While you were distracted, our politicians voted themselves a 5% salary increase at a time when they are pondering how many public workers to send home. The senate rubber-stamped the bill as expected. The additional annual salary of $7,500 for Ministers to purchase their breakfast suggests that the journey of suffering for most Barbadians will be very long indeed.

That is not a criticism of the current administration. Rather, it is an explanation of the game that we are all forced to play. There are those of us who have witnessed the behaviour of our politicians over many election cycles, so we have seen this game being played several times before. For the uninitiated, let me describe the plot.

The DLP gets in, increases their salaries, claims that there are too many public workers, sends home thousands of BLP supporters and hires thousands of DLP supporters who appear to do very little. Meanwhile, the BLP accuses the DLP of victimization, and being grossly corrupt and incompetent.

Then the BLP gets in, increases their salaries, claims that there are too many public workers, sends home thousands of DLP supporters and hires thousands of BLP supporters who appear to do very little. Meanwhile, the DLP accuses the BLP of victimization, and being grossly corrupt and incompetent.

We are currently in the cycle where the BLP is in Government, so we can expect thousands of DLP supporters to be sent home, and be replaced with BLP supporters later on. We can also expect the DLP to accuse the BLP of only sending home DLP supporters.

While politicians increase their salaries, the Central Bank normally admonishes workers to be reasonable, responsible and realistic in their wage negotiations. They are told that they could put the national economy in jeopardy. Meanwhile, our politicians continue to eat our breakfast and hire more of their supporters at our expense.

The great tragedy in all of this is that those who have seen this game being played multiple times know what is to come, but they cannot escape the nightmare. The BLP/DLP have a prime directive to protect each-other from scrutiny, keep each-other well-fed, and keep voters divided and ignorant.

Those who are older may have deciphered the game and its inevitable outcome, but believe that they are powerless to change it. Why? Because they know that skilled political operatives have an easy task convincing a new set of gullible voters to happily vote against their and their neighbours’ self-interests, so that the politicians whom they worship can continue to feed at the trough.

We had a chance to escape this reoccurring nightmare a few months ago. Many good people offered themselves as competent alternatives, and I watched in dismay as political operatives, pretending to be non-partisan, tried to destroy others’ stellar professional reputations. Why? For the sole purpose of desperately trying to secure their places near the trough, and enjoy spillage as politicians feed.

Political operatives did their best to convince the electorate that this time it would be different. On reflection, I think that they may be correct. This time, they have crossed too many boundaries of decency in their quest for spillage for there not to be consequences.

For those of us who understand this tragic game of which there seems to be no escape, the concluding sentence of George Orwell’s classic, Animal Farm, may finally dawn true. “The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

64 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Choking on Spillage”

1. We can work on all of those things that we should have worked on long ago once we address the present issue. This way, workers that have more interesting things than work to attend to during work hours could be processed out of the workforce with not regrets.

2. @Guest

Do you in your heart of hearts believe Prime Minister Mottley has the balls to make decisions based in national imperatives at the expense of what is politically expedient?

3. Yes, I do and she promised change – this is strong, caring change.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David August 18, 2018 7:37 AM
    “Do Barbadians have the ‘maturity’ to agree to a paycut across the board for the good of country? Do ordinary citizens trust any government to be discipline in managing the affairs of country that it will be pain worth taking?”

Isn’t Devaluation of the Mickey mouse currency the most effective tool (quickest and fairest manner) to bring about the much needed pay-cut across the board?

It would effectively force Bajans to both earn and save forex in order to survive with many having to look to foreign pastures to earn their daily bread or to pay off their mortgages.

If the public sector workers are going to have to give up something (in some cases jobs) in exchange for their pay hike what are the members of Parliament, especially the ministerial class, going to give up as their sacrifice for their pay increases?

What about making them pay for their lunch and other food and drink freebies enjoyed at each sitting of Parliament?

Don’t other public sector workers have to dig deep into their pockets to buy lunch and attend after-work water holes?

Can’t they buy their own lunch and the imported big-mout drinks out of the pending increase thereby saving the taxpayers the cost of catering for these gluttons as witnessed by the massive increases in the body girth and overtly chubby faces of the previous lot especially those in the ministerial class?

5. And, not balls but much better.

6. @ Miller
    What about making them pay for their lunch and other food and drink freebies enjoyed at each sitting of Parliament?
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Yuh think..!!??

It speaks VOLUMES that such SYMBOLIC steps are not automatic…. and already quietly implemented.

Shiite Miller… again we think alike…
    Bushie misses the good old days when we used to cuss each other black and blue… 🙂

7. Guess who never did and never will stay at a Sandals.Hotel.

“Virus outbreak affects hundreds at Sandals Bahamas resort
    August 17, 20181

Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort. Photo: YouTube
    By Youri Kemp
    Caribbean News Now associate editor
    youri@caribbeannewsnow.com

NASSAU, Bahamas — A debilitating stomach virus has spread like wildfire through the Sandals Royal Bahamian resort in Nassau, blitzing guests and staff members alike with severe vomiting, abdominal pains and diarrhea, in what some have described as the worst viral outbreak to occur on cruise ship or resort facility in The Bahamas to date.

According to the ministry of health, some 100 guests and visitors were admitted to hospital, experiencing gastrointestinal symptoms of nausea, vomiting and diarrhea.”

8. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right

Good to know I am not alone in my thinking. Let us look forward to the day when these suggestions become reality.

@ Enuff

Unclear re your comments. Care to clarify?I am open to learning.

Peggy A. GREEN

9. @David

Do you in your heart of hearts believe Prime Minister Mottley has the balls to make decisions based in national imperatives at the expense of what is politically expedient?

Even if she did, there are 58 (29*2) other balls and bubbies that would make her think twice!

Just observing

10. Peggy Greene

I am a rabble rouser, paid apologists, czar, yardfowl, insider and soon to be PM. I can’t explain what I said with anymore granularity.

11. @ Bush Tea August 18, 2018 1:51 PM

You see how easy it is for the local business elite to control the politicians? Offer them a plate of food and they will comply.

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

It is Saturday night going into Sunday morning and de grandson is like all dese young menses not home.

But I wanted to give home a Stoopid Cartoon theme called “Ruler of the Waste Lands” which was going to feature you on a resplendent throne against a background of desolation.

And make no bones about it, you have inherited Valhalla

By now your forensics teams would have unearthed about 30% of the theft and misappropriation of the former administration

By now too you would also be seeing that what the ole man was hinting about your first and second eleven teams IS TRUE and you are struggling with keeping an even keel particularly with the spectre of Shiva the Destroyer on your doorsteps.

There I go again with my pantheism imagery.

But let me suggest something that will bring you some control over this pandemonium

CHOOSE ONE!!!

CHOOSE one fellow whose action of teifing are clearly incontrovertible base on the evidence you have AND LET TEETS MARSHALL BRING A COMPLAINT AGAINST HIM.

And direct the DLP Commissioner of Police Griffith to arrest and charge the body.

And have your Minister of Information Lucille Moe orchestrate all of the news media houses being in attendance at the arrest.

Stay with me for a little here Madamoiselle

The endgame is what you are dealing with here Mia.

Nothing else!!!

You need to control your internal horde sorry your first and second eleven that you are not effing around. ONE.

You need to make the Commissioner of Police and the DPP realize who is their boss notwithstanding their allegiance to the now defunct DLP. TWO

You need to put the fear of *** into all teives and facilitators of teifing of the former administration so that toilet paper sales increase from this week. THREE

You need to make a statement to the international agencies THAT YOU ARE GOING TO BE ACCOUNTABLE TO THEM AND THEIR MONEY.

Cause you dun see dat de ole man grandson focusing pun your spendthrift incoming batsmen who jes waiting to lik up dat IMF money.

I remember as a child growing up getting real licks from my grandmother for staying down the road and taking a small mirror and reflecting the sun all the way up the road to her face at the rocking chair she sat in by the window in the front house.

I know that you are batting and dem vandagers you have as team members IN DE PAVILLION WITH 21 SMALL MIRRORS FLICKING LIGHT IN YOU FACE while you facing balls from the opposing team.

Plus de ole man grandson in the spectators.

But he going stop he mirror when you start doing de right ting ….

13. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Congratulations are in order Grenville, this is the best post that you have presented on this forum.

I have posited over a number of years that Barbadians are incapable of self-governance. I have followed BU over a number of years. During this period I have presented some provocative and innovative ideas that have never been adopted or trialled by government.

There is one uncomfortable truth that exists in perhaps all but five percent of black majority countries: they do not offer a sufficient number of their population the means to develop their full potential. They are abject failures, inherently corrupt and predisposed to working against the interests of the vast majority of their own population.

This is why so many of our fellow Africans quit their continent in order to move to more prosperous country. Why do so many Barbadians achieve respect, high levels of professional and ethical competencies and in some cases greatness outside of Barbados?

We should accept that irrespective of whom we elect to govern us whether it be the BLP or the DLP we will, always, get the same results. Two parties made up of lawyers. Why should we expect anything different? It is our elites that have destroyed our nation state. Mia is one and is doomed to fail.

In the past, I have stated that we should ask for the return of the British or offer an invitation to France to assist us in our governance. Preposterous and provocative but why can we not discuss this.

My preference would be the abolition of all our political parties. A country with a population of less then 300,000 does not require thirty MP’s to run it. I am in favour of a system where we have a team of twelve wise men/women who would manage the affairs of our nation. Half of this team should be made up of foreigners / outsiders who have no connection to Barbados. At least two members of this team should originate from Africa (the continent). The recruitment criteria for the foreign team should be simple. We should select the best on merit and they must have a formidable mindset.

It should be evident to all of you that Barbados remains a nation that lacks self-control and discipline and that we are incapable of self-governance. It is time for each and everyone of us to recognise this as FACT and for us to move forward smartly.

https://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/specialseries/2018/08/slavery-routes-gold-world-180813075335977.html

14. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Ex- cricketing all rounder “Imran Khan vows to cut government expenses, tackle corruption
    In his first televised speech, new leader pledges to cut down government spending and maintain peace with neighbours.”

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/imran-khan-vows-cut-government-expenses-tackle-corruption-180819182720963.html