Submitted by Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy

jean.png

BROOKLYN: Saint Lucian and Caribbean Clergy and community leaders will on Wednesday, September 19, 2018 lead a memorial service to celebrate the life of Dallas police shooting victim, Botham Shem Jean. The service will take place at 6:30 p.m., at the Advent Fellowship of Brooklyn  Church, 1666 Bergen Street, Brooklyn NY 11213.

The service, which will be punctuated by tributes, praise and worship, will be attended by Jean’s parents, other relatives, friends, elected officials as well as Saint Lucian and Caribbean community leaders. 

Botham Shem Jean, was a 26 year-old Saint Lucian national and Dallas, Texas resident. He was shot and killed by Dallas police officer Amber Guyger on Thursday night, September 6, 2018 in his own apartment. Guyger claimed she took Jean’s apartment for her own, and entered by mistake.  

Dallas police consequently issued a warrant for Guyger for manslaughter and subsequently handed the investigation over to the Texas State police, Texas Rangers. Guyger was charged with manslaughter after turning herself in. The Texas Rangers were widely condemned for giving Guyger preferential treatment; including granting the officer the privilege of turning herself in at a jail in a county outside Dallas, where she was booked and released on $300,000.00 self-bail.

The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID), had written Dallas District Attorney, Faith Johnson, demanding that Guyger be charged with murder based on the facts and circumstances outlined in an affidavit filed in court. Dallas community leaders as well as civil rights leaders nationwide have also called for Guyger to be charged with murder. They also condemned her preferential treatment and questioned why she was not arrested at the scene. District Attorney Johnson has said her office is continuing the investigation. She has not ruled out additional charges.  Jean was funeralized in Dallas, Texas, last Thursday.

Jean came to the US from Saint Lucia in 2011 to study accounting and management information systems at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. After graduating from college and completing a brief internship, he accepted a permanent job in the Dallas office of Auditing Firm, Price Waterhouse Coopers in 2015. At the time of his death, he was a risk assurance associate for Price Waterhouse Coopers. 

Jean graduated as the top student of his high school, earning the Spirit of Saint Lucia Academic Award. He also attended the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College, in Castries, Saint Lucia before migrating to the U.S.  Jean was also an active member in the Church of Christ where he taught Sunday school and was an accomplished singer. 

–END–

113 responses to “Memorial Service in Brooklyn for Dallas Police Shooting Victim Botham Jean”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Of course it stinks of political high level compost BS…when does it not in Washington, DC or Bridgetown! Regardless, it’s either true or a lie.

But I am yet to understand how it’s possible to validate any semblance of accuracy in a 4 decade old he-she said incident to reach a judgement of 100% truth, thus this will be the Lawsons/GPs of this world along with the Repub establisment vrs Dems/Libs and others sticking to an entrenched opinion.

There has long been no room for ANY reasoned analysis since this letter was only released at the last minute.

Surely the matter was given scant regard months ago otherwise the judiciary committee would have been fully informed and a private investigation done to flesh out any validity or ability to publicize.

The Dems have played the politics very well.

Lawson do you complain as much when the incumbent highest level educated male stormy daniels stinks up the political fray with his wild accusations and half truths…No… I didn’t think so.

2. I am 66 years old and I can remember things I did when I was 15 years old. If any of you claim you don’t remember things

from 40 or 50 years ago something is wrong with your brain.

3. Sarge you kill your parents then plead for mercy because you are an orphan, it was the dems who hid the allegation it was the dems who released her name they were the only ones that knew about it, so stop with stupid they dont want a investigation bullshit. This is just another stall tactic. The dems dont care about this woman she is a means to an end just like stormy.They dont care her life may be torn apart just like stormy , death threats notoriety etc.
    But as usual pound the law…pound the facts… and if you have neither…pound the table….. so its obvious you know this stinks but you think by attacking me and playing the race card makes her case stronger somehow LOL LOL

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

The issue of an FBI investigation is mere political posturing quite obviously.

What would one expect the senator leading the judiciary committee to say re an investigation (FBI or his own investigators) about such a matter dropped out of the blue AFTER his committee had finished all the expected business and was moving forward to a vote!

How would he agree to restart another investigation just so and basically delay the process at least another two weeks ….as STILL is now the case 🤣

Masterful gamesmanship by the opposition party….absolutely top drawer !

Frankly, none of them can handle “the truth” whatever that may turn out to be.

5. i find this article very interesting

wuh wunnah tink?

https://cultofthe1st.blogspot.com/2018/09/why-christine-blasey-fords-high-school_19.html?m=1

WHY CHRISTINE BLASEY FORD’S HIGH SCHOOL YEARBOOKS WERE SCRUBBED: Faculty Approved Racism, Binge Drinking and Promiscuity

6. re I am 66 years old and I can remember things I did when I was 15 years old. If any of you claim you don’t remember things from 40 or 50 years ago something is wrong with your brain.

I HUMBLY CONCUR HANTS

I REMEMBER BEING TAKEN AT AGE 6 TO PATRONAL FESTIVAL AT ST PAULS BY MY GRANNY.
    I REMEMBER AT LEAST TWO OF THE HYMNS SANG THAT NIGHT AND ESPECIALLY THE TUNE DEERHURST AND THE FACES OF SOME OF THE CHOIR BOYS IN THEIR PURPLE ROBES AND ELIZABETHAN COLLARS

I REMEMBER MY GRANNY TEACHING ME TO SPELL MISSISSIPPI BEFORE I WENT TO SCHOOL

I REMEMBER THE HYMNS SHE TAUGHT ME WHILE I SAT ON THE FLOOR AT HER FEET

BUT THEN, UNLIKE THIS MOST NOBLE WOMAN, I HAVE NEVER ATTENDED BINGE PARTIES WHERE ALCOHOLISM OR GANJA WAS EXHIBITED.

I REMEMBER SO VERY MANY THINGS OF PEOPLE AND PLACES FROM MY EARLY LIFE

I FIND IT ABHORRENT HOW ANY ONE CAN REJOICE IN WHAT IS GOING ON IN DC AS

“Masterful gamesmanship by the opposition party….absolutely top drawer ! OR…..
    The Dems have played the politics very well.

I AGREE WITH LAWSON 100% WHEN HE POSITS

It was the dems who hid the allegation it was the dems who released her name they were the only ones that knew about it, so stop with stupid they dont want a investigation bullshit. This is just another stall tactic. The dems dont care about this woman she is a means to an end just like stormy.They dont care her life may be torn apart just like stormy , death threats notoriety etc.
    But as usual pound the law…pound the facts… and if you have neither…pound the table….

BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP
    2 SWEET MAN! 2 SWEET!

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

You find it so interesting, do you!

This ENTIRE affair is an indictment of the decadence and privilege of suburbia high society america…of prep schools with private tuitions costs (starting in mid $30,000s /semester surely) that rival some university expenditure; of adventurous, rowdy youth and much more.

The truth…can they truly handle it. Oh Lordie.

Can’t precocious sexual aventurous youth or even nymphophiacs still be raped or sexually harassed against their will by out of control boys or men?

Enjoying an act generally but being forced to do said act against your desire by another are NOT incompatible.

Gone, gone.

8. THE COMPLETE LIST OF CHRISTINE FORD’S ALLEGED LIES AND MISREPRESENTATIONS
    https://steadfastandloyal.com/news-for-you/the-complete-list-of-christine-fords-alleged-lies-and-misrepresentations/

9. RE This ENTIRE affair is an indictment of the decadence and privilege of suburbia high society america…of prep schools with private tuitions costs (starting in mid $30,000s /semester surely) that rival some university expenditure; of adventurous, rowdy youth and much more.

