Go to the Town Planning website and make a contribution to the DRAFT Green Paper.

At the risk of being accused by some on BU that the blogmaster has become a mouthpiece for Prime Minister Mia Mottley and the government, let us be clear – Barbadians have to accept a reality – we are in the deep South coast stuff, it behooves all patriotic Barbadians at home and abroad to become part of the solution or get of the way!

If as a people we are not able to come together on a 2×3 island in the interest of the country, we are going to fail our children in this and the next generation. We have steadily declined as a nation straddling political administrations. The minibus culture has been festering for nearly 40 years to cite one example of ineptitude.  We always blame the politicians for our woes but imagine if 20% of ordinary Barbadians were to become activists for change, become advocates for causes, become involved by accessing the several avenues that permit engagement in a democratic society. Why have we spent billions to educate ourselves to be sheep happy to just ‘exist’. Get up of from your lazy asses to do your civic duty!

Here is another initiative of the government the blogmaster entreats all to get familiar and participate. In quick time the government has deposited a draft green paper on reform of the town planning legislation, a first since 1965.  For the last 10 years many of us in this forum have railed against the lack of modern and relevant legislation, a dysfunctional public and private sector, the lack of productivity of our people and the list goes on. Here is an opportunity for some of you bright sparks to read the Green Paper on Planning Reform and make a contribution. How do we expect to attract foreign investment if our planning laws are from the buggy era. While following some of the planning sessions a few weeks ago the blogmaster was struck by the comment that Barbados lags the region as far as planning legislation is concerned. How the mighty Barbados has fallen.
Read the green paper and share your comments, be a difference maker!

141 responses to “Step up or Shut up: Barbadians Invited to Participate in Law Reform”

1. Who will Bell the Cat Avatar
    Who will Bell the Cat

Africans fear Zambia has become a Chinese colony

— China takes control of State -owned airport, Electricity Company, National Media and major roadway

“What China has done is that they have studied countries that have corrupt governments and greedy leaders….China’s operations in Africa are a fact that many of the deals are done in secret. In many cases, we don’t know what we signed on to.”

An international airport, a State-owned Electricity Company, a National Broadcasting Network and a major roadway in Zambia, have all been taken over by China.

Dr. Mumbi Seraki

In fact, the takeover of the South African country has reached such “commanding heights” that some observers are asking the question, “Is Zambia the first African country to become a full Chinese colony?”
    Zambia’s reported ‘colonization’ is due to its government’s failure to repay a US$8B debt to China for infrastructural projects undertaken by the Chinese under programmes like the ”Belt and Road” initiative.
    Given the appalling proportions of the debt, it was no surprise that Zambia’s plight was recently highlighted on “The Dr. Mumbi show” —a widely viewed online/TV programme in Africa.
    During her show, Dr. Mumbi Seraki noted that China has been given unrestrained control over Zambian resources owing to over-borrowing and the unfiltered immigration of Chinese into the country. It was also highlighted that the Chinese have taken over African neighbourhoods, marketplaces, and major business sectors such as mining and real estate.
    Dr. Mumbi noted that the situation is causing conflict between the Chinese immigrants and the locals. But there is nothing that could be done by the Government of Zambia. Their hands are tied.
    “If the Zambians complain about something which is done illegally, the Chinese government steps in and says don’t touch my people and the Zambian Government backs down.”
    As if that is not enough, Dr. Mumbi said that China has also been grabbing up major State assets.
    A few months ago, the state-owned TV and radio news channel, ZNBC, and the Lusaka International Airport were taken over by the Chinese. Even the State’s electricity company, ZESCO, is poised for takeover by the Chinese government owning their loan default, Mumbi stressed. But the government has been denying the reports.
    “They (the Government) have been trying to play cool like everything is ok but they have actually been in secret talks over how their national electricity company will be taken over by China,” the African talk-show host revealed.
    In addition to all this, the Chinese have closed off a road on the central point of Zambia’s capital, Lusaka.
    Given the aforementioned, the Kenyan commentator questioned the logic behind China’s dealings in Zambia’s state- of -affairs.
    “Do you think an African company would be allowed control over China’s national electricity? But you know what? It just shows that China’s new colonial strategy is at its climax. And they (China) have been doing this covert business for so long and now they got their tentacles so deep inside (Africa) that it’s going to be hard for some countries turn back,” she said.
    The talk-show host also emphasized that China’s whole strategy is encouraging indebtedness.
    “They come to Africa with the money. They give and they give (loans) but once you default, they start to take over strategic assets. You see, what China has done is that they have studied countries that have corrupt governments and greedy leaders. That’s the trouble with most African nations. That’s why we find most African nations in this situation.”
    She stressed further, that China’s long-term goal is the effective ownership of the commanding heights of Africa’s economy.
    Dr. Mumbi also explained that one of the biggest problems with China’s operations in Africa is the fact that many of the deals are done in secret.
    “In many cases, we don’t know what we signed on to. We don’t know the kind of agreements they made because all of them were done hush-hush and behind- the -scenes. All we’ve been told is that China is giving Africa money or they’re funding this or that infrastructure project.
    “But we are not told that the debt repayment is set at this percentage and if you fail to pay this percentage, we are going to be in trouble.”
    Turning her focus back to Zambia, Dr. Mumbi highlighted yet another problem with the loans—the lack of capacity by the country’s Ministry of Finance to track government spending.
    She noted that since President Edgar Lungu came to power, Zambia signed off on to at least US$8B in Chinese projects. But over US$5B is still to be added to the US$8B total. Zambia is refusing to acknowledge this, saying that the money has not been disbursed as yet.
    China, however, said that the money has already been given and more large loans are in the pipeline. According to Dr. Mumbi, there is great worry over the money collected since the Zambian Finance Ministry does not have the capacity, to police, let alone trace all the spending.
    “And because these deals are done in secret, the financial penalty of backing out of these projects are worse than if you actually go through with it to the end,” the host added
    In spite of the capacity issues, the talk-show host revealed that Zambia’s President, Edgar Chagwa Lungu, recently visited China and signed another US$30 million loan for the modernization of his country’s Mulungushi International Conference Centre and another US$30 million for the expansion of the electricity supply for the Lusaka East Multi-Facility Economic Zone. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-e4NkIL7-6M)

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2018/09/23/africans-fear-zambia-has-become-a-chinese-colony/

2. Who will Bell the Cat Avatar
    Who will Bell the Cat

Guyana sounds like Barbados with the Chinese underhanded business.

Looks how all these Dishonest Politicians Sellout the Taxpayers

Greenidge signing secret deals

Dem boys love real people who seh wha dem mean and mean wha dem seh. Dem don’t want no fluff, no bluff and no pretence. This country had enough of pretensive politicians who behaving like prostitutes.
    Dem boys realize that this set of politicians also crookish but dem not as bad as Jagdeo and his kavakamites. Dem hands not as sticky. But fuh sure dem more dumb than Jagdeo.
    Dem tek a paltry US$18M signing when dem coulda get US$18B instead.
    Then DEM run round and SIGN de worst oil contract de world ever see. De whole world was saying that Guyana should renegotiate de contract. Instead, Soulja Bai talk bout sanctity of contract.
    But is only de odda day de TT PM seh all contract must benefit both parties and that no contract write in stone.
    Wha de man is saying to Soulja Bai and ee dummies is to re-negotiate de contract. If dem don’t, this gun haunt all of dem, dem children, and dem grandchildren.
    And at de political level that will be the straw that bruck the camel back.
    Everybody know that China on a roll to trap you. Dem do that in over 70 countries and tek way de people assets.
    Dem tek way airport, deep water harbor, electricity companies, television companies, radio stations, major highways, mining lands and timber concessions in all dem countries.
    Yesterday, Greenidge sign anodda secret contract wid China. He didn’t want to answer no question from de media. When he done sign de secret deal he run to he car and seh he busy.
    Dem boys later see him at de Marriott sipping something.
    This was de man who invite de reporters to an early morning signing. De signing didn’t tek place til near midday. And even then de reporters nearly miss it because he lock dem in a room and lef dem.
    Is a cameraman come and seh de people signing. Greenidge look like if he would sign away he cat in secret.
    Every country China lend money had corrupt govt and greedy leaders. Dem boys believe that Guyana already dea in this bracket. And it started wid Jagdeo.
    It look like if it continuing under Soulja Bai cats.
    Jagdeo sign de airport expansion project in secret; de Skeldon sugar factory still secret; de East Coast road project sign in secret and de GPL transmission line contract was done in secret.
    Nobody know unto now how much Jagdeo tek from China suh dem don’t know is how much Guyana owe China.
    Now you have this coalition govt signing fuh more loans wid China. Soulja Bai did seh he keeping ee eyes wide open but yesterday he was not there when Greenidge sign wid he shades on.
    Dem boys remember Greenidge is de man who been protecting Exxon from Day One. Now he protecting China.
    Talk half and watch how dem politicians pawning Guyana assets to de Chinese.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2018/09/23/greenidge-signing-secret-deals/

