[Barbados Underground] The information shared in yesterday’s press conference by Minister of Energy and Water Resources Wilfred Abrahams that the South Coast Sewage Plant AND the Bridgetown Sewage Plant are in a state of sorry repair- although improved functionality pre 24 May 2018 have been reached- should continue to be of concern to ALL Barbadians.

The revelation that there was no transparency around the procurement process to sink the ‘injection wells’ at Graeme Hall, confusion about the depth of the wells tax dollars paid a contractor to sink…and so on.

Listen to the unbelievable revelations by minister Abrahams.

125 responses to “Wilfred Abrahams’ Press Conference: Disposal Wells NOT Injection Wells, National Crisis in the Making”

1. Kirk Rueladel
    August 12, 2018 9:12 AM

@ John
    The injection well can work, providing:
    1. The effluent is screened properly prior to injection.
    2. The wells are pressurized and monitored appropriately and continuously.
    3. The wells are cleaned periodically to remove the organic soup which will naturally build up from contact with seawater and due to temperature at the base of the well.
    4. It is used only as a short term measure.

Have you taken into consideration gravity and the sheet water below the wells??

Of course the wells can work, if the only goal is to get sewage/effluent off the streets.

They are working!!!!!!!

Now, if we want to keep it from the sea which is the reason we got the three advisories in the first place, they are a waste of time and money!!!!

Which begs the question, who in their right minds would lend the GOB …… exactly how much was lent?

Check the press at the time and tell me if it wasn’t in excess of $12 million.

So if only $3.9 was spent on the wells, what happened to the bulk of the loan?

Same way I can figure out it makes no sense and go to a geologist the lending agency must have access to 10 X the technical know how than I do!!

2. If the minister is unsure of the depth of the wells he could try asking the Nation to see if it could shed some light.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/136916/bwa-injection

3. “Pump testing of a well allows you to get capacity of the well, [this is] the ability to either absorb water or to extract water. We’re going to be doing extraction, so we’re going to start at a very low quantity, then we will go up to what we think is half the capacity, then full capacity, then we’ll go up to what we think is 150-percent of the particular well, and that information we would’ve gotten from the geological data that we would’ve gotten from the initial boreholes,” he explained.

4. 9th March 2018, things seem to have been progressing with the wells …… both from knowledge of the depths and capacities.

5. Seems the wheels have come off the chariot and somebody gotta get the BLAME.
    The rains soon come.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John August 12, 2018 1:56 PM

In light of the palaver of technicalities and partisan political bullshit there is one warning which you guys need to heed ‘tout suite’.

Never mix shit and other human waste with water whether the same water is from sources you get your ‘potable’ supply or in which you bathe along with guests from overseas (tourists).

The same way oil and water do not mix, so too don’t infected shit and the vital but vulnerable potable and near-shore water supply.

As an archivist you must be cognizant of the symbolism of the fountain located in the Bajan Trafalgar /Heroes Square area.

Water in its ‘clean’ form can be a source of Life; but like other paradoxes of life it can be, ‘once contaminated’ the source of its extermination.

The Biblical imageries of Noah’s flood and the necessary baptism of your Jesus must have some subtly important relevance to your myopically technical intellect.

Barbados has been playing a game of Russian roulette with its public sanitation and health systems for a while now. It’s just a matter of time before the chamber containing the ‘black-death bullet’ finds its way to the centre of action (bull’s eye) just like how shit floats to the top of water unless flushed, properly.

The eruption of sewage on the South coast is just the tip of the iceberg as an early warning signal and which could soon blow its volcanic top if not heeded.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ John the Quaker

“…Which begs the question, who in their right minds would lend the GOB …… exactly how much was lent?

Check the press at the time and tell me if it wasn’t in excess of $12 million.

So if only $3.9 was spent on the wells, what happened to the bulk of the loan?…”

Are we to infer that a “Holiday” was had with the other $8.1 million?

Given that the specific amounts being bandied about are $3.9 million this would suggest that a reconciliation of monies spent has already been done.

And IF WHAT YOU ARE SUGGESTING IS TRUE then this may suggest two things

Firstly there is a loan agreement with some ingrunt international funding agency that was silly enough to be duped into that transaction

AND

more importantly THERE IS AN ELECTRONIC TRACK to trace where the other HOLIDAY money was diverted.

De ole man just wondering why dem doan just fire the general managers and the chief financial officers when dese discrepancies are found.

FIRE DEM AND DEN MEK A COMPLAINT TO THE SOMETIMISH COMMISSIONER who says that he doan investigate crimes UNLESS DEM IS REPORTED TO HIM, even if he sees a body riddled wigh bullets and a smoking gun.

John de Quaker when was de last time you had a “Holiday”?

Can you speculate pun who Teets, AFTER HE EXPOSE HE “SINEWS”, may be inclined to lock up wid de 1933 ENABLEMENT Act?

You feller real happy wid dis distraction right? Heheheheh

8. Do human beings really not fit in on earth

9. this seems like another comic book trilogy authored by the venereal “bajan green monkey”. Many new characters, different title, but same plot, The higher the monkey climbs the more of his “sewered” tail is seen.

10. @Guest August 12, 2018 3:19 PM “Do human beings really not fit in on earth.”

Stupssseee!!!!

Bit of foolishness, by some white supremacists who can’t accept that ALL human beings come out of Africa, and that white skin is simply an evolutionary adaption to the lack of adequate sunshine and vitamin D in the northern climes.

Accept it.

Africa is the mother of all humanity.

11. @John Carter August 12, 2018 1:16 AM “The government will be collection over Bds $43 200 000 per year from (80 000 I am told) households.”

https://www.barstats.gov.bb/files/documents/PHC_2010_Census_Volume_1.pdf
    According to the May 2010 Barbados census, page 335, there were 78,936 households. Multiply this by $45 per month per household=$3,552,120 per month, x by 12 months =$42,625,440, multiplied by 5 years=$213,127,200, multiplied by ten years=2,131,272,000.

Probably enough to properly sewer all of Barbados.

12. $5,400. per household over a ten year period, plus whatever is coming from the business sector.

13. @John Carter August 12, 2018 1:16 AM “The government will be collection over Bds $43 200 000 per year from (80 000 I am told) households.”

Add that to the revenue from the approximate 35 million gallons per day the BWA pumps and sells to the public.

Let’s see now.

30-35 mgd in cubic metres is just under 133,000 cubic metres,

365/6 days a year

How much to allow for a cubic metre?

Lets say $3.00.

~ $400K per day …… ~~~$$150 million per year!!

Please check my math!!

Even if 40% is lost through leaks the revenue from the sale of water alone could be ~~ $100 million a year.

Now that is a proper pork barrel!!

14. Does the GSC make up for the unaccounted water for which the BWA cannot charge?

15. Wilfraid Abrahams and Kerrie Sinnermonds have hit the front in the race of spin doctors. What they are prescribing doesn’t square with what neutrals observe. The two of them straining to make the last government look diabolically inept. Its not working. BU’s regular BLp yard fowls swallowing the shoite from Sinnermonds and Abrahams. At the corner of Beckles Rd the woman in red takes a back seat after the Dominican public took a turn in her.

16. William Skinner Avatar

The new court building is sick
    The national insurance building is sick
    White Hill cannot be fixed
    Dozens of TransportBboard buses cannot go anywhere-they “sick” too.
    We could go on and on. No wonder that the sewage crisis has no end in sight.
    The Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party after sixty three years of collective government , have refused to maintain anything and the country is becoming decrepit while they create commissions and find “ah food” for their supporters.
    Out of those sixty three years, fifty two have been during independence.
    Both of these now decadent parties should be put on immediate trial for crimes against the state.
    Over to the firecrackers and the little starlights who freequent BU…………….

17. @William Skinner,

Independence has failed us, or we have failed independence. Barbados is a failed state.

18. William Skinner

So true about the new commissions for friends and supporters.

Kerrie just set up one.

Mia set up one headed by Ralph thorne

19. while trying to go through in my mind the new commissions – post was sent off in error.

So I will return to that later.

I am beginning to ask myself if something is wrong with Mia’s brain that at a time of national crisis such as this with very scarce financial resources – she and her people are governing like – money is not a problem.

I can’t remember where I read the statement that the BLP’s style of governance is to borrow money like there is no tomorrow,waste it on political patronage to themselves,their financiers and some trickling down to their supporters – and in the process they drown Barbados in debt.

While the Dems come in and tax the citizens to death while they try to overcome the mountain of debt.

Other than Tom Adams no other BLP prime minister when they come into office – seek to expand the productive sector or find new forms of foreign exchange earning areas to help develop.Its borrow,borrow,borrow and sell.sell sell.

This last DLP administration found themselves with a load of debt left over and borrowed to keep the country afloat and started selling off the few remaining assets.At the same time they tried to balance it off by taxation which became unbearable.

Watch Muh Mottley straight out the gates started with a whole lot of taxes – while setting a humongous cabinet,nuff consultants and tsars – and now the latest is bare commissions starting up.Wuhloss.

I repeat again -Mia is good at running OPPOSITION POLITCS AND USING GUERILLA TACTICS – but running a country especially during difficult times like this – and keeping it together – is totally beyond her.

Watch She Now and see !

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ T. Innis
    “William Skinner

“So true about the new commissions for friends and supporters.

Kerrie just set up one.

Mia set up one headed by Ralph thorne ”

Let me make it absolutely clear, I see both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party in the same light. This is a position , I have taken since 1970’s. So there is nothing that the BLP doing now that the DLP has not done and vice versa. They place party hacks all over the place both here and overseas. However, from time to time, I do support policy decisions, unfortunately, these are few and far between. I will give you some:
    I supported Mr. Barrow going for independence;
    I supported Tom Adams and the Freehold Tenantry Act
    I supported Mr. Sandiford when he told the Chamber of Commerce that he was not elected in any boardroom
    I now find myself partially supporting Ms. Mottley and the right to free university education. However, I seriously believe it should only be for those who really cannot afford it.

I am nobody’s(Bees/Dees) firecracker or starlight.

Quite frankly I honestly believe that right now with all the seats going to one party, well with the exception of one, that our country needs independent voices and social activists to maintain our democratic traditions. Unfortunately, I fear that many of these voices that were so vociferous and anti- Stuart/DLP may now choose to keep quiet for different reasons. We can only hope that new independent social activists emerge and defend rights against wrongs.

We already have an over abundance of firecrackers and starlights on both sides.

21. William Skinner

I am very aware of your bona fides – and that you are neither B or D.

However I try to evaluate and respond to the substance of what is said

We all know how political parties especially in these more recent years operate – and there are positives and negatives in all of them.However I look at patterns and perceived intent and I can boldly state that this new government does not look promising – especially how they started right out the gate.

And there is no one trying to alert the public as they did for the last 10 years.That to me in the absence of an Opposition is extremely frightening.

22. Hal Austin August 14, 2018 8:18 AM

We are not a failed state! We are a floundering state. Soon to be failed if corrected actions are not taken.

23. Barbados is not a failed state, but more like a floundering state. A fish that is caught in a situation where she has insufficient water to survive. Now as opposed to working together to find deeper water we are 100% busy building gallows; selecting jurors & commissioners and constructing the new courthouse to put on trial “ourselves” for letting the water out of the so-in-so fish bowl. “We got this” or “watch muh” cuz we going it ass-backwards. “If you find yourself in a hole; first stop the digging”. Get yourself(us) into deeper water and then consider the before-mentioned activities..

Just my take.

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ T. Innis

“And there is no one trying to alert the public as they did for the last 10 years.That to me in the absence of an Opposition is extremely frightening.”

Point taken that is why I have no problem with Mariposa.

25. At 12 noon today the Barbados Meteorological Services issued a flood watch for Barbados.