Submitted by Dr. Shima L. Holder, Age: 27 years old

Academic Background:

• Bachelors of Science (BSc): UWI Cave Hill Campus, Barbados (2009-2013) –  Chemistry
  • Master of Science (MSc): University of Surrey, United Kingdom (2013-2014) – Civil and Environmental Engineering (specialization in Water and Environmental Engineering),
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD): Da-Yeh University, Taiwan, Republic of China (2014- 2017) – Water and Environmental Engineering (Fuel Cell Technolog01_UNLEASH 2018_certificate_globalscalabilitypotential UNLEASH 2018_certificate_water_goldy)
Occupation: Postdoctoral Researcher/Chemical Engineer, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden (July 2017-present)

UNLEASH 2018, Singapore : ​’SaniHive’ prototype designed by Savvy Sanitation Solutions​
UNLEASHED closing ceremony
I recently took part in UNLEASH that was held in Singapore from 30th May – 6th June 2018. UNLEASH is a global innovation lab ​ sponsored by UNDP, Deloitte, Dalberg, Carlsberg Foundation and DBS (to name a few)​ that convenes 1000 top young minds chosen from over 1​08 countries around the world to collaborate on ideas and solutions that can help achieve the United Nation Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs) for food, water, health, education, energy, urban sustain-ability and responsible supply chains.

As the sole female and one of the youngest persons,​our multinational team of 5 also included innovators/engineers from Colombia, Singapore, South Africa and Uruguay. We tackled SDG 6: Clean Water & Sanitation​ and pitched our solution and business plan to potential funders at a marketplace and then to an audience of approximately 1200 people where we were evaluated by leading experts and company partners. Our team’s solution ​beat 995 other contestants and 169 other solutions ​to clinch​ both ​​the Gold Award and the Global Scalability Potential Award –​(see appended file)​.
SaniHive prototype

​Our solution is an Integrated Modular Sanitation system that combines the collection and treatment of wastes onsite by Our SaniHive prototype (see attachment), inspired by the honeycomb structure of bees that maximizes space in limited land availability, was conceptualized, critiqued by experts​ ​and refined during a gruelling four-day innovation process converting urine and faeces into fertiliser and compost respectively. 

​The uniqueness  in our solution is that​ ​the toilet hub is not connected to a conventional sewage network, needs no electricity and can be scaled up or customized according to the community’s needs and natural design. Furthermore, profits can be made from the waste recycling (as this system separates the urine and faeces within the toilet while using no water). We ​ also​ hope that this innovation would ​empower the communities by ​creat​ing ​employment, as local people c​an transport the waste to mini treatment plants where high-end products could be created; phosphorous recovery from urine for fertiliser is one example of this.
Final presentation at UNLEASHED

The Future for Savvy Sanitation Solutions Urban slum communities need sustainable sanitation that meets the needs of high population density, because the current temporary portable toilets are largely inaccessible due to space constraints; many people often share a few toilets, leading to poor sanitary conditions. With projections of there being close to one billion urban slum dwellers worldwide by 2030, sanitation innovations such as ours will play a big part in ensuring clean water and sanitation and in creating sustainable cities and healthy citizens. 

To start, we will focus on the urban slum Kylethisha in South Africa and we can use this slum as a case study for implement​ation​​ in other ​developing countries based on their specific needs and limitations; our solution is not limited to urban slums, but can also be valuable in water​-​scarce communities/areas, or  in richer suburbs, where you create an integrated, decentralised system with a mini treatment plant in the neighbourhood.​ ​
Team working at 12AM to completed businessplan and technology

As the co-founders of Savvy Sanitation Solutions, our team is excited ​about pursu​ing ​th​e​ SaniHive innovation, and are currently meeting with funders and investors to help commercialise this technology.

International Media Coverage
​As an example, here are three articles we are featured in:​

3. Singapore: https://medium.com/@asiap3hub/innovations-unleashed-d999d2fa39b5 (specific mention of our team’s solution is made by Asia P3 Hub’s Senior WASH and Partnership Advisor, Phearak Svay, who served as a judge at 2018 UNLEASH)
Also, I have attached:
​1) ​a feature video done by The Development Bank of Singapore (DBS) which includes our team’s solution (SaniHive) ​ and 2) some group photos of us the co-founders ​, and 3) supporting photo files.​

111 responses to “Young Barbadian Scientist @UNLEASH 2018 in Singapore”

1. What roadmap? What plot? Every parent has a road map for their children. Silly, simplistic analyses only serve to confuse readers.

2. But aren’t these the same people who when they travel, happily or otherwise, use airplane toilets.

Which are nasty, claustrophobic, wet, smelly places.

But I guess such inconveniences don’t matter once the polititcos are flying high, as high as 35,000 feet.

3. @pieceuhderockyeahright July 14, 2018 5:02 AM “this is her honeymoon period so we have to keep quiet bout these sorts of things.”

A honeymoon involves two people right? Well at least two people.

in this case the elected and the electors.

I don’t know how the elected can be enjoying honeymoon sweetness

And me, one of the electors can’t feel no sort of sweetness yet.

I hope that this is not some king on weird one-sided/one person honeymoon.

i knew a man once who loved golf bad bad. He married and told his new wife “we going on a golf honeymoon”

She found golf boring and had no interest in going to a golf resort for a honeymoon.

So he went on the golf honeymoon by himself.

Lol!

Perhaps I should have put this in jokes corner.

4. And they lived happily after.

THE END.

5. @ Simple Simon

If de ole man is to interpret what you are saying about this man and his wife and him going to play with golf balls and her, the wife, having no balls, am de ole man to take this metaphysically or physically?

I mean to say I KNOW DAT YOU GOT A WAY WITH SAYIG THINGS BUT NOT SAYING THEM BUT…!

Is it that you are saying that the bride/bridegroom sorry I am lost but I will get my bearings as i continue to write my normal ingrunce

So you are saying that the bridegroom is playing golf with his golf balls but the bride which might be the voters/electors who have no balls, will leave the husband (cause after the marriage he is no longer a groom) to play with his balls that is to say his golf balls.

While she will be balls-less or not playing with his balls that is to say his golf balls.

Okay dennnn de ole man unnerstands your allegory and further promises you not to play with anything….

De last time you was heah talking bout sheaths and leaving a bed with a *** and now you girl hmmmmmp you like you is a good hmmmmmmp

I gone doah befo’ i get run off de site like dat feller who get run off from BFP the-rapist feller

[[I got a question for you though before i leave.

When those people at Madame Tussauds and dem other wax places make the lifelike figures do you think they are anatomocally correct? I mean do you think they be “packing”.

I was inclined to check given what you was talking bout, WITH THE FEMALE STATUETTES OF COURSE but de ole man fraid dem catch de ole man and bring charges against he for indecently feeling up de royalty private parts.

I going ask dat feller at we local place to check if his females got parts.

NB I using square brackets so only you see did okay?]]

6. Piece…they will get exactly what they deserve, all of them, soon come, unfortuanely…so will the innocent who never asked for any of this, but they too will have to pay a price for trusting lying politicians and government ministers, hopefully they will now learn not to keep ANY government employed and sucking taxpayers for more than 5 years…change governments every 5 years..

If the information you got about Marshall displacing an employee’s office to build a toilet and bath for himself on the people’s dime is accurate, that is all the evidence the electorate needs to remove the Mia government after 5 years.

7. Piece you can send me an email at kammie.holder@myguadiangroup.com

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Jammies Holder.

It is going to come from an email that ammmm is sort of strange but it will be related to De ole man’s anonymice is

I am not home right now and I have the information there.

Will be back there tonight (I think) I ent driving and will send then

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Kammie not Jammies the predictive text thang please forgive

10. Inventing ways to show the beauty in everyone.

https://www.facebook.com/NowThisHer/videos/1323151411149064/?t=34

11. piece uh de rock yeah right Avatar
    piece uh de rock yeah right

@ Mr. Kammie Holder

Is the email address you sent above correct?

I think it may be missing a letter but please advise.