3. @ Enuff
    Isn’t there a planning officer in the PM’s office who deals with these specific applications?
    You are final proof that all yardfowls are equal.
    Equally full of it…

In the face of our history of having destroyed the paradise that was handed to us in 1966 with unquestionably mindless development on our coast; with contamination of our drinking water; with the sewerage mess; with Bridgetown now a hopeless dump; with Warrens a traffic horror….etc
    …you come here to justify why your NEW government should continue with the same shiite system that produced these results… ???

It is that you think that have saints in YOUR party ….who are not susceptible to bribes or threats from albino-centrics?
    …or is it that wunna are intend on acquiring wunna offshore accounts too…?

Boss..
    Having a ‘planning officer’ in the PM’s office is the ultimate shiite that can be proffered to intelligent people (but it works in Barbados…).

Why the hell would a PM who has a WHOLE TCP department with all the needed resources…… ALSO need her own planning officer in the PM’s office?
    Does she also have a Tax Officer, a Crime Officer, a Transport Officer, a Health Officer etc ….in the PM’s office?
    ….or is this redundency only limited to areas where large bribes are routinely known to be associated?

Steupsss…
    The REAL problem with yardfowls is that the scratch grain is thrown for them into the yard where they shit –
    Most times they don’t know what it is that they are eating…..

#pityallyardfowls

4. @ Who Will Bell The Cat
    These arrangements are so nasty and degrading that THEY CAN ONLY BE DONE IN SECRECY … like CAHILL and the solar panel people….and indeed the whole DLP approach over the pass ten years….

SUCH SHIITE WOULD NEVER GET PASS A PROFESSIONAL DEPARTMENT OF GOVERNMENT.

This is why these Ministers want to reserve to themselves the rights to make final decisions.
    This way, they can secretly sign the whole country away to the Chinese, Russians, Canadians, Trickidadians …or even to the local baloney mafia ….as long as it suits THEIR personal ends.

That Enuff can come here with his nonsense to BUSHIE…… is downright insulting….
    The whacker deserves a bit more respect that that…..

But even though Bajans may be blind, dumb and deaf ….
    they will smell even more shiite …and our ass will definitely FEEL the grass…

5. I agree BT you were GIVEN paradise in 1966 how you have chosen to sell it… well… that is your choice.Trust me white people are not bribing officials hoping barbados will fail. They are bribing officials because they know they will take it.I think I may have an understanding why things fail on the island for instance when a local wins a million in the lottery and says I am going to give a quarter to charity he still has 999999.75 left. Its that thinking of waiting for john frumm that has turned the place into an eyesore .

6. China’s geographic problem!!

7. Lawson
    white people are not bribing officials hoping barbados will fail.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss
    white people bribe officials because it is the albino-centric way…. It is what wunna do as a matter of course…
    Just like dogs bark, …eagles fly …and brass bowls kowtow ….. wunna bribe.

“Paradise” was represented by an idyllic country abandoned by your kind BECAUSE there was nothing more left to steal.

It was Idyllic – because of its natural assets – climate, location, ideal terrain, lack of even dangerous animals – once wunna had mostly retreated to London and Australia to enjoy the spoils of 300 years of looting…

Unfortunately, when we lie with dogs we ALSO get fleas – so having laid with wunna for 300 years (even though having done so mostly vi et armis) we now share many of the albino-centric genes…

Can you not see how much some of us are like you…?
    How much we love money – and would do ANYTHING for it…?
    How we measure ourselves and our success by money…?
    Can you not see how SELF-FOCUSED many – who do not even look like you – are?
    …and the ends that they will go to acquire THINGS that are not theirs …and that they DID NOT earn honestly…?

