[Barbados Underground] The following was shared by Senator Caswell Franklyn in response to the following question –

@Senator

Is there any light you can shed on the lady and her mother posting videos to Facebook accusing Payne and Marshall of some unscrupulous action?

“David, Blogmaster

I know more than most about the situation which led to these two people defaming Marshall and Payne on Facebook.

This matter arose out of the sale of land of the late Ermine Atwell. She was the widow of Melvin Atwell, attorney-at-law. The two people making the allegations about Marshall and Payne are Ermine’s sister and niece.

Ermine was a recluse who lived alone with her dog, Zena. For a number of years Ermine would call me every Sunday, unless I was out of the island or there was a problem with Cable and Wireless. We would talk about every conceivable topic, one of which was her sister’s and Niece’s efforts to get their hands on Ermine’s land.

According to Ermine’s version, the sister Ieft Barbados in the sixties and did not look back, not even to attend their father’s funeral in 1975. Then out of a clear blue sky the sister returned to Barbados, and only made contact with Ermine by way of a lawsuit to get portion of Ermine’s land that formerly belonged to their father. The sister lost the case.

Ermine was willing to help her sister if she had asked but was hurt and angry that the sister took her to court. As a result, she vowed to me that the sister would get nothing from her and as far as I know, Ermine was taking steps to make sure that the sister would get nothing.

Ermine died suddenly and I don’t know how far she had gotten in disposing her property. I know that Ermine believed in George Payne and Rawle Eastmond but had chosen George to deal with her legal matters.

I did not comment before for two reasons: I was not asked; and Marshall and Payne should be able to take care of themselves.”

The following documents posted to BU’s Facebook Timeline:

268 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Responds to Facebook Video Accusing Ministers George Payne and Dale Marshall of Fraud”

1. The certificate should be a document by itself and awarded to some..

To Enuff (I am not a Bee, a lark singing for my summer)

To Artax (not a yardfowl but always in de yard wid me)
    From Mariposa

To Mariposo (Graduating from yardfowl to yard duck)

To Lorenzo (Fellow scratch grain lover)
    From Enuff

2. PDYR why not pillored Caswell
    First he comes out barking like a dog ready to fight for a cause
    Then he recedes back in hiding like a fighten yard dog
    Maybe your gran son can make a poster of a frighten yard dog and send it to the two women
    It just might frighten them from pilloring Caswell
    Caswell where are you come out of hiding yard dog

3. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mariposa

“Watch me Now” girl

Watch me Now!!

4. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please

5. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

6. Not two sisters. A sister and a niece.

7. Anyone know anything about this company on ICIJ?

https://offshoreleaks.icij.org/nodes/100616630

8. PDYR you make a bold ststement indicating i did not make a comment in regards to PM stuart leper statement about his friend
    What proof do you have to make such a bold statement

9. […] regard to Senator Franklyn’s response – Senator Caswell Franklyn Responds to Facebook Video Accusing Ministers George Payne and Dale Marshal…to the video allegations, I can categorically state that he did speak to my cousin Ermine every […]

10. I know of similar situations where relatives crawl out of the woodwork upon someone’s death and try to claim property. The last person I knew, faithfully took care of his brother and paid up the funeral expenses and another brother showed up surprisingly from the UK and changed the locks on the dead brother’s property, took every valuable he could find and took out a court order on the caregiver brother. The poor guy to took it on and died. Of course I do not know the facts but Caswell’s story is very probable.

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mariposa

The item does not say that you made such a statement

What is says is that you, BECAUSE OF YOUR HYPOCRISY, did not give any such commentary when you were faced with evidence that you leader spoke out for his friends in egregious circumstances euphemism for the teifing of Greenverbs and Carry-away-a-Ton

You ent too bright is you?

12. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar
  13. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

14. PDYR
    Your statement that i did not speak out on the Stuart /Parris issue is an untruth which can be verified

15. Caswell is now in positon to speak openly in parliament about this type of illegalities
    If he is sincere he can lead by example.

16. Take the case to the CCJ

17. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ WARU & Mariposa

There is another side to this equation that I would beg your indulgence for just a few moments.

I shall dub it “The Fifth Element”

And I will give you two examples of how this Fifth Element phenomenon works and you and others may comment on what I will remark on

Party A is a supplier of GOODS. Party B contacts Party A and contracts with Party A to buy these goods for let us say $10,000

When the Goods arrive Party A realizes that the goods have parts that he wants and proceeds to cannibalize said goods for his own establishment and then delivers the modified goods to Party B.

Party B on seeing what A has done pays A for the goods, IN FULL, less the cost of the item line that A removed/stole $10,000 – $2,000.

But hold your horses!

Party A’s father is a judge and A complains to daddy and they proceed to put B in court, proceeds to litigate against B, plot that the matter is heard by a judge that Party A’s father is friends with. (Does this sound familiar?)

Mysteriously, no documents/summons are ever delivered to Party B concerning the litigation (sounds familiar??) and equally concerning Party A winds a judgement against Party B IN THEIR ABSENCE (AGAIN, does this sound familiar?)

Now mind you Party B has paid a lawyer to represent them in ccourt and that lawyer takes $1500 and does nothing. And when the matter is reported to the Bar Association THEY DO NOTHING!!

You understanding what the plight of these poor bajans living overseas is yet?

But hold your horses just a little longer.

Item 2. Party A is a small business person with the customary profile “ideas but no money”.

Party A approached the central bank in their jurisdiction which provides a guarantee for SMEs

http://www.centralbank.org.bb/financing-schemes/financing-schemes/credit-guarantee-scheme-for-businesses

This facility is suited to the type company that Party A represents.

In brief, that utility states/ed that A’s indebtedness is only 10% (it was 10% at that time) of the value of the loan approved, in the event of a default.

Bank B MUST pay Central Bank a quarterly premium to maintain the CB guarantee but the facility was a new vehicle and Bank B was not familiar with it and did not know about the premium.

Party A, in good faith, secures said facility from Bank B and continues to pay Bank B, 30% of indebtedness.

When circumstances force Party A out of business, Bank B which has not paid the premium, litigates against Party A and makes sure to get a particular judge that is biased towards their interest.

IN FACT, even when said honourable Judge is shown the payments Party A made, and the facility, and is told that the Bank B has not paid its premum the Judge ignores all of that and rules a judgement against Party A.

So are you starting to comprehend the extent of this so called justice that Barbadian Courts mete out to its citizens?

Here is an excerpt from Transparency International

“… The Global Corruption Report (GCR) is one of Transparency International’s flagship publications, bringing the expertise of the anti‐corruption movement to bear on a specific corruption issue. Most recent reports have focused on corruption in climate change, the private sector, water and the judiciary.

The report highlights cutting edge qualitative and quantitative research, gathers knowledge on lessons learnt and showcases innovative tools. In doing so, it enhances our understanding of the dynamics of corruption and seeks to provide practical and proven solutions to improve governance and accountability….”

Tell me how said entity can arrive at a corruption index that reflects the true state of affairs of Barbadians?

How can they detect that Bank B, having failed to pay the premium that the Central Bank requires, has secretly asked for, and secured the Judge of their choice to ensure that Judgement is rendered against Party A, NOTWITHSTANDING 30% being paid NOR FACT THAT BANK B did not pay premium!!

Now what are the commonalities herein described?

It does not really matter if Party A is Saint Theresa because DEPENDING ON WHO YOU ARE IN BARBADOS, the so called “Justice System” in Barbados, is rigged against the poor man, and THE BUDDY SYSTEM WILL BE USED AGAINST YOU.

Because like these two WHAT DID ENUFF OF LORENZO DUO call them “gutter snipes”, we the poor people DO NOT HAVE A VOICE and we are treated like the scum of the earth while these thieves like PAIN AND TEETS continue to rape us.

I will not mention a third situation where collusion between Party A’s Lawyer and Bank B’s lawyers subverted Party A’s matter since Party A’s lawyer, BECAUSE HE OWES Bank B, colluded to “sell Party A down the river”.

“Who do you call….Ghost busters…remember that tune?

This is why it is critical that poor people use the ONLY tools we have, the ubiquitous technology to campaign against these parties CAUSE THE COURTS ARE MOSTLY A WASTE OF TIME…

18. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn

You would do well to download and read this document which, although dated 2007, presents some serious matters for consideration for the challenges that our society is facing.

Particularly with regard to this pernicious act of smoke and mirrors called the Integrity in Public Life 1933 sorry 2018

https://issuu.com/transparencyinternational/docs/global_corruption_report_2007_english?mode=window&backgroundColor=%23222222