NO This ENTIRE affair is an indictment of WHAT FOLK KNOWN TO BE IN SOROS EMPLOY WILL DO TO DEFY TRUMP OR BLUNT HIS AGENDA

DID SWEET LIKKLE PROFESSOR CHRISTINE THINK THAT THE DEMS WOULD REALLY ALLOW HER TO MAKE HER ALLEGATIONS ANONYMOUSLY?

I HOPE THAT SHE ENJOYS HER SHORT LIKKLE MOMENT OF FAME

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh excuse me..had to pop back….you ‘ FIND IT ABHORRENT HOW ANY ONE CAN REJOICE IN WHAT IS GOING ON IN DC AS”….opposition masterful gameanship….

… but every freaking day for approx. 18months the Pres of the USA has been masterfully gaming the political scene was a deluge of absolutely not caring about ‘gold star families; about fudging details to families about their loved ones killed in battle ; about the rule of law and order in that nation; about roiling the nation divisively on racial and immigration issues…..Ehhh.

I don’t agree with the assault to the Judge’s character in this way but politically it is frighteningly effective in roiling a base regardless of whether he goes to SCOTUS…the SAME damn thing this man has been doing for the 606 days of his incumbency .

And you have the temerity/gall/ holier than thou attitude to only now “FIND IT ABHORRENT HOW ANY ONE CAN REJOICE IN WHAT IS GOING ON IN DC”

Maybe the Romans would say ‘O me miserum’…or in Bajan : you gotta be a #%%& wretch or just, You sir are an absolute HYPOCRITE. 🤣

11. ANOTHER OPINION

Rush Limbaugh: Kavanaugh’s accuser is part of the Dems ‘everyday’ strategy to destroy ‘decent’ people
    September 19, 2018

Former President George W. Bush called the latest Supreme Court nominee “a fine husband, father and friend – and a man of the highest character,” while 65 women who knew Judge Brett Kavanaugh as a young man described his unimpeachable “friendship, character, and integrity” in a letter of recommendation sent to the Senate Judiciary Committee. Yet, conservative radio star Rush Limbaugh believes that Kavanaugh’s reputation for being a “decent” man actually puts him at a distinct disadvantage.

Limbaugh worries that President Donald Trump’s second Supreme Court appointee could underestimate the political forces at play against him. Whether Dr. Christine Blasey Ford’s accusations are true or just a ploy designed to undermine the nomination process, Limbaugh argued that her political aspirations coincide with Democrats’ “everyday operational political strategy” of trying to destroy “a decent person and his family.”

Asking for anonymity, Ford sent a letter to a California lawmaker in late July accusing Kavanaugh of misconduct at a pool party in 1982. When Ford’s allegations, which eventually made it to Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and the Senate Judiciary Committee, failed to delay Kavanaugh’s nomination, the psychology professor revealed her identity and produced her therapist’s notes from 2012 to corroborate some of her claims.

Limbaugh believes that Kavanaugh is in over his head, faced with a “left-wing political activist” who marches to the beat of a Democratic Party war drum and will not relent until she irrevocably ruins the conservative judge’s reputation.

“It’s not just Kavanaugh,“ Limbaugh told his listening audience on Monday. “They need to destroy anybody credible who opposes them. They need to ruin them,” he said, referring to Democratic operatives.

“I don’t think decent people quite know how to deal with this,” Limbaugh said. “Decent people don’t spend their day strategizing like this. And, as such, they don’t end up being prepared for it.”

Limbaugh elaborated: “By definition, decent people are not prepared for this kind of thing. Not that they’re ignorant to it. It’s just they don’t go through each and every day studying up on how to get ready for the next smear job from the Democrat Party,” he surmised.

Kavanaugh isn’t facing accusations from some garden-variety academic. A registered Democrat, Ford is on the liberal fringe, reportedly donating to Democratic support organization ActBlue, along with Bernie Sanders, the Democratic National Committee and the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee.

