It is done!

It is up to Barbadians to continue to demand wage hikes, wallow in consumption behaviour and engage in the petty politics of the day. It seems the pragmatic approach is to embrace the government’s mantra read many hands make light work. Mia 100 day government has made some questionable decisions – the size of Cabinet as one example, although some  understand the political motive behind the decision.

It is crunch time people.

David, blogmaster

IMF Reaches Staff-Level Agreement with Barbados on an Economic Program under the Extended Fund Facility

September 7, 2018

End-of-Mission press releases include statements of IMF staff teams that convey preliminary findings after a visit to a country. The views expressed in this statement are those of the IMF staff and do not necessarily represent the views of the IMF’s Executive Board. Based on the preliminary findings of this mission, staff will prepare a report that, subject to management approval, will be presented to the IMF’s Executive Board for discussion and decision.
  • Staff envisages that the IMF’s Executive Board would consider the proposed arrangement under the EFF by early October.
  • The Barbados’s Economic Recovery and Transformation Plan aims to restore macroeconomic stability and put the economy on a path of strong, sustainable and inclusive growth, while safeguarding the resilience of the financial sector.
  • The cornerstone of the program is a strong front-loaded fiscal adjustment focused on curbing current expenditure, while maintaining space for bolstering social safety nets and infrastructure spending.

At the request of the Government of Barbados, an International Monetary Fund (IMF) team led by Bert van Selm visited Bridgetown from August 30 to September 7, for discussions on possible IMF financial support for the Government of Barbados’s Economic Recovery and Transformation plan. At the end of the visit, Mr. van Selm made the following statement:

“I am pleased to announce that, in support of the Barbadian authorities’ economic reform program, the IMF team and the government of Barbados have reached staff-level agreement on a 48-months Extended Fund Facility, with access of SDR 208 million (equivalent to 220 percent of quota, or about US$290 million). If approved by the IMF Executive Board, SDR 35 million (about US$49 million) would be immediately available. Staff envisages that the IMF’s Executive Board would consider the proposed arrangement under the EFF by early October.

“In the last decade, the Barbadian economy has been caught in a cycle of low growth, widening fiscal deficits and increasing debt. International reserves have dwindled to US$240 million, well below reserve adequacy levels, while central government debt has become unsustainable.

“The new government that took office in May 2018 is rapidly developing plans to address the current vulnerabilities, in close consultation with its social partners. The Barbados’s Economic Recovery and Transformation Plan aims to restore macroeconomic stability and put the economy on a path of strong, sustainable and inclusive growth, while safeguarding the resilience of the financial sector. The authorities’ fiscal consolidation program, in conjunction with the announced debt restructuring, would place debt on a clear downward trajectory. The strategy of accelerating growth focuses on attracting new investment in areas such as renewable energy, creative and artistic industries, education and health services, agro-industries, research, the international business sector, and tourism.

“The authorities’ reform program, and the important commitment of IMF resources that it entails, is a vote of confidence in Barbados’ Economic Recovery and Transformation Plan. The cornerstone of the program is a strong front-loaded fiscal adjustment focused on curbing current expenditure, while maintaining space for bolstering social safety nets and infrastructure spending. In this context, the measures to reduce government expenditures announced in late August are a critical and important first step. These measures aim to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of public services and reduce government transfers to state-owned enterprises by reviewing user fees; exploring options for mergers; and strengthening oversight. The measures should help reach a primary surplus target of 6 percent of GDP in 2019/20.

“The fiscal adjustment will be complemented by a comprehensive debt restructuring, aimed at securing meaningful debt reduction, reducing financing needs, and restoring debt sustainability. Barbados’ central government debt will be put on a clear downward path towards a target of 60 percent of GDP by 2033, from an estimated 157 percent of GDP at present. Progress being made by the authorities in furthering good-faith discussions with domestic and external creditors is welcome. Continuing open dialogue and sharing information will remain important in concluding an orderly debt restructuring process.

