Dr.Mahabir
Submitted by Dr Kumar Mahabir

The Omega 3-6-9 Complex advertisement on the nation’s highways – and now on TV – is an out-of-place, outright attack on all curry consumers. Indeed, it is an ethnic form of aggression on a group of people in multi-culinary Trinidad and Tobago.

This billboard advertisement suddenly appeared at various points on the highways with the tagline: “I like my Curry, but I love my heart.” The product being advertised is the Jamieson’s brand of Omega 3-6-9 Complex. The caption is followed by additional texts claiming that the tablets have been “Clinically proven to REDUCE Cholesterol.”

The caption is accompanied by an Indian woman with two tresses of long, flowing, black hair. She is serving a plate of paratha “buss-up-shut” roti with pumpkin, curried channa and aloo, curried chataigne [breadnut] and curried mango.

The public should be warned that the claim about the unhealthy effects of curry in this advertisement is false, unscientific and misleading. The advertisement should be immediately removed with an apology made to all curry consumers and educated people.

Curry powder is made from a blend of natural spices such as coriander, turmeric (“saffron”), ginger, cumin, fenugreek, nutmeg, fennel, cloves, tamarind, cinnamon, cardamom, chili peppers and curry leaves. On the other hand, Omega 3-6-9 is made from chemicals manufactured from fatty acids and fish oil and coated with gelatin sourced from beef and sometimes pork.

Gelatin is generally a faintly yellow, nearly transparent, glutinous substance obtained by boiling the skin, bones and ligaments of animals to form a glue. Vegetarians, Hindus and Muslims, therefore, should not be consuming Omega 3-6-9.

curry1
“The Omega 3-6-9 Complex advertisement on the nation’s highways…”

The clinically-proven medicinal benefits of curry

Contrary to the claims of the Omega advertisement, consuming curried foods have been clinically proven to lower the levels of “bad” cholesterol (LDL), thereby reducing the risk of coronary heart disease (CHD) and strokes.

A review of the potential medicinal benefits of murraya koenigii (curry leaves) in dyslipidemia was done by Mamta Parnami and Dr Kanika Varma of the University of Rajasthan in India. Their review was published in the International Journal of Advanced Scientific Research and Management (2018).

Dyslipidemia is defined as an elevation of the total cholesterol, the “bad” low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol and the triglyceride concentrations, and a decrease in the “good” high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol concentration in the blood. Dyslipidemia is an important risk factor for coronary heart disease (CHD) and stroke.

The researchers from the University of Rajasthan reviewed studies on the medicinal benefits of curry leaves on human experimental models. In one study, 38 persons were given a preparation of fine ground curry leaves twice daily, at a dose of 3 grams per meal for a period of 5 weeks. The study revealed a significant decline in total cholesterol (P=0.03).

Parnami and Varma also reviewed another study in which 40 post-menopausal women 45-65 years of age, with hyperlipidemia, were given with dried curry leaf powder (5gms) added to their main side dish during lunch for 45 consecutive days. At the end of the experimental period, there was a decrease of about 31.4 mg/dl TC, 15.9mg/dl TG, 23.8 mg/dl of the “bad” low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol. It was also observed that there was an increase of 6.5 mg/dl in the “good” high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol concentration in the blood.

The clinical claims of Omega 3-6-9 are misleading

The advertisement promotes the idea that Omega 3-6-9 is “Clinically proven to REDUCE Cholesterol.” Omega 3 is composed of polyunsaturated fatty acids found mainly in fish, fish oils, flax seed oil, green leafy vegetables, some nuts and vegetable oils.

Clinical research does not support the claim that omega−3 fatty acid supplementation prevents cardiovascular disease (including myocardial infarction and sudden cardiac death) and strokes.

These discoveries were published in Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) (2012), Archives of Internal Medicine (2012), Pharmacology & Therapeutics (2013), and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (2018).

Omega-6 fatty acids are a family of polyunsaturated fatty acids found in foods such as poultry, eggs, nuts, whole-grain breads and most vegetable oils

A meta-analysis of 10 trials was done on 77,917 patients and published in JAMA Cardiology (2017). The study found no clinical support for the claim that the daily intake of one gram of omega-3 fatty acid in individuals with a history of coronary heart disease prevents fatal coronary heart disease, nonfatal myocardial infarction or any other vascular disorder.

Omega-9 fatty acids are a family of unsaturated fatty acids found in animal fat, vegetable oils and natural foods such as nuts, seeds and avocados.

Clinical evidence suggests that increasing omega-6 fats have little or no difference to triglycerides, high-density lipoprotein (HDL, the “good” cholesterol) or low-density lipoprotein (LDL, the “bad” cholesterol) (Cochrane 2018).

Research also conducted by L. Al-Khudairy et al. (2015) from Warwick Medical School concludes with this statement: “Our analyses found no statistically significant effects of either increased or decreased omega 6 intake on cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk factors.”

Dr. Mahabir obtained his Ph.D. in Medical Anthropology from the University of Florida.

