stpn-i-weir-blp
Indar Weir, Minister of Agriculture and Food Security

The Ministry of Agriculture under the leadership of David Estwick in the former government became an invisible ministry. While we accept that a lack of resources would have impacted how government carried out its business, a nation that relegates food security to the back burner should expect to be haunted by the decision in a volatile global sphere.

How difficult is it to cultivate linkages between locally produced agriculture, tourism, government (Barbados School Meals, Queen Elizabeth Hospital) and the wider community to guarantee sufficient demand? What is the scorecard of the Barbados Agriculture Society (BAS)? The output from the agriculture sector based on the central bank reports tracking GDP by Sector and Acticity has not shown any appreciable increase in the last decade.

A few weeks ago BU family member Bentley Norville shared the following document to poke those currently responsible to prioritized matters pertaining to agriculture. We hope current minister of agriculture and FOOD SECURITY Indar Weir takes heed.

278 responses to “Is Agriculture and Food Security Important?”

1. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

dPD; re your 2:49 pm post.

Yuh really shotting in all your pedantic splendour!

Throughout this discourse I was trying to avoid seeking and putting up a definition of Food Security as I knew that every agency has a different definition and therefore I sought to attempt to discuss various aspects of the term from my recollection of practical work in the area of over 18 years ago.

That said, I think the definition from the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent societies captures the main elements of the term. It is “Food security; A person, household or community, region or nation is food secure when all members at all times have physical and economic access to buy, produce, obtain or consume sufficient, safe and nutritious food to meet their dietary needs and food preferences for a healthy and active life.”

The derivation of an index of Food Security or Insecurity or food vulnerability or risk assessment is like traversing a mine field of intimately entwined and interlocking ideas. I sought not to get into that morass.

The Barrow statement on Cane Blades and his wish that they would vanish from the landscape of Barbados was seen as a seminal incident in the history of deteriorating food security for Barbados, as it heralded in an extended period where there was almost indiscriminate cutting up of agricultural land and therefore led to the loss of significant acreages of land that could potentially have been used for agricultural pursuits at times of hazards or unexpected needs. It should be noted here that Barbados was deemed to be self sufficient in Food, and therefore optimally food secure, during the second world war when Sir John Saint introduced an Act that mandated that 12% of all plantation land had to be planted in food crops. This Law is probably still on the statute books. The law ensured that the Island was able to feed itself despite a blockade of the Island by German submarines.

I totally take your point about the complicated nature of the economics and weighing of choices related to choosing how to achieve good food security indicators by balancing the disparate needs of a developing multivariate society.

Re. the biological and physical aspects of protection of food as distinct from the nutritional aspects. I somewhat differ from your interpretation. I cant see how the nuts and bolts of protecting crops and livestock to ensure adequate availability of nutritious food could be a well fitting bailiwick of an MD, especially one who has admitted that his expertise re. food security was in teaching (human) nutrition courses. He would have to explain why his medical background would better prepare him for giving such courses than someone who, say, was specifically trained in crop protection or food science or some such area specifically focused on the food and not the person.

Uh fraid GP dooh. so if you respond please dont mention his name.

Thanks

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Indar Weir Minister of Agriculture

So back to the GULLIVER FOOD SUFFICIENCY CONCEPT.

The idea is that gardens (of a miniature nature) would be encouraged in and among communities for the benefit of that community.

Like miss Headley’s garden in *** but the rather simplistic concept is that each lilliputian commune would grow in a bundle with other producers for their proximate communities .

The advertising of the existence of a GULLIVER Garden would be by using a specific logo that would identify that property as a lilliputian node. This would be where people could come for specifically smaller produce like seasoning thyme parsley lettuce.

Kay Mcconney The technological whizz would use her expertise to create a mobile app to register who is growing what. Something which was never don for all the years Basis was operating.

And enrolled farmers would be given water credits to offset the nominal increase in their water bills.

Sales volumes for the poundage of produce sold would be recorded, as was supposedly done at the place by the Grotto out Dayrell Road – BASIS

Pricing should be controlled to ensure that local produce under this import substitution initiative is affordable yet profitable to these lilliputian farmers.

The ideal mixture for this utopian vision would be having teens enrolled in this community based concept.

De ole man would further propose incentivizing their enrolment IN THIS FANTASY through credits for UWI or BCC e.g. paying for the enrolee or their designee’s tuition fees or books or bus fares.

One could decrease the actual income paid to enrollees in cash generated by sales of the produce but give a counterpart electronic credit

And jes doan tell de ole man it cant work.

It does work.

Magna Card does do those back end electronic credit awards every effing day.

We have to think of ways to enfranchise people in our communities.

I am going to admit I don’t know the minimum footprint required by an enrolee for a lilliputian node to work

I however can tell wunna dat if you got 16 3×5 beds and a rotation schedule for your crops, you can make at least $500 a month for 2 hours a day

I would start at home nodes and build out to the community pavilion which is a much bigger footprint ( presumption being hydroponic setups with compatible crops.

One additional corollary would be the express requirement that people have to had experience with nodes before being graduated to larger program space

I really don’t know if hydroponics can work in these small spaces.