“The success of Barbados’ program will require an extraordinary effort and resolve on the part of the authorities and other segments of society, as well as broad international support. While the initial implementation period will be challenging, Barbados will emerge stronger and more dynamic from the program, and it will be better poised to generate growth and job creation for the people of Barbados.

“The team would like to take this opportunity to thank Barbados’ authorities and the technical team for their openness and candid discussions.”

IMF Communications Department
MEDIA RELATIONS
PRESS OFFICER: Randa Elnagar
Phone: +1 202 623-7100Email: MEDIA@IMF.org

227 responses to “IMF and Barbados Reaches Staff-Level Agreement”

1. Lets hope the PM has the support to undo everything that came after what we did right in 91. And the public service never again becomes a massive drain on our finances needing to be supported by high taxes.

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr. Bert Van Selm

I am wondering if you took into consideration this set of wind that was blown up your white pooch.

And to give you an idea of whence come the wind I will quote

“…Speaking at a media conference at Government Headquarters, Mottley announced that in some cases Government was spending as much as $13 million for the year in overtime pay.

This, she argued, could no longer continue as Government struggles with a high wage bill.

Mottley did not give details as to how this would be achieved, but said she had already met with the social partners and an agreement was reached that some measures would have to be taken to cut overtime in an effort to save on the Government wage bill…”

Now mind you here the GoB would have announced how it is curbing all this overspending and overtime YET MIA HAS HIRED 26 MINISTERS & MINISTERS IN THE MINISTRY OF… and nuff cuntsultants but you dun gone ahead and approve dis money.

In one way I am glad that the GoB was able to get the money needed BUT IN ANOTHER WAY the issue of highway robbery by a new set of criminals begins.

As a condition of your monitoring will you be reviewing the double and triple contracts for cuntsultants that Mottley has been dishing out?

Oooops that really ent got one badword to do wid you right? heheheheheheh

3. David (and others), may I respectfully suggest that you make clear who you are addressing in your ripostes? In the case of the sad yardfowl Mariposa perhaps an emoji 🐔🐔.

4. The IMF is giving Balance of Payment support. It is like a credit line which a bank gives to its customer for emergencies. It is indicative to other creditors – e,g IADB and CDB. And catalytic to foreign private investors and creditors.(Quote)

Does this mean the IADB and CDB do not carry out due diligence of their own?

5. IMF money is a loan that must be paid back. The ssle of poor performing assets is money earned with no strings attached and does not have to.be paid back.
    Mia default did not solve barbados economic problems but inherited a collosasal set of new problems which will be burdensome long term to the taxpayers of barbados
    Furthermore what are govt plans to create growth which will lessen the tax burden on the people of barbados

6. Plaster versus cure – where did the reserves go and for what – legal in all instances or illegal in some. Up to now, same as previous administrations – punish honest citizens, reward criminals and hire yardfowls

7. Always the easy way out – nobody wants to work hard and everybody wants a high pay. Do we really need so many ministers, consultants, ambassadors and whatever else is in the mix

8. Which part of ‘the dog is dead” do wunna people not get?

Of the BLP / DLP / and the Many ‘Third Parties’ ….
    NONE of them have the first clue of how to go about reviving the canine corpse…

What EXACTLY will it take before wunna wake up….?

…the sound of the seven trumpets….?

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa September 8, 2018 6:19 AM
    “Mia default did not solve barbados economic problems but inherited a collosasal set of new problems which will be burdensome long term to the taxpayers of barbados
    Furthermore what are govt plans to create growth which will lessen the tax burden on the people of barbados”

You got that one right, Mariposa, the “ac”! She has indeed “inherited a colossal set of new problems”.

The question is who bequeathed those ‘problems’?

Yes, indeed, she should not have pulled that ‘debt default’ card from the magician’s pack.
    Instead, she should have taken the Mickey mouse money generated by the NSRL (to purchase second-hand garbage trucks) and paid the overseas creditors; not so cretin?

Why should MAM’s government reinvent the economic growth wheel when it can simply put in motion those projects found in the DLP pipeline?

What about getting the Hyatt hotel off the ground bringing in millions in US$ FDI?