161 responses to “That Offensive Omega Curry Advertisement”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

EASY TO DISMISS THOSE SILLY LONG HOPS CALM

THE TOPIC IS STILL CURRY OR OMEGA FATTY ACIDS I PRESUME

2. @ Hants
    Bushie is one of BBE’s adopted boys (and that was not even by rational choice on the bushman’s part).

When given a whacker…
    Bushie whacked.
    When de whacker “get tek way”..
    Bushie had nothin to say…….

Unfortunately, bushmen tend to be allergic to bullshit, so when GP sneaked back onto BU in Bushie’s quiet period, there was no choice but to resort to the good old ‘collins’ and take a turn in his retarded donkey…..

WRT Mia..
    Bushie is not inclined to playing in Mia’s orchestra on the deck of a mortally wounded SS Titanic.
    Far better to practice now for cutting bush in BBE’s kingdom…

But if asked, bushie would not hesitate to point out the appropriate requiem for the band to play…

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE a black man could be so cool, intelligent, charming

THIS IS A VERY GOOD DESCRIPTION OF SATAN ACTUALLY IN ISAIAH

RE and UPSTANDING

DEFINITELY NOT

HE SUPERVISED A LOT OF EVIL IN THE US IN HIS TIME AND CONTINUES TO DO SO INCLUDING HAVING HIS SURROGATES TO BREAK THE LAWS OF THE US

SESSIONS AND TRUMP ARE ALLOWING HIM TO GET AWAY WITH IT TOO

BUT HE WONT GET AWAY WITH IT AT THE GREAT WHITE THRONE JUDGEMENT

IT IS FUNNY THAT A COPY OF MY ORIGINAL PROPOSAL FOR THE NHS WAS POSTED HERE ON BU IN 2008 AND THOUGHT TO BE APPROPRIATE

IT IS FUNNY THAT I SAW THE EXPANDED POLICY OF THE SAME PROPOSAL THAT I PROPOSED BEING IMPLEMENTED IN ST LUCIA IN 2012 VERY EFFECTIVELY

ALSO A SIMILAR SITUATION WOULD WORK K WELL IN MANY PARTS OF THE USA, NOT ONLY IN IN THE UNDER SERVED AREAS, BUT EVEN ALSO IN MANY CITIES–ESPECIALLY THOSE POPULATED BY BLACKS

4. GP …as man!!!
    Ask a friend to assess your comments here on BU, and to give you their HONEST comments on the content….

Bushie recommends Hants….
    He is VERY tactful, but HONEST as shiite…
    Even you should be able to read between his lines…

or maybe ask your wife…
    WAIT NO…

If she realises that she is married to an idiot she may bolt…..
    …Then where would you get breakfast…?

Let’s go with Hants.

5. I do not like curry so this issue is not of importance to me.
    However i have socialize with indians oversees and there always have the disguting smell of curry on their clothing

6. @ Maripos(ac)
    I do not like curry so this issue is not of importance to me.
    Interesting….
    That is how most people on BU feel about your import.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AD HOMINEMS AD HOMINEMS BUT NOTHING ABOUT THE CURRY VS OMEGA FATTY ACIDS IN THE ORIGINAL ARTICLE

BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP

BUT DE TEST MATCH DONE EARLY

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bush Tea August 4, 2018 1:10 PM
    I FALL OF MY CHAIR AGAIN

9. The (original) blogmaster has not emitted guffaws with such force as some of the comments above evoked. All that is missing is Vincent chiming in the discussion to declare the benefit of a walk, a banks beer with the curry, omega and the belch.

#murdurbaresportindrumshop

10. I have not got a clue what is in the two products under discussion but given a choice of Curry or pills, I would choose the Curry and rely on water, exercise and a reduction of food intake to handle the cholesterol!!

11. Bush tea could not careless what people think . not one to entertain other peoples opinion of anything i say especially yours ole boar

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BEFORE MOST OF US COULD SPELL OUR NAMES WE WERE GIVEN SEVEN SEAS COD LIVER OIL AND SHARK OIL FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION WAS SOLD AT A HOUSE BY THE SEA IN OISTINS

OUR DEAR PARENTS DID NOT KNOW A THING ABOUT OMEGA FATTY ACIDS OR THAT THESE OILS CONTAINED OMEGA FATTY ACIDS…………THAT IS A TING NUH

WHO WAS RIGHT? OUR PARENTS OR THE SILLY INDIAN MAN WHO WROTE THE intelligent, original, well presented article?

13. GP,

I still take Cod Liver Oil almost every day.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

John August 4, 2018 1:23 PM

I have not got a clue what is in the two products under discussion ………..JUST LIKE THE IDIOT THAT WROTE THAT THE INDIAN MAN WROTE AN intelligent, original, well presented article.
    HE DONT KNOW EITHER HE JUST PRETENDS TOO, CAUSE HE CANT FIND ANYTHING PUN MARICOPA OR THE INTERNET?

YOU ARE LIKE MOST WHO ARE BULL SHITTING HERE AND AFFORDING ME GREAT MIRTH
    AT LEAST YOU ARE HONEST CAUSE THEY DONT UNDERSTAND WUH DE MAN SEH EITHER

15. Can you imagine if the ad were run in Barbados with a picture of a water melon and a black person?

… with the caption .. I like my melon but I love my heart!!!

All hell would let loose!!

One thing I discovered in life, it isn’t necessary to pull down something or someone to build up yourself!!

If the pills are so good and there is evidence to show it, then let the public know about it!!

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hal Austin August 4, 2018 1:42 PM

GP, I still take Cod Liver Oil almost every day.

STICK WITH THAT HAL
    WHO KNOWS? THAT IS WHY SOME OF WE OLD FOGEYS HAVE LASTED SO LONG

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOHN
    DONT MIND THE STUPID INDIAN MAN THAT WRITE THE BIASED ARTICLE

THE TING BOUT SUPPLEMENTS IS THAT YUH CANT TELL IF THEY GOT IN WUH DUH SEH—–JUST LIKE A CERTAIN FIRM THAT SAY THEY MAKE DRUGS IN BUHBADOS
    ONE REMEMBERS WAY BACK WHEN ALL THE FOLK WE HAD CONTROLLED ON ALDOMET WENT OFF CONTROL ON CARLMET

WUK YOUR COD LIVER OIL WID YA PIECE OF ORANGE FE WIPE YA MOUT DO

18. GP,

Only David (BU) thinks I am too old. Youth is wasted on the young. I feel as if I can still sprint like a teenager.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HAL
    I EXPECT THAT THE KEY WORD IN YOUR SENTENCE IS “FEEL”
    DONT TRY SPRINTING THOUGH CAUSE THE OMEGA 6 FATTY ACIDS YOU TAKING IN YOUR REGULAR DOSES OF COD LIVER WONT HELP. LOL
    YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED LOL

20. GP,

That’s fine. I find it tough enough walking.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HAL
    THERE WAS A TIME I WOULD HAVE DISSECTED THAT ARTICLE PARAGRAPH BY PARAGRAPH AND DECLARE WHAT IS TRUE AND WHY, AND DEBUNK WHAT IS FALSE AND SAY WHY, BUT BU IS NO LONGER WORTHY

SO I HAVE ONLY SAID TODAY THAT BOTH CURRY AND OMEGA 6 FATTY ACID FROM SMASH OR JUST COD LIVER OIL ARE GOOD IN ONE SENTENCE

IF IT IS ARTHRITIS THAT PREVENTS YOU FROM WALKING PUT SOME TUMERIC IN A TEA AND SEE IF THIS HELPS

22. The advertisement doesn’t actually say don’t eat curry, eat this pill instead!!

The inference is made by the author of the article.

If you think about it, who is going to bypass good food for a pill!!

The guy has a problem and he is seeing something that really isn’t there.

Same thing would happen if a melon and black person were substituted, or God forbid, a banana.

But that is no doubt the intent of the creator of the ad, to be provocative!!!

.. and it had the desired effect, it got people talking.

As a child my mother would stop by the dispensary at the Christ Church District Hospital in Oistins and buy a bottle of shark oil!!

Tasted terrible but some how she would sell my siblings and I on how good it was.

I would open my mouth and a table spoon of the oil would go down my throat and I told myself how good it was.

I have taken cod liver oil at various times of my life in capsule form but never felt it measured up to the shark oil!!

It’s all about the messenger and the message!!

23. The public should be warned that the claim about the unhealthy effects of curry in this advertisement is false, unscientific and misleading.

The point is, no such claim is made in the ad!!

24. The ad actually says enjoy your curry … but here is something else to enjoy too!!

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE The ad actually says enjoy your curry … but here is something else to enjoy too!!

ACTUALLY THE AD IS SAYING THOUGH I LOVE MY CURRY I LOVE MY HEART BETTER

THE GIRL IS SEEKING TO SHOW THAT CURRY MIGHT DAMAGE YOUR HEART SOME HOW- WHICH IS UNTRUE

AT THE SAME TIME THE AD IS IMPLYING THAT OMEGA 3 -6-9 FATTY ACIDS ARE THE REAL OR A BETTER DEAL.

THE AD IS AN OUT AND OUT TOUTING OF OMEGA 3-6-9 FATTY ACID SUPPLEMENTS

the claim about the unhealthy effects of curry in thE ARTICLE CRITICIZING THE advertisement is false, unscientific and misleading.

THE CRITIQUE OF OMEGA FATTY ACIDS IN THE IS ALSO false, unscientific and misleading.
    IRREGARDLESS OF THE OPINION OF A TOTAL ILLITERATE IN THE SUBJECT THAT THE ARTICLE IS an intelligent, original, well presented article from AN ANTROPOLOGIST WHO HAS READ SOME ARTICLES, AND COPIED STUFF THAT HE DOES NOT UNDERSTAND

I THINK I WILL COPY THE ARTICLE AND GET MY BIOCHEMISTRY CLASS TO CRITIQUE IT

26. ACTUALLY THE AD IS SAYING THOUGH I LOVE MY CURRY I LOVE MY HEART BETTER
    THE GIRL IS SEEKING TO SHOW THAT CURRY MIGHT DAMAGE YOUR HEART SOME HOW- WHICH IS UNTRUE

I agree with the first sentence but here is a happy, healthy, young individual portrayed with a plate of curry in front of her,

The second sentence is a logical inference but the ad does not say the girl is forsaking her plate of curry for a bunch of pills because the curry is bad and the pills are good..

The inference arises because obesity, heart disease and over eating go together, at least, so John Public believes and has been shown repeatedly.

But the girl is not obese and the serving size not outrageously large.

I agree the ad is misleading and could lead a reasonable person to avoid curry.

But all the pills in the world cannot substitute the enjoyment of a good plate of food, which is also a logical way of thinking.

No reasonable person is going to avoid the plate of curry in order to eat a few pills.

A healthy young individual does not think too much about their mortality, far less their propensity to develop heart disease.

That for me is one of the incongruities in the imagery of the ad.

If the person was an obese older individual with an expression of regret, I would be influenced because what it would be saying is look what this curry did to me, I should have been taking my pills.

… and yes, this is a touting of the pills which is wrong!!

I suspect the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Barbados would definitely not approve of such an ad.

… and that’s a major omission in the ad, some authority to back up the claim “Clinically proven to reduce Cholesterol”.

27. Rice & Curry can be fattening especially when eaten regularly like in Asia where middle aged men (and woman) have rice bellies

28. A number of comments though “I still love my curry and my heart”

I just put these thought here, though a number of them may not be fully applicable. They are mainly to get you to look at the article more critically.. I added a few buzz words (BZW) to look up

Were the studies blinded (BZW:, single-blind, double-blind, opern-label)
    Did they have a control group (BZW: placebo-controlled, active controlled, single arm study)
    Was it just the diet or were the subjects urged to exercise and given additional instructions. Are there other factors that could explain the statistics cited?
    Does review’ mean review by journal editors/scientists or did DpD pass on his research for Hal’s review 🙂 (I like that one)
    Would give the articles with JAMA references more weight; but on the whole the data cited do not convince me of anything.

Would bet that if sold in the US the omega bottles would have the following fine print somewhere.
    “These statement have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat cure or prevent any disease.”

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SPOT ON THEO
    GO THE HEAD OF THE CLASS….LOL
    GOOD QUESTIONS

30. No one who eats a balanced diet with fruit, vegetables and oily fish need to take any supplements of omega anything. These supplements, like vitamins do not do what they claim and the body just passes them out. It is better to take your nutrients fresh and not from a bottle off a pharmacy shelf.

31. @Theo, please clarify: who do you want to look at the article more critically? Yourself or us here?😁

Why if your “thoughts here […] may not be fully applicable” are you presenting them to trigger a closer examination of an article that prima facie absolutely does NOT need to be so over analyzed!

The author gave an opinion and supported it with some data that apparently was already peer reviewed.

Can you explain why you accept the published articles in JAMA of the studies but not those in the International Journal of Advanced Scientific Research and Management (2018) from the Indian docs.

Are you intimating that the latter publication has different standards for peer reviewed studies or that the Indian reviewed studies lacked professional riguer?

And I ask again WHY do we have to ‘critically’ analyze this article to determine all that back end stuff … is THIS a professional peer review medical blog?

WHEN do we as average consumers of the written word sprain our brains to double check if professional rigeur is undertaken … PARTICULARLY when the article is from a supposedly reputable journal …does that appeareance there not itself validate the professionalism ?

Thus I am truly intrigued by your remarks on a rather simple essay in which the author cited solid references to support his position…if he has not convinced you then so be it…obviously tho he made you think much too deeply on this matter…way, way too deeply. So in short he did his job as a writer. 🤣

And be assured I did not “pass [any] research for Hal’s review” … I am a meducal illiterate and wouldn’t know where to start.!

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HEAR THE WORD OF DPD

I am a meducal illiterate and wouldn’t know where to start.!

AS THE JAMAICANS SAY………..IT IS TRUTE YA DOTH TELL! uh lie?

re WHEN do we as average consumers of the written word sprain our brains to double check if professional rigeur is undertaken … PARTICULARLY when the article is from a supposedly reputable journal …does that appeareance there not itself validate the professionalism ?

WHERE DOES IT SAME the article is from a supposedly reputable journal DUMMY? TELL US DUMMY.

RE I am truly intrigued by your remarks on a rather simple essay in which the author cited solid references to support his position…

HOW DO YOU KNOW THAT THEY ARE SOLID REFERENCES WHEN YOU ARE A SELF CONFESSED meducal illiterate?

RE obviously tho he made you think much too deeply on this matter…way, way too deeply.
    SOME OF US DONT HAVE TO THINK DEEPLY WHEN WE READ “SIMPLE ESSAYS” THAT YOU CANT UNDERSTAND

WE EASILY EXERCISE A CERTAIN LEVEL OF SCRUTINY BECAUSE OF TRAINING AND EXPOSURE WHEN READING SCIENTIFIC ARTICLES,MR meducal illiterate

RE WHEN do we as average consumers of the written word sprain our brains to double check if professional rigeur is undertaken

THOSE WITH BRAINS DO SO WITHOUT THINKING…OR THINKING DEEPLY OR SPRAINING THEIR BRAINS

RE is THIS a professional peer review medical blog?
    NO BUT WE HAVE HAD NON PROFESSIONALS REVIEWING AND TALKING BULL SHIT ABOUT STUFF THEY DONT KNOW LIKE WHEN YOU ARGUED STUPIDLY ABOUT THE AETIOLOGY OF CERVICAL INJURIES AND ABOUT EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS—–AN OBVIOUS OXY MORON

RE @Theo, please clarify: who do you want to look at the article more critically?
    BECAUSE HE WANTS TOO AND BECAUSE HE IS ACCUSTOMED TO CRITICALLY ANALYSING WHAT HE READS………JUST AS YOU HAVE IN EFFECT DONE TO HIS SIMPLE POST, DUMMY

RE Why if your “thoughts here […] may not be fully applicable”

ACTUALLY THEY ARE
    are you presenting them to trigger a closer examination of an article that prima facie absolutely does NOT need to be so over analyzed!
    WHAT IS OVER ANALYSIS?
    WHO DETERMINES IF A “MEDICAL ARTICLE” SHOULD BE ANALYZED? a meducal illiterate ?

RE The author gave an opinion and supported it with some data that apparently was already peer reviewed.

SO WHAT?
    MANY SO CALLED PEER REVIEWED ARTICLES ARE RIPPED TO PIECES AT CONFERENCES AND IN THE LITTERATURE JUST AS THIS ONE CAN BE RIPPED APART BY THE DISCERNING AND THOSE WHO ARE NOT meducal illiterate uh lie

STICK TO YOUR HATRED FOR TRUMP AND YOUR FEELINGS FOR THE FAILED EX PRESIDENT

OBVIOUSLY THEO HAS HAD SOME EXPERIENCE AND EXPOSURE IN READING “THE LITTERATURE”

YOUR SILLY COMMENTS INDICATE THAT YOU ARE JUST A WANT TO BE

BUT THAT IS BETTER THAN CLEARLY BEING A DEVIL AND SON OF SATAN

33. Bushie is dat you??? I got a big pot of curry wid some mango pickles pon de side waiting fuh your royal visit! I miss yuh baddd!

34. @ Islandgal
    Miss you too sugar…
    …got any Tamarind chutney to go with it?
    Who bringing the 2X4? …you or Bushie?

How about a peer review of the Trinity?
    Specifically…
    Can a dead man be a member? …or was God temporally a Duopoly?
    Is there any chance that you can “EASILY EXERCISE A CERTAIN LEVEL OF SCRUTINY BECAUSE OF TRAINING AND EXPOSURE”?
    …or does that only apply to important topics ….like curry?

@ Dribbler
    Bushie likes the way that you are warming up…
    Not that it takes much to beat up on a decrepit, old, “has-been”, mock-doc ….that never really was…

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

q How about a peer review of the Trinity?
    a who would be my peer?

curry is a very important and practical and pertinent topic because of its value to one’s health

36. @Bushie you really should stop baiting the gentleman as you may cause him to mis-chew his breakfast or some such!

And @doc you really need to stop hypa ventilating over my every post simply due to my apparent sacrilege of “WHEN [I] ARGUED STUPIDLY ABOUT THE AETIOLOGY OF CERVICAL INJURIES AND ABOUT EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS—–AN OBVIOUS OXY MORON” … Whatever I said back then had to be inaccurate because YOU SAY so…OK!

Incidentally, I was referring to @Theo’s analysis of the ‘STUDIES’…when I spoke of “PARTICULARLY when the article is from a supposedly reputable journal”

Thank you for hypa ventilating there … as written I was a tad misleading as I used the word ‘article” twice when I should have used “articles” in that second instance…. still SMH however. You are like a dog on a meat bone!

And BTW, I don’t recall a quibble about “ABOUT EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS” …as indeed on its face quite an oxymoron…just like using a siren on an ambulance to rush a deceased person to the hospital…why bother!

Alas, not so fast!

Post mortems can be expedited depending on the circumstances of the matter and in that sense the word emergency could easily be oxymoroned into use … just as the EMTs may expedite their delivery of an unknown deceased subject for quite case specific circumstantial reasons.

Enjoy your breakfast and do use your acclaimed sharp intellect to troll your peers at those conferences and in the literature…they can benefit from it surely…realistically I do not..it’s quite tiresome really! SMH.

37. q How about a peer review of the Trinity?
    a who would be my peer?
    1 – “who would be my peer?” is a question. it is NOT an answer.
    2 – How about Zoe, Dictionary and all your other highly qualified bible scholars with degrees in divinity ..or some such shiite?
    3 – so curry is important, ….but the NATURE and WORDS of the God that you worship is trivial?
    4 – how come you did not do a doctorate in curry then?
    5 – why is the above response in lower caps…?

Bottom line…
    Bushie asked these questions (which you CANNOT answer) in order to see if you were wise enough to review the flawed dogma upon which your religious knowledge is based …. or if you would dig in, and blindly follow the idiotic teachings that have misled other brass bowls for centuries….

In case you forgot, the other BASIC question was…
    Why did Jesus DELIBERATELY use parables to HIDE the truth from the multitude of brass bowls who ran after him looking for miracles and free food?

Can you see the connection between the two issues – or are you REALLY that dense……?

@ Dribbler
    not baiting….
    GP has potential.
    It is just hidden, and latent, and flawed, and mis-directed, and tainted….
    He just needs a bit of a bush bath, and a little brain surgery… and kaboommm ….. light!!
    LoL

38. Bushman

Re: Peer review of Holy Trinity spirituality

the triumvirate (3) of God is representation of
    (1) God
    (2) Spirit of God
    (3) God and Spirit of God reincarnated manifested in Man

Jesus was Spirt of God manifested in Man ant taught we can all be like him

emphasis is on we can all be like Jesus in possession of Holy Spirt and a be part of God as a Child of God

For spiritual practise meditate

imagine the following and make it become real

sitting down with legs crossed

draw in energy from the ground below and heavens above

the energy flows like a river up your legs to the sea in your pelvis
    your chest is like the clouds floating in the sky above the sea
    your mind and brain is like outer space reaching up into heavens
    your torso is floating between ground sky and space
    feel everything inside your body enveloped by your skin
    feel your organs your muscles your bones your marrow
    feel the energy movements of chi through your chakras
    feel the movement of the air you breathe
    sense everything around you using all your senses
    hear the sounds outside and feel them inside
    become one with everything around you
    become one with all things

to reiterate
    God is within Man

Angels and Demons will be later on Ron

39. @ kiki
    ….your mind and brain is like outer space reaching up into heavens
    your torso is floating between ground sky and space
    Boss, you are speaking the high language of Millertheanunnaki and Terence the scholar …not Bushie…
    Bushmen deal with simple, straight forward concepts…not esoteric dogma. (which is why the ‘Trinity’ nonsense resonated…)

The ‘triumvirate’ is a Roman concept which predates Jesus, and which was later adopted by the usual suspects to put their own wicked spin on the actual gospel message that Jesus brought.
    Thus the ‘Trinity’ was conceived….
    Lotta shiite.
    The ‘Trinity’ doctrine actually runs DIAMETRICALLY opposite to the message that the Boss Bushman brought….

This concept has managed to keep the modern set of jokers called ‘Christians’ – (who chase around behind Jesus, looking for miracles and food) in the dark, and ignorant of the TRUE gospel – just like how back then, …all but the disciples were kept in ignorance through the parables. – despite walking ’bout behind, and actually physically following Jesus himself….

However, the WHOLE wicked ‘Trinity’ scam has been completely discombobulated by the FACT that Jesus died for three days…
    DEMONSTRATING definitively by that act, that God could not be a ‘trinity’….

If you should ever get to grasp the IMPORT of this fact, then you are indeed a blessed person…..

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DPD–SEMI MORON

RE I don’t recall a quibble about “ABOUT EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS” …as indeed on its face quite an oxymoron

I CAN EASILY FIND IT AND SHOW YOU

I CAN UNDERSTAND THAT YOU CANT RECALL.. DO YOU HAVE EARLY ALS BESIDES YOUR OTHER CEREBRAL DYSCRASIAS?

Type in Harold White.Bajan Pathologist, as I did recently and you will get
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2015/05/20/pushed/comment-page-1/
    Starting at May 21, 2015 9:58 AM we see the INGRUNT WORD aka de pedantic dribbler iN ALL HIS IGNORANCE
    YOU MADE A TOTAL ASS OF YOUR SELF AS YOU TRIED TO DEFEND YOUR STUPIDITY AS I MOCKED YOU AND OTHERS…..CAUSE I DIDN’T LEARN MY PATHOLOGY BY ROTE OR ON WICKEPEDIA, I READ ANDERSON AND I READ ROBBINS AND I WORKED IN PATHOLOGY LABS AT QEH AND MONA AND ATTENDED SEVERAL POST MORTEMS
    I KNEW WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT AS I MOCKED YOU

AND I NEVER GET TIRED MOCKING YOU……….NEVER!

RE And @doc you really need to stop hypa ventilating over my every post simply due to my apparent sacrilege of “WHEN [I] ARGUED STUPIDLY ABOUT THE AETIOLOGY OF CERVICAL INJURIES AND ABOUT EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS—–AN OBVIOUS OXY MORON” … Whatever I said back then had to be inaccurate because YOU SAY so…OK!

NO WHAT YOU SAID BACK THEN WAS INACCURATE BECAUSE YOU WERE INACCURATE –NOT IF I SAY SO. THE POST MORTEM REVEALED THAT YOU WERE WRONG, AND THAT THE MEDICINE I POSITED (LEARNED BY ROTE AND VIA WICKEPEDIA) WAS SPOT ON.
    SOME TIMES YOU NEED TO LISTEN……..AND YOU WILL LEARN MORE

AND BREAKFAST WAS GOOD AS WELL AS THE BREAKFAST BREAK BETWEEN THE TWO CHURCH MEETINGS THIS MORNING

41. Bushman

FYI there were two separate threads of thought in my comment above

Firstly : Body of christ is within us
    Secondly : Discover your own spiritually or relationship with God.
    The Buddhist practise of meditation is a step towards enlightenment.

42. @ 555dubstreet
    Bushie has no issue with your threads of thought.

Enlightenment resides in EVERYTHING around us….. in Nature itself, in the seasons, in the human experience, in the sky…
    The truth of God is the most commonly advertised commodity available anywhere.
    So the Buddhist practice of meditation is very likely a step towards enlightenment…. as is the prospect of Bushie passing by Islandgal to sample her curry and tamarind chutney…

As to the ‘body of Christ being within us’ ….
    Boss…
    …this concept is too high for Bushie…. perhaps Terence may relate…
    However Jesus proclaimed himself to be the ‘firstborn of MANY brethren’ …and the bushman gets THAT concept quite easily – namely, that just like in a normal human FAMILY, BBE is in the family-building business, and there is plenty room for siblings…..
    That is of course – as opposed to being a “closed-shop” Trinity.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR SATAN
    THANKS FOR THE INFO BELOW
    Take a hint from the fact that NOBODY wants you around their serious business…
    Not the Barbados Health Service
    Not ObamaCare
    Not the Offshore Medical schools…
    Not BU with your PowerPoints from Google (except for the entertainment value)
    Not even Trump wants your miserable donkey in his country…

BUT I HAVE A BETTER HOPE & STAY THAN ANY OF THE ABOVE

For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;
    6Who gave himself a ransom for all, to be testified in due time. I TIMOTHY 2:5-6

for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.2 TIMOTHY 1;12

Wherein God, willing more abundantly to shew unto the heirs of promise the immutability of his counsel, confirmed it by an oath:
    18That by two immutable things, in which it was impossible for God to lie, we might have a strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold upon the hope set before us:
    19Which hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and stedfast, and which entereth into that within the veil;
    20Whither the forerunner is for us entered, even Jesus, made an high priest for ever after the order of Melchisedec. HEBREWS 6:17-20

I am so glad that our Father in Heav’n Tells of His love in the Book He has giv’n;
    Wonderful things in the Bible I see, This is the dearest, that Jesus loves me.
    Refrain: I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me; I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves even me.
    Though I forget him and wander away Still Jesus loves me whenever I stray Back to his dear loving arms do I flee Then I remember that Jesus loves me

Refrain: I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me; I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves even me. Oh, if there’s only one song I can sing, When in His beauty I see the great King, This shall my song through eternity be, “Oh, what a wonder that Jesus loves me!”

Refrain: I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me; I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves even me. Jesus loves me, and I know I love Him; Love brought Him down my poor soul to redeem; Yes, it was love made Him die on the tree; Oh, I am certain that my Jesus loves me!

Refrain: I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me; I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves even me.

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR SATAN

I HAVE AN ANCHOR THAT KEEPS THE SOUL I DONT NEED THE THINGS YOU SPEAK ABOUT

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR SATAN
    BE IT KNOWN UNTO THEE THAT …….
    My Anchor Holds

Though the angry surges roll On my tempest driven soul, I am peaceful, for I know, Wildly though the winds may blow, Ive an anchor safe and sure, That can evermore endure.

Refrain
    And it holds, my anchor holds: Blow your wildest, then, O gale, On my bark so small and frail; By His grace I shall not fail, For my anchor holds, my anchor holds.

Mighty tides about me sweep, Perils lurk within the deep, Angry clouds oershade the sky, And the tempest rises high; Still I stand the tempests shock, For my anchor grips the rock. Refrain

I can feel the anchor fast As I meet each sudden blast, And the cable, though unseen, Bears the heavy strain between; Through the storm I safely ride, Till the turning of the tide. Refrain

Troubles almost whelm the soul; Griefs like billows oer me roll; Tempters seek to lure astray; Storms obscure the light of day: But in Christ I can be bold, Ive an anchor that shall hold.

47. That is a dirty move GP…
    You know full well that those old hymns can melt a heart of stone…
    …turn away a whacker …even…
    🙂

Shiite man… you must have sneaked into a reunion from a certain place on an October evening…

Bushie concedes….
    Keep your anchor….
    Just remember what Bob Marley says….
    Time will tell…

Jah would never give the power to a bald head
    Run come crucify Bushie
    Time alone – oh, time will tell
    Think you are in heaven, but you living in hell
    Time alone – oh, time will tell

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ BUSH TEA SON OF THE DEVIL

GO READ ABOUT THE ANCHOR IN HEBREWS 6: 18-20

ONE DAY I WILL EXEGETE THE PASSAGE FOR YOU

IN THE INTERIM YOU MAY FIND THESE TRUTHS VERY INTERESTING

We all want to be liked, cherished, and appreciated by our peers. But what if I told you that God could care less about these things? What if I told you that God didn’t care how many Facebook friends you have, or how many people follow you on Twitter? OR EVEN BU?

And what if I told you that God isn’t worried about how popular you are? In fact, what if i told you that the purpose of the Gospel isn’t to fit in at all, but to in fact stand out…

Romans 12:2 – Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

In today’s worth-seeking world, THE COSMOS DIABOLICOS, OR WORLD SYSTEM being “liked,” and “wanted” is something, whether we want to admit it or not, that our culture forces us to feel, and not to mention it’s how our culture advertises us to feel.

The World Says:

Failure is not an option.”
    “If you are not first, you are last.”
    “If you’re not somebody, you’re nobody.”
    But when we begin to look into the depth of Scripture, none of those things are actually true.

God has called us to be different. To stand against the grain. To be a city on a hilltop (Matthew 5:14). And to be the change for a world that lacks hope.

Realizing you don’t fit in is a good thing. Believers weren’t made to fit in. Believers were made to fulfill our calling in Christ. Believers were made to fit out. Believers are to stand tall and press on.

BELIEVERS ARE GIVEN THESE INSTRUCTIONS IN I JOHN 2;16″
    Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.

16 For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.

17 And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

18 Little children, it is the last time: and as ye have heard that antichrist shall come, even now are there many antichrists; whereby we know that it is the last time.

19 They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would no doubt have continued with us: but they went out, that they might be made manifest that they were not all of us.

20 But ye have an unction from the Holy One, and ye know all things.

21 I have not written unto you because ye know not the truth, but because ye know it, and that no lie is of the truth.

22 Who is a liar but he that denieth that Jesus is the Christ? He is antichrist, that denieth the Father and the Son.

23 Whosoever denieth the Son, the same hath not the Father: (but) he that acknowledgeth the Son hath the Father also.

49. So wait….
    Bushie conceded and decided to let sleeping dogs sleep….
    …and now you want to start back a fracas?

What does ‘being liked’ or ‘having Facebook followers’ have to do with the previous discussion?

You need to stop wearing your heart on your sleeve boss…
    Obviously it bothers you that no one likes you… – but you are too bombastic…and you can’t have it both ways.
    Just as you are completely shattered to find out that Bushie (or anyone) is MUCH MUCH smarter than you are…

Skipper, if you REALLY want to see ‘bright’,, check out fellows like Ping Pong, Terence and MME (who was too bright for his own good…)

How can you possibly win a fight with a bushman who could not care less who likes him…?
    … and who KNOWS that he is ONLY ‘smart’ because he gets external help when google fails?

Steupsss
    You are hereby advised to go back and watch cricket yuh….

50. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I DID NOT SAY THAT I WANT TO BE LIKED OH SON OF SATAN

I DONT CARE IF YOU OR OTHER BU DEVILS LIKE ME
    MY MOTHER AND WIFE BOTH LOVE ME, AND I HAVE MANY PEERS, FRIENDS AND CHURCH MEMBERS WHO LOVE ME

MY INTENT WAS TO SHARE THE SEMINAL PASSAGE IN SCRIPTURE ABOUT THE COSMOS DIABOLICUS I.E THE WORLD SYSTEM THAT IS RUN BY YOUR DADDY THE DEVIL, AND I HAVE DONE SO

I DONT COME ON BU TO SHOW HOW SMART I AM….I KNOW WHO I AM AND HOW SMART I AM. I DONT NEED THE DEVIL OR HIS SON TO TELL ME ABOUT ME

AS FOR BRIGHT FELLOWS, I MET MANY OF THEM IN MY TIME AT CAVE HILL, MONA AND AMONG THE MEDICAL STUDENTS WHOM I TAUGHT. I DONT COME TO BU TO FIND BRIGHT FOLK. I COME TO BE ENTERTAINED WHEN I AM BORED.

BUSHIE IS NOT SMARTER THAN ANYONE ELSE……….BUSHIE IS JUST MORE DIABOLICAL, WHO EVADES THE TRUTHS OF THE WORD OF GOD

I DO NOT NEED TO BE SMART MY HOPE IS IN THE LORD WHO HAS MADE ME TO SIT WITH HIM IN HEAVENLY PLACES

ONCE MORE I REFER YOU AND THE OTHER DEVILS ON BU TO I JOHN 2;16-18

Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.

16 For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.

17 And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

AND I WILL WATCH THE CPL TONIGHT

Leave a Reply to Freedom CrierCancel reply