[Barbados Underground] It is unfortunate that Barbadians and what is suppose to be a cricket loving region has not felt the urge to stridently protest a decision by the UK government to deport Collis King. There is no need to detail the cricket bio of the 67 year old all-rounder. His crime: he applied for a visa to live with his British wife while resident in Britain, this type of visa must be requested while residing outside of the country. From all reports Collis King has been living and working in the UK for the last 40 years.

Caribbean Life Newspaper, July 29 – August 2, 2018

The captioned article refers to an offer by Colin Graves, chairman of the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) to ‘assist’ Collis King in his immigration ‘matter’.   The blogmaster unhesitatingly adds his tuppence to the discussion by calling for the UK government to do the right thing and at this late stage extend all courtesy to Mr. Collis King- a famous cricket who has lived in that country for decades. The manner which he has been treated so far not least the confiscation of his passport at the airport as he was ibeing deported to Barbados.

Shame!

The blogmaster will resist pulling the race card. However, how can anybody explain why the UK foreign office (government) would not have felt compelled to intervene? The UK is a cricket playing nation – creator of the cricket game – surely there was time to halt the deportation action when the name Collis King was whispered to someone at King Charles Street?

The pride of a great West Indian warrior has been forever harmed, however, there is still the opportunity for the UK government to deliver ‘satisfaction’ to King with the urgency the matter deserves!

Many will remember Collis King for the innings he played in the 1979 World Cup final in a partnership with Viv Richards.

The blogmaster makes special mention of Heather Cole for bringing this matter to the fore.

145 responses to “UK Government Deports Collis King”

1. Illegal immigrants have no rights in any country whatsoever. If Barbadians are illegals in other countries and the authorities have reasons to deport them so be it.The only right an illegal immigrant has is the right to either legalize his status or get to hell out of the place.
    I respect Collis King cricketing skills and what he has done for the region in the area of cricket.However, when he could make the point that he is stranded in his land of birth, I know he is yet another misguided ignorant Black Barbadian who had the misfortune of being born in Barbados. No matter what or how long a person is away,no one should ever say they are stranded in their country of birth. Such an idiot.
    David of BU are your nerves jangle? why are you cursing and lashing out at your contributors. You asked us to contribute to the robust debates on this blog,yet when commenters make points you do not agree with lately you are insulting and belittling their contributions. You have change and in my estimation is beginning to operate in an arrogant manner. Remember the former Barbados Free Press blog masters behaved similar to how you are behaving now.You and everyone know the eventual outcome of that blog. We do not need this blog only. There are other social media platforms that we could express our views.

2. David
    August 3, 2018 12:11 PM

Understand the blogmaster’s concern. Collis King is a legend. This is a son of the soil who for whatever reason was kicked out of a country he has been living and working for 44 years. Even if he offended an immigration rule we know deviations can be approved at the stroke of the pen of the minister.

Immigration is a huge deal all over Europe … other places too!!

Collis King just waited for the wrong time to get his status corrected.

Marriage will raise all sorts of red flags to authorities …. green ones too!!

Chances are his situation will get normalized but until then, due process and the letter of the law will be applied.

There is no way the authorities are going to put themselves into a position where it can be said they bent the rules.

All he can hope for is that his case gets expedited.

3. That is fine negroman, like Bush Tea one gets tired of whacking sometimes. Especially when having to deal with some on here who have nothing to do in their retirement except to be overly critical.

4. Negroman,

David’s problem is not arrogance, but ignorance. He has nothing to b arrogant about and he is too deferential. If you want a fair and just society, then everybody, no matter who they are, must be treated equally. Such simplicity cannot register with David, the chairman of BU. He has his little toy and thinks it makes up for his bad manners and appalling ignorance.
    Maybe we all need the Singapore model????? Or one of his usual nonsensical statements.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster, you have climbed out on a shaky limb on this matter. Collis’ status as a popular former cricketer accords him solid contacts and benefactors (like former ECB chair) to help ‘prioritize’ his case but surely not much more…he has to follow the process as well.

To the point made earlier all this public brouhaha likely serves him no good, really.

However, there is no apparent reason he should not succeed in his application so why all the angst really…the immigration process as described above is the same for all: applications such as his are completed normally with applicant back in country of birth.

The comparison to Ben Stokes is a tad unfortunate however. The English cricketer was accused of a possible crime (possibly indictable even depending on final charge)…that is surely not King’s situation.

Seeking a special dispensation for King to have his govt process expedited is hardly the same as special favors related to a possible criminal charge….just saying! …that’s called ‘obstruction of justice’ LOL 🙂

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ooops, I said ‘former ECB chair’. Correction, Graves is very much current…getting ahead of things here.

7. @Dee Word

Nothing wrong with a nudge from people in the former colony.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE The comparison to Ben Stokes is a tad unfortunate however. The English cricketer was accused of a possible crime (possibly indictable even depending on final charge)…that is surely not King’s situation.

IF YOU COULD UNDERSTAND THAT….DO YOU THINK THAT SOME ONE WHO IS INFINITELY SMARTER THAN YOU WOULD UNDERSTAND IT TOO?

9. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

If David would listen to other people besides his “FAVOURED FEW” He would have printed an article I sent to him about the horrific situation that is going on in the UK.

Theresa May is a DISASTER. And for the record the last time I checked she is WHITE. Yes, there are white people who are disasters, black people who are disasters and disaster through all the spectrum of colours exist.

This is not a skin problem DAVID. If you cut yourself and a “white” person (according to you not me) cut themselves you will see the SAME BLOOD.

This is a HEART PROBLEM. A SPIRITUAL PROBLEM.

Radical Islam has taken over London. It is known as “Londonistan”. She herself had to run like a chicken out of the “House of Parliament” a year or so ago when a faction of radical islam attacked members of parliament and she barely got of with her life.

I don’t have the time or desire to plod through all the comments. One did attract my attention. I think his name is 45 Govt. and he had the same comments to make as I do.

It’s time to put off those race card lenses David and AWAKEN to what is REALLY going on in this world.

You think white people are your enemies?

Buddy, you have not seen anything yet. Try Isis or Boko Haram or Al Qaeda for a month or two and get back to me.

They don’t care if you are black, blue, white or purple if you don’t worship ALLAH you are going to be one DEAD Bajan if they get the hold of you.

10. When you know the right people you get prioritised and approved. It’s same in all countries and embassies.
    Not all whites are same and racist. It’s not an absolute rule.
    Using US model 66% of whites voted for racist Potus that’s two thirds which is still a lot.

11. There are two billion muslims in world.

Terrorists groups have few tens of thousands.

12. “From a cricket point of view in Yorkshire he has been a colossus. He is known around all the clubs and we will do everything we can from a cricket point of view because he is helping with what we are trying to achieve in the recreational game.”

13. @Hal Austin August 3, 2018 12:23 PM “What does him no favours is the mass hysteria.”

Ten or twelve people discussing is mass hysteria?

What are the facts of mass hysteria?

14. Jack Bowman aka John the Quack Quaker

I read http://www.heritagebooksmusic.com/ispaketoco.html

I used to read a book a day on the tube

15. Georgie Porgie August 3, 2018 12:26 PM “WHY SHOULD ANYONE BREAK THE LAW AND EXPECT A MINISTER TO APPROVE SUCH AN INFRACTION.”

because ya poppit, it is written into the same law that the Minister can use his discretion/make exceptions.

16. @Artax August 3, 2018 12:34 PM ““Applications for spousal rights must be made when the applicant is out of the country.”

Did Meaghan Markle apply for a spousal visa while she was out of the country?

if not, why not?

Are exceptions make for the royal family? If so why?

What have they done for the U.K. to deserve special treatment?

17. SSDumbShit tells us “Using US model 66% of whites voted for racist Potus that’s two thirds which is still a lot.

Then what do you say to the fact that 98% of blacks voted for the clown Obama? That makes blacks more racist than whites, which we all know to be true. They are only exceeded in their racism by muslims who hate everyone they regard as infidels, and especially blacks..

18. @MoneyBrain August 3, 2018 12:52 PM “I can assure you that when my sister married an American she had to return to Bim for a month or so in order to meet their Immigration laws of that time, 1966. The US should have been suspicious since she got married after meeting about 3-4 months prior.”

So does the length of a courtship determine whether a marriage is valid or not? My brother married a woman 4 weeks after he met her–both Bajans, both in legal status in the place where they resided then and now–still happily married 5 years later.

Are immigration officials “experts” on marriage?

19. Simple Simon (oh Lord how simple )- “Are exceptions make for the royal family? If so why?

What have they done for the U.K. to deserve special treatment?”

More than you, and none of your bloody illiterate business!

20. CORRECTION: Still happily married 50 years later.

21. “Did Meaghan Markle apply for a spousal visa while she was out of the country?”

She will be applying for UK citizenship.

In the past spousal visas were automatically given permanent residency while in the country, now you have to keep renewing.
    Problem with applying when out of the country, is more people are rejected now.

22. @Wily Coyote August 3, 2018 12:56 PM “I suspect because he has NO VISA he’s not legally in the country. Making a VISA application several years after the fact, from within the country, raised questions for the immigration department in which they discovered he’s an illegal alien.”

Aren’t immigration departments the creators and keepers of immigration records. Did they not admit him to the country multiple times during the last 44 years? England is an island is it not? It is not as though he sneaked across a land border.

23. @Hal Austin August 3, 2018 1:26 PM “I always say do not follow the mob.”

Who are you calling a mob?

How is mob defined?

24. @45govt August 3, 2018 5:31 PM “More than you.”

I don’t owe the U.K one effing thing.

They owe me reparations.

I ask again. What has the royal family done for the U.K. to deserve special treatment?

25. @The Blogmaster…nudge duly noted !!

And oh much thanks @doc smartie a plaudit from you…cause if you are smarter than I…thus I must be smart too…whoopee! 🤣 or did you want to say you are smart and thus I am stupidly illiterate 😁

“WHY SHOULD ANYONE BREAK THE LAW AND EXPECT A MINISTER TO APPROVE SUCH AN INFRACTION … Did Collis break the law in asking that his application be expedited and he remain in UK during the process!

“….JUST BECAUSE HE IS A CRICKET LEGEND?”…Did Collis get in a fracas and ask the Minister to step in and allow him to stay England because of his fame!

Ok enough of this play folly… if you knew the comparison was invalid why make it…steeupse!

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

GUESS WHAT? WHIRL AND TWIRL. RANT AND RAVE. SKIP AND DANCE. BUT ……….COLLIS KING WAS DEPORTED AND WILL HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL THE UK AUTHORITIES DEEM THAT HE GETS THE STATUS HE WANTS EVEN THOUGH HE IS A CRICKET LEGEND
    AND HAS THE BARBADOS BRAND AND THE WI BRAND …steeupse!

AND YOU AND THE BETZPAENIC BRAYING BARKING BAYERS OF THE BU BRIBLIMATI CANT DO ONE TING BOUT IT!

27. “They are only exceeded in their racism by muslims who hate everyone they regard as infidels, and especially blacks..”

There are many black muslims in Africa and Middle East dummy.

West has become paranoid about muslims who go to pray.

(BU is becoming an alt-right white troll infected site with angry morons)

28. Mr. Blogmaster can persons posting comments refrain from typing in block letters. Some online forums prohibit it.

29. The blogmaster has no objection to the caps although it violates blogging decorum.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DO YOU KNOW WHY I TYPE IN CAPS OR DO YOU CARE?

31. Actually I quite like the CAPS GP uses.

It kind of distinguishes what he has to say.

A few others sometimes try to imitate and as it is said, imitation is the highest form of flattery.

32. Oops …

I guess I should have typed gp!!

33. …….. I really don’t want Anne to get his/her hackles up against me!!

34. Not a fan of specifying font size or type of letters.
    I wish this was the greatest of his sins 🙂

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

TheOGazerts August 3, 2018 9:24 PM

I WILL NOT SAY THAT I HAVE NO SIN——I.E THAT I DO NOT HAVE THE SIN NATURE
    I WILL NOT SAY THAT I HAVE NOT SINNED…I.E THAT I HAVE NOT COMMITED ACTS OF SIN
    BUT I CONFESS MY REAL SINS TO THE FATHER AS DIRECTED
    C.F 1 jOHN 1: 8-10
    If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.

9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

10 If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.

BE GOOD THEO

36. The law specifically provides for ministerial discretion. If the Minister was never to use his discretion, why then was such provision made in the law?

Answer me that nuh!

37. Simple Simon
    August 3, 2018 5:34 PM

@Wily Coyote August 3, 2018 12:56 PM “I suspect because he has NO VISA he’s not legally in the country. Making a VISA application several years after the fact, from within the country, raised questions for the immigration department in which they discovered he’s an illegal alien.”
    Aren’t immigration departments the creators and keepers of immigration records. Did they not admit him to the country multiple times during the last 44 years? England is an island is it not? It is not as though he sneaked across a land border.

A VISA has a finite life.

It expires, not that it ever breathed and was alive.

When it expires, it is however dead!!

If you arrive at the GAIA and present your passport, the validity of your VISA will be checked and if it has expired you will not be travelling …… once a valid VISA is required for travel wherever you are going.

If you overstay your welcome in someone’s house, you will be asked to leave, nicely or not, depending on how you respond to the request.

38. Oh-So-Simple-Simon – “I ask again. What has the royal family done for the U.K. to deserve special treatment?”

Are you really this igrunt, or are you working at it? That asinine bray hardly deserves consideration.

39. A wonderful story of support for Collis by his old club from the league in the early years.

http://www.yorkpress.co.uk/news/16376965.Pontblyddyn_Cricket_Club_go_into_bat_for_stricken_West_Indian_star_Collis_King/

40. Simple Simon,

Which law provides for ministerial discretion?

41. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Simple…ya done know the lowIQ buckingham palace asswipes will take offense to the truth…lol

42. Talking of low IQ asswipes, the whining queen of Jenkins is here again.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WILL THE BASTARD LEAVE THE ROOM TOO IF THIS WAS SAID?

the lowIQ buckingham palace asswipes

SHOULD WE ALSO DECIDE THAT THIS BLOGGER IS BENEATH CONTEMPT AND WORTHY OF EXISTING?

NO, THE QUEEN IS WHITE YOU SEE

YOU SEE ON BU THERE IS A VERY HIGH LEVEL OF RACISM AND HYPOCRISY

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The immigration department of mist countries barring those of failed or failing States, have clearly defined rules.

Visas are finite and EHEN the visa expires you need to rectify that expiration as soon as possible.

To make the issue a social football was not wise.

Particularly if it was led by Mr Collis King, that was an unwise decision.

The thing that I am sensing here is the economic fraility of Mr. King’s situation

That Is invariably why an “illegal” fights these things like he has done.

He Is probably contributing to the upkeep of his home and, at 67, his circumstances might not link multiple options for his upkeep.

He needs to do 2 things issue an apology to the UK Immigration department and publicly state that he understands that with all the issues that are going on he understands their adherence to the laws and that he is seeking no special privileges

@ Mr King

You CANNOT FIGHT RULE BRITANNIA unless … and You are not …

Do That and you will BE back home in a few weeks.

Embarrass them further and it will be 3 years of exile.

The real help that we the pretend supporters can give you is to have The HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER or a bona fide intermediary create a Go Fund Me campaign where we so called supporters could go and make a contribution for your upkeep while you are away from your family

Even if Adrian Loveridge or some other hotelier puts you up for your sojourn and a supermarket pays for your food.

Things That make us put put Money where our mouths are

A word to the wise is sufficient

45. Was Mr. King offered voluntary departure and if not, why not?. If he is seeking to adjust his visa status, does the deportation not add a new, negative and entirely avoidable matter to the file. I think it is unfortunate that some posters are declaring the immigration policy and procedures in a post Margaret Thatcher era to be racially neutral.

46. Minister in the Ministry of Finance, the Honourable Ryan Straughn has announced that the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs in partnership with the Ministry of Labour hand Social Partnership Relations has launched a 96-question electronic survey as part of ‘Phase Two’ of Government’s consultation process of the Government’s economic restructuring programme.

The survey is now available until August 7th. Can you spare a few moments to take the survey? Please share the survey with your friends, family, and loved-ones. You can copy and paste this link: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/BGIListensSocialMedia

47. Who the cap fits is wearing it…lol

48. @45govt August 4, 2018 2:03 AM “Are you really this igrunt, or are you working at it? That asinine bray hardly deserves consideration.

If you cannot answer the question why don’t you just say so, instead of cussing and carrying on?

49. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service August 4, 2018 4:48 AM “Simple…ya done know the lowIQ buckingham palace asswipes will take offense to the truth…lol”

True.

But I say again, I don’t owe the british royal family, or the people of the United Kingdom anything. Not one single cent. Didn’t they until the 1970’s own Molaneux Plantation, which is right next door to me. Wasn’t that plantation and all others in the Caribbean worked by slave labour for hundreds or years? However they owe me and the millions of other African people in Barbados and the Caribbean billions of reparations.

So “no” I don’t have to suck up to the british royal family or the people of the United Kingdom.

However I wish that they would just pay their debts, and shut up.

Leave a Reply to Freedom CrierCancel reply