The world has become quite complex…. it is no longer ‘black and white’…

The ONLY difference is that some of us ALSO still continue to have some COMMUNITY – CENTRIC leanings
    – those lucky to have retained some of the original black predisposition….
    Those (including some looking almost like you) still have the opportunity to be guided by THAT ASPECT of their character….
    …while those of your ilk can ONLY know the selfish, greedy, money-orientated ways of the albino-centric…..
    ..and hence bribe…

The problem with materialism and greed is that it ALWAYS ends in sorrow … and in slavery – at the expense of some EVEN MORE misguided albino-centric morons….

Old Bajan saying…
    “One smart dead at two-smart door…..”
    and…
    China is MUCH TOO smart for our little shiitehound political jokers….
    …AND for their lackie yardfowls.

8. “The REAL problem with yardfowls is that the scratch grain is thrown for them into the yard where they shit –
    Most times they don’t know what it is that they are eating…..

#pityallyardfowls”

And you know the saying about not eating where you shit.

“Paradise” was represented by an idyllic country abandoned by your kind BECAUSE there was nothing more left to steal.”

Don’t mind retarded Lawson..only he and his idiot kind would think that thieves who stole an island from the REAL NATIVES hundreds of years ago…can actually give it away, when there is nothing left to steal from their enslaved victims and their successive generations.whom the stole from Africa to transport to the same island….and that makes perfect sense to retards.

9. “I think the white man in Morgan Lewis, who craves the return of slavery and the old order, and his wife invested heavily in government bonds. Well, he still has his goats.”

bajans

Yes, it’s clear that Richard “Dick,” “Lowdown” Hoad is one of those white men that craves the return of slavery and the old status quo…..and he expresses those views in his articles, while trying to convince us “how good things were” when white people were in charge. He never has anything positive to write about black governments.

But when challenged, this racist guy quickly responds he has friends who are black, then goes on to mention men who either drove his father’s trucks, drove him to school or worked on his father’s “plantation”……all who were his subordinates.

It’s never someone who may be considered his equal.

And the Weekend Nation publishes his racist shiite every week.

10. but Hoad’s grandchildren are Black! All four of them.

11. Artax,

Richard has lots in common with these former ministers who are residing in Florida, Toronto, London, Geneva or Zurich now.

These VIPs love Barbados and the black population so much that they prefer to mix up with the population in the North. Or do you think their families and children are still in Barbados? They are all multi-millionaires who despise Barbados.

12. No one said that Karma is not real..lol

Some of the worst types of racists end up with Black grandchildren, ask Hoad about his racist buddy Nancy Binks..retired principal of St. Winifreds..

13. “but Hoad’s grandchildren are Black! All four of them.”

Ping Pong

So what???!!

Hoad’s offspring would have made the decision to mate with a Black individual.

The question is……..did that decision upset him?

14. Tron,

I am not surprised to hear that about Canada. We have had the same thing in London with the high commission promoting savings vehicles. I warned them that that was a criminal offence in the UK. Only regulated independent financial advisers are allowed by law to give financial advice in the UK.

15. @Bajans,

The brutal truth is that Bajans at home have no use for those who are overseas and would like to make a contribution to the island of their birth. That is why I say just leave them and enjoy your career.
    I have told the story of Ambassador Billie Miller, when she foreign minister in the Arthur government,, coming to the City of London to hold a joint meeting with the Trinidadians. .They have been others. I know of a bright young Barbadian in New York who came down to one of the Diaspora meetings with a well-worked out plan about financial regulation and was totally ignored. He is now doing exceptionally well. Instead of listening to him, he had to sit and listen to Maxine McClean rambling on about nonsense. I have also mentioned Piers Linney, a good St Phillip lad, who loves Barbados and has been totally ignored.

16. Bush Tea

You simply do not understand the role of Planning. Your view is narrow and antiquated. What powers do the Minister have in the Singapore model you touted?

17. Lol bt give the island back if you don’t want it

18. I know not the man Hoad.
    And I am learning too much about him.

19. Lowdown is a good man.

20. @Hal
    I applied for a job at the UN in the 1980’s. It was not an entry level position and I was qualified having done research in the area and written a well received paper. He staffing officer called me and told me that Barbados requires that all applications for nationals should be forwarded by Barbados government. She gave me the name of the representative that she worked with. I went down to Barbados in person and tried to meet with the lady. I could not see her and was asked to leave my CV, which I did. I returned to Canada and waited to hear from Barbados. I did not. Instead I got a call from the UN asking if I had sent my information down. I told her I took it personally. She told me it was not included and because of that she could not consider me for the position. But here is the kicker. She told me that the names that were referred are NOT QUALIFIED and would not be considered as Barbados was not the only country under represented at that time, and she will have to consider another country. Smart Bajans.

21. @ WARU,

Are you not related to that racist nancy person who used to be at St. Winifreds? lol.

22. @ Enuff
    Bushie…..You simply do not understand the role of Planning
    What is to understand about creating an arrangements where one is in a strong position to negotiate bribes from persons interested in building and development?

In Singapore, ministers do not dare take bribes ..for fear of the consequences.

In Barbados we ALL KNOW that bribe taking has been so commonplace that those few ministers who did not …were laughed at as having wasted their time…
    Shiite man… some low ministers even asked for their bribes via text and WhatsApp
    …. and known top boys accepted payment by cheque… some 75,000 ….some $3.3M…. WITHOUT CONSEQUENCES.

We got a ‘dumb-donkeyed’ fella up shit street in the USA ……for bribery in BARBADOS yuh…!!!
    ….meanwhile, he remains a highly respected ex-minister in Barbados WITHOUT A SINGLE CHARGE.

What does this tell you about Barbados and Singapore boss…?

The reference to Singapore by Bushie was to demonstrate the difference between a modern country …and a banana republic.
    …made so via these shiite laws that you and your legal ilk are happy to promote and swallow….

…but NOT stinking Bushie.

Vincent is right.
    Planning is an engineering exercise, best carried out by professionals – operating in a transparent arrangement.

23. @ Bush Tea September 23, 2018 8:32 AM

Most Barbadians do not understand that preserving the paradise is precondition for tourism. However, too much tourism as in 2018 destroys the paradise and therefore the fundament of tourism. Call it the “Barbadian circle of doom”.

The many fast food restaurants, the many sweet drinks, the drug crimes, the many settlements over the whole landscape, the many roads, the pumping of sewage into the ocean, the consumption of once public beaches for 2nd rate hotels and too many hotels at the beach destroy the paradise.

Today Barbados looks more like a poor suburb and poor rural area in Florida than anything else. We need a purge to restore Goddess Bim´s glory.

24. @Bajans
    Your comment about the actions you encountered when seeking a job at the UN have been experienced by many in other situations.

Barbados cannot limp along by (1) ignoring the 50% who belong to the next party and (2) giving responsible positions to yardfowls.
    and ignoring talented folks.

Inevitably, the farm will fail. Yardfowls may know a little law, but they cannot repair machinery…

25. @ Bush Tea September 23, 2018 12:16 PM

The local culture is so deeply rotten, I guess, if Donville returns after having served his sentence, most local politicians, the judiciary, the high bureaucrats, the police and the many QCs will cheer and he will receive knighthood and many other badges and he will be declared a national hero.

As said before, the COP and the DPP are total failures. I really ask myself how the two make it to look into the mirror every morning.

26. @ Bajans,

I am sure you went on to do well after you did not get that UN job.

Barbados is still a great place for a vacation and to retire if you have enough money.

27. Bushie
    You have a knack for backing yourself into a corner and then shifting your argument. All of a sudden it’s not the framework but the players. I guess engineers and professionals are demi-gods; therefore, beyond corruption.😂😂
    Planning is not an engineering exercise, and this explains why you fail to see its true role in driving social and economic development. Go do some research nuh.

28. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

For those of you who may be interested in what a one bedroom villa at Port St Charles looks like then click on the link below. It will cost you a mere USD $650,000.

The proposed change in the country’s planning regulations will facilitate and remove the barriers for those groups who have the finances to develop real estate throughout the island. We know that our government and the majority of our private companies are incapable of creating and developing a framework which will allow for the development of competitive and niche products and services that would benefit and bring value to our economy.

Our lazy governments over the years have concluded that it may be best policy to promote the sale of government land to the highest bidder (those whom are prepared to pay the highest bribe) and to expand the built-environment all over the island irrespective as to whether our infrastructure and our natural environment can sustain such growth.

