Approximately 30 years ago I experienced my first rejection.  I had provided one of the firm’s clients with Engineering advice that could have saved him significant maintenance costs.  I was still visibly disappointed when I returned home, and after listening to my reason, my father gave me some excellent guidance.

He said that my job as a professional was to simply give my best advice.  My clients were not obligated to accept my advice, but were free to accept or reject any advice they received.  Therefore, I should never get emotionally attached to any advice that I give.

This guidance has kept me emotionally stable during my Engineering career.  If my best advice is rejected by my client, then I have learned to simply offer my next best advice without feeling the least bit distressed or disappointed.

The formation of Solutions Barbados meant that our clients became the residents of Barbados.  We offered them our best advice, which was economic prosperity without austerity.  Others offered the most severe austerity as the price for removing the DLP from government.  The DLP administration had become so offensive to most of the public that the voters rejected them, and selected the BLP to replace them.

It is an understandable decision by the voting public.  With Barbados on the brink of economic ruin, it is natural that they would want to trust a political party that had experience in governing.  However, with most of our candidates planning to continue to the next general election, the people of Barbados remain our clients.

What do our clients want from us now that the general election is over?  From the consistent feedback we have received, they want us to keep giving our best advice, both to the public and to those whom they have selected to manage Barbados’ economy.  That is exactly what we plan to do.

Our best pre-election advice was that austerity was not required to improve Barbados’ economy.  We published our plan 3 years ago for the public to review, and it was independently verified as workable.

Our best advice at this time, especially when the government is negotiating the terms of our surrender to an IMF directed austerity, is that our plan remains relevant today.  This is because our plan assumed that the Treasury would be empty on election day.  This was a reasonable assumption to have made, because politicians have claimed in the past that they found the Treasury empty when they assumed office.

The IMF is now back in Barbados and we will soon learn how bitter the medicine will be.  Since the Government seems intent on forcing us onto an unnecessary austerity path, then our best advice is to prepare our clients to cope with the bitter pills we will have to take, and the sour bills we will have to pay.

The first order of business is for everyone to reduce their vulnerability to foreseen threats.  Since the BLP have chosen to continue with the DLP’s economic strategy of high taxation, but this time with a smile and the support of the unions and private sector, then then one foreseen threat is poverty.

Most have exhausted their savings over the past decade of high-taxation, and are now one pay-cheque away from poverty.  Therefore, everyone needs to try to earn foreign currency.  Few are likely to be successful on their first try, but humans learn by failure.  Therefore, if they keep trying, and follow good advice, then success is guaranteed.

Concurrently, everyone neds to reduce their vulnerability to natural hazards.  We have entered the hurricane season, and most houses remain vulnerable to hurricane-force winds.  All houses can be economically strengthened, and homeowners should do so with dispatch.  However, we are always in the earthquake season.

It is important that our vulnerable schools, offices and public buildings be strengthened against earthquakes.  All buildings in Barbados with reinforced concrete roofs, that were built before 2012, were almost certainly significantly under-designed for earthquakes to the extent that they will likely collapse in an earthquake.

Fortuitously, our students will soon be out of school, and many persons take vacation during the summer holiday.  Therefore, we strongly recommend that the government makes the economical strengthening of our schools a national priority this summer, for all of our sakes.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

115 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Our Best Advice”

1. … have?

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I see there is no change, the exministers and yardfowls are still being their useless, vicious and vindictive selves, this time to each other, just as they deserve. The electorate can be assured they made the right decision…lol…get rid of all of dem, permanently. They all need to go to helll and stay out of the people’s lives, they have done enough damage.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/05/inniss-muzzled/

“A last minute decision by former Prime Minister and outgoing President of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Freundel Stuart to abruptly end the party’s signature lunchtime lectures has left one party elder fuming, and threatens to cause fissures within the 63-year-old political movement.

Stuart last night cancelled the lectures with immediate effect following a meeting of the DLP Executive Council, leaving former Minister of Commerce Donville Inniss with the proverbial egg on his face.:

3. Mariposa

I’m sure you’ll agree that Bobby Morris was rewarded with the Caricom Ambassador post under your former DLP administration for being the DEM’s 2013 general elections campaign manager.

There aren’t any fundamental ideological and philosophical differences between the BLP and DLP.

The BLP is providing government is a continuum by engaging in practices simarly undertaken by the former inept DLP administration.

You are continuing to write so much shiite and display your hypocrisy in this forum because you’re being cheered on by an essay writing pantomath.

4. *** proving

5. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax

“There aren’t any fundamental ideological and philosophical differences between the BLP and DLP.

The BLP is providing government is a continuum by engaging in practices simarly undertaken by the former inept DLP administration.”

Finally………………

6. William Skinner

“Finally………”, what!!!

I have mentioned in this forum on SEVERAL occasions that there aren’t any ideological and philosophical differences between the BLP and DLP.

But because I was critical of the DLP and exposed as shiite what their operatives post to this forum, I am deemed to be a BLP supporter, although no one can indicate where in any of my contributions I praised the BLP.

7. And there was none between the NDP of which William Skinner was a member.

8. For all to understand my opposition to Commisiong is that Commisiong has commuinist leanings of which i detest
    No leader is worthy of consideration under a fully vetted democracy if that person openly submits or defends Communist parties and their leaders
    Commisiong falls deeply into such categories

9. What Communist leanings? What about the real Communists like the Chinese funding and working on Sam Lords? The RH crazies are going berserk.

10. Enuff

Mariposa is following the script as discussed during a recently held meeting at George Street.

And notice there is a “LEGION” of Mariposas, because based on the construct of some of their contributions……

…….it is obvious that they are many.

11. Nope Nope no communist supper for Me ..Nope Nope

12. Enuff it is obvious you are in denial
    Commissiong has never missed a beat when opportunity arises to sing the praises of Chavez. Castro and Maduro you might not see nothing wrong with that picture but i see a whole dam lot)

13. Took a look at the channel to the sluice gate today.

The level is close to 0.8 metres.

Tide is below 0.7 metres

Looks like what the injection wells can’t take goes to the swamp.

Nothing coming from the manholes so it may be the source was solely the force main back to Hilton which had leaks.

Spring tide coming in a week wo we will see if tide has an effect soon.

Tide expected to rise to 0.87 metres.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

My grandson to me to tell you that the anti aliased pifuture of Mia Mottley and the 2018 May 24 Elections is not very complimentary of her

It has a Skeletor look and the split between the teeth while quite fetching in real life give the appearance of “Brother Burnham is Watching You”

I know dat wunna ent got de grandson to help wunna with images BUT it is important that wunna mek her website keep her looking good Ok?

15. Having watched the pronouncements of Enuff and Artax ove a period of time, I was forced to remove them from the “yardfowls” category
    Wait a minute…Unless
    Unless these two guys have split personalities which are in conflict.
    Mor observation is needed.
    Good morning guys….