My perspective of the Integrity in Public Life bill is informed from my unique experiences since entering this political trench three years ago. My situation is different from other politicians because I am outside of the BLP/DLP protective umbrella, and the tip of the spear protecting all Solutions Barbados candidates from harm to their reputations. From this perspective, the weaknesses of this Bill are glaring.

In my opinion, the Integrity in Public Life bill appears to facilitate Barbados being turned into an unaccountable police state. I know that this seems ludicrous. However, it seems to be the most likely explanation for the inclusion of loopholes for the guilty and the removal of established protections for the innocent. I will list a few of them below.

Section 4.1 a) & b): This section identifies the functions of the Commission. One of the stated functions is to record and examine gifts forwarded or given by persons in public life. There appears to be no mention of gifts received by such persons in this section. For the avoidance of doubt, it should be included.

Section 6.2: The Commission shall be treated as a law enforcement agency. However, it appears to have more power than the police and judiciary, which is concerning if it is used in a politically partisan manner. Whoever controls the Commission can clear their guilty friends and punish their innocent perceived enemies with impunity.

Section 9.1: The Commission employs an Investigative Office, who must not be a member of the Police force. According to section 15.1, he can arrest persons, deliver them to the custody of the Police, and seize and retain any documents or materials that he thinks is relevant.

A person can make a complaint about the Investigative Officer’s behaviour, and the complaint is directed to a 3-member panel appointed by the Governor General (section 20). Two members of the panel are persons who were previously politically appointed to their positions.

The panel can dismiss the complaint, regardless of the evidence, if they think that it was made in bad faith (section 21 a). They can also dismiss it if they think that an investigation or further investigation is not necessary or reasonably practicable (section 21 b). These can easily be used as loopholes to facilitate the politically partisan behaviour of a rogue Investigative Officer.

Section 10.1: The Commission has the powers of a judge of the Supreme Court to summon and examine witnesses and demand documents. In section 10.3, the Commission is not restrained by the rules of the Evidence Act which were designed to protect all of us. The Commission can take into account opinion evidence, which the Evidence Act restricts.

While it is reasonable that opinion evidence may be relied upon during the investigation phase of the process, the Bill should clearly state that the Commission must not rely on any “opinion evidence” to determine someone’s guilt.

Section 11.1 b): This section appears to entitle a summoned person to be compensated for expenses as if he had been summoned to attend the Supreme Court on a criminal trial. However, the person can only be paid whenever and however the Minister of Finance decides. The Commission can also decide to simply not allow the summoned person to claim any expenses.

The common trend when persecuting political competitors is to attempt to bankrupt them, which can automatically disqualify them from being candidates. To have a person continually attend hearings for weeks can accomplish this aim, which is why the Evidence Act entitles innocent summoned persons to be reimbursed for both their time and expenses. This is natural justice since a person cannot refuse to appear when summoned without consequences.

The Evidence Act appears to be carefully designed to protect innocent persons from political abuse. Why is the Commission being directed to deviate from this established practise of natural justice?

Section 11.4 d): If a person insults a member of the Commission, then he is liable to be fined $10,000 and imprisoned for 6 months. A person who is subjected to obvious unfair treatment for as long as a politically compromised Commission decides, knowing that he will not be reimbursed for his time, is vulnerable to objecting improperly.

Section 11.5 a): A person shall not be compelled to incriminate himself. However, according to section 11.4, he is liable to be fined $10,000 and imprisoned for 6 months, if he does not turn over documents. It should be clarified whether he can be compelled to turn over documents that can incriminate others, who in-turn will likely incriminate him.

Section 14 d): The Commissioner of Police must provide constables to do whatever the Commission directs. This can provide a politically compromised Commission and Inspector with an appearance of legitimacy.

Section 32.5: Once a person has retired from public life for 2 years, then he cannot be investigated. If it is a member of the Commission, then he cannot be investigated once he has retired for 5 years. These are glaring loopholes for persons who have already retired. Also, persons can easily walk over this low hurdle by directing that bribes be paid to them 2 years after their retirement.

Section 33.1: If a member of the Commission is to be investigated, then the Governor General, after consulting with the Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition, shall appoint a single person tribunal to investigate. If the person is declared to be innocent, then their expenses must be paid from the consolidated fund within 3 months (33.5 b). Why must the tribunal only comprise one politically appointed person, and why the double standard regarding compensation?

Section 40.2: Where a Member of Parliament of the Senate has acquired a prohibited interest, which would be a violation of the Act, then the Commission shall not issue a determination if the Politician or Senator confesses, and the Commission believes that if they kept the prohibited interest will not affect the person meeting his obligations. This is another glaring loophole for a politically controlled Commission.

Section 45.7 a) ii: If a person receives a substantial (over $1,000) gift, then they can keep it if the Commission decides that the gift was not intended to provide favourable treatment. What likely reason would someone give a substantial gift if not for in exchange for favourable treatment?

Section 48: No prosecutions of persons in relation to restricted gifts shall be pursued after 5 years of a person’s retirement from public life. This allows the guilty to go free with no consequences whatsoever, they simply need to be patient.

Section 56 a): A person charged with corruption can be found innocent if he can claim that he had no knowledge of the circumstances giving rise to the act of corruption. This is a weak but allowable defence in this bill.

The section for whistle-blowers is extremely weak to the point of being almost ineffective. There is no confidential reporting and no financial incentive for whistle-blowers – the proven main ingredients of an effective whistle blower program. In the US, their highly successful Securities Exchange Commission’s program allows whistle-blowers to report anonymously, and rewards them with up to 30% of the amounts recovered. Why are we designing an almost ineffective system when there are highly effective systems available?

First Schedule

The Commission shall comprise 4 political appointees, plus one lawyer and one clergyman. This has the appearance of a political commission. The main reasons for political commissions is to protect the politically favoured from scrutiny and persecute those not politically favoured.

A less partisan Commission and disciplinary panel should have a majority of persons who were never politically appointed, and who treasure their professional reputations too much to be corruptible or intimidated. Fellows of Chartered professional institutions would have spent an adequate amount of time complying with their institution’s code of ethics, so they should be less likely to be corruptible.

The Bill is written in a manner that it can easily be misused. That is not how our laws should be written. There are no meaningful protections for the innocent to avoid political persecution, and glaring loopholes to protect those with provable evidence of corruption and bribery.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

165 responses to “A Grenville Phillips Column – Loopholes for the Guilty”

1. Yeah..but will Mia pursue it. ..this is not the time to talk rubbish about not seeking vengeance, getting justice for the people and retrieving ALL their stolen money is not seeking vengeance, it’s returning stolen money, land etc to their rightful owners…the people.

“CONTRA BONOS MORES. Against good morals.

3.-2. Indecent or mischievous consideration. An obligation or engagement prejudicial to the feelings of a third party; or offensive to decency or morality; or which has a tendency to mischievous or pernicious consequences, is void. Cowp. 729; 4 Campb. R. 152; Rawle's R. 42; 1 B. & A. 683; 4 Esp. Cas. 97; 16 East R. 150; Vide Wagers."

2. Prodigal…that’s my point…retrieving what the exgovernment ministers stole and are living large off and gave away hundreds of millions to minorities, knowing that none of it was theirs, not caring anything about the people or the additional taxes now squeezing the remainder of the life out of the people who have nothing left….is unconscionable..especially when they have all gone into hiding, can’t show their faces because they know only too well what they have done..

Mia needs to swallow whatever sympathy she is holding for those parasites and friendship she is harbouring for ALL those thieves and do right by the people…or she will not be forgotten to forgiven…this cannot be overlooked, they overdid it.

Personally…I don’t understand how people are surviving, I am fortunate not to have to count pennies or look at receipts, but it is obvious the cost of food, the basics, cost of living is way too high on the island…people ae working poor…how much longer will they last before poverty levels rise significantly…and that is why Mia cannot put friendship before the people who elected her.

3. Prodigal u need to shut u mout and stop telling lies
    But then again birds of feather flock together….meaning Mia have told a barrage of lies already
    So not surprising that you would be joined at her hip.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster, what vengeance would that be…🤣…appoint her own chairpersons, CEOs and consultants to earn the hefty contracted remuneration in the place of those terminated, for as long an extended period?….

… Or maybe seek to waive significant back taxes…oh dear..that was just a spurious allegation!

Either way what an absolutely ridiculous game these folks play.

Do you know what would be acceptable to peons like myself… a complete assessment from the office of the auditor general (thus transparency) of contract awarded 1) over the last eight years and 2l the five year period before then.

All for those title levels noted above stating salary ranges, duration of contract, duties/responsibilities and a pellucid analysis whether these recent contracts met even the most basic standards of those previous contracts.

If they did then end this talk and let’s move because the game is clearly played by both sides.

If they did NOT then bloody hell prosecute wherever possible and at minimum lambaste publicly the scoundrels endlessly so that they may never see the inside of the HofA other than from visitor’s gallery!

Steeupse! What vengeance what.

5. The issuing of contracts by the government should be centralized and standardized.

6. @”Section 11.4 d): If a person insults a member of the Commission,”

What is this pettiness we have about insulting the political class. i think that once a personenters political life, a life for which they are handsomely compensated by the electorate, that the political class should be prepared to hold some insults. Have these people ever hear the nursery rhyme “sticks and stones can break my bones, but words can never hurt me.”

I’ve never joined a political party because I find that the political class, all of them are far too thin skinned for my liking.

Imagine trying to punitively fine, and lockup the electorate for “insulting” you. The same electorate which pays your salary and pension.

And by the way, what exactly is an insult?

Can anybody quantify and qualify the term insult for me?

7. If a politician is fat, ugly, duncy, a neglectful spouse/parent/son/daughter and i speak this truth is that an insult?

Why?

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Simple…these politicians/lawyers are really too petty and uppity once they are elected, all they think about are their egos, that is why they and their masters have to be pursued for corruption, theft and fraud.

Now what does Leodean Worrell, a trini lawyer, know about the machinations of the BWA to be chairperson….just asking….I know most are happy to be rid of that old dinosaur who was planning to leave in a box he was so damn greedy and incompetent…but what does Leodean know, it is not her speciality.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/179234/board-barbados-water-authority

“The Barbados Water Authority has a new Board. The chairperson is Leodean Worrell, and her deputy is Philip Lewis.”

9. If a call a member of the political class a drunk, or more nicely i suppose, an alcoholic, and he or she is indeed a drunk or an alcoholic is that an insult?

10. Focus on the 15 Billion $$$ Missing and all the crooks will be skinned up even Mia, Accounting General worked need to go to the DPP and COP , who don’t do their work needs to be removed, for we need Rule of Law in Barbados not long blogging,

11. @Artax July 23, 201810:16 AM, “I understand that Derek Alleyne’s contract as Director of UDC, which was to end in 2019, was renewed until 2029…a period of TEN YEARS.”

But won’t he be retired or dead by then. Isn’t he already an old, old man?

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Indeed…what insult what, people are paying you big salaries to work, plus perks, plus exposure on the international stage …ya tiefing and selling out the people instead and then drafting legislation claiming you are being insulted…that shit gotta stop.

As is the norm they think the legislation should punish the people who pay their salaries and not them and their friends who commit crimes…

..barely 2 months after being elected and they are already screwing up, probably believing bajans went to sleep after the election…big, big mistake…there is vigilance and high alert more than ever before.

13. What is Derek Alleyne doing at the UDC?, Nothing is moving over there and the 15% VAT is also not going there , People are not moving from land rent to land ownership, 21 years of VAT laundering by the BLP then DLP and now BBLP

14. @Prodigal Son July 23, 2018 5:22 PM “The dems did not realise that their day would come!.”

If that is so then they must be awfully stupid.

One of these days the “B’s” day will also come.

Simple Simon

neither B nor D.

15. @David July 23, 2018 5:25 PM “We wait to see if Prime Minister Mottley will exact vengeance”

We don’t want vengence David.

We want justice, that’s all.

If ya do the crime, ya hafta do the time.

Thst’s not vengence, that’s justice.

16. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

“……there is vigilance and high alert more than ever before.”

You are correct and it will not make a damn difference! We are no different to any other tin-pot third world country. Real development is a genuine struggle and will always be outshone by corrupt practises. I have said on numerous occasions that Bajans should vote with their feet as there are better alternatives outside of Barbados.

When a country fails to recognise and bear down on corruption then all is lost. GOODNIGHT!

17. TheOGazerts - practicing law on BU Avatar
    TheOGazerts – practicing law on BU

Don’t we have a few who believe that 30-0 solved all our problems?
    Simple Simon, I missed the point about “insult”. What is an insult?
    This is written too loosely. One can spend six months in the gulag, because some joker don’t like what you said. (Don’t call him a joker).
    Mia need to get some help from real lawyers.

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They need to get rid of all those old fools leeching off the taxpayers…send them home, they are impeding progress with their backwardness….brainwash and programming.

I want to know what local research the minister of health Bostic is talking about re medical marijuana…outside of citing human clinical trials that have already been completed and can be found in journals and FDA approved literature…yes the federal government has started to approve marijuana in fits and starts contrary to what some jackass desk jockey who claims he is a federal employee said.

The island does not have the equipment, funding or skills for human trials….all the long talk and years of bullshitting around will not push the benefits of medical marijuana unless they implement immediate policies and enforce the existing legislation..as soon as possible..instead of importing the plant or its finished products…engage the youth in the depressed areas and those who have decades and years of experience cultivating and processing the plant for its derivatives..why import when it can be grown on the island…engage the real experts, those who were unjustly imprisoned for growing the plant. .

..they already had one dumb doctor trying to mislead the people and he got shut down and embarrassed by Douglas Trotman for lying to the public in a public forum….enough with all the stupid talking…start acting, research should have already happened and turned into action.

The same people who demonized and criminalized the medical marijuana and those who use it will now all turn around and pretend they are the biggest experts on Cannabis..just becausevp they got a medical degree or law degree when they know nothing..no one needs the long talk….spare us the talk….the minority thieves know even less so dont try to help them tief the financial benefits of medical marijuana either, let the people deal with it.1

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/179239/research-vital-medical-marijuana-decision

“Minister of Health and Wellness, Lieutenant Colonel Jeffrey Bostic, has emphasised the importance of research as Government looks towards making medical marijuana more accessible to the public.

Speaking to medical doctors and researchers at the 18th annual Professor Errol E. R. Walrond Scientific Symposium last Friday, Lt. Col. Bostic lauded Professor Walrond’s ethics case presentation on medical marijuana as an excellent example of such research.

He noted that traditionally, Barbados has looked to regional and international institutions to be leaders in clinical research, but he posited that research “should begin at home”.

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Mia need to get some help from real lawyers.”

That is what Mia considers real lawyers, her cousin, her lawyer and those in her cabinet…as they showed us.., their drafting skills are mediocre at best and their intent destructive to the people.

..She should have gotten 3rd year university law students to outline a real integrity legislation draft…because it’s ugly what Simmons, Haynes & Co came up with….and they got the nerve to call it integrity legislation. ..

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The problem as I see it which will not serve Mia’s government well, is all the ministers especially the lawyers all carry the 1950s mentality and dont realize the population has moved on mentally, upgraded their own mentalities and are now a level or two above what the leaders are accustomed to….the new age bajan is not thinking like their parents and grandparents…they have successfully left the leaders behind..

The Mia government needs to catch up, rid themselves of their 50s mentally….discard the idea of practicing that backward mentality and all their well honed, well worn, decades old tricks on the people….or get a 30-0 next election.

21. “But won’t he be retired or dead by then. Isn’t he already an old, old man?”

Simple Simon

It’s obvious you don’t know Mr. Alleyne.

Mariposa

(1) Perhaps you may care to inform us what does Stuart’s comment re “lions and lambs,” has to do with the problems he is currently experiencing at NUPW?

Nonsense!!!

(2) Could you please list the lies the lies Mottley told so far?

(3) Since you’re now a proponent of transparency, truthfulness and accountability……do you believe your former DLP administration was transparent with the process of those contract renewals?

Without your usual generalized statements and political rhetoric……would you care to share your thoughts on that issue?

22. @ BajanFreeParty July 23, 2018 7:58 PM

What is Derek Alleyne doing at the UDC?, Nothing is moving over there and the 15% VAT is also not going there
    ……………………………………………

Derek Alleyne is one of the badasses of the DLP…………….

There was no money allocated to build or repair houses for the poor people of this country.

Do you know what the criminals at UDC did during the period after Parliament was dissolved? This is the time when they did as they like.

They gave their cronies LPO’s to go and trust lumber and whatever else off the backs of we the taxpayers.

These DLP people are criminals………..not one of them should ever show their faces in public again.

23. Artax

While you are at it with Mariposa……..ask her how they could pay Maureen Holder $10,000 per month when CBC is insolvent………

Ask her if the DLP settled its debt with CBC……..

Ask her if the taxpayers of this country was paid for Almond Beach and how the property got into the hands of Butch Stewart?

24. @ Simple

Derek Alleyne should be in his mid sixties.

25. No! u did not ask me how the NUPW bacchanal between Roslyn Smith and Annakani correlates to Stuart inferences to lion and lambs lying together and the lambs being mauled
    If you profess to be a man of intelligence you would see in what way and how stuarts words fits in to what is happening at a NUPW.
    Also what is noteworthy that Annakani might have belived that after doing all the dirty work for the blp all in tow with the private sector his job was well secured
    Isnt it funny that a slight error of judgement in reporting via news media his verbal talks with the IMF whereby he opened his mouth and truth jump out that all of a sudden he is being mauled .
    Isnt it also strange how fast and furious the the attacks came. along with the urgency to throw him out.
    What all this means to outsiders looking in is that he is one who cant be trusted with inside information that lends itself to govt
    Yes the talk of lay offs was just a talk until Annankani opened his mouth and spoke truth
    The lions could not wait to get a pound of his flesh
    Say what u want i saw this happening about a month ago and i relate such on BU

26. It seems as though it’s a monumental task for you respond WITHOUT using your usual generalized statements and political rhetoric.

When an individual uses generalized statements, it’s a clear indication that he/she believes they have an entitlement to comment, irrespective of having any knowledge of the issues.

Firstly, the reasons you highlighted are not responsible for the fallout between Mr. McDowell and the NUPW.

Hence your use of generalized statements and political rhetoric.

Secondly, Stuart’s reference to the “lions and lambs,” was a reference to the unions joining with the private sector to achieve a specific objective….and the situation unfolding at the NUPW does not have anything to do with the private sector……

……and far less with the reasons you referred to in your above contribution.

27. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service July 23, 2018 8:20 AM

Certain crimes…like stealing public funds should be treated like murder, no statute of limitations, but to have a 2 or 5 year statute of limitations for bribery, fraud and stealing from the treasury and pension is AN INSULT and very disrespectful to the population.

Agreed there should be no Statue of limitations in these matters at all. It means that the guilty will go unpunished especially if the commission operates like the court system in Barbados. I assume that there will be legal representation. The perpetrators of fraud will just pay exorbitant fees to their attorneys to drag along these cases until the statute of limitations expire making the very exercise a waste of time.

28. And “speaking of cherry picking,” I noticed you chose to respond to the McDowell affair……because it suits your political agenda……

…….and PURPOSELY refused to respond to the other 2 questions.

Just in case you forgot, please list the lies Mottley told……

……and do you believe the renewal of contracts months or years prior to the expiration of the original contracts on the eve of a general election and parliament was dissolved…..is “morally ethical” and conforms to basic practices of integrity, transparency and accountability?

I await your response.

29. What is the rationale for inserting the limitation do we know?

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“It means that the guilty will go unpunished especially if the commission operates like the court system in Barbados.”

The drafters of the integrity are the same ones, particularly Haynes who is still destroying the Supreme Court with backlogged personal injury cases he refuses to close, is desperately seeking a judgement from Mia and am sure will sit on the same Commisdion…so don’t expect anything to change, destruction is all lawyers like him know….it will be the same, no changes, not with the same lawyers involved…abd the damage they visited on the supreme court for decades.

“stat·ute of lim·i·ta·tions
    ˈstaCHo͞ot əv ˌliməˈtāSHənz/Submit
    nounLAW
    a statute prescribing a period of limitation for the bringing of certain kinds of legal action.”

Like with murder, the statute of limitations are there to protect victims and society from perpetrators getting away with their crimes over years and decades, it provides law enforcement and the courts the opportunity of time to prosecute and punish those criminals when they are eventually caught.

There is no way that government corruption, bribery, fraud and thefts from public funds should warrant a 2 or 5 year statute of limitations for those accused and their co-conspirators to get away, it is plain to see that the same Simmons and Haynes came up with that direct insult and disrespect to the people and all the hundreds of millions that was stolen from them…to protect those who OWN them in the minority community, their friends and themselves from any prosecution.

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

is desperately seeking a JUDGESHIP from Mia and am sure will sit on the same Commission

This is particularly annoyi g that zHaynes ….who knows…he has cases sitting in the dupreme court unresolved, cases he spent 15 years or more both him and the lawyers eho work in his girm…making sure those cases never left the supreme court, the claimants get no closure or compensation wjile he abd his lawyers filled their pockets from the insurance company CGI who prefer over load the court with cases pay lawyers to k

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

is desperately seeking a JUDGESHIP from Mia and am sure will sit on the same Commission

This is particularly annoying that Haynes ….who knows…he has cases sitting in the supreme court unresolved, cases he spent 15 years or more both him and the lawyers who work in his firm…making sure those cases never left the supreme court, the claimants get no closure or compensation while he and his lawyers fill their pockets from the insurance company CGI/Harris who much prefer over load the court with cases pay thesev lawyers to backlog the system so they do not have to pay injured claimants …while the court process and the judges enable this. ….

Mia knows this, yet she allows Haynes to not only draft legislation, but seek to be a Judge as well…although he has the civil court tied up and unable to move…people are still waiting for court dates for their cases because Haynes and his lawyers lied to the judges consistently and for years to keep their cases in limbo…I have files that easily exposes this and there is no way Haynes should be allowed to get away with this while seeking to sit on the supreme court bench and sit on these same personal injury cases….let’s see if Mia allows this, I will know…it is repulsive what the lawyers are colluding to do.

It is instructive that none of this bothers Mia…she is well aware of it, how she could in good conscience even consider Haynes as a judge, despite Clico and despite CGI cases stuck in the court system and not moving…is cause for concern….how could she allow him to draft legislation for the country when he so gleefully disenfranchises claimaints and abuse elderly injured people..

This clearly highlights that their integrity legislation is designed to cover their own asses while continuing to exploit, victimize and oppress the people who elected the government..

33. The blogmaster will continue to shout the message to all and sundry- send your feedback to the Joint Parliamentary Committee. Be dispassionate in your feedback. It is a draft bill, unlike the former government the public is being allowed to share feedback. It will depend on how strident the feedback is might determine the final bill. We cannot be critical of the bill and do not send same to the Committee for consideration.

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They read BU…what I am thinking is WHY would the lawyers in government and their fellow drafters even think that they would continue to get away with any of this in 2018 when they have seen the level of exposure that they THEMSELVES have been subjected to over the years because of their own unethical and integrity lacking behaviors…they are showing a stubborness and determination that more determined people will use to expose them….why do they still seek to insult the public’s intelligence when ample proof exists of what they have done, what they are doing and plan to do to bring harm to the same people who pay their salaries…their own determination is now their greatness weakness and will be their undoing…these unethical lawyers.

Besides…Grenville is also exposing them on another front…in barbadostodays news.

They are not getting away with any of this without paying in a public forum, the sooner they come to this realization and do right by the people….PARICULARLY and INCLUDING those whose civil cases hang in limbo in the same supreme court they themselves destroyed….the sooner all of this wil go away.

35. So David why are you shouting while passing around your usual distractions
    What i sense in your voice is a suttle attempt to temper the opposing attacks her on BU which are coming fast and furious on that piece of watered down Integrity legislation
    Telling all and sundry to write letters to the joint Commission is an exercised in futilty
    Also what is the point in asking suggestions after the bill is already drafted
    Furthermore what kind of input at this eleventh hour would be determined or influence what changes to be made
    Also how much is it going to cost the taxpayers for this Joint Committe to mull around and shuffle through the paper work
    This govt is bound and determined to pull the wool over the populace eyes through the lens of smoke and mirrors

36. Has BU prevented you from posting your (most of the time) nothinarian comments? Just post and stop watching BU, watch Mia, your pastime anyway.

37. It seems as though you prefer the status quo to remain as it was prior to the May 24th general elections……when Stuart and his fools were “bound and determined to pull the wool over the populace eyes through the lens of smoke and mirrors…..”

To be FAIR…….whether you agree or disagree with their methods……at least this current BLP administration is prepared and attempting to engage the pubic…..

…….something unheard of during the abysmal tenure of Freundel and his fools.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes.

In a way this BLP administration’s public relations exercise I a little different from what the DLP did.

However there is an aspect to its ENACTMENT that while the sheeple are bathing in its regularity WE the purportedly non sheeple know to be smoke and mirrors.

Case in point.

Mia is passing Integrity Legislation BUT, AND HERE IS THE KICKER, she is putting a 2 year statute if legislations on any teifing acts.

THAT IS ABSOLUTELY UNACCEPTABLE AND IS AN INSULT TO EVERY SINGLE BAJAN.

So now what has to happen?

De ole man gine show you what really should happen when de grandson do a little cartoon bout um today.

Hopefully bajan who are concerned will start sharing the information to show how our Mia Cares Government ONLY CARES FOR ITSELF

BUT “I MIA, I got this…”

39. MPs have voted to suspend DUP MP Ian Paisley for 30 sitting days.
    It follows his failure to declare two family holidays paid for by the Sri Lankan government. He will be absent from Parliament for some key Brexit votes.
    If 10% of his constituents sign a petition, a by-election in his North Antrim constituency will be called.
    Speaker of the House John Bercow called it “a regrettable state of affairs”.
    Mr Bercow will now formally inform the chief electoral officer of the decision and she has ten working days to set up a petition which, if signed by 10% of North Antrim constituents will lead to a by-election and Mr Paisley having to stand down.
    Sir Kevin Barron, chair of the Standards Committee, said they had concluded Mr Paisley was guilty of “serious misconduct”.(Quote)

40. “Also what is the point in asking suggestions after the bill is already drafted”

Draft does not mean codified, ratified or proclaimed…

whatever Mia’s and/or the drafters intentions, as PM she is giving the public the opportunity to find the wrongness in the document, deliberately intentioned or not and scream out at the clear exploitive contents the drafters introduced…do not remain silent victims.

…..the public has to make their displeasure known in no uncertain terms that not only will they not tolerate her government not seeking justice on their behalf as it relates to their stolen money but they will not allow her ministers and close relations like Haynes and Simmons to draft integrity legislations that insults and disrespects the same already victimized population….this has to be made clear to Mia.

Again…Mia is no fool, she is nothing like Fruendel with regards to not recognizing when something is about to bite her in the ass and hand her a 30-0.

41. Only a jacka..ss would fall for that trick
    Lol what suggestions again
    Now is this going to be a govt who has highly paid advisers who flashes.
    its smoke and mirrors in the face of the people in pretense
    The time has come for this govt to realize that campaiging is over and it is time to get on with the business of doing the job it wss paid to do
    Enough of the theatrics

42. Thanks Ping Pong, the blogmaster is following very closely.

43. You have probably heard the names but note the Ecstasy is owned by a local conglomerate.

44. What I am reading about this Drug Bust which allegedly involves a pleasure Yacht owned by one of the Lions who laid down with the Lambs – should come as no surprise.

Blame that too on the DLP right apologists.

What do you expect when 5 of the most notorious and biggest drug lords get special invitations to attend the Official Opening of Parliament ?

Who will bell the cat?

People the wheels are about to fall of if there is not some serious,serious intervention.

I remember this famous poem which seems apt at this time:

Turning and turning in the widening gyre,

The falcon cannot hear the falconer

Things fall apart;the centre cannot hold;

Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world

The blood dimmed tide is loosed and everywhere

The ceremony of innocence is drowned

The best lack all conviction,while the worst

Are filled with passionate Intensity

BY William Butler Yeats.

********* Food for thought *******

45. @T. Inniss

Relax, your Trump tactic will not work here. The BU intelligentsia can walk and chew gum. We wait to see who are charged and for Charles Herbert et al to issue a statement. There is a lot at stake, especially for those who own shares!

46. Police must seize the boat, name the owner(s) and prosecute the lot.

47. What is my Trump tactic David.Enlighten me please.

48. I do mot expect that well known person to be charged.This matter will go away just as the others did or somebody else will take a fall.

Again please enlighten me on my trump tactic.

49. We know nothing at this stage.

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply