Go to the Town Planning website and make a contribution to the DRAFT Green Paper.

At the risk of being accused by some on BU that the blogmaster has become a mouthpiece for Prime Minister Mia Mottley and the government, let us be clear – Barbadians have to accept a reality – we are in the deep South coast stuff, it behooves all patriotic Barbadians at home and abroad to become part of the solution or get of the way!

If as a people we are not able to come together on a 2×3 island in the interest of the country, we are going to fail our children in this and the next generation. We have steadily declined as a nation straddling political administrations. The minibus culture has been festering for nearly 40 years to cite one example of ineptitude.  We always blame the politicians for our woes but imagine if 20% of ordinary Barbadians were to become activists for change, become advocates for causes, become involved by accessing the several avenues that permit engagement in a democratic society. Why have we spent billions to educate ourselves to be sheep happy to just ‘exist’. Get up of from your lazy asses to do your civic duty!

Here is another initiative of the government the blogmaster entreats all to get familiar and participate. In quick time the government has deposited a draft green paper on reform of the town planning legislation, a first since 1965.  For the last 10 years many of us in this forum have railed against the lack of modern and relevant legislation, a dysfunctional public and private sector, the lack of productivity of our people and the list goes on. Here is an opportunity for some of you bright sparks to read the Green Paper on Planning Reform and make a contribution. How do we expect to attract foreign investment if our planning laws are from the buggy era. While following some of the planning sessions a few weeks ago the blogmaster was struck by the comment that Barbados lags the region as far as planning legislation is concerned. How the mighty Barbados has fallen.
Read the green paper and share your comments, be a difference maker!

141 responses to “Step up or Shut up: Barbadians Invited to Participate in Law Reform”

1. The public knows and see what direction Mia and her crew are
    heading
    Reason why David arrogance came under attack which finds his words in complete accordence with a govt who would dare asked for public involvement but closes ears to the rampant illegaities attached to George Payne and Marshall
    What green paper
    What peoples involvement ! Only if Mottley takes with all seriousness what is being said about her Ministers who are actively involved in writing law

2. The public knows and see that Mia and her crew are ineffective deficient dummies who know nothing…….and can do nothing……poor things
    MIA NEEDS WUNNAH HELP PEOPLE
    THEY RUN WAY GOOD PEOPLE AND NOW THE BARREL EMPTY AND THERE ARE NO ELIJAHS TO DO MIRACLES………SO THEY GOT TO BEG FUH HELP

TELL MUH SUMTING DOAH
    WUH ALL THESE MINSTERS GETTING PAID FUH?FUH WE DE PEOPLE TO DO DEM WUK?
    I ONLY ASKING

3. Mariposa, I have to agree with your comment at 9:10pm. It is like putting new wine in old wine skins. Who is going to help the government when Mia has done nothing to quell the thievery of her own ministers.

Learn mandarin indeed. It would be better to learn Spanish seeing we are next door to South America where many of the countries there speak the language. I remember Oliver Jackman many moons ago saying that Barbadians should learn Spanish and establish trade with South America which is next door and stop importing fruit and veggies from the USA.

4. Oh lord.. look at Barbados circa 2018… just another 3rd world brek down kleptocracy..
    Must be somebody else’s fault right!

5. Who will Bell the Cat Avatar
    Who will Bell the Cat

@ bajans

Anybody who is suggesting Bajans learn Chinese has to be a Scunt.

One just has to do a Google search of what the Chinese do when one become too in debt with them.

Look at what has happened to Sri Lanka and some African countries.

http://www.google.com/amp/s/qz.com/1317234/chinas-debt-trap-in-sri-lanka-is-even-worse-than-we-thought/amp/

As you have mentioned we should have been doing trade with the Spanish which is what has been taught in many schools and wasted.

6. TROPICAL DEPRESSION ELEVEN

Pay attention or not.

7. Mia would be dropping more outrageous distraction bombs more often to take peoples attention away what her policies are doing to the livelihoods of bajans
    A person who ran a campagain on attacking past govt for ministers misdeeds now have a cabinet with ministers names who are drag daily across social media having scurrilous allegations level against them and Mia says or do nothing
    Yet she seeks public assistance but when public assistance is asked of her Mia dutifully bows out
    What kind of game is Mia playing lest she forget the number 30- 0 was not retirred when her party won

8. Hants go to bed stop stirring up trouble in the Atlantic

11th tropical depression of the season forms, but will likely dissipate by Monday

9. Maybe the BT had to part with some change?

Apology
    Article by
    Barbados Today
    Published on
    September 21, 2018

The Barbados TODAY Inc published a series of articles on September 5, 6, 12 and 14 in our e-paper, which attracted public comments on our online media platform.

It has been drawn to our attention that the articles and public comments conveyed the false impression that Sir David Simmons and his daughter Lynne-Marie Simmons charged and were paid exorbitant and unreasonable fees for a legal opinion to the Board of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA).

The facts are that Ms Simmons had obtained the BWA’s approval to consult with her father on the legal opinion, given his previous experience in similar matters as former Chairman of three statutory boards, an Attorney General and a Member of Parliament for 25 years. Upon completion of the opinion, Ms Simmons submitted her invoice for professional services, based on a preapproved hourly rate, for $15,200.00, and not $120,000.00 as was published in Barbados TODAY articles.

Furthermore, our article on September 5 – BWA Workers not entitled to five per cent pay hike – Sir David, reported that the legal opinion stated that the employees of the BWA “are not entitled to a five per cent hike.”

We accept, however, that the legal opinion stated at para 6.1 that although the employees were not entitled as of right to a salary increase, merely because public officers on the Civil Establishment had been accorded such an increase, nevertheless, at common law, having regard to previous practice on the part of the BWA, the employees may have had a legitimate expectation of an increase.

We acknowledge that the articles listed and public comments have caused Sir David Simmons and Ms Simmons grave offence.

The Barbados TODAY Inc welcomes the opportunity to set the record straight and unreservedly apologize for any hurt, distress and embarrassment experienced by Sir David and Ms Simmons.

10. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

“All the government is getting from the Chinese is a loan that you and I have to pay back, to the tune of around US$170 million, because there was no one with the confidence in this government to decide that they would go and invest in that project,” Member of parliament and Opposition spokesman on tourism, Ronald Toppin had said.

Updated 3:05 am, July 10, 2018
    ©2017 COMMUNITY NEWS GROUP

https://www.caribbeanlifenews.com/stories/2017/9/2017-09-15-ga-barbados-chinese-economy-cl.html

11. Enforcement
    The CTP has a great deal of discretion to take action against anyone w
    ho is in breach of
    the planning legislation. The process lacks transparency and the penalties available do
    not act as a deterrent.

This section rings a bell if we look at what continues to transpire with Mark Maloney’s Rock Hard storage area at the Flour Mill on Spring Garden and the Island at Coverly entrance/exit on the ABC Highway. The approval to expand Coverly to accommodate Ross students should have been contingent on the settling of the two encroachments/violations.

p.7

12. @Vincent

This extract should interest you on the subject of public engagement.

CROSS CUTTING ISSUES

Public Participation and Access to Information
    The principles of public participation in decision-making were enshrined in Principle 10 of the 1992 Rio Declaration. Involvement of the public is important in the decision-making process, but many existing planning processes are opaque and allow for no public engagement.

This lack of openness leads to a mistrust of the system. Opening
    the system up to public scrutiny and involvement is critical to restore confidence. While the recent review of the PDP has illustrated a progressive approach to public engagement, the rest of the system has limited participation.

A common complaint of the existing system is the difficulty of accessing information. Information is important to inform effective public participation and to allow individuals to track the progress of planning applications. Even the current statutory register is inadequate, providing very little useful information.

Page 9 addresses the topical issue of government’s plan to digitize the process. A culture change of mammoth proportion will be required if we take the comments here as a guide.

13. From page 45 addresses the issue of Coastal and Seabed Developments. An important issue given the size of our land space and recent developments with Hyatt and EIA requirement. We need to get our coastal planning right although it maybe too late!

14. Vincent
    Planning is not an engineering exercise. This is exactly why the 1965 legislation needs to be changed and the perception of planning as an administrative exercise to grant or refuse permission re-imagined. If you google the London Plan you will see how regularly it has been amended, especially with the election of a new Mayor, because it is the strategic document at the core of the Mayor’s policy objectives. Councils in the UK also constantly review their local plans. The government is moving in the right direction.#legacybuilding

15. Vincent is right,
    It is illogical, emotional thinking (like Enuff”s) that get us into things like the South Coast Sewerage mess, Four Seasons, Cahill etc … where clueless lawyers and politicians come up with ‘legacy’ schemes which are REALLY just designed to put bribe monies into their own pockets.
    This is why they need to change plans so often….

Sound NATIONAL planning is a MULTI-GENERATIONAL exercise that is tied to the educational system, the strategic plan and the development plan for natural resources.

The fact that our approach has been legalistic (crooked) has been our downfall to date….
    …and with continued (bent) thinking like Enuff’s … our ass is grass.

16. @Bush Rea

You are knocking the position then laws must be relevant to time and space? Seem you are conflating issues.

17. Make drastic changes to Town Planning that excludes CORRUPTION and BRIBERY..

… if the crimes of stealing properties committed against the elderly, their beneficiaries and others over the last 54 YEARS are not addressed…you are going nowhere….trying to dress it up will not work.

AND don’t try to cover up the thefts of land and estates like it never happened because it did and has been happening since 1964…but am sure all the FORGED documents will be dated 1965…and attempts will be made to remove them from the files.

18. …but am sure all the FORGED documents at Town Planning and Land Registry ARE dated FROM 1965 and coming forward all the way to 2018.

They need an audit by outside auditors who are not part of the criminal Cabal of lawyers and government ministers.

19. What do you not understand by ‘multi-generational’ David?
    There are some things that supersede the vagaries of time, season and of trends.

The most valuable thing in Barbados since the 1960’s has been our beach front lands. It is what exemplifies the idyllic characteristics of a place that CHOSE to make tourism its main thrust. How should BASIC guidelines that protect such an asset change in the last 50 years?
    Most INTELLIGENT countries (with less attractive beaches than ours) STRICTLY FORBID ANY building on the seaside of beach roads.

A development planning process that allows a Prime Minister to ‘wily nilly’ allow select persons to do what we have seen on our West Coast is the absolute epiphany of STUPID….. but it is EXACTLY what Enuff is supporting…. and what this proposed new TCP Act will continue to allow…

Are you aware of China’s National Development plan … and of its timeframe?
    …or of Singapore’s?

There are reasons why successful persons are successful
    …and there are reasons why brass bowls will ALWAYS be poor.

Onwards to the grass….

20. David
    Bushie always conflates issues–ALWAYS!! What he has just offered as an opinion shows his lack of understanding. The legal aspect the TP Act is not the same as the Physical Development Plan, and the PDP is not the only plan. What the PDP does is facilitate the execution of the other plans. An application is not adjudged against the TP Act, it is assessed against the Plan. The proposed amendments to the Act is seeking to change the process i.e mandatory public consultation, freedom of information, appeals, who decides on what etc; not the reference points for assessment. Oh Christ!!

21. NONSENSE Enuff… and you must know it…

Whatever the PDP says….
    The Prime Minister will be reserving the right …and power, to over ride …and do what ever the Hell they want.
    Do you want examples…?

Unless THIS is changed, the PDP could be the best in the WHOLE world, we will remain susceptible to repeating the stupid mess that we now see on our West Coast and other places….THANKS TO THE LEGAL LOOPHOLES.

Did your new government not promise to clean up shop?

We do not just want more intelligent crooks in office….
    We want BRIBE-PROOF systems in place…. SYSTEMS….!!!

22. Bushie
    Go do some research and come back. You will see that in the system of planning that we practice, there is inherent flexibility. In the UK, where we got ours from, the professional Officers’ decision can be ignored by the Council’s Committee, which can then be overturned by the Secretary of State. If you want a rigid system then that’s fine, but that is not what we have in Barbados. We can debate what is the best approach. Start with reading the people Green Paper.

23. @ Enuff
    Why do you reference the UK?
    There, …people who take bribes get locked to donkey up….
    There, .. people who are publicly accused of stealing lands …. RESIGN office until it is cleared up…
    There, .. People RESIGN office on principle when shiite happens.

When you can say the same for Barbados, Bushie will buy your shiite comparisons about ‘flexibility’…
    Until then, you can fool others like David with your legalese …
    BUT NOT STINKING BUSHIE….

24. Bushie

Why you reference China and Singapore?

25. Maybe there’s a lesson to be learnt by Bajan politicians and planners from a “Red Tide” environmental disaster occurring along the South West Florida coastline. Budgets for environmental monitoring and enforcement of anti-pollution measures were cut by the Republican governor Rick Scott and as a result there are now excessive amounts of agricultural runoff flowing into the sea and causing massive algae blooms. These algae blooms, AKA Red Tides, are killing off fish and other sea life and causing dead zones in the ocean. The dead sea life washes up on beaches in large quantities and its negatively impacting in a significant way the local businesses dependent on the tourist economy with no end yet in sight.

https://youtu.be/SBBbGGx8nZk

26. Anybody remember one Ms Kay McConney who is a Senator and Minister of Government in Barbados? What about Ms Althea Wiggins also a senator and former deputy High commissioner?

27. She can’t be a minister in the BLP government because we have a one-woman government – a Jill of all trades.

28. Mia do you Remember these words

POOR PENSIONERS
    what happen now

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/09/22/give-us-a-break-3/

29. Well let me tell u something Mia these were the ones who help built barbados from the ground up (before u were born) whose fore parents worked (not marched) in the boiling sun trying to make a way out of no way for a better barbados
    Now with a swiftness of a pen on a dotted line you have unilaterally wiped out any beneficial prospect these pensioners had laid aside in financial instruments to make betterment for themselves and children and grandchildren
    What a dam shame

30. @ Enuff who asked…
    Why you reference China and Singapore?
    Just two examples of developmental planning that leads to economic success …and which are LONG TERM and deep rooted.

The only ‘Laws’ that constantly require updating are the shiite laws that emanate from wunna Lawyers and politicians.
    – When last was the Ten Commandments updated?
    – What ‘upgrades’ are needed to the even more fundamental Law enunciated by the first bushman?
    …that we should Love God most of all, and our neighbours as much as we love ourselves…?

Trust Bushie… the very FACT that these shiite ‘statutes’ constantly need ‘updating’ speaks to their being rooted in brass bowlery.

BTW
    Bushie has no issue with YOUR reference to the UK Physical Development Planning process…
    Just concede that the rules of the game THERE …are much different to the banana republic guidelines generally used by your pals here….

You MUST know by now …that you CANNOT trick bushie with shiite….
    Man answer the BASIC question asked…

WHY DOES THE PM NEED THE RIGHT TO OVERRIDE the established PDP …as interpreted by a panel of professionals?
    WHY …???

31. The word of the late great John Gibbs of the HC Canteen…..NEXT!

Tropical Storm Kirk Advisory Number 1
    NWS National Hurricane Center Miami FL AL122018
    1100 AM AST Sat Sep 22 2018

https://www.nhc.noaa.gov/text/refresh/MIATCPAT2+shtml/221434.shtml?

32. GREEN MONKEY
    DO YOU SUPPOSE THAT RED TIDE IS DUE TO WEEDKILLERS LIKE ROUNDUP?

33. Bushie
    “WHY DOES THE PM NEED THE RIGHT TO OVERRIDE the established PDP …as interpreted by a panel of professionals”

The PM (or Minister responsible) is responsible for determining specific applications, he/she does not override decisions. Point me to where he/she can override decisions or where that is proposed?

34. Semantics….

If the minister is responsible for determining specific decisions, then it is OBVIOUS that the minister does NOT OVERRIDE those decisions…. SHIITE … these are RESERVED for for such determination ent it??

…Which is Bushie’s point.
    WHY is the minister responsible for determining specific applications – when that minister may not know one shiite about the technicalities….?
    Are you supporting the politicisation of TCP decision-making… like we were seeing with Hyatt?
    …and like resulted in our f*****-up West Coast…?
    (*****= ‘owled’)

BTW..boss…
    …BT must admit that you are smart as shiite though….

That bogus argument could slip by a normal mortal…. without a whacker…

35. Bushie

You are spinning in mud trying to get your point across and are failing. Isn’t there a planning officer in the PM’s office who deals with these specific applications? Go do your research.

36. @ Mariposa September 22, 2018 11:17 AM

The pensioners who trusted the last DLP gov are clueless and financial illiterate. They deserve no mercy.

It was crystal clear since 2013 that Barbados will default.

There cannot be any exemption. How you think the foreign commercial creditors will react when they realize that they have to pay for 52 retarded plantation policies but not the clueless natives? Barbados would NEVER EVER gain access to the international financial market again.

It is only reasonable when PM MAM acts like a financial Stalin against local pensioners.

37. Maripoda,

“Some 73 pensioners held bonds each with a value of over one million”.

Why should the taxpayer and international creditors pay for local black and white snobbish aristocrats and plantocrats? Those who bought junk bonds knew what they were doing.

These 73 pensioners are just arrogant, selfish, greedy and financially illiterate. They are a national disgrace and should apologize.

38. Tron,

It is not nice to say I told you so. When the central bank started selling bonds, I said they were not for retail investors. I predicted it would end in tears. Government bonds are ideally for firms ie insurance companies, with long-term obligations. But desperate e governments do desperate things.
    Fast forward to day, and it is crypto-currencies.

39. Hal,

You are right. Either gov bonds have high interest and are only suitable for institutional investors or they have low interest and make no sense for pensioners. Both ways hands off!

40. Sovereign debt restructurings: the legal context
    (by Lee Buchheit, Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP; transcript of remarks)

https://www.bis.org/publ/bppdf/bispap72s.pdf
    “…Sovereigns are unique debtors. Unique in two senses: they are uniquely
    vulnerable and they are uniquely protected. They are uniquely vulnerable in that,
    unlike a corporate debtor or an individual debtor, there is no bankruptcy code that
    applies to a sovereign. They are not subject to their own bankruptcy codes, nor
    anyone else’s. That means that an over-extended sovereign confronted with a
    maturing debt obligation has only two choices: pay it or face the prospect of a
    lawsuit and be compelled to pay it. To put it differently, a sovereign cannot seek the
    protection of bankruptcy courts; there is no Chapter 11 for a sovereign. In that
    sense, of all the debtors in the world, sovereigns are uniquely vulnerable.

That said, sovereigns are uniquely protected in this sense: until the middle of
    the 20th century, most countries recognised a theory of absolute sovereign
    immunity. A sovereign could not be sued in the courts of another country without
    its consent. Moreover, sovereign property, wherever held, was treated as immune
    from any compulsory seizure. This was the doctrine of absolute sovereign immunity.
    It changed in the middle of the 20th century. For reasons we do not need to go into
    here, the trend developed in most countries toward a restrictive theory of sovereign
    immunity; a theory which says that when a sovereign elects to go into the
    international marketplace and conduct itself as though it were a commercial actor, it
    ought to be accountable to judicial process as though it were a commercial actor.
    And to the extent that sovereigns historically claimed to be affronted if they were
    hauled into a court in a foreign jurisdiction, the response was “you should have
    thought about that before you engaged in commercial activities abroad.” Moreover,
    the restrictive theory of sovereign immunity said that, under certain circumstances,
    sovereign property held abroad would be subject to seizure by a creditor who has
    obtained a court judgment against the sovereign…”

41. One thing’s for sure..the UK is lit up with the theft of the Stewart Estate.

All those who worked overtime for the last 4 or 5 decades to steal Estates and land from the vulnerable are starring in their own show..as Small Island Thieves.

Ya would think they would be more visible now, but it seems they have gone underground..lol.

42. Who will Bell the Cat Avatar
    Who will Bell the Cat

@ WARU

They and @David the Blogmaster are one and the same so when you say that they have gone underground you are way more accurate than you think.

Part of cover-up and seeking to deceiving the local and global public.

43. Who will Bell the Cat Avatar
    Who will Bell the Cat

Did those seeking Barbados children to speak Chinese Mandarin discuss with China representatives child labor, prison labor, cheaply made dangerous products, artificial island air bases, horrible human rights, threatening neighbors?

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tron September 22, 2018 4:01 PM
    “These 73 pensioners are just arrogant, selfish, greedy and financially illiterate. They are a national disgrace and should apologize.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Sounds similar to the descriptively colourful admonition given to the CLICO EFPA policyholders by none other than the Fumbling Stuart on the floor of the HoA.

So when are we going to get that list of those 73 filthy rich ‘old’ bastards similar to that promised by the same Fiendel?

It serves those old greedy fools right. They should have taken their monies and bought over the CLICO plantation lands.

Whatever we might say about the Big Sinck we have to take our hats off to the lying MoF who has brought Bajans to the fountain of reality after living in a fool’s paradise for the last 20 years.

How can Bajans expect to live the Big Life for over 20 years on other people’s foreign money to buy foreign-made goods and don’t expect to meet the day of financial judgment?

The Bajan government has refused to pay the forex pied piper and will soon see their dreams of eternal sweet life dissipate when the tune of Devaluation equivalent to the Bajan version of the bugle call of Taps (The Day is done) is played next year in full feting regalia.

45. We, in the diaspora knew these were junk bonds. The locals had no use for us expats until they were in dire financial straits. So, up comes Worrell and his henchmen trying to sell Canadians Bajan bonds. Did not attend the sessions but were told that Worrell could not answer relevant questions posed to him re the return of funds to Canada, chances of default, why the high interest rate, etc. They said technical questions were posed and rather than letting his experts answer he tried himself and was shown to be a fool. Could not answer follow-up questions, etc.
    I don’t think he got any sale in Ottawa. Now David is asking us in the diaspora to help with ideas. How may of us wanted to return home, applied for jobs and were not considered only to find out that less qualified and unqualified persons who knew people got the jobs? steupse…..

46. I think the white man in Morgan Lewis, who craves the return of slavery and the old order, and his wife invested heavily in government bonds. Well, he still has his goats.

47. Bajans,

The road show was presumably illegal since Dr. “No” Worrell had no licence to sell securities under Canadian law. He abused his diplomat passport (I assume he had one to enter Canada) to do private business. However, he is lucky, since nobody bought the junk bonds in Canada and so no Canadian investor can sue him. It remains a matter for Canadian financial supervision.

Those who lost their money in Argentina in the early 2000s know what we talk about. High dividends on shares are good, high interest on gov bonds not at all if you do not sell your securities within a short period.

Miller,

I really support the agenda that poor Barbadian pensioners must be protected to SOME extent against the present odds, but these rich cats tried to make a fortune out of the Barbadian taxpayer and are now complaining that they lost the game. No way! PM MAM must stay firm against these rich boys like a Stalin. If everybody gets a concession, BERT won´t work.

48. @ bajans September 22, 2018 8:57 PM

All glory to Big Sinck! I call that retributive justice 🙂

49. GP wants to know:
    GREEN MONKEY
    DO YOU SUPPOSE THAT RED TIDE IS DUE TO WEEDKILLERS LIKE ROUNDUP?

Well seems there could be a link. Some scientists have found a link between glyphosate and an increase in fresh water blue-green algae (cyanobacteria) blooms which also cause fish die-offs.

See here:
    Glyphosate Sprayed on GMO Crops Linked to Lake Erie’s Toxic Algae Bloom

Glyphosate, the controversial main ingredient in Monsanto’s Roundup and other herbicides, is being connected to Lake Erie’s troubling algae blooms, which has fouled drinking water and suffocated and killed marine life in recent years.

Phosphorus—attributed to farm runoff carried by the Maumee River—has long been identified as a leading culprit feeding the excessive blooms in the western Lake Erie basin. Now, according to a new study from chemistry professor Christopher Spiese, a significant correlation has been established between the increased use of glyphosate to the percentage of dissolved reactive phosphorus (DRP) in the runoff.

More at:
    https://www.ecowatch.com/glyphosate-sprayed-on-gmo-crops-linked-to-lake-eries-toxic-algae-bloom-1906543478.html

Glyphosate is now commonly used as a dessicant to dry out sugar cane crops prior to harvesting on surrounding sugar cane plantations. At the same time .In recent years, blue-green algae blooms have also become a troublesome problem in Florida’s Lake Okeechobee.

See for example this July 9th article from the New York Times:

Algae Bloom in Florida Prompts Fears About Harm to Health and Economy
    By Melissa Gomez

The bright, blue-green film piling up in the canal in Jason Pim’s backyard is the first thing he wakes up thinking about and the last thing before his head hits the pillow.

The pungent odor of the algae, which has traveled dozens of miles from Lake Okeechobee, Florida’s largest freshwater lake, is hard to describe. But Mr. Pim, 37, said the smell is like opening a bag of moldy bread.

“To just watch it in the water and kind of just lap up and down with the water is a pretty eerie sight,” he said on Sunday. “It’s kind of mesmerizing.”

An unusually large algae bloom has filled the lake with a pea soup-like mixture that has built up because of rain, hot weather and a heavy concentration of phosphorus and nitrogen from fertilizer, Richard P. Stumpf, an oceanographer with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, said.

More at: nytimes(DOT)com/2018/07/09/us/algae-blooms-florida-nyt.html

Lake Okeechobee’s water, polluted with agro-chemical runoff from neighbouring sugar cane plantations and excessive amounts of blue-green algae, drains into Florida’s coastal waters.

MIT Scientist Dr Stephanie Seneff who has been researching the harmful effects on the environment and human health of Monsanto’s glyphosate based herbicide Roundup and of glyphosate itself for a number of years explains that the excessive amounts of blue-green algae contained in the water draining into the Gulf of Mexico can also then contribute to the increases in Red Tides.

Basically it would seem that there is something of a chain reaction occurring. The glyphosate sprayed inland on farmlands releases more phosphorous runoff into nearby lakes and waterways (as explained in the Ecowatch link above). This excess phosphorous in turn can encourage the growth of blue-green algae blooms in inland lakes and bodies of water like Lake Okeechobee (see, Ecowatch link). According to Dr. Seneff, the blue-green algae take in free nitrogen and turn it into nitrates which adds even more nitrates to the level of nitrates in the water caused by runoff of nitrate based fertilizers. The final step in the chain is that in the ocean the excessive amounts of nitrates then provide nutrients that the red algae can feed on.

From an interview with Dr. Seneff:
    Honeycutt: Lake O in Florida is being drained into the ocean. Officials claim that the blue-green algae have nothing to do with the red tide. Do you believe this? How could the blue-green algae be contributing to the red tide?

Seneff: No, I don’t believe this! Again, very straightforward. The blue-green algae (cyanobacteria) are able to convert free nitrogen from the air into nitrates. Thus, they cause an excess of nitrates in the water, in addition to those nitrates that come from excess run-off from nitrate-based fertilizers. The excess nitrates provide essential nutrients for the red algae (Karenia brevis), that then grow to large numbers offshore, causing the red tide.

sott(DOT)net/article/394713-The-connection-between-glyphosate-red-tide-and-marine-losses

Dr. Seneff’s home page on the MIT website containing her published papers, presentations and interviews regarding the harmful effects of glyphosate is here: people.csail.mit(DOT)edu/seneff/

Sorry, I can only provide 1 hyperlink per post, otherwise the post gets held in cyberspace for moderation. So for other links provided, just copy and paste into your browser and replace the (DOT) with a “.” to make the link work.

50. Savings bonds not affected by the bond restructure.

Leave a Reply to bajansCancel reply