The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Is about to awake from a period of political stupor since it was shellacked at the May 24th general election. For the sake of a practicing democracy many Barbadians wish the party success electing new officers.

Unfortunately we have not witnessed any of the third parties fight for the space left vacant by the DLP. We will have to wait to see if a reincarnated DLP does enough to recapture its position of one half of the duopoly.

Image may contain: text

78 responses to “DLP Sighting!”

1. @T. Inniss

The traditional media will not cite or mention BU. Have you not noticed that VOB refers to BT as an online newspaper?

Dennis Johnson use to post until he had to manufacture a reason to withdraw. He needs to hold on to the work.

2. David

No I didn’t know that but guess what – this is 2018 – they better get on board this social media train or they will be left behind in the train station.

Social Media is where its at right now !

3. Let me tell you Bdos Underground has the makings of a site that can be very,very influential

Right now I believe that :

The Police reading what’s on BU;

The politicians reading BU

The Media across the region reading BU

The University lecturers reading BU but they are too embarrassed to come out and acknowledge the site like our own Jeff Cumberbatch and Justin Robinson

The University students on this site too

The U.S Drug Enforcement Agency,the CIA,the FBI,THE MI 6 (I think it is) in Britain reading BU

The IMF and the World Bank reading BU

The poor black man and our rich white friends are also reading BU

I want this site to be a blog site of first reference and that is why we have to up our game.

4. Received an image of Caswell’s comment posted to the other BU blog where he asked the question if Herbert was influential in securing the job for Prescod at Goddards.

#socialmediathegamechanger

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Inniss… .dont think we will sot by and let you turn this into some propaganda machine of yardfowls for any lowlife political party or intellect difficient politicians…that has been your intent from May 25th when ya suddenly appeared, we dont do slaveminded here.

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

This is the same blog all the then ministers, the then opposition and all their white/syrian/indian friends in the private sector wanted to get rid of….because the blogs educate the people and none of dem wanted that…on that they all agreed, combined resources and supported each other on taking down social media……all of a sudden they have developed a quick 360 degree about turn, none of them can live without social media, it has become their lifeline.

I would watch everyone one of them for intent.

7. The DLP didn’t destroy Barbados.The political duopoly did.To shut out the other parties into a 30 nil for the BLP is a sure sign that Bajans refused to grow up.I hope Bajans can accept the folly of our ultra conservative ways when the road tax kicks in come September and the Tourism taxes come December.

8. Things that make me go hum!! Avatar
    Things that make me go hum!!

Oh, Bajans have grown up, we are so grown that we KNOW we don’t want to see the shouting DEMS for years and years past. And DEM four – give me a break.

9. PieceUhDe RockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDe RockYeahRight

Just in case any of wunna sight the DLP Larceny Crew wunna can send them this from Piece Uh De Badword heheheheheheh

And tell dem dat I say dem is not to let Fumbles EVAH darken the HoA nor the DLP HQ in Belleville again.

https://i.imgur.com/WmCuLH2.png

10. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Given the recent “career Changing Move” by Pornville the Jailbird it seems reasonable to project that Verla Depeiza who, barring her declaration that people should be tried for treason for disclosing the contents of Fumble’s letter IS THE BEST CHOICE FOR DLP President.

She is very articulate.

She is intelligent

Her name is not called in any adultery scandals

She does not seem to teif client funds

She is a good lawyer

She is not a Lil Hitler who always at every Wuk Up festival

She does not have to have her medicines/tablets or will go off

And she ent in jail in Miami

Verla for president

https://i.imgur.com/lsteo6F.png

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar
  12. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ THe Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with an item in support of Verla Depeiza’s campaign on Sunday

13. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right, another one for your poster.

” Former High Commissioner to Britain Reverend Guy Hewitt is in the running for one of the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) top posts.”

14. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar
  15. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Hants

Is that the goodly reverend who tried to bad talk his junior when he heard that she was getting a pick with the BLP?

You see why i does be frighten of these people of the cloth?

Dem always doing things to discredit the name of the Lord

I going look for his picture in the interim but here is a picture for another feller.

Though he might not be good material given the sanity rather pressures required for this job, what you think?

https://i.imgur.com/AQFuPf9.png

16. Hewitt in line for a top job in the DLP? Well a Bishop is LOO time for a priest to step in somewhere

The Gov’t gave Hewitt time to get his affairs in order but my spies tell me that it gave the High Commissioner in Ottawa 30 days to pack up her Georgie bundle and leave, when the customary period is 3 months

Finish the joke: A bishop a priest and a politician went into a bar…….

17. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

Estwick should go quietly back to his real job.

I am sure he can make a decent living.

18. PUDRYR

I noticed you’re all fuzzy with Verla DePieza and have resorted to a similar ” no one effing seat” strategy to campaign on her behalf.

Kim Tudor would be my choice for the leadership of a revitalized DLP.

19. @Artax

What about Simon? The DLP needs someone not touched by the May result. The mark against him is that he should have immediately disassociated himself from Blackett, a Estwick Mia attacks. But to err is human.

20. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

To be truthful (indeed an oxymoron of sorts) I only sought to use the four names that were advances here on this blog recently and then of the four, i chose Verla from Estwick, Lashley, Inniss and Depeiza.

I did not do any analysis other than having seen all four of them speak and assessing her based on about 3 encounters and 5 and greater for each of the others.

Her brother is someone that de ole man has grown to respect based on *** and the family’s discipline is also something that has currency for me.

If it were a race that i had an asset in I would have done much more research as to the merits of each person but….

I do not think that the DLP is ready for a female who is as articulate as she is but they do not understand the landscape of the bajan electorate sufficiently to comprehend that this is the time for the ascension of female leaders and to ignore that is to perish.

21. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Piece,

I was warming to this lady, Verla Depeiza, then you mentioned that she is a lawyer! Another one!

We have had our fair share of law professionals running this country. Yet, we have witnessed an explosion in the levels of corruption as practised in Barbados under their “Stuart”ship. The fact that she is young, articulate, attractive and intelligent should not alter the fact that she remains a member of the legal profession; just like the vast majority of her predecessors.

Legal professionals are an aloof bunch who tend to be highly class orientated. They are not empathetic to the common man and woman; and they are not visionary people. We need creative leaders who value the arts, the sciences, culture and engineering, and not these narrow-minded legal professionals who are only able to focus on the narrow concepts of law and have the ability to talk well in public.

The problem with the legal professional is that they count their worth – uniquely – on their hourly rate. They work within a profession in which the average citizen is unable to pay for the fees of a lawyer, whether they are good, bad our indifferent! Can we really have this self-centred group of people running our country?

22. @ Talking Loud Saying Nothing
    Can we really have this self-centred group of people running our country?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Shiite boss!!!
    You just put your hands of the EXACT reason why the BLP cannot reverse the sinking fortunes of SS Titanic Barbados.

We insist on putting people – who have made a COMPLETE mess of their own profession; their own courts; their own association; their own judicial system; their own client-fund-accounting system…. IN CHARGE OF OUR WHOLE COUNTRY.

These jokers now have all their lawyer friends on EVERY committee, …every board, …every bram and wuk up….

Only a brass bowl goes for advice and guidance from a doctor who is HIMSELF sick as shiite….
    …or from a mechanic whose OWN car has been broken down now for DECADES….

Far from putting these lawyers in charge of the damn place, someone intelligent should be INSISTING that ALL of their client-accounts be audited annually, and the findings published as a public service…

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Talking Loud and Saying Nothing
    @ Brother in Arms Bush Tea

I am guided by your insights into the matter.

The fact is that there is every likelihood that on Sunday the choices of persons who will present themselves for candidature won’t be from outside the traditional group which has repeatedly offered themselves for service.

Mia Mottley at 2018 presents a classic scenario for your consideration

She presents all the aforementioned afflictions but what is different here in the desolate state of our economy and the fact that IF SHE CONTINUES DOWN THE PATH OF NEPOTISM not only will she be a one term government but the Barbados economy will crash in 6 months.

And there will be no package from the IMF.

Barring Fumbles and his group I don’t think there could be anyone who could be that stupid to keep doling out positions to friends while we need though leaders and visionaries with track records

But I could be wrong. In fact this Fumbles experience has left de ole man shaken by the superlative idiocy and my confidence in men is well…shattered.

Is there any hope for Barbados?

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for Talking Loud Saying Nothing and brother in Arms Bush Tea thank you

25. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

We have and have had a cartel of lawyers who have facilitated the growth of corruption in Barbados over many decades. Mia has been handed a still-born economy by the previous administration. I feel for her.

However, Mia is incapable of governing Barbados because she and some of her fellow cabinet team are linked to the Arthur regime. There is hope for Barbados but it needs a cabinet of fresh and not old blood. It also requires a cabinet that is representative of the people.

Here is a part of the famous resignation speech by Geoffrey Howe in the house of commons when he walked out of Margaret Thatcher’s conservative cabinet in 1990. I believed that she was forced to step down within a week of this speech being made.

“I believe both the chancellor and the governor are cricketing enthusiasts so I hope there will be no monopoly of cricketing metaphors. It’s rather like sending our opening batsmen to the crease only for them to find that before the first ball is bowled, their bats have been broken by the team captain. The time has come for others to consider their own response to the tragic conflict of loyalties with which I have myself wrestled for perhaps too long.”

The team captain is the previous regime led by Stuart. The conflict of loyalties is evident: Mia is unwilling and unable to bring down those individuals from both parties who were corrupt. It is time for the country and others within her cabinet to ask themselves if Mia is the right person to be leading the country.

26. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Talking Loud Saying Nothing

“If you lay down with stray dogs you will get up with fleas”

The fact is that these parties, BDLP, are both the same, both “heads or the tails side”, duplicates of the same plague of corruption

The prosecution of corruption cannot come from MAM because, with the effluxion of time, she is aware that this will lead to her prosecution by an incoming administration,

She would have to be idiotic not to understand the Haman and the Gallows story.

27. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

28. A former president of one of the island’s largest credit unions is calling for those financial institutions to help their membership create wealth.
    Maxine McClean, who once served as president and vice-president of the City of Bridgetown Cooperative Credit Union (COB), is suggesting that credit unions move to “stage two”.
    Delivering the Astor B Watts DLP lunchtime lecture today at the George Street Auditorium, the former Foreign Affairs Minister said customers were practically paying commercial banks to keep their money.
    She said despite low-interest rates and increased bank fees, the majority of Barbadians still kept their money in commercial banks with credit unions accounting for less than 12 per cent of domestic savings.
    “If we say to people to take some of the money you have in the commercial banks and put it in an investment entity where we apply the principal accrual, we can immediately mobilize significant sums of money which can form the capital base for an investment strategy aimed at making a difference in the lives of average Barbadians,” McClean said.
    She said in 2018 alone, COB mobilized over $419 million in savings while the Barbados Public Workers’ Co-Operative Credit Union, the country’s largest credit union, mobilized over $1 billion during the same period.
    McClean called for credit unions to form other entities, which would be used to allow members to earn additional money.
    “My recommendation is that credit unions need to move to what I call stage two of their development and that is to use the membership, more so than the institution itself, as a form of leverage, to create another institution or to utilize existing institutions related to the credit union movement to ensure that they are able to address the opportunities for wealth creation,” McClean said.
    “So what we can do is to take that money that belongs to us to invest in an entity which would allow us to make life better for ourselves and certainly for young persons,” McClean said.
    She however explained that while there had been suggestions that members move all their monies to their respective credit unions, that could prove to be problematic.
    “If there is high liquidity in the banking system and you were to move your money to the credit union in the traditional form of deposits, what that would create is excess liquidity in the credit union system and thereby affect your interest rates both on savings and loans,” McClean explained.(Quote)

This woman, who was the key person responsible for selling the wealth of the nation to the Chinese, is now shamelessly talking nonsense.
    Why after ten years didn’t the DP introduce policies to sort out this problem? For 50 years the nation has been governed by DLP/BLP jokers, all with LLBs, MBAs, LLMs, MAs.

Leave a Reply to PaulCancel reply