Since the announcement by Prime Minister Mia Mottley announcing the launch of a pilot project with FinTech company Bitt Inc,  there has been a growing concern among the savvy segment of the population about the project.

There is the Heraclitus cliché that ‘the only thing that is constant is change‘. Commonsense therefore informs a view that technology will continue to be used by humankind to interact with the ecosystem for as long as we exist. The challenge however for Barbados is effectively managing the timing of the adoption of new technologies to optimally support efforts to maintain a quality of life for Barbadians.

The blogmaster holds no brief for government’s arrangement with Bitt Inc. Often times provocative positions taken by the blogmaster to canvas and ferret information on topical issues – especially those where there is heavy fog – is misunderstood. It is a hazard of what we do and have no issues with it.

Subject matter experts in the IT field endorse the disruptive impact the use of technology driven solutions will continue to have on the the central bank controlled fiat system.  A system that is tired and has been manipulated to the point of minus-utility in the opinion of the blogmaster.

What are a few key concerns about the project?

1. lack of a legislative environment to safeguard the integrity of the market
  2. security issues
  3. SMEs say Barbados need mobile/online payment solutions, not a digital currency
  4. Bitt Inc does not have a robust IT/governance platform to certify with best in class FIs to be a disruptor
  5. Barbados is an immature cybersecurity space operating without a ‘sanctioned’ roadmap’

Several commenters continue to conflate the issues while responding to the Bitt Inc Barbados government pilot partnership.  The pilot arrangement which promotes a digital currency should not be confused with other concerns about cryptocurrency, Bitcoin and Blockchain technology for example. Clearly there is a need for public education. There is also a responsibility for individuals to educate themselves about the important issues.

In the public interest Barbados Underground reblogs the following LinkedIn article by Niel Harper, a Barbados Consultant qualified in the area of Internet Security and whose expertise is sought after internationally.

Why Bitcoin Will Not Solve the Caribbean’s Financial Inclusion Woes

The article was shared by Niel Harper, Managing Director, Octave Consulting | Program Lead, Internet Society | VP, TEN Habitat | WEF Young Global Leader What is Bitcoin? Is it electronic money? There’s a deluge of hype around Bitcoin and blockchain technologies right now, and policymakers and regulators in the Caribbean are doing their best to wrap their heads around

Read more

276 responses to “More Information Needed About Government’s Partnership with Bitt Inc”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

That’s right, Bitt Inc would have to do an IPO and become a public company.

2. “That’s a MINUMUM of 3 years at Dodds folks. But the DPP has to act BEFORE the new Integrity in Public Life Bill is passed.”

I wish you all the luck….

3. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Ammmmm PLT

Do you know the process of a company being able to be listed on the Barbados Stock Exchange?

I am just wondering…

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@piece
    No I don’t… not in Barbados.

5. they looking to fool the public , who can invest when people will be out of work and other overtaxed and broke, money laundering fools, Another CLICO scam , all the crooks will pile in and on , SUCKERS

6. @Hants
    I read the front page.
    Rawdon is a hell of a salesman. BSE is almost dead with little or no trading and now they are going crypto-trading.

I think the play for Bitt is still bitcoins. mMoney is a distraction. Somebody has bitcoins they want to dump.
    If bitcoin start to rise and fools rush in, then RA, nineofnine and others will dump their bitcoins and run,

7. PLT
    And haven’t the said executives parted ways with ICBL? If so is there still a “a prima facie case against ICBL” or those executives? Uh like how some people brought down Jesus that there was no “prima facie” case against Parris but quick to say there is one against ICBL. #butdemcallmeayardfowl

8. ” If blockchain can be made to help us with our customer due diligence, our onboarding process, the process of paying us [and] maybe ultimately the process of pushing product to customers ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/09/26/insurer-fintech-firm-in-new-cooperation-deal/

9. Stay away from insurance companies if you can.

10. ” I think the play for Bitt is still bitcoins. mMoney is a distraction. Somebody has bitcoins they want to dump.”

Something very nasty is at play here..AND.. if the Bajan population DON’T BUY INTO INTO OF IT..with their hardearned money, it cannot get off the ground..

