FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Email: caribbeaninstitute@gmail.com
New York Caribbean Institute Calls for Dallas Police officer who killed St. Lucian national in his own home to be charged with murder

Bothan Jean.png
Bothan Shem Jean

BROOKLYN: BROOKLYN: The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) on Friday harshly condemned the killing of 26 year-old St. Lucian national and Dallas, Texas resident, Botham Shem Jean. Jean was shot and killed around 10:00 p.m Thursday night, September 6, 2018 in his own home, by a female Dallas police officer. The officer told investigators that she returned home from her shift and entered the wrong apartment in her building.

In a statement issued Friday, CGID President, Rickford Burke, said the officer’s negligent, reckless conduct and depraved indifference to human life resulted in murder. He consequently called on Dallas District Attorney Faith Johnson to prosecute the officer accordingly and to the fullest extent of the law.

Burke said “the culture of policing that has emerged in black communities all across America is one where cops shoot to kill first, then ask questions after.” He asserted that “Police officers are killing black men while walking innocently on the streets, driving innocently in our cars and now while living innocently in our own home. This is too much for a people to bear. CGID therefore calls on the US Justice Department to review and revise the protocols for armed engagement by law enforcement in America.”

Burke said “CGID intends to write our US Senators and Members of Congress from New York, to push for a national review and reform of protocols on how and when law enforcement officers engage in the use of force. This is long overdue. How many more black men must be killed before we take action?” Burke posited that “politicians who sit by and do nothing about the epidemic of law enforcement murders of innocent black men are equally complicit in these killings and should be held to account.”

Dallas police department Friday issued a statement claiming that the officer called for help and told responding officers “she entered the victim’s apartment believing that it was her own.” The incident took place at South Side Flats, an upscale apartment complex located in downtown, Dallas, a few blocks from Police headquarters.

Dallas Police said the officer was in full uniform and “fired her weapon striking the victim who was transported to hospital where he was pronounced dead.  Burke blasted the Dallas Police for not releasing details about how the officer reached into Jean’s apartment and whether a breathalyzer was administered, as would have been the case with an ordinary citizen. He also questioned how Jean’s name was released to the public when Police simultaneously confirmed  that the next of kin notification was not made.

The CGID head said the officer’s story is inexplicable and implausible. Emphasizing that Caribbean community believes the officer’s account strains credulity, Burke questioned its veracity saying “if she went to the wrong apartment how did she make initial contact with Mr. Jean? How do you mistakenly shoot your neighbor who you see and presumably interact with regularly, without recognizing him?  “The Dallas Police chief expressly stated that her department is no longer pursuing a “police involved shooting investigation,” but is seeking a warrant pursuant to a manslaughter investigation. Clearly the police evidence suggests that this is not an accident and that the officer’s account contradicts the evidence. Hence, in the interest of transparency CGID calls on the Dallas Police Department to stop disseminating misinformation and disclosed the facts and circumstances of Mr. Jean’s death forthwith, lest it is viewed as concealment,” Burke contended.

the US to study accounting at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. He also studied at the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College, in Castries, St. Lucia before migrating to the US. At the time of his death, he worked in Dallas as a risk assurance associate for accounting firm Price Waterhouse Coopers.

CGID Has called on all Caribbean American organizations and nationals to condemn Jean’s killing and to support and express solidarity with his family.

–END—

687 responses to “Dallas Police Officer Murders St. Lucian”

1. @Georgie Porgie September 18, 2018 9:49 AM “WHY DOES THIS FORD WOMAN THEN HAVE TROUBLE WITH THE DETAILS?”

One can remember the assault without remembering every detail of the incident.

If you asked me what color clothes my assailant was wearing I cannot tell you. If you asked me the exact date I cannot tell you. But I can remember the year, and I can recall that it was in the second half of the year, but can I remember the exact date? No. Can I remember the day of the week? No. But does that mean that I am lying?