What I am damn sure works is 16 beds. What I know works is calling stores and hotels to sell my produce but everyone does not have the garden that was available to me.
    So that is why I’d revert to a smallfactor acreage of a hydroponic plant.

Who will pay for the hydroponic farm ? Which International Funding Institutions have the experience or the inclination to invest in this idea?

Would a local or regionally based philanthropy be interested?

Would the Halouttes be inclined to underwrite said outreach say at five houses in each community where they have a Chefette?

That is 13 Chefette AND THAT IS 65 JOBS Mr Haloutte or is that inconsistent with the model wunna got for low income communities?

Dat is for building up communities with easily constructed mobile hydroponic farms as opposed to flooding The Farm with ***

But de ole man get side tracked again Mr Indar Weir.

You ever hold a fork in your life at your travel company? I guess dat ent a fair question doah so I retract it…

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with this Food Security thing that de ole man eng know a ting bout…

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AWTY

RE Re. the biological and physical aspects of protection of food IS A CONCERN OF MICROBIOLOGISTS
    the nutritional aspects of food IS A CONCERN OF BIOCHEMISTS SINCE BIOCHEMISTRY IS ONE OF THE FOUNDATIONS OF NUTRITION.

RE I cant see how the nuts and bolts of protecting crops and livestock to ensure adequate availability of nutritious food could be a well fitting bailiwick of an MD, especially one who has admitted that his expertise re. food security was in teaching (human) nutrition courses.
    THE THING IN LIFE IS BECAUSE AN IDIOT CANT SEE OR DOES NOT KNOW…HE ASSUMES THAT WHAT HE CANT SEE OR DOES NOT KNOW IS THE WAY THAT HE CAN NOT SEE OR KNOW. LOL LOL

WHERE DID I SAY THAT I TEACH HUMAN NUTRITION COURSES?
    IS NUTRITION NOT A MULTIDISIPLINARY SUBJECT?
    WHERE DID I SAY THAT MY ” expertise re. food security was in teaching (human) nutrition courses ?

RE He would have to explain why his medical background would better prepare him for giving such courses than someone who, say, was specifically trained in crop protection or food science or some such area specifically focused on the food and not the person.

I DONT HAVE TO EXPLAIN ANYTHING TO A NARROW MINDED SEMI ILLITERATE WHO IS STUCK BECAUSE OF HIS LACK OF KNOWLEDGE OF BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES AND HOW FOLK WHO HAVE STUDIED THE BASIC STUDIES CAN GO ON TO BE INVOLVED WITH FOOD AND NUTRITION

DO YOU THINK THAT PEOPLE TRAINED IN FOOD SCIENCE TODAY OUGHT TO HAVE KNOWLEDGE OF MICROBIOLOGY AND BIOCHEMISTRY?
    WHAT IS ONE OF THE BASIC THINGS ABOUT STORING PACKAGING CANNING FOODS ETC

MORON YOU DO NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT ME

5. Some interesting comments on this subject which has become increasingly important given the state of things. The blogmaster appreciates the time a few of you have given.

6. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

PUDRYR re. your 4:52 pm post.

Excellent ideas, at least in the estimation of this moron.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You’re welcome heheheh

“Dere he go the arrogant ole man…heheheheh”

Our country is dying all around us BECAUSE OF THE INEPT DEMONIC LABOUR PARTY.

You and I and the rest of us can come to your Rum Shop and bicker like what Dr. GP and Boreman often remind us that we do…

OR WE CAN UP THE VOLUME…

This is not really about the 0.5 litres of residual volume of Mia Amor Mottley, or any other bajan pun dis To, breath which is gifted by my God

We are worms meat, ON PAUSE, and it is what we do, while on pause, that will define this sojourn

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE
    THERE IS MUCH MERIT IN MUCH OF WHAT YOU HAVE SAID
    LET ME BY ANALOGY TO A TIME WHEN CIRCA 1994, AN ASSOCIATE WAS APPOINTED MINISTER OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

I TOOK HIM SOME CARDS-ACTUALLY THE BACK OF USED PRESCRIPTION PADS- WHICH SAID RURAL DEVELOPMENT & EDUCATION, RURAL DEVELOPMENT & HEALTH ETC, AND SOUGHT TO INDICATE HOW HE SHOULD CO-OPT EVERY OTHER MINISTRY TO MAKE HIS MINISTRY SUCCESSFUL. NEEDLESS TO SAY HE WAS TOO DUMB TO UNDERSTAND

LETS APPLY THIS TO AGRICULTURE FOR SAY EDUCATION

THERE MUST BE A COMPULSORY COMPONENT OF THIS IN SCHOLS IN BOTH PRIMARY AND SECONDARY SCHOOLS, ENABLING THEM TO PRODUCE AT THE SCHOOL TO BENEFIT SCHOOL FUNDS, AND ALSO FOR EXHIBITION PURPOSES AS WE DID ONCE UPON A TIME. A POSSIBLE SPIN OFF WOULD BE THAT THE YOUTH CAN APPLY THINGS LEARNED AT SCHOOL IN THEIR HOMES, OR AT THE VILLAGE LEVEL IN COMMUNAL GARDENS AS YOU SUGGEST.

KITCHEN GARDENS, TYRE GARDENS, HYDROPHONICS, AQUAPONICS…..I WOULD THINK PARTS OF OLD FRIDGES AND TYRES COULD BE RECYCLED

AT COMMUNITY LEVEL FOOD SCIENCE DEGREES CAN BE OFFERED WITH MARKETING, PRESERVATION TECHNIQUES ETC AS OPTIONS

AND WE CAN GO ON

WE DESIRE MEN WITH VISION AND ENDURANCE IN THE JOB LIKE THE OLD TIME AGRICULTURAL OFFICERS TO GIVE INSPIRATION FROM THE TOP (THE MINISTER) TO THE LITTLE CHILD IN THE SCHOOL.

SOME DUMMY WILL NOW COME AND TELL ME ALL THE OBSTACLES ….A GOOD REASON WHY I JUST KEEP QUIET AND MOCK.. ITS EASIER AND MORE FUN

9. A BAJAN INVESTOR IS DOING THIS IN GUYANA

” 29,000 acres of land that many had bypassed and called barren, now producing a myriad of crops,”

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ONE OF THE ISSUES SMALL FARMERS HAVE IN BIM IS WHEN SOME PLANTATIONS PRODUCE A GLUT LOWERING THE PRICE………OR WHEN CERTAIN SUPERMARKET CHAINS TAKE ALL THE PRODUCE FROM THESE SOURCES IN TIMES OF GLUT AT VERY LOW PRICES.

WE EXPERIENCED THIS IN THE 80’S AND I HAD A HARD WORKING FRIEND WHO ALSO EXPERIENCED THE SAME.

THERE IS A NEED FOR SOME REGULATION OF THIS

THIS IS WHERE EDUCATION AND THE TRAINING IN MARKETING AND PACKAGING ETC MAY ASSIST AS SOME PRODUCE MAY BE STORED AS IS DONE BY SMALL FARMERS ALL OVERTHE WORLD.

CDB HAD A BOOKLET ION THE 80’S FOR THE CONSTRUCTION OF TANKS TO STORE RAIN WATER FOR USE IN FARMING. I ACTUALLY ENGAGED IN CONSTRUCTION OF A RECEPTACLE FOR COLLECTING WHICH RAN DOWN THE SLOPE IN MY DRIVEWAY AND CONTRUCTED GUTTERS TO LEAD IT TO SUCH A TANK AT THE EDGE OF OUR BACK LAWN

A LOT OF VISION AND HARD WORK IS NEEDED…NOT JUST TALK

11. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

David;

Through you, I would like to inform GP that I suspect that I am probably better qualified than he is to comment on aspects of Food Security related to Microbiology, Biochemistry, Pesticide Science and Crop Protection. In addition, my first job after leaving HC was as a Laboratory Technologist at QEH where I worked in the Microbiology and Biochemistry sections of the lab under the Government Pathologist, the late Dr. W. Dos Santos. I have a Master’s degree in aspects of pathology (including Microbiology) and Epidemiology and a Ph.D degree in Environmental Biology, each higher degree being from full residential studies at a highly regarded Canadian University.

If you would choose to, you might consider indicating to GP, that what you have on file, re. my identity, is not inconsistent with the above information.

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ATWY

YOU REALLY MAKE ME LAFF

RE I would like to inform GP that I suspect

YOU SUSPECT? LOL KEEP SUSPECTING MAN

I ALSO I worked in the Microbiology and Biochemistry sections of the lab under the Government Pathologist, the late Dr. W. Dos Santos. NO BIG THING . BEEN THERE AND DONE THAT
    ALSO WORKED IN CYTOLOGY

i AM HAPPY TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR SCHOLARSHIP AWTY
    I ALSO HAVE STUDIED PATHOLOGY, BIOCHEMISTRY, PATHOLOGY, MICROBIOLOGY AND HAVE TAUGHT ALL THESE TO MEDICAL STUDENTS USING THE POPULAR TEXTS

YOU MEAN TO TELL ME WID ALL YOUR LOFTY DEGREES FROM CANADA on aspects of Food Security related to Microbiology, Biochemistry, Pesticide Science and Crop ProtectionYOU CANT TELL US MORE ABOUT FOOD SECURITY?

MAN YOU REALLY MAKE ME LAFF LOUD AND HARD
    YOU SHOULD BE RUNNING THE COUNTRY MAN LOL LURDAH

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AWTY
    WERE YOU ALSO UP FOR BISHOP OF BARBADOS, CHIEF JUSTICE AND POPE TOO
    HEAD UNDERTAKER AS WELL AS CHIEF COOK AND DISH WASHER AS WELL?

SINCE YOU ARE SUCH A GOOD SUSPECTOR YOU SHOULD BE MEKING NUFF MONEY AS A SPECULATOR ah lie

14. Georgie Piggy you are one fcuking RH IDIOT! I wish David would ban your RH from BU. Go to RH elsewhere to spread your nasty sick ideology! You fcuking moron!

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

island girl
    you to0 sweet doh
    is why you cussing like that?
    i did not know dat ladies does cuss so LOL

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ISLAND GIRL
    AINT YOU A FOOD EXPERT TOO?
    WHY DONT YOU TELL US ABOUT FOOD SECURITY INSTEAD OF CUSSING GEORGIE

GEORGIE IS FIRM IN HIS VIEWS AND CAN BACK THEM UP LOGICALLY
    SO CUSS ON

17. @John June 26, 2018 1:55 AM “I thought you told us your family was starving in those bad old days.”

The starving/near death was in 1942. We acquired some bits of land since then, and from the 1960’s until now we have been regularly getting our hands dirty.

No starving toddlers/no near death experiences since then.

18. John June 26, 2018 1:55 AM “food sure isn’t made in a Supermarket!!”

My dad used to say that people have come to believe that food grows in plastic bags in the supermarket.

19. @Are-we-there-yet June 26, 2018 9:22 AM “How do you force our people to revert to nutritious traditional foods?”

I am not pessimistic–yet–about our youngsters eating local foods. The young people are busy, working, studying, raising children, but my experience is that they still enjoy well prepared local dishes–as long as they don’t have to do the preparations themselves. Lolll!!! Even though there are fast food giants in the market place, there are still dozens of local food vans where the ladies go to offices and constructions sites, selling local soups, cou-cou, including breadfruit cou-cou, stew food, fish, chicken etc. So no I haven’t lost hope yet. Some of our young chefs and “cookists” are offering “breadfruit bowls”, and local soup as snacks at fetes etc. All good food and tasty and the young people will eat it as long as they don’t have to prepare it themselves. Some local farmers are even offering soup boxes or bags, a bag or box filled with all the ground provisions and vegetables needed to make a nice pot of soup. I know of one supermarket where if you want a bowl of soup you must call in your order ahead of time.

No name, no lock up, but I know a youngster who will fly thousands of miles to enjoy mummy’s soup. Soup with bonavist, increase peas etc. and all manner of ground provisions and vegetables And mum needs to make enough to last for a second day too.

We need to encourage more local cooked food vending, from restaurants, vans, supermarket counters, at fetes, sporting events etc. People love “ready-do”.

One of the things which could also be done is to have more of the initial preparation done at an industrial level so as to save busy young mothers the tedious peeling, scraping, chopping etc.

Room for the private sector here.

20. @John June 26, 2018 2:39 AM “It is very important you get a good rooster!!”

Arrrggghhh!!!

David: You let John talk about chicken sex on your nice decent blog?

Lolll!!!

21. @AWTY

In a word, IGNORE!

22. Simple Simon
    June 26, 2018 11:35 PM

@John June 26, 2018 1:55 AM “I thought you told us your family was starving in those bad old days.”
    The starving/near death was in 1942. We acquired some bits of land since then, and from the 1960’s until now we have been regularly getting our hands dirty.
    No starving toddlers/no near death experiences since then.

There was a war on back then.

The Battle of the Atlantic was raging.

U-Boat sinkings of the merchant marine were high.

It even happened off Browne’s Beach, Bat Street.

https://www.bajanthings.com/cornwallis-torpedoing-carlisle-bay-1942-75th-anniversary/

We had our own 9/11!!

Sir John Saint was credited with the effort to produce food and become self sufficient.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Saint_(agricultural_chemist)

Bajans owe a debt of gratitude to him … sounds like your family do too.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We, you fraid the doc GP like how people fraid lizards and run to avoid or fraid his bullying banter and ideally want to avoid the feeling to squash his petty, disrespectful and rather bipolar like hypocritical religious steeped mien…🤣 which one!

So let’s agree to sorta disagree…I get your point re “. I cant see how the nuts and bolts of protecting crops and livestock to ensure adequate availability of nutritious food could be a well fitting bailiwick of an MD, especially”….however, my thrust on that aspect of food safety and the expertise of a MD was aimed to the biology of the efficacy of food production rather than the protection of the food supply….the former is in a MD’s wheelhouse.

Too many folks with that medical background consort with food manufacturers who essentially are destroying the entire the food security model with the degradation of healthy to unhealthy processed food…Of course this is not a new point but in the debate above it was not a feature….and to that I aimed.

Very good stuff all around and always a timely reminder about how we produce what we eat.

24. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

dpD;

I fraid his ability to make me want to squash him. That is not me. I can usually see the good in people. I cant see one iota of good in the persona he portrays on BU.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE @AWTY

In a word, IGNORE!

how can I ignore a man WID ALL THE LOFTY DEGREES FROM CANADA on aspects of Food Security related to Microbiology, Biochemistry, Pesticide Science and Crop Protection WHO CANT TELL US MORE ABOUT FOOD SECURITY?

HEAR THE OTHER DUMMY…LOTS AND LOTS OF NICE PROSE BUT SAYING NOTHING
    ” however, my thrust on that aspect of food safety and the expertise of a MD was aimed to the biology of the efficacy of food production rather than the protection of the food supply….the former is in a MD’s wheelhouse.”

wHICH MEDICAL SCHOOL ANYWHERE ON THE GLOBE TEACHES “the biology of the efficacy of food production ” OR “the protection of the food supply”? NONE! NOT ONE
    CLEARLY THE INTELLECTUAL WANNABEE KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT WHAT HE SPEAKS ah lie?

I would come in de rum shop and be mocked and scoffed at.When I complained, I was called “thin skinned” and the mockers and scoffers said to be provockateurs.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Too many folks with that medical background consort with food manufacturers who essentially are destroying the entire the food security model with the degradation of healthy to unhealthy processed food…Of course this is not a new point but in the debate above it was not a feature….and to that I aimed.

it is the men wid WID ALL THE LOFTY DEGREES FROM CANADA and elsewhere on aspects of Food Security related to Microbiology, Biochemistry, Pesticide Science and Crop Protection who “consort with food manufacturers ” not physicians ..ah lie?

most wordy user of words inform us how physicians ” are destroying the entire food security model with the degradation of healthy to unhealthy processed food .

UP TO NOW, NONE OF YOU LEARNED FOLK HAVE DEFINED WHAT YOU MEAN BY FOOD SECURITY OR FOOD SECURITY MODEL

THE INTELLECTUAL WANNABEE WITH THE LOVELY PROSE WOULD “ideally want to to squash his petty, disrespectful and rather bipolar like hypocritical religious steeped mien…….BUT HOW? WHY? BECAUSE I DEFEND MYSELF AND DONT AGREE WITH BULLSHIT? IS IT BECAUSE I CALL A SPADE A SPADE A SPADE

IS IT BECAUSE I WILL NOT ALLOW ANY TOM DICK AND HARRY WHO COMES IN DE RUM SHOP TO TREAT ME LIKE AN IDIOT?

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We, and that makes two re “I cant see one iota of good in the persona he portrays on BU.”

A reminder of the awesomeness of life as surely others will find good in that persona.

And to be clear you (nor I) say nothing of his actual persona (as I don’t know the man) but the BU trope is shockingly outlandish.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Are-we-there-yet June 27, 2018 7:56 AM

dpD;

I fraid his ability to make me want to squash him. That is not me. I can usually see the good in people. I cant see one iota of good in the persona he portrays on BU.

WHY NOT TRY? THAT WOULD BE LOTS OF FUN.

BY THE WAY…..IT IS WRITTEN THERE IS NO ONE THAT IS GOOD. THERE IS NONE THAT SEEKS AFTER RIGHTEOUSNESS FOR ALL HAVE SINNED AND COME SHORT OF THE GLORY OF GOD.

THERE IS NONE RIGHTEOUS, NO NOT ONE

I AM THANKFUL THAT NONE OF WUNNA IN DE BU RUM SHOP ARE MY JUDGE, OR WILL BE MY JUDGE AT THE BEMA!

29. @Dee Word

It is hard though resist the itch but try.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

ON June the 26th at 6.53 p.m you made a post about how we deal with the psyche of indolent apathetic Bajans that was missed by all and sundry here.

The fact is that there is a disconnect between agriculture and us bajans growing the food we eat

We the older generation rather some of we of the older generation, when “we too were young…” we’re able to toil the fields and juck a fork in the ground and unlike Indar Weir perhaps?, not impaled our foot to the earth.

I Will, in a blog below revisit that concept that you raised before the fellers started to trouble you up in your corner in the rum shop where you doan trouble a feller usually heheheh.

But your observation remains about how we proactively seek to harmonize food security or any other national challenge with the 5 second attention span of the children that we have raised and abdicated our responsibilities to.

Yet we wonder why dem coming to our homes late nights or meeting us when we are withdrawing cash at ATMs and killing us.

Do you remember the name of the elderly lady who was killed and her body was discovered some time later ? The lady who Hal Gollop had featured in the contentious matter of her husband’s estate? A Smith was it not?

You see where we are as a nation?

We are in that spectrum where we are killing our youth’s expectations and futures truncating their Golden Years and they are killing us in our Golden Years AND EVEN WE ARE KILLING OURSELVES IN OUR GOLDEN YEARS.

But thank GOD we have the Hope and Expectation that is Jesus Christ.

I will share that item with you below.

Suffice it to say that our people ARE NOT READY and much of what you speak to is A BRIDGE TOO FAR…

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ONE CUSS ME STINK
    ONE SAY IGNORE ME
    PRETTY WORDS TALK ABOUT MY TROUPE
    AND LOFTY DEGREE HOLDER HAS SOUGHT TO SHOW HOW BETTER QUALIFIED HE IS TO SPEAK ON FOOD SAFETY

BUT NONE A WUNNAH HAVE TAUGHT ME OR ANYONE IN THE RUM SHOP ANYTHING BOUT THE TOPIC UNDER DISCUSSION ah lie?

THAT IS WHY I MUST MOCK WUNNAH WITH MY TROUPE LOL LOL

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

My brother how on earth can anyone who disagrees with your view on this forum “…TREAT [YOU] LIKE AN IDIOT?”.

Respectfully, but you do an absolutely awesome job of that all by yourself 🤣.

That a trained (accomplished] medical practioner and educator would be so concerned of such claimed ‘idiotic’ treatment begs deeper questions well beyond this rum shop banter….so “thinskinned” doesn’t even start to describe you…oh lawd 🤣…you have told us about your father throwing shade at you as a lad; how you were also so smart then that basically lil ole Kolig was just a resting spot for your intellectual gifts….

And yet rather than going on to deconstruct some great mystery of life and saving more of the world you are here now throwing major shade on a Black president and regular non-gifted (well to your levelf snyhow) Bajan denizens

…oh me oh my, something is terribly wrong with this pic, bro….terribly wrong. Weren’t you supposed to be a Black president somewhere at some college, institution, real estate firm or something…this BU curmudgeon role is not cutting it. 🤣.

I gone!

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yep Mr Blogmaster, I done wid dat now.

I must admit I find the brother most intriguing…there is a worthy book (or at least a few good chapters 🤣) on personalities and life force that can be written of this gent.

I gone, gone till lata.

34. Someone wrote “A LOT OF VISION AND HARD WORK IS NEEDED…NOT JUST TALK”

This sums up this issue (and all other issues) very succinctly.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

Here is the item that speaks to the harmonization of our education system at another level for yours and other critical thought initiatives.

Needless to say as an overarching theme for our MoE it was not entertained by dem vandagers and probably wont be understood by these lot either.

The Program for Innovation and Invention (P.I.I) contributes to fostering the practice in, and propagation of, creativity among youth by designing and deploying programmes which are pro-actively participatory i.e. they immerse students in a proactive curriculum that fosters and nurtures the experience of creativity and having hands on experiences for themselves.

I respectfully suggest(ED) that the GoB specifically the Ministry of Education implements this initiative at specific secondary schools and concomitantly includes resource persons from different sectors, bringing together teachers, creative professionals, students, the Ministry of Education, the University of the West Indies, specific coterminous companies, the private sector and students in this collaborative initiative.

The specific aim of the P.I.I is “to foster and sustain creativity among our school population and youth by using a structured collaboration of public agencies, engineers, scientists, research organizations, students, the private sector and stakeholders in developing the creativity mindset.”

The project has five components.

strengthens the Ministry of Education’s Chemistry, Physics and IT curriculum particularly their respective SBA (School’s Based Assessments) components acting as a catalyst for engendering Innovation and Invention in the Education system
    Utilizes (i) Information, communication and technology systems – the Edutech backbone particularly the Electronic Chalkboard matrix de ole man harping on to facilitate connectivity and dissemination of instruction in conjunction with modules from (ii) and appropriately tailored Business or Accounting courses to enhance the business skills of the students (since a specific school might not have a Physics/Chemistry lab it would use its Business Courses to “manage” the incomes and expenditures associated with creating and deploying a P.I.I initiative in the *** (iii) Learning and capacity building in ***; and *** Project implementation – these speak mainly to practicals where students with appropriate permission from parents, and under supervision by school teachers “rotate out into the field” to deploy their solutions, for a specific time period and commensurate grades. This “field rotation” is the surreptitious deployment of a much needed National Youth service for our apathetic youth. we inculcate service to nation into their psyches early In their development.
    This P.I.I and its novel system will co-opt the private sector through an optional subscription to fund the expsnsion and ongoing R&D at participating schools. For example CGI would be seen as the logical co-sponsor of a Combermere R&D centre to provide the equipment, IT matrix, uniforms** (** all school students on field deployment in the P.I.I should be identified by a specific Uniform/coverall with a signature beret)
    The element is R&D at any participating school may either be “school specific” in response to a need in that School’s location e.g. road slippage in St Andrew or a national problem e.g. potholes across the island’s roads.

Note that P.I.I will involve an actual product/service-to-market deployment/implementation process.

Ohhhhh dat doan exist either bout here but My Father who is in Heaven tells me that it will work so…

As one old warrior to another warrior, both of whom have “The Supreme Warrior” as our Commander I humbly and respectfully suggest that you turn away from the very appearance of that which incites you to “speak” out. Heheheheh

Imagine, “The irony of that remark, coming from he of the acerbic tongue and gratuitous insults ” (check with Lorenzo and David Commissiong pun dat heheheheh)

You are an anomaly Dr. GP and an anachronism AND THEY HATE ANOMALIES and do not understand anachronisms.

IT IS IN THEIR NATURE to hate so forgive them

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster

I would appreciate your assistance with an item

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler June 27, 2018 8:41 AM

RE My brother how on earth can anyone who disagrees with your view on this forum “…TREAT [YOU] LIKE AN IDIOT?”.

WUNNAH DOES TRY. AND IT IS SO MUCH FUN TO MOCK YOUR ATTEMPTS

RE Respectfully, but you do an absolutely awesome job of that all by yourself
    SO DID YOU WHEN YOU TRIED TO CONTRADFICT ME ON MEDICINE
    AND WHEN I HAD TO TEACH YOU THAT THOUGH TRUMP HAS BROKEN THE 8TH -10TH COMMANDMENTS, THAT HE IS NO WORSE THAN ALL OF US, SINCE JAMES TEACHES THAT IF ONE HAS BROKEN ONE, ONE HAS BROKEN ALL

RE That a trained (accomplished] medical practioner and educator would be so concerned of such claimed ‘idiotic’ treatment begs deeper questions well beyond this rum shop banter…
    NO DUMMY IT MEANS THAT ONE IS PREPARED TO DEFEND HIMSELF AND DEMONSTRATE THE HYPOCRISY IN DE RUM SHOP ….AND MOCK IT

.so “thinskinned” doesn’t even start to describe you…oh lawd NOT THIN SKINNED BUT PREPARED AND WILLING AND ABLE TO DEFEND MYSELF

you have told us about your father throwing shade at you as a lad; YES

how you were also so smart then that basically lil ole Kolig was just a resting spot for your intellectual gifts….NEVER SAID THAT. I SAID THAT IT WAS THE ONLY PLACE FOR ME TO GO IN BIM AND THAT IS TRUE……YOU ARE A NASTY STINKING LIAR, OR YOU CAN NOT UNDERSTAND THE ENHLISH LANGUAGE VERY WELL

RE And yet rather than going on to deconstruct some great mystery of life and saving more of the world WHY SHOULD I DECONSTRUCT MYSTERIES OF LIFE? HAVE YOU OR ANY ONE IN DE RUM SHOP DONE SO
    WHY SHOULD I SAVE THE WORLD, WHEN I CAN RETIRE AND WATCH CRICKET AND OTHERWISE RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME

I CAN ONLY RUN THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME. DECONSTRUVTING MYSTERIES AND SAVING THE WORLD WAS NOT MY CALLING

RE you are here now throwing major shade on a Black president and regular non-gifted (well to your levelf snyhow) Bajan denizens AND I AM ENJOYING IT TOO…AND YOU CANT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT

RE …oh me oh my, something is terribly wrong with this pic, bro….terribly wrong. ITS WRONG TO YOU. BUT MY MASTER DOES NOT THINK SO OBVIOUSLY. HE HAS BROUGHT TOWHERE HE WANTS ME BY HIS GRACE.

RE Weren’t you supposed to be a Black president somewhere at some college, institution, real estate firm or something

HERE YOU GO AGAIN JUST LIKE YOUR FATHER THE DEVIL ……..SLANDERING, ACCUSING WITHOUT THE FACTS
    ADJUDICATING WITH OUT THE FACTS, PLAYING AT BEING A PSEUDO PSYCHOLOGISTSAND PROVIDING GREAT MIRTH FOR ME

THE RUM TOO SWEET THOUGH
    TOO SWEET

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ PING PONG June 27, 2018 8:52 AM

Someone wrote “A LOT OF VISION AND HARD WORK IS NEEDED…NOT JUST TALK”

This sums up this issue (and all other issues) very succinctly.

THAT WAS SAID MY GEORGIE PORGIE……AND IT IS THE MOST SENSIBLE THING SAID HERE EVEN IF I SAY IT MYSELF…FOR IT IS TRUE

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE RUM SHOP TOO SWEET NOT THE RUM
    NEVER STARTED TO DRINK RUM

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

So continuing on with ” my long talk” Ping Pong

@ The Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir

Synopsis of the Food Security Management System

FSMS will support macro-economic policies of our government, its policy and intent? to contain food prices while balancing the diverse interests of regulatory agencies, merchants and the buying public.

De ole man goes on record to say that I do not believe dat wunna going do anything that will estrange the merchants and their entrenched cronyocracies that is Dr Morris big word dat I teif.

I firmly believe that the merchants will decide on this Food Security policy.

And I will explain why with the denuded narrative below

FSMS is a solution which ascribes equitable value to the disparate interests of those who participate in
    the consumable goods markets.

To understand the proposed benefits of FSMS one first must understand its proposed function.

The role of the FSIS with respect to food security is to:

*** REMOVED FOR PROPRIETARY REASONS

HOW FSIS will work

A pilot project with a “limited” number of “vetted” stakeholders will be deployed.

Needs analyses will be conducted for each of these entities with respect to food security transactions/services.

This would generate precise ***, procedures, policies and practitioner comments for integration in the
    platform.

FSMS will require access to and/or may benefit from ***

Now, given the simple description of a relational database that links purchases, with product categories, with planting/crops, with nutritional value, with import limits, with government policy its will and true commitment to Food Security DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE FALLACY THAT WE ARE FACED WITH?

You had not answered the grandson as to whether you ever used a fork in a garden and if you know how to did potatoes.

no you don’t pick them com a tree

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your help please with…

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ PIECE
    re You are an anomaly Dr. GP and an anachronism AND THEY HATE ANOMALIES and do not understand anachronisms. IT IS IN THEIR NATURE to hate so forgive them

CAN I FORGIVE AND MOCK THE IDIOTS AT THE SAME TIME SIR?

PEOPLE COME TO BU
    THEY READ AN INTRODUCTION OF A TOPIC
    THEY OBVIOUSLY DONT UNDERSTAND ABOUT THE TOPIC, BUT THEY PITCH IN ANYWAY AND TALK BARE RUBBISH
    THEY CAN NOT TEACH……..AND THEY WILL NOT BE TAUGHT
    SO KNOW ONE LEARNS MUCH

IT IS HILARIOUS!
    AND FOR ME AN OPPORTUNITY TO MOCK.

I SEE IT ELSEWHERE
    YOU GO TO CHURCH
    A MAN IS SUPPOSED TO BE TEACHING ON CHRISTOPHANIES
    HE DOES NOT LIST THE CHRISTOPHANIES
    HE DOES NOT DISCUSS EVEN ONE OF THEM PROPERLY
    BUT I AM SUPPOSED TO CLAP WHEN HE IS FINISHED

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ piece
    RE June 27, 2018 8:40 AM

@ Dr. GP

ON June the 26th at 6.53 p.m you made a post about how we deal with the psyche of indolent apathetic Bajans that was missed by all and sundry here.

WHEN PEOPLE HATE YOU THEY DONT LISTEN TO WHAT YOU ARE TRYING TO SAY OR WHAT YOU ARE TRYING TO DO. BECAUSE THEY CARE ONLY ABOUT THEIR AGENDA OR THEIR CAUSE OR NEEDS

GOOD EXAMPLE IS TO BE SEEN PRESENTLY IN THE USA
    TRUMP WORKS HARD AND IS INDEED DOING MANY GOOD THINGS, BUT THE HATRED OF HIM IS SO INTENSE, THAT MANY CARE ABOUT THE MINIORS ON WHICH THEIR PETTY BRAINS MAJOR.

SAME THING ON BU

SO INSTEAD OF SEEKING TO CONTINUE TO TEACH OR EXPLAIN………I JUST HAVE FUN AND MOCK, BECAUSE I WAS NOT SENT TO SAVE THE WORLD OR UNCOVER MYSTERIES, AS ONE IDIOT POSITED

45. Here is what was happening in 1942 during the siege of Leningrad.

Kind of puts starvation and malnutrition in Barbados into its proper perspective.

Incidentally, the fascists (socialists) and Communists (socialists) started WWII when they both invaded Poland!!

Some however will argue WWII begun when Japan invaded Manchuria in 1931.

46. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

dpD;

I am writing you this under confidential cover. Please don’t let GP or PUDRYR see it.

PUDRYR made two posts with some very good ideas about Food Security initiatives but wid a lot uh pretty prose dat you or I would have been proud of and dat could normally be guaranteed to raise GP’s ire.. GP praised the posts but stood with his principled stand of not adding anything to the blog that would explain anything about Food Security. He din’ even talk about Nutrition and his lectures on Food security. He din’ even cuss PUDRYR about de big words.

Yuh know why? PUDRYR, up front, praised and offered blandishments to GP, the great one. He even suggested that some bloggers were attacking GP without any reason and seemed to somehow intimate that he was firmly in GP’s corner. Yuh have to praise GP and let him know that you understand the pressures he’s under from attacks by bloggers such as you or I

So yuh nooh whuh we shud do? Anytime we are posting anything that GP might be even be tangentially interested in we should put somewhere in the post words to the effect: GP is the greatest. He is a long suffering GP (General Practitioner) who always seems to get attacked by 2 wild men named AWTY and dpD. Changing our monickers would also help.

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AWTY

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIT! YUH MUMMY LET YOU BACK OUT?
    FOR YOUR INFORMATION I STOPPED BEING A GP 22 YEARS AGO.
    GP IS INDEED THE GREATEST…………YOU DONT HAVE TO TELL HIM……….HE KNOWS! LOL LOL

YOU TINK I CANT RITE PRETTY PROSE TO? LOL
    BUT WEN I RITES I DOES GIVE SUBSTANCE AND GIVE CONTENT, EXTENT AND INTENT

THE BASIC BRIMBLING BRAYING BU BLOKES DONT PUT ME UNDER NO PRESSURE
    BECAUSE I CAN HOOK, PULL AND SQUARE CUT THE LONG HOPS THAT WUNNAH DOES BOWL

I JUST ENJOY THE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

NOW YOU GO HOME LIKE A NICE LIKKLE BOY AND SEE IF YUH MOTHER GOT ANYTHING FOR YOU TO DO. GO AND DO A LIKKLE FOOD SECURITY WUK. LOL LOL LOL

48. @John June 27, 2018 1:42 PM “Here is what was happening in 1942 during the siege of Leningrad. Kind of puts starvation and malnutrition in Barbados into its proper perspective.”

There is no way to put the hunger of a starving child into “proper perspective”.

A starving child is suffering, whether in Barbados or in Leningrad.

Don’t make light of the suffering of other people’s children. Think, think. What if it was your child?

49. A few hours of heavy gardening. Cleared weeds. In my 7th decade BP 111/73 [can’t buy that at the shop] Nice hot meal of breadfruit, spinach and kale, with some marlin steamed with onions and tomatoes. Everything local. The kale free from another small farmer.

For today and perhaps tomorrow I feel food secure. My belly full.

Yams and cassava growing good. Will plant some other food crops later this week and next. Still have some frozen okras and cassava left over from last year.

Now if only the bright boys can find a way to “scale this up” to 50,000 households.

Don’t have a plantation yet. May never have one. But while I wait I am doing the best I can with what I have.

Praying for rain. Not too little. Not too much. The rain over the past week or two has been just right for this time of year, and for the food crops already planted.

50. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SS
    RE Nice hot meal of breadfruit, spinach and some marlin steamed with onions and tomatoes. Everything local.
    WILL YOU PLEASE STOP THAT !
    YA HURTING MA FEELINGS!

SOUNDS GOOD AND SWEET THOUGH.
    I MISS DAT STUFF

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply