult literacy rate 99.7
Per capita GDP (2016 est., US$ thousand) 17.8 Poverty rate (individual, 2010) 19.3
Life expectancy at birth in years (2013) 75.3 Gini coefficient (2010) 47.0
Rank in UNDP Development Index (2014) 57 Unemployment rate (2016 est.) 9.9
Main products, services and exports: tourism, financial services, rum, sugar, and chemicals.
II. Economic Indicators
Est. Projection
2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
(Annual percentage change)
Output, prices, and employment
Real GDP 2.2 2.3 -0.2 -0.5 -0.1
CPI inflation (average) -1.1 1.5 4.4 4.2 0.8
CPI inflation (end of period) -2.5 3.8 6.6 0.0 1.4
External sector
Exports of goods and services 3.2 6.6 0.8 2.9 2.8
Imports of goods and services -3.9 0.2 -0.4 4.3 3.1
Real effective exchange rate (average) 8.0 0.9 2.5
Money and credit
Net domestic assets 3.0 7.1 2.6 1.7 3.1
Of which: Private sector credit 0.5 1.1 3.0 1.0 3.5
Broad money 3.7 3.6 -0.6 3.0 4.7
(In percent of GDP, unless otherwise indicated)
CG Public finances (fiscal year) 1/
Revenue and grants 25.9 28.2 28.4 29.6 31.1
Expenditure 34.9 33.6 32.7 30.9 28.5
Fiscal Balance -9.1 -5.3 -4.3 -1.3 2.6
Interest Expenditure 7.1 7.6 7.6 4.7 3.4
Primary Balance -2.0 2.2 3.3 3.3 6.0
Public Debt (fiscal year) 1/
Central gov’t gross debt (incl. guaranteed and arrears) 146.7 149.1 157.3 123.6 116.7
External 33.9 31.2 28.3 26.9 25.9
Domestic 112.8 117.9 129.0 96.8 90.8
Balance of payments
Current account balance -6.1 -4.3 -3.8 -3.1 -3.4
Capital and financial account balance 4.5 0.8 0.8 5.4 6.8
o/w Public Sector -0.8 -1.8 -1.4 2.0 3.2
o/w IMF disbursement 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.9 1.9
Private Sector 5.4 2.6 2.2 3.4 3.6
o/w FDI 5.5 3.4 3.1 3.4 3.6
Net Errors and Omissions 0.0 1.0 0.3 0.0 0.0
Overall balance -1.6 -2.5 -2.6 2.2 3.4
Memorandum items:
Exchange rate (BDS$/US$) 2.0 2.0 2.0
Gross international reserves (US$ million) 478.4 358.5 227.7 342.0 516.7
In months of imports of G&S 2.8 2.1 1.3 1.9 2.8
In percent of ARA 105.3 72.6 43.8 65.8 95.1
Nominal GDP, CY (BDS$ millions) 9,451 9,681 9,979 10,343 10,414
Nominal GDP, FY (BDS$ millions) 9,509 9,756 10,070 10,361 10,480
Sources: Barbados authorities; UNDP Human Development Report; Barbados Country Assessment of Living Conditions 2010 (December 2012); and Fund staff estimates and projections.
1/ Fiscal year is from April to March.
IMF Communications Department
MEDIA RELATIONS

PRESS OFFICER: Randa Elnagar

Phone: +1 202 623-7100Email: MEDIA@IMF.org

197 responses to “IMF Approves Extended Fund Facility for Barbados”

1. The question u should ask why is if the Hilton is doing do great why would govt want to less it
    Also when the discussion of the sale was being talked about the bills due and unpaid accounted for the Hilton was staggering

2. Truth

Maybe the COP and DPP want locking up too, for not doing their jobs. Remember them appointed by the DLP.
    That still aint gine tell me why I have to be taxedto pay back loans that I cannot see what the money was spent on.

3. Mariposa

The question u should ask why is if the Hilton is doing so great why would govt want to sell it for les
    Also when the discussion of the sale was being talked about the bills due and unpaid accounted for the Hilton was staggering

4. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ John2

I agree with your above comment.

I am on the outside looking in and VERY happy I am no longer a part of the local cesspool.

5. Sell it quick before they start closing that beach after every rain

6. Btw Don’t be surprised if Mia use the Hilton as a cash cow
    Given her comments during the back and forth of the sale of thenHilton where she stated that the HIlton can be used to obtain loans …..which might have been her major reason to opposing the sale of the Hilton
    However we shall soon see as the sway of Intellectual Corruption continues threw a lighted glass of smoke and mirtors

7. John 2 and who opposed the sale
    Sinckler or past govt did not own the Hilton
    Mia and her band of blp goons thought it better not to sell and principle buyers recoiled by the blp interference bailed out
    Now the Hilton remains a ghastly economic goose tied around the necks of taxpayers waiting for present govt to bleed what is left of its skelton (dry)

8. Ah totally forgot this thread was here..

“The Barbadian, who works for the IMF but has been seconded to Government as an advisor, also said the IMF’s “stamp of approval” of BERT would positively influence other funding agencies and foreign investors in their provision of assistance to Barbados.”

Mia needs to tell Cow and Bizzy Williams, Mark Maloney, Bjorn Bjerkham and all the other parasites that this money does not belong to any of them and do not get it in their heads that they can use the jackasses of parliament to steal any of it via SCAM CONTRACTS, TRICKS, LIES and BRIBERY…..as they have been doing for decades to the people …..

Mia needs to tell the thieving lawyers around her to keep their DIRTY CORRUPT HANDS off the money belonging to the people….and keep their half assed opinions that they want to charge the people/taxpayers 15,000 dollars a pop for…to themselves.

long as they know….don’t care how close the minority thieves and parasites and the thieving lawyers are to the MINISTERS OF GOVERNMENT..…they will not get away with ROBBING the majority population who have to pay back this money…, not this time.

9. “this loan will open other loans”

Living on loans is living on borrowed time, it is NOT SUSTAINABLE…..and nothing to be proud of, It will catch up with you.

10. Are we suggesting that the CDB and IADB make loans without carrying out due diligence of their own?

11. Mari
    U got more smoke and mirror than Mia
    Why didn’t Sinckler sell it earlier?

12. Instead of the cs loan

13. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

@ Enuff

The only drama I see is the demise of the island.

Keep borrowing borrowing and soon the deck will fall.

14. Maybe they should spend some of the IMF loan on the “sick buildings” in Barbados.

Schools sick. Government offices sick………

” The environmental problems have become increasingly unbearable and workers walked out because they can’t bear it anymore,” the source added.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/200783/town-country-planning-workers-job

15. The cos loan had conditionalities also
    Each downgrade more money out of the taxpayers pockets to pay back the interest

16. It would be interesting to go back and read that article from Solutions Bdos (in 2017) on debt.

According to Grenville the question to be asked is who is the most capable of reducing Barbados Debt ? His view is that most people think it is the BLP but once you examine the BLP PAST PERFORMANCE – it shows the BLP is significantly less experienced in bringing us out of economic challenges than the DLP.

In addition he states in that article that whenever the BLP gets a govt they have always found a stable economy and then during their term in office the BLP always massively overspend ( and I will also add and borrow and borrow and borrow) – and they end up leaving Bdos in a significantly worse economic situation than how they have found it.

Therefore according to the writer – the BLP are the least likely to solve Bdos economic problem

This is the assessment (accurate I might add) of another political party outside of the DLP.

It would be nice if we could have independent and objective assesments from non partisan economists at Cave Hill who we pay through our noses for.

For my one part the more I look at the actions of Mia Mottley and her team – the truth of this article is borne out more and more.

It is my view that by the time Mia Mottley leaves office – Bdos will be in a tremendously worse position than how she found it.You mark my words.

17. @Hal Austin October 2, 2018 8:50 AM “Ah trick question. Ah…try Gresham College.”

What is Gresham College?

18. So the dlp had the economic goose of the hilton but went out and get another economic goose the CS loan to suck the skeleton of the tax payers

19. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

@ John2

Bajans like it so more suffering and corruption to come.

20. Mariposa you on here talking about debt ,who raised the debt from 6 billion to 15billion in 10 years,an increase of 9 billion with nothing to show?Why you think the Government now have to introduce new taxes,to pull back the situation ?You really think you and t inniss speaking in George Street to yardfowls?You should be the last person after defending all the taxes introduce under the Dems and defended on here by you and the pitbull turnred poodle Fractured,who now too ashamed to raise his voice maybe you should be too,if you had a conscience.Mariposa give me a break,as when your try a thing Government was in you cared nothing about any poor people.As for Tron,you do not have to be a supporter but at least give the programmes a chance to work or fail for heaven,s sake,or put some alternative on the table.

21. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

@ T Innis

The truth is both Political parties have fxcked Barbados royally so doesn’t matter who created the most debt.

Bajans are not astute in their decision making.

Both of these Corrupt political organizations needs to be replaced if the island is going to truly recover and grow.

Barbados is currently a failed island with a bleak future for its taxpayers but a boon for its Politicians..

22. Well at long last Barbadians are seeing the first incestuous plans of this BLP government.

Imagine Mia Mottley is closing down the Government Printing Department and farming out the work to Prestige Printery ( which is owned by Trevor Prescod’s brother )

So the economy is BREK !

Ministries & Departments are BREK !

But now because of an attempt to TIEF

Ministries & Departments that received high quality printing services from the Government Printery for FREE !

Now have to fork out scare funds and pay Prestige Printery!

Btw who owns Acute Vision ????

Barbados deserves better !

Not BITTER !!!

23. “you do not have to be a supporter but at least give the programmes a chance to work or fail”

Lorenzo…don’t. know exactly where you are perched looking on, but from where I am sitting..Bajans CANNOT AFFORD for anything Mia’s government does to cause failure in the economy…..remember all the campaign promises and …

“I got this”…

“watch muh nuh”

none of that sounds like failure, it sounds like Mia CLAIMING to know what she is doing..

So we expect SUCCESS and not failure …THE PEOPLE did not elect a government who is going to FAIL…they just kicked out one useless government FOR BEING ABJECT FAILURES…..remember…30-0 on May 24th.

you are starting to sound shaky and unsure of yourself AND Mia’s capabilities..

24. Fracured BLP

Is this true that Mia is closing down the govt printery and giving the contract to Prescod’s brother ?

Is it also true that she wants to put Anderson Cherry her business partner of Jose & Jose as the head of the SSA Board?

Say it ain’t so people.

Stick a fork in it people.We are done.Only the grace of the Almighty God will save us.

It is politics as usual peoples.

24TH OF MAY WAS NO CHANGE BUT AN EXCHANGE IT SEEMS..

25. @mariposa:

“Lorenzo go find something to do with yuh time
    With all the punishing policies inflicted on the people by MIa
    You got nerve to clap hands on receiving 290million loan on a billion dollar plus debt
    Where is the reward
    You got to be an ignorant Johnnie”

I never thought I would say it, but I agree with you 100%. All borrowed money has to be paid back. they are not producing anything, not exporting anything, not selling any services abroad to generate forex. What are they applauding. They so stupid, they calling Avinash Persaud a professor. lol. A lecturer is NOT a professor. All graduate students in Canada can lecture.

26. TInniss
    Y’day a non-finance person was deemed inappropriate for the NIS, today (based on what you have heard) a man involved in garbage collection is not good enough to chair the garbage collection board. $1500/month. The BLP and Mia gine kill wunna.🤣🤣

27. Bajans
    I am no big fan of Persaud, but if yuh gine call people foolish make sure your accusations are accurate. Gresham College calls him a Professor as they do all others that deliver their lectures. It is not a degree granting institution and there is no student body. 😂😂 #oldBUtopic

28. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Enuff

The BLP and Mia gine kill wunna.🤣🤣
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I agree with you for once with continued poor leadership and corruption.

29. Truth
    Poor leadership? I swear wunna duz just call words.🤣🤣

30. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Enuff
    Gresham College is an institution of higher learning located at Barnard’s Inn Hall off Holborn in Central London, England. It does not enroll students and does not award any degrees. It was founded in 1597 under the will of Sir Thomas Gresham, and it hosts over 140 free public lectures every year. Since 2001, all lectures have also been made available online.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Avanish is no Professor with only a first degree and this joke college with no graduates has no real credibility in the academic world.

I am giving you this as someone who has functioned and taught as a Bonafide Professor with a Masters Degree.

31. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

Leadership does not mean securing an IMF loan facility.

32. Enuff I think the redwash got the truth head confused ,I think he referring to Mr Stuart and Mr inniss,since that is the only conclusion any sensible person can come to.This newbie T Inniss talking about contracts and family and friends ties,i wonder if he forget the transport Board and Sss trucks going from UCAl as far as transport buses is concerned being sent to Transtech and the ex ministers driving vehicles belonging to the same company ,these dems got short memories so you have to remind them,not to spit up in the air because it coming back down in their faces.

33. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Lorenzo

You have gone past stupid.

I am a BLP supporter however doesn’t mean I am blinded and can’t think independently.

I don’t drink anyone Koolaid and I am DEFINITELY not a crowd follower.

34. Truth,

Are you suggesting that Persaud does not have an MA in political sociology from the LSE and is an expert on finance? What is Persaud’s fee as a consultant? What expertise does he have that qualifies him as a consultant, when UWI produces dozens of economics graduates every year?

35. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with an item here thank you

@ Truth Will Set You Free

Unless you have you IP hidden they know that you are.

If it is important to you you can protect that by some steps which de ole man will post from time to time

But for the immediate statement of one thing that you can be assured is that they are now becoming aware of the fact that people coming pun BU and looking AND TALKING!!

And that last part got them frighten cause, it is people like you, BLP supporters, who are talking about this Sea CoW equivalent of David Thompson’s Fatted Calf Brigade

https://i.imgur.com/3ofAiBU.png

36. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Hal Austin
    Are you suggesting that Persaud does not have an MA in political sociology from the LSE and is an expert on finance?
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I am not suggesting he doesn’t have a MA in Political Sociology someone earlier refered he had a BSc.

His track record with the Four Seasons Hotel Resort and Condo Project along the West Coast was a TOTAL failure costing the Tax Payers big big money with the Project STILL in disrepair..

I guess Mia payback to him in his Current Postings as her Law Firm was alleged to have made $1 million in fees while Avinash Persaud was the overall Project Manager of Four Seasons.

37. T. Inniss it very true about this Mottley government closing down the Government Printery and already put in place plans for Prestige Printery to do the work , instead.

All ministries and departments will have to pay Prestige Printery for printing services that were once FREE from the Government Printery !

Who will get the millions that the Government Printery by LAW had to pay into the Consolidated Fund – from the sale of the Official Gazette and the Laws of Barbados and other official and legal documents ??

About Cherry and the SSA – I don’t know !

But with this group anything is possible. !!

38. T. Inniss

You can get David of BU to check out the SSA & Cherry situation.

David likes rummaging in GARBAGE !!!!

39. Truth,

Plse tell me it is not true that Persaud and his team got $7m out of Four Seasons.

40. Enuff

Forget even the optics of how it looks,but you think it is ethical for Mia to place her business partner – whose main business is garbage collection and sewage disposal – to put her Company in charge of the State entity that looks after garbage collection and the handling of bulk waste,sewage etc.

Surely you understand the principle of conflict of interest.

This seems to be a case of being both judge and jury in your own case.And you all got the nerve to pretend that the BLP is whiter than the driven snow.Steupes SHAME ON YOU ALL ! !

41. Fractured BLP

Not me and that Pele case boasie.

42. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Hal Austin

Wouldn’t surprise birds of a feather flock together.

Easy to connect the dots with these individuals whilst taxpayers continue to suffer through buddy buddy shenigans.

43. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Piece

They can do whatever they want to do.

I am more concerned about the suffering of the Masses than the continual of business as usual irregardless of which Political Party is in.

The BLP or the Government of Barbados doesn’t pay me a salary or Consulting Fees so I can and will continue to speak independently.

44. @Simple Simon
    @Hal Austin October 2, 2018 8:50 AM “Ah trick question. Ah…try Gresham College.”
    What is Gresham College?

Simply put…. an Emeritus Professor title given by Gresham College is not really a true academic Professor.

45. Why is that within the Motley Cabinet the issue of qualifications always rears a ugly head and leaves a stinking smell surrounding ministers whose qualifications are questionable
    George Payne name graces social media pages daily in question to him being a qualified solicitor general
    Persuad. Well he claims to be a professor
    And last but not least the PM in charge of the justice system
    Is she or isnt she qualified to be a lawyer
    Yet no one sees the intellectual corruption embedded in these issues which give reason to ask
    How could this be

46. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Mariposa

The simple answer MOST people become blinded by Political Party affiliation and follow like a lamb to be slaughtered.

47. No where in any articles written of Avinash Persaud across the internet
    is Persuad titled a Professor
    It seems that once a person sits among a grade of brainaics in the Uk one can receive a special privilege or entitlment lodged against there name without proof of certification
    The level of intellectual corruption in barbados stinks the whole of Parliament up to the rafters

48. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

It’s called Money Money Money, BIG Money.

Money always have strange bedfellows.

49. T. Inniss
    By the time Mia finish selling barbados to the IMF and inflicting more pain and suffering on the people
    Everyone would have to close “shop” and head for the great white North a country which bajans have a love hate relationship

Leave a Reply to T.InnissCancel reply