Submitted by Robert D. Lucas,Ph.D. and CFS, Certified Food Scientist

The Editor

Barbados Underground

Bridgetown, Barbados

West Indies

Dear Sir/Madam,

The following is an overview of the uses of seaweed in the food industry. Suggestions are also proposed for prospective uses of the product.

Seaweeds belong to a group commonly called macro-algae or  hydrocolloids in the food industry. The  latter name derives from the propensity of the substances to form viscous dispersions and or gels when dispersed in water  (colloidal sols) and from the extensive hydroxyl groups with which the substances can form attachments with water molecules.. Hydrocolloids are a heterogeneous group of long chain polymers (polysaccharides{sugars} and proteins). Some of the amino acids in the protein chain contain sulfur (for example; methionine). These are broken down by sulfur using bacteria into hydrogen sulfide and other noxious substances. Hydrocolloids are widely used in the food industry because of their ability to modify the rheology of food systems This include two basic properties of food systems namely, flow behavior (viscosity) and mechanical solid (texture)property (Saha,D.and Bhattacharya,S.(2010) “Hydrocolloids as thickening and gelling agents in food: a critical review.” J. Food Sci.Technol. 47:6: 587-597.).

According to McHugh. J.D. 2003. “A Guide to the Seaweed Industry.” FAO. Fisheries Technical Paper #44:: “The seaweed industry provides a wide variety of products that have an estimated total annual value of US$ 5.5-6 billion. Food products for human consumption contribute about US$ 5 billion of this. Substances that are extracted from seaweeds -hydrocolloids – account for a large part of the remaining billion dollars, while smaller, miscellaneous uses, such as fertilizers and animal feed additives,  cosmetics and the manufacture of paper make up the rest.”

Hydrocolloids fall under the heading of functional food additives,. They are widely used in many food formulations to improve quality attributes and shelf-life. The two main uses are as thickening and gelling agents. As thickening agents, they find uses in soups, gravies, salad dressings, sauces and toppings while as gelling agents, they are extensively used in products like jam, jelly, marmalade, restructured foods and low sugar/calorie gels (Saha and Bhattacharya. 2010).

Seaweeds are classified in commerce according to pigmentation as: red(used for agar and carrageenan in the food and microbiology) and  brown or green. Sargassum seaweeds (SW) are brown. Brown seaweeds are used for the manufacture of aginlates for the food industry. Apart from being thickeners, alginates have some applications that are not related to either their viscosity or gel properties. They act as stabilizers in ice cream; addition of alginates reduce the formation of ice crystals during freezing, giving a smooth product  Alginate gels are used in re-structured or re-formed food products. For example, re-structured meats can be made by taking meat pieces, binding them together and shaping them to resemble usual cuts of meat, such as nuggets, roasts, meat loaves, even steaks.They are also used in the controlled release of medicinal drugs and other chemicals. In some applications, the active ingredient is placed in a calcium alginate bead and slowly released as the bead is exposed in the appropriate environment.

Available information on Sargassum natans and fluitans, the two species of primary concern across the Caribbean, is sparse (Michelle Morrison, CPI and Daniel Gray. The Caribbean Council,  Anaerobic Digestion Economic Feasibility Study: Generating energy from waste, sewage and Sargassum Seaweed in the OECS :CPI Report Number: CPI-SP-RP-141(31/01/2017).It was also concluded that it was not economically feasible to generate bio-gas using anaerobic digestion since SW have low biochemical methane potentials (BMP). Anaerobiosis using pure culture techniques were apparently not used. Using pure culture techniques one can swamp the indigeneous microflora of the substrate with the microflora of choice, thereby controlling the rate of the process using continuous anaerobiosis (by using pure cultures other organisms that can divert the production of methane are effectively inhibited. Must also be noted that the carbohydrate content of seaweed as a substrate varies during the course of the season. According to Lenstra and others (.2011).Ocean Seaweed Biomass For large scale bio-fuel production Energy Research Center,Netherlands (ECN) S. natans has the following chemical composition :on a dry weight basis(dw) Proteins;6.59%; Fat 0.54%;Carbohydrate 76.43%; Phosphorus  0.082; Potassium19.56%; Energy (kJ/100g dry matter) 1410.