Precisely how extreme Ford’s views are may never be known. She deliberately and systematically purged her social media accounts before coming out as Kavanaugh’s accuser, leaving many Americans to wonder just what the research psychologist had to hide.

Limbaugh contended that it would be imprudent to ignore Ford’s political machinations. “She has worn one of those vagina hats at some anti-Trump marches,” he said. “She is cited in a San Jose Mercury News article as wearing the hat at the march, which the newspaper said was held because people were ‘angered’ by the Trump administration’s proposed cuts to research.”

Ford’s activism didn’t end at the women’s march, however. According to Limbaugh, “She also signed [a] ‘Letter Fighting Trump Border Enforcement’ — Christine Blasey Ford signed a letter fighting Trump’s ‘Zero Tolerance’ policy at the U.S.-Mexico border. … So clearly she’s a political activist,” he said. “She’s an angry political activist.”

Ford, who originally stated that she wanted to remain anonymous, took the odd steps of securing an attorney and taking a polygraph test in August. Sen. Lindsey Graham questioned the timing of Ford’s actions during a Monday appearance on Fox News.

“If Ms. Ford really did not want to come forward, never intended to come forward,” Graham wondered, “why did she pay for a polygraph in August, and why did she hire a lawyer in August? And who paid for it?” he asked.

In just the latest sign that Ford may be motivated more by partisan allegiances than a desire for justice, the accuser-activist is refusing to respond to an invitation to appear before the judiciary committee to tell her side of the story. Apparently, Ford has asked that her testimony come after an FBI probe into the matter.

The intervening investigation that Ford has demanded would obviously delay Kavanaugh’s confirmation for weeks, possibly giving Democrats enough time to stall Kavanaugh’s nomination until after the November midterms, when Democrats could win back a simple majority in the Senate and effectively block any Trump Supreme Court nominee.

Limbaugh is right to point out Ford’s political credentials. So far, Americans are witnessing what looks more like the actions of a political operative bent on obstructing the nomination process than the behavior of a sexual assault victim seeking justice.

12. Oh excuse me..had to pop back

OFF COURSE YOU GOT TO POP BACK…….YOU CANT HELP

IM NOT A HYPOCRITE AT ALL
    I AM JUST PUTTING ANOTHER VIEW ON THINGS- THE VIEW FROM THE SIDE OF THE UNDERDOG
    A VIEW THAT IS DIFFERENT TO THOSE WHO CAN ONLY SEE TRUMP OR HIS APPOINTEES OR SUPPORTERS ARE EVIL

I FIND THE HATRED TO BE MOST HILARIOUS AND I ENJOY POKING WUNNAH TRUMP HATERS! IT IS GREAT FUN FOR A RETIREE!

POP BACK AGAIN MAN! POP BACK!

13. My first question would be has she bought or read a copy of Mark Judges book, where he tells of university days and a reference to bart kavanagh because sometimes if you read something enough times you can believe yourself there, I have heard stories told so many times in the firehall about fires, guys fought knowing they were never there,,but they actually believe they were.as the years go by. Senator blumenthal must have read a few books on vietnam.LOL

14. @Lawson&GP
    BENGHAZI! BENGHAZI ! BENGHAZI ! BENGHAZI! BENGHAZI

15. NO SARGEANT
    WE ARE NOT TALKING ABOUT SHITBAMAS FIASCOS AND FAILURES, WE TALKING BOUT
    THE ECONOMY
    THE TAX CUTS
    GORSUCH & SOON KAVANAUGH
    ETC ETC
    LOOK FOR DPD TO POP BACK NOW.

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh fiddlesticks….or not euphemistically WTRH!

For those who love to quote right wing opinions as actual news, they were cautioned days ago to be careful what they wished for when POTUS glibly announced he had ordered the release and declassification of all emails etc from McCabe, Strzok, Lisa Page and Comey along with the FISA details re Carter Page.

Well, well, well…rationale people said that was madness in the midst of an ongoing investigation on one count and on count 2 it was doubly madness re possible publication of sources, method and other details that should never be known.

