[BARBADOS UNDERGROUND] It is official, Verla Da Peiza was elected president of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) at the 63rd Annual General Meeting. The blogmaster extends congratulations and wish her every success in the task of resuscitating a party that was rejected in an unprecedented way on 24 May 2018.

Both major parties have females at the helm, we wait to adjudge if this will translate in better governance of the country.

Da Peiza has something in common with Prime Minister Mia Mottley, both logged public utterances which are uncomplimentary to social media. Da Peiza labelled the blogmaster a traitor for posting the voluminous Cahill documents that exposed malfeasance and mismanagement at the highest level of the former government. The blogmaster will write off her comment as a DLP Senator toeing the party line.

Again Congratulations Verla!

209 responses to “Verla Da Peiza is President of the Democratic Labour Party”

1. Speaking of corruption hete is a story that Mia should be most intersted in imvestigating

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=858016504407890&id=100005986451739

2. Mariposa and Negroman,what is Ms Depeiza claim to fame?She is a political lightweight who has no chance against Ms Mottley.How many times has she lost at the polls?As for Mrs Sandiford-Garner,another perennial loser,she should forget about politics,as in my view she is just a show off and a poser,and she will never win a seat in Barbados.Therefoe with those two at the helm the DLP,in the wilderness for another twenty years,maybe they should have tried Ms Holder.

3. According to the Nation online, Ms DePezia was elected unopposed! What happened to Richard Sealy, David Estwick and Stephen Lashley? Also according to Freundel Stuart, George Pilgrim could not be persuaded to run for the post of General Secretary. So did these losers think it was better for other losers (DePezia, Sandiford-Garner, Alleyne, Whittaker and Connoly) to lead the party or is possible future revelations of a Donville like nature causing them to be reticent? I notice that Stuart did not bring the “bloodline” talk now that Sir Philip Greaves’ niece is the new president.

4. William Skinner Avatar

The now hated Owen Arthur a few short years ago said that Mia Mottely was unfit to be Prime Minister and she will not find favour with the electorate. Also implied she had embezzled party funds. Today Mia Amor Mottley is Prime Minister of our country.
    Errol Barrow almost three or more decades ago made a statement about Gertrude Eastmond regarding sex.
    Kerrie Symmonds when a Dem, now minister of Tourism as a Bee, once insulted Mia, Liz Thompson by reffering to them as 1000 pounds of fat , or words to that effect or some other insulting adjective.
    Mia was kicked to the curb and back stabbed by the men in the BLP a few short years ago

So both parties have a history of despising and insulting women.
    The BLP has given us our first female Prime Minister. The DLP has given us two women as heads of State.
    If only some jokers were to think before rushing into print with their one -sided pathetic party bias…………………

5. A picture they say is worth a thousand words. Not sure if this image on the front page of today’s Nation newspaper does anything for Verla.

6. David
    as it is said..Freundel is nuff man! LOL!

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Piece..ya wasting ya time, Depieza is just as dumb as Sandiford-Garner, Karma will take the lead role in everything they do, they are both soft in the head just like the other one who got robbed at the bank…..nothing they ever say makes any sense and can go nowhere, Depieza is already known for her inability to get simple things done, they are all better where they are, far away from the people who are well familiar with their toxicities.

It’s obvious the men in the floundering party are so scared and their egos so deflated that they will sit back and allow women they ordinarily would not give the time of day, to now take the lead roles, hopefully there are still some unsealed grand jury indictments with some of theuI names attached waiting to be opened.

The island can do without the whole lot of them.

8. @Ping Ping

Tell us more, sure many here have not heard that label ascribed to Freundel until now.

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Maybe the Feds will lose the file?”

Lol..not in this life, nor the next.

10. Baggage? if Depeiza and Sandiford Garner has baggage, what does MAM have? if Guy Mayers has baggage what does WUK FUH WUK have?

pure nonsense being spouted here as usual.

11. Agree with you, it appears we have a problem breaking the cycle with our constant comparisons to others across the divide instead of what is required to move the dial. We have a choice, be critical of Verla and her team with ‘baggage’, or we congratulate more of the same if we look at the incumbents.

#cantwin!

12. Perhaps this IS the best that the DLP can do….
    But if Bushie is to be honest, it is VERY difficult to conceive how they could have done worse.

Obviously after Dumbville’s fate, there are many erstwhile potential DLP ‘leaders’ who now see greater wisdom in keeping a low (no pun intended) profile. It would probably not be practical to be DLP president ..while seeking residency in Panama or Argentina.

Verla…. ?!!
    Shirt!!!

13. the question is, what are we looking for in a politician?

14. The shameful post @ 5:02 a.m. by the person who runs this Underground blog says it all.

Yet previously we would have been presented with all these hypocritical prouncements by him that he is interested in the DLP regrouping and quickly getting back to presenting opposing views as a rejuvenated opposition force.

All of a sudden verla depeiza is not the right person for the position and he prefers Guy Hewitt.

If you want to find out who the BLP feels will create confusion and disunity in the party – look for who they say they prefer to lead the party.

Isn’t that rich? They can always see better than those DLP foot soldiers who is the best man/woman to run the DLP.Ha ha.

Go back and look at the positive and glowing spin being given by the blog owner after every post or publicized activity by motley and her ministers,then check his comments on anything about the DLP post election – as well as those bloggers he believes favours or supports the DLP.

The motive is obvious and quite clear – so I rest my case and will look on.

15. Continue to attack the blogmaster and see where it leads. It seems some of you have not learned. The blogmaster is on record that full critique of the government will kick in after six months. A page was posted ( look up) to serve as a reminder. You continue to bray your nonsense. Anybody who has followed politics in Barbados in the last 20 years will agree that Verla and Irene are political lightweights are were selected as placeholders given the turmoil that must exist in the DLP at this time.

16. the question is, what are we looking for in a politician?
    For starters….
    -How about someone with a HISTORY of accomplishments during their life so far? …
    -Someone who has demonstrated that they know how to IMPLEMENT?
    -Then how about someone who has DEMONSTRATED a genuine concern for the community – in a non partisan manner?
    -Perhaps someone who is not CLEARLY self-centered ..and all about themselves….

“You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things”
    Bushie concurs with this logic….

17. Lorenzo ..Depezia claim to fame is having a history of untainted baggage
    Go read the Payne Hinkson files and see what is said about Mia….
    If Mia holding a truck load of stinking goods can become PM there is hope for any one including Ninja Man
    Mia tricked the people
    The people were hungry for tax relief the biggest reason why she got elected
    Now in two months she has given away trillion dollars of taxpayers monies .Employed a whole lot of consultants. Increase govt debt. All done without being transparent
    Told a huge whopper about fixing the South coast sewer system but making the problem worse by allowing sh.it to be deposited in the ocean
    Stole a quarter of Dominica GDP
    Oh by the the ongoing story of George Walton Payne and alleged land fraud in cohoots with Dale Marshall(of the old lady and her daughter) all these things would bury here
    As a matter of fact she has hit the ground so hard that a trail of black smoke will be following her around for the next five years making it hard for people to forget the damage she has done to the country
    Oh honourable mention goes to the default which has plunged the entire country into default

18. @David

and Guy Hewitt is a political heavyweight? David, one must build one’s resume. how does a person become a political heavy weight, pray tell? by size or by family connections? MAM and other BLPs. by reputation- earned over the years? by works – earned over the years?

BTW- except for our practicising sexuality and one of our professions i have very few things in common with MAM whilst i have many things in common with Sandiford Garner, Depeiza etc

19. A person should have a basic resume to recommend for a job at first instance. Guy is the best of a poor lot. He has a resume of serving the community because of his vocation, he demonstrated with Windrush that he has leadership skills compared to any on the DLP Executive, should we go on?

20. yes do go on. tie that into political leadership too

21. Waffle again.

22. What is political leadership? Leadership is leadership.

23. Mariposa……ease up, nuh…..

……yuh fine blow a blood vessel……and dead, yuh….

Your hatred for Mottley got yuh delusional to the extent that yuh telling nuff lies pun de poor woman.

Although the evidence is clear there wasn’t any sinister or underhand move in Ross’ decision to relocate to Barbados, your hatred for Mottley has convinced you otherwise…….and that she “stole” 30% of GDP from Dominica.

Shiite……if Mottley is PM for a mere 3 months…..and got you behaving so……you must be gine get a aneurysm or guh mad when yuh realize she got 4 years and 9 months to go as PM……

……..and you gine be ranting and raving for that period of time.

Mariposa, perhaps you should tell Mottley…..

………………”watch muh….. I got this.”

Hahahahahaha

24. Bush Tea wrote “How about someone with a HISTORY of accomplishments during their life so far.”

Name one Bajan who meets that standard who would want to be a politician.

25. We should be happy that Stuart has endorsed Verla and if he had his way the party would have seen the return of George Pilgrim LOL.

26. Wuh David yuh have the audacity to talk about poor lot and poke about resume
    Have you look at the rug rats that still crawling around in the blp party for years
    Some of them fingerprints are written all over the debt barbados has accumulated

27. @ Hants
    Bush Tea wrote “How about someone with a HISTORY of accomplishments during their life so far. ”Name one Bajan who meets that standard who would want to be a politician.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    There are plenty that comes to mind…. some are pure baloney though…
    Which is why Bushie ALSO wrote that they must have shown themselves to be ‘community-centric’ … and ALSO have the ABILITY to implement. (this does NOT include using bribery, underhand dealings or access to old slavery monies…)

However…
    There are (actually) a few people who meet Bushie’s criteria….

Unfortunately, the attribute of not being SELFISH usually translates (in brass bowl land with the topsy turvy educational system) as not being ‘ambitious’.

It also often means that such a person is not ‘pushy’ for political appointments (and people who bulldoze themselves for position are NOT usually doing so because of a burning desire to GIVE to the public…)
    – they won’t accept bribe political funding
    – they won’t get into the dirt on social media or at meetings and entertain the voters
    – they won’t kowtow to the albino-centric power brokers who influence things like the media etc..
    – they won’t promise jobs and freeness to lazy brass bowls…

Net result…
    We crucify the REAL pearls and diamonds in our society, …..and call for Barabbas instead…..

28. “Some of them fingerprints are written all over the debt barbados has accumulated…”

Yes, you are correct…..

………but I’m sure your political blinkers are preventing you from admitting that the records clearly indicate the DLP accumulated more debt in ten years……than the BLP during their 14 year tenure.

And the information to substantiate/verify that fact…… has been presented to this forum on several occasions.

29. Neither Verla, Irene, Connolly, Undene nor Guyson has won one single seat in the elections they contested. However, what I find funny about Verla’s election is that only few months ago Mia’s “privileged” background was touted by the Dems as a reason not to elect her. Who feel them more entitled than the arrogant Depeiza siblings? Been nuffernarians since HC. Anyhoo I have no interest in the DLP internal elections or their officers. I am here for the comments.☕

30. Is this the best the DLP can do?

31. This current BLP team is pathetic.No real accomplishments to their name.Yet they are being touted as bright and filled with the right stuff to lead this country.

Pray tell me what are the accomplishments of Cynty forde,Ronald Toppin,Kerrie Symmonds,Dale Marshall,George Payne,Glyne Clarke,Joseph Artherley and of course Mia Mottley – after spending time in government as a minister

What are the achievements of Santia Bradshaw,William Dugid,Dwight Sunderland,Edmund Hinckson,Jeffrey Bostic etc having spent time as a constituency representative.

What are their achievements either inside or outside of politics?

On the DLP side Michael Lashley stupendous track record in Housing during his first term (failure to my mind in his second term),

Richard Sealy undisputed success as Minister of Tourism -despite the gibberish from kerrie symmonds;

Chris Sinckler valiant efforts in keeping the bdos dollar’s parity with the U.S. dollar intact – ,the reduction of the national debt, – his success in holding together the various arms of government and ensuring that public servants salaries were met,- our foreign and local debts were paid, – the Hospital was funded, – schools and school meals systems were provided for,

NGOs got their subventions,our commitment to regional and international bodies were met – All done in the face of tremendous pressure as Charles Herbert and his private sector sought to bring down that administration,Mia running up and down overseas along with the private sector saying don’t invest yet – wait until I get in,Commisung running to the Courts and the BLP judges to halt the sale of assets ( of which some of the sales I didn’t agree with nonetheless)

Donville Inniss noteworthy achievement as Minister of health – all done with limited resources unlike the time of plenty under the Blp – achievements like the complete overhaul of the electrical system at the hospital which was in complete shambles,- a face lift to the main entrance of the hospital making it much more presentable and the installation of Customer services reps to deal with public queries

The transition from manual record keeping to electronic record keeping,

The installation of brand new elevators etc etc.

Did these DLP ministers have any many personal achievements before they came in to office? Nothing of note that I can recall – but see how admirably they performed while under pressure – with every major segment of the society – academia – ,business ,media etc – hoping they would fail.

Then look at the former ministers under the BLP who are back in government once more – no personal achievement to speak of – but more importantly – no noticeable improvements while operating previously as ministers of government.
    Yet some on this blog would have us believe that we are in such safe and capable hands with this lot and the last set were all Wild Boys.

Steupes !!!

32. If a week is a long time in politics what is a year or two? Two weeks ago, the odds favoured Donville taking over the reins of the DLP and look where we are now. Mia the once and future leader of her Party rejected by among others today’s top lieutenants in her Gov’t.
    However, it makes good theatre to prognosticate about personalities and events.

@Enuff
    How does that privilege thing work again? There is one commentator who reminded us in light of Donville’s troubles that he is a fisherman’s son, (so perhaps he hung his hat too high) but I keep reminding people that we are all one or two generations removed from the Plantation yard.

33. You people in here carry on about a non issues, just like the non issue with the ross school.

I agree with you it a stop gap measure. DLP will be in the wilderness for at least one generation.
    Any political savvy person would keep they distance for now, do the ground work constituency level etc), and slowly make a move for when they fortunes start to turn around.

Something like what David Thompson did Maschol.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Enuff of Lorenzo duo

It is a good thing that “.. you have no interest in the DLP internal elections or their officers and are only here for the comments.☕…”

Heheheheh…cause you sure know every one of their names, and their functions, like if you are one of the BLP political advisors hehehehdh

Carry on smartly.

35. @ T. INNISS

in less than 3 months they have restored the free university the your DLP tek way from we poor bajans. and they did it under worse economic conditions than when the Ds tek it away.

one achievement so far.

In five years come back and check

36. Oh well..if this is a trend to be also moving though the islands like a wave, it is a good thing, of course Argentina has always been known corrupt country whose leaders will now pay the price as happens in every country riddled and infested. with corruption.

“There is also the corruption and deceit in our politics. In Argentina, ex-minister after ex-minister is going to jail for things they did in office. Only last week the former vice president was handed a 5 year prison sentence for corruption – the former Transport secretary is also behind bars.”

37. T. Inniss
    Applause ! Applause.

So far the read on the blp resume says
    Growth by Stealth
    Glorious tax waivers
    High taxation

38. free uni like Barbados scholarships has had its place and time. whilst achievements should be recognised and lauded they dont have to be rewarded monetarily by Govt. This was started at a time when many Black bajans couldnt afford uni fees and a Bim scholarship solved that issue. in addition it set a standard of academic achievement. nowadays with all this freeness we no longer care. those in need no longer take advantage and it is manly the middle class that benefit.if we were to examine those who got scholarships we will see that their parents could afford uni fees, in most cases or better able to do so than other bajans.

Bim Scholarships should be means tested and given to those have hit the set scholastic achievement mark but cannot afford to go to uni.(if uni is overseas).

university should not be free either (at least not now). we simply cannot afford it.

39. David and Pieceuhderockyeahright

Freundel Stuart has blamed the manipulation of social media as one of the contributing factors for the DLP losing the May 24 general elections and has asked for a regularization of these sites.

David……..you and PUDRYR immediately came to mind……but more so PUDRYR, because of his “not one effing seat” campaign.

40. why in this day and age should uni be free?

41. artax
    re your remarks on mariposa’s moronic mouthings

you must be gine get a aneurysm or guh mad

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE

1- AN ANEURYSM IS BY DEFINITION A CONGENITAL ANOMALY
    2- MARIPOSA IS BY DEFINITION IN ALL PSYCHIATRIC TEXTS ……..ALREADY MAD

IN ADDITION SHE HAS A VERY SEVERE CASE OF MIA DERANGEMENT SYNDROME

42. RE Freundel Stuart has blamed the manipulation of social media as one of the contributing factors for the DLP losing the May 24 general elections and has asked for a regularization of these sites.

FUMBLE MUST REALIZE THAT manipulation of social media CANNOT, AND DID NOT OVERWHELM THE TRUTH

IT IS VERY UNLIKELY IF FUMBLE AND CO HAD DONE THE RIGHT THING CONSISTENTLY THE ELECTORATE WOULD UNDOUBTEDLY HAVE VOTED DIFFERENTLU

IN LIKE MANNER, IF MIA FAILS CONSISTENTLY manipulation of social media CANNOT, AND WILL NOT OVERWHELM OR SAVE HER BROAD BUTT!

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T. Inniss

I sometimes see your potential and then you get really slow of thought

Did you observe the comment of John2?

He said and I quote “…Any political savvy person would keep they distance for now, do the ground work constituency level etc), and slowly make a move for when they fortunes start to turn around…”

Many here have previously told all the 3rd party movements that they HAVE TO GO TO THE COMMUNITIES AND BUILD.

De ole man too has said this multiple times but I also mentioned that Verla’s task is TWOFOLD insofar as she has to build a new DLP community within her decrepit party.

You were doing quite well with your submission when you showed the collective ineptitude of the BLP First Eleven

“…Pray tell me what are the accomplishments of Cynty forde,Ronald Toppin,Kerrie Symmonds,Dale Marshall,George Payne,Glyne Clarke,Joseph Artherley and of course Mia Mottley – after spending time in government as a minister

What are the achievements of Santia Bradshaw,William Dugid,Dwight Sunderland,Edmund Hinckson,Jeffrey Bostic etc having spent time as a constituency representative…”

That was all you needed to say Inniss and then continue to expand on these persons in detail.

You take a machine that you are not using as a primary machine and go to their website and copy the text on each candidate and enumerate their accomplishments.

ONE BY ONE!!!

But you have to leave out Mottley from your derision Inniss

Why is that Inniss why de ole man tells you to leave out Mottley?

May 24th 2018 Inniss May 24th when you lost to Mottley 30 love

But you slow Inniss cause then in your August 13 9.16am post you continued to list the piss poor performers of the DLP.

My man are you ingrunt?

Do not EVAH EVER MENTION DEM FELLERS AGAIN

You really slow but you gine learn.

De ole man gine teach you and de rest of the 3rd party how to attract good menses and womens and mek Barbados great again heheheheh

In the final analysis what must happen is that the calibre of people attracted to the HoA have to come from a stock that is not whores

And while that is hard to do the only way to get rid of filth is to expose it for all to see AS HAS HAPPENED WIGH YOUR PORNVILLE

Do you understand?

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for T. Inniss

45. bajans were duped and bamboozled by Cambridge Analytica and or SCL doing the social media mining for the BLP. Freudel is right. he should know. that is how he won the 2013 election. that bus ad which was crafted by CA

46. Let them bray, hard ears they win hear…

47. @Artax

The blogmaster noted AG reference to social media as well. The relationship between social media and the political class will always be one of distrust.

48. While we discuss rubbish in this blog about rescuing the failed DLP and read the nonsense the chairman writes, 11000 children from across the region have just failed to get any marks in their CXC exams. How many of these were Barbadians? If so, which are the guilty schools?
    While we are wasting public funds paying for university education for some (there are better ways of doing it than free hand-outs), the really unfortunate are suffering at the very bottom of society. One thing is certain, the children who failed to get any qualifications are not the sons and daughters of the wealthy and well-connected. So-called free university education is yet another way of shifting wealth from poor taxpayers to the wealthy middle classes.
    A university degree is a good bet on getting a relatively decent job with a reasonable salary; leaving school with not even basic qualifications means it is highly likely the ‘victim’ (and s/he is a victim of a bad system) will end up being unemployed for long periods.
    When we consider that people have recently graduated from university who were not yet born when Owen Arthur came to power and what a progressive educational policy could have done for that cohort of young people.
    I admire Santia Bradshaw’s quiet dignity and hope she will draft a progressive educational plan for our youths. By investing in nursery and infant education now, in 16 years time we will have winners for the CXC and in 22 yrs tile lots of good graduates.

49. Freundel et al

This too shall pass.

All those persons telling us how hated the former DLP ministers are and how if they don’t listen to the gratuitous advice given by the BLP Moutas – then they will be forever dispersed into oblivion.

If only we could have an objective, honest political scientist to dig down deep into those elections stats it would make for interesting thoughts.

Not peter wickham or George belle – with their political baggage.

When the BLP lost 26 – 3 ,I heard no such lamentation or vitriol directed at the BLP.As freundel stated a total win of all the seats have been achieved before under Eric Williams in Trinidad,Michael Manley in Jamaica as a result of a no contest by the other party and Mitchell of Grenada (and St Kitts?) in recent times .

There are lessons to be learnt from this last election (and some of it has to do with the gullibility of SOME voters) – but all this exaggerated hype about none of the losing parlementarians showing their face again is pure dog jobby.

50. HAL
    THE FACT THAT 11000 children from across the region have just failed to get any marks in their CXC exams. IS NOT THE FAULT OF THE EDUCATIONAL SYSTEMS

IT IS THE FAULT OF
    1- THE STUDENTS FOR NOT STUDYING AND MAKING THE NECESSARY EFFORT
    2 THE FAULT OF THOSE WHO ENTERED THEM FOR THE EXAMS KNOWING FULL WELL THAT THEY WERE DUMMIES WHO HAD NOT STUDIED

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply