Submitted by William Skinner

I have shared this in answer to Artax, who asked if it [NDP Youth Manifesto pledge] was available on line. Note that $20m. in 1991 is about $32m. at today’s rates. The NDP would have spent $100m. on the youth between 1991 and 1996, if it had won the government. That is equivalent to $160m. today.

Yet in 2018 we are hearing a government is going to spend $10m. on some youth entrepreneur program. This is half of what the NDP would have spent in 1991 almost thirty years ago.

Programme For Youth (National Democratic Party (NDP) 1991)

$20m On young

The single most important failure of the old political order is its failure to create sufficient opportunities for young people of working age, to make productive and dignifying use of their time, energy and talents.

As a result, too many able young men and women have been left to drift aimlessly and become enmeshed in a sub-cultural life-style which all too often leads to the destruction of character, mind and body. If ever the young people of Barbados needed help, hope and inspiration, they need it now.(1991)

The National Democratic Party has identified employment, moral example and the opportunity for constructive self-expression as the priority needs of the young people of Barbados, and an NDP Government would be bound by a solemn charge and promise, to seek to meet these needs.

In accordance with this solemn undertaking, an NDP Government would:

• Spend $20million a year on special programmes and projects for the youth of working age
  • Establish a well staffed Business Advisory Centre to encourage and facilitate the entry of youth into the world of business;
  • Expand the curriculum of all trade services offered by government agencies to include basic training in business management, marketing, communications skills, etiquette and deportment;
  • Upgrade and expand the Apprenticeship Programmes;
  • Provide “start-up kits” for any person who has graduated frorm the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic, the Skills Training Programme, or from any other approved programme of training and is desirous of working in the area in which he or she has been trained;
  • Introduce a scheme whereby employers registered with the scheme will be paid $75 per week, for one year for every additional person between the age of 17 and 25, who is employed;
  • Provide adequate funding and administrative for the Barbados Youth Council.
  • Involve youth in local government.
  • Appoint a representative number of young men and women to serve in the Senate and on Statutory Boards.
Reference: National Democratic Party 1991 Manifesto pages, 23/24

Related link: 1994 National Democratic Party (NDP)

31 responses to “1991 National Democratic Party Youth Program”

1. Thanks for sharing, William.

2. Jesus Lord Almighty I give you praise.

Wunna have gone straight to the White man who at 21.20 in this video says what de ole foolish man has been begging successive governments from 1997 to embrace IT as the way forward!!

But, and those of wunna who know de ole man know well that this phenomena is

(a) because my scvunt is black and

(b) MORE IMPORTANTLY, because de ingrunt people dat is de decision makers in dis here Rock called Barbados would not know the difference between the droppings of a black belly sheep and the shyte of an elephant UNLESS A WHITE MAN TELL DEM WHAT IT IS!

Contrary to what Dr. Analee Babb opined I REPEAT WITHOUT ANY SHAME WE ARE STILL SLAVES and a people who are doomed to be hewers of wood and drawers of water BECAUSE THE CRITICAL THINKERS still do not exist to drive this process anywhere beyond verbal masturbation and this presentations via GIS.

Wunna tink dat de ole man should share with the gentleman from Data Processing that the UNDP and the IDB put US 100,000 at the disposal of said Data Processing department as a grant while Madame Agard was their boss and de effers let the money go right back to New York?

So leh de ole man fast forward here a little cause to stay in this mode would be to tell of all the fvuckery that existed and STILL EXISTS @ today and it would mek all of wunna vomit

The EU has a beriffle of funding available for IT under north/south collaborations for National Indicative Programming waiting to be drawn down if proper qualifying projects come on scope.

By proper qualifying one does not mean projects that consume EU funds while pretending to train young people in coding, one means technology that will generate money for the EU stakeholders.

And therein is the problem.

Most of wunna pun top de podium knows how to spend money in all the enablements but few IF ANY OF YOU know how to disrupt and innovate IN TRUTH AND IN FACT.

Wunna does theorize bout these things but when the time comes “for the rubber to hit the road, wunna scvunt is lost…”

3. Help is coming for the youth says Medic!

One of the core principles in the BLP Manifesto’s Covenant of Hope was: Improving the livelihoods of all of our people and widening economic enfranchisement. I was therefore very happy to see two planned Government initiatives that address that principle in the press in the last few weeks.

The first one was the Building Blocks Program which Minister Adrian Forde has promised will help return the blocks to communities in positive ways. He was quoted as saying that the goal is to empower people by giving them a start at the business of their choice and the one that best suits their locale as well.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/14/help-is-coming/

4. William Skinner Avatar

How many times have we heard about moving the boys off the block ? And you telling me about a gimmick such as something called the Covenant of Hope. David , this country has been governed by the BLPDLP for 63 years, it is their policies that created the block !
    Do you realise that the current regime has invested more money in expanding the cabinet than the program that is being given the youth? The point I made here is that NDP was going to spend $100m per year on the youth. Today we are talking about spending $10m. This is 25 years later, my brother. While I am prepared to give the administration time to clean up the mess, they have inherited, I am not prepared to call a duck a swan.

5. This govt plan for the youth was to have big election fetes. Now that this govt given the mandate.. already one can see to who and whom their allegiance
    However what is most distrubing that the youth of today is looking for guidance but if there is a perception that those who are supposed to lead by example are laying in bed with drug lords how then can the youth other than follow the leader
    The past govt initiated an idea of social programs one which was football tournaments which was well attended by parents and youth most parents being appreciative and happy that their kids had a place were they can be engaging and not left on streets to get into trouble and what did this govt do without even having an alternative in place to fill the void and empty space in these children lives abandon the tournaments
    If govt is so adamant in opposing one would think that govt would have placed an alternative before parents and children
    But no.

6. You are blaming the messenger (blogmaster)?

7. Hmmmm, football tournaments, which usually last for more than five weeks, is a fantastic idea to advance to youth.

These tournaments are similar to the football and night cricket tournaments politicians hold during the election campaign periods and does not serve any useful purpose, but to increase the popularity of the political candidate and give the impression they are doing something.

The DLP is also as guilty as the BLP for hosting dub fetes under the guise of youth rallies. I recall the DLP’s so called youth rally in Haynesville during the 2008 election campaign to launch their youth manifesto. After ten years in office none if the objectives outlined in that manifesto were achieved.

It is clear the NDP had a comprehensive plan for the youth, unlike the BLP, DLP and the newly formed “third parties.”

What you should do is impress us by mentioning what achievements both mainstream political parties have been made on behalf of the youth, other than silly football tournaments.

8. U speak of five weeks . In those yearly five weeks kids learn the principles of winning and loaing. How to be engaging without being abusive and argumentative
    The role of of good leadership and taking orders
    The physchological effect of team work which is provided is benefical to the youth when they become adults and enters into the harsh reality of the job markets
    Those who snicker and laugh might have forgotten their childhood years when there were no summer camps or sponsered tournaments but was happy and overjoyed during the summer vacation to form their own neighbourhood tournament resorting to many childhood games of all kind
    Engagement which provides a spirit of fullfillment no matter how long or short is crtical to a child physchological needs for building trust and teamwork also teaching the child how to accept many of lifepitfalls for the future
    The past govt understood the value of providing summer camps and these yesrly five weeks tournaments for the kids
    Unfortunstely this govt hss seemingly forget that early childhood growth must be nourished continously no matter what the cost and has decided to cast aside the value and the positive role these activities played in the lives of the youth and replaced them with nothing
    How Sad

9. Firstly, I am not opposed to the summer camps or football tournaments…….I’m opposed to how they are used and manipulated for political purposes.

However, to be fair, this BLP administration suspended the summer camps only for this year, for review of their current format.
    The way you’re going on about it would give anyone the impression that the camps were suspected indefinitely, when you know government has not given that indication. So, you are essentially fulfilling your mandate by spewing political propaganda.

You must defend the summer camps and football tournaments that were conceptualized by your political party. But in doing so, your have presented weak and contradictory arguments.

On one hand you mentioned summer camps and sponsored tournaments as the basis for children acquiring certain skills…..

……and on the other hand, you reminded us about those “childhood years when there were no summer camps or sponsered tournaments but was happy and overjoyed during the summer vacation to form their own neighbourhood tournament resorting to many childhood games of all kind,” through which children acquired the same skills.

As I mentioned previously, government said the camps would be suspended for this year only, for a review of the current system. And given the number of complaints voiced every year after the camps, by parents and wards, concerns raised as it relates to the questionable catering arrangements and camp employees complaining about not being paid…..

……surely if you put aside the politics (which is a monumental task for you) and try as hard as possible to be rational and honest, you’ll agree with government’s decision.

10. @Artax

It is unfortunate the system makes this a political matter, so divisive is the result. Government programs are an inadequate substitute to compensate for the lack of parenting we have ben witnessing in our small society. And there are many reasons. If we want to serious about bring the youth along WE – as a society – have to lift our game, emphasis on WE.

11. If you want to talk. Tell me what plans this govt had on board as alternatives activities before unilaterally suspending youth programs
    Of course you are going to make yourself look foolish(which is a part of your arrogance) by defending the govt decision to leave the kids out in the cold with no way to turn for positive enlightment through the process of outdoor activities which serves as long term nourishment for the child mind body and soul and also keeping the child out if harms way
    Please!… you speak of a year by which govt will have altetnatives without having the realization that with in such a period or even shorter a child who is vulnerable to negative influence can be quickly swept up unintentionally by the lurking of adults immoral values and placed in a situation having to face the justice system
    This govt was given a madate for change but God help us all if the change now brought forth is what the people meant
    The fact being now shown is that this govt was unprepared and is using a political brush to wipe out any gains achieved by past govt to satisfy the blp yardfowls while punishing those in societies mostly the poor and vulnerable whose needs were met

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pieceuhderockyeahright July 21, 2018 1:34 PM

One of the many outstanding qualities you have honed through your many years of experience in the real world of so-called business dealings is your canny ability to smell out and spot both talking and walking bullshitters from a distance.

You are looking at a few in that video.

Barbados is in a very dark place with the people hearing the drumbeats of despair and desolation. Only your God can save them from their own destruction, Master Piece.

Here is looking at you, old man! But as a toast of a measure of consolation here is a ‘piece’ of wisdom from the Book of Ecclesiastes, the only one which make philosophical sense:

“So my heart began to despair over all the labor that I had done under the sun.
    When there is a man who has labored with wisdom, knowledge, and skill, and he must give his portion to a man who has not worked for it, this too is futile and a great evil.

For what does a man get for all the labor and endeavors at which he toils under the sun?”
    Indeed, all his days are filled with grief, and his task is sorrowful; even at night, his mind does not rest. This too is futile..”

13. Madam, according to you, I may may make myself look foolish because of arrogance…..

…….but you consistently make
    yourself look foolish with your weak defense of the DLP and by applying the “samey samey” criticisms of this current administration, irrespective of the topic.

It’s clear that you cannot debate any issue without the underlying partisan biases and interpret every comment as supporting the BLP, as long as it does conform to your biased expectations.

It is a fact that this administration suspended the summer camps only for this year, to review the current system. Could you please indicate to me where stating a fact can be rationally interpreted as defending the government?

The way you are disingenuously “over exaggerating” this issue would give people who are not au fait with the situation, the impression that the camps were SUSPECTED INDEFINITELY, causing poor people to be adversely affected and children would be susceptible to sexual predators, pedophiles etc.

And you know this is far from the truth.

I guess these unsavoury characters go into hiding during the Easter and Christmas vacations…..only to surface to unleash their evil deeds on vulnerable children during the summer vacation.

Yet you reminded us about the days when there weren’t any summer camps or sponsored tournaments, and children acquired the same skills you alluded to in your previous post.

Were these children not exposed to the same dangers you mentioned?

Or are you suggesting these dangers ended when the DLP introduced free summer camps?

Any reasonable, sensible and rational thinking individual would await further comment from government relative to the continuation or discontinuation of the camps, before making the presumptuous, political rhetorical criticisms you have chosen to undertake.

Additionally, rather than deal with the substantive issues in any discussion, you choose to “cherry pick” and misinterpret certain points to advance your political agenda and propaganda.

But we all know what is your political mission in this forum.

14. The reality of the situation is that, over the years, both BLP and DLP administrations have been unable to conceptualize any progressive policy initiatives, similar to what the NDP was proposing.

Rather than allowing you to hijack this discussion and turn it into a BLP versus DLP scenario…..I suggest
    contributors should focus on the NDP’s proposals and look at ways how they be considered and implemented.

15. @Artax

Let us agree we have to save Barbados together. It cannot be government only. Top down approaches in these kinds of matters (social)do not work.

16. You should be the last to be pointing chery picking fingers
    You have advanced that concept with impeccable precision and have never missed a chance in doing so wherby you latches on to irrelevance
    My concern where i pointed out that govt did not and was unprepared to shoulder the responsibility of alternatives did not even pricked your thought even if out of a moral connection and worry for the youth whose time and space was once occupied with things of value is left opened for nothingness and possible trouble.

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax

“The DLP is also as guilty as the BLP for hosting dub fetes under the guise of youth rallies. I recall the DLP’s so called youth rally in Haynesville during the 2008 election campaign to launch their youth manifesto. After ten years in office none if the objectives outlined in that manifesto were achieved.

It is clear the NDP had a comprehensive plan for the youth, unlike the BLP, DLP and the newly formed “third parties.”

You are absolutely correct ! The NDP program was directly linked to the party’s real goal of achieving full employment. The BLPDLP programs never have any real goals they are usually nothing more than hodgepodge thrown together for some big manifesto launch during the election. That same NDP manifesto aimed at 100% percent mortages. In fact, Richie Haynes said that many of the NDP policies were eventually embraced by Owen Arthur. Unfortunately the BLP did not have the ability to follow through.
    They have been very feeble attempts by mainly BLP apologists on BU to ridicule me , because I ran unsuccessfully for the NDP in 1991.However I wear the defeat as a badge of honour. I can take up the NDP manifesto today and be very proud that I was part of a team, that had to put my signature on that document before it was released to the public. In that same document the party outlined its position on Integrity legislation and the need for a Contractor General.
    Twenty five long years later the NDP manifesto of 1991 still remains the best policy document for our country. It proves beyond a shadow of any doubt that the both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour party are totally and perhaps irreversibly bankrupt of any ideas to carry the country progressively forward.
    If dub fetes; football tournaments and summer camps are the foundation and goal of a youth policy we may as well shut shop and privatise the entire island by selling it to Cow and Bizzy Williams.

18. How many commenters have ridiculed you on BU as you say? No need to exaggerate.

19. My friend (and I noticed that this is not the “original” Mariposa)…….

As it relates to “latching on to irrelevance,” I believe you have mistaken me for yourself.

I hope you have similar moral concerns during the Easter and Christmas vacations and they extend yearlong, as children are not vulnerable only during the summer vacation…….

……and between 9am and 3pm for the duration of the camp, the length of time you seem to believe protects the children from any “untoward eventualities.”

Unlike you, my concern children is genuine and not hypocritically motivated by a political agenda.

And this is why I am fully endorsing Mr. Skinner and the NDP’s youth policies.

By your comment re: “moral connection and worry for the youth whose time and space was once occupied with things of value is left opened for nothingness and possible trouble,”…….you are essentially suggesting mayhem will break loose in Barbados because summer camps were suspected for one year…….

……and contradicting your previous comment relative to when there weren’t any summer camps and the positive ways children responded as a result.

What you should do is impress us by mentioning what policies both BLP and DLP administrations implemented or planned to implement after the summer camps end at 3PM during the Easter and Christmas vacations and during their adolescent years to protect them from the concerns you raised.

Surely it is ludicrous to confine children’s vulnerabilities to a six hour per day summer camp, which usually ends before the summer vacation ends.

But you have an agenda that must be fulfilled as required by your George Street pay masters.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ William Skinner July 22, 2018 9:14 AM
    “Twenty five long years later the NDP manifesto of 1991 still remains the best policy document for our country. It proves beyond a shadow of any doubt that the both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour party are totally and perhaps irreversibly bankrupt of any ideas to carry the country progressively forward.”

If only you had stopped hiding your light under the NDP third party bushel and had given
    the politically wet-behind-the-ears Grenville Phillips of All ‘Solutions Barbados’ your still relevant manifesto of panaceas for the socio-economic ills which have always faced Barbados, oh, what a wonderful ‘Christian-minded’ PM he would be today!

Weren’t the recommendations contained in the report of the Moyne Commission designed to solve those very social and economic ills raising their same ugly heads in Barbados of today?

Every man standing under a Bajan street light watching a game of draughts (checkers) can see all the shots on the board until he finds himself in the hot seat of actual play.

21. “If dub fetes; football tournaments and summer camps are the foundation and goal of a youth policy we may as well shut shop and privatise the entire island by selling it to Cow and Bizzy Williams.”

Mr. Skinner

I couldn’t have written it better.

The apologists are attempting to “pull the wool” over our eyes, by suggesting summer camps protect children from sexual predators and pedophiles…..with taking into consideration that they are exposed to these dangers during their adolescent years.

What are the policies of the BLP and DLP to protect children from these dangers?Sexual predators and pedophiles do not only surface during the summer vacation, they are present in households, the church, youth groups etc.

Recently, we had two cases where two children were allegedly killed as a result of child abuse. The grandmother of one of the boys made several complaints to the Child Care Board and it was only when the child died, the CCB made a belated attempt to investigate.

If successive BLP and DLP administrations were serious about child care, they would have equipped the CCB with the resources and personnel to adequately and efficiently address child care issues.

What has both administrations done to address the issue of bullying at schools……other than suspending the bullies?
    How about counselling those bullies?

After years of shiite talk, the school’s curriculum remains the same and we have the same old warmed over discussions every year after the 11+ exam.

22. When govt shut down youth programs with no alternative to satisfy or replaced the missing link
    Then says wait for one year without stating what would be the replacement that is called pulling the wolves over peoples eye

23. Delaying the summer camp cannot be described as shutting a youth program.

24. Technically the programs have been closed say whst you like.
    Websters can help you find the meaning of the word “closed” .Furthermore Mia promised of reopening is just a promise and going by her campagain promises to the public of putting money in peoples pocket which has not happened most of anything she now says would be scrutinuzed for truthfulness

25. Try to understand a summer camp cannot be described as a youth program. Secondly many of the students left at the camps are not the boys on the block. Lastly the camps are led mainly by university students dispersed with a few adult instructors.

There were challenges with the camps not that the blogmaster is against the idea.

26. David BU

This is the level of common sense these political operatives exhibit in this forum.

Perhaps someone should commission a study to analyze the “catastrophic effects on society resulting from the suspension of summer camps for one year.”

27. I am not against the camps either.

But based on the numerous concerns raised and complaints about the camps, I agree with government’s decision to temporarily suspend them to review thee current system.

28. They are discussing youth matters on the afternoon talk show.

29. Where youth are actively participants is a youth program no matter who are the organizers
    David you can cut whatever part of the cloth that fits your political purpose however the idea by this govt to discontinue the summer program under whatever name you want to call it is misled judgment one lacking vision

30. How about reducing the age of majority to 16?