Prime Minister Mia Mottley supported by Attorney General Dale Marshall are scheduled to hold a press conference at 4:30PM today. The event will be streamed on social media.

Here is a recording of the press conference. The PM was a no-show.

190 responses to “Prime Minister Mia Mottley and Attorney General Dale Marshall Press Conference”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

i recall up to a few months ago, the former PM referring to the ‘continuing challenging economic conditions’, a line which he had milked for years. Have you heard it recently? Or is that the BLP ‘fall back’ position?

2. @PUDRYR
    Earlier my reference to you being right was for the exact scenario that you painted of why the stream was carried through the BLP website rather than BGIS.

These people think that by being elected they are overly smart and we are stupid.

3. there are categories of crime. some crime can be investigated with the CoP or the crown or the Govt of Barbados or whichever technical term they use in Bim, as the complainant. Then they are others crimes that have to have a virtual complainant the correct term by the way. anyone can complaint by the virtual complainant is the person who has the standing in law to complain.

for example, a house may be broken into and property stolen and that incident may be reported to police by an occupant of the house, say a child. for the initial purpose the child can be a complainant but the owner of the house and owner of the property stolen must become the virtual complaint and complain in the form of a written statement for that matter to proceed to court. if the child who first reported the incident is not the owner of the house and had no property stolen, beyond the initial report that child has no standing in law to press matters any further.

yes police receive tips about drugs etc.. for drugs the crown etc become the complainant becos it is a contravention in law against Barbados at large and not a specific individual. the same for murder for obvious reasons. a tip about drugs depending on the nature of it would see police do surveillance etc to build a case. police just dont go and arrest a person right away based on a tip unless that tip is very good and something on which they can rely legally

crimes against the person generally need a complaint who in this case is the victim of the crime. in recent years there has been a move to have the crown become the complainant in these matter especially when it involves spousal abuse but that is fraught with problems too. often when the matter gets to court even though there is medical evidence of an assault the victim often does not given evidence against accused or says that they have solved their issue and they do not want to go ahead with matter. the matter is kicked out.

fraud, corruption etc by their very nature need a complainant in as much as somebody needs to tell the police what and how it happened and furnish evidence and or information. how else would the police proceed?

in this matter at hand it is alleged that Donville may have accepted a bribe which is against an act in Bim. without the person who did the bribing how do the police go about investigating. can the police turn up at ICBL and ask them to provide evidence that ICBL bribed Donville? of course they can but what do you think would happen?

to the other matter of Donville giving contracts which again maybe contra to the said act, how do the police go about investigating without someone reporting to them that Donville did give those contracts for a cut (bribe) and furnish evidence of that. who has done that thus far?

it seems to me that the Feds has evidence from one of the bribers or an associated party. it is highly likely that person is a US citizen which enabled the Feds to squeeze that person for information against a PEP- the bigger fish. in typical Fed fashion they did a top down investigation becos with a US citizen they could literally threatened to throw the book at them for a myriad of offences like M/L and tax evasion etc if that is present here and other FCPA offences. such person squealed and the Feds milked them and who better to get evidence from, than a co offender.

4. I don’t know what shite I was watching on my tv tonight.
    Why was this so-called press conference called?

Why did citizens have to watch it on the blp political party page.Remember when many on this very site complained about DLP ministers talking about govt policies etc at Constituency branch offices?

So what are you saying now eh?

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing tonight.First Mia was a no – show.Then the conference was scheduled for 3:00 p.m.,then 4:30,then 5:00 steupes.The A.G. dale marshall seemed to want to insert himself and the gov’t into the donville matter and to milk it for all its worth.
    Why would you call a press conference to announce to the world that a matter involving a minister and a private company for $36,000. is engaging the attention of the investment community the world over.
    Really now Dale Marshall? Really!

Which countries are we speaking of?

Who are they speaking to here in Bim?

Isn’t this just another attempt to keep this talk of corruption and the dlp ministers and therefore the govt ain’t got no money to do nuttin narrative – burning?

It is crystal clear that Mia Amor Mottley had one plan – and one plan only.That is to win the elections and become the first female prime minister.After that its all Vodoo Economics – and this country is up a creek.

The people will slowly but surely recognize this.You could only use the DLP as the bogeyman for so long.

5. The DLP is the worst party ever to form Government anywhere in the World and other places. JUST ASKING has always maintained this position -The worst worst worst , the worst ever not only in Barbados but the Caribbean , the World and other places. This is Fact. JUST ASKING has always challenged everyone to name a Government worst than the DLP.. JUST ASKING asked the questions Why Vote for the DLP. The people of Barbados acted stupidly in 2008 and even moreso in 2013. Didn’t JUST ASKING maintain this ?
    JUST ASKING, The DLP is a Blight to Barbados –JUST ASKING always made this statement
    Astor Watts said yesterday that Donville ‘s situation tainted the party – taint Barbados too
    The sooner that Party disappear the better. The Barbadian public should never allow that Blighted party anywhere round politics. Any group of persons who may want to be opposition to the BLP should form their own party. Any members of the DLP 30 and under should join with such persons . These 30s and under should pull themselves far away from that party as possible. DEMS THEN: DEMS NEVER EVER APHUCKINGEN THEN .

6. Could these questionable claims by dale marshall be a preemptive move to blame that donville matter for any fall out from International Investors for Mia defaulting on Govt’s loan payments?

There was nothing news worthy about that so-called press conference.Nothing at all !

The govt is probably hoping that this would shift persons’ attention elsewhere – away from discussing the Ross Medical School matter – and what concessions were given – and whether Mia was discussing this even while she was opposition leader.

Away from the downgrade to Junk because of the default.hmm

It is clear that Dominica is not a happy camper!

A deal of this magnitude involving the type of logistics required could not have just been started in the first week after elections and completed a couple weeks after.

Something smells fishy about that and I think this is why Dominican ministers of government and the legal advisor to Skerritt are coming out and talking.

Skerrit better start asking Avinash persaud (his financial advisor) – some hard questions.

7. Excerpt from a novel I would write if I was so inclined.

If the Government Minister accepted a bribe he should be charged and punished.

The persons who were involved in the “conspiracy ” and paid the bribe should be charged and punished.

When the Donville saga has satiated the ” lock him up brigade” you can turn your attention to the Business leaders who bribe politicians to get government contracts.

I hope you all listened to Marshall and his mention of shredders.

I bet that there will be increased electric bills from the spike in ” shredding “.

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T. Inniss

You said and I quote “…Then the conference was scheduled for 3:00 p.m.,then 4:30,then 5:00 steupes…”

Let de ole man help you here with an item I was going to try to blog on.

Thus is an excerpt from Oath which appears on their page BEFORE YOU CAN BROWSE

“…Before you continue…

AOL is now part of the Oath family. Due to EU data protection laws, we (Oath), our vendors and our partners need your consent to set cookies on your device to use your search, location and browsing data to understand your interests and personalise and measure ads on our products. Oath will also provide personalised ads to you on our partners’ products.Learn more about our data uses and your choices.

Select ‘OK’ to continue using our products, otherwise, you will not be able to access our sites and apps. Select ‘Manage options’ to set your data use and sharing choices. For more information and settings, go to Privacy Centre…”

The time for the interview by our so called Attorney General Teets Marshall who is stretching his sinews IS TO ENTRAP MORE OF THE VIEWING AUDIENCES FROM AROUND BARBADOS AND THE WORLD

Whereas streaming from certain websites are bound by disclosures the BLP website is designed to peep in your systems and DOES NOT “…need your consent to set cookies on your device to use your search, location and browsing data to understand your interests

Now wunna see the hypocrisy of Mia Cares when she insists that all government employees must use official government email BUT SHE IS EXEMPT FROM GHIS RULE AND IS USING THE BLP WEBSITE TO SPY ON BAJANS

BUT SHE SAYS “WATCH MUH NOW…” and Senator Caswell AND Senator Chantyl and the man who has my job Bishop Father Reverend Joseph Atherley (Enuff of Lorenzo duo tell me so) ent got a clue bout dis spying and we ingrhnt Commissioner of POLICE say dat unless dere is a complainant DERE IS NO CRIME BEING COMMITTED.

If a tree falls in the woods AND THERE IS NO ONE THERE TO HEAR IT, does the tree make a noise?

If a crime of data incursion is being committed against the citizens of Barbados by the Attorney General and the Honourable Prime Minister Mia Cares AND THE COMMISSIONER OF POLICE HAS NO COMPLAINTS has a crime been committed?

Steupseee…

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item related to why the press conference was delayed the capture more viewers while pretending to clear the air on this matter

10. the us indictment is all the evidence the cop needs to launch his own investigation, the fact that co-conspirators may not volunteer information is nothing new that’s why we pay him, otherwise ever crime would require a confession, and there would be no need for a judge and jury. the ag called the press conference to tell the cop to do his job since he cannot as he said “instruct the cop”. marshall has said it all 1) the offshore international banks, insurance companies etc. are getting heat for being domiciled in a country where the former minister has been indicted for taking bribes, they will move rather than be black listed so we have to pretend to care, it just looks bad that we don’t pretend to care about corruption 2) cop i have already set this investigation up for failure, you don’t have to lose the file this time, the public now know “it will take years” and “punishment under our law is a “misdemeanor” 3) donville “i wish you the best” despite your stealing from the people of barbados, this is nothing personal but as you were so stupid to use a us citizen and a us bank to launder your money i have to look like i am doing something 4) chris, michael, david, no need to be scared and run this will all blow over soon, you know how short bajans memories are, look how sweet leroy living with his 3mil., this is all a dog and pony show for the international/offshore industry. NO MINISTER/CIVIL SERVANT/BUSINESS PERSON WILL BE CHARGED NOR CONVICTED OF PAYING/TAKING BRIBES IN BARBADOS.

11. The Truth and Conciliation commission of Dale Marshall needs to go back to when he was AG under Owen Arthur. Who were the public officials with millions in Miami banks? Millions discovered by the FBI and contained in a file on Arthur’s desk. Arthur later walked back the statement he made on the matter.

The project Marshall under Owen said was in US$ when the country thought it was BDS$ needs to be clarified. Shine the light of transparency on them Marshall.

12. T. Inniss,

You are right. If Persaud is an adviser to the Dominican government, and to the Barbados government, and the Chinese man Jong is an adviser to the Dominican government and to the Barbados government, then something is not right. Both men must have had some discussion before this re-location, in any case, it makes the ethical case against even stronger.
    The prime minister should have turned her back against this economic stealth. It is still not too late to do so. She must also make public whatever sweeteners she offered Ross to move to Barbados. She must not do these things in our name. You do not kick your cousins when they are down – but then again the Dominicans would not be cousins to Persaud and Jong. Just collateral.

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Barbados last hope would be Innis only if he spilled the beans.”

Best statement ever made.

Commissioner talked crap, his office, just like the DPPs office have discretion to prompt the police to investigate any matter without complainants..they can launch and investigation now by questioning ICBL bosses about what transpired with Inniss….and if the company wants to pursue the matter locally now that there will be no more political interference by ministers of government.

They would have to be the only police in the world that needs a complainant to investigate law and order matters….steuppppss.

14. The blogmaster will pose the following questions again:

1.Why was the Prime Minister promoted to deliver the press conference supported by the AG which never materialized? Was there a clarification question posed by the reporters?

2.Why did BGIS cancel the stream on the government portal.

15. William Skinner Avatar

The question is: Who will guard the guardians ? This should occupy the mind of all Barbadians at this time. Who will put a thief to watch a thief ?

A white corporate big shot charged with trafficking drugs…………no blot on corporate Barbados because all the rest of them clean.

A Black politician charged by USA authorities for accepting bribes ………an entire country, according to the AG, will take years to recover………..

Open your eyes people

16. Why was a government press conference carried on the ruling party’s website but not by the government information service? Was Mr Jong involved in this decision?

17. My eyes are wide open
    The AG talk nuff sh.itt yesterday. Some of the s.hitt was so obvious most compose of covering presrnt got a.ss
    His opening remarks made haste for me to take a look at those countries where govt officials were charged with all kinds of irregularties while in office and where investors confidence did not stop but continue to invest in those countries
    The Bahamas comes to mind
    This was another fire wall placed in front of the peoples face as protection for the blp who has no remedy or solution for creating growth
    Hence going forward blame Inniss
    Wuh loss muh belly

18. I also noticed in his few minutes when he remain on his rehearsed script he spoke on point
    But the moment he tried to interject his own views he mumbled and fumbled while figuring a way to get back on script
    It was obviusly in those moments when AG seem to be lost in his view to present His opinion that the Press conference was driven by two horses
    AG and Jong

19. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with an item here thank you

20. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mariposa

You see the same thing that some of us see but unfortunately you cannot interpret signals properly because…well. let me leave it there.

AG Teets Marshall DOES NOT HAVE A SCRIPT!

Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mia Mottley HAS THE ONLY SCRIPT in this game DO NOT GET TIED UP.

All of these fellers are yard boys to her will and therefore will read from her pantomine.

END OF SCRIPT (no pun intended)

21. The public like the fact that this Mottley government seems comfortable in public interfacing activities, this is good. Especially if compared to the former Stuart government that was the opposite. What Mottley and team have to improve is to ensure relevant information is being transmitted to not compromise the public perception.

22. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Exactly Honourable Blogmaster

She cannot allow the arrogant Teets to spearhead her message and Covenant.

Either he is told “Dale what the ef you are doing? You understand that I want to be seen as a soft dictator AND WHAT YOU ARE DOING is giving away my agenda?”

“Look how I get up pun stage and try to wuk up to show “Mia Cares” and here you is talking wid you eyes wide open and shoing the whites of you pupils AND SCARING PEOPLE WITH YOUR DELIVERY!”

“Man if it was not for the fact that Edmund and Ralph want to be Prime Minister Bad Bad (Donville Jailbird tell me so) I would replace your badword!”

“You mean every day I gots to be doing everything by meself???”

23. @ David August 10, 2018 6:32 AM

There is a fellow blogger on here called “Talking Loud and saying Nothing”, I would like to borrowed his “name” on this occasion.

Yesterday’s Presser was an AG ‘Talking Loud and Saying Nothing”. In all honestly I could have spent those minutes that i used to listen to him doing something else. As I said yesterday a BGIS media release would have done a better job.

If this was all about a PR event then be careful you may over stay your welcome at the podium.

JMT

24. sirfuzzy
    August 10, 2018 6:52 AM

There was very good reason for it. Remember, Barbados is now at the behest of international lending agencies.

It must therefore be done and seen to be done, that improper acts are dealt with accordingly.

Anyone who thinks that yesterday’s operations are still acceptable, is in for a rude shock.

And yes, as I said before, some people still do not get it.

Anyone who the international law enforcement wish to attend to, they will have.

A few phone calls, a couple of signed orders to address any legal concerns and it will be done.

People do not seem to understand the position that Barbados is in.

25. The Commissioner of Police made it very clear that he will protect his DLP-brother Inniss at ANY COST. So will possibly the DPP.

I know there are many pro-DLP-lawyers on this forum telling me that you need a formal “complaint” to start investigations and that the DPP “can do nothing”. I was even accused when I raised the issue of a possible credit fraud committed in the Credit Suisse case. With such lawyers, you can run a banana republic, but not a legal system with the rule of law.

As I told before, there is a DLP-conspiracy against the new government called Barrow´s Deep State.

26. If we follow the DLP-logoic of the Commissioner and his supporters on BU, there is no chance to investigate a bribery case ever, since neither the parties of the bribe nor the DPP will ever file in a “complaint”.

27. Anyone who thinks that Mia is going to put any individual above the well being of Barbados?

A lot of people must be worried now.

No wonder xxxxxx was so adamant that he did not want her there.

I now understand. Took me long enough.

He well knew that Mia would sacrifice any crooked individual for the good of Barbados.

Enlightening.

28. @ Crusoe August 10, 2018 7:02 AM

It must therefore be done and seen to be done, that improper acts are dealt with accordingly.

Anyone who thinks that yesterday’s operations are still acceptable, is in for a rude shock.

And yes, as I said before, some people still do not get it.

Is this a case of the monkey showing his tail. I am a bajan and we kinda deserve where we are now. “Hard ear you wont hear …. own way u gine feel”

Over the decades we promoted and welcomed bad behaviour of all types from all segments of society with the calls for reform or corrective actions falling on deaf ears.

It is what it is. But it could have been sure better if we didn’t(allowed) do what we did?

29. sirfuzzy
    August 10, 2018 7:10 AM

Agreed. The thing is, anyone who pushes against this current tide is going to get a surprise. Mia needs the international agencies like we need water on a hot day.

And their requirements will determine actions.

30. @Crusoe

SirFuzzy is on the right track. The content of the press conference did not merit a full blown press conference, it was padded with stuff to give it body. There is an argument that the international reputation has taken a beating and therefore some defense may be called for, what was put up yesterday by the AG was fairly unspecific and amorphous.

31. Mr Blogmaster, you said: “The public like the fact that this Mottley government seems comfortable in public interfacing activities, this is good. Especially if compared to the former Stuart government that was the opposite.”

Read that slowly and roll the words ‘seems comfortable in public interacting…’ across your tongue to let them sorta simmer and tell the blog if you don’t bite ya tongue 🤣!

Do we realize how ridiculously low our standards must have fallen if we are applauding a government for SIMPLY keeping its citizens abreast of important news done by the ministerial servants of the electorate!

These folks speak with an eloquence that is impressive on platforms, in court and all bout de place but here we are giving them props simply because they schedule a presser as compared to the deliberately uncommunicative former sdministration which often didn’t.

SORRY, Mr Blogmaster no can do. The DLP is not the standard for PR in govt…playing so so club cricket at Empire cannot guide our expectations for a clash at Lords of test level teams!

If one measures this activity on any reasonable PR metric this was pure pappyshow….and oh incidentally I checked y’day and it appears the BGIS did eventually carry the live stream …or so my peeps were I formed.

In addition to your other queries I would also ask this: why schedule the press conference to clash with the cabinet meeting. A minor query really but the AG mentioned that in his preamble giving the impression that (1) there was something so important to share that a presser was called, (2) other unexpected and supposedly important matters prolonged the 30 member cabinet confab and (3) that the PM was deeply involved in those things and not able to attend.

All in all bare boo (to coin another blogger)…

Incidentally to @Pieces and your point on ‘who is on first’🤣 or as you guys said controlling the script I ask this: which leader does NOT control the messaging of her govt. Ah well, I gone for now.

32. @Dee Word

One has to water the plant before expecting fruit?

33. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“If we follow the DLP-logoic of the Commissioner and his supporters on BU, there is no chance to investigate a bribery case ever, since neither the parties of the bribe nor the DPP will ever file in a “complaint”.

They try to wear you down and out with their stupidity…standard operating procedure, what they dont get because they spent decades wallowing in inertia….is that as long as the AG says his office is not allowed to interfere in police investigations AND he said it publicly…..it immediately untied the hands of the Commissioner and freed him from political interference from government ministers in police affairs and investigations….as I have said…black people tend to not know when they have been freed….he is now free to investigate not only the Inniss affaif but all issues related to insurance ci0ompanies on the island and the decades of accusations of bribery, fraud, corruption, money laundering, blackmail, extortion, gun and drug running, INTERFERENCE WITH THE SUPREME COURT PROCESS AND VICTIMIZATION OF CLAIMANTS and human trafficking that have been leveled ad nauseum at some of executives of these insurance companies….complaints that the commissioner himself received in writing.

Let’s see him saying he never got any complaints now.

The commissioner got to used to calls from government ministers and other politiciansv telling him not to investigate and not to touch certain people…hope he remembers how to do his job.

34. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service
    August 10, 2018 7:27 AM

May be we will soon be wishing the Commissioner happy retirement.

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Commissioner needs to do his job to keep his job …Cruseo.

There are more than enough white collar criminals and their crimes to investigate, as as long as he starts, people will come forward, they have had enough of these executive criminals sitting in their towers and in their stores directing criminal enterprises and cartels without fear of prosecution and prison time…of which the Commissioner was also warned….IN WRITING.

36. you know that somebody in Govt especially to do with the contracts Donville is supposed to have given to ICBL in exchange for the alleged bribe could file a complaint.

but continue talking stupidness

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Greene…the commissioner now has to do his job….or lose it…tek dah.

38. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service
    August 10, 2018 7:38 AM

Not to worry, seriously. I am only now beginning to get what Mia meant when she said ‘watch muh’.

The carte blanche of Ship Rider may not exist, but there is such a thing as permission. Don’t mind all the rubbish written by some, that it cannot be done.

Two key things to remember. Barbados NEEDS the international agencies right now and for the foreseeable future.

Secondly, MIA is going to put Barbados above any one man or collective.

This has the potential of being a watershed moment.

I think we should, as they say, ‘watch this space’.

39. Piece in my earlier comment I attributed some of AG statements as those “rehearsed”from a script. I never said AG had his own “script”
    I also made a reference to an observation where i took notice of AG putting his two cents worth of opinion when he was off script
    Who has the scriot or who writes the contents of these PR expeditions would lead to speculation
    However one cannot help but observe that there is another communication voice whose intent is to put up a fire wall using a well planned and design smoke and mirrors to fool the people while protecting and covering the mistakes of the govt
    Two months into this govt reign and any mistake made mention by this govt is met with outrage by the blp supporters
    Now we are seeing the blacklash of not having an opposition to keep this govt on the straight and narrow Barbados is on a dangerous path of becoming a totalitarian state in its embryonic stage beginning with present govt always giving a well planned scripted version of their Truth under the guise of PR a stunt usually form out of propganda used in dictatorship
    The sadness of what is being revealed is their is no opposition voice to refute govt version of facts.
    How is it yesterday no mentioned was made of the drug haul wherby the Head of the private sector was charged of which all and sundry would be aware that the private sector has commercial ties to the international business sector and it would have been relevant to show no biasis on govt part to protect Herbert from criticism

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Exactly…dont mind them with shiprider nonsense…while you do not want to give US criminals a free pass to commit their own crimes on your soil…when there is a need for JOINT COOPERATION…you do not under any circumstances..
    not cooperate…particularly when you as a country and your people are so vulnerable financially and need help because white collar criminals took over your country and destroyed its reputation in the last 20 years…you do what is necessary, ask for whatever help you need to get rid of these criminals.

Mia is not dumb…she knows what needs to be done to move forward.

41. @ Crusoe August 10, 2018 7:12 AM

Agreed The thing is, anyone who pushes against this current tide is going to get a surprise. Mia needs the international agencies like we need water on a hot day.

And their requirements will determine actions.

In a perfect world yeah. that will be the call to arms. But in our imperfect world they will be those who thread the needle. There are so many nations under IMF styled supervision where the corruption has not ceased. Usually It just means we(the nation) stay under supervision longer; but the corruption does not end.

There is an economic belief out. It says “give the rich the money as they have proven how best to make the money work for them(the few) but not necessarily the many. As part of the IMF medicine what amended economic model will Barbados have to follow. will this model automatically pick winners and losers by the way it is structured? Who will be now be better placed within the economy to take advantage of the restructuring?

For an example take this scenario. Company X go thru a competitive bidding process and wins the govt contract. However to the curious or well informed onlooker the govt appears to be “over paying”? But al is above the board? We al followed the rules; just that the winner was already chosen?

Or the contract some how manages to end up over budget. But everything looks OK, but are these deliberate actions to get additional money for “bad behaviour” that got them the contract in the first place.

The IMF cannot police the greed and relentless ingenuity that human possess. Corruption like water flows into every nook and cranny. We need water but we dot need corruption. The choice is truly ours.

JMT

42. suppose a Govt policy is that to get small black owned business going it will allocate certain contracts to small black owned business on a no bid basis? is that corruption?

43. https://www.dominicavibes.dm/readers-248914/

Dominica continues to fume at Mia .while BU continue to remain silent on the story
    What a dam shame

44. Playing devils advocate for a bit here.

“Jury of one’s peers. n. a guaranteed right of criminal defendants, in which “peer” means an “EQUAL.” This has been interpreted by courts to mean that the available jurors include a broad spectrum of the population, particularly of race, national origin and gender.”

“A jury trial, or trial by jury, is a lawful proceeding in which a jury makes a decision or findings of fact. It is distinguished from a bench trial in which a judge or panel of judges makes all decisions. … Only the United States makes routine use of jury trials in a wide variety of non-criminal cases”

The above is 2 of the main tenants we rest on when persons come before the court on criminal matters.

Now who will make up “your peers” to sit in the jury in the following scenarios.

A) If you are a white bajan that happen to be wealthy and connected?

B) If you are an ex-pat non-national that happen to be rich/wealthy?

C) If you are a well connected Bajan of any hue that happen to be wealthy?

D) If you are an ex-pat non-national that happen to be not-rich/wealthy?

E) If you are a bajan that happen to be not-rich/wealthy?

All suggestions are welcomed?

45. By: Julius Caesar

I listened with a heavy heart at the even heavier voice of Prime Minister Mia Mottley of Barbados seeking to explain the proverbial backstabbing of Dominica for thirty pieces of silver.

The video footage, the face of Prime Minister Mia Mottley has left me, and many other Caribbean nationals most disturbed by such bad judgement.

Mia the Novice

Prime Minister Mia Mottley stated in a dismissive tone that “the Government of Barbados was approached on this matter (of the Ross university relocation to Barbados) on May 31, 2018 within a week of forming the government”.

This is an admission that she was a novice Prime Minister who had tasted the reins of power for less than one week. Her first art of negotiating with a multi-national corporation was to “horn” Dominica in its marriage to Ross University and to deal a most fatal blow to this long and mutually beneficial relationship.

Irresponsible Decision Making

Mia Mottley is an experienced lawyer who must know that every story has two sides.

From her own account she was courted by Ross University on May 31, 2018. She then had a conference call with Ross University on June 1, 2018 to have a number of matters clarified. Then Mia Mottley states, without shame, that she sought to enquire of the state of recovery and rehabilitation in Dominica and whether there was anything she could do to fast track the progress of rehabilitation in Dominica.

This is total gibberish and utter nonsense.

First, Ross University is not the Government of Dominica. Why does she ask Ross about the state of recovery and rehabilitation in Dominica but not ask the Government of Dominica?

46. why is the Govt contemplating allowing non bajan firms to bid for central Govt contracts? why not take care of your first? i hope this doesnt fly cos it makes no sense. i can see where it happening where no bajan firms operate in the particular space.

47. @sirFuzzy

Is there a reasonable expectation that Barbadians should bid for contracts in outside markets? Then you have our answer. Mia seems to be attempting to expand the common market/trade space in her role as lead for CSME. Again Stuart did nothing on this front.

48. @ James Greene August 10, 2018 8:20 AM

Suppose a Govt policy is that to get small black owned business going it will allocate certain contracts to small black owned business on a no bid basis? is that corruption?

Good question? its the administration of the award of the contracts that requires the inquiry? The IMF i guess would not be pleased if no-bid contracts are only going to certain entities due to some “other non-professional arrangement” between the awarded and the awarder

49. @ James Greene wrote ” why is the Govt contemplating allowing non bajan firms to bid for central Govt contracts?”

If it was the DLP we would say it is because it is easier to collect your ” finder’s fees ” but this is the squeaky clean BLP so it must be for the betterment of Barbados.

50. how is allowing a non bajan firm to bid for and presumably get central govt contracts beneficial to Barbados? and i say that tongue in cheek.

Leave a Reply to MariposaCancel reply