What the hell is going on in this country….can town and country planning explain this to the people of BARBADOS please

– The following video posted to Barbados Wall of Shame Facebook page.

117 responses to “What’s UP With the Fence?”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“No structure should be sited closer than 30.5m (100ft) from the High Water Mark or in the case of a cliff frontage, 9.14 m (30ft) from the most landward undercut of the cliff.
    In addtion, no gate, fence, wall or other means of enclosure shall be erected closer than thrity feet 9.14m (30ft.) from the High Water Mark or 3.0m (10ft.) from the most landward undercut of the cliff.”

http://www.townplanning.gov.bb/content.aspx?c=25

2. @Peter

Thanks for steering the blog to what seems to be another encroachment.

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“5. (1) The functions of the Commission are
    […]
    (c) to control, maintain and develop the public parks, public gardens and beaches of Barbados;”

““beach” includes the land adjoining the foreshore of Barbados and extending not more than 33 metres beyond the landward limit of the foreshore;”

National Conservation Commission Act CAP 393 http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/bar19684.pdf

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

There is a serious regulatory problem in Barbados over control of beaches. The Town and Country Planning regulations are in conflict with National Conservation Commission Act. The NCC Act gives the NCC control over the beach up to 33 metres from the mean highwater mark, while Town and Country Planning allows fences only 9.14 metres from the highwater mark.

The Hon. Trevor Prescod JP M.P. is the Minister of the Environment and National Beautification and he has jurisdiction over the NCC. How do we get him onside to make the NCC take this fence down?

5. This is Barbados Peter.
    The question is not ‘What are the rules…?”
    It is…
    Who are the players?
    Who is the property owner?
    Who are the Commissioners?
    Who is on the NCC Board?
    …etc

6. I thought I heard a reference to other properties with fences along the beach, where is the beach? Will there be a similar protest a la The Crane?

7. Another toothy item for PLT to spout his beach rhetoric. PLT needs to wake up, dollars TALK and regulations WALK.

8. There are buildings on the west coast that got TCP approval to build 9.14 metres from the highwater mark.

There was a guard wall at Greensleeves that was almost in the sea. The owner was a billionaire who seemed to be able to buy anything he wanted in Barbados.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea August 30, 2018 8:07 AM
    “The question is […] Who are the players?”
    Absolutely true. Of course the NCC website is of no use whatsoever and gives no clue about NCC leadership and Board. That is why I asked for your deep local knowledge about how to influence Minister Prescod.

10. The sessions held recently with stakeholders to gather feedback to modernize the TP laws is not meant to address the issue manifesting yet again highlighted here?

11. William Skinner Avatar

The most popular tune on the island, is an instrumental, by the Trubadours International. The name of the tune is “Talk” or “Talking”
    We can all apply our own lyrics.
    Music / chart experts predict it will be the on top of the charts for the next X thousand years.

12. @Peter

General Manager Keith Neblett- National Conservation Commission.

13. David@BU, Now seems as good a time as any for BU to write an official letter to the minister and to the CTP identifying the mentioned beach and fences and questioning the legality of same. Further, requesting removal action of same if in breach of building laws of Barbados.

It is past time, once and for all, that local and foreign beachfront owners realize that Gabby’s “Da Beach Is Mine” has to be respected and taken seriously.

Posting the progression of correspondence and actions taken could possibly cause those in authority to move with the same alacrity as that displayed toward less powerful property owners.

You are well aware that if BU does not champion this initiative, the “traditional” media will remain immobile.

14. Sad that this is happening . Understand that the property owner wants his privacy and security, but this cage spoils the whole appearance of the beach for every other user of the beach . Our shared resource that Bajans have decided should be preserved for all.

If it were not so how long before whole sections of the coastline become inaccessible to all but the beachfront property owners ?

Don’t think it’s unreasonable to request that this owner dismantle the cage. If the cage is really necessary to enjoy the property
    then its not such a good location to live anyway, and it may be time to sell up and move to another location that better fits the owners requirements.

15. There once was a mansion near Glitter Bay. The owner had some Alsatians /German shepherds that used to chase black people who walked on the beach in front of his mansion……until one day a certain big rock marksman persuaded one of the dogs to put his tail between his legs and hop along home to his master.

From that day onward, the attacks by these dogs ceased.

Rich people do not want black people on the beach in front of their property.

16. @ David
    Those sessions were held to come up with impressive sounding shiite laws to impress brass bowls and foreign loaners like the World Bank and the CDB that we are a real real country.
    Everyone else knows the score….

17. @Bush Tea

There is the reality that Barbados legislation on a comparative basis lags the region. We should agree that the laws should be relevant. Other arguments flow from this position.

18. @Fearplay

You are too kind. The surrogates from the government, DLP and others monitor the blog. We know that once an issue shows on the BU radar we track it forever until resolved.

19. @ David who wrote ” The sessions held recently with stakeholders….. ”

I thought these sessions were to find an excuse to give TCP the green light to approve Hyatt, Sandals and any projects submitted by the privilaged class.

buh doan mine me an my cynical self.

20. “Who are the players?
    Who is the property owner?
    Who are the Commissioners?
    Who is on the NCC Board?”

And who took bribes to allow this clown who cannot do this in his OWN country to encroach on the beach like that.

PLT..have you noticed that you keep posting the same information over and over, and over about NCC and the powers vested in them to see that this never happens… most recently it was Doyle and his criminal activity up at Crane, now this clown.

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@racehrse August 30, 2018 8:55 AM
    “General Manager Keith Neblett- National Conservation Commission”
    When there was a controversy at the Crane Mr Neblett gave interviews which raised my doubts that he had read the legislation.

22. @David
    The sessions held recently with stakeholders to gather feedback to modernize the TP laws is not meant to address the issue manifesting yet again highlighted here?
    Opposition is easy, its governing that’s hard.

23. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

This property owner is no millionaire. He’s very likely renting out the property to wealthy holidaymakers on a short-term basis, and has promised his guests a private beach front. I bet if authorities ran a check we would find that the likes of him aren’t paying VAT of income taxes locally – except maybe for the dog’s license !!

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

It appears that the owner of the property is Mr. John Paul Jones, president of Enrail Partners LP, a Delaware registered limited partnership in the business of owning and operating railroad oil tanker car leases.
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/john-paul-jones-60781412/

25. Honestly
    If Bushie was in Neblett’s place, the bushman would have resigned quietly RIGHT after baloney took over the Highway cleaning contract and proceeded to keep the highway clean on an ongoing basis with about 5 people, when it was always permanently dirty …and then hundreds of jokers arrives intermittently to pretend to clean it….

Shiite man… what proof do you need ….to understand when you are operating ABOVE your competency…?

OK Bushie is a whacker expert … 🙂
    but how difficult is it to keep a strip of grass cut….?

Having said all this….
    What were you saying about reading legislation Peter…?

26. Accept the reality. There is a hidden clause in every Barbadian statute saying:

“Applicable to locals, but not to foreign trillionairs and foreign hotel magnates.”

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@FearPlay, why is it Bus role to “…. write an official letter to the minister and to the CTP identifying the mentioned beach and fences and questioning the legality of same. Further, requesting removal action of same if in breach of building laws of Barbados.”

This videographer and the other local residents who have walked and swam in that area for decades, one presumes, should be the activists here filing that grievance.

We have read and seen where a normal homeowner trying to expand his property and allegedly contravening TP regs had his multistoried dwelling demolished; another his privacy wall knocked over and on and on…surely some neighbour made an original complaint or maybe a TP official saw the variance and acted.

This owner is either in contravention or he is not…the fence demolished or moved back or it is not….or the process is as corrupt as the money talks confession above!

28. You see the disrespect in his voice. This is what happens when you put yourself on the ground for people to come from all over the world and walk all over you. Gabby has already put forward a solution to this problem, namely from the first grain of sand belong to Bajans. This would put a stop to this sort of rubbish. As Bajans, we must demand the government put a stop to this nonsense. I will be contacting Trevor Prescod and Mia to demand they legislate Gabby’s proposal.

29. Tee White,

You are right HERE.

The beaches must stay open. It is nearly impossible today to access the beaches at the Platinum Coast when you live inside the country. This policy of “the beach is mine” destroys the quality of life in Barbados.

The policy of “the beach is mine” also damages the tourism industry since tourists LIKE locals want to go to various beaches instead of sticking to the beach in front of the hotel or to Brownes beach.

30. Tough luck fellows. Commissiong belly full now. Prescod is a waste of time, good only for wearing faux-African themed shirts. Instead of posting videos of a white man in a cage, detail the issue in writing to the Town and Country Planning Office and copy the correspondence to the Minister responsible for planning (who also happens to be the Prime Minister). However I will not be surprised if nothing is done.

31. It never ends just gets worse.
    One evening when I lived in Maxwell Coast Road, we were having rough seas. I went on the beach and stood watching the waves hurl to the shore. Within less than five minutes I heard a man shouting, I looked to my right, where there was a pink house about 30 feet away, The man was waving his hand and saying “leave, get away from there, getaway. ” I ignored him. He shouted even louder “leave, leave or I will call the police for you gettaway.”
    I thought about ignoring him further- this was the beach I frequented almost daily with no other objectives than to relax, enjoy and watch the sun set.

Then my mind rushed across a young man I had met. He said one evening he was relaxing on the beach after exercising. A man in a nearby house told him to leave. He did not move or answer. Soon the police arrived, they said they had a complaint from the man – he was loitering and disturbing the peace. He told the police why he was there and that he always came there after exercising. His explanations fell on deaf ears.They took him away.
    A judge, also not believing, sent him to the Green Gates for psychiatric evaluation and observation – his story was also not believed here. He said he became so scared after no one listened to him that he could not speak. After when he found his voice he screamed loudly and cried incessantly. He was put in a straight jacket and heavily medicated to the point where he was almost comatose. He said it took a while for him to accept the fact that he was a nobody in the eyes of the law and the man who had called the police for him, along with the Judge and the others at the hospital. He added that when he got out six months later he never went on another beach or exercised again. He was at the time we spoke in his early 20’s. Sad!!

This young man, had not only represented Barbados at a World Competition in the U.K,but had won.
    Kudos to Gabby for this one of his many social commentary classics.
    The question remains- d beach belong to we or to those non-nationals with lots of money who buy/manage property here?
    Yes, Sir Wiley C. “Money talks!” Every time. $$$$$$$$$$$

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“32. Any observations or measurements to determine the high water mark shall be made at the time of any ordinary high tide occurring on the sixth, seventh or eighth days before or after the day of a full moon.”
    —Coastal Zone Management Act CAP 394

The last full moon was August 26th. This means that the soonest days to measure where the high-water mark is relative to Mr Jones’s property on Brighton Beach are September 1st, 2nd, and 3rd. High tides on each of these days are shown at https://www.tide-forecast.com/locations/Bridgetown-Barbados/forecasts/latest/six_day

Note that the night time high tides are a bit higher than the morning high tides. How many of us are going to go to the beach to document exactly how far back from the high-water mark Mr. Jones has built his fence?

33. Hey David
    Didn’t someone post about boulders being placed at Heywoods? What’s going on did you investigate?

34. Gabby thought that he was dealing with PEOPLE when he proclaimed his proud pronouncement.
    The beach would DEFINITELY belong to us if we were people….

…but then again, so would the banks, the supermarkets, the telephone company, the power company, the insurance companies and the damn hotels.

Not a shiite BELONGS to us – because brass bowls don’t understand anything about OWNERSHIP and social development.
    Brass bowls are adept at takin in piss…. it is what BBs do…

Step one:
    Stop being brass bowls….

BTW Ms Green…
    This is how wars start….
    Like if that young man was related to Bushie … or even a friend…. or perhaps just known to the bushman…. a big donkeyed war could have ensued …with serious casualties…

This is why JUSTICE is the single most valuable asset in a society.

35. Will the Mighty Gabby lead the charge, again?

36. Working on it Sargeant.

37. Amm that fence should be no problem
    Talk to George Payne and Dale Marshalll
    Dem would take down that fence with out a problem and own the whole lot too
    Wunna mek sport

38. “A judge, also not believing, sent him to the Green Gates for psychiatric evaluation and observation – his story was also not believed here. He said he became so scared after no one listened to him that he could not speak. ”

So typical of the nastiness that goes on in Barbados..

39. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

I have a question, if the beach is considered a private beach for all intents and purposes; thus the locals cannot dare trespass without being confronted by the land and beach owner or by his agents. In this case a wire fence et al.

In the case when mother nature via tides and sea currents decide to remove the beach via sea erosion etc, and there is no beach for all intents and purposes, Will or does the CZMU or the respective Govt. agency that is usually a taxpayer financed entity(unless we planning a BUC “beach users contribution”) be charged with beach RE-building that same area of beach that the local taxpayers are “banned” or better yet “denied” access to?

As gabby penned in the song Jack. “I hope the sea carr wey all the sand”. In that case we will see if “da beach is mine(for all and sundry) or is that beach is “their” only for the private owner?

Just asking?

40. Barbados Wall of Shame, a white British expat built a house in the back of Chapel Gap,St. James. She commissioned the placing of boulders in and along a watercourse between Chapel Gap and Clarkes Road, St. James and built an illegal private road, thereafter, Clarkes Rd, where the Black low working Class Barbadians resides became the watercourse

41. Where is David Commissiong?

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin August 30, 2018 2:41 PM
    Commissiong has been effectively defanged by giving him a post in the BLP government. It is an indictment of the local bar association that there is no other lawyer apparently prepared to act in the public interest without a paycheck.

43. Since this is a one term government, Commissiong will soon be back..

44. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

This will cause a commotion. Does the land or beach owner pay “land lax” for “annexed(Crimea Russia styled)”

if they are claiming this as private beach property then i sure hope they are up to date with land tax contributions?

BRA we need to see the receipts by this land owner; i sure hope they are not one of the forgiven in the amnesty proposed by the BLP administration? lol

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I had a lovely lunch break on Brighton Beach. Mr. Jones has extended his fenced area by about 12 feet further towards the ocean than his neighbors on either side. They now say, apparently, that they will follow suit and extend their fenced areas to match his encroachment.

46. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ WARU August 30, 2018 2:48 PM

Since this is a one term government, Commissiong will soon be back..

But u cant be serious? back to do what; who will believe his creds? Maybe back in time retire from the ……

47. PLT,

Agree. It is a cultural thing. Pro bono work is a key to all trainee lawyers, both sides of the Atlantic. For starters, it is one way of getting experience; and for another, it brings justice to those least able to afford high legal fees. I am disappointed, but not surprised.
    When you remember that Caribbean lawyers were the founders of law centres in the UK (Rudi Narayan, et al|), at a time when the police were pressuring the black community, it shows that the thinking can be there. Why aren’t trade unions taking up the slack? The fault lies in the materialism of Barbadian culture.

48. Hal you asking for Commissiong? Dont hold your breath. I thought after Gabby’s song this was over.
    Bajans can gol on Brass Tadks and complain about everything under the sun but I bet you no one is going to utter a word. You said it best. “Barbados is a failed state”.

Leave a Reply to SargeantCancel reply