This is Mia’s current default position. She is desperate to invite all and sundry to come to Barbados in order to grow the country’s economy primarily through a huge expansion in our built-environment. Who knows this may bring a real boost to our economy. We may see a change from rags to riches in our economy. My main concern is that the vast majority of Bajans (sons and daughters of the soil) will at best play a minor role on this developing stage and will certainly not be the beneficiaries of any monetary growth.

What we are about to witness and very soon in Barbados will be a black population being excluded from the table of growth and development and becoming a marginalised majority group with no voice.

Mia’s dash for growth should come armed with caveats. Anybody noticed how the east coast has started to be developed?

https://www.rightmove.co.uk/overseas-property/property-53045304.html?currencyCode=GBP

29. All of a sudden it’s not the framework but the players.
    Perhaps you REALLY do not get it Enuff…
    Bushie was blaming it all along on the ‘yardfowlness’ …. but perhaps you have ‘decimal’ problems yuh…

Show where it is now ‘players’ being blamed by Bushie…. rather than frameworks…
    Obviously you do not comprehend the concept of openness and transparency
    …and you certainly have not grasped the meaning of ‘professional’….

These concepts are no about persons, skippa….
    These are the about SYSTEMS, frameworks and procedures.

You know….
    The REAL joke is that Ms Mottley HERSELF questioned why she needed to be bothered by these ‘special considerations’ WRT TCP …and suggested that wunna look at models (like in other Caribbean countries) where independent panels make such decisions…

BUT It is the lackie yardfowls who cannot seem to contemplate that ‘the big boss’ does not have to have the final word….
    One wonders why…?

Is it that, (as Piece has been lamenting) …she has
    brass bowls to the left of her
    brass bowls to the right
    Jackasses in front of her
    …and a pack of shitty yardfowls bringing up the rear..?

as in the Charge of the Shiite Brigade…?

30. “Our lazy governments over the years have concluded that it may be best policy to promote the sale of government land to the highest bidder”

I always thought that it was private land owners selling their land to foreign investors. Anyone care to point out what government land was sold to foreigners? #justasking

31. Bushie

You espoused the Singapore framework, systems and procedures. I pointed out that B’dos where it is now is similar. The Green Paper is heading even more to the Singapore model. Yuh responded by saying, oh that is Singapore blah blah. The “big boss” is talking about routine applications, not the ones they term of “strategic importance”. Just admit that you haven’t a RH clue what you’re talking about. As David BU likes to say, you may have the last say.

32. You espoused the Singapore framework, systems and procedures. I pointed out that B’dos where it is now is similar.
    Similar…?
    What is our history of dealing with bribe taking?
    How do we deal with litterers?
    shiite…
    Can you even CHEW GUM in Singapore…?

OBVIOUSLY in such an environment the rules will take into consideration that BRIBERY IS NOT endemic…
    What similar what?

WRT “Strategic Importance”…
    We are saying the same thing Enuff.. You are just being coy…

‘Strategic importance’ is the extent to which significant finder’s fees and ‘consultancy charges’ can be applied to an application.
    It also is impacted by the propensity of the potential investor to ‘negotiate aggressively”. (hint hint)

Fore example, Butch Stewart came with such a reputation – judging from his prior out-of-court settlements…

Look man… Robust Planning Laws, are all inclusive and comprehensive (like God’s Laws are).
    They DO NOT CHANGE with ‘strategic’ circumstances….

Just because some money launderer has $500M stolen dollars to flash around DOES NOT make an application ‘strategic’…

Thank for that last word..
    Same as Bushie’s first…

33. “@ WARU,

Are you not related to that racist nancy person who used to be at St. Winifreds? lol

lol…the answer will shock your tail, you would wonder if you were in the twilight zone.”

34. @Bajans,

I am not surprised. It is a pity that some people do not understand that jobs with the UN and the Bretton Woods groups are ‘representative’, and not necessarily based on qualifications and experience. They are allocated by region and nations if not the 20000 economists at the World Bank and IMF would all be Europeans and Americans. But, if someone with a PhD from Cave Hill gets a job in an international agency some how people see them as brilliant. They may be, but hat is not a condition of employment.
    @Bajans, it is also instructive that almost to a man and woman Barbadians outside Barbados come to the same conclusion about the social, political and economic problems at home, while those at home put up a spirited defence of the consensus.
    As to your position, I am sorry you did not get the position, but little people, little minds.

35. “In the 1960s, flexibility was often seen in planning literature as a negative feature, whereas today it is perceived by planners and policy-makers as a positive asset to cope with the challenges of growing complexity, opportunism and diversity in cities. The discussion seems to rest between two approaches. While planning should be flexible to facilitate a non-linear and multi-layered decision-making system, implementation should not be too flexible as the public sector might lose the controlling power and the private sector might gain increasing influence in urban development. Public-value capturing is the level at which public bodies manage to make developers pay for public infrastructure—infrastructure provision, public roads and space, public facilities and buildings, affordable and social housing—and eventually capture part of the economic value increase. This important aspect of flexibility is the level of certainty about future development possibilities before negotiations between developers and local planning bodies take place.”
    Demetrio Muñoz Gielen and Tuna Tasan-Kok

This is where planning is in 2018 and has been for a long time; and where one senses the current government is seeking to go. Yet we have people on here talking about planning is an engineering exercise and laws should be rigid–the law and policy are not the same. Anyhow, I done.

36. @Hal and Hants: I stayed here in Canada and did very well. I travelled extensively with my job and stayed in the best hotels. I retired in a senior position and I did not get there because I am a beautiful, buxom, blue eyed blonde!!! I worked with all men (white) and found they were poor thinkers, they were not futurists. Besides they were not good writers.

@WARU, when you first came to BU, you mentioned some things that tied you to an article I had read many moons in one of the Bim papers. Anyway, I linked thing and pinned you down. I do not have a photographic memory like Piece, but it is quite good. It had to be for the work I did. You yourself may have, during one of your rants, mentioned that you were related to the old witch from St. Winnifreds. lol.

37. @ Steupsss – (so it was not your last word after all…)
    While planning should be flexible to facilitate a non-linear and multi-layered decision-making system, implementation should not be too flexible as the public sector might lose the controlling power and the private sector might gain increasing influence in urban development….. (especially in bribe taking countries.)
    Is this what you consider research? Junk!!….It says whatever you want it to say about flexibility.
    Besides, ‘flexibility in planning’ does NOT mean non-transparent political gerrymandering…. it CAN be transparent, multidisciplinary and completely ABOVE BOARD.

Give an example of any ‘Law’ that should not be ‘rigid’ …and which needs to be ‘flexible’ depending on strategic pressures….
    …or do we have persons on here who do not understand the concept of a ‘LAW’..?
    How is this…?
    Thou shalt not undertake any development that compromises the quality of Bajan drinking water….
    …UNLESS of course it is a ‘strategic project’ that requires special consideration by the minister; numerous consultants; EIA studies and other appropriate licenses.
    ….In which case, we can pursue the CAHILL thingie…and we can start by incorporating a company in Guernsey….

Boss… you could REALLY hush in truth….

38. “You yourself may have, during one of your rants, mentioned that you were related to the old witch from St. Winnifreds. lol.”

Guilty as charged..lol

I don’t do hypocrite, even when bloodlines are involved.

39. hahaha. Waru, I know you don’t. That is why I always read your posts and why i have not outed you.

40. @ Enuff
    Imagine that we have LAWS which currently allow the kinds of shiite that we have seen the DLP do for ten long years (and which the BLP did before that…), such that we have NOT been able to charge a SINGLE fella….. even though the Americans can easily charge one who just visited their country…

….AND despite all this, you and your new party (that promises change and talking shiite about ‘watch muh’) come here proposing to essentially keep the VERY SAME shiite systems in place – with just a little pissy dressing up to fool the gullible.

Only a jackass (or a Bajan brass bowl) would accept a system that gives the RIGHT to politicians (who have been demonstrated to be dishonest -AND who have misused this right for their OWN benefits in the past) to make final decisions about the use of NATIONAL ASSETS …without and legal consequences…..

No wonder we are broke….
    Barrow was right about lawyers…

41. BushTea

You just continue to make yourself look foolish. Take my advice and leave this one alone, and for the 100th time I am not a lawyer. What does that say about your line of thinking and analysis, everyone with some understanding of Acts and policies must be a lawyer? As usual, you’re just spinning in mud; everytime I point out yuh talking shite yuh jumping on a new line of argument. Rest muh!!!