Submitted by William Skinner

Our private sector has never been the engine of growth. It has never indicated any earnest desire to accept such a role. Since independence, it would be very difficult, to identify, a period where our private sector, both traditional and current, drove the growth engine.

Ever since the decline of the plantocracy, successive governments, have been the true engineers of economic development. A glaring example of the private sector’s deviancy was the housing sector boom of the post-independence period, when the traditional private sector refused, to engage in any broad-based effort, in public housing for lower income groups.

Agriculture, tourism, manufacturing and to some degree construction, were systematically underperforming because the sector, was mainly concerned with maintaining low wages and engaging in protracted battles with the powerful Barbados Workers Union (BWU). It can be safely argued that the sector was also very reluctant to employ and or promote, the new generation of university graduates, who could have brought a new thinking to the sector. This colonialist attitude resulted in very talented blacks being denied prominence in the board rooms.

The strident criticism of the last government’s generous concessions to the Sandals group, were fuelled by the same private sector, that could not develop a product such as Sandals. Successive governments have bent over backwards to please the pathetic assortment of whiners, within our private sector, who act as if they have never made a penny in profit and apparently believe that the public must underwrite their investments.

Our corporate power houses were interested in nothing more than retail operations and enjoyed the luxury of exploiting consumers, when natural disasters such as hurricanes occurred, and they could increase the prices of basic items such as sardines, bread and milk! That was the extent of their thinking and approach to national economic development.

Our prime industry tourism fell victim to a lethargic and incompetent private sector, that refused to invest heavily in marketing the country and left the demanding work to successive governments, that in turn populated overseas agencies with party sycophants, who knew little or nothing about promoting the product. There was no symbiosis between agriculture and the tourism industry. This meant that a considerable portion of the foreign exchange earned usually found its way out of the country, to maintain the industry.

This unpatriotic sector executed its final betrayal, when it sold one of our most powerful corporate entities, Barbados Shipping and Trading (BST) to foreign interests. BST was a powerful entity that acted as its own government. At one time it managed several estates and allowed them to become run down, rather than invest in the agro-industry. The true history of this organization will reveal it was steeped in unpatriotic corporate practices and rather than innovate and move toward new investments, that would have utilized emerging technological tools, it opted to engage in the greatest act of corporate cowardice by selling out.

As the new government rides on tremendous goodwill, it would do well to read the riot act to our private sector and inform it, that the same way it cannot be business as usual for the civil servants and the citizens, as we go through tough economic times, it cannot be the same for the private sector. It is time that it be told in no uncertain terms to step up to the plate.

Former Prime Minister, Owen Arthur once told the sector that it represented a pack of whiners; another Prime Minister, Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford, once had to remind the sector that he was not elected in a boardroom. Another former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart told them that if they wanted to dictate how the country was managed, they should consider running for office.

In recent times the same sector was in the forefront of marches organized by trade unions against a government. There is an old saying: “He who helps you buy a big guts cow or horse does not always help you feed it.”

A word to the wise.

133 responses to “Private Sector Disengagement Challenging Development”

1. Some of us like to do what little we can to disrupt capitalist ideals.

2. William Skinner Avatar

Why is it that any objective analysis of the private sector and the attendant historical truths is always seen as “anger” ? The article castigates the private sector for its reluctance to become innovative and make the adjustment to be leaders rather than perpetual whiners.
    I find it strange that when we criticize; Mottley, Stuart, Arthur or any Black leader, it is taken as just that, while any criticism of the corporate elites, is seen as “anger” or living in the past.
    The country is entering a period of rough economic waters, and there has been a call for national action . My position is that at no time has the private sector ever demonstrated a high level of leadership , when the country is in need of its vision.
    i am not looking back with anger. I really want to look forward with hope but if those who really control the economic power, continuously pretend that they are only there, to keep noise in the Social Partnership, the call for national action would mean absolutely nothing !
    Who the cap fits ,let them wear it. Is massa day really dun ???

3. @Well, Well June 29, 2018 2:28 PM “All these religious madmen…it is a lingerie ad.”

I thought that it was a hair or hair products ad. Lolll!!!

That said it is nothing that we don’t see on any neighbourhood clothesline on any day of the week, but moreso on Saturdays.

Do panties, drawers and bras hanging on a line offend religious people?

4. @Hal Austin June 29, 2018 8:05 AM “Our private sector, or what passes for it, has always been passive when it comes to business. From the plantations, when all they had to do was to sit back and wait for the canes to grow then harvest them”

Actually while some people may have been sitting back watching the canes grow. Other people, my people, were WORKING, HARD AND WORKING WELL in the fields to make the cans grow.

Why do we not count the black HARD WORKING CLASS as the private sector?

Aren’t these the people who all through our history have done the WORK to grow our economy?

Why do we not count them?

Is it because they are/were poor, black and working class?

Do we need somebody from the great white north to tell us that black working class are the real private sector, the people whose labour has always driven growth in our economy?

I like to disrupt the narrative.

5. Why we so like to elevate capital and why we so like to denigrate labour?

The same way male centric thinkers denigrate the WORK done at home. If over a lifetime I cook tens of thousands of meals at home the capitalist economists do not count that as work. But if I open a corner shop selling ham cutters and which remains in business for 6 weeks the capitalists/economists count that as work, but my tens of thousands of meals are non-work?

Why?

6. And if economists and capitalists have not yet found a way to count all WORK, then that tells me that economists and capitalists are lazy non-thinkers.

Why are we so surprised then that our “leaders” lead us into to perennial messes?

7. When one look at international countries there is a vast contrast in the way Private Sector interacts to provide growth with little govt intervention. Yes there is always the proverbial door stooper of politics that aligns itself for favouritism amongst those in the private sector
    However their is a less disadvantage to the economy in bigger countries through private investment even when govts shows less level of favourtism towards them
    This last election was not only a mandate but a message sent to govt by powerful darkshadows in the private sector that if you dont play our way we will show u the highway
    All wait and see how advantageous Mottley winnings would be of greater efffect for the private sector as i mentioned previously the private sector vowed to help pull the debt laden basket but having heard that message before most people would probably yawn

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Enuff
    ‘Close, close’….does this mean it isn’t clear, or isn’t there without extrapolation?

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Whuloss fellow can’t paste in wunna browser pub de iPad no more?

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…

“Do panties, drawers and bras hanging on a line offend religious people?”

It looks like everything offends religious mad men just look at the extremes to which they evaluate, treat and describe their own people….extremism is destructive from any quarter.

11. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ William Skinner,

I stand to be corrected but i would say that St Nicholas Abbey is perhaps one of the best examples of what the private sector could be if it were placed in the hands of progressive and visionary adults. They have done a fantastic regeneration of this estate. As far as i’m aware they are not subsidised by the state; in contrast to others.

The private sector in Barbados is vastly over rated.

If I were Mia, I would take a serious look at the economic miracle called China. The traditional powers are in awe of China due to the Chinese government having complete leverage over so-called Chinese private enterprises; which are in reality state-owned enterprises.

If the government of China were running Barbados it would dictate to all landowners that the land must be used to benefit the country both economically and environmentally. They would not allow landowners and private companies to squat on land whilst holding the country to ransom. China has gone for growth demolishing obstacles such as mountains and communities in order to build an infrastructure fit for the twenty-first century. The beneficiaries are largely the Chinese people who have seen an astonishing rise in their quality of life.

China does not genuinely have private enterprises. I would say they have state enterprises that resemble private enterprises from the enterprising Victorian era where everything appeared to be possible.

Mia needs to go for broke and smash the tentacles of these so-called Barbados private enterprises who are holding the country to ransom, who are certainly not entrepreneurial and who remain stubbornly parasitical to government funding.

If an individual or a private company is sitting on assets such as land and this land is not been used in a way which brings benefits to the country then the government should confiscate the owner’s land. The government should monitor private enterprise to make sure that the products it produces are revenue earners and that services offered such as medical, dentistry and legal are truly affordable to the masses. Are these companies paying their right amount in taxes and service charges such as electricity and water? I very much doubt it.

This small island of 286,000 cannot be reliant on these one-armed bandits referred to as the private sector (you know whom i’m referring to) who are not interested if the country collapses. So long as they are making some money and their assets remain safe then they are content. Are these really the sort of people whom we want to be running our most important private companies?

The government has a close relationship with China, perhaps they should ask them for some advice – and fast!

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“The traditional powers are in awe of China due to the Chinese government having complete leverage over so-called Chinese private enterprises; which are in reality state-owned enterprises.”

And what is most admirable. ..the Chinese execute any and all of them at the slightest whiff of corruption…a bullet to their heads.

prison time as punishment fir government officials and business people for corruption becomes a paradise in that scenario.

13. First of all Mia is the darlin of the private sector . There are the ones who got her elected funneled massive amounts of money into her campagain. Poor people could not have collectively hand the reigns of power to Mottley. Mottley owes them plenty so expecting Mottley to tackle this monster to the ground called private sector is living in a fools paradise
    Mottley hands and feet are now shackled to the Private Sector and all should be prepared to expect more of the same gravy train heading in their direction as what was served to them under the Arthur years and the poor can expect to eat of the crumbs that fall from massa table
    The tax write offs and the measly 5% is an example of how the pie would be divided between the wealthy and the lowly in the next five years.
    Expecting Mia to control the private Sector is like expecting an ant to push a boulder into the sea.
    The private sector does not look out for barbados interest but for their own self interest
    Read this morning that Purity raising it bread prices along with musty Massy would have already started the ball rolling
    So.pray tell where does the poor and lowly interest fit into Mia glorious proposals and how much so far have they benefited and what benefits do they have to look forward to in the next five
    As i said before if one wants to know who benefitted in the past years read the auditor general reports of 2006 and it gives clear details of the massive amounts of money that was handed to the private sector which taxpayers must now bear called debt

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yardfowl….stop lying, the population in Barbados is as follows…

Minorities…business sector people included = 7,500

Majority population = over 265,000….most of them poor..

Number of voters for 2018 election = over 150,000

Number of voters elected the Mia government = over 111,000

The only numbers of people that could have put the Mia government in parliament are the working class and poor…

There was no Cambridge Analytica involved, to tief the election like in 2013 they were too busy running from the law in 2018 or self confessed bribers Cow and Bizzy or Maloney ….why ya think it was 30-0…the people, the poor and vulnerable spoke…

Ya told only lies on barbadostoday yesterday, all day, now ya back today to pollute BU..

Have you no shame?

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And Mia is smart enough to know it’s the vulnerable poor people, working class people and others elected her in 2018 and those are the same class working people, vulnerable poor people and others can vote her out in 2023…all 111,000….if she gets as dumb as yall lacking commonsense and think that giving away the billion dollar contracts, tax dollars and pension fund belonging to the electorate…to minorities in the private sector…will get her reelected…she knows she will get 30-0..just like yall.

Ya lacking in shame and commonsense.

16. Using China as a model by which barbados can control Private sector is an exercise in futility
    Barbados is limited in everyway
    China first goal and economic success lies within a philosphical construct of education the govt had a vision to make its people knoweldge beneficial to the country which in turn produce vast wealth and the knoweldge gain has been fruitful in that other countries can now turn to china as a secondary economic chain
    Barbadians has nothing to offer its country until a midset to develop an educational system one which will be productive to constructing a country built on meaningful ideas and solutions sustainable to produce an economic empire without the need of foreign investment barbados would be beholding to one arm bandits who are no more than wolves in sheep clothing

17. June 30, 2018 6:27 AM

“The traditional powers are in awe of China due to the Chinese government having complete leverage over so-called Chinese private enterprises; which are in reality state-owned enterprises.”

And what is most admirable. ..the Chinese execute any and all of them at the slightest whiff of corruption…a bullet to their heads.

prison time as punishment fir government officials and business people for corruption becomes a paradise in that scenario.

@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service

The Chinese model does have it drawbacks. I personally don’t like the Chinese model when it comes to my freedoms. Its not all about money in a society that makes it great.

My suggestion is simple but I know the types of people we got bout hay in Barbados. It will be laughed at deemed unworkable. But i believe those same words are and would be an indictment of the leaders of the present and the future.

We need leaders that are “wise and truly patriotic and that have integrity”, that’s all we need. We need MPs that will pass legislation that sees country first and all else second. Barbados will then be on a path that it has never been on or has departed from in the past.

The above wish that i have is not what is deemed to exist in modern day politics or in a political party. We consciously elect leaders that mislead us intentionally. Implement things and craft policies that are not in our best interest. Our leaders interfere with the running of the country to often help out friends and/or family under the guise of “economic common sense”. Thereby the incentive is towards bad behaviour at all levels especially at the economic level.

The politician chooses from all the viable talent; to put square pegs in round holes often knowing the chance of success is low or non-existence and tell us “that they know what we doing”. yeah right i say. “but why not a round peg for a round hole?” we all ask internally whilst nodding and smiling broadly at our dear leader? lol

The civil service(masters) do what they like with out having to be held accountable for their actions. Another non-incentive for doing the right thing. Where did all the management graduates/consultants we produced at UWI over the years go. UWI wake up we need courses in ACCOUNTABILITY please hear me clearly not “UNACCOUNTABILITY” and less classes for accountants or economics..

Again i say we follow the economic models that not designed for us to be relevant in this world. Wake up! Be aware of that source of light. We need to follow the sunlight and not the neon light. Unfortunately, its a waste of time thinking anything will change bout hay if drinking kool-aid from the swamp is the prerequisite.

18. It is difficult to create a model, one relevant to a unique vision if we are hog tied to debt? We have to come up with the vision anyway!

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“The Chinese model does have it drawbacks. I personally don’t like the Chinese model when it comes to my freedoms.”

Every model of governance has its drawbacks, I personally don’t like the human rights violations for which they are famous, but I am rather fond of the way they handle corrupt politicians and corrupt business people…instant death.

Don’t mind those who will seek to deter you…the pendulum has already swung, the paradigm shift is complete…they cannot stop the changes not if they want to survive….it’s adapt to new changes or die, especially for them.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ William Skinner

You said and I quote “…Our prime industry tourism fell victim to a lethargic and incompetent private sector, that refused to invest heavily in marketing the country and left the demanding work to successive governments, that in turn populated overseas agencies with party sycophants, who knew little or nothing about promoting the product…”

A veritable mouthful to be sure.

Which is true insofar as it relates to government marketing of the country and its commensurate lackeyisms and the private sector individually marketing their individual properties.

Look. The fact is that “marketing” by people who don’t have a clue about the dynamics of market driver’s will always end up as a collosal badword because the people who are given that responsibility for marketing do not have a clue about making links to the market.

Let me explain while using an example of turnovers and saltbreads Heheheheh

There are two local outlets for either of these delicacies that you William, because of your class, would know nothing about.

One is in Britons HILL and the other with the salt bread is in a one door house converted to bread shop in Town just off Baxters Road.

Like I said you ent know either.

How would you market either?

Knowing many other “marketing experts” I would expect them to talk bout linking them up with Purity or Zephrin so that their production increases and their commensurate distribution is managed by those bigger entities

And on paper that looks good but in practice both of those entities would implode BECAUSE IT’S NOT THEIR NICHE.

THEY ARE A BOUTIQUE PRODUCT that serves a specific audience who want to get that uniqueness and not the mass production.

So the critical link and mechanism to promote either the turnovers or the salt bread would be to find a symbiotic and equally dynamic outlet and pair up with them.

So for example if you have a inch outlet selling cheese cutters or pudding and souse THAT IS GOOD what you do is make an outreach that says to those dynamic outlets ” your souse does get you customers and my bread going expand your customers and mine, so leh we pair up”

Now I was purposely simplistic with my anecdote cause I do have skin in the game with my own marketing solution for both the private and government sectors BUT THE FACT IS THAT NEITHER SECTOR UNDERSTANDS WHAT THE NATURE OF WHAT THEY ARE SELLING IS, NOR WHAT ITS SYMBIOSES ARE and therefore, regardless of all the fancy mumbo jumbo they do, including Mia’s pre-arranged agreement with Kerrie simmonds’ pals, will NEVER OPTIMIZE tourism marketing but will continue to put eye candy on it an Ef it up.

DE old man has decided to carry de Tourism Marketing product to Butch Stewart cause he is a serious man and his country Jamaica needs jobs and FOREX.

BARBADOS DOES NOT NEED EITHER. heheheheh

21. Freedom Crier Avatar

Communism and Tyranny is Alive in Barbados as Espoused by…

@ Talking Loud Saying Nothing
    June 30, 2018 5:25 AM

I would guess that you have worked for the Government that you have been a Bureaucrat all your life,that you have Brimmed with Ideas most of your life and that you were a couple of Steps from the Top where you Horned your Skills in being a Dictator. You have Absolutely no idea the Responsibility of Decision Making. And Now you are Advocating Servitude of the people that you say you love to the Government.

All Barbadians are ware of our History of Slavery. To Overcome Great Evil many men have fought and given their lives so that we may be Free. And here it is that you have come Along and Advocate that we are nothing but Servants/Serfs to the State. Since Barbados has Such a Thriving Public Sector Why are they Loosing Sooooo much Money???

We know more about Countries that are Close to us that have taken over most of the Private Enterprises and the people are Dancing Protesting in the Streets and are Healthy and are Smiling with their Rib Cages Showing and Pleading with the Government to Please Stop they are Winning too much and feel they must Escape to Colombia, Brazil and Trinidad. You are now Wishing that we are as Happy and Prosperous as they are that we may feel Compelled to with so much winning to Escape to Guyana. NO THANKS!!

@WW&C People go to America for Opportunity but your Admiration is towards China. I think you should Immigrate to China as you Ultimate Living Utopia.

https://cached-assets.patriotpost.us/images/2017-10-25-845ac4f9.jpg

22. Freedom Crier Avatar

Wily Coyote
    June 29, 2018 5:15 PM

“Wily thinks the question should be : DOES BARBADOS HAVE A PRIVATE SECTOR

Bloated civil service and 90+ State Owned Enterprises INDICATE that the MAJOR EMPLOYER in Barbados is the government by a significant percentage and the Private Sector controls only a small insignificant percentage. The private sector is relegated to a small tourism service industry which cannot support the present socialist government expenditure levels.

STOP BLAMING GOVERNMENT SHORTCOMINGS ON THE PRIVATE SECTOR….

Wily @ Blogmaster

Your WRONG in assuming “economy is public sector led”, IN FACT THE GOVERNMENT IS FULLY IN CONTROL OF THE FAILING ECONOMY. i AGREE THAT THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD BE IN CHARGE AND LEADING THE ECONOMY, HOWEVER THIS HAS NOT BEEN THE CASE FOR THE LAST 15+ YEARS AT LEAST.”

@ Wily…I Agree with your Assessment but they are many Socialist/Communist in Barbados and I do Not See them changing their ways soon. It had to take eight years of Obama’s Socialism, Regulations and Slow Growth for the American people to Realize they were going in the Wrong Direction, Do we have to Wait another Ten Years? When will we Realize we are going in the Wrong Direction? People don’t seem to get it, for Governments to give you anything they first must Take the Means from the Same People.

http://kerbcraft.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/milton-friedman-quotes-elegant-milton-friedman-quotes-100-wallpapers-quotefancy-of-milton-friedman-quotes.jpg

23. Every model of governance has its drawbacks, I personally don’t like the human rights violations for which they are famous, but I am rather fond of the way they handle corrupt politicians and corrupt business people…instant death.

Unfortunately a bullet to the head is ordered by whom…..? The judge jury and executioner may just want u removed for other reason so sprinkle a little corruption dust in your undergarment drawer and tell the police where to look when searching your house.

The bullet to the head still need a wise fair and honest above reproof leader to pull the trigger.

“It is what it is, but it can be surely better than what it is” i say no more

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Sirfuzzy…of course given the bajan mentality…that must also be consideration…but it is very difficult to not know who the corrupt business people and politicians/ministerd are in such a very, very tiny society.

25. Sirfuzzy…of course given the bajan mentality…that must also be consideration…but it is very difficult to not know who the corrupt business people and politicians/ministerd are in such a very, very tiny society.

So we need to make Braille the second language of Barbados. Cus we does see what we want to see. Gluacoma is a big thing about hay due to our African heritage i was told. I can lead to blindness i was also told. No wonder glaucoma is part of the DBS medicines. lol

Nothing happen to those types of ppl cause no one wants anything to happen to themselves in the process. It maybe a spider’s web of interconnection that will make the blind see; the deaf hear; the sinner repent; and the bald grow an afro? Even Viagra sales may slow to a non existent for men after reading or finding out about “who and who; and who did what in order to get what? Lol

The sunshine policy may be a boon to the nations health? lol

Enjoy your Saturday..

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ William Skinner June 29, 2018 9:06 PM
    “The country is entering a period of rough economic waters, and there has been a call for national action . My position is that at no time has the private sector ever demonstrated a high level of leadership , when the country is in need of its vision.
    i am not looking back with anger. I really want to look forward with hope but if those who really control the economic power, continuously pretend that they are only there, to keep noise in the Social Partnership, the call for national action would mean absolutely nothing !
    Who the cap fits ,let them wear it. Is massa day really dun ???”

Ok William, if not “anger” let us call it ‘disappointment’ in your black-controlled government(s) over the past 51 going 52 years.

The scenario you have painted of a white plantocracy-controlled economy of the Barbados of today is nothing more than a figment of your ‘historical’ imagination which the likes of Hillary Beckles have embellished to their own egotistical and materialistic satisfaction.

If, as you persist in arguing, the Bajan Private Sector is not the engine of growth in the Bajan economy and nothing more than a bunch of parasites on the poor hardworking people who buy their imported processed foods and entertaining trinkets and gadgets then what is?

Where does the public sector get its revenues to employ the same’ poor’ people to buy the imported crap?

But the main challenge you have to face is that you have to explain why the same black-controlled public sector under both so-called socialist political parties forming the Government over the past 50 years are now advancing the cause of ‘Privatization’?

In your well-presented essay you ‘conveniently’ referred to the sale of the BST (aka the equivalent of Blood, Sweat & Tears of Back people in Barbados).

So why did the same black-controlled government sell the BNB, ICBL shares in the Flour Mill Arawak Cement, BL&P et al to the same non-black foreign interests?

If “massa day is really dun” are you prepared to rail and kick up a stink against the sale of the BNTCL, the Hilton and the pending sale of the same Public Sector-owned-and-controlled entities like CBC, Transport Board and the BWA which will be placed on the same Private Sector auction block under the coming IMF restructuring programme?

How come you never issued a word of objection to the many contracts worth billions of Bajan dollars to the likes of Maloney & Co over the past 8 years?

Don’t the likes of Maloney & Co with their wet dream of a Hyatt erection make up the modern-day Private Sector from whose public sector nipples and udders have become unsustainably sore?

27. @sirfuzzy

The issue of corruption and dysfunction in government systems is not only a Barbados affliction. The challenge is not to focus on the players. We have to re-jig the system. This will be the challenge.

28. William Skinner Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright

“There are two local outlets for either of these delicacies that you William, because of your class, would know nothing about.
    One is in Britons HILL and the other with the salt bread is in a one door house converted to bread shop in Town just off Baxters Road.”

If you are attempting to flush me out , allow me to help you:

I am a proud product of Brittons Hill, born and bred, and is well known for my involvement in the community. Quite frankly , the only part of our country , I have ever lived, is Brittons Hill. By the way: We call it “De Hill”

So, there you have it. I will be more than happy to send you my ID and any other information you need. Men from De Hill, sign their names to what they write !!!

Now you have muh name and where ah come frum. Contact me for any more information, my dear friend.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

No William not an attempt to flush you out

Do you remember the gentleman with the turnover business that use to have an oven in Brittons Hill?

They were the best turnovers in Barbados

I was not dissembling when I used those two examples.

30. Air travel tax not fair

The reviews on travel websites are punishing as in WTF
    Mia is looking for quick fixes but have lighted a raging fire under the feet of everyone which would turn barbados economy into a raging inferno
    Well of course the Private Sector in barbados has already prepared for what is coming and one can be assured their policy of blame would be enough for them to raise prices
    Barbados sink or swim the private sector mekking sure that there goose would not be cooked
    Sending a shout out to poor folks who belive that mia medicine would have put more money in the pockets

31. Mariposa
    Keep at it. This is normal for IATA, as is evident in this paragraph taken from the same article: “It was the latest example of Caribbean governments using the airline industry as a cash cow, Cerdá charged”. They also wrote to the UK government on the introduction of the APD tax too. Any comment on the new gas prices with the fuel tax and possible savings on road tax?

32. William Skinner Avatar

“Do you remember the gentleman with the turnover business that use to have an oven in Brittons Hill?

They were the best turnovers in Barbados”

I recall two bakers: a Mr. Brown , who eventually passed on the business to one of his sons. The other one was a Mr. Best. I remember Brown’s rock cakes and body liners very well because one of his sons , Errol, used to give me two breads every morning, I was about 7 0r 8 years old at the time. Turnovers were a big hit but I was not a turnover man.
    Your familiarity with De Hill is very genuine.

33. @HAL

” I’m a management consultant” from PIT.

There’s your answer, those who can DO, those who Can’t become consultatants.

Consultants are one of the main reasons for Barbados FAILURE.

34. Barbados is a small nation and expecting a small nation to take up the slack of all those taxes in one bug swoop is economic madness
    Look what Mia did listen to the people voices of the concerns on the NSRL and replaced it with about four or more taxes which would erode the consumer spending and spending habits at warp speed
    Imagine having to drive from bridgetown to St. James because of job reliance and the paygrade is minnium then how does govt expect for an individual to pull their own wagon and govt too
    The taxes take away from the reality of a practicality that not all households can earn enough income to sustain themselves and govt taxing demands

35. Oh please…how many empty seats did the exgovernment pay the airline for with taxpayers money with those empty planes coming out of Brazil ….yardfowl..thanks to Dumbville

The airlines never complain when they are getting free money from the islands for empty plane seats, they don’t say a word..

.. if yall would have stopped depending on tourism only and so heavily in the last 10 years, there would be no reason for complaints now.

The Mia government now has a chance to stop the total dependency on tourism.

36. William,
    Do you remember Broome’s church in Villa Road? Wonderful memories.

37. Mariposa

Stop the fluff!! The gas has gone up by 36c per litre and road tax has been abolished; therefore, provide some scenarios i.e. what it costs with the NSRL+road tax vs no road tax+fuel tax. For example $50 a week is now $55 or $260/year at the current prices. How much is road tax? Another scenario would be those households with UWI students, pensioners/retirees who seldom drive etc. Some people will benefit, some will not; but you need to stop the apocalyptic posts after all we were not asleep during the last 10 years. So far a number of people have calculated that the fuel tax is cheaper for them than the road tax method.

38. Maybe the fuel tax would benefit those who do not have cars or buy groceries or travel or buy any item tjat is benefical to hpusehold use
    Far as i know that fuel is the energy that drives productivity and when fuels goes up everything else follow

39. Stupid ac will drive all over the place and then complain when her gas bill is 1,500 a month vs the old road tax, if you can control how much you drive, you pay less..

….but according to Piece, understanding that will be a bridge too far…lol

40. PeterLawrence Thompson,

Forget the idea of a ‘consultant’; what that means to me is that you are an unemployed (or underemployed) middle class professional. Do you advise your clients that Chinese state capitalism is the same as US market capitalism? That Organised Mafia gangster capitalism is the same as fraudulent auditor capitalism? That Swiss capitalism is the same as Australian frontier capitalism? That Bajan crony capitalism is the same as German national capitalism?
    I have raised the question in this blog on numerous occasions: who owns a listed company? The chairman of the board, in his wisdom, once claimed that the outdated notion that the company is a body corporate owned by its shareholders is the answer. Nonsense. The executive floor runs the company and gets most benefits out of it, whether profitable or not. Their bonuses are guaranteed, in a way that shareholder dividends are not. I can go on….
    What I expect from those professing an intellectual understanding is a proper analysis, not flippant slogans. Our mission is to raise the level of debate in Barbados.

41. So what benefit would it be economically wise for the country.if people drive less and what about the taxi drivers and ZR van drivers must they give up longer routes for shorter routes
    All in all this tax is agressive with handing the taxpayer too much medicine to sallow in a short period and on top asking the taxpayer to make adjustments which might not necessarily fit into their daily schedule
    The idea for the tax is to help bring down the debt

42. Even I know vehicles that are considered businesses still have to pay taxes.

Yall never had an economic plan that worked, not for ten whole years, a decade, yet you criticize what you cannot even understand.

43. So what sense does it make in removing onr single tax and replacing it with five or more taxes even flushing the toilet includes more than one tax when vat is added
    Only a donkey would settle for a bush whacking and it is obviuos that you are a donkey Well Well

44. These policies when implemented are not sustainable givimg a real cause to worry about overheating the economy at rapid speed which leads to a slow down in spending and loss of govt revenue

45. How could you not see when Sinkler’s, Fruendel’s Thompson’s etc useless economic plans never worked for 10 long years..but all of a sudden ya are an expert on what can work and what will not work…yardfowl

if ya so good at being clairvoyant..why did you not see that 30-0 coming your way.

46. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Yes I know the church and family quite well. Nice folks from that era.
    The church property has been transformed into a bigger , modern
    Church complex.
    It’s so nice to talk about my true
    homeland- De Hill .

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Wily Coyote said “those who can DO, those who Can’t become consultatants.”

Sometimes those who can and have done have no need to earn any more so they decide to spread the wealth around by helping others.

48. Mariposa

Well cleaner air (hence less respiratory diseases), less congestion on the road (more productivity) and maybe savings on the importation of oil. On taxis and ZRs, revamp the system of permits to give operators a mix of short medium and long routes so that the short ones subsidise the longer ones; and taxis, through technology, can become far more efficient–think the Uber model–by being mobile rather than parked down Accra waiting on a phone to ring. Like Well Well said, you criticise what you don’t understand.

49. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin my clients in Barbados rarely ask esoteric questions about the differences between various strains of capitalism around the world unless they are successful enough to be contemplating expansion into one of those markets. Most of them are startups just trying to survive until they achieve product/market fit.

I did not mean to be flippant in my opening comment, just pointing out that within Barbados there is a huge diversity of capitalists and businesses, so lumping them all into the descriptor “private sector” gives up a great deal of analytical precision; exactly what we need for “proper analysis.” And this is without getting into the even greater diversity of capitalisms and enterprises.

In the local context it is quite easy to determine who “owns” a listed company; just follow the money. In this case we are in agreement, when the “executive floor runs the company and gets most benefits out of it, whether profitable or not…” then they “own” the company.

50. @Hal Austin June 29, 2018 8:52 AM “get key jobs in important ministries, keep you head down and at the right moment start to feed information to the right sources. ie work in the land registry, by stealth change the documents, then at some point claim ownership – either when the real owner dies or moves ay for a long period. Our undertakers already do this.”

If as you say our undertakers already commit land fraud, then if the new Barbadians continue that practice, how do they differ from us? Would they not have become just like us?

Leave a Reply to Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your ServiceCancel reply