SW structurely consists of linear polysaccharides made up of 25-30 glucose units linked by(beta) b 1-3 glycosidic bonds. In some cases b1-6 glycosidic bonds occur. Since the cell wall of SW contains cellulose. the biomass must be pretreated and  then (1) treated with (hydrolyzed ) cellulase enzyme systems supplemented with β-glucosidase followed by(2) fermentation with Saccharomyces cerevisiae(yeasts). Having stage(1)immediately followed by stage (2), result in what is known as a two-stage process which is economically more expensive. It is better to have stage (1) and (2) operating simultaneous, using continuous fermentation in the production of alcohol This can be done by the use of immobilized enzyme technology. In immobilized enzymes, the enzymes are enmeshed in a membrane (made of aginlate) which facilitates the reuse of the enzymes reducing costs and increasing reaction efficiencies.

SW can be used as an animal feed for ruminants only at present, since poultry do not have the necessary enzyme systems required to handle b glycosidic links. Feed from SW, has a low protein content  when compared to soy. To augment the protein content, SW can be used as a substrate for the production of single cell protein. Using continuous fermentation techniques, protein yields as high as 40% on a  dry-weight basis can be obtained. Single cell protein can be used in the formulation of non-ruminant rations as I having been advocating for more than twenty years (letters to the Editor, Barbados Advocate). Thinking long term, the gene for the beta glycoside using gene editing techniques can be inserted into a bacterium found normally in the gut microflora of non-ruminants. The edited bacterium with the added gene can then be reinserted into the gut microflora of the non-ruminant by incorporating it into the rations.. The non-ruminant is now able to utilize feeds made from SW.  Alternatively, SW itself can be gene edited and the gene for the  b condition changed to the a state, making it possible to have feed that can be utilized by both ruminants and non-ruminants directly.

Brown macroalgae, Sargassum ssp., are considered as a potential biomass source for energy production due to their relatively fast growth rates, ease of harvesting, and low pre-production cost. Sargassum fluitans, S. natans, and S. filipendula are three of the most abundant macroalgae species found at Puerto Rico’s coasts. The lipids content of Sargassum spp. ranges between 1.0 and 2.5% (total lipids)Diaz-Vazquez and others (2015) “Demineralization of Sargassum spp. macroalgae biomass: selective hydrothermal liquefaction process for bio-oil production.”Front.Energy Res. 3:6..

If the temperature and pressure  of carbon dioxide are both increased  to be at or above its critical point ,it can adopt properties midway between a gas and a liquid. More specifically, it behaves as a super critical fluid above its critical temperature 31.10 °C, (87.98 °F) and critical pressure of 72.9 atm, (7.39 MPa, 1,071 psi), expanding to fill its container like a gas but with a density like that of a liquid. Under these conditions carbon dioxide(CO2) acts as a solvent and removes fats/oils from a product. It is commonly used in the food industry in the manufacture of decaffeinated coffee. This method can be used to extract oil from SW without the residual harmful effects of the use of hexane, the solvent currently in  wide spread use.

SW is prevalent throughout the earth’s oceans. There has been a lot of noise locally about how to handle the problem. As far as I am concerned, there is no reason why the approach used in the fishing industry should not be adopted. With the use of drones and appropriate algorithms or biosensors one can easily detect the position of SW. Using algorithms, the difference in color of the ocean where the SW is versus where it is absent can be used to pinpoint the product. Alternatively, since S.natans has the ability to fix atmospheric nitrogen( by an associated epiphyte or cyanobacteria), a build up of or a depletion of nitrates can be used to detect SW, since the background levels in the ocean will be different. Similarly,the same should hold good for carbon dioxide(CO2) which is utilized during photosynthesis. Finally, there should be a temperature differential, due to the metabolic processes underway in the developing SW and the ocean’s background temperatures.  Lenstra and others (.2011) have outlined measures for fishing and harvesting SW. Recently a Caribbean country purchased two seaweed harvesters. So, instead of waiting for SW to come to Barbados, Barbados should go hunting for it.

Sincerely,

Robert D. Lucas,Ph.D. and CFS

Certified Food Scientist.

72 responses to “What to do with Sargassum”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

NOW JOHN YOU KNOW THAT CO2, H20 Fe Mg Cu are all inorganic compounds……..but suppose I tell you that they are important bio-molecules?

with out Fe, you cant make haemoglobin and you cant respire properly
    Mg, Cu Zn are important co-factors in many biochemical reactions in living organisms including sea weed plant animals etc

Without Mg or Mn you cant begin to metabolize glucose, for example

All biochemical reactions take place in water……….and either give off water or take up water
    And we do more than breathe out CO2
    CO2 IS MADE IN THE BODY AND USED IN THE SYNTHESIS OF MANY IMPORTANT BIO-MOLECULES LIKE UREA AND THE NITROGENOUS BASES USED TO MAKE DNA AND RNA ETC AND THUS ATP, THE MAJOR BIOLOGICAL CURRENCY

I REALLY HAD SOME FUN TODAY MOCKING THESE FOOLS

2. What is a ruminant?

an even-toed ungulate mammal that chews the cud regurgitated from its rumen. The ruminants comprise the cattle, sheep, antelopes, deer, giraffes, and their relatives.
    a contemplative person; a person given to meditation.

The business problem is how do you get from the seaweed to a finished saleable product?

We don’t have many ruminants here that need feeding but, Argentina, Brazil, Venezuela … South America, have four foot ruminants in abundance!

Not many, if any, contemplative persons here either!!

So, could we end up with a feed for ruminants which can be produced at sea and sold for forex?

Wouldn’t that be the ideal business venture?

Who would tax the profits, if any, made in international waters?

Register the ship in some non tax domain.

3. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

GP; I’m back after watching my grandaughter taking part in a ballroom dancing show / competition.

You said above “I REALLY HAD SOME FUN TODAY MOCKING THESE FOOLS”. You should have added …and making a fool of myself.

You yourself said in another post “SEAWEED IS A “PLANT” BASICALLY COMPOSED OF CELLULOSE
    WE TEACH THIS IN THE FIRST WEEK OF BIOCHEM COURSES”. I really need to go no further to prove my point. But I must to ensure that you fully understand the mistake that you have been making.

Seaweed is not an organic chemical. Its metabolic processes produces organic chemicals. Seaweed has all the characteristics of a living organism. IT IS NOT A BIOCHEMICAL. Biochemicals are normally produced by living organisms. So cellulose might be classed as a biochemical. But most plants are composed of biochemicals, inter alia. Plants are living organisms not biochemicals. Seaweed is a living organism that is the source of numerous biochemicals.

The definition of seaweed that they taught you in the first week of your biochem courses is not even up to the level of a wikapedia definition.

Here are 4 definitions of seaweed from recognized dictionaries:

Merriam-Webster
    Seaweed definition: a mass or growth of marine plants. 2 : a plant growing in the sea; especially : a marine alga (such as a kelp)

Cambridge English Dictionary
    seaweed definition: a green, brown, or dark red plant that grows in the sea or on land very close to the sea.

Dictionary.com
    Seaweed definition; Any of various red, green, or brown algae that live in ocean waters. Some species of seaweed are free-floating, while others are attached to the ocean bottom. … Seaweed is also a natural source of the element iodine, which is otherwise found only in very small amounts.

Collins English Dictionary
    seaweed definition; any of numerous multicellular marine algae that grow on the seashore, in salt marshes, in brackish water, or submerged in the ocean. Any of certain other plants that grow in or close to the sea.

There are some documents that are purely concerned with the use of bulk products from seaweed and interchangeably use the word seaweed to represent either the plant or the bulk product. An FAO document, A guide to the seaweed industry, FAO FISHERIES TECHNICAL PAPER 441, has an abstract, reproduced below, that illustrates the interchangeability of the term seaweed.

“Seaweed is a very versatile product widely used for food in direct human consumption. It is also an ingredient for the global food and cosmetics industries and is used as fertilizer and as an animal feed additive. Total annual value of production is estimated at almost US$ 6 billion of which food products for human consumption represent US$ 5 billion. Total annual use by the global seaweed industry is about 8 million tonnes of wet seaweed.”

“Seaweed can be collected from the wild but is now increasingly cultivated.(Very interesting that they cultivate a biochemical product!) It falls into three broad groups based on pigmentation; brown, red and green seaweed. Use of seaweed as food has strong roots in Asian countries such as China, Japan and the Republic of Korea, but demand for seaweed as food has now also spread to North America, South America and Europe. China is by far the largest seaweed producer followed by the Republic of Korea and Japan but seaweeds are today produced in all continents.”

“Red and brown seaweeds are also used to produce hydrocolloids; alginate, agar and carrageenan, which are used as thickening and gelling agents. Today, approximately 1 million tonnes of wet seaweed are harvested and extracted to produce about 55 000 tonnes of hydrocolloids, valued at almost US$ 600 million.”

Yuh see! Just like you they persist in mixing up and confusing the use of the word “seaweed”.

4. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

John;

Yuh shotting! A great Idea that derives directly from ruminating on Bob Lucas’ article.

5. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Indeed, Dr Lucas’ article also suggests that it might be possible to develop genetic engineering methodologies to produce feed from Sargassum seaweeds for non-ruminants also, even though it would be more complicated than ruminant feeds and need longer R&D inputs.

I would like to suggest again that a serious look should be taken at exploiting the seedweed on our shores and in the sea in our economic zone with a view to extracting various products for sale for FX. Dr Lucas would be an excellent resource for heading up a programme under the aegis of the new Blue economy ministry and with linkages to the dr. O’Garro project at UWI and the work the Ministry of Agriculture (and perhaps CARDI as well) is currently doing.

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ARE WE THERE YET YOU ARE SUCH AN ASS AND A BIOCHEMISTRY ILLITERATE
    YOUR IGNORANCE HAS NO BOUNDS
    YOU ARE JUST GOING AROUND IN CIRCLES WITH YOUR SEMANTICS
    READ WHAT LUCAS SAID YA FOOL

YOU ARE GOING AROUND IN CIRCLES
    SIMPLY HILARIOUS
    YOU SOUND LIKE THE MAIN STREAM FAKE NEWS MEDIA LOL

IT IS CLEAR THAT YOU KNOW NO BIOCHEMISTRY AND DONT UNDERSTAND ANY

CELLULOSE IS A POLYSACCHARIDE TAUIGHT ABOUT IN ALL BIOCHEM COURSES
    IT IS A CARBOHYDRATE

LUCAS WRITES the carbohydrate content of seaweed as a substrate
    I.E SEAWEED CONTAINS CARBOHYRDRATES ….THE POLYSACCHHARIDE CELLULOSE LOL

LUCAS WRITES
    SW structurely consists of linear polysaccharides made up of 25-30 glucose units linked by(beta) b 1-3 glycosidic bonds. In some cases b1-6 glycosidic bonds occur. Since the cell wall of SW contains cellulose.

THIS IS BASIC BIOCHEMISTRY THAT YOU OBVIOUSLY DONT UNDERSTAND
    READ IT UP IN THE FIRST CHAPTER OF STRYER, OR MARKS AND MARKS OR LENINGER OR ANY OF THESE STANDARD BIOCHEMISTRY TEXTS

HEAR YOU
    Seaweed is not an organic chemical.
    IS SUGAR AN OR GANIC CHEMICAL? IT CERTAINLY AINT INORGANIC
    ORGANIC CHEMICALS ARE COMPOSED BASICALLY OF CARBON

ORGANIC CHEMISTRY IS THAT BRANCH OF CHEMISTRY THAT DEALS WITH CARBON COMPOUNDS LOL

HEAR THE ASS ……Seaweed has all the characteristics of a living organism.
    AND SO IT DOES IT IS COMPOSED OF CELLULOSE WHICH IS AN ORGANIC CHEMICAL IDIOT

Its metabolic processes produces organic chemicals.
    THE METABOLIC PROCESSES OF YOUR BODY PRODUCES ORGANIC CHEMICALS TOO DUMMY

ONE OF THEM IS CALLED UREA
    IT IS MADE FROM A MOLECULE OF NHA FROM PROTEIN METABOLISM AND TWO CARBON DIOXIDE MOLECULES ah lie lol

we uise the urea from animal urine as fertiliser dont we lol

hear is an ass trying to teach a PROFESSOR OF BIOCHEMISTRY ABOUT CELLULOSE AND BIOCHEMISTRY

then you wonder why i come to BU TO MOCK

you are going around in circles trying to prove that i DONT KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT AND YOU DONT HAVE A CLUE

HILARIOUS

7. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

GP; I was trying my best not to descend to your level. But that looks like an exercise in futility.

YOU ARE A RH IDIOT WHO CANNOT SEEM TO COMPREHEND THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A PLANT AND A PRODUCT FROM THAT PLANT.

Sugarcane is a plant. the Sugarcane joints we eat or use as planting material is a product of that plant but, since they can reproduce, they are also plants in their own right. Sucrose and waxes and cellulose and various fine chemicals are products of sugarcane, they are not sugarcane. They might be organic chemicals or biochemicals, but they are only products of sugarcane.

Seaweeds are also plants. You appear to use “seaweed” as a term to describe food and mass feedstock products derived from seaweeds. But organic chemicals or biochemicals, Cellulose and Iodine and alginates , etc. etc. are NOT seaweeds. They are merely products of seaweeds.

Why can’t you see that the various definitions given for seaweeds accurately describe Bajan’s understanding of what Seaweeds really are and how they are described in practically all general dictionaries? Even your Biochemistry 101 definition aligns with the definitions I gave.

8. John;
    Yuh shotting! A great Idea that derives directly from ruminating on Bob Lucas’ article.

So there is at least one contemplative person alive in Barbados!!

9. … and as a member of the family of ruminants, I can assure you I do not eat and will not be eating any seaweed!!

10. Correct John
    That Sargassum is garbage collector of everything in the ocean
    The captalist as done with any product would capitalise on this garbage telling people about the benefits and then a couple years down the road they would be a recall of the product because one chemical found in the sargussum can cause cancer
    Let mother nature do the job it was meant to do like cleaning the very toxins we have avoid eating
    Why must mankind have to stick there ugly noses in everything mother nature does to keep us healthy

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

my day began with great mirth when I read this statement by BU’s latest expert in Organic and Biochemistry
    in his quest to call me a very foul name he wrote

Even your Biochemistry 101 definition aligns with the definitions I gave.
    He is suggesting that I teach a Biochemistry 101 course

i beg leave of the blog to share the Biochemistry section of the USMLE objectives which I have been teaching over the last 16 years to Medical and para medical students

1.1 Biochemistry and molecular biology
    1.1.1 gene expression: DNA structure, replication, and exchange
    • DNA structure: single- and double-stranded DNA, stabilizing forces, supercoiling
    • analysis of DNA: sequencing, restriction analysis, PCR amplification, hybridization
    • DNA replication, mutation, repair (eg, xeroderma pigmentosum) and degradation
    • gene structure and organization; chromosomes in prokaryotes and eukaryotes
    • recombination, insertion sequences, transposons
    • mechanisms of genetic exchange (transformation, transduction, conjugation)
    • plasmids and bacteriophages
    1.1.2 gene expression: transcription
    • transcription of DNA into RNA; enzymatic reactions, RNA; RNA degradation
    • regulation: cis-regulatory elements, transcription factors, enhancers, promoters
    • defects in transcription and RNA processing (eg, thalassemias)
    1.1.3 gene expression: translation
    • the genetic code
    • structure and function of tRNA
    • structure and function of ribosomes
    • protein synthesis
    • regulation of translation
    • post-translational modifications
    • protein degradation
    • defects in translation and protein structure (eg, hemoglobinopathies, cystic fibrosis)

1.1.4 structure and function of proteins
    • principles of protein structure and folding
    • enzymes; kinetics, thermodynamics, reaction mechanisms
    • structural and regulatory proteins; ligand binding, self-assembly
    • mutations that alter proteins (eg, hemoglobinopathies, familial hypercholesterolemia)
    1.1.5 energy metabolism; metabolic sequences and regulation
    • generation of energy from carbohydrates, fatty acids, and nonessential amino acids; glycolysis, glycogenolysis, pentose phosphate (phosphogluconate) pathway, tricarboxylic acid cycle, electron transport and oxidative phosphorylation
    • storage of energy: gluconeogenesis, glycogenesis, fatty acid and triglyceride synthesis
    • thermodynamics: free energy, chemical equilibria and group transfer potential; the energetics of ATP and other high-energy compounds MODULE 7
    • altered energy metabolism (eg, cyanide poisoning, mitochondrial myopathies, diabetic ketoacidosis)
    1.1.6 metabolic pathways of small molecules and associated diseases
    • biosynthesis and degradation of amino acids (eg, phenylketonuria, maple syrup urine disease)
    • biosynthesis and degradation of purine and pyrimidine nucleotides (eg, gout, Lesch-Nyhan syndrome)
    • biosynthesis and degradation of lipids and cholesterol, steroid hormones, prostaglandins, and thromboxanes (eg, adrenogenital syndrome)
    • biosynthesis and degradation of porphyrins and bile acids (eg, porphyrias)
    1.1.7 biosynthesis and degradation of other macromolecules and associated abnormalities; complex carbohydrates (eg, lysosomal storage disease); glycoproteins and proteoglycans

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

at 12:11 last night ARE WE THERE YET WROTE

YOU CANNOT SEEM TO COMPREHEND THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A PLANT AND A PRODUCT FROM THAT PLANT.

WHEREAS AS THIS IS NOT TRUE AND WHEREAS AWTY IS HAVING SOME PROBLEMS WITH HIS COMPREHENSION AS A NATURAL PART OF HIS SENILITY

I WROTE THAT LUCAS WRITES
    SW structurely consists of linear polysaccharides made up of 25-30 glucose units linked by(beta) b 1-3 glycosidic bonds. In some cases b1-6 glycosidic bonds occur. Since the cell wall of SW contains cellulose.

THE GOODLY LUCAS POINTS OUT THAT SEAWEED
    consists of linear polysaccharides
    he then gives its chemical structure thus ………linear polysaccharides made up of 25-30 glucose units linked by(beta) b 1-3 glycosidic bonds. In some cases b1-6 glycosidic bonds
    he states that the the cell wall of SW contains cellulose.

THIS IS SIMPLE SOUND (101, ID YOU LIKE ) BIOCHEMISTRY

13. My thoughts as a ecologist/biologist.

Sea weed is an aquatic organism. In the article it also specifically mentions sargassum is a macro algae and two species of primary concern to the region are provided. These would be composed of inorganic and organic compounds (including said biochemicals). However, it is of itself is not a biochemical or organic chemical. Would you call a mango tree a compound? The same principle applies. Sea weed is “organic”. However, it is not a biochemical or organic chemical (singular) as it is not composed of only one compound. Just because it structurally is composed primarily of something does not mean it is solely composed of something. Organisms are made of compounds (saccharides, lipids, peptides and nucleic acids) but are not a single compound by them self, and I have never seen them called such in my education, research, or in any form of scientific literature.

I would also like to mention as a younger person who occasionally browses this blog. Currently, regardless of how good a submitted article is, a good amount of comment threads tend to end up more like a rum shop (I have seen some posters made reference to this proudly). This blog would not be considered for serious discussion for a lot of people unless you get proper moderation and set rules in place for posting etiquette. As it is, I usually only browse this blog for comedy reading some of the comments posted, particularly in submissions relating to politics.

14. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

JRB;

Thanks for explaining the difference between seaweeds like the sargassum and seaweed products or components, from the standpoint of a young ecologist / biologist.

15. On another note, one thing I have noticed in passing and repassing the Worthing area, it is getting stinker and stinker!!

I believe an explanation may be the injection wells.

As the sewage finds its way to the sea underground and finally appears there it creates the smell.

An oldtimer from the Gibbons area related an instance to me of the time an irrigation well was dug in the flat area just under the ridge.

He told me they had to close it up fast because of the stench so I told him that it was probably the sewage from the houses on the ridge getting into the sheet water and venting up through the well shaft.

If you are putting the sewage into the sea via the injection wells, for sure it will stink.

Better get the force main to Needhams Point fixed pronto!!

16. … another good reason to close the beach!!

17. Agree with you John. Had reason to visit the St.Lawrence Gap recently and in the area of the police station and entrance to Graeme Hall Sanctuary the stench although overpowering is present.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE As it is, I usually only browse this blog for comedy reading some of the comments posted, particularly in submissions relating to politics.

I AGREE WITH YOU 100 %
    SO DO I
    I COME TO BU FOR ITS COMEDY LOL

I THANK YOU FOR THE PIECE OF COMEDY THAT YOU HAVE INJECTED IN YOUR IGNORANCE IN YOUR POST AT JRB July 15, 2018 9:03 AM

WITH ALL DUE RESPECT, YOU ARE TALKING SHITE JUST LIKE AWTY, YOUR MENTOR OR ALTER EGO

CIRCULAR ARGUMENT AND COMEDY VERY AWTY -ESQUE & DPD-ESQUE

THE CRUX OF LUCAS’ ARTICLE WHICH I POINTED OUT FROM THE START IS AS LUCAS POINTS OUT……..

THE GOODLY LUCAS POINTS OUT THAT SEAWEED
    consists of linear polysaccharides
    he then gives its chemical structure thus ………linear polysaccharides made up of 25-30 glucose units linked by(beta) b 1-3 glycosidic bonds. In some cases b1-6 glycosidic bonds
    he states that the the cell wall of SW contains cellulose.

THIS IS SIMPLE SOUND SOLID BIOCHEMISTRY FOUND IN ALL THE LEADING BIOCHEMISTRY TEXTS

YOU AND YOUR MENTOR OR ALTER EGO HAVE CREATED A STRAW MAN

19. I am not sure who my mentor or alter ego is supposed to be? That was my first time posting on this site as the blog master can confirm. I am arguing the point that seaweed is not a chemical/biochemical/organic compound. I saw that mentioned earlier, which is incorrect. I am not speaking to anything else, so i am not sure how circular logic and straw man fallacies apply.

What you are saying does not refute my point and neither does the above article. You are just mentioning one of its structural constituents. However, I never argued saying that seaweed does not contain polysaccharides. I think you are confusing my point. My point is that seaweed is not a chemical/biochemical/organic compound by itself but it an organism comprised of them. Saying seaweed is a compound is like saying a mango is a organic compound to go back to my original example. Or did you not realise that mango also has cell walls possessing polysaccharides.

You are making the mistake of confusing Lucus giving the chemical formulae of the structural components (SW structurally consists of) with thinking he is giving the chemical formulae of seaweed itself. For example, we humans have a skeletal system for structure. If I gave you the chemical formulae for hydroxyapatite that still does not make a human a compound as we are comprised of more than bone. The paper linked below gives the chemical composition of some seaweeds. Notice that there is no one “seaweed compound”.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3667364/

Furthermore, only persons who cannot prove their point resort to ad hominen attacks and all caps typing (and it is disappointing that an educated person would resort to this). Feel free to provide any piece of scientific literature where any organism is referred to as chemical/biochemical/organic compound.

20. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

JRB;

GP doesn’t understand anything you said above. Its best not to feed the Troll. Pity I can’t seem to take my own advice.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The Day is Past and Over”
    Translated by John M. Neale, 1818-1866
    1. The day is past and over;
    All thanks, O Lord, to Thee!
    I pray Thee now that sinless
    The hours of dark may be.
    O Jesus, keep me in Thy sight
    And save me through the coming night.

The joys of day are over;
    I lift my heart to Thee
    And ask Thee that offenseless
    And guard me through the coming night.
    The toils of day are over:
    I raise the hymn to Thee
    And ask that free from peril
    O Jesus, make their darkness light
    Lord, that in death I sleep not,
    And lest my Foe should say
    “I have prevailed against him,”
    Lighten mine eyes, I pray.
    Be Thou my Soul’s Preserver,
    O God, for Thou dost know
    How many are the perils
    Through which I have to go.
    Lover of men, oh, hear my call
    And guard and save me from them all.

22. Dominic Evans Avatar

Hi. Great read. M in Mexico we have problems with sargassum here too. Question for a food scientist. I’m reading about high levels of arsenic and heavy metals being present in sargassum. Does this pose a threat? I am using sargassum as fertilizer for vegetables. Will they be safe to eat? Is there anything I can do on a small scale with the sargassum. They dump it in the jungle near my house. I have loads of it. Is it worth trying to do something with it to get biofuel?