What is happening to the All Seasons hotel dead project where you can always check in but can never check out?

When is the current MoF going to get her hands on the US270 million Japanese loan which was ready since 2012 for drawdown to finance the revitalization of the dying king sugarcane industry with the construction of a brand-new-second-hand Andrews factory it crowning glory?

You can ask your pal- the electorally Traumatized (not Donville) Inniss- to help you find the answers which have been blowing in the Bajan economic recovery wind since 2013.

10. @Bush Tea

We do not produce.

We consume.

The only way to break the cycle is to produce more.

This is what we need to prioritize. Like Guest just opined, after a lost decade so branded are we hearing this message resonate?

Are we committed to the attitudinal change?

We will be locked in the cycle if we do not change course.

11. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

It seems we have 49 millions more in debt to repay for sure. But we also got 49 million more in hand to make it count for the national good. The question remains will it be used for good purposes or will it be business as usual with this money.
    MAM and her policies must demonstrate that she is a wise leader and handle the ppls money in a transparent manner.

So please don’t give out any NO BID contract for any project.

12. In all the mess swirling around the Mia government, she did work diligently to get some time of measures in place to stave off utter disaster…….it must be noted that the IMF was very accommodating given the mismanagement AND corruption from the previous government that caused the island to be reduced to this level.

Will this government learn anything from that and lock up all those responsible for bringing the island to its knees and stop talking crap about she does not want vengeance…that has nothing to do with punishing thieves and recovering the people’s Pension money and Tax money that was STOLEN..

13. Past govt plan was to sell off some non performing assets which were feasting off the bony calf left behind from the blp govt
    Bush Tea said NO WAY
    David King said Hell NO
    Mia said Not Gonna Happen
    So what do we have instead beggars with cup in hand inheriting more debt to pay off past debt
    Economictrix at tax payers cost
    But i wonder how much all this new borrowing going cost the tax payers
    Also how much of a 290million loan can pay off a billion dollar debt and sustain an economy efficiently when no measures are put in place to create growth
    God i am blinded by the smoke and the mirrors are beginning to crack

14. Sometimes it is better to read and try to understand.

It is your expectation the IMF will lend us all the money to repay our debt? We have to earn our way in the world.

The IMF is giving us balance of payment support to protect the peg. It will also encourage the IADB, CDB, World Bank and others to release funds to assist with capital works projects and other infrastructural strengthening the country needs urgently to rebuild.

Do you understand if you have a $100 and have to pay $68 to the bank there is little to do the things the government need to ensure the infrastructure and development programs are significant in impact? By sourcing cheap financing you free up money to develop the country. If you keep selling national assets what do you think will happen at some point?

What you should be calling for is to encourage Bajans to produce more.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa September 8, 2018 8:25 AM
    “Past govt plan was to sell off some non performing assets which were feasting off the bony calf left behind from the blp govt..”

Is that now your own reconditioned version of Privatization, ac?

So what is it, “Angela skeete”? Are you for Privatization or against the “P” word?

Now you don’t want the Blogmaster, or even Artax, to prove what a blooming hypocrite you really are, right Mariposa?

16. I ask again – what are the conditionalities imposed by the IMF for this loan being given to Barbados.

Did we get any new information in this press conference as to how the country will get new investments,earn foreign exchange etc

How does Mia ‘we got this ‘ Mottley explain sending home workers – although she is not telling us how much,and at the same time increasing the burden on taxpayers by increasing bus fares,taxing voters for collecting garbage which is a new one in this country and most aggregious putting it on their water bill, putting on a gasoline tax, reducing the benefits at the QEH although you are putting on a health levy on workers,taxing the citizens if they try to get some of their items overseas etc;

So if the head of the household has been sent home – what should that family do?

The private sector has been trimming workers for years now – and there are no new businesses hiring except the said Sandals Hotel that Mia and the BLP walked up and down bdos and cussed and wanted to run out of BDOS or;

The said Hyatt hotel that she get up in the house and in the Nation newspaper and lambaste Mark Maloney every Monday morning.