If I asked you what you had for breakfast on September 18, 1967 can you remember? But if you have been sexually assaulted you will remember the assault, even though you will not remember every detail 48 years later. But you will remember the violation of your body. You will remember that an elder took advantage of you. You will remember that there was no consent. You will remember that there was no desire on your part.

I am your grandmother, your mother, your sister, your wife, your daughter, your granddaughter. They to may have been sexually assaulted and have never told you.

You do not know. You will never know unless they tell you.

2. @PLT

You are really proud of your days at HC and juvenile Latin. Must have been the high point of your achievements. There is an organisation called the Plain English Campaign. Try reading its reports.

3. SS

I AM NOT DISAGREEING WITH YOU AT ALL
    I DONT BELIEVE THIS WOMAN THOUGH

IN MY WORK WITH THE POLICE I SAW MANY CASES THAT FIZZLED OUT IN THE COURTS BECAUSE THE ACCUSERS WERE LYING….AND PROVED SO TO BE.

I ONLY REPORTED WHAT I SAW….AND ALWAYS RESISTED SPECULATING

PLT
    PROVERBS 26 4-5 READS
    Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.

Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

WHICH KIND OF FOOL ARE YOU?

SYMPATHISING WITH THE WRONG THAT IS BEING DONE AND HAS BEEN DONE TO TRUMP DOES NOT MAKE ONE IMMATURE.

SURELY MATURE FOLK KNOW DAT THERE ARE TWO SIDES TO EVERY STORY
    SURELY EVERYONE IS ENTITLED TO CHOSE A SIDE
    TRUMP IS GREAT FUN FOR ME

HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN THAT I AM BEYOND CONTEMPT AND UNMENTIONABLE? AND A RACIST?

4. @Sargeant

It is being reported that the Democrats are asking for a delay because they need more time to organize strategy?

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin September 18, 2018 10:11 AM
    Actually Hal, I hated HC with every fiber of my boyish being. That school when I was there was emblematic of most of what is wrong with Barbados… the racism, the sexism, the class biases, the pompous stupidity that passed for wit (as in the case here), the abject worship of England and the English, etc.

For the record I took Latin only because my parents refused to let me drop it, so at my O level exam I wrote my name on the examination booklet and that was it. That was the last time my parents tried “because I said so” as a reason to induce me to do something.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie September 18, 2018 10:15 AM
    I have not forgotten you or your moral failures. I’m sure Hitler or Stalin would have been great fun for you as well.

7. @Georgie Porgie September 18, 2018 9:49 AM “EVEN HER STUDENTS FIND HER TO BE OFF PUTTING.”

You know very well that every professor get negative reviews on “rate my professor”. It would be interesting to see what your students say about you. I have been supervised on my job by a man who had been a university professor before he left academia..There were some negative reviews, and if i had read only those I would have been convinced that the man was a monster. He was not a monster. he was a good man, smart, efficient, just.

Sometime students write bad reviews because they are mean, or laxy or just bad students.

Why doesn’t the same source pulish the positive reviews of the professor?

I have done some Air BNB housekeeping. My mother was a professional housekeeper on the west coast. The In my family we know excellent housekeeping. A day before the Air BNB guest moved in , my sister and I cleaned the apartment, put fresh sheets on the beds, washed, dried and folded all previously dirty linen, put out clean towels, mopped the floors, cleaned the windows, wiped down all counters, cleaned inside of the cupboards, dusted the crumbs out of the toaster, washed and dried the toaster crumb tray, cleaned the refrigerator, microwave, stove, washer and dryer inside and out, scrubbed the toilet bowl, sink and bathtub, vaccumed, including the door mat, removed the lint from the dryer. Wiped that little space at the back and under the toilet bowl, with a paper towel and disinfectant.

The Air BNB review said that the apartment was filthy. And yes, the guest used the word FILTHY. The guest after spending a week there was seeking a full refund.

Over many years all other reviews were excellent.

8. @PLT,

Good man.

9. RE I have not forgotten you or your moral failures.
    YOU KNOW NOTHING ABOUT ME OR MY MORAL FAILURES or WHAT I THINK ABOUT HITLER OR STALIN………… i have never thought about either of these to be honest

YOU KNOW ONLY THAT I THINK THAT SHITBAMA THE ABOMINATION WAS A TOKEN not so nice black boy who did the bidding for which he was paid by Soros

SS
    I DO UNDERSTAND all WHAT YOU HAVE SAID
    I HAVE REPORTED WHAT HAS BEEN WRITTEN. there are two sides to this story……some might say 3

10. dpd
    here is another wrong right wing report for your perusal

https://thehornnews.com/wow-secret-footage-catches-deep-state-leaker-saying-what/

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie September 18, 2018 10:41 AM
    You “… HAVE REPORTED WHAT HAS BEEN WRITTEN…” the vast majority of which have been untrue. You know that they are lies for the most part (you’re not really that stupid), but you seek to spread them and repeat them because it makes you feel superior. Sad.

12. dpd
    here is another wrong right wing report for your perusal

Nancy Pelosi Promises to Institute Investigative Gridlock to Block Trumps Agenda if Dems Retake House

CNN’s Christiane Amanpour and Nancy Pelosi talked about the Democrats’ plans if they win a House majority in the fall – and it wasn’t pretty. The stuff they talked about was ugly, too, by the way.

“I’m not measuring the drapes yet,” says Pelosi, while clearly looking at a window and estimating its dimensions.

Pelosi is really vague when it comes to Democrat policies. She shares the usual Democrat BS about lowering health care costs and “cleaner” government – whatever that is.

But one thing that Nancy gets really animated about is all of the investigations the Democrats have planned. The Dems have already been caught circulating a memo that lists more than 100 investigations they plan to have congressional committees launch. The investigations of President Trump that they’re planning are clearly revenge for the many congressional investigations of Barack Obama’s scandals.

It’s personal for the Democrats. They plan to cause an investigative gridlock in Congress to stop Trump’s America First agenda.

What the Democrats don’t understand (besides math, gender, sexuality and normal behavior) is that the investigations of Obama weren’t personal – they were based on actual crimes. The ATF sold guns to Mexican drug cartels. The IRS targeted conservatives for their political beliefs. Hillary and Obama abandoned the heroes at Benghazi. Those were real crimes and deserved real investigations.

For the Democrats, they want to investigate Trump for being Trump.

13. re but you seek to spread them and repeat them because it makes you feel superior. Sad.
    really realy!
    how on earth GP could feel superior about anything is a …………I really dont know
    NOT SUPERIOR AT ALL

I JUST FEEL GOOD

1-THE TV’S WORK WHEN I WANT TO WATCH CRICKET FROM HEY DEY AND EVA WHERE ….AND THE BEAUTY OF GOD’S CREATION ON ANIMAL PLANET
    2- THE COMPUTERS WORK SO I CAN MOCK IN DE RUM SHOP AND ALSO MEK A LIKKLE DOLLAR IN RETIREMENT “TEACHING “ONLINE
    3- THE WIFE IS MARVELLOUS …….THE BEST AH WAN CAN GET AS THE GILLETTE AD SAYS
    4- THANKFUL TO GOD AND TRYING TO “RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME” WHILE ENJOYING THE “PEACE THAT PASSES UNDERSTANDING”

NOT SUPERIOR AT ALL

JUST THANKFUL AND HAVING FUN

14. DPD
    HOW YA LIKE THE MEME IN THIS REPORT WHICH HAS TO BE WRONG SINCE IT IS FROM THE RIGHT, RIGHT?
    https://constitution.com/the-most-ridiculously-perfect-meme-to-sum-up-fisa-gate/

15. DPD
    TELL ME YOU TINK DONALD SHOULD DO THIS?
    https://constitution.com/power-to-the-people-trump-orders-fbi-to-give-classified-info-to-public/

IS HE STALIN OR HITLER OR JUST A NINCUMPOOP OR WHATEVER?

16. lol…murdahhh…!!!!! who would. know the sleaze better than his high school mates

“We Believe Her”: More Than 200 Alumnae Of Christine Blasey Ford’s High School Have Signed A Letter Supporting Her
    The letter said that Ford’s allegation of being sexually assaulted by Brett Kavanaugh while she was a student at Holton-Arms “is all too consistent with stories we heard and lived while attending Holton.”

17. @John, who asked “Why would the accuser have to go to therapy? Is she unstable?”
    You are really trolling on the barrel bottom there.
    As much macho man as you were I suspect that If a bigger drunk human had you trussed up and moments away from an intrusive, unpleasant examination then maybe you would understand why she had to attend therapy.

No, actually I was just trying to see if the story about her students assessment of her was right or not.

I see there are now two Christine Pages …. and the story has disappeared!!!

SS, you saw it too!!

18. David
    September 18, 2018 10:23 AM

@Sargeant
    It is being reported that the Democrats are asking for a delay because they need more time to organize strategy?

+++++++++++++++++++

Got to coach the witness!!

19. @ PLT
    Bushie is surprised that you cannot sense the early(?) onset signs of dementia….

20. Waru what is the half truth all the time yeah 200 alumni but few from the years she was there, most never even knew or heard of her they just hate trump. This is why you liberal idiots always look stupid when the truth comes out.

21. Saw one of them recently
    They are laughing while they do this to us
    Need any more be said
    Tax waivers, big paydays and free food for friends and family
    Legal robbery for the ordinary man

To whom much is given, nothing is expected
    From whom much is taken, more is expected

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea September 18, 2018 11:56 AM
    “… early(?) onset signs of dementia…”
    ++++++++++++
    Hence “Sad.”

23. The republicans are coaching Kavanaugh too, do not forget.

24. If the FBI investigated they could find out the truth.

They would have to find the other people who were at the party.

Teenagers, booze….the possibilities ?

As far as memory. I can still remember a party I went to when I was in 3rd form over 40 years ago and the
    encounter with a female twice my age but she was the one who made the moves. lol

25. will the pseudo psychiatrist please kindly list the signs of dementia?

26. ‘Pseudo psychologists’ Bushies donkey….
    …however one assesses the situation, it is clear that you are mad as shiite GP…. get some help nuh…

Initial signs were when you ‘went off’ on Carson Cadogan about his mother and some taxi man
    – as if he could have been held responsible for his parents…
    Then you start insulting everyone who does not bow down to your great ‘scholarship’ – mostly about nondescript Latin words which no sane persons gives a hoot about…… and all the while mumbling about unrelated bible verses that you clearly do not understand (else you would not be stumped so easily about the trinity, parables and other bible BASICS…)

Finally – your new habit of labelling everyone as ‘sons of the Devil’.
    Do you understand psychological projection? Look it up…

It is quite common. So it allows the wise to understand a person by observing that person’s projections towards others.
    so…
    A fella who is afraid of being stabbed ….tends to carry a knife since he assumes that others have similar fears.
    A fellow who is afraid of the dark …tends to inflict darkness as a punishment to those he dislikes… etc
    therefore…
    A TRUE son of the Devil (apart from associating himself with Trump – clearly a satanic plant) tends to label his detractors in a particular manner….

Do you get the drift…?
    Stop being so transparent do…!!

27. @David
    Kavanaugh spent the whole of yesterday and part of today holed up at the WH in the office of WH counsel Don MCGahn, lawyers do not coach witnesses, do they?

In addition, they are trying to limit testimony to Kavanaugh and Dr. Ford in essence a “he said she said” scenario when there is a witness to the whole incident who has said he didn’t remember it but they must be fearful of his testimony especially when he wrote a book in which he had a drunken buddy named Bart O’Kavanaugh.

28. @Sargeant

This matter must be ‘handled’. It has the potential to knock the stuffing out of Trump and seriously influence the mid terms. Do not forget Mueller!

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, why does this have the ability to knock POTUS stuffing out anymore than it does to
    just as dynamically rejuvenate the right to get out and vote!

The history of midterms projects large opposition party turn out and a battering for the sitting president regardless…so if this goes bad for Kavanaugh the Repubs could very well try to galvanize their base as a strong rally cry.

Dr Forde is making very serious accusations and if she sits for the Senate committee I expect a very simple series of Repub questions to create further angst and doubt … like…

When you were in the party with the two older boys did you believe they were in full control of their faculties or too drunk to realize what they were doing.

Based on your interactions then and even with these many years of reflection would you have expected those boys to behave towards you in that way if they were sober

After you ran out are you aware if they came after you at any point

We know you were traumatised but did you discuss this with any of your friends or family afterwards

Easypeasy questions but full of the hooks to allow the Republicans to frame the debate to suit a viable confirmation.

If she presents on Monday this Judgegate 2.0 will be more polarizing and nasty than the ’91 act and will definitely agitate midterm voting… In strange ways.

30. @ de pedantic Dribbler who wrote ” blah blah blah too drunk to realize what they were doing.”

Since when is ” too drunk ” a defence in a case of sexual assault ?

31. Looks like Christine Ballsey Ford ain’t going to testify, but she might!!

Wants FBI to investigate!!

“Speaking through her lawyers, Christine Blasey Ford did not explicitly rule out appearing Monday before the Senate Judiciary Committee to testify along with Judge Brett M. Kavanaugh. But echoing Senate Democrats, she said that an investigation should be “the first step” before she is put “on national television to relive this traumatic and harrowing incident.”

“Republicans are unlikely to negotiate an alternative date and could go ahead with the hearing without her or declare it unnecessary if she refuses to appear and move quickly to a vote. They have repeatedly stressed that Monday would be Dr. Blasey’s opportunity to testify, either privately or publicly, and that they then planned to move forward with the confirmation process.”

https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/politics/christine-blasey-ford-wants-fbi-to-investigate-kavanaugh-before-she-testifies/ar-BBNwoXl?ocid=spartandhp

32. What happens at Georgetown Prep stays at Georgetown Prep

33. The Republicans want to rush this through and they are not even going to call the person whom she identified as a witness so it becomes a “he said she said“ issue and they wash their hands off and proceed to vote. She is right to demand an independent investigation by the FBI who can then subject Mark Judge and any other witnesses to questioning. Her life will never be the same, this was a possibility from the time she wrote the letter as there are no secrets in Washington, the Republicans knew of the letter and from the moment the story appeared they released a letter with signatures of 65 women who knew Kavanaugh from High school and beyond. There is no way on God’s green earth that they could deliver a letter so quickly unless they were waiting for the accusation to go public and had it in storage to release as a rebuttal to the accusation.

The ball is in the Republicans court, they can hold the hearing on Monday with Kavanaugh and declare that he has been cleared but it will be a hollow “victory” as the negative ramifications will be far reaching.

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hants, too drunk or too high is never a defence. Certainly attempted rape is a serious crime and is not condoned…yet as always, however, every case must be taken in context.

When I remove the racial, political and claims of sexism (male privilege) filters from this matter I am left with a group of carefree teens drinking heavily and partying with an abandon of high jinks and wild behaviour….a recipe for lots of problems!

Further this was almost three decades ago…the accuser herself admits the alleged rapist was so drunk he was stumbling all over….apparently she did not want to disrupt her future life or that of the two boys back then because she never publicized the matter…nor did she publicize when he first became a judge…but now as a Justice of SCOTUS she asserts her right to be heard!…Context.

On the basic principle of natural justice (all filters off) it is harsh to make this claim now.

Put the filters of politics et al back in and he is doomed by Dems and liberals simply because he is too conservative. …and had this been in the public domain before then he woukd NEVER have been selected anyhow!

I think he is doomed.

BTW…it’s your word that that lady was older and propositioned you….four decades plus later what if someone appeared here and refuted your claim…that in fact YOU strongly came on to her after too much rum punch at the party and blah, blah, blah…..You would want an FBI review too I’m sure. 🤣

A story is only as good as those who want to believe it!

35. What