Submitted by Robert D. Lucas, Ph.D. and CFS, Certified Food Scientist

[Barbados Underground]

The Editor

Barbados Underground

Bridgetown, Barbados

West Indies

Dear Sir/Madam,

There was an article in the Nation of 26th July entitled “How to handle sargassum” by Mr. Peter Webster. Webster in paragraph one seems to have a problem with “however, if large concentrations of sodium salts are added to the soil.’In paragraph two he cites some work done in Portugal that indicates sargassum “has a strong potential as functional food ingredient.” These comments of Webster are now dealt with.

All sodium salts are soluble and there is therefore a tendency for these salts to be leached downward. In periods of drought, sodium salts rise by capillary action to the surface of the soil. It ought to be obvious that with the repeated addition of seaweed to the soil, there will be an accumulation of sodium in the soil profile; that under dry conditions can rise by capillary action and affect both the salinity and sodic nature of the soil. Is Webster suggesting that the sargassum is only going to be applied once to the soil? Webster conveniently ignored the fact that in paragraph two of my article it is stated “the deleterious effects described by Hunte…can be attributed to the ..development over time of soils that are saline-sodic.” Webster makes an issue of the ratio of potassium (K) to sodium (Na) in the living seaweed In any event K:Na in the living seaweed has nothing to do with what happens when seaweeds are decomposed by microbial action in the soil. As previously stated, since K has a greater ionic volume/radii than Na, it is adsorbed before Na.

I have addressed the uses of seaweeds in food in my article of 14th July in your on-line paper.

Sincerely

Robert D. Lucas,Ph.D. and CFS.

Certified Food Scientist.

45 responses to “Dr. Lucas Responds to Peter Webster’s Deleterious Effect of Seaweed on Soils Piece”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIT!
    THE BU BRIMBLERS DONT HAVE ANYTHING TO SAY BOUT THESE ISSUES?
    YA MEAN NOT A SOLITARY SOUL?
    WUHLOSS!

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THESE MATTERS OUGHT TO BE PELLUCIDLY CLEAR TO AWTY, HIS ALTER EGO
    & CODRINGTON, WHO ARE WELL KNOW EXPERTS ON THESE MATTERS……….ESPECIALLY AWTY WITH HIS DICTIONARY AND WIKIPEDIA DEFINITIONS. oh me am!

3. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

GP;

Get thee away from me. Satan!

4. Dr. Lucas issued a clarification, the submission stands on its own.

5. Another coastal disaster is affecting Florida marine life.

https://www.cnn.com/2018/08/02/us/sea-turtles-florida-red-tide-wxc-trnd/index.html

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Are-we-there-yet August 3, 2018 1:15 PM

GLAD TO SEE THAT YOU ARE ALIVE AND KICKING
    COULD YOU CLARIFY DR LUCAS’ CLARIFICATION FOR ME SIR, FROM YOUR DICTIONARY DEFINITIONS OR WIKIPEDIA ARTICLE?

I SPECIFICALLY DREW YOU OUT CAUSE I KNOW THAT YOU KNOW AND UNDERSTAND THESE THINGS PELLUCIDLY.

RE Dr. Lucas issued a clarification, the submission stands on its own

LOL THE SUBMISSION IS A CLARIFICATION IN WHAT WAY?

DONT CLARIFICATIONS NEED TO BE EXPLAINED ?

TEACHERS HAVE TO EXPLAIN CLARIFICATIONS TO THEIR STUDENTS DAILY–ESPECIALLY SCIENCE STUDENTS

AINT THERE SOME CHEMISTRY AND BOTANY THERE?

AFTER ALL THIS IS NOT POLITICS…..LOL LOL LOL

THIS IS WHY WE WILL NOT GET VERY FAR IN BARBADOS
    WE DONT CLARIFY CLARIFICATIONS uh lie?

