The Barbados Economic Recovery Team is administering their bitter medicine in small doses.  They appear to have learnt from Guyana’s experience with the IMF, where the Guyanese politicians used a big spoon.  Since the result will be the same, it is less messy and less socially disruptive to slowly boil the frog.

But, why must the frog be boiled at all?  We do not.  But it is the only method that the Barbados Economic Recovery Team (BERT) understands or received their training, so they appear stubbornly unwilling to review any other solution.

There are no boundaries warning of danger that they will not cross, no promises so sacred that they will not break, and no cases deserving of compassion that they will not ignore.  Like the four horsemen of the apocalypse, they are pursuing a singular focus – severe austerity to all who are not at or near the trough.

We should not be surprised since this austerity was foreseen.  For the uninformed, first, they will reduce our salaries with high taxation.  Then they will reduce our savings by ensuring that our salaries cannot pay for our normal monthly expenses, so we will be forced to use our savings.

Then they will reduce our pensions through debt restructuring, which is a method of breaking sacred promises made to investors, including to our pensioners.  Then, they will facilitate the reduction in the asset value of our houses when homeowners are unable to pay their monthly mortgage payments and the banks foreclose, which will over-supply the housing market.

Finally, they will orchestrate the brain-drain of competent professionals from Barbados by exclusively rewarding their most incompetent and most partisan yardfowl supporters, and frustrating the most competent among us.  This makes the country’s local businesses internationally uncompetitive , which is the ultimate aim of international financiers who entice irresponsible short-sighted politicians to get their nations into unsustainable debts.

Our dollar does not need to devalue for us to arrive at the same place – which is the devaluation of our salaries, savings, pensions, assets, professionals, and local businesses.  We are just taking the scenic route down.

There have been several tour-guides employed along the way, to encourage us that our suffering is essential to Barbados’ economic recovery.  They have been dispatched to tell us that we must patriotically bear the pain, while they gorge on spillage as their masters feed.

Let me clarify that if severe austerity was the only path out of our economic problems, then I would join the partisan yardfowls, not at the trough, but in encouraging all Barbadians to bear the suffering for the sake of the next generation.  However, there are at least 4 non-austerity plans on the table.  Yet BERT is on a mission that will make us suffer, and they will neither be dissuaded by us, nor restrained by the BLP administration, from their singular purpose.

The last administration followed the same economic plan.  It was not called BERT, but multiple variations of a medium-term economic strategy that continually failed to meet its targets.  This time the plan is the same, but the actors are different.

Former Prime Minister Stuart gave the former Minister of Finance a long leash to inflict measured austerity.  The current Prime Minister has unleashed what seems like the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse to inflict severe austerity, and a rodeo clown to keep us distractedly entertained.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

241 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The Four Horsemen”

1. Enuff yardfowl…it was a project, a short term project at UN that is popular for those who apply around the world and get accepted now if she was a Kofi Annan…it would impress the hell outta me, but no such luck…

… there are midlevel jobs in US paying much more than 150K a year…ya should apply.

2. Thr minister is so dumb he can not recognize the seriousness of the damage done by kirk
    Well here is a short list
    Power lines down
    Streets flooded
    Homes flooded
    Power outages
    A short list but enough to merit public concern which shoulf trigger his mind about public safety
    But NO it is only the Private Sector concerns that really matters
    What a dumb a ss minister

3. Why would I apply for a mid-level position with all the added responsibilities, when I could get $150K(US) for just being a clerk on a short-term project? 🤣🤣

4. Yesterday and today’s decision by the dumb a.ss minister clearly points all in the direction as to who will be in charge of some if the decision making
    Alll the PR stunts about people involvement is just another smoke screen to deflect people’s attention away from those who will move and shake barbados economy which barrells on their own interest
    Take note peeps yesterday decision was another indicator of what is to come which does not involve the entire population

5. RE Enuff September 28, 2018 2:52 AM

GP–I guess the UN people ain’t too bright neither, after all they hired the, to use your words, “RAMBUNCHIOUS LAWYER WHO ONCE POSED AS A GARBAGE COLLECTOR”.

EXACTLY! YOU GOT THAT RIGHT SIR!
    the UN people ain’t too bright ALL THEY DO IS TALK!
    THEY ACCOMPLISH VERY LITTLE!

6. Also awaiting to hear the response from the Union after govt has ordered the workforce to show up in such arduous conditions left by kind
    The kind of conditions people would want to avoid because of potential danger
    Well i would not be holding my breathe for any meaningful response from them
    It is obviuos they have been wrestled to the ground by a force bigger than Kirk
    A force known as the Private Sector

7. Seems that the idea of going to work
    REALLY pisses mariposa off…

8. I am a hard working person who also manages a business but my employees safety takes precedent
    The short sightedness of this minister about population safety can not be over looked

9. The pictures on social media are heart wrenching.
    Only a dumb a.ss minister would overlook those facts
    What a duffus

10. We know yardfowls are incapable of long term goals and are lazy, dont like to take responsibility for anything, love free money…getting paid for doing little or nothing while taking bribes…so short term projects with no future benefits would appeal to emptyheaded yardfowls and those crooked politicians they hero worship.

11. First he f uped yesterday by not giving the entire population enough time for preparation
    One would think he would have come to his senses after hearing the reports of devastation having large areas underflooding and put safety precautions first
    But No goes ahead to make another dumb decision
    What a proverbial jac.ass

12. So why is Liz Thompson now milking Bajan taxpayers with this do nothing UN representative job.

Is she going to make sure THAT:

….the elderly and their beneficiaries on the island are no longer abused and ROBBED of their land and Estates by the likes of Marshall, Payne, Cow and their fellow thieves;

…the insurance companies like CGI stop disenfranching, abusing AND suffering the elderly and other injured people using the Supreme Court;

…the Judges of the Supreme Court who take bribes to destroy personal injury cases, steal Estatesvand keep land and other cases dragging through the court since 1964 are called up before the UN to explain why;

…the lawyers who rip of their clients and sell out their cases to their fellow lawyer thieves depriving their own clients of their basic human rights,,…are brought up before the UN for Human Rights violations against their clients and others;

…the ex and cirrent ministers and politicians of both DLP and BLP who ripped of the treasury and penson fund with their scam artist co-conspirators Cow , Bizzy, Maloney and others be brought before the UN for theft from the people….disenfranching generations of Black Bajans who will not recover as long as the corruption, bribery and money laundering continues under the Mia government..

All the ABOVE as described ARE decades old human rights violations…practiced in Barbados by lawyers, government ministers from DBLP and the thieving crooked drug dealing minorities.

Has Liz bothered yet to tell the UN that Barbados in 2018…does NOT have a functioning Supreme Court and that there is NO RULE OF LAW starting from Parliament, the Supreme Court, the Bar Association….coming on down….well someone will have to tell them ain’t it..if she don’t. ..

And since according to Enuff yardfowl…Liz Thompson should not take a job with real responsibilities but only short term with none while collecting taxpayers IN BARBADOS money for FREE…

So .exactly what is Liz Thompson doing as Barbados representative to UN…while milking taxpayers every month for a salary.

13. So if yall empty headed yardfowls think that Liz crook Thompson as Barbados Representative to UN is there to cover up crimes against the people of Barbados committed by her fellow crook lawyers and QCs, and the minority criminals who own them all….while she gets a taxpayer funded salary from the same Bajan people being victimized…by her and her ilk…well.., yall better think again.

14. Woman why you don’t go and clear the drains ’round yuh house and refrain from starting another Roleric Hinds Gate? So let me repeat, Liz WAS (past tense) ASG at the UN. You said it was nothing more than a clerk. It paid more than $150,000 US if the UN salary scale is correct. I said and repeated, and will repeat again, I would love that kinda pay just to be a clerk. Liz is NOW (present tense), Barbados’ permanent representative to the UN, and I have not said a single word about the woman’s pay or role in this position. Show me where I said Liz should not take a job with responsibilities but only short-term while being paid by the taxpayers? But wunna like to come after me, it’s all yuh daily task. Funny thing all I do is asked all yuh to substantiate all yuh arguments with evidence, cogent arguments and commonsense…..then again you did not know the difference between a candidate and an MP; and now struggling to separate a clerk from an ASG and UN employees from UN country Reps. Rest muh!🖐🏾

15. The same dumba.ss Dale Marshall now infamous for allegedly doing misdeeds against the Stewarts have now added another stinking feather to his cap asking the bajan populace to put their lives at risk to serve the Public Sector
    Boy uh tell u

16. Dale Marshall told the bajan populace today which Master he dutifully serves
    Boy u need some of that sewage effluent throwing your way
    BTw i hear the condition in the plant has worsened because of flooding resulting in a backup of sewage entering the plant

17. However, Skeete said disaster preparedness officials did not anticipate that it would have lasted as long as it did when it reached Barbados, nor did the department expect the amount of rainfall that it dumped on the island.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/30/rained-out/

18. “But wunna like to come after me, it’s all yuh daily task. ”

Yall like to twist things and tell lies to ya own prople, but can’t take heat.

You stay there and think I dont know the difference between titles…

….the difference is between you and I…..titles do not impress me…never have so you are the one stuck with which title means what,…because it means so much to you….

Ah will make sure ya stuck for a couple years explaining the difference between titles, now that I know how much it bithers you not to get titles right..cause I have no yardfowl mentality neither am I stuck on titles….so just watch muh nuh…….

What we do know is that black boy and girl lawyer crooks and QC thieves destroyed the island, supreme court and left the island’s infrastructure to run to ruin while helping their minority/drug dealing/thieving masters rip off hundreds over millions of dollars from the majirity population over the decades…all now exposed for the world to see.

So put a title on that.

19. BTW…tell the AG to stick to what he is good at, robbing old ladies their land and money and tiefing compensation from personal injury Claimants.

…he nearly got a bunch of citizens drowned last night because he knows not one ass about storms and hurricanes and the death and destruction they cause..

..it is much different to allowing an old lady to die in her filth to steal the Estate of Beneficiaries….

Tell him that, stick to what he is well known for..

20. @Hants

In a word the “disaster preparedness” officials were unprepared.

SMFH

21. After the system did not reached barbados at it’s schedule time giving by the Met office
    More concern should have been given as to a stalling effect which might have slowed the system down leaving it trapped or sitting over water for a longer period of time
    As previous history has shown that technology alone can not be solely relied
    However the Met office could have refered to similar occurences for guidance where systems have stalled over ocean waters

22. Yes the Met office did wobble .
    If the system did not dissipate.
    The obvious being it would have stalled over warm waters
    I am not surprise at the outcome reason for my earlier concerns

23. History has proven that some storms AND hurricanes…NEVER take their projected path and are well KNOWN for causing death and destruction hours AFTER their predicted movements….., when everyone thinks they are gone, up to 24 and 48hrs later…

,.. it is clear those at the Met Office are learning nothing and those ministers like Marshall…are learning even less and the people should stop listening to any of them, and instead use their own commonsense to take care of themselves and families…because there is just NO PREDICTING some storms, hurricanes and other weather systems.

The leaders are all a bunch of misinformed, miseducated jackasses with titles that emptyheaded yardfowls like Enuff drool behind…and will drown in…

Despite Janet 63 years ago last week. ….they are still managing to get it wrong…

24. This is govt first test in disaster management and they have failed miserably

25. @ Sargeant, re preparedness by the officials.

Maybe they did not have access to the satellite images available on the many websites including NHC and Weather Underground.

As long as nobody drowned they will spin their efforts as a success.

26. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Mariposa

Keep the torch lit at their incompetent and corrupt asses.

27. When ya see a babadostoday article is challenging Hinkson, Griffith AND Marshall…ya done know..

what root out corruption what, the lawyers/minister’s like TEETS second source of income, tiefing, corruption etc will be threatened if they stop dealing in corruption and briebtaking… just saying.

4 months coming up that the Mia government was elected… and nothing has changed in the Magistrate’s Court or in the nonfunctional Supreme Court…still no rules and procedures being ENFORCED and ADHERED to…still no RULE OF LAW.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/09/26/bteditorial-who-will-take-the-lead-in-dealing-with-this-mess/

“Today at the Magistrate’s Court we saw the disgraceful scenario of a murder accused being on remand for almost five years and the prosecution could not start the case because as usual there was no documentation to do so. Correctly, the accused asked for the matter to be dismissed. After all, he had been on remand for a period equivalent to one thousand, six hundred and seventy-four days without a shred of evidence brought from police witnesses, civilian witnesses, pathologist, or others.

We challenge Commissioner Griffith to indicate to the general public which and how many police officers have been disciplined or dismissed for neglecting the duty of producing these case files to the court. We challenge Minister Hinkson to indicate to the general public the number of serious criminal matters that have been dismissed over the past five years without trial because of the absence of case files.

We challenge Attorney General Marshall to crusade against this national blot with the same verve that he promises to root out corruption. Among the definitions of corruption are dishonesty, misconduct and unscrupulousness. If there are persons accepting a monthly salary to – among other things – facilitate the preparation of files for the court in a timely manner and they are not working for the money they readily accept, isn’t this misconduct, dishonesty and unscrupulousness?”

28. If Mariposa was a normal person she would feel like a real RH when the sun comes out blazing at 11.30 and the rest of the day becomes a working opportunity to get things back on track in a broke and shattered economic mess of a country
    – rather than having Bajans waste two full days of sitting around talking shiite – just because a bit of rain fell….

There are RH people all over this world who go to work every damn day in the face of earthquakes, storms, floods, hunger and even wars…. and value the opportunity to do so…
    …and we have the very VOICE of the shiite DLP (a party that exemplifies JOBBY) …. criticising the (admittedly) limited competence of the new jokers who are fumbling with the chaos that they fought to inherit.

The charge of the shiite brigade…
    Brass bowls to the left of us
    JAs to the right
    Weirdos and freaks to the front of us
    ….and a huge pack of shiite yardfowls bringing up the rear.

29. Meteorologists are all agreed that we are now living in turbulent times with rising levels of greenhouse gases a result of which would be more severe storms and hurricanes.
    Nations now plan for these pending disasters. Since the 1950s, sea temperatures have been rising and it is from this that tropical hurricanes and storms draw their power. Warmer seas mean more terrifying storms. Sea levels have also been steadily rising.
    To cut all this short, Hurricane Florence has caused about US$22bn in damage; in 2005, Katrina caused about $160bn in damage; Maria not only took nearly 3000 lives in Puerto Rico, but caused about $90bn in damage.
    In 1970, Cyclone Bhola took 300000 lives, about the entire population of Barbados. I can go all. All these nations have in some way planned strategies for any future disasters.
    Further, for the 50000 years mankind has inhabited the earth, it has only been in the last 100 or so (the discovery of the internal combustion engine) that greenhouse gases have threatened our very existence.
    So what is this
    dynamic, forward-thinking, highly educated government doing to contribute to our survival? Absolutely nothing – apart from photo opportunities for the prime minister.
    Here is a simple suggestion: how about one car per household and a ban on all diesel vehicles? What would the economic cost of such a policy be?

30. If This govt can not manage disaster control
    Can’t see how they will manage a default economy

31. So how is govt going to clean up the sewage that is making way to the street
    The plant has been more seriously damaged because of the extensive damage caused by flooding
    It is not nice to fool with Mother Nature

32. Awaiting the next smoke and screen cloud coverage PR press conference of what took place yesterday
    Wuh loss muh belly

33. After listening to the dribble emitting from Dale and Hinckson mouth
    I wondered WTF
    Here his excuse kirks arrival coming at the time was not so bad since bajans were at home
    Then he goes on to talk about rescue missions getting people out of there home
    Well what this johhnie seems not to understand that if shelters were open yesterday these victims being rescued would have been giving sufficient time and opportunity to have use of them
    Unfortunately at pitch dark hour and torrential downpours there was no where else to go but for people to stay in there homes

34. Next he goes on to take a jab at social media for calling him out on his stupid decisions
    Decisions which in part served best for Private Sector
    Which in this case he would have been better off keeping his mout shut

35. @Bush Tea

What was her position when Denis Kelman and Bynoe kept their businesses open in direct challenge to the instruction order for a national shutdown?

36. All of that and the most important thing in Enuff yardfowl’s limited intellect and empty head, is getting useless fake titles right…lol, murdahhhhh!!!!

it will be quite the next 4 years 8 months to witness.

37. @WARU September 28, 2018 5:58 AM “This government is making bad decisions, there should have been at least a 1pm shutdown so workers were not stranded at 7 and 8 pm.”

Most workers are at home long before 7 or 8 p.m.

Unless that have gone hanging out in a bar, or have sneaked by the outside man or outside woman.

The Minister took good technical advice and made the right decisions.

A storm/hurricane is literally a moving target, nether the Minister or anybody else has the capacity to “tie down” a storm.

