It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.” –George Orwell -“1984”

I frequently use the phrase at caption to suggest that an event is not only extraordinary in itself but that it also calls into question the assumed objective reality of previous similar events. I mean, if a clock is going to strike thirteen when there are twelve hours only in the forenoon and the same number after noon in one day, then one is entitled to query what time was it exactly when that clock chimed eight times for instance.

I had cause to use the expression again last week when the news was reported that former Cabinet member in the recently outgone Democratic Labour Party administration, Mr Donville Inniss, had been arrested, charged and indicted in the US with the offence of money laundering the proceeds of a crime committed in Barbados. Of course, under the system of law that prevails in both of the relevant jurisdictions, an accused is to be presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond reasonable doubt.

Hence my retort was not occasioned by any assumption that Mr Inniss had indeed committed the offences that led to his indictment but, rather, by the allegation itself therein that that a local private sector concern had colluded corruptly with a state official to benefit unfairly from a commercial transaction. Muted whispers apart, to what extent is this prevalent in our society and for how long has it been? Or was this merely the misinterpretation of a perfectly legitimate transaction and thus simply an aberration in contemporary Barbados politico-commercial life?

So the hall clock struck thirteen, giving cause to wonder whether all public contracts over the years have been fairly won by private concerns. And to wonder whether other state officials have ever been corruptly active in the award of these contracts and whether it will even be possible to stymie the practice, if it does exist.

Much has been made of the fact that a responsible Minister was allegedly able to play such a primary role in the selection of an insurer for an enterprise governed by a board of directors. I should disclose in his favour, for what it is worth, that Mr Inniss was my line Minister for the three years [2015-2018] I served as Chairman of the Fair Trading Commission and never once in that time did he attempt to influence or interfere with any of the decisions of our Board of Commissioners, not even when we were called upon to deliberate on the compliance with the Fair Competition Act of the proposed purchase of BNTCL by a private concern; a transaction on which the administration of which he was a part then appeared to hang so much hope for Barbados’ short term economic recovery.

The indictment accuses Mr Inniss of money laundering. Essentially, this offence entails in layman’s terms, an attempt to launder “dirty” money by concealing the criminal source of its acquisition and by pretending that it has been lawfully acquired. The strict legal definition is not so limited, at least locally, however. According to section 5 of the Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (Prevention and Control) Act 2011-

(1) A person engages in money laundering where

(a) the person engages, directly or indirectly, in a transaction that involves money or other property or a benefit that is proceeds of crime; or

(b) the person receives, possesses, conceals, disposes of, or brings into or sends out of Barbados any money or other property or a benefit that is proceeds of crime.

For the purposes of this section, a person engages in money laundering where he knows or has reasonable grounds to suspect that the property or benefit is derived or realised directly or indirectly from some form of unlawful activity or, where the person is

(a) an individual other than a person referred to in paragraph (b), where he fails without reasonable excuse to take reasonable steps to ascertain whether or not the property or benefit is derived or realised, directly or indirectly, from some form of unlawful activity; or

(b) a financial institution or a non-financial business entity or professional, where the financial institution or non-financial business entity or professional fails to take reasonable steps to implement or apply procedures to control or combat money laundering.

So far as local law is concerned therefore, money laundering would appear to include any type of dealing with the proceeds of crime so that the perpetrator of any predicate offence from which money or other property is alleged to have been derived may be charged with the offence of money laundering even though he or she did not attempt to conceal its source but simply used those proceeds in an otherwise lawful transaction.

It is at least ironic that the predicate offence on which the Inniss indictment is based is located in the hoary Prevention of Corruption Act 1929 that was much scoffed at earlier this year when suggested as affording adequate protection against corruption. While this in no way to argue that that statute is indeed fit for contemporary purposes, it nevertheless provides for a criminal offence that may be utilized for any proceeds emanating from it to be treated as the basis of a money laundering charge.

I have followed with interest the public discussion of some of the legal issues pertinent to this matter. For instance, some have opined that Mr Inniss was arrested and charged in the US only because he had lost his diplomatic (sic) immunity together with his membership of Parliament on May 24. In fact an MP here enjoys no diplomatic immunity in respect of criminal acts, although he or she is entitled to immunity from arrest or imprisonment on any civil process while Parliament is in session except in certain limited circumstances -see section 5 (1) of the Parliament (Privileges, Immunities and Powers) Act.:

No member shall, during a session, be liable to arrest or imprisonment on any civil process, except for a debt the contraction of which constitutes a criminal offence.”

Another is the degree of calumny heaped, in my view unfairly, on the Commissioner of Police, Mr Tyrone Griffith, for his assertion on the matter, as reported in another section of the press, that “We only pursue matters where we have a complaint and, as far as I am aware, no report has been made to us….”

I do not need or intend to speak for the Commissioner, but I consider that his comments have been regrettably drawn out of context. The offence, on the basis of which Mr Inniss has been indicted in the US, is indeed criminal locally, but given its nature, there is no objective basis for the local constabulary reasonably to suspect that such an offence has indeed been committed here. Clearly, the indictment is based on intelligence to which the charging authorities in the US are privy. However, in the absence of this intelligence having been shared with the local authorities, itself an unlikely prospect since it would amount to an admission of criminal conspiracy from the party best able to do so, the Commissioner’s remarks are understandable. Perhaps the Commissioner could have expressed himself more clearly, but in light of the fact that the crime under the Prevention of Corruption Act is by nature victimless, the reference to a complainant was arguably legally and hopelessly misplaced.

83 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Clock Striking Thirteen”

1. @ David

thanks for posting the evaluation report

this is the biggest failure to me-

“The reality that confiscation of criminal proceeds is primarily pursued under the Exchange Control
    Act (ECA) as opposed to the Proceed of Crime Act, (POCA) presents a major deficiency and in this
    vein the authorities in Barbados have determined the need to shortly promulgate the Proceed and
    Instrumentalities of Crime Bill which will improve the legal framework for seizures, confiscation,
    and asset forfeiture. This presents a limitation to the recovery of criminal proceeds under the ECA
    on the basis that not all proceeds of crime will be money.”

2. Hants..but then she would be shooting herself in the foot, if she wants nonpartisan, non political interference in the police force and the office of the DPP which is a precursor to cleaning up the judiciary…Mia cannot fire them only to replace them with BLP appointees whose hands will be tied, unable to do their jobs, except for what orders and demands are directed at them from ministers etc who appointed them, which will only lead to more of the same….business people interfering in the day to day running of the police force and DPPs office which will lead to more bribery corruption..

That is why the people threw out the last government…they did not vote for more of the same after May 24th, the population has had enough and Mia knows this…this is the defining moment for the Mia government.

There is a federal complaint, the US government is the complainant…the government needs to read the tea leaves and leave the police alone to do their jobs.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch August 12, 2018 12:05 PM

OK JC, we will let you off the legal hook this time by giving you a free get-out-of-jail card this ‘round’ of dealing in order to adhere to the rules of the game called “Political Correctness”.

But for a bitingly bitter word of proverbial financial wisdom:
    A ‘reputable’ commercial bank would never ‘dishonour’ a much-valued customer’s cheque unless it bounces from one hand to the next and then falls flat on its face value displaying the letters “DLM” instead of “NSF”.

We will let you ‘figure out’ what the letters “DML” stand for if not as a brand of unaccountable money unfit for clean dealing in a market of fair exchange.

As an old Wesley Hall boy of high moral repute, and later schooled in the classics, you are more than fully acquainted with the phrase:
    “Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?”

If the Central Banker-who is now calling for transparency in all deals- could not guard the financial laundry machine, who else can, the FIU in a now fully-ripe banana republic?

4. @James Greene

What has informed your view here?

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“……can you name me ONE…just ONE Bajan official who had a life changing moment of fear and future life problems (or even had a really bad hair day🤣) due to their prosecution/detailed investigation of corrupt elites on our island home!…?”

Ammmmm…de late Frank King and a few others but den still living so…..

6. The clock struck 13 when no solution to the Mark Stokes disappearance was found.

It moved to 14 when Pele Parris was murdered.

It was striking 25 when the diplomatic dope scandal raised its hear in 1989 signaling that the GOB had been well and truly infiltrated.

It is back at 12 now that the American authorities have their man.

… and hopefully, it will stay there!!

Donville is involved in a less than 1 million dollar activity.

It is time to look at the BWA where 10’s of millions are involved!!

A lending agency has to source the funds it on lends from somewhere!!

7. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

Barbados wins silver in relay – Toronto, August 12, 2018. Beats Jamaica, U.S.A and T&THaynes Darlington.

8. The United States do not care about any “complaint” or other small formalities of foreign legal system. Just look what DT did to Turkey the last three days.

And Barbadian lawyers argue there might be no bribery? LOL 🙂 It will take the United States one second to extract all necessary information from local companies, QCs, ministers, judges, DPP and COP. Most of them have accounts in the States anyway and must do what the US attorneys demand.

I would also like to point out that the US attorneys presumably went through DI´s whole business including alleged streaming activities and including his customer database. American judges do not like such business … 😉 In a court case all kind of business will be on the table.

9. If as alleged by the Americans a bribe was paid by an insurance company, my question is: “Where did the bribe money come from, if not from the pockets of the the policy holders?

If so aren’t the policy holders the ones being victimized?

All I can can is that after decades of high premiums, by property insurance policy with ICBL is costing me $394.43 BDS LESS as of June this year. And I AM GLAD..

If the Americans have to charge more high level people, from the public sector or the private sector, then I would will be glad if on each occasion I have $394.43 more to spend or to save.

Whenever possible insurance companies should pass extra money on to their customers, especially the small customers like me. They should not as alleged by the Americans pass it on to highly paid Cabinet members, or highly paid company executives.

10. Keeping we bre’k, but we int foolish.

11. @Jeff Cumberbatch August 12, 2018 11:03 AM “I appreciate that every criminal offense that is carried out may victimize the state or its citizens but that does not mean that the victim will know of the occurrence of the offense and be aware that he or she is a victim, as is alleged in this case.”

If what the aaAmericans allege is true, I suspect that i have been victimized to the tune of $394.43 x 28 years=$11,044.04

What can $11,044.04 buy me?

it can pay the carpenter’s wages to install a new roof for me.

Result of not having that $11,044.04?

A decent hard working carpenter does not get a job.

I do not get a badly needed new roof.

Fraud/dishonesty/bribery/money laundering et. are NOT, I repeat NOT victim-less crimes.

I trust that the Barbados Revenue Authority has already begun auditing Donville Inniss’ tax returns, from his first day of work, until the after he is dead and his estate settled.

That is the least that the BRA can do.

And I would hope that they do not need a “complaint” to begin the audit.

12. Northern Observer Avatar
    Northern Observer

I still lean to the idea a ‘former employee of’ and not the ‘private company’ spilled beans. Somebody had to claim the money was ‘dirty’. Otherwise there was nothing to wash.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

There is a danger in being too thorough

Few of your detractors are able to dent your verbal armour.

You have deftly presented the Donville issue within a scholarly capsule without any bias.

Just facts based on the publicized American report of the charges against Donville

You then moved with equal dexterity to address the response of the Commissioner of Police Griffith and what some opined to by inaction of the COP.

I wondered and am wondering though if, had there been a similar disclosure of the charges against Mr Charles Herbert would such have elicited a 13 hours expose given that such a report would have been a similar charge sheet of a party whom one would bot reasonably expect to be thusly detained.

A few here might ask the question about how come you did not comment on the Herbert matter and why not?

I am inclined to believe that, while the two may pertain to persons of a certain ilk you would not have used Herbert’s matter because you would not want to intrude in a local matter and that your highly tuned sensibilities would not permit you to mention his name.

When the role of Chief Justice comes up for replacement it is my prayer that you are selected for that role Mr Jeff Cumberbatch

For you are learnèd in large things but circumspect in small things and such is what we need in this country @ 2018

men who do things because it is the right thing I pray you continued success.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

15. Mr. Greene

So far, your explanation of our criminal justice system and the FIU are correct.

As you correctly stated, the DPP’s office is not an investigative body……

…….but perhaps some are of the mistaken belief the DPP has a “bureau of investigation” similar to the DA in the USA.

16. @Artax August 13, 2018 6:41 AM “but perhaps some are of the mistaken belief the DPP has a “bureau of investigation” similar to the DA in the USA.”

Barbados may not have an FBI, but we do have a RBPF and a DPP, don’t we? But if we continue to say “it isn’t my job” we will continue to end up just where we are now. Foreign authorities arresting our former Cabinet members while their Cabinet seats have scarely cooled.

And “the white people laughing we”

17. “Barbados may not have an FBI, but we do have a RBPF and a DPP, don’t we? But if we continue to say “it isn’t my job” we will continue to end up just where we are now.”

Simple Simon

My mentioning a “bureau of investigations” is not a reference to the FBI.

In the USA, for example, the District Attorney’s office has a “bureau of investigations,” which is comprised of investigators that may provide “supplement investigation in cases or, in some instances, build cases from the ground up. Their work ranges from serving subpoenas, reviewing and preparing criminal history reports, to conducting interviews of key witnesses and identifying and tracking down key pieces of evidence. Investigators assigned to the Special Prosecutions Unit provide similar types of support for cases involving: fraud, public integrity, justice integrity, elder abuse, environmental, and consumer fraud.”

18. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Luminary Mr Jeff Cumberbatch

De granson had composed an article related to the subject matter which you posted on your last blog here.

It will air in due course but it expanded on a question that i had left dangling on that post with a hope that you might return to said question.

Notwithstanding one is led to wonder the following mindful of the calumny that has fallen on the Commissioner of Police regarding the Donville matter and their being no complaint matter.

This subject for which the grandson submitted a pic of the Little Known Charles John speaks to a person whom some believe to be a spy against the people of Barbados.

De ole man was just wondering if DURING YOUR TENURE AT THE FIU? whether you have had reason to interface with the RBPF and if in that time you were able to remark on their technical expertise as it relates to investigations and interdictions for remote monitoring of computers by party/parties unknown.

Even if such level of expertise was not needed nor experienced during your time there, would you gently hint as to if they are “sedulously pursuing tangential competencies” as it relates to ICT investigations, that go beyond rather dispel the much broadcast reputation of Raid and Black Flag lead confessions?

I know that you wont answer that question because of the officer and gentleman that you are but I was just wondering aloud what local capacity exists to investigate what Enuff of Lorenzo will call unsubstantiated confabulation

Ooops I am getting ahead of myself cause the article has yet to be published before you can comment yes?

https://i.imgur.com/LOBFHiv.png

19. The officer then informed Busby – after consulting with an assistant commissioner, who is an attorney as well as a sitting magistrate – (Quote)

A serving police officer? This is a failed state.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hal

Lawlessness abounds in this country. What do you expect when a government agency (National Housing Corporation) moves in and change the locks on rental units for non-payment of rents, rather than comply with the law and obtain a court order before taking action. This is a situation where members of the public follow the example of lawless government officials.

21. @Senator

Is there any light you can shed on the lady and her mother posting videos to Facebook accusing Payne and Marshall of some unscrupulous action?

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I know more than most about the situation which led to these two people defaming Marshall and Payne on Facebook.

This matter arose out of the sale of land of the late Ermine Atwell. She was the widow of Melvin Atwell, attorney-at-law. The two people making the allegations about Marshall and Payne are Ermine’s sister and niece.

Ermine was a recluse who lived alone with her dog, Zena. For a number of years Ermine would call me every Sunday, unless I was out of the island or there was a problem with Cable and Wireless. We would talk about every conceivable topic, one of which was her sister’s and Niece’s efforts to get their hands on Ermine’s land.

According to Ermine’s version, the sister Ieft Barbados in the sixties and did not look back, not even to attend their father’s funeral in 1975. Then out of a clear blue sky the sister returned to Barbados, and only made contact with Ermine by way of a lawsuit to get portion of Ermine’s land that formerly belonged to their father. The sister lost the case.

Ermine was willing to help her sister if she had asked but was hurt and angry that the sister took her to court. As a result, she vowed to me that the sister would get nothing from her and as far as I know, Ermine was taking steps to make sure that the sister would get nothing.

Ermine died suddenly and I don’t know how far she had gotten in disposing her property. I know that Ermine believed in George Payne and Rawle Eastmond but had chosen George to deal with her legal matters.

I did not comment before for two reasons: I was not asked; and Marshall and Payne should be able to take care of themselves.

23. Thanks Caswell, see the blogmastwer’s comment on another blog replying to a ‘low’ remark by one T. Inniss.

http://barbadosunderground.net/2018/08/14/charles-jong-the-big-brother-who-is-spying-on-bajans/comment-page-2/#comment-1067087

24. David

You obviously had that info that Caswell gave all the time – hence you request for his input.

My only comment is that you should have put this out the same way you did today – and shed some day light on this matter.

The only remaining question is – did Ermine give the land to George payne?

I for a very long time – tended to regard Caswell as Someone who – he gine cuss yuh if he has to cuss yuh – but generally -will try wherever possible to avoid untruths.

What yuh see is what yuh get with Caswell and I can respect that.So I take his version of events in this matter.

Thanks BU.

Caswell couldn’t answer the question of if Ermine gave the land to George or if it was properly disposed of – and that is the only thing remaining.

However I can see where rightfully the old lady in the UK would expect to be the next of kin – and next in line to inherit her father’s portion.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

T. Inniss

I don’t think that I would be breaching Ermine’s confidence to disclose what she intended. Ermine’s original will gave everything to the sister but after the lawsuit, she decided to will everything to the RSPCA, where she worked before going to England to study to become a nurse. I don’t know if she had ever completed that will.

26. Caswell

THANK YOU ! ! ! Very Interesting indeed !

27. Jeff,

You should have looked at the US federal law …. 🙁

https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/1956

There is no need to check any outdated Barbadian laws to screw up Inniss in the US.

28. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Tron

Ammmmm let me see if i can say this nicely.

Americans, specifically Americans who are white, and a number of non Americans ARE BEING LOCKED UP FOR THESE $$ offences.

Pornville Inniss IS A BLACK MAN who is in court with 2 or more black men on a charge of money laundering.

UNLESS DONVILLE GIVES UP THE IDENTITIES OF AT LEAST 5 other big wig fellows he is going to get locked up!

It is pure and simple.

If he is released without a sentence IT WILL BE BECAUSE HE WOULD HAVE SNITCHED ON SOME OTHER PEOPLE and anyone who has sent money to the United States or to any country with which the United States has active extradition procedures WOULD BE WELL ADVISED NOT TO TRAVEL TO THOSE JURISDICTIONS FOR A WHILE.

29. Correct.

Five black men in jail instead of one makes lots of sense, provided the AG is called Jeff Sessions.

Somebody wondered why Big Sinck disappeared … I have not seen the Sinck for a while.

30. The US attorneys handle the operation like a zip. Donny is the tool to “unzip” the system.

However, Piece, I hope you are aware that Donny cannot return to Bim if he shames some local “big wig fellows”. His dark private Mercedes E class has no bullet protection and his home no bulletproof windows and doors.

However, Florida is also a nice place to retire.

31. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Tron,

If you commit a crime in the US generally you get deported after the sentence.

So if he does not return IT WILL MEAN THAT HE HAS BEEN INDUCTED IN A WITNESS PROTECTION PROGRAMME

32. We all know what happens to singing birds in the tropics. Better in a subtropical cage in Florida than birdy-bones in some tropical cave in Bim´s jungle or ending as minced meat in the local supermarket …

33. The other ex-minister started the mess with his undeclared money. I guess the local war… eh … law-lords and the syndicate plus the real Barbadian underground know WHO triggered the US law enforcement and turned their eyes to Bim.

So if the thing blows up …they should know where the said minister´s house lives. It was nobody from BU or any gov insider but the stupid minister with his undeclared money. I just want that to document here on BU so the little soldiers from Black Rock do not mix up anybody.

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply