lisa-wardell
Lisa Wardell, President and CEO, Adtalem Global Education

[Barbados Underground] The decision by the principals of Ross University School of Medicine to relocate to Barbados has sparked a debate across the region. The blogmaster sees the decision for what it is, Ross’ owner made a BUSINESS decision to move from hurricane ravaged Dominica to a user friendly – out of the hurricane track – geography.

The more important question Barbadians should be asking is what concessions were given to Ross University School of Medicine by the Mottley government. While in opposition Mottley and team were strident in the call for concessions given to Sandals, Cost-U-Less and a few others be shared with the public. Guess what, the public is none the wiser after being in office for more than three months.

In response to requests from members of the BU family to create a blog space to facilitate debate the blogmaster is pleased to share the letter Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit issued to President and CEO Lisa Wardell of Adtalem Global Education – parent company of Ross University – last month to inform the discussion.

Thanks to the BU family member for sharing!

347 responses to “Ross University School of Medicine Debate”

1. To argue that Barbados should have declined the offer of ROSS to relocate here boggles the mind.

IT WAS DECIDED THAT OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS WOULD NOT BE CONVENED IN THE UWI CAMPUS COUNTRIES.

If it was a decision by CARICOM then the HOGS are exposing their disregard for the institution.

Barbados in theory should not even be in the market for medical schools and ROSS should not even be looking at Barbados for relocation.

We should not even be having this discussion.

2. The only issue here is what, if any, concessions were granted, all the other noise is claptrap from Mia’s political opponents and people trying to impart that they are the smartest people on the block.

3. GP Mia lead a ten year mantra of protest against past govt not being transparent .
    Now the ball is in her court to demonstrate transparency an action she ranted and raved about for ten years and which she needs to deliver as ut represent integrity character and good goverance
    The appreciation factor lies with me in the manner of execution and govts failure to appreciate and understand that Dominica could not afford another economic collapse of 30% of their GDP while under devastating conditions
    Not understanding the reverse Robin Hood syndrome
    All well and good to talk about the Ross benefits to Barbados but no one seems to be willing to filp the other side of the coin and asked the proverbial question what did Barbados give that which would be of benefit to Ross
    All in all the smoke and mirror talking points of the blp supporters would not heal the deceptive and agressive economic action foisted on the Dominician people by Mia
    The effects of a unified community of which Mia spoke has given way to a war of words and division
    Barbados would be for ever known in the Caricom community as a nation of back stabbers who cannot be trusted
    True or false a damming statement which bajans might have to defend when coming in contact with our Dominican neighbours

4. IF you were attacking the issue on the transparency front on concessions that would be fine, but you are not.

5. “Will the students and staff be making demands on our free-at-the-point-of-need health service?”

You are clearly gasping and grasping.

Tuition fees start at US $22,000 per semester and there is also a health insurance fee. I find it hard to believe that young people who can afford those tuition fees at an offshore school, and are covered by health insurance, would be a burden on our polycliinics and hospital. Once again, you have failed to contextualise your argument. Barbados’ health system is not the NHS. Besides, what if they do? The collective VAT, water and sewage tariff and departure tax etc. would more than pay for the very few students who would require health care.

6. “In addition to your comment on NY spots, the financial aid available from US Govt programmes, and their own financing of students, seems to be key.”

They need to be hooked into programs like Pell etc, many of the programs have been cut, but Pell is still around.

7. Ghee i talk about Concession which ties into good goverence all tied to transparency and now you throw a hissy fit
    Ok David send Mia a memo asking her to give details to the public of the agreement between the govt of barbados and Ross and await her response
    However dont hold your breathe cause u might topple over

8. NO, the thrust of your argument, and your sidekick, is about Mia and Barbados taking away 30% GDP from Dominica. Again a bogus number.

9. How the hell after a WHOLE month, can it be possible for the STUPID, MORONIC “tipping fee” introduced by the colossal IDIOT Chris Stinkliar be still in effect?
    On what basis would this be allowed after even a week of BLP winning office?

BushTea are you referring to the tipping fee at the SSA dump? I was under thre belief that with the introduction of the GSC that tiping fee was history. Cause if i paying a tipping fee for rubbish removal i sure don’t want to pay a contribution for garbage removal. is that kinda double taxation (tipping & contribution) to my tree branches.

10. RE Barbados’ health system is not the NHS. TRUE! IT IS BETTER CAUSE EVEN WITH OR WITHOUT INSURANCE YOU CAN GET TO SEE A DR WITHOUT WAITING FOR MONTHS!

“Will the students and staff be making demands on our free-at-the-point-of-need health service?” THIS IS A VERY GOOD QUESTION
    PERHAPS THE SCHOOL WILL HIRE LOCAL DRS TO TREAT ALL PRIMARY, AND SOME SECONDARY CONDITIONS.

FOR OTHERS, THEY WILL PROBABLY BE FLOWN BACK TO THE US IF THEY THINK THAT THE CONDITION CAN NOT BE TREATED HERE

BY THE WAY, A LOT OF MORONS COME HERE AND KNOCK THE QEH AND THE CONTRIBUTION OF THE UWI MEDICAL SCHOOL TO HEALTH CARE IN BARBADOS.

THEY OBVIOUSLY DONT KNOW MUCH OF WHAT THEY SPEAK

11. “Will the students and staff be making demands on our free-at-the-point-of-need health service?” THIS IS A VERY GOOD QUESTION
    PERHAPS THE SCHOOL WILL HIRE LOCAL DRS TO TREAT ALL PRIMARY, AND SOME SECONDARY CONDITIONS.

@GP I think there is a clinic (private) located in the Coverley housing development unless i am wrong or it has been closed down. But close to church and far from god; they may not way to use that clinic if any provider is chosen for health care services.

12. Written in a previous comment “Worse yet, the minister explained that the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) does not know how deep these disposal wells actually are, nor their capacity, as there had been no written contracts found for their construction under the previous administration.”

When it was announced that these wells were to be drilled, Barbadians were told that the wells were to be at a depth that the disposed effluent would not pollute the potable water supply. So if the BWA does not know how deep the wells are, should I not worry that the water supply has been contaminated?

See how fast Ross and others leave Barbados if it is found that the water coming out of taps is polluted.

13. “Worse yet, the minister explained that the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) does not know how deep these disposal wells actually are, nor their capacity, as there had been no written contracts found for their construction under the previous administration.”

I find that so hard to swallow. The Minister is not fuh real. If you really wanted to know this information contact the drilling outfit that sunk the wells. Prove to us “u got this”. Al you are proving to me is that u are as headless the bunch before. The wells were dug lest than 4 months ago. Come on man, the PR stunts are wearing thin IMHO.

14. @ GP

Good one re NHS. lol.

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

This is what is biting them
    ‘While in opposition Mottley and team were strident in the call for concessions given to Sandals, Cost-U-Less and a few others be shared with the public.’
    they (BLP) knew damn well such information cannot (should not) be made public. Soon every business will wish to pay nothing, including those who have paid for years. Sometimes your mouth will get you in trouble.

16. Gaston Brown is doing what politicians do best i.e. blow hot more air in addressing issues. Antigua is facing horrendous problems in rectifying the problems re destruction, rebuilding, accommodating and relocating the people of Barbuda which was essentially destroyed by Hurricane Irma; yet he indicates that he is willing to assist Dominicans who want to relocate to Antigua because of the effect of Hurricane Maria the same Maria that has caused Ross U to relocate (which decision he is criticizing) .

Gaston is protecting his flank, if Barbados insists that LIAT relocate its HQ to Bim since Bim is paying the freight he is going to need all the friends he can get.

17. Shouldn’t the minister be able to pickup a file and see the brief on the wells? Should he not be able to read the board paper presented for approval to the Board? Should he not be able to request the information from the management of the BWA? Why should the minister have to call anybody? What purpose is the BWA GM serving?

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW
    funding is a complicated mechanism beyond my understanding of the US programmes. Their SEC filing deals at length with this issue, across each of their educational subsidiaries. They use terms I am unfamiliar with, and no desire to research. My children have finished Uni !!!

19. Wondered when this point was going to be made. The games that the political class make at the expense of the people.

20. @ BU

wrote”
    Shouldn’t the minister be able to pickup a file and see the brief on the wells? Should he not be able to read the board paper presented for approval to the Board? Should he not be able to request the information from the management of the BWA? Why should the minister have to call anybody? What purpose is the BWA GM serving?”

If everything is viewed from a partisan viewpoint nothing really is fixed! BUT a big butt!

The BWA as the lead agency should know this information. The BWA mangers all need firing if this is true. They are no help to the Line Minister. WTF are these being paid to do; look pretty on the Tv and sound sexy over the radio? The Line Min needs a slap or whatever they get from MAM for coming to the public unprepared and sounding foolish.

So i am to believe that a drilling rig was assembled or rented to dig a well(s) to “what ever depth pleases the operator”? That is simple BS and hog wash mixed together in a nasty cocktail that the BWA senior management is apparently drinking; no more kool-aid for the senior BWA folks?.

Why did they send the test samples overseas if not to establish that i was ok at that depth etc. Fire the lot the BWA GM and all.

21. David Mr Blogmaster, you got some warm lashes dis morn but frankly @Hal’s blows came over as powder puffs moreso than anything else…I just can’t get his condescending attitude towards other opinion makers he dislikes or disagrees with…… It is amazing therefore to hear him accuse you of fawning over lettered folks when he worst on the inverse and disparges folks based on their boasts of education.

It’s the power of the OPINION offered based on supporting arguments …NOT on where the blogger gained his education or lack of!

Anyhow you are absolutely on point…

@Bushie, well stated back there and @AreWe …eh! You definitely seemed a bit too far outside off with an otherside very good delivery 🤣.

Looka, the climate change discourse is clearly Saunders’ hobby horse and he basically makes a valid point that climate change is a factor which corps include re investment decisions…but this is a DUH remark in simple analysis but also significant in our current complex, litigious world.

Simple because, corps always focus on weather, climate etc when they make major capital infrastructure decisions, obviously. Complex, because climate change is a major point of govt debate and investors need to ensure their boards are considering that….blah blah as the diplomat alluded to. … business and commonsense 202 really.

And so back to you David Mr Blogmaster.

Remember, I tweeked your riposte about the sterling communications skills of Ms Mottley and suggested we had abjectly lowered our standards of good PR…and thus far the BLP were basically piss_poor,….of course you do 🤣!

Well this is another example of that.

From ALL you have posted here its UNREASONABLE and IMPRACTICAL to blame MAM for accepting ROSS….however she failed miserably at her PR, despite her supposed vaunted web guru and all that.

Saunders said it perfevtly: “Had she made the explanation on August 3 that she did on August 7, by which time toxic accusations had poisoned the Caribbean atmosphere, there may have been a clearer understanding by all.”

22. Is it a reasonable assumption to make that Abrahams would not have issued such a comment unless he had conferred with his team? If yes one has to assuage information is not available. We need to hear more about this matter.

23. @NO

Opposition politics is easy, its Governing that’s hard.

Who knows why Ross U decided to pull up stakes and leave Dominica? Perhaps they intended to do so all along and Hurricane Maria provided a convenient excuse. You seem to know how Boardroom politics work and they only let you know what they want you to know and the Directors at the parent company knew the politics involved in relocating from one island to another in essentially the same region.

Mia’s job is to ensure that Bajans prosper in a challenging world, if she fails at that she is out of a job so “pretty” words about Caricom matter but it all comes down to the bottom line as The Boss (Springsteen)” sings “We take care of our own”.

24. The Minister is reported to have said that the BWA does not know how deep the wells are or their capacity. If this is not true then all the BWA needs to do is to say “The wells are x metres deep and they have a capacity of y cubic metres.”

25. @David

Perhaps a separate blog is required to address the BWA/Sewage issue.

26. @ David August 11, 2018 12:17 PM

If yes that the information is unavailable we still need to fire the BWA management team.

As far as i am aware we paind consultant hired by The BWA to help or assist in formulation of the decision to sink well(s). I just cannot believe the BWA team not al the ball with information about critical information like well depth or bore etc?

27. Or maybe this is just another PR political stunt? Rile up the citizenry that all rise in unison when you do what u want to do at he BWA? Maybe i am a conspiratorial theorist?

28. Does the fact that the aid was provided by one administration and the Ros’s decision made by another change the blogmaster’s equation.

BTW> I agree with Mia on this, but also believe the islands have to be careful as businesses may play them off against each other.

29. If the blp think that this manner of execution going about stealing the goods of the weak and vulnerable will go away without barbados feeling a similar economc backlash from the region
    Just watch and see
    The mood of the carribbean against barbados agressive action would eventually show up in the caricom consumer purchasing power which will impact barbados goods and serivices
    Remember folks it all goes to serve self interest

30. “They use terms I am unfamiliar with, and no desire to research. ”

No need to hurt your head, I was damn glad when my last one finished Uni, have no desire to repeat any of it.

31. Dominica has an excess of what Barbados needs …… WATER!!

32. Also Ross actions should be called into question
    After reading the complete details and the Dominican govt going all the way out to accomodate Ross in the most gracious almost giving into their demands which cost billions of dollars acting on first perference for Rosss
    Ross in turn sitting eyeball to eyeball with govt and agreeing tgat all was well but knowing that they were already in negotiations Mottley
    Mottley must have known all that Dominica govt was doing to accomodate the demands of Ross
    However nothing economical or in terms of humanity _both which would cause further stress on the landscape of Dominica would deter Mottley
    What a dam shame

33. RE Who knows why Ross U decided to pull up stakes and leave Dominica? Perhaps they intended to do so all along and Hurricane Maria provided a convenient excuse.

UNTRUE. ROSS HAD JUST MADE A LARGE CAPITAL INVESTMENT JUST BEFORE THE HURRICANE OCCURRED

THE PM OF ANTIGUA WOULD OF COURSE HAVE LOVED ROSS TO RELOCATE BECAUSE HE KNOWS WELL THE EFFECT THAT AUA HAS MADE TO THE ANTIGUAN ECONOMY SINCE IT STARTED TO OPERATE THERE

34. Cannot resist the hypothetical, would Ross have relocated to Barbados had the DLP retained government?

35. AC
    YOU ARE BEATING A DEAD HORSE HERE

MIA HAS NOT DONE ANYTHING WRONG HERE…….NOR HAS ROSS. BOTH ARE LOOKING OUT FOR THEIR INTERESTS.

I AM SURE ROSS HATED TO LEAVE DOMINICA

ROSS IS ONE OF THE FEW SCHOOLS THAT HAVE PUT DOWN SERIOUS INFRASTRUCTURE IN ANY OF THE HOST COUNTRIES, AND THEY MUST HATE TO GIVE IT UP, CAUSE IT IS UNLIKELY THAT THEY CAN GET IT SOLD FOR CLOSE TO ITS MARKET VALUE

ROSS WILL BE A BOOST TO THE ISLAND ALSO BECAUSE THOSE WHO DROP OUT OF ROSS– AND THERE IS A VERY HIGH ATTRITION RATE THERE- WILL BE ABLE TO GET ON BOARD AT ONE OF THE OTHER MEDICAL STOOLS ON THE ISLAND, WHO WILL BE GLAD TO HAVE THEM

SO THESE LONG STAY TOURISTS INSTEAD OF SPENDING TWO YEARS WILL SPEND A LONGER TIME IN BARBADOS

36. RE Cannot resist the hypothetical, would Ross have relocated to Barbados had the DLP retained government?

PROBABLY. OFFSHORE SCHOOLS ARE ONLY INTERESTED IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT FROM THE POINT OF VIEW OF HOW WELL THEY CAN BE ACCOMMODATED. THEY ARE NOT INTERESTED IN LOCAL POLITICS OR LOCAL POLITICIANS

MY MAJOR BEEF IS THAT LOCAL POLITICIANS IN THE HOST COUNTRIES ARE NOT MAXIMIZING THE POTENTIAL BENEFITS THAT THEY SHOULD BE EXTRACTING FROM THESE STOOLS. THERE IS VERY LITTLE SYMBIOSIS, IF ANY…….ONLY PARASITISM.

37. This notwithstanding, GEL should explain to its shareholders
    – the principal business purpose of the yacht
    – why this asset seemed to be under the control of non-executive staff
    – whether the routine use of the yacht was for business purposes or pleasure
    – the net benefit of the yacht to GEL and its shareholders

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/184426/herbert-steps-goddard-chairman

38. YES mia has committed the cardinal sin of not loving neighbour as self
    Barbados economic situations is bad a given
    But Dominica is worst
    The last piece of morsel to sudtain along with billion of dollars to accomodate all lost
    Mia is Wrong wrong to aggressively back stab her friend .
    I will never change my stance .

39. https://www.dominicavibes.dm/readers-249012/

Facts facts and more facts why Mottley is Wrong

40. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Sir Fuzzy 12.25

You asked and I quote “…Shouldn’t the minister be able to pickup a file and see the brief on the wells?…?

Among the 96 question online survey by the BLP as they sought to (i) secure the IP addresses and machine details of the respondents (ii) sought to determine the depth of their PR penetration locally and internationally and (iii) sought to deliver a payload to bajans machines there was a comprehensive description of the Drainage Unit as one of the departments that they are seeking to close down

This exerpt available on the internet reads “… Drainage Unit: belongs to the Ministry of Transport Works and International Transport is responsible of digging and maintenance of drainage wells, construction of dams and permits for drainage works….”

Now granted that the operative word is drainage BUT, and do forgive this ole man my idiocy, why would it not be that their remit was or is not also these coterminous wells?

I will migrate this comment to Wilfred Abrahams blog so as not to detract from the substantive issue here

41. Why are people wasting time discussing anything with know it all Englishman, Hal Austin. He wears donkey blinkers. Makes one wonder…….

42. Amm when is the blp going to call a PR stunt to quell the long days of backlash which states barbados has a PM who takes away from small island economic progress to feed her homeland
    When is the Blp govt speak on the issues of concessions given to Ross
    When is Mia going to try to stand up and speak to the issue of Ross which has broken the spirit of unity and cause division amongst the caricom nations
    Heard many other heads of Caricom govt are sympathetic to Dominica problem and have extended an helping hand
    All it took was two months in office for Mia to divide the Caricom community
    What a dam shame

43. If Mottley can give better concessions than Dominica it boggles the mind as to where she would get the money and how much would come out of the taxpayers pocket

44. Do you understand that Dominica is a hurricane ravaged country? Have you visited Dominica in the last year? Did you read GP who opined that Ross would prefer to remain in Dominica where it had invested significantly in the plant?

45. Did GP read the complete story of Ross interaction with the Dominican govt for many months whereby Ross gave the Govt positive response to staying in Dominica( not a mention of the Hurricaneby Ross for wanting to leave was said to govt) in so much that govt belived Ross and spent millions of dollars on infrastructure and renovation and techincal soft ware via telecommunication equipment
    You think if Ross had indicated to the Dominican govt throughout the interaction process that they were not staying govt would have spent so much money in the rebuilding of those things necessary to accommodate Ross
    The hurricane story is a bunch of lies put to together to prop up a crooked story
    Not buying it
    The fact being Mottley lies hsve been exposed and her grand schemes of enticing Ross was one of big concessions which Mottley refuse to disclose
    In some of the news report it shows a timeline where Mia and Ross interacts during the Dominica ongoing talks with Ross wherby Ross makes a decision in a shortened period to leave Dominica
    The word Hurricane is used as a cover for Mia and Ross

46. You will never agree because you see Mia. You will be seeing red for a while.

47. You see David the
    Hurricane story is all a cooked up cover between Mottley and Ross which. could be easily exposed for the lie
    Starting with the ongoing meetings between the govt and Ross wherby Ross agreed to staying ( nothing in reference or brought forward by Ross to indicate that Ross had an intent to leave because of the Hurricane). Skerrit letters never made mention nor was any mention during the required agreements between Ross and the Dominica govt that spelled out the hurricane as a cause for leaving
    If Ross had made up their mind for leaving because of the Hurricaneane dont you think they would have been honest in their dealings with the Dominica govt and state such reason empathetically which would have saved the Dominica govt taxpayers money and resources not going towards necessary expensive accomodations for Ross
    Do you belive that govt would have gone down a path of wasted finiancial resources for nothing which has resulted knowning Ross was leaving

48. re You think if Ross had indicated to the Dominican govt throughout the interaction process that they were not staying govt would have spent so much money in the rebuilding of those things necessary to accommodate Ross

THE DOMINICAN GOVERNMENT DID WELL IN SPENDING MONEY TO RESTORE SERVICES TO PORTSMOUTH AND ITS ENVIRONS……….WHETHER ROSS RETURNED TO THAT AREA OR NOT.
    WHEREAS THE DOMINICAN GOVERNMENT MIGHT HAVE SOUGHT TO SERVE THE INTEREST OF ROSS AND ENCOURAGE THEIR RETURN TO DOMINICA, . THEY HAVE RESTORED CERTAIN SERVICES TO PORTSMOUTH AND ITS ENVIRONS, WHICH IS GOOD FOR THE CITIZENS OF THIS PART OF THE COUNTRY uh lie?

You cant fault the Dominican government for doing its duty

49. @ Mariposa

Your hatred towards MIA is devouring you, seek help, asking senator Franklyn how he got relief .

Leave a Reply to sirfuzzyCancel reply