7. “All sodium salts are soluble and there is therefore a tendency for these salts to be leached downward. In periods of drought, sodium salts rise by capillary action to the surface of the soil. It ought to be obvious that with the repeated addition of seaweed to the soil, there will be an accumulation of sodium in the soil profile;”
    The only thing obvious about this statement is the contradiction i.e. that the sodium is leached and yet there is an accumulation. Barbados limestone soils are well drained and there can be no accumulation of sodium ions which are readily leached. The Scotland District soils, which are not as readily drained, have only demonstrated an accumulation of sodium ions in small areas where there is significant salt spray from the sea.

8. After three weeks Worthing Beach is still closed
    The unconscienable situation resulting from dumping sewage in the swamp has not extended itself into dumping raw sewage into the sea another destruction for plant and animal life and an attack on our eco system which is the source for vitality and sustainability of all form of life
    What a dam shame

9. Worthing Beach closing temporarily
    Article by
    Barbados Today
    Published on
    July 7, 2018

Government has announced the temporary closure of the Worthing Beach in Christ Church.

According to a statement issued by the Barbados Government Information Service this afternoon, the popular beach, from the entrance of St Lawrence Gap to the zone at the bottom of Rendezvous Hill, will be closed to the public from midnight tonight until July 20.

This is it said was to facilitate an environmental exercise to lower the water levels at the Graeme Hall Swamp, as preparations for the 2018 hurricane season continue.

The decision was made following a series of meetings with a subcommittee of Cabinet, comprising the Ministry Environment and National Beautification, the Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, the Ministry of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy, the Ministry of Health and Wellness, the Ministry of Transport, Works and Maintenance, and the Ministry of Tourism and International Transport.

Minister of Environment and National Beautification, Trevor Prescod, said that the move was critical to preserve the delicate south coast ecosystem in the future.

“We have discussed at length the implications for closing the beach for the next two weeks, and while it is far from the ideal scenario, the subcommittee has collectively made the decision that we must do what is in the best interest of preserving our environment going forward.

“This year’s hurricane season has already started and we need to ensure that we are properly prepared, and a part of that is controlling and preserving the equilibrium of the swamp,” he stated.

Starting today, the National Conservation Commission (NCC) will erect signage along the south coast to clearly indicate the impacted areas. Sea bathers are asked to comply with the NCC’s guidelines and refrain from using the closed beach during the specified period.

Stressing that the exercise formed “a critical pillar” of preparations for the hurricane season, Prescod added: “We are of course hoping for a safe hurricane season but we must still be proactive in our preparedness for whatever may come. We are confident that this move will put us in a favourable position later on and we are asking businesses, residents and those who frequent the area, who we appreciate will be affected, to bear with us while we carry out this exercise. We are cognisant of the ramifications as we try to maintain a beautiful Barbados for everyone.”
    (BTMI/BGIS)

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Peter Webster

First of all let de ole man say that I am not an expert nor for that matter even a layman.

I “see” what you are saying like an image.

So I see the process in my mind as you explained and would have arrived at this point months ago when I conducted another experiment at my home.

So once again I would wish to ask you this point.

One The one side one of you proposes that the sargassum is the best nutrient for the soil and its decomposition process can be slightly modified for optimal benefits.

On The other hand the other party is saying that the process brings with it an undesirable side effect where Na remains surface bound and such is deleterious to said surface.

De ole man had asked quite stupidly if the’re might be some exploration done as it relates to the bodies and shells of giant snails being mikes wit said sargassum as a natural weed killer for the side of the highway and land that is over in with Bush?

Not Bush Tea mind you but bush

Forgive a simple ole man this question

11. The govt of barbados and their spin practitioners cannot in any way justify the illegal dumping of raw sewage in the ocean
    The ocean acts an eco system and a protective barrier for all forms of life
    The ocean should at all times remain untainted from all sources of human debris that would destroy natures nutrients that are vital to plant and animal life that are the inhabitants
    How long can the govt of barbafos be allowed to violate universal enviromental laws that are enacted to form the basis and sustainability of all forms of life
    When will we ever learn

12. P. Webster writes “The only thing obvious about this statement is the contradiction i.e. that the sodium is leached and yet there is an accumulation.”

What is the contradiction? Leaching results in the removal of soluble minerals from the top layers of the soil and deposition in the lower layers of the soil. The soil horizon with the accumulated material is known as the zone of illuviation.

13. For the sake of clarity and accuracy one of the first decisions made by the Prime Minister was to tour the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary- not sure former Prime Minister ever visited the affected South Coast. During the interview she confirmed the practice of diverting sewage to the swamp based on prevailing conditions. Sewage flowing to the GHNS swamp did not begin during the BLP’s rein.

https://www.facebook.com/gisbarbados/videos/955419377956208/

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ANGELA COLE

TELL US HOW The dumping of raw sewage in the ocean……….. would destroy natures nutrients that are vital to plant and animal life that are the inhabitants

ALSO TELL US HOW THE OCEANS form the basis and sustainability of all forms of life

ALSO TELL US HOW The ocean acts AS an eco system and a protective barrier for all forms of life

15. @pieceuhderockyeahright
    1. I did not say that sargassum would be the “best nutrient for the soil” but that sargassum like most other organic compost e.g. pen manure, baggasse, grass, wood chips etc. is good for the soil.
    2. Fresh sargassum can be toxic while it is composting, emiting iodine and hydogen sulphide. As such it would not be healthy for any other plants including “bush”. At the same time it would also be unsightly possibly more so than the “bush”. It certainly would not be a herbicide once it is composted.

16. @Ping Pong
    Zones of “illuviation” only occur where there is poor drainage. Barbados soils do not have such a zone.

17. GP let me say this to u once and for all .My name is not Angela Cole it seems that your brain cells are deprived of nutrients for proper functionality
    In your old years you have become a bitter loser
    If you try picking a fight with me you are going to lose
    The fight is not only for the swift but those who has the will and endurence to make it to the finish line
    Belive me i do
    So for the sake of being a peacemaker i will ignore your inspid and delusional disturbing comments
    I hope Angela Cole sue your black a.s.s for libel. N..i…g..r

18. Now back to my concern for the well being and preservation of our enviroment
    Barbados has signed on treaties with agreements to protect the enviroment from all sources of toxins that can be detrimental to all forms of life
    The ocean is a living body of water that has a vigours and 24hr duty to protect animal and plant life abd all living forms of life
    If toxins of any kind are thrown into the ocean it affects the eco system upon which animal and plant live depends for its survival
    The earth is already polluted which has led to a contamination of the foods that we eat
    So why now should the ocean a vital source for the protection of all life be under attack by the govt of barbados
    It is time to stop this wholsale destruction of the enviroment
    Closed the sewer plant down
    That is the only answer

19. If you close the sewage plant down where do you propose to redirect the sewage generated on the south coast?

#askingforafreind

20. Barbados govt is revealing to the world its contempt for the enviroment
    An action which will described barbados as a turd world country
    The govt of barbados should be mindful of the fact that living in a global community has consequences

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE The ocean is a living body of water that has a vigours and 24hr duty to protect animal and plant life abd all living forms of life

WHO SAYS? YOU?
    BRING THE EVIDENCE?

RE If toxins of any kind are thrown into the ocean it affects the eco system upon which animal and plant live depends for its survival

IS SEWAGE NECESSARILY TOXIC?
    DONT SEWAGE GOT IN NUFF NITROGEN THAT IS NECESSARY FOR LIFE IN DE OCEANS

DEFINE TOXIN
    WHAT MAKES A SUBSTANCE TOXIC?

RE
    The earth is already polluted which has lods that we eat
    So why now should the ocean a vital source for the protection of all life be under attack by the govt of barbados

LOTS OF DPD-ESQUE RHETORIC BUT POOR SCIENCE AND GOOD GOOOBLEDEGOOK

RE It is time to stop this wholsale destruction of the enviroment

YOU ARE ACTUALLY MORE HARMFUL TO THE DESTRUCTION OF THE ENVIRONMENT THAN THE SEWAGE PLANT OR DUMPING SEWAGE IN THE SEA LOL

22. David let the technocrats and advisers that Mia has hired come up with a solution
    My purpose is( advisingly) that of observations borne from what little knoweldge i have gained from environmentalist articles world wide and mankind negative impact which is leading to thevdestruction of the enviroment.
    Another realisation is how clouds collects water from various bodies of water which falls as rain
    What is being developed is a vicious cycle of negative interactions between human life and the enviroment which must stop by any means necessary

23. RE from what little knoweldge i have gained from environmentalist articles

IT SEEMS THAT YOU HAVE GAINED VERY LITTLE FROM YOUR READING AS YOU ARE EFFLUXING A VERY HIGH LEVEL OF BOVINE EXCREMENT

MAYBE YOU READ……BUT YOU DIDNT UNDERSTAND…..AND YOUR ANTI-BLP BIAS DOES NOT PERMIT YOU TO APPLY THE VERY LITTLE THAT YOU GLEANED FROM YOUR READINGS

24. @ac

If you took the time to view the video the prime minister addresses the need to stabilize the sewage problem then to rollout a plan to deliver a long term solution i.e. to regenerate the swamp life etc. In the Prime Minister’s interview with David Ellis she revealed that the government has recruited Dr. Hugh Sealy – he worked on a stage of the South Coast plant at the original build- as a consultant to support. One does not close a sewage plant as in this case where there is no back up.

As hoodie is wont to say say- capiche?

25. Mariposa is a fool that is just looking for any little thing to hit the BLP with. Does not really care bout any environment.

shut the plant down and the sewage has to go in the ground. On the south coast this will eventually find itself in the ground water or the sea (near coast)

so what foolishness is she/he talking?

26. or u go back to the day of the septic tanks. someone said third wurl country?

better to pump off the septic tanks at night and run off the tourist. then he/she will blame blp.

27. THE MORONIC MARIPOSA READ A FEW ARTICLES ON LINE AND BECAME A TOXICOLOGIST OVER NIGHT

JUST LIKE ANOTHER PROMINENT ASS ON BU OF RENOWN READ A FEW ARTICLES ON MARICOPA AND BECAME A BIOCHEMIST, A PHARMACOLOGIST AND AN EXPERT IN SUBSTANCES USED IN ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE

28. Please tell me how can the swamp be rejuvenated after years of toxins which has already killed off its natural resources by years of contamination
    Can manmade replacements to rejuvenate the swamp rebuild nature nutrients and nourishment or even rebuild the swamp filters (lungs) which in effect were designed to keep the swamp healthy
    I will guarantee that man-made efforts if ever see the light of day would not be sufficient to see the inevitable death of the swamp.

29. Now you have asked a good question. Restoration of swampland polluted with toxins. Is it possible? Of course it is if the right strategies are employed based on the little research the blogmaster has done.

30. David my comments are directed to the swamp the body of water that provides food and water for animal and plant life
    I notice you address your answer to swampland
    Yes swamp land can be rebuild but the issue here derives from human abuse of the swamp (inclusive of the body of water) and man’s ability to rejuevinatel the natural resources that lives in the water which are necessary for animal and plant life

31. @ac

Swampland includes all of the sanctuary, water, fauna, other swamp life- even the Stream restaurant.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HOW DOES Swampland include water, fauna, other swamp life AND – even the Stream restaurant.

IS NOT THE FAUNA IN THE SWAMP ITS SWAMP LIFE ?

RE my comments are directed to the swamp the body of water that provides food and water for animal and plant life
    LOL IS THIS IDIOT THAT THE SWAMP IS ONLY ITS WATER

PLEASE TELL US WHAT ARE the natural resources that lives in the water which are necessary for animal and plant life?

MARIPOSA CAN YOU CLARIFY THIS RUBBISH BELOW?
    Can manmade replacements to rejuvenate the swamp rebuild nature nutrients and nourishment or even rebuild the swamp filters (lungs) which in effect were designed to keep the swamp healthy

33. Thanks for raising this issue about the maltreatment of the Graeme Hall swamp. We must not allow this wetland to go the way of the dodo bird. If you watched the video that captured the tour of the swamp by the PM, you must have heard her promise to make this a priority matter once the plant has been stabilized. Note your party had two years to fix the problem.

34. David there are areas of swamps that are deprived of water
    My issue is where u are of the assumption that rejuenvation can create an atmosphere one which can have the same effect on plants and animal life when after the water ceases to exist

35. Will allow the experts to provide answers, sufficient to say the a promise was made that the government will prioritize the matter and the blogmaster has not heard the experts refuting that it is possible.

36. Mari is de expert

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE there are areas of swamps that are deprived of water

I REMEMBER A TIME IN THE EARLY 60’S WHEN THERE WAS NO WATER IN GRAHAM SWAMP AT ALL
    YOU COULD WALK ALLOVER THE TWO BIG PONDS OF WATER THAT EXISTED THEN

NOW CAN YOU TELL ME HOW “rejuenvation createD THE atmosphere IN which the same effect on plants and animal life RE-OCCURED after the water ceaseD to exist THEN
    THINK IF YOU CAN

38. Ok David will wait and see but would not hold my breathe because a complete clean up of the swamp plus restoration of dead or nearly dead plant plus vital nutrients to replenish the soil would cost the govt millions of dollars
    Which in the might be the equivalent of building a new plant.
    A new plant would be a better choice serving as a permanent solution long term for the enviroment and the swamp

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE a complete clean up of the swamp plus restoration of dead or nearly dead plant plus vital nutrients to replenish the soil would cost the govt millions of dollars

WHAT WILL IT COST THE GOVERNMENT FOR YOU TO STOP WORSE THAN THE SEWAGE THAT WENT INTO THE SWAMP?

I AM SURE THAT THE MICRO-ORGANISMS WILL CLEAN THE SWAMP

40. A reminder the country is broke. Racking up 8 billion in debt in the last decade had left the country in a perilous state. That said we have rely on the indomitable spirit to believe that we will overcome. We have to start to put Barbados first. We do not have the wiggle resources to not see the benefit of coming together.

41. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

GP;

Wuhloss! Muh belly! Uh go bawl!

Yuh non-sequitor and cross purpose posts are hilarious. Dis en medicine.

Thanks for providing some comic relief in the rum shop.

The few people providing reasonable information in this debate are: Bob Lucas, Peter Webster (He has an M.Sc. in Soil Science so he should know his soils); David and yes, Mariposa.

GP your contribution has been bare boo!

Wuhloss! Muh belly!

42. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Error: actionable instead of reasonable. a small subset of GP’s posts were tangentially reasonable, albiet, laughable.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

GP your contribution has been bare boo!
    YOUR OPINION

WHICH IS IT BARE BOO OR a small subset of GP’s posts were tangentially reasonable, albiet, laughable.

Wuhloss! Muh belly!

44. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

GP;
    You said “WHICH IS IT? BARE BOO OR a small subset of GP’s posts were tangentially reasonable, albiet, laughable. Wuhloss! Muh belly!”

imho, Most of your contributions were “bare boo”. The small subset that were not “bare boo” were slightly reasonable but nevertheless laughable.

Yuh want me to explain anything else? Yuh need a definition of “bare boo”?

45. […] a blog (4th. August) in reply to my last article: Webster had this to say: “The only thing obvious about […]