BabaElombe Elton Mottley posted the following text to his Facebook page a couple weeks ago. The lack of focus on the Arts by successive governments continues to be of interest to the blogmaster. Why? We boast on a daily basis that our people are our greatest asset, yet, we do close to nothing to develop the Arts (The blogmaster exerts editorial license to expand the definition of the Arts to include Sports).

Governments of Barbados continue to allocate billions to the education budget annually, however. show a reluctance to to create the opportunity to harness and release the cultural expression of the people.  Surely there is a case to be made against successive governments for suffocating the cultural expression of Barbadians?

-David, blogmaster

Restoration of the Empire is a must. To refurbish the building, replace seating, outfitting with sound and video equipment, etc, will not be a priority at the moment as I see it. Unfortunately it has a seating capacity of under 800 seats. Years ago when I was involved, the seating capacity was to be extended to about 1200. In order to do that and also to provide a larger stage, dressing rooms and storage, it would have been necessary to utilize the space behind the building. Unfortunately, the same government of the day allowed the construction of the building behind the Empire. There may still be enough room to do that and should be considered. The Globe theatre has a seating capacity close to 1200, but has no access to parking. Same problem with the Empire.

Government investment and ownership of buildings used by its populace leaves much to be desired. Government does not depreciate its investment in buildings, nor does it provide for maintenance. I invite you to go up behind and around the museum and see the abandonment of those buildings allowing them to fall apart. [CHECK THE NUMBER OF BUILDINGS IN BRIDGETOWN AND ACROSS THE NATION, the buildings that are not maintained, government owned lands that are over-run by bush while the possibilities of involving the country to participate in the production of our own food is ignored.

Let me highlight some of the stupidity of the governments of Barbados.

Why would you refurbish the Daphne Joseph Hackett Theatre, install an unnecessary elevator, remove the rehearsal building, the former kitchen area, removed the old stable which was also used as a rentable gallery for artist. Now why should the NCF charge $2500 to use the theatre? That amounts to $12.50 a seat before you advertise. Is this any way to promote the development of the arts? The capacity is under 200 seats. On top of that, there are the taxes to be paid on that. Are we serious about the development of the Arts?

When I set up years ago the National Cultural Foundation, I insisted on having a maintenance department – I had all of Queen’s Park, Community Centres island wide, and maintenance of the equipment coming out of CARIFESTA 1981.

Who does the maintenance of the facilities? Is it going to be farmed out to political hacks? Let me give you an example. I received a notice from a Permanent Secretary to hire some company to treat all the facilities managed by the NCF that would cost the NCF $15,000. I responded and pointed out we treated our buildings for less than $2.00 per facility because we had a program in place. I heard nothing more from the Ministry.

If government does not have a plan to restore some of these heritage buildings, why don’t they offer the public long term leases (30+ years). The lessee could restore the buildings and use them rent free for20 – 30 years with all the rights. Maybe a company can do the restorations and rent out the properties!

Back to the start. It makes no sense for government to restore these buildings and then make it impossible to be used by the artists of the country. Anyhow, for a population of under 300,000 people, how to we maximize the benefits for all our citizens. I mean all, all, all. GOVERNMENTS MUST STOP RIPPING OFF OUR COUNTRY…..PERIOD.

The NCF is not only a producer of Festivals as I keep hearing. Festivals are important to identify and provide channels for our youth to develop. Performance is the rewardable process of measuring our development. This process cannot be treated willy-nilly.

Ask yuh self a few questions. How come the NCF is short of money and yet Radio stations over the years can give away cars and the NCF has not been able to upgrade its sound and lighting equipment?

Why was the community development officers detached from the program of strengthening the development of communities and using the services for the development of the arts from the community level?

I want to draw your attention to some facts.

Every radio and television service in Barbados MUST give Government (and its agencies) 10% of its broadcast time for its use. This amounts to 2.4 hours a day. This is part of the license. These same stations use the products of the NCF to make enough money to buy cars and give them away yet some of them want to object to the NCF using this time to develops Governments development programs. Without the programs of the NCF, none of them would be able to generate that audience nor would they be able to give away cars.

When I set up the NCF, it was actually the Ministry of Information that had responsibility for the Community Development department which was absorbed into the NCF to organize the workshops and research in various communities. The technical officers (dance, music, art, writing, et al) organized the content, and the persons to teach these workshops. Most of the time, local artists were used and paid to run these programs. We also used all of the content of various ministries to provide information and education to the communities thru the use of qualified persons to speak on the topics developed by those institutions.

Let me state clearly, I am not looking for any job in any form or fashion. However I know from experience that there is too much ad hoc planning on the continued development of Barbados. What makes an island in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, 166 square Miles, and less than 275,000 people, rated #9 in the world in Education by the World Economic Council, and we continue to devalue ourselves with foolishness.

Racketeering at any and every level in Barbados must stop and that includes the NCF if such exists. Newspapers, Radio Stations, the TV station, bloggers, must reflect more on the development of the country. There are too many areas that does not require government’s involvement. How many reviews of plays, concerts, books, musicals, and performances are covered in any of the 3+ newspapers, the Radio stations including GIS, on TV of various internet channels, dot com sites, on Facebook social media, et al? These are important to the artists/performers and offer critical assessment of their work. There are many people in Barbados who can do these reviews. Why isn’t it being done? Why are the creative people – musicians, actors, dancers, writers, performers, et al so silent on these needs? Are the owners and editors so removed from the society in which they live, work, play, raise children and families that all of them hat the food for development and the achievement of excellence is a real and important aspect of our total development. The editors, owners and general manager got to do better than what they are doing now.

Ah gone.

60 responses to “Elombe Mottley Speaks!”

1. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Quite frankly, I have no idea what is modern day Barbadian culture.

I’m not a fan of popular dancehall Jamaican music however it is clear that Jamaican music is popular throughout the world. Jamaican culture is very much an exportable “asset”. The rastafari religion has spread its seeds throughout the world.

Take a look at Haiti it has a high culture of art and artists who are universally recognised. It also pays homage to her ancestors by continuing to practice voodoo.

Two islands that are proud of their African heritage and have a rich source of artists that cover all genres of culture. Never mind folks we still have Rihanna!

2. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Piece,

Here are the words from one of your ministers in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment Marsha Caddle:

“I want us to know it took ten years to destroy this country and it is not going to take ten years to fix it but it is not going to happen overnight and I want us to understand that is the message that we have to carry. Because this administration and I am not saying that because I am a part of it, this administration is working very hard to very quickly stop the bleeding and begin the process of transformation. But you have to help us carry the message,” she said while seeking to explain the severity of Barbados economic situation.”

@ David, check your spam folder. The above link was a blue’s song from the great Big Bill Broonzy: Black, Brown and White

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/09/25/dlp-destroyed-barbados-economy-caddle/

3. @ Piece

Those recommendations were made in the late ’80s, by NOW (2018), we would be seeing great results.
    Any short term solution calls for working with what we have, at this time, that is not much locally.

Landfall benefit will have to employ using the new ambassador to bring the needed forex in by the cruise ships and plane loads, she will need to set-up shop here, the only thing is, she is owned by other interests and cannot do as she please.

Thanks anyway for your brilliant insights.

4. @HalAustin,

You are missing the point my friend, yes Rihanna was made Ambassador, but let’s not forget or pretend. Her claim to fame and the basis of her global success has nothing to do with Barbados culture…..if she was a Trinidadian citizen, the global appeal and fame would be the same. R&B and Pop music genres have nothing to do with the Caribbean as far as the modern listener and her fan base are concerned. Her fans cannot place Barbados on a map, or point to one cultural aspect of Barbados based on what made Rihanna popular.

Talking nonsense. We are not ready to exploit our cultural wealth…..only slap a label on an already famous individual.

5. How did I miss the point?

6. @Talking Loud,

Does Minister Caddle include the 114 years of Arthur rule when it comes to the destruction of the Barbados economy?

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ nineofnine September 26, 2018 7:32 AM

There is another Bajan-born but overseas-made famous ‘cultural asset’ who could be approached to promote Barbados as a rising star on the cultural tourism horizon in order to drive more visitors to the Island.

Tourism is the most proactively practical cylinder to drive, in the short-term, the forex-earning vehicle to save the country from further financial and economic meltdown.

What about approaching the UK-based ‘voice-actor’ genius Redd Pepper Green to do some vocal promotions for Barbados?

It would be rather creative if the Bajan Tourism gurus could get both Ambassador Rihanna and Redd Pepper to do some promotional work on the international scene to help to refresh the staid but fast staling product called ‘Tourism Barbadiana’ especially in its biggest source market the UK.

How about getting Virgin Atlantic to display Ambassador Rihanna on the fuselage of one of their aircraft as the “Bajan Sky Virgin”?

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Sage Annunaki

You can expect that that brilliant idea is going to be stolen from you and will soon adorn a few airlines that are West Indies bound.

Barbados in and of itself has no real culture is an idea that is touted here and de ole man concurs.

The social experiment that is Barbadiense failed to permit the buckra johnies and us negroes to embrace our different bloodlines and forge and support an identity that is integrated.

So John the Quaker and Lawson the unknown quantity while they promote their white supremacy policies have to tread carefully in a society that while 95% black is skewed towards white privilege

And successive black administrations are incapable of fostering and environment that gives equity for all races.

What faces Chairman Mia Mottley is for her to bridge the gap with such a programme that exemplifies and edifies black brilliance oh Sage.

That fuselage idea is sheer brilliance but de ole man will guarantee you that it will be fvcked up by the powers that be b3cause they don’t comprehend how it is to be delivered and the mileage that it will afford any such idea.

If you were to tell the bvhkvunts that the whole process is to be video recorded from the start them fvckers would be lost.

The have no idea how to leverage currency and will jump to the end point without including its beginning.

It is a bridge too Effing far for them Sage

When devaluation comes where do you plan to go and live?

9. Redd Pepper.. never knew of him until you mentioned him.. after reviewing some of his work, he is very talented and Internationally known.. (I take it he’s a Bajan or at least by roots) …great combo as you suggested..
    if only I was at the steering wheel, much would be done. LOL

Redd Pepper

10. Anu

Richard Branson loves Barbados, sure he will want to do it, if only by association with an Icon Celebrity, a native from one of his major long haul destinations. WHAT A PLUS!

Move to copywrite it ASAP