Becareful…be very careful….this CANT be true…can it?

“In the days after FBI Director James Comey’s May 2017 firing, Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein discussed wearing a “wire” to record conversations with President Donald Trump and recruiting Cabinet members to invoke the 25th Amendment to remove Trump from office, The New York Times reported Friday.

“The extraordinary allegations, depicting a panic-stricken No. 2 official at the Justice Department who has been a target of the President in the past, are outlined in memos authored by former FBI Deputy Director Andrew McCabe,…they have been turned over to special counsel Robert Mueller, according to sources familiar with the matter.”

WT Right Hand Folly (euphemistically) is this… POTUS got some people to fire, fah sure.

Oh lordie!

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOLLL @ GP, I missed your invitation but fah sure pop back I did…on another point tho unrelated.

Marinate on that news and let us know what your right wings boys opine. Washington in freaking conniption…how does the DoJ function with the news that the two AG thinks the POTUS is freaking totally incompetent and wanted to invoke the 25th amendment.

This is a freaking coup of deep state proportions 🤣🤣…just like Woodward said in his book. Who woulda think this would happen in the US of A…but then again who woulda expect Brexit too or de South coast flow of raw effluence…woe to us all!

Gone again.

18. RE Who woulda think this would happen in the US of A…but then again who woulda expect Brexit too or de South coast flow of raw effluence…woe to us all!

Who woulda think this would happen ?

everyone who believes 2 Timothy 3 King

This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

6 For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,

7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

19. As I thought, you guys cannot admit that grass is green Sad.

20. not all grass is green! ah lie? lol

21. @Dee Word

It is about time you learn to ignore.

22. Ever learning, BUT never able to come to the knowledge of the truth. UH LIE LOL

23. I remember when my eldest sibling migrated. I remember hiding and crying behind my parents’ bedroom door. It was the week BEFORE my second birthday.

24. dpd
    here is another right wing piece to IGNORE & DEBUNK

THE PLOY TO DESTROY KAVANAUGH THICKENS

Steven Ahle SEPTEMBER 22, 2018

At a meeting of Democrats in July, where the mood was that they could not stop Brett Kavanaugh from becoming a Supreme Court Justice, Ricki Seidman told those in attendance, “Over the coming days and weeks there will be a strategy that will emerge, and I think it’s possible that that strategy might ultimately defeat the nominee.”

This was in July, the same month that Dianne Feinstein received the letter from Christine Ford. So, after all the hearings were finished, they trotted out Ford to try to save the day. And can you guess who her handler is? If you guessed the same Ricki Seidman that promised a scheme to defeat Kavanaugh, you’d be absolutely right.

In a July conference call to Democrat leaders, Ricki Seidman – a Democratic operative, former Clinton White House official and current advisor to Dr. Christine Blasey Ford – laid out a strategy to defeat the nomination of Judge Brett Kavanaugh.

Democrats knew they had nothing on squeaky-clean Judge Kavanaugh so they devised a plot to take him down in July.

But Ricki Seidman spoke about her plot to destroy Kavanaugh on the July call.

Ricki Seidman: Over the coming days and weeks there will be a strategy that will emerge, and I think it’s possible that that strategy might ultimately defeat the nominee.

This was at the same time anti-Trump protester Christine Blasey Ford sent her letter to Senator Feinstein.

Senator Feinstein has still not released the unredacted letter. Democrats are hiding facts from the public. And Seidman is advising Christine Ford in the party’s disgusting hit on Judge Kavanaugh.

Do you really need more proof that this entire episode was planned by the Democrats months ago, in order to deny Kavanaugh his seat by the use of lies and innuendo? What if I were to point out that Seidman is also the person who brought Anita Hill to the Senate in an effort to defeat Clarence Thomas?

25. dpD;

I havent commented on BU for several weeks now but It just occurred to me to check BU to see if anyone had commented on what are the most important of the global news item of these times. viz. The strategems being used by the GOP for the ascension of the serial liar and possible pervert to the SCOTUS to put in place an environment for Trump to totally change America into a totalitarian society and the info that has been leaked to an unwary NYT to provide an excuse for Trump and his minions to fire Rod Rosenstein and start the coming civil war in the US which could expand to cover the whole world, as we know it, and presage the end times.

Nothing else makes sense.

26. … about 100 years ago this is what was being said by men about women!!

27. The poem was written about women at the time of the Suffragette movement.

…. early terrorists perhaps???

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We, I figured you had gone on a social media free holiday to Iceland or some such…so hoped you enjoyed.

As usual I am moved to smirk at your take on POTUS issues….as I came from a different angle and didnt consider your nuance which is decididly more freightening.

Why do you believe the dep AG item was “leaked to an unwary NYT” !…. Consider it was the NYTwhich published that incendiary op-ep from the modern day deep throated stater and also Woodward’s book pointed directly to such subterfuge.

But most damning consider that it is the absolutely (sorry to say it this way but apt) pussy grabbing whipped Repub congressmen who pushed POTUS to release/declassify the details of emails etc which comprises a key part of the details now made public.

I frame it that they have gotten suckered by their pussy grabbing stupidity…that was plain as day based on the last set of folly of their intel committee report and this is but one freaking big example of their further utter madness…. Note that POTUS has been forced to scale back his intended ‘release all of it’ mantra.

I agree with you that POTUS has now the perfect “excuse … to fire Rod Rosenstein” but as you realize that will have to wait a few heartbeats until this Kavanaugh issue is resolved.

Let me also say for the record that the dep AG can’t play both sides of the field and expect not be to squashed…he has timing on his side now but surely this is not a tenable state of affairs for ANY president …even one as dictatorial and wayward as this one is…no strongman suffers this level of back stabbing so heads will roll!

Let’s come back go this …we agree much turmoil ahead. I gone.

@John, the Blogmaster told me I must learn to ‘ignore’….meaning avoid baiting and obvious fish hooks of folly. 🤣

In that vein I will bid you a cheery morn and be thankful that the women suffrage movement had the “terroristic” verve that it displayed. Happy Saturday to you!

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/09/21/us/botham-jean-mother-dallas-police-shooting.html

“Ms. Jean said her son had to explain life in America — where for black men in particular, a minor traffic stop can turn deadly — to his family back home on the Caribbean island of St. Lucia.

“I always told him, ‘Why do you have to be so dressy?’” Ms. Jean recalled in an interview. “He said ‘Mom, I don’t want to be stopped. I don’t want for them to think I’m somebody I’m not.’”

In 2016, when Mr. Jean moved to Dallas to take an internship with the accounting firm PwC, formerly known as PricewaterhouseCoopers, he made sure to transfer his car registration within the 30-day limit.

Unlike many mothers of African-American boys, Ms. Jean, who headed several government agencies on St. Lucia, never gave her son, a risk assurance associate, a talk about avoiding the police.

“We are predominantly black in St. Lucia,” she said as she prepared to return to the island for her son’s burial. “I never had to face any racial issues.” But now Mr. Jean’s death is being held up as evidence that blacks in America are not safe, even in their own homes.

How much his race played a role in what happened when Amber R. Guyger, a white off-duty Dallas police officer, arrived at Mr. Jean’s door on the night of Sept. 6 is unclear, as are many of the details of what led to the shooting. Even if it was a tragic error, Ms. Jean wonders if Officer Guyger would have fired as quickly had her son not been black.

A police affidavit says that Officer Guyger, who lived in the apartment directly below Mr. Jean’s, said she had parked on the wrong floor in the adjacent parking garage, and mistakenly believed she was entering her own home. When she saw Mr. Jean, she believed she was encountering a burglar, which the affidavit said she “described as a large silhouette.”

After drawing her gun and issuing verbal commands, with which Mr. Jean did not comply, the affidavit says, she fired the gun twice, striking Mr. Jean once in the torso.

On Thursday, Ms. Jean suggested that Officer Guyger had invoked the term “silhouette” to imply that she did not know Mr. Jean’s race.

“She would have been able to see his complexion,” Ms. Jean said. “I think the word silhouette was deliberately used to erase the racial issue.”

Robert L. Rogers, a lawyer representing Officer Guyger, declined to comment.

In another interview on Thursday, a neighbor who lives on the same floor as Mr. Jean said that she, too, questioned Officer Guyger’s contention that it was too dark to see into the apartment. The neighbor, who requested anonymity because she is also a city employee, said that the lighting in the hallway is bright and illuminates the inside of the apartments when the door is open.

“Even if all the lights are off, I can see what my furniture looks like, I can see everything in the apartment,” said the neighbor, who said she heard a woman yelling in what she said sounded like “a one-sided argument’’ before gunshots went off on the night of the episode, after which she heard another voice, which she presumed was Mr. Jean’s. Some of this account might comport with Officer Guyger’s statement that she gave verbal commands.”

30. If a woman has a point to make it is usually made in the open.

The theatre associated with this event does makes it appear to be orchestrated.

31. The theatre associated with this event makes it appear to be orchestrated. …. oops

32. RE John, the Blogmaster told me I must learn to ‘ignore’….meaning avoid baiting and obvious fish hooks of folly.

THAT IS OFF COURSE CONTRARY TO THE INVITATION TO JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE. uh lie?

33. i dont know why we are beating this thing bout a black boy getting shot by a white police woman to death

we know it has happened and that it will probably happen again
    beating this incident to death here will not change anything PAST PRESENT OR FUTURE

I HAVE MYSELF HAD AN INCIDENT WITH POLICE OFFICERS ASKING ME TO COME OUT OF MY HOME AND SHOW ID

34. Look at how the newsreels/”media” worked 100 plus years ago.

The women got up and made noise.

The newsreels reported what they saw.

Today, the media creates the story and then reports on its creation.

In the case of the death of the St. Lucian, there are systems in place to investigate and punish officers who step out of line.

The media needs to tell us about those systems, educate us, follow the process through, report on the process and its outcome.

The problem is we don’t want to learn, …. and sadly, the process is a bore.

35. September 22, 2018 12:21 PM

I HAVE MYSELF HAD AN INCIDENT WITH POLICE OFFICERS ASKING ME TO COME OUT OF MY HOME AND SHOW ID

I have been in a car when it was pulled over in Miami by the police.

All the checks were made on the driver’s identity … license, insurance and registration.

The license plate led to a name and the name led to the name of person wanted further north in the state.

The problem was the driver and the person shared the same names.

… probably the description of the car matched the one driven by the person up north and the rest fell into place, except there were two individuals with the same name.

36. The moral is …. don’t get too carried away with the press.

Its a ratings game so they need to find ways to get people to tune in!!

As a result, their credibility has taken a hit.

37. https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/brett-kavanaugh-high-school-year-book-georgetown-sexual-misconduct-a8553526.html
    Brett Kavanaugh: ‘Horrible, hurtful taunts’ towards schoolgirl in high school yearbook revealed

I am reading this and I get the impression that upper middle class Americans NEVER have sex, or even desire sex until they have settled into CHRISTIAN MARRIAGE with an appropriate upper middle class marriage with a husband or wife.

Is my interpretation correct?

If my interpretation is incorrect can somebody correct me please. Thanks very much.

38. @John September 22, 2018 1:11 PM ” officers who step out of line.”

The officer did not “step out of line”

She came to his door and shot to death a whole big-able man.

It could have been your son, in which case I am sure that you would not describe it as “stepping out of line”

A young man is dead, dead, dead.

39. Kavanaugh is not upper middle class. He is an Irish-American Catholic educated in a Jesuit boys’ school and at Yale. He is a technocrat, part of the new administrative class.

