lisa-wardell
Lisa Wardell, President and CEO, Adtalem Global Education

[Barbados Underground] The decision by the principals of Ross University School of Medicine to relocate to Barbados has sparked a debate across the region. The blogmaster sees the decision for what it is, Ross’ owner made a BUSINESS decision to move from hurricane ravaged Dominica to a user friendly – out of the hurricane track – geography.

The more important question Barbadians should be asking is what concessions were given to Ross University School of Medicine by the Mottley government. While in opposition Mottley and team were strident in the call for concessions given to Sandals, Cost-U-Less and a few others be shared with the public. Guess what, the public is none the wiser after being in office for more than three months.

In response to requests from members of the BU family to create a blog space to facilitate debate the blogmaster is pleased to share the letter Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit issued to President and CEO Lisa Wardell of Adtalem Global Education – parent company of Ross University – last month to inform the discussion.

Thanks to the BU family member for sharing!

347 responses to “Ross University School of Medicine Debate”

1. John raised a good point……twice…… so far.

Ross University had to be contemplating it’s relocation efforts last year……or probably two years ago……and with the “influx” of medical schools coming into Barbados over the past few years, I won’t be surprised if Ross did not approach Ronald Jones some time prior to the May elections.

Additionally, it isn’t by coincidence that Haloute built a Chefette near Coverlet.

Perhaps Mottley should reveal all information pertaining to this Ross deal…… Mariposa may be in for a big and shocking surprise.

2. @Artax

You could easily have added that Maloney is building more of those prefabs to the highway side of the compound. It would have takes weeks to mobilize this project which probably started from the last government.

3. are you guys trying to tell ac that there is more in the portar than the pestle?

well you wont get through
    the woman has a sensory aphasia
    she is not receiving certain stimuli to her brain

4. David BU

What is also surprising is that with all the “song and dance” Mariposa is making about this issue, especially as it relates to “bullying tactics, economic aggression, stealing 30% of Dominica’s GDP etc……..

………..there is a “deafening silence” coming from George Street on this issue.

Surely if there was something truly untoward about Ross’ decision to relocate to Barbados…… this would be a perfect opportunity for the DLP to give their opinions.

However, the only DEM keeping noise is Mariposa.

5. HOW CAN THE DEMS TALK ABOUT THE ADVENT OF ROSS? THESE FOLK BROUGHT IN A BOUT FIVE OTHER MEDITAL STOOLS
    AC IS NOT ONLY A DEM SHE IS A DUMBOCRAT

6. The only thing bold and shocking coming out Mia mouth would be the truth
    A truth which she would find hard to tell when all the necessary dots are connected to the Ross Barbados location starting at points of agreement between Ross anDominica govt to remain and at which point did Barbados enter the picture and if and when did Mia tell Skerritt about the Barbados negotiations with Ross

7. Georgie Porgie

Obviously, Mariposa’s view on this issue is based on political rhetoric and not common sense.

However, if Barbados had professional journalists……..rather than ” news writers and news readers,”…….they would have ventured to Dominica to interview Skerrit and the officials from Ross…….

………so we can have the truth……and prevent people from jumping to stupid conclusions because it serves their political agenda.

8. Say what wunna like AC has a singular ability to rile up people on this blog. I thought Skerrit’s letter would have put the kibosh on the thread but here it is still going this many comments later. There may not be an Opposition in the House – sorry let me correct the record- there is token Opposition in the H of A but AC like a pit bull ain’t letting go of this or any topic where she can stir up emotions of the apologists for the Gov’t.

9. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right August 15, 2018 12:25 AM “@ Dr. GP and Simple Simon. There is a particular area in the US where notwithstanding the USMLE, there is now a ammmmmm predisposition for these students because Americans are opting out of taking up job openings but because of the endemic need one is seeing nuff non americans.”

As always upper class people tend to get the best picks. So if your daddy and mummy, and grandparents graduated from Harvard Medical School, and you do as well, very likely, you won’t have to wait long for a big pick. So foreign trained doctors, and foreigners who are also foreign trained doctors basically have to take what they can get, at least initially. So these doctors begin in poor areas, areas with lots of poor recent immigrants, areas where poor indigenous people live, areas where poor black people live etc. serve in marginalized communities, prisons, places with high rates of HIV, TB or other infectious diseases. Some of the best will rise to the financial top. Some because of their commitment to serving the poor will spend their lives serving poor people. They won’t become rich, rich, rich, but will still make a decent living.

Had a relative who spent half or her career doing directly observed treatment of people with TB, ncluding recent immigrants, poor people, ex-cons, homeless people, people co-infected with HIV and TB etc.

It is valuable work since it keeps the rest of us in good health.

10. The Skerritt letter can not heal the disgust the people have for Ross Skerritt(himself) which in the Dominicans mind made Skerritt look like a sell out
    Also the disgust they have for Mottley abilty to betrayed their trust in a moment of weakness
    Now Mariposa can understand all of the above and it distrub my sensibilities when people get on this blog and try to attack my message based on politics..when all my comments are based on a Judea Christian teaching to love your neighbour as you love yourself
    Also do good unto others with the same measure of goodness you want for yourself
    However there are those who would rather used a two prong political self serving code to attack rather than a moral persuasion upon which i lay my comments for the Ross barbados issue

11. JOHN WHEREAS OLD MAN ROSS AND THE FOUNDERS OF ST GEORGES SET OUT TO AND BUILT GOOD SCHOOLS FROMN THE GROUND UP, I HAVE NO DOUBT THAT SOME OFF SHORE SCHOOLS ARE LAUNDRIES

++++++++++++++++++++++

Ross and others are more than likely reputable so they should tread carefully when entering this nest of vipers that is Barbados!!

Let vipers deal with vipers, that way they will never get their money clean.

12. 5:29 PM

The Dominicans are ready to send Skerritt packing so much for his peace and brotherly love letter
    I hope Mia has a house at Cloverly left for him to rest his weary soul

13. @Artaxerxes August 15, 2018 3:06 PM “Ross University had to be contemplating it’s relocation efforts last year……or probably two years ago……and with the “influx” of medical schools coming into Barbados over the past few years, I won’t be surprised if Ross did not approach Ronald Jones some time prior to the May elections.”

Did any of this had anything to do with the sudden closure of the Alma Parris School?

Freeing up space kinda thing?

14. @Sargeant

Her head is hard. She opposes for the sake of it.

15. Good job Mariposa.
    Whilst others are hiding, you are taking the battle to them.

16. Not here looking for pat on the back or accolades i speak on this issue because in it lies deception! tampering and the kind of politics that breeds corruption
    Here after 1 week and half the govt does not have an ounce of decency to be transparent on the issue of concessions to Ross
    Ross medical university while in Dominica availed itself to all kinds of concessions
    So one would assume that concessions would be part and parcel of any barbados agreement as a guarantee for Ross to relocatte to Barbados
    The question remains speculative with some knoweldge pretaining to tax waivers and security guarantees by barbados for student acesss to Cloverly

17. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

De Ole man is of de opinion that these sorts of investments augur well for Barbados.

I again suggest that Prime Minister Mottley uses this opportunity to deepen a partnership with said Caricom Member State that would seek to promote a cross territory NIP (National Indicative Project) which would attract regional Indicative funding

I also will continue to use this specific blog to promote the removal of the Coverley Island that took the Life of Abijah Holder 3 years ago.

Abijah was just 11 years old and i think that his death SHOULD NOT BE FORGOTTEN nor should the isle that killed him be allowed to stand

But this is certainly how “Mia Cares” as she and her Attorney General Teets Marshall uphold the law and allow people to own what is theirs (or some foolishness like that)

https://i.imgur.com/zdZZZNV.png

18. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

https://i.imgur.com/ucQJg5x.png

The Grandson Corrected the Image

19. Mariposa,

Are you from Dominica? Just asking.

20. “……….Judea Christian teaching to love your neighbour as you love yourself
    Also do good unto others with the same measure of goodness you want for yourself…..”

Mariposa….yuh lie……you are one of the individuals who mentioned you do not believe in God or Jesus…….

.,………and I’m sure Georgie Porgie can confirm this…..

And now you’re resorting to quoting Scripture?

Look…….the saying goes that “GOD don’t like ugly,”…….. perhaps you should wrap your head to hide the weave and that mug……👹

😂😂😂

21. ARTAX
    AC JUST PARROTING A FEW VERSES SHE HEARD SOMEWHERE

THE DUMBOCRATIC LABUR PARTEE (NOW ON THE WAY TO BECOMING DEFUNCT & BURIED) BROUGHT IN 5 BOGUS MEDICAL STOOLS, INCLUDING TRANSFERRING ONE FROM ST MAARTEN……..BUT WE DID NOT HEAR A WORD FROM AC………..NOT ONE SINGLE WORD!

MIA BRING IN ONE ….AND ALL HELL BREK LOOSE BY AC ONLY

DOES AC KNOW THAT MEDICAL SCHOOLS HAVE BEEN MOVING FROM COUNTRY TO COUNTRY FOR YEARS?

E.G ST MATTHEWS TO THE CAYMANS FROM BELIZE 2001
    ANOTHER SCHOOL FROM NEVIS TO BELIZE 2002
    ANOTHER FROM ARUBA TO DOMINICA
    OTHERS FROM ST LUCIA TO ANTIGUA LAST YEAR
    AND WE CAN GO ON

22. But Barbados is the first on the list where Ross medical univerdity is to to be relocated acussed of having no moral compass but resort to the politics of taking. from the bootom of the political barrell and poaching from a weak member state

23. Yardfowls will always put party loyalty above country. A Barbados yardfowl in particular.

24. @ GP
    ACTUALLY Graeme Hall Spring GIVES OFF CLEAR CLEAN WATER
    IT IS LOCATED WELL AWAY FROM THE MAIN SWAMP ON HIGHER GROUND…
    ++++++++++++++++++
    You know that…
    Bushie knows that…
    David (BU) knows everything…
    BUT…
    What odds would you take that Mariposa thinks the spring is just north of the sluice gate…?

25. David you need to keep mouth you have revealed yourself to be the biggest hypocrite with a disregard for a moral conscience and having a voice reveal it respect human dignity
    The latest revealation says that Mottley never said any thing to Skerritt about her negotiating with Ross
    Yes Barbados needs a jumpstart to reviving its dire economic problems but taking what little your friends have is called back stabbing

26. @ Artaxerxes August 15, 2018 3:06 PM

John raised a good point……twice…… so far.

Ross University had to be contemplating it’s relocation efforts last year……or probably two years ago……and with the “influx” of medical schools coming into Barbados over the past few years, I won’t be surprised if Ross did not approach Ronald Jones some time prior to the May elections.

Additionally, it isn’t by coincidence that Haloute built a Chefette near Coverlet.

Perhaps Mottley should reveal all information pertaining to this Ross deal…… Mariposa may be in for a big and shocking surprise.

Maybe we have reached a point in this country where the release of information should not be a govt decision; “perhaps as u stated above”. Any citizen that finds it interesting or pertinent should be able to request the information; not having ot wait on a line minister et al. The Freedom or Information Act(FOIA) and the associated FOIA request; should have being the first piece of legislation the BLP put through as opposed of the “integrity legislation”

Furthermore why not make it a part of the constitutional amendments; we already did one in quick-time.; after all its it “Govt. of the people by the people for the people” or something like that? You got 29-1 in the Lower HoP it should be a breeze to make something like this happen i quick-time. Or maybe “watch muh procrastinate on such a measure” lol

27. This govt has made a tactical decision to reveal only that which is palatable to the masses hence the PR stunts loaded with koolaid that leaves the most gullible in Awe and asking for more
    Not me ! What i see in those PR stunts are nothing that govt have adress which are conclusive with factual information that adds transparency to govt decisions making
    Hence almost two weeks later the guessing game of how Barbados acquired Ross and concessions granted are left for the people to figure

28. Here is the epicenter of the Ross barbados story for Ross relocating at 45years in Dominica as told by Ross and MiaMottley
    Hurricane Maria
    Sounds pausible but not palatable
    Firstly the negotiation periods for agreements between Ross and the Dominica govts does not give a plausible reason sufficient and enough to conclude that Hurricane Maria was the reason
    However what can be concluded isbthat Hurricane Maria is being used as a lie and a cover to protect the integrity of Ross and the Barbados govt

29. https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/08/14/govts-gamble/

$138 million in missing taxes!!!

That means somebody got a lot of $$ to launder because the GOB is short!!

30. But how does any one hid the fact that the govt of Barbados poached 30% of Dominica GDP under the guise of business adventure
    How does one hid the fact that in pursuit of the 30% Mia Mottley considered Skerritt to be a Friend
    How does one over look the fact that a portion of the Dominca economy which was taken is tantamount to piracy

31. The BU community knows your head to be hard but the blogmaster will keep trying to debunk your feeble attempts to mislead. The following link extracted from the ECCB website shows a breakdown by gdp contribution for Dominica. What do you see? You have no credibility these days on the blog. In case you are not aware the ECCB is the Central Bank for the Eastern Caribbean which includes Dominica.

https://www.eccb-centralbank.org/statistics/dashboard-datas/

32. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

John August 16, 2018 12:37 PM

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/08/14/govts-gamble/

$138 million in missing taxes!!!

That means somebody got a lot of $$ to launder because the GOB is short!

They say “watch muh” I am watching cuzz i want to see if you gine collect every cent of the 138,000,000 that u say is due the govt.

Please don’t bring no accounting gimmicks that the average man can not understand as proof. “show us the money” cause we “watching yuh”

33. David are you calling those in charge of the ministry if Finance in Dominca liars
    You pasted numbers to debunked that the govt of Dominica are presented false economic numbers to the public to mislead the public on how much GDP barbados govt removed from the Barbados
    How could you be even calling me a liar when the 30% were the numbers quoted by Dominiica govt
    What boldfaced audacity on your part.

34. Where has the government of Dominica quoted 30%? Post the link.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

My turn
    Why do you even bother?

36. He bothers because he wants to run cover for this PR govt

37. Waiting for the link.

38. The AC – Mariposa, actually a ” Maripokey”, need the attention and response from BU community to get through a day, and feel alive.

39. David is it you again

The reason why you bother because you know that an unfair disadvantage was taken of the people of Dominica by Ross and Barbados
    The reason why you bother is realising after the fruit was picked it was spolied and rotten to the core and the hands that did the picking were hands of deception

40. Now you David want to start a tug of war about numbers
    In any case if you had a real conscience you would not have ventured( into) trying to play the numbers game
    However it is sufficient and safe to say whatever the number it was a valuable assest (enough) for the Dominica govt letting Ross stay for 45 years
    So please take your unconscienable and self serving position and head for a bush bathe donkey

41. http://dominicanewsonline.com/news/homepage/news/business/commentary-ross-university-and-its-economic-impact-on-dominica/

This is worth a read an analysis of the impact Ross relocation would have on the Dominican economy
    The fact being the numbers being high or mid ground does have a severe impact to the Dominican economy

Bear in mind my stance is regulated to the immoral incompetence of a barbados govt who feels no responsibilty for the suffering of Dominica plight in grabbing much needed revenue from one of the biggest islands revenue contributor

42. How can any one read the above link and not feel a sense of Empathy
    NO!
    However David can find it necessary to dig deep down inside his empty soul and start a tug of war about Dominica GDP numbers insinuating that the amount of GDP barbados govt remove was not much
    I Would not be surprised if David belive the amount taken should not matter
    The link tells what in social and economical contribution Ross contributed to Dominica all now taken away because of “a friend” who thought it best to steal in the disguise of business

43. Ross University School of Medicine

Ross graduates are eligible to practice in all 50 States & Canada. 94% USMLE Step 1 first-time pass rate in 2017. 14k+ Alumni Network of MDs.
    https://www.facebook.com/RossMedSchool/videos/10212808307187136/

44. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

On a tangential note of seeming inconsequence

I respectfully suggest that the parents of Abijah Holder pen a letter to Lisa Wardell, President and CEO, Adtalem Global Education explaining the matter of the death of your son at this Coverley Premontory

Seek their kind consideration of this matter and ask them to make representation for the removal IF NOT THE CORRECT ADJUSTMENT OF THIS ISLAND on our highway.

THey have alot of leverage with the Government of Barbados and, given what Mariposa considers their poaching status, they would be able to succeed where Bajan citizens have failed.

In fact it would bode well for this entity to have an official opening with the parents of the late Abijah for the newly designed entrance to the Ross facility

Maloney, let justice prevail!

If you have children too then you understand what it is to lose a child, ASK BJERKHAM he can tell you

45. Since Bjerkham, the Norwegian, did not stand trial, we do not know is he lost a child or got rid of a child.

46. Here is a message making the rounds on social media:

SKERRIT STEWED IN BAJAN POT.
    PM ROOSEVELT SKERRIT has a lot to answer about MARK MALONEY, DOMINICA STRONG and PRECONCO LTD. Skerrit gave Preconco Ltd, owned by his very good Bajan friend Mark Maloney a no-bid contract to build 1400 pre-cast houses in Dominica after Maria. We are now learning that Maloney is also the owner of Dominica Strong and has contracted Trinidadians to run the business in Dominica. Coincidence?
    In fact, a few days ago, Dominica Strong fenced the 2.14 acres of land that Skerrit bought from his in-laws at Morne Daniel. More Coincidence?
    ROSS UNIVERSITY will be utilizing the Villages at Coverley, Barbados owned by Mark Maloney as housing for students. Extra Coincidence?
    A couple of weeks before becoming PM of Barbados, Mia Mottley questioned why so many contracts were being given to Maloney by the previous Bajan government. Because Maloney was a thorn in the flesh of Mottley’s Barbados Labour Party for several years. Now Mottley and Maloney are strange bedfellows to bring ROSS over to Barbados. Extreme Coincidence?
    Preconco Ltd can not come to Dominica as scheduled because Mark Maloney has to complete some of the buildings at Coverley to be ready for Ross University to commence formal classes in January 2019. Super Coincidence?
    What is the real connection between ROOSEVELT SKERRIT and this very controversial Barbadian businessman, MARK MALONEY? Why are Trinidadians fronting Mark Maloney? Was DOMINICA STRONG given a contract to fence SKERRIT’s land? Or was it Kickback for the boldface, in your face act of nepotism between Skerrit and Mark Maloney? Was SKERRIT aware that ROSS was moving to Barbados and would be utilizing the buildings owned by his friend, MARK MALONEY? How soon will PRECONCO LTD commence construction of pre-cast houses in Dominica? How much deposit was given to Maloney to start these houses?
    This is further confirmation that SKERRIT knew that ROSS UNIVERSITY was leaving Dominica and did little or nothing to stop it. We need to find out how much MARK MALONEY paid ROOSEVELT SKERRIT to become selectively DOOTISH during the exit of ROSS? We have to keep asking the tough questions and demand prompt and factual answers from SKERRIT. We are tired of hearing from his operatives. He needs to answer to the Dominican public, ASAP or he will get a dose of his own “Heads Up”.