What about the Coverley houses that she now want Maloney to help she out with when Ross University comes.

Every piece of foreign investment that the last Dems Govt tried to bring in – Mia tried to put road blocks in – whether through the courts with Commisung, through A-bed or Herbert and the others and of course the Union -the pouting princess Toni Moore and Tight shirt Akanni.

Yet we see no sacrifice being made by Mottley and that big,big,big,big – oversized cabinet.

WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT MIA MUST :

GET RID OF BILLIE MILLER,CLYDE MASCOLL AND AVINASH PERSAUD
    GET RID OF CHARLES JONG
    GET RID OF PAT PARRIS AND JESSICA ODLE

4 GET RID OF THE EXTRA MP FROM ST LUCY IN DUGUD MINISTRY,

THE EXTRA MINISTER NEIL ROWE IN CYNTIA FORDE HALF DAY MINISTRY,

THE EXTRA MINISTER FROM ST JOHN IN GEORGE PAYNE MINISTRY,

RETURN HOME AFFAIRS BACK TO THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OFFICE WHERE IT ALWAYS USED TO BE AND PUT EDMUND HINCKSON ON THE BACK BENCH,

GET RID OF SANDRA HUSBANDS IN FOREIGN AFFAIRS MINISTRY WITH JEROME WALCOTT,

GET RID OF MARSHA CADDLE,

GET RID OF RYAN STRAAUGHN,

GET RID OF THE MINISTRY OF BLUE ECONOMY SHYTE AND PUT BACK FISHERIES WITH THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE,

GET RID OF KAY MCCONEY AND THAT MEK UP MINISTRY OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY OR WHATEVER,

GET RID OF THE TSARS LIKE ANALISA BABB AND THE OTHER YOUNGSTERS,

REDUCE THE NUMBER OF PERMANENT SECRETARIES AND OTHER STAFF THAT YOU HAD TO PUT IN THESE MINISTRIES AND START IMPLEMENTING SOME JOB APPRAISALS FOR PUBLIC SERVANTS

NO MORE JOBS FOR THE BOYS AND GIRLS .

REVERSE THE DECISION TO GIVE YOURSELF THAT 5% SALARY INCREASE – YUH NASTY HYPOCRITE MIA

MOST OF ALL WE DONT WANT NO BRASSBOWL OFFER TO CUT SALARY BY 105 AND THEN KEEP ALL THEIR DO-NOTHING MINISTERS – WE WANT AN IMMEDIATE REDUCTION IN ALL THAT HAD NO RIGHT BEING DEY – AND BRING THE CABINET SIZE BACK TO THE 16 MINISTERS OR SO PRE 24TH MAY 2018.

17. CUT SALARY BY 10 %

18. All that public relations crap from CBC,VOB,THE NATION,Peter Wickham & George Belle pushing the narrative that every body happy and satisfied in the first 100 days.

Oh yeah – really? Well then the amount of people I see begging at every supermarket and store – for help to buy back to school supplies and the amount of people grumbling about their water bill,gas bill and food bill – is not telling me that same satisfied story.

Even the government through the Child Care Board had to beg Digicel to help them buy back to school supplies.We have never in the history of Barbados gone so low.

And from what I am seeing – mia will take them even lower.But ah well – what will be – will be because you know MIA CARES LOLLLLLLL.

19. @T.Inniss

Many on BU have conceded that the bloated Cabinet and other does not look good, the optics. Mia shared that the ‘extra’ people appointed will cost the treasury 1 million dollars. Mia’s response is to judge her government on performance, the blogmaster is willing to wait for 6 months to have a sense of what progress would have been made.

We can quibble about the optics and the 1 million or we give a reasonable time for the government to demonstrate it has a handle on the issues. If it is successful the blogmaster will consider the remuneration of the extra bodies well spent.

Do not be naive, Mia is the leader of a political party and there is always a political consideration to decisions taken.

A man who wishes to act entirely up to his professions of virtue soon meets with what destroys him among so much that is evil – Niccolò Machiavelli

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David September 8, 2018 8:36 AM
    “What you should be calling for is to encourage Bajans to produce more.”

That’s like asking Sisyphus to take Mariposa on his back to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro.

Bajans- and most likely the government- are probably seeing that line of credit for balance of payments support as the welfare cheque-book to go and spend on grapes imported from California, tilapia raised in the sewerages of China and high-end SUVs from Japan and Korea to show off how much the country is recovering.

The only way Bajans will come to ‘Christian’ understanding is when they suffer on the cross of currency Devaluation of an initial 5: 1 to the very strong greenback.

Then you will see how much more they will be forced to produce in order to survive.

21. I do not comment on heavy matters as they tax me too much…
    It appears that the first 100 days was replaced the first “6 months”.
    Perhaps, now may be the time to start “It will take at least three years …..” and introduce the phrase the ‘first three years”

22. David it is nice to talk “fluff” in economic terms but when the realities sets in all adds up to vodoo economics
    Selling no-performing assests to shore up reserves would have been better than getting a 240million loan that guarantees tax payers to eat salt
    I grew up in a household that taught standing on one’s own two feet is better than begging ir borrowing
    However barbados is where it is and things going to get bitter not better so all must get used to swallowing the bitter pill fir a long time
    Mia has exchanged debt from one paymaster to another and nothing has or will be solved
    The PR machine would be pumping out more koolaid for the vulnerable to drink

23. I am asking that we replace the phrase with “hindsight is 20-20” with “being in opposition is 20-20”.

The increased visual acuity of TI, Mariposa (and others) after the elections should be considered a medical miracle. The elections also fixed their common-sense.

Suddenly they can see what is wrong and have suggestions for fixing the wrongs. Before May 24, they were blind and brainless.

As a nation we can go nowhere when our compasses are affected by who is leading.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss September 8, 2018 8:48 AM

The said Hyatt hotel that she get up in the house and in the Nation newspaper and lambaste Mark Maloney every Monday morning.

You right to ‘red wash she in blind cuss’ for the Hyatt ‘ghost’ hotel!
    What’s the ‘holdup’ there?

Who in their right mind would allow US$ 100 in FDI go abegging especially given the forex straights Barbados is in?
    Or is she just being ‘bitchy’ in cutting off her BLP nose to spoil the previous administration’s face?

Tell us, T.I., the totally informed fella, who are these foreign financiers behind the construction of the Hyatt hotel?

Or is this just another baloney-inspired project with 100% taxpayers’ financing but just waiting on the IMF to deliver the forex cheque?

25. You continue to be a liar on the blog after being enlightened.

Both BNTCL and Hilton are known to be profitable entities therefore the reason the former government took the decision to dispose of them.

26. David

First of all who worked out that calculation of 1 million dollars and what was taken in consideration for that I million?

Note the 2 ambassadors at large – billie miller and clyde mascoll were not included in that $ 1 million dollars

The 3 new tsars were not in that $ 1 million dollars

The blp campaign consultant from overseas and now hired Charles Jong was not part of that consideration for that $ 1 million dollars

At the time the new minister Kay Mcconney had not yet been hired and was not part of that $1 miilion dollars lie that Mottley was suggesting it would cost extra

Jessica Odle and Pat parris advisors in the prime minister’s office were not included in that $ 1 million dollars cost they give

Avinash Persaud was not included in that $1 million dollars cost

As a matter of fact WE DON’T EVEN KNOW THE SALARY OF AVINASH PERSAUD,

WE DONT KNOW THE SALARY OF CLYDE MASCOLL,

WE DON’T ALSO KNOW THE SALARY OF THE SEPTUAGENERIAN RETIREE AMBASSADOR AT LARGE BILLIE MILLER

WE DON’T EVEN KNOW THE SALARY OF BLP CAMPAIGN ADVISOR MAN CHARLES JONG

WE DON’T KNOW THE SALARY OF PAT PARRIS NOR JESSICA ODLE

And to top it all off – these new ministeries all needed secretarial staff,permanent secretaries,accounts staff clerical staff etc – which were not part of the $1 million joke figure.

I think better of you David.It is not your role as overseer of this blog – to just spout out and swallow wholesale whatever this Mottley -led government or the BLP operatives put out there as propaganda.

Common sense and a some notion of fairness and integrity should have caused you to ask question of that neat $ 1 million dollars figure Mia come and drop.

People all you have to do is THINK..STOP DRINKING THE KOOL – AID AND DON’T BELIEVE THE LIES ! ! !

27. @T. Inniss

If the number mentioned by Mia is incorrect the DLP people who just vacated government should have sufficient access to information to question. So far Verla, Irene et al have not unpicked their teet.

You are focussing on the small things.

28. David

Wrong again David.

Irene was one of the first one out of the gate putting forward information of how costly all these new MPs given position as Ministers will cost the taxpayers.

29. Where is the information? Post the link.

The blogmaster is looking for figures, not wishy washy statements.

30. Do you mean this article posted by Kaymar?

https://i2.wp.com/barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/Screen-Shot-2018-05-26-at-9.33.02-PM-1.png?

Outspoken DLP candidate reacts to Mottley’s Cabinet announcement
    Article by
    Barbados Today
    Published on
    May 26, 2018

An outspoken former Government Senator has taken issue with the size of Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s new 30-member Cabinet.

Posting on the Facebook page of the St Andrew Branch of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), defeated DLP St Andrew candidate Irene Sandiford-Garner pointed out that “in her first 24 hours [as Prime Minister] Mia [Mottley] added 14 new ministers and three staff each”, which she calculated would cost the Treasury “$664,000 a month or $8 million a year”.

“#MiaCares#Pray4Barbados,” the former parliamentary secretary in the Ministry of Tourism and International Transport added, following this afternoon’s announcement by Mottley of her new Cabinet and senatorial team of 12, which is much larger than the 20-member Cabinet team headed by former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart whose Government was ousted from power on Thursday.

In a humiliating defeat, Stuart’s DLP did not retain a single seat as Mottley’s Barbados Labour Party (BLP) romped to power with a clean sweep of the 30 seats in the House of Assembly.

Earlier, Sandiford-Garner, who lost by more than 2,000 votes to the BLP’s incumbent George Payne in the rural riding, had publicly conceded defeat in the same social media group.

“The people have spoken,” she said in a post made on Friday morning, while congratulating the new Government of Barbados.

“Thanks to each and every person in St Andrew who remained steadfast. I did my best.
    “Remember: God is in control; whatever he does is well done,” Sandiford-Garner added.
    Denis Kellman

Defeated St Lucy candidate and former Minister of Housing and Lands Denis Kellman also took to Facebook yesterday morning to “thank the people of St Lucy and all those who helped, for the support given to me over the years”.

The five-time Member of Parliament who lost this time around to the BLP’s Peter Phillips by over 2,000 votes, congratulated “Phillips and his team for the transformation.

“I wish the church leaders well with their job ahead,” Kellman added without elaborating.

However, more gracious in defeat was the DLP’s St James South candidate Donville Inniss, the former Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development, who was also trounced by the BLP’s Sandra Husbands in Thursday’s poll. Husbands polled 4,012 votes to Inniss’ 1,674, but in accepting defeat, Inniss posted:

“The people have spoken and the decision is to be respected. Congratulations to aĺl of the BLP candidates. The new DLP shall rise again.”

Former Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth Stephen Lashley also publicly thanked his constituents in Christ Church West Central “for reposing confidence in me over the last ten years.

“I congratulate the BLP on its win. Our people have spoken. God bless you all,” he said, following his defeat by BLP candidate Adrian Forde by 2,760 votes.

Defeated St Michael West Central candidate James Paul also acknowledged that “the
    James Paul

Democratic Labour Party has suffered a heavy defeat”.

However, Paul, who polled 865 votes to the BLP’s Ian Gooding-Edghill with 3,291, said the major defeat “does not mean that the party is vanquished.

“The party will rebuild and return even stronger to continue its mandate. The loss will be learnt from and will embolden the party to do better in the future. It is the intention of the party to remain true to its core,” Paul added.

Former Minister of Education Ronald Jones, who lost by 2,728 votes to the BLP’s Ryan Straughn, also said: “I wish to express my sincerest thanks to the people of Christ Church East Central who gave me an opportunity to serve them for some 15 years in the Parliament of Barbados.

“My journey is now concluded at this level. I move on to new journeys and new sacrifices. May the good Lord bless this country. Thanks to all of you.”

31. How many MPs does it take to…..? Ok. I am not criticising. I am trying to crack a joke.

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Ember Investment Corporation Peter Griffith (second right) points out a few aesthetic features of the Mount Pleasant Memorial Gardens to Colin Jordan, member of parliament for St Peter Health and Wellness (right)Minister Jeffrey Bostic (second left) and Peter Phillips, member of parliament for St Lucy.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/193283/coral-ridge-filling

32. David

You cannot enlighten someone whose choice it is to remain blinded

33. Inniss & co
    Fax is fax.Mia got this.Confidence is returning to the Barbadian.Those ten years of drifting are never to be forgotten because the price of towing the ship of state is a factor insurers determine in salvaging what has been left of this wreck of an economy bailed by plundering the NIS and the Central Bank.I hope both those boards have been given marching orders for aiding and abetting corruption in high places.The DLP is the only political party that submitted invoices for feeding dead people.#30luvinwunnatail.

34. May I also add ignorant

blinded and ignorant

35. David

You boldly asserted that these extra ministers would only cost 1 million dollars.Where did you get your figures from ?

What is the breakdown of that 1 million dollars?

Who were included and those who were not included?

Did you look at the consultants,tsars and advisors salaries that no one – not even our own Caswell Franklyn – can determine what those salaries are?

What about the ancillary staff – yuh know if these were included?

So then why did you push that 1 million dollars figure at us ?

David I am appealing to you -that if you have not yet started (and that is debatable) – do not drink that Kool-Aid from that poisoned chalice.

Your role as Independent blog official in the absence of a true opposition is too critical.

36. The blogmaster stated Mia shared the information about the one million. David Ellis touched the matter briefly in the exclusive interview with Mia. You may continue to debate the issue, our position was stated.

On Saturday, 8 September 2018, Barbados Underground wrote:

37. What Confidence. . Confidence in what !as everday consumer prices spiral out of control
    Household bills are astronomically high in just one hundred days
    confidence in what
    What now appears to be a planned disaster taking barbados into a stagflation effect across the board as consumer spending plummets to an all time low and small businesses cower in fear at thought of being on the shi..tty end of the stick

38. David

Your comment did not address my queries above but I will leave it there.

Sufficient for the day is the evil thereof.

I hope you are realizing what taking at face value what this govt is putting out there will cost you.

Remember you agreed with Mia that 175 % is our Debt To GDP.Now the IMF HAS GIVEN US THE TRUE FIGURE AND ITS REALLY 157 % DEBT TO GDP.

You were holding strong once again to Mia’s figure.

Go straight down the middle my friend.

39. @Hants
    Did you look at the picture?
    It appears the Ministers are putting on weight around the middle 🙂
    They need to unbutton their jackets when taking photos.

40. Mia will keep pouncing up and down throwing out alternative facts as a means to an end.
    Sooner rather than later the people would see that they were fed a bowl of left over soup from the OSA administration that got the ball of high debt rolling on the doorsteps of the IMF and which Mia is hell bent on continuing albeit at the high cost of tax payers expense

41. Mia, you need to send these gentlemen to the gym.
    Looking like the pigs of Animal Farm whilst the people are hungry.

42. @T.Inniss

1M ? what about the 6M the DLP give to the so called constituent councils, by the way, Irene never left the gate

43. @Mariposa September 8, 2018 8:25 AM “Past govt plan was to sell off some non performing assets which were feasting off the bony calf left behind from the blp govt.”

But Mariposa, when David Thompson won the election he said that “the fatted calf would be slaughtered and shared.” Now you are claiming that the DLP inherited a “bony calf.”

Can you tell me which is the truth. David’s “fatted calf”, or your “bony calf” because BOTH CANNOT BE THE TRUTH.

Or is it that over the past ten years the DLP “ate the calf out of the cow’s belly?”

If your parents are/were country people ask them what it means to “eat the calf out of the cow’s belly.”

44. @T.Inniss September 8, 2018 8:48 AM “WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT MIA MUST GET RID OF CLYDE MASCOLL.”

I like Clyde. I’ve always liked Clyde. If Clyde had been the leader of the DLP I would have voted DLP in the last 3 elections.

But the DLP got rid of Clyde, and how did that work out for the party?

Donville in an ankle bracelet, and 30-0 in the rest of wunna RH.

Stupssseee!!!

Wha’ part ‘o 30-0 wunna don’t understand?

45. Simple Simon you seem to be in an acid state this morning?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss September 8, 2018 10:45 AM
    “Remember you agreed with Mia that 175 % is our Debt To GDP.Now the IMF HAS GIVEN US THE TRUE FIGURE AND ITS REALLY 157 % DEBT TO GDP.
    You were holding strong once again to Mia’s figure…”

Now look who is calling the kettle black after making a mountain out of a molehill for being corrected over the figure of 360 as opposed to 375th anniversary of the Bajan Parliament!

The 175 % might have been an error of transposition with the difference easily divisible by 9 to prove the point. Was your 360 an honest mistake too?

We are sure your friend Sinckler- the mathematical whizz kid as demonstrated over the last 8 years- would be only too willing to explain the difference to you and the other dunce Manypoka aka ac.

Come on T.I., don’t be so ‘meticulously’ pedantic only when it suits you while you continue to ‘purposely’ refuse to see the bigger picture?

Why not explain how and why the debt ratio moved from 60% in 2007 to 157% (or is it 175) in 2018?

We know that! It’s Mia Fault (IMF)!

47. @T.Inniss September 8, 2018 9:00 AM “Oh yeah – really? Well then the amount of people I see begging at every supermarket and store – for help to buy back to school supplies and the amount of people grumbling about their water bill,gas bill and food bill – is not telling me that same satisfied story. Even the government through the Child Care Board had to beg Digicel to help them buy back to school supplies.We have never in the history of Barbados gone so low.”

Why don’t you stop telling lies for the DLP?

Like most people I did my end of the month shopping and I didn’t seee anybody begging for school supplies.

In the early 90’s, that is before Owen Arthur and the BLP won the 1994 election I know for certain that there were infants who lay on the QEH beds for months because the Child Care Bard did not have cribs, money, food, clothing, staff to care for children whose impoverished parents were not able to take them home.

A hospital bed is no place for a newborn to spend the first 6 months of its life.

48. @TheOGazerts September 8, 2018 9:13 AM “I do not comment on heavy matters as they tax me too much…
    It appears that the first 100 days was replaced the first “6 months”. Perhaps, now may be the time to start “It will take at least three years …..” and introduce the phrase the ‘first three years”

Actually at the big BLP opening meeting at the Weymouth pasture, the place near to the QEH the party said not to expect magic, that the turn around will take at least three years, and when my MP was campaigning at a spot meeting in my community he said the same thing. I never heard the BLP say anything about a 100 day turn around, nor a six month turn around.

Simple Simon
    Neither B nor D

49. @ millertheanunnaki September 8, 2018 9:02 AM

There is another problem with boosting foreign investments, namely Guyana. Foreign investors looking at the Caribbean are focusing now on the oil bonanza in Guyana. Guyana is THE mega-trend for Americans, Europeans and Chinese.

Why should they invest in Barbados instead?

Why shouldn´t they build a Huyatt in Georgetown instead in Bridgetown?

50. @Mariposa September 8, 2018 10:27 AM ” everday consumer prices spiral out of control”

What are you talking about?

In April my regular monthly shop was $286.62. In August it was $292.63, that is $6.01 more.

A tiny bit more, NOT spiraling out of control.

Simple Simon

Neither B nor D

Leave a Reply to sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)Cancel reply