40. Private school =middle class
    Irish American Catholics does not preclude being upper middle class. Aren’t the Kennedy’s Irish American Catholics and upper middle class?
    Judge=upper middle class
    Yale=upper middle class, as the neighbourhood community college=working class.

We are not discussing British notions of class.

American situation. American notions of class.

41. Private school = middle class? Is this true? My generation of Barbadians had the Modern High School, Federal, Barbados Academy, Lynch’s Secondary, etc, all private schools. You need a better definition than that. I have relatives who have been to private (fee-paying) schools in the UK. Money does not make you Upper Middle Class. Yale is an Ivy League university; I have a cousin who went to an Ivy league university. Americans call anyone in a regular job middle class. Ask Trump. The Pope is a Catholic, so is the drunken Pole in my neighbourhood. Religion has nothing to do with class. Ask the Muslims.

42. Thank you, Simple Simon. “Step out of line” indeed. Language betrays a whole lot, doesn’t it?

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal don’t be ridiculous….@SS theme is on point.

How can you compare the Modern, Louis Lynch etc to the US Prep schools or indeed the equivalent British private residential schools! You know quite well that’s a bogus comparison. If you are going to travel down that road then the old Presentation College or the very early model of the Lodge School would be a more worthy comparison.

Of course money does not by itself equate to a class status but it damn sure is the entry ticket to special status socially.

And too attending an expensive Ivy League Uni is also not a class indicator in and of itself but again for damn sure 90% of those who get to rub shoulders in that setting go on to erect for themselves a status trending towards upper middle class in terms of social acceptance, gravitas in career leading to well paying professional jobs or use it as an entrez to developing their own “brand” in their field of choice.

To use you reasoning then most of us as basically technocrats … not sure tho how being a technocrat (ie a well trained professional) denies a person the status of upper middle class.

@SS, on you other point that “…reading this and I get the impression that upper middle class Americans NEVER have sex, or even desire sex until they have settled into CHRISTIAN MARRIAGE …”…you are obviously being very sarcastic!….. Their screw-driver is the same phillips or flat head that we all use…and they use it as often and as carelessly as all ah we!

The Yankees didn’t want a royal head or titles given by the Liege but they certainly loved all the trapping that came with that lifestyle however and have richly adorned their landscape with comparative ‘royals’ and down the line to what you see as the Kavanaugh upper middle class….

So in that vein, it is hard to conceive how the son of a US district judge and a monied top business executive attending a school with annual tuition equivalent to the annual salary of many an average person and living in a richly endowed neighborhood would NOT be considered as you described…then and now!

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Incidentally, let me CLARIFY….the model and intent of the founders of Modern or St. Anthony’s etc were surely as driven by same motivation of the Jesuits and those who started the prep schools in US…..however, the outcomes were vastly different.

So no apples and oranges miscommunication.

45. De pedantic,

A fee-paying school is a fee-paying school. What you are talking about are the outcomes. Lodge, Harrison College, Queens College, Combermere etc all were at one point fee-paying, including Combermere’s prep school. Intelligence has nothing to do with class.
    The rich tend to get in to Ivy leagues and Oxbridge because of preparation, which is the reason why lots of ordinary working class people go to such expense to give their children the bests preparation through a private education. In my youth, many ordinary people used to get in to debt giving their children ‘private’ lessons. In my case, Mr Greenidge.
    The real problem in Barbados (and the UK) was the imposition of comprehensive schools with their dumbing down philosophies.

46. @de pedantic Dribbler September 25, 2018 5:35 PM “Their screw-driver is the same phillips or flat head that we all use…and they use it as often and as carelessly as all ah we!”

Ya killin’ me den!!!

47. So, do you think Christine Ballsy Ford will show up on Thursday?

Rush Limbaugh reckons on Wednesday, tomorrow, we will hear she isn’t.

He has a proven record of being right 99.8% of the time.

We will see if this is the 0.2%!!!

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply