The following video is shared with the BU family as a public service. The questions that follow from the appointment are obvious. The blogmaster does feels that to fully discharge what is on his mind the following must be said – the more things change, the more they remain the same.

#yuhlie!

93 responses to “Former Minister Ronald Jones Appointed Vice Chancellor, Bridgetown International University”

1. We have adjusted but the consequences?

2. David August 9, 2018 10:11 AM

@sirFuzzy

And the consequences?

Germany fought the UK and USA in 2 world wars(European wars). The USA and France and the Russian et all were the Allies. Japan Italy Germany the Axis etc. The USA fought the USSR and China and Vietnamese in the Vietnam war. The USA fought the North Korean and Chinese Russians in the Korean War. Gee whiz its a muddle and foggy as hell. Today the USA and France and UK Italy and Gernany and Japan, South Koreans are considered allies. The Russian and Chinese not really allies. The Vietnamese has diplomatic relations with USA and trade is at at an all tine high.

The driving factor is trade how to make money and trucks loads of it if possible. In those conflicts many died. many civilians died because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time. During those conflicts the citizenry could not see a time when the opposing side could ever be a friend or trading partner or ally. Germany France and Italy are the big players in The EU, UK was also a big player. etc. The USA and Russia are not to friendly but in WW2 they were necessary allies. Iran was once a friend of the USA today not so friendly.

3. Jean

Yuh ain’t lie!! He called Jonesing illiterate and i near pee muhself. He duz call MAM evahting including Mugabe too.

4. @sirFuzzy

Do you ignore that there is always a tipping point where the ability to adapt maybe elusive?

5. August 9, 2018 10:43 AM

We have adjusted but the consequences?

Pls tell me what u see as consequences?

6. The consequences could be that we see adaptation as being a corrective action? Given all that you have described and the fact that life continues anyway should we be satisfied that this is the best we can do? Then why advocate, why be unsettled by events, why not mind our business the end.

7. David August 9, 2018 10:49 AM

@sirFuzzy

Do you ignore that there is always a tipping point where the ability to adapt maybe elusive?

Tell me personally how do u know when u have reached that tipping point?

We are told that we success by hard work. However how many news stories are carried about ppl that work so hard but never achieved success. Almost zero. In other words the lie we were told that did not materialise in their life is under reported.

How many of use did the right things followed all the rules; played by the book etc but still lost the race?

Honestly we usually don’t know the tipping point until we reach. The self seeking and self serving “ethos” of the greedy, says we push all the boundaries until something collapses. Break all the rules; bribe and suppress et al. The end justifies the means etc.

After achieving this we often change the structure to put in concrete the bad ways in how we got to the destination. The winners usually get to write or rewrite the history books or the rules of engagement to be followed in the future.

My pet peeve; CEO compensation. The rules were changed once the CEO that broke or bent the rules made things happen for his organisation. Was it a fluke that his organisation did well? Only god knows. Then to make it all look legal the rules for the road where changed to codify the bad behaviour that was pursued.

Today we have come to accept lock stock and barrel the CEO compensation models that however if u look backed 30 years did not exist. Are these companies better managed than 30 years ago may be irrelevant; but the invester want their ROI at any cost. Unfortunately they are some investors that only succeed it if the company’ shock price falls(shorting). Usually the opposite of what the CEO is there to do.

(Shorting, or short-selling, is when an investor borrows shares and immediately sells them, hoping he or she can scoop them up later at a lower price, return them to the lender and pocket the difference)

8. David August 9, 2018 10:57 AM

My gut tells me that we as humans only fully adapt to change when we think we will come out ahead or better than if we don’t change. Otherwise change and adoption change will be resisted.

9. Are we not discussing this matter in the context of geopolitical and global economy? If you accept that this can be defined as the sum of individual human activities then the current state of Caribbean economies should support a good argument we have reached the tipping point. Debt to gdp highest in the world, those that are at acceptable level have paid a human price. Can the ability of individuals be appraised absent the global state of affairs. We cannot continue to do the same things all the time and expect different result. To borrow a word from Miller a stasis state is where we seem to be comfortable.

10. What does this waffle mean? By the way, the US has a current account deficit of US$21trn. Plse remind me which is the largest economy in the world?

11. @David
    You would have us ignore the happy marriage between former education minister that approved the coming of the medical school and his recent appointment?

++++++++++++++++++++++

The new Integrity Bill should address this, make it punishable for any Minister (or senior Civil servant for that matter) to accept a position at any Corporation that has done business with their with their substantive Ministry within three years of their leaving office.

Of course, this will be in the Bill right?

How do you like them coconuts?

12. @Hal A
    The minister is a former Financial Times journalist. Tells you something about journalists turned politicians. For the first time in my life I find myself backing the vicious Saudis. Canada is trying to punch above its weight. It is a middle ranking country and should stay as such
    You don’t want lawyers to be politicians or journalists among others but reform prostitutes make the grade. I would bet you don’t have a clue what this is all about (go ahead now and google) but the Canadian Foreign Ministry put out a tweet asking SA to respect the rights of a political prisoner whose family is resident in Canada. That’s what responsible countries do e.g. the US has just requested that Turkey release one of its citizens that it has recently freed from prison only to confine him to house arrest, I would expect Britain to do no less, but you want to take your usual swipe at Canada without any evidence.

Go ahead and support he Saudis, it had a public beheading followed by a crucifixion yesterday, I hope when you rail against the terrorists in London you reflect on who is supporting them.

13. The Prime Minister and AG to hold a press conference at 3pm today.

14. Send Ha, Ha to Saudi Arabia.

15. With Mr. Jones being the person to to approve the BIU being established in Barbados and now hold a VP position there, I am wondering if this constitutes a bribe , isn’t unethical? and isn’t pro quid pro quo illegal? What does the law state?

Who are the other local principals?

16. It goes without saying, of course, that the genuinely laugh-out-loud comic opera of Bajan politics is stunning. Not yet quite as utterly shite as Venezuela, where tragedy abides, jokes are few, and the spectacle of Barbadian public figures defending tyranny is pathetic. But, doubtless, on the way.

17. I would advise Hal Austin, the know everything, to take his fat arse outa we politics. He is British and we Cajuns stay clear of them limey shenanigans.

18. bajanfreeparty Avatar

So he helps the Minsters with their Math and Law? How to take and do fraud? what an education, < Well Mia just want to make sure none of her DLP friends will be held by USofA lawmen of Justice, Mia found seats for all 30 Ministers and now she will find a place for the last 14 to hold a Passport so they will not be held by the USA on charges? Owen might even need one, But the first day of Darkness will get them all,,,

19. bajanfreeparty Avatar

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE BU Family “Welly”, of course, tells THE ENTIRE WORLD that he “will not shed a tear when Tel Aviv is finally flattened and wiped off the map.”

VERY VERY SORRY FOR BU Family “Welly” CAUSE IT AINT GOING TO HAPPEN ACCORDING TO THE PROPHET EZEKIEL

21. Sargeant, ,

Where or when did I say journalists should not be in politics?

22. Which idiot went and raised GP??

23. David Simmons went from a Minister to Chief Justice.

24. This year, Queen’s College was awarded ten scholarships and 17 exhibitions at the Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations (CAPE) level.

Meanwhile, Harrison was awarded 12 scholarships and ten exhibitions.

For the first time in its history, the St Michael School was awarded a lone scholarship and three exhibitions.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/184745/queen-harrison-lion-share-scholarships

25. @Hants

Former minister Jones must be proud?

26. @ David,

Former minister Jones is a DLP. No credit to him as far as BLPites are concerned. lol

However, it will look great on his cv.

27. No wonder these ministers did so much nonsense.

https://www.facebook.com/DLPBB/videos/1932489130147216/

28. Oh no, not this foolish, old looser (homoohobic) bible shaking idiot! Oh Barbados, let the old goats out to live their retirement in the pasture

29. The Dominicans are ready to send Skerritt packing so much for his peace and brotherly love letter
    I hope Mia has a house at Cloverly left for him to rest his weary soul
    After all good friends help each other in need …Not!

30. Will the former minister of education have to enroll in a crash course in Hindi?

31. Vice Chancellor…. hahahahahahahaha. Big name for a little man. Alla dese people…what a joke.

But at lease he gotz some verbal hexperience in medical work… cracking heads.

32. Jones do your thing! Just like a former politician turned chief justice, do your thing!

33. Is it any wonder politicians will always feel emboldened to do as they please with Yardfowls in the wings? The BLP did it so it validates when the DLP people do similar.

34. Can we call Jones moving hastily into the role at an offshore school as a potential ethical violation? Is the government prepared to investigate the circumstances how he was able to weasel the job to determine if there was collusion’?

35. @David

“Ethical violation”? is there such a creature in Barbados? Are you going to hire more judges and build more jails? Earlier in the thread I wrote the following:

“The new Integrity Bill should address this, make it punishable for any Minister (or senior Civil servant for that matter) to accept a position at any Corporation that has done business with their substantive Ministry within three years of their leaving office”.

Are you coming around to my way of thinking?

36. @Hal A
    The minister is a former Financial Times journalist. Tells you something about journalists turned politicians. For the first time in my life I find myself backing the vicious Saudis. Canada is trying to punch above its weight. It is a middle ranking country and should stay as such
    Still backing the vicious Saudis? Turkey is claiming that the Saudis murdered the anti- regime blogger Jamal Khashoggi who disappeared during a visit to the Saudi consulate in Istanbul.

Chrystia Freeland is looking better by the day

37. Have you ever heard of context. Re-read your post and put it in context. What triggered that comment? No nation, in particular a second eleven nation (ie Canada), should interfere in the internal affairs of another. That is the principle of international law which grew out of the Westphalian model and was reinforced after the Second World War.
    For clarity, it does not mean I am a supporter of the Saudis; for one, they are Wahhabi Muslims. Further, I was not criticising journalists in politics. Gordon Brown, Lord Lawson, Boris Johnson, Jo Johnson, Amber Rudd, George Osborne, and numerous other British politicians have been journalists – almost as many as lawyers.

38. @Hal A

Context my foot, you chimed in with a comment about backing the Saudis and made a statement implying that there was something wrong about journalists gravitating to politics.

What interference in internal affairs? The Gov’t of the country that you are resident in is always lecturing other countries about human rights and other political activities in those countries. Did you ever take up your journalistic pen and write that it was wrong for the British Gov’t to interfere in the internal affairs of those countries? The Gov’t of Canada through its Foreign Minister asked the Saudi Gov’t to respect the rights of bloggers who were critical of its Gov’t and you ever jumped in with unfounded criticism.

You wrote that you support the Saudis…..

The Moving Finger writes; and, having writ,
    Moves on: nor all thy Piety nor Wit
    Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line,
    Nor all thy Tears wash out a Word of it.

39. Michelle maynard Avatar
    Michelle maynard

He want holding also

40. @Hal A “For the first time in my life I find myself backing the vicious Saudis.”

Context what.

You CHOSE to back the vicious Saudis, instead of a female Canadian politician.

You still backing the Saudis?

41. David
    October 6, 2018 5:14 PM

Can we call Jones moving hastily into the role at an offshore school as a potential ethical violation? Is the government prepared to investigate the circumstances how he was able to weasel the job to determine if there was collusion’?

… just another monkey taking a few peanuts!!!!

OOPS, sorry, just another genetically engineered primate taking a few peanuts!!

What’s the big deal!!

42. Sargeant,

Cool down and think. If you can’t, then try to.