… the people, the majority population….are quite obviously being targeted by these two shady groups…Bitt and ICBL…another vicious insurance company that hates to pay out compensation to claimants, just like CGI Insurance, since Harris became their advisor.

Bitt ran that bitcoin scam for way too long waiting for Rawdon to take his place in the senate, but neglected to market mMoney, nah…something evil is afoot to victimize the majority population as usual.

11. Something very nasty is at play here..AND.. if the Bajan population DON’T BUY INTO ANY OF IT..with their hard earned money, it CANNOT get off the ground..

12. “MORE INFORMATION NEEDED ABOUT GOVERNMENT’S PARTNERSHIP WITH BITT INC”

It has been three months since this post was written. Has more information been forthcoming?

Meanwhile, we have seen a trickle of press releases about MOU. I am wondering if these press release are the literal flogging of a dead horse.

And if you avoided the free advice that was given about bitcoin
    —-Date Bitcoin price
    —-Sep 23 $6696.99
    —–Dec 9 $3400.00
    I can promise you this…. Before it hits $0.00 you will get a next pump and dump artist on BU, telling you. “Bitcoin has hit the bottom. Now is the time to buy. Watch it rise again to $20K.”
    and whilst you are jumping in… the huckster will be jumping out…

13. Here looking at the current price of bitcoin in US and BDS $
    BDS $7115.16
    US $3487.82
    Which is an exchange rate of BDS $2.04 to USA$1.00

14. Where on earth is 9of9
    https://smartereum.com/3295/what-will-happen-to-bitcoin-in-2019-bitcoin-price-predictions-2019-bitcoin-price-today-sun-dec-16/

“Technical analysis based on logarithmic scale shows the expected price levels that bitcoin can reach in 2019. Bitcoin is likely to reach a price of around $12,000, which will be an excellent result and can initiate a further growth in 2020. 2020 is close to another important date – the BTC ‘halving’.”

“Many of the enthusiasts are actually predicting higher peaks as well as newer peaks for the cryptocurrencies. It remains to be seen whether Bitcoin will indeed be able to rise to $ 40,000 in the current calendar year or not.”

John McAfee
    When I predicted Bitcoin at $500,000 by the end of 2020, it used a model that predicted $5,000 at the end of 2017. BTC has accelerated much faster than my model assumptions. I now predict Bitcoin at $1 million by the end of 2020. I will still eat my dick if wrong

15. What became of the sandbox? Does it trap news?
    You are going to see a lot of stories like this one.
    https://themerkle.com/bitcoin-price-could-be-setting-up-for-its-next-super-surge-soon/

Don’t get me wrong, I am hoping for RA and mMoney to bea success.
    However OSTK (parent company) is not doing well
    https://investorplace.com/2019/01/3-reasons-avoid-overstock-ostk-simg/

16. @Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedI
    Here is a good place to deposit information. In this day and age where we jump from story to story, it is good to see contributors like yourself helping us to keep our focus
    -AA——————————————–AA———————————-AA-
    I hope the Government of Barbados takles a good look at all the players in this Bitt adventure.
    https://www.ccn.com/the-criminal-past-of-quadriga-co-founder-has-been-revealed

17. I cannot see what the problem is. Rawdon Adams has an MA, or MSc or is it a diploma (certainly a bit of paper) in something called political sociology from the London School of Economics, so he is an expert on digital currency. We are in safe hands.

18. KInda good story…. if your bitcoins get stolen, you may get back some, eventually
    https://www.coindesk.com/us-government-returns-bitcoins-retrieved-following-2016-bitfinex-hack

I have seen psoat about the recovery of bitcoins, but the numbers seems to be a small fraction of those that were lost – one example.
    https://blockonomi.com/mt-gox-hack/

19. Governor Antoine Addresses the ECCU Media on Launch of FinTech Pilot Project
    Wednesday
    March 13, 2019 by ECCB
    Introduction

I wish to commence this media conference by welcoming all members of the media assembled both physically and virtually. I also welcome Rawdon Adams, the CEO of Bitt Inc, ECCB’s partner for this fintech pilot.

I recognise and thank all my ECCB colleagues for their hard work and support which brought us to this day.

Today, we propose to furnish you with some details on this historic undertaking – the launch of our pilot for the issuance of a digital EC dollar (DXCD).

At this juncture in the history of development of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU), we must, in the words of Bob Black, American author, “march off the edge of our maps”.

Our Motivation

Some of you may be wondering, what precisely, is the motivation of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) in making this bold move? Simply put, it is shared prosperity for the citizens and residents of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union.

In our Strategic Plan 2017-2021, we made the case for socio-economic transformation and issued a clarion call for collective action to transform the ECCU together. I have said it before and I reiterate it today, such transformation is not possible without digital disruption. I therefore urge us to avoid a “failure of imagination” as we craft the way forward.

We must never forget that all the technologies that we now take for granted, including our smartphones were once mere ideas. Indeed, as William Blake, visionary British poet pointedly reminds us “what is now proved was once only imagined”.

For our region to improve our development prospects and performance, we must expedite our digital transition. To this end, regulators and innovators must work together. This pilot exemplifies such collaboration.

Bitt first approached the ECCB about two years ago with the idea of a digital EC dollar. As we continued thinking about transformation of the ECCU, we became intrigued by the possibility of a digital fiat currency for our region. At that time, we were finalising our Strategic Plan and we made a decision to test and learn more about this idea through a pilot. Five months after the launch of our Strategic Plan, we signed an MoU with Bitt in March 2018 to collaborate on this idea, and so our journey to this pilot began.

https://eccb-centralbank.org/news/view/governor-antoine-addresses-the-eccu-media-on-launch-of-fintech-pilot-project

20. Hey folks.. don’t get me wrong
    Keep your eyes open, but if you can get bit of Bitt’s action (as an investor), then go for it.
    I suspect there ma be a pot of gold at the end of this rainbow.

21. @ Theophillus my honoured Tagteam Leader

I know that you would have taken all precautions with your identity and who you really are.

I know that because you are the sole person who is pursuing this Bite Me Money Scam that it will bring the Mugabe-bites running to find out who you are.

This is a topic that is a senstive as the father of Mottley’s godchild Pornville

When this system is finally launched it will solve all of the problems of the druglords in Barbados and across the Caribbean Region as such relates to the movement of drug monies through the Caribbean.

This accounts for the urgency with which is was fast laned past the new Governor of the Barbados Central Prank Cleviston Haynes

With this ALL OF THE SUPERVISION BY THE FINANCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION and Leighton Trotman will be subverted causing dem ent got a clue bout dese computer tings dem

Yet wunna is wondering why all de killing going on in Barbados and ting

The little forex that is leaving the money to pay the AR bills for the cocaine and the other drugs, has hit a technical hitch vis a vis the US$ clearances required at the CCB.

Additionally, given the hiccups of Pornville and Charles Herbert, the eyes of the United States of America are monitoring the previously viewable CHIPS inter-related forex transactions

The criminals, of whom MUGABE IS NOT ONE, HAVE TO FIND A WAY TO GET US$, Colombians DO NOT WANT chump currency like Barbados Monopoly money

Therefore they now are going to the ECCB where they can clean the currency and get their $$

But you, with all your financial connections already know all of dat

Signed
    Your friend
    The Aluminum Conspiracist

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!

22. The price of bitcoin is increasing. Some believe that just a few folks are trading bitcoins (the pump) and when you rush in they will jump out (the dump). “The most likely explanation, he said, is a Reuters report of a private buyer purchasing more than $100 million worth of bitcoin over a short period. Given the small daily trading volume of bitcoin, “that order would be enough to have an impact,” he said”

https://blockonomi.com/bitcoin-price-still-increasing-indepth-analysis-of-next-moves/

https://www.cnbc.com/2019/04/02/bitcoin-spike-blamed-on-an-april-fools-joke-but-thats-not-why-it-rallied.html

Investment advice:
    if bitcoin reaches $10K, I recommend that you sell your $10K gun and buy bitcoins.

23. What became of the sandbox…
    It seems as if it trap news as well…