Simple Simon neither “D” nor “B”

38. David here u go again trying to ran cover for Marshall
    First in the Stewart saga
    Now after seeing how Dale treats barbadians with an incoming storm by having a strong desire to go against a moral principle driven by humanity and safety
    U take a position as to what i might have said about previous similar events and past govt ministers concerns for the work force
    If memory serves correct past govt had initiated a national shut down which present govt decried.
    So there u have it the tale of present govt who never cared about the safety of the workforce in past disasters and have demonstrated by their actions as of yesterday and today that they dont really care

39. @WARU September 28, 2018 6:59 AM “Ya dont just say there is NO shutdown, you tell the people HOW they are risking their lives by not practicing precautions.”

The government of Barbados issued a storm warning and a flood warning, and sent a notice advising people of how to contact the department of emergency management, the polce and the fire service, in addition the Barbados government notified people “residents in low lying areas should remain on alert and take all necessary precautions, to protect life and property.”

40. My comments are projecting a simple message of Safety and preparation First
    The fact that there was a weather system close to Barbados should have sent a message to govt dire enough for the govt to give people a final day to prepare
    Now all one will be hearing are long overblown excuses which does not really matter since the damages are already done by Kirk
    An island this small and almost covered by water cannot and should not take the risk of solely awaiting the hurricane arrival at a specific or predicted time
    There are other damaging forces that are built within a weather system
    Govt callous opinion tells that this govt has no understanding of all the necessary requrements for preparedness when a weather system lingers closely at it’s back door
    Most countries having people living close to coast line would implement evacuation a process which is necessary for people safety
    Let alone let people go to jobs where the business is located on sea line
    Barbados a small island can not take a risk of exposing its citizens to danger

41. @Bush Tea September 28, 20187:46 AM “Seems that the idea of going to work. REALLY pisses mariposa off
    LLOL ha ha ha.”

I am glad that you tell off ole lazy Mariposa for me. Lazy brute want to collect a tax funded pay cheque, but don’t want to go to work. I bet if it was Kadooment Day, Mariposa would be wukking up in de rain, no problem.

Tell she a new sheriff in town. If Mariposa want to get paid, she has to show up and actually DO SOME WORK.

LOL!!!

42. Damned if you do and damned if you don’t it seems.

43. Simple Simon you sounding like a jack.a.s making utterances which u can not prove
    The govt messed up
    Deal with it
    What kadooment. Steupse

44. @ Simple S
    Tell she a new sheriff in town.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    New sheriff Bushie’s donkey!!

If there was indeed a new sheriff in town, then Maripissy and most of her band of DLP shiitehounds would have been in the Dodds stockade – or at least confined safely down Jenkins ..where mad-monkeyed brass bowls belong.

Picture …a bunch of outlaws come and shoot-up our town for TEN long years
    we finally got the Lone Ranger Mia and her twenty four Tonto’s to take over the sheriff’s badges…

YET STILL the damn outlaws not only living large bout the place with their loot…
    BUT they have Maripissy in the Town Square every hour skinning her pooch at the new ‘sheriff’…

Looka…
    Bushie would have put such a whack in her maripissy that she would be spending her time seeking repentance for the ten years of terror – rather than inflicting ADDITIONAL piss on useless Bajan brass bowls….

Steupsss..
    When the REAL Sheriff touches down in Broadstreet ….every knee will bow…..
    Maripissy and her demonic league of ‘pissy’ morons will melt in fear….

45. “Most workers are at home long before 7 or 8 p.m.

Unless that have gone hanging out in a bar, or have sneaked by the outside man or outside woman.”

There are workers who honestly work up to that time and beyond, grave yard shift workers…who got caught in that mess…the island should have had a national shutdown AFTER 1pm..

Had Kirk pulled a 1955 Janet…what would the donkey Marshall be telling Bajans today.

46. Bush tea u sound like a circus clown

47. Water water every where and not a drop to drink

https://www.facebook.com/100000495399808/posts/2372357859457371/

48. Ok David your actions are just as nasty as the stink from the sewage plant that is floating in the street

49. 11-10..the pervert nominee will be advanced to the senate floor and moved out of committee, accompanied by an FBI investigation.

Kavaugnah the sleaze will be investigated..

…the old boys club of old white men are trying g to cover their sleazy asses..lol

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply