On another BU blog it was highlighted the decision by the Financial Services Commission (FSC) to cease trading in government securities – Financial Services Commission Issues Cease Trade Order on Government Securities immediately after winning the government on the 24 May 2018. The FSC communication indicated the decision was informed by government’s decision to default on foreign debt payments. To be expected the ‘bold’ decision caught the country by surprise against a background of an unblemished repayment record and smashed to smithereens the boast of Barbados NEVER defaulting on a foreign loan payment.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley has announced a large team to support the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) campaign strategy to stabilize the country’s declining economy comprised of Dr. Clyde Mascoll, Marsha Caddle, Ryan Straugn, Avinash Persaud and the controversial White Oak Advisory Limited. The finance team is part of a large Cabinet appointed by Prime Minister Mottley that has attracted loud public comment. Particularly there has been rising concern about the role of little known White Oak- not much is known about the company except that the London-based independent financial advisory firm to act as a financial advisor in the debt-restructuring exercise.

Two observations from the blogmaster which have arisen from the decisions taken so far by government and agent the FSC.

There is a reasonable expectation that the impact of the decision by government to default on debt repayments will impact business customers differently to individuals. For what it is worth the blogmaster reminds whom it may concern that Barbadian individual investors were encouraged and assured by the Central Bank of Barbados to invest in the country by purchasing savings bonds. The financial advice was supported by the former government eliminating the minimum savings rate offered by commercial banks. In another market there might have been a prima facie case of collusion. A discussion for another time.

To state the obvious, any decision to reduce yields/rate of return on bonds held by individuals and non personal entities will have significant consequences.  The Prime Minister has promised she will be transparent about the engagement with the IMF. After 10 years of belt tightening there is no relief insight for the immediate future. Who said how did we get back here?

The other issue that has surfaced is the advice by all and sundry to withdraw their monies from commercial banks and place in credit unions. The blogmaster has no problem with supporting the credit unions, the movement has played a significant role in the development of working class Barbados and has the potential to do more. However, a few questions are worth repeating.

1. How will credit unions sustain existing interest rates of up to 2.5% in a market where there is a low appetite for borrowing?
  2. Why has the credit union league been unable to secure deposit insurance for members?

Two credit union employees from the City of Bridgetown and Barbados Workers Union discussed the competitive position of credit unions compared to the banks. To be honest, the blogmaster was not persuaded by the arguments.

Have a listen and form your conclusions to the 15 July 2018 podcast.

152 responses to “External Debt Default WATCH!”

1. @Prodigal Son

Slight correction, Dexter is the CEO.

2. Ask any local investor who bought govt bonds if they think Mia decision to default on govt debt was a good one and most would say Appaling
    Ask any foreign investor if govt defaulting on debt places barbados credit worthiness at high risk within the global finacial market and the answer is Yes
    What i do not understand how intelligent people would use a separate trend of thought in respect as to what area of the debt the govt refuse to pay
    The fact being that when one has several lines of credit refusal to pay one reflects on your abilty to pay any and can in turn deplete any of value or credit which you earned after default

3. Why did the government default?

Because reserves were/are low due to the inability of the former government to generate inflows.

4. It is worth mentioning in this space that Maloney has promised a start to the Hyatt later this year AFTER the environmental impact study (EIS) requested by the prime minister and forced by court action initiated by Comissiong.

5. David………..as if he had a choice!

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mariposa.

You are incorrect about the Cahill prosecution

The main protagonist was Mr Kammie Holder ably assisted by the Honourable Blogmaster and the documents that fell off the truck.

Nonetheless it is still good to be counted among those who fought successfully against your assification plant with the “Me Claire Who You” campaign.

And lest you ever forget, De ole man has adopted prodigal son’s campaign theme of “DEMs Never Again” so that you know not one if you will ever get back in if I can get de grandson do a Stoopid Cartoon

7. We await details of the financing arrangement. Will the loans be sourced from outside Barbados? How will procurement decisions be decided?

8. Mia gave Cahill matter a national resonance. It was a tag team effort that galvanized support from the middle and upper class. Always a dangerous occurrence when the middlclass wakes up to support an issue.

9. Just goes to show all the drama and political poppycock could have been avoided with a little leadership.

10. Telling me i am correct does not help you with your fight against govt decision to have an unknown financial adviser working on behalf of barbados interest at unknown cost to the public
    I reiterate that you will be on your own because the gawd flies who lit fire to the fuel which engulfed the WTE plant would not lift one finger or move one toe to help you fight any negative feedback against White Oak
    If you doubt me read Enuff comments
    Hee hee hee
    Also just a friendly reminder one that with my permission you can embed in your silly cartoons
    The first should be last and the last should be first

11. The question still remains if the height of the building and the noise about the Windows of the beach would still not be of concern to Commisiong all which were filed in courts papers. The nastiness of all this is more than dog stomach can take and the flithy state of the bay street corridor
    But what does Commisiong has to lose abosolutely nothing he sang for his supper and was awarded at the expense of the business enviroment situated on bay street
    What a dam shame

12. You continue with your untruths. Comissiong filed for judicial review, the court agreed, full stop. As a result Maloney has to do the EIS or pick up stumps. There comes a time you need to be quiet, like the smacked down DLP party.

13. “You dems begged poor Barbadians for a vote and then turn around and gave away their money to their rich white friends”

Ah wonder how many of the exgovernment ministers are still getting invites to these thieves houses, from what I understand these people are very vocal about not having negros around them, particularly house negros, when they no longer have titles, access to parliament and are of no further use….no more access to the treasury and pension fund = niggas be gone!! you are not my friend…what made you think you were my friend?

Taxpayers wasted money educating these fools who rotated in and out of parliament and now have very little to show for it…a travesty.

14. I am not telling an untruth there comes a time when you need to butt out and let the accused speak for themselves
    The EIS was one part of the game plan all the other issues were also attached with a greivance to height
    Now the wheeling and dealing has begun but the court records are their to verify
    Commisiong is a snake more devious than the one found in the Garden of Eden

15. Comissiong has posted to the blog many times the basis for the court filing, he said once an EIS is completed he will be happy to withdraw. You are so blinded with your hard headed position you will never step back from your position. In much the same way the DLP finds in self without a voice in parliament. Same ignorance, Barrow must be tossing in his grave.

16. Here is David Comissiong’s last comment on the issue posted on 14/07/2018

FOR THE UMPTEENTH TIME :

I — David Comissiong — asked a Judge of the Supreme Court to REVIEW the manner in which Freundel Stuart, the Minister responsible for Town and Country Planning, had processed Maloney’s application for Town and Country Planning permission to build the Hyatt Hotel, AND if it was found that the processing was defective (because of the failure to order the carrying out of an Environmental Impact Assessment) to cancel the permission.

Maloney has had his permission to build this hotel since February 2017, and both he and the then Minister of Tourism , Richard Sealy, were continually promising that construction would soon be starting.

Why has no construction started ??

Simply because Maloney knows that the Regulations DID require the undertaking of an EIA, and that the Judge would eventually rule that the processing of the application for permission was defectively carried out, and that the permission to build would be cancelled. And , as a result, Maloney would lose all the resources ploughed into starting the construction.

The really intriguing question is this : I wrote to Freundel Stuart in August 2016 pointing out to him that the Law of Barbados required the carrying out of an EIA as part of the procedure for processing Maloney’s application, and I requested him to order the carrying out of an EIA. WHY DIDN’T STUART SIMPLY CONCEDE THAT I WAS CORRECT AND ORDER THE EIA ? What is wrong with simply following the Law and applying it equally to everyone?

DAVID COMISSIONG

17. Msybe posting the affadavit as recorded in the court docket would be where to start instead of putting up piece meal pockets of what you want the Bu contributor to read
    The affadavit has a long list of problems as to why the Hyatt should not be built on that area
    As usual you would be first in line to defend Commisiong actions
    Not surprising

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Commisiong is a snake more devious than the one found in the Garden of Eden

LIKE ALL OF US, COMMISSIONG IS A SINNER, BUT HE IS NOT SATAN , SO STOP TALKING RUBBISH

19. All of the Hyatt documents were posted to BU. Search and read them if you want. The court has ruled, Maloney has accepted that he has to comply. It is time to move on. People like you make people sin their soul.

20. I donot have to read BU postings i have copies.

21. GP WHERE IN MY COMMENTS I SAID COMMISIONG WAS SATAN?

22. Mariposa

David Commissiong could not and cannot win a case on height or “windows to the sea” because the town planning legislation is discretionary and matters such as height etc are subjective. The submission of an EIA for particular projects, however, is mandatory and not opened to discretion or debate. The fools should have simply asked the man to submit an EIA, if even for show, and then grant the permission again. hahaaaa.

23. “The fools should have simply asked the man to submit an EIA, if even for show, and then grant the permission again. hahaaaa.”

Enuff…I hope that is not what is happening here..some of ya ministers are getting desperate for bribes cause they feel a 17,000 dollar a month salary is not enough for them.

..just asking cause I know yardfowls would accept any crime against their people and don’t say a word, when they serve political masters.

24. Commisiong cited 12objections in his affadavit as reason for not building the Hyatt
    Now it stands to reason or ask as to why those other 10 objections are no longer a cause of concern and by all accounts have been invisbly removed from the minds of the people and Commisiong now willing to dismiss all other objections filed on the court docket with the exception of the EIA
    Can you Enuff explain

25. Your concern is moot because Comissiong is on record that once the government of the day withdraws its appeal against Justice Sonia Richards ruling, request an EIA from Vision development, Mark Maloney he will be satisfied. Why cant you absorb in this in your thick skull?

https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/06/24/david-comissiong-has-no-olive-branch-to-offer-on-the-hyatt-case/

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You said “wall” in an earlier post.

Could you post a link?

I don’t use Facebook at all but I would venture to see the comments.

27. “The fools should have simply asked the man to submit an EIA, if even for show, and then grant the permission again. hahaaaa.”

This guy with his constant singing and throw away phrases is scaring the hell out of me. Now it seems as if he will teach the corrupted DLP a few nasty tricks that they were not aware of.

More than enough
    Bad for Mia
    Bad for Barbados

28. lol..exactly…why do new yardfowls believe that like them all bloggers’ brains turned to mush after the election…apparently Enuff still has not received the memo, but as time goes along he will, these days 5 years is not a lifetime.

There is more than Enuff to hit the fan coming up.

29. Look i know what he said but what he said and what he filed in the court papers were done to stop the project not citing one action but 12
    Now speckled fowl you can come and defend and object all you want to my question
    The answer lies in Commisiongs intent to stop govt from proceeding with the project. Btw notice how quick Mia has jumped into changing the rules and plans of the Town and country
    A dirty bunch of RH but day does run til night catches up
    You David really belive people are flooish
    It doesnt take much to see the mischievous motives attached to the 12 citing failing that Court had given the govt the right to build Commissiong made sure he had enough legal arsenal to stalled the project till kingdom come
    Now all of a sudden it comes down to one citing nothing more to do with height or heritage concern or meetings or a long list of tangible concerns dealing with properties close to the site

30. @ THe Leader of the Opposition Bishop Reverend Father Atherley

From the Leader of the Opposition (Cause Enuff of Lorenzo call me dat. BTW you get paid yet, cause half is mine.)

De ole man get back and the beach was splendid. heheheheheheh

But just continuing on this White Oak ting. It would appear that this is more confusing than de ole man thought.

And as Leader of the Opposition you really need to be asking some serious questions Reverend BishopFather.

For example, there would appear to be several White Oak(s) entities and they seem to be part of a global consortium

So you see something like “…White Oak Global Advisors, LLC is an employee owned investment manager. The firm primarily provides its services to pooled investment vehicles and institutional clients…”

and the newer SEO optimized information which reads

“…An independent financial advisory firm providing specialist, high-level, and conflict-free advice to governments and other clients on matters relating to sovereign finances and sovereign debt

And when you do searched on pending lawsuits you find things like Weder et al versus White Oak Global Advisor Case Number: 5:13-cv-00695 or White Oak Global Advisors LLC v. Pistol Drilling LLC et al and a few more that de ole man ent feel like copying and pasting..”

This is the writeup that of the entity that we may be looking (maybe because the maze that they have on their webpage is representative of the maze of connectivity that seems to be White Oak Advisory Ltd.

But leh we read on…

Listen to this …”…White Oak Advisory was founded by veteran sovereign advisory professionals wishing to create the world’s first independent financial advisory firm focused on sovereign debt matters…”

Image this we have a firm that is rated 1069 in the hedge firm industry CLAIMING TO BE THE FIRST in the world…whuloss muh belly hold muh I gine fall.

But Theophillus you are very right the link does not seem to be working which is odd but here is a snapshot of that page

https://i.imgur.com/amr0cMO.png

You can click through the item for yourself here

https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/10090922

So unlike Bishop Reverend Father Atherley de ole man is not going to prevaricate and say “…“No juxtaposition intended to cast any negative shadow on what you (Mia Mottley) are doing, a sincere genuine and legitimate question,” de ole man going say dat she are is doing something that is not on the up and up cause dese fellers WAS NOT LISTED NOWHERE BEFORE and seem to be trying to mek dem name using Barbados as a guinea Pig jes like Cahill.

I going to search for dem financials to see if those of the London Entity are available for us to see who else dem wuk for or did not work for heheheheheheh

31. @ Bishop Reverend Father Atherley

“And thar she blows…”

Here is the reputable Sovereign Debt company that Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mia amor Mottley is foisting on us bajans!!

https://i.imgur.com/16YJuoL.png

Now mind you Bishop Reverend Father this is the firm that Mia said “…“before they became White Oak, the two principles, Sebastian Espinosa and David Nagoski, worked with firms in other restructurings in the Dominican Republic, Jordan, Liberia, and the former Yugoslavia…”

So here she is imputing that these are big boys and super sleuths and Sovereign Debt Whiz Kids yet here is the evidence for wunna Sheeple

De Ole man really wondering doah effing dere is going to be a job for a son of the soil as a Research Assistant

Bishop Reverend Father would you be so kind as to ask your boss Mia effing you could hire me as a cuntsultant to work in the Office of the Leader of the Opposition?

I promise I will not interfere with the second Senator that looks like a picture out of a fairy tale that de ole man would, effing i was younger, love to be her prince charming

Anyways see ef you cud put in a word for me dere

32. The DLP made big mistakes when they were the government.However, Mia two months of being PM was nothing short of being shambolic. Foolish decisions such defaulting on payment of our external debt. No amount of posturing could negate the fact that is was a stupid decision that will and is having a horrible effect on the state of our economy. Mariposa keep the pressure on.
    Continue to rile up David of BU. He wants to play the Devil’s advocate but you and I know his true motive

33. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please heheheheheheheheh with the Financials of White Oaks which I am sure is not going to be loved by Enuff of Lorenzo Duo, De Hoodie & Hoodie nor none of the BLP neophytes here assembled

I sorry but ammmm wunna ent going like me no more and we were sooooo close

I sure dat wunna going get Edmund Hinkson to rescind my citizenship

34. @ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

I can understand why you stop the payments associated with the external debt, in fact I would have recommended it, but there is a way to do these things AND YOU ARE NOT SURROUNDING YOURSELF WITH THE PEOPLE WHO KNOW HOW.

What is done is done.

Now you are dealing with the restructuring mechanism and here is what I am going to say to you.

THere are two scenarios as it relates to the White Oaks Advisory fellows.

A.They were, to use your words, “foisted on you” by a few of your colleagues who were doing a ting, and tried to hoodwink you with these sovereign debt amateurs whose credentials are being padded to look like they have been in active business by themselves since 2009 WITH THE WEBSITE TRICK.

In tradecraft, this is a front organisation, with the real principals operating in the background screwing the sheeple by way of the large management fees that YOU HAVE YET TO DECLARE

Now in scenario one, IT WAS SOMETHING THAT YOU DID NOT KNOW ABOUT.

And that is understandable since you are running 26 ministries and nuff SOEs.

B.But in option B, these are your boys and you are part of the screwing but den again Mia “you got dis…”

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Leader of the Opposition

I have posted two items here for you but I doubt they will be printed because they may have exposed the lies of the Honourable Prime Minister and her entourage who have hidden and bought land and now want to wuk it…

36. I like I should have waited until you were sleeping to drop those two bombshells right?

Sorry

37. @Negroman

Which do you prefer, for ac to rile up the blogmaster with coherent arguments or continue with the partisan nonsense which has relegated the DLP the political dustbin.

38. The DLP yes is in the political dust bin for time being. In 1999 it was 26 to 2 and in nine short years we were the government again. This time it seems like only 5 years we will be out of office. Continue with bias comments and your pro BLP agenda. A one term government.

39. @Negroman

What is biased about stating a fact?

If the the will of the people is to kick the BLP out of office after five years so be it!

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Looka Negroman,

As long as NOT ONE OF DE FACES RETURNING IS NOT ONE OF THIS LAST LOT YOU MAY HAVE DE OLE MAN PERMISSION TO RUN

heheheheh

But ef jes one of dem imps put dem name pun a ballot IT GINE BE CAT PISS IN PEPPER.

Not for badword.

In fact here is what de ole man promise to do.

I gine give Mia and her sheeple 6 to 8 months for her to do a ting.

If dere ent no turnaround and we get a next downgrade or anything like devaluation happen de ole man will give she about 3 ideas to help she out and ting.

Jes to mek sure dat wunna Doan get back in for at least 10 years.

In that time she going see who de bvhkvnts are and will be more inclined to give de ole man a pic notwithstanding de Stoopid Cartoons by the grandson

41. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

You check the Diaspora Corner ?

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PUDYR
    Confused. What is amiss in those financial numbers? This is a consultant practice, not a manufacturing operation.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

“I do not have to read BU postings i have copies.”
    Ever find a copy of that letter from head of Private Sector to FJS?

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Of course brother Hants and I examined the songs where she we not wearing dresses and had on dungarees pants and…

Purely because of presentation of course brother Hants

But I ent care what you tell me two or three of those videos you tek of that lady and of Arturo and he dancers off your smartphone

But you have a steady hand and you don’t do de sort of zoom ins and outs dat de ole man and me dribbly self would do heheheh

She has a lovely voice

Looka I see Jeff deah talking bout gays and queers and in betweeners and I ent pick me teet but between de two uh we wid Glennis and Fleur and Chrystal and Heather and my European fried dat divorce me publicly pun BU, whu cud my lecherous self d’s to he comments without getting cuss out bad?

So I left he today to deal wid dat ting and went dribbling elsewhere in de places you send me

Heheheheh. If you get any of dem box cart Kadooment group tings send a link to de ole man do

And Doan post none pun Jeff blog cause dat wouldn’t be respectful

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ NorthernObserver

It is the “lumen of association”

It’s what is not there that I am looking for and what is there.

The former or what is not there is money.

THAT AS YOU WELL KNOW BECAUSE OF WHO YOU ARE AND YOUR Job is not the balance sheet of any serious firm that has been in the field as long as it is being suggested that THEY have been PARTICULARLY WHEN Mia has enumerated such a long list.

Let me append the Mugabe-ite comment from Enuff which reads “…I feel fuh you. Google the two principals names and debt restructuring. You may even come across a letter addressed to PM Keith Mitchell from a debtor referencing White Oaks. This is no Cahill…”

These arepurportedly big boys managing sovereign debt with a puerile website with a poorly compiled User Design.

They do not gel.

It is contrary to all “backstory practices.

If my people had done this there would have been 7 tiers of interconnectivity with testimonials and references and a substantial financial statement and ostentatious offices

Pretty much a facade Northern.

This is infantile stuff.

This is what a one man outfit does as an IT consultant not a sovereign debt management team

There is one more derail. Pictures.

They come with the territory that is how these guys roll. These chaps are hiding while the create their bonafides.

There is o third party referencing them on the internet!

It’s only them talking about themselves or Mottley talking about them!

You can hide and buy land but you cannot hide and work it…not in this industry.

And you dun know what I am saying is true. You are a practitioner with the hook up Northern. We can’t fool you.

A real mover and shaker would be out there with posts coming from all this governments.

Look how hard it is to find 400K pounds UK yet we are tasking them with $2 BILLION so your alam must be clanging right now

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PUDYR
    as usual your entries are in the non-standard gestation period.
    1. Espinosa
    https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/officers/0dRxNXyPgpPAfKrLU-bhFViCeV0/appointments
    NOTE: 3 different version of White Oak, and when you read filings for some reason they have flipped names between each other. BUT they go back to 2009
    2.Nagowski
    https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/officers/TJE9UIuxqumCWPlIaa-3bmiUXfs/appointments
    he similarly goes back to White Oak and 2009
    He was also a panel member at a Fortress Public session in Dec 2015.

I would say based on the filings and names, White Oak has been in business since 2009 and both Nagoski, Espinosa and one Sophie Espinosa have been/are shareholders.

These multiple companies named White Oak–Advisory/LLP/Ventures are likely “tax avoidance vehicles”.

47. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Too many people are throwing around the word sovereign way too often even when the wird can’t fit and with the knowledge that the word does not apply to the island, so between the words sovereign and patriotism ….brainwashing, dumbing down words….I see bajans being robbed for decades into the future by the known thieves and bribetakers…it would therefore serve the electorate well to not give any political party going forward more than a five year term and never elect them again after that term, none of them…

…rotate them all every five years going forward..the politicians just cannot be trusted…you do not need anymore proof beyond listening to their yardfowls.

48. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

I tell you to check the Diaspora Corner so you could read about the mass shooting in Toronto and you gone checking de womens. lol

Anyway on the more important matters your investigative reporting is ” enlightening “. De grandson could soon have material for a poster titled ” right hoax “. lol

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ either Hants

I read that too and have been following it this morning as well.

I saw the density homicide maps in Toronto

It makes one aware that there is a major problem in this world with errant madmen who are just roaming looking for a place to kill and then die.

Am I my brother’s keeper? And the answer is a resounding YES

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply