Last Monday’s delivery of the so-called “mini-Budget” by the Honourable Prime Minister and Minister of Finance & Economic Affairs has served to shift, ever so subtly, the national discourse from the analysis and interpretation of constitutional provision to that of the optimal recourse out of the economic morass in which we have found ourselves.

Now relegated to the pages of our constitutional history are issues, some left unanswered, such as whether the Prime Minister solely possesses the constitutional authority to choose the date for a general election even if Parliament has been dissolved by the effluxion of time rather than on his or her advice; whether the Constitution contemplates a prolonged parliamentary interregnum between dissolution and the general election wherein the Cabinet is responsible to no other entity; who is empowered to nominate the two opposition senators should one party win all the seats in the Lower House; whether a single member of parliament claiming not to support the government may be validly appointed leader of the Opposition; and whether an incomplete house of Parliament may legitimately pass legislation of any kind. I have written on all of these in the past weeks.

In their stead now arise matters such as the fiscal prudence of imposing additional financial obligations on the tourist trade in a destination already rated as one of the more expensive globally; the genuineness of collective bargaining by the public sector workers’ organizations that initially proposed surreal 15 and 23 per centum wage hikes to their employer and then settled ultimately for 5 per cent only from the same employer, though comprising different personalities; the fiscal responsibility of a blanket removal of all tuition fees for Barbadian students at UWI without regard to their individual abilities to cope; and the combined effect of the removal of the national social responsibility levy [NSRL] with the varied slew of taxes freshly imposed.

Of course, any public disenchantment with these matters will be suffused by the patent popularity of the new administration during its current honeymoon period. In addition, this new administration, heirs to a degree of political capital that contrasts starkly with the low level of civic trust enjoyed by the one outgone in its latter days, has astutely availed itself of this goodwill to depict the new fiscal initiatives as an opportunity for patriotic Barbadians unselfishly to wrap themselves in the flag and proudly to perceive themselves as being fully participatory in any recovery that might inure. A veritable political masterstroke.

Hence, rather than the populace categorizing these initiatives as bothersome and trying, the Barbados Labour Party and its supporters, who appear now to control the tenor of public discourse, have succeeded in portraying them rather as merely trifling inconveniences in a creative recovery programme necessitated by the allegedly dubious infelicities of the previous Democratic Labour Party administration.

To such an extent that a press conference called by three former Cabinet Ministers and a Senator in the DLP government seems to have been greeted not with any acclaim but, rather, with popular dismay at the effrontery of the members of an administration recently rejected (to a candidate), and principally so on the basis of perceived financial mismanagement, publicly criticizing negatively an attempt by a “nationally embraced” administration to “put things right economically”. To judge from popular reaction in some quarters, this partisan analysis on their part appears to have fallen flat in a polity seemingly still resentful of their party’s mode of governance.

Of course, it is not that simple, however. The DLP, whether as a collective body, a group, or as individuals, are as entitled as any other person or persons to comment critically on matters of official economic policy. To seek to deny them this right or to impose prior restraints thereupon would scarcely comport with our accepted traditions of democracy.

I recall that immediately after the similarly categorical defeat of the party by the BLP in 2003, the then leader, the late Mr. David Thompson (as he then was), convened a group of individuals to analyze the main reasons for such a devastating rejection. It is clear that the party must eventually adopt a similar course on this occasion, even though these may be early days yet. Given the degree of electoral rejection, some inconvenient truths will no doubt have to be told. It seems to me that there must be an acceptance that the disaffection felt for the government of the day pervaded the entire party and hence caused even promising talented newcomers to suffer defeat as a result.

From the ashes of this debacle, the DLP must seek, as does the fabled phoenix, to rise again so as to be a politically relevant force in our nation. Our democracy demands no less.

A common entrance?
On an entirely different topic, I queried of some colleagues recently why the publication results of the annual Common Entrance becomes a national spectacle with Ministry officials solemnly announcing a list of the top ten performers in a test for eleven year olds in basic English, Composition and Mathematics. I mean, we recently awarded a number of first class degrees in law, a discipline aspired to by some of the younger star pupils and there was no equal publicity. It does seems somewhat incongruous for there to be such a charivari surrounding the common entrance results, where the acclaimed top ten performers are earmarked for two or three schools only, and then gravely to iterate the myth, “We need to cultivate in the minds of the people that there are no top schools or bottom schools, but that all schools are equal…” Yeah, right!

A blessed Fathers’ Day to all!

94 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Barbadian Miscellany II”

1. The MoE provides NO data. Are you suggesting that schools are unequally funded? I do not know what the cut off marks are for any school but I am at a loss as to why a cut off mark makes a school “privileged” or “lessor”.

“Stop-gap university education”?? Speak for yourself! For me UWI is the only game in town.

2. What makes Ellerslie a presumably “lessor” school and QC a presumably “privileged” school? Is it the buildings, the grounds, the teachers, the school administration, the books and other material used, the subjects taught, the sports played, the extra curricular activities offered (cadets, scouts, science club, music etc), the uniforms the students wear or the food served in the school canteen? Help me before I take the bush bath!

3. Enuff, your statement is not entirely accurate. Having more law degrees doesn’t improve contracts, etc. It’s a culture, a system and personal greed in addition to having the opportunity that these crooks are able to operate. And then try prosecuting them. Good luck. I worked in a large contracting agency and saw first hand how they operate. Not to help, but to hinder in every way while covering their asses. Then they blame everyone but them selves for everything. No personal responsibility. Not all lawyers are like that. But there are less of the good ones and more of those who give the rest a bad name..

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff June 17, 2018 3:35 PM
    “There are many Bajans with an LLB who do not practice law, some haven’t even attended Hugh Wooding. A law degree does not mean one must practise law; it is antiquated thinking. Maybe if we had more law degree holders in key areas across the public service, bad decisions, contracts and agreements would not pervade the service.”

But is this a luxury taxpayers can afford at this time of vital fiscal housecleaning?

Were the Permanent Secretaries and the other very senior Administrative officers of the past -when Barbados had a model civil service which was much admired in the English-speaking Commonwealth- in possession of law degrees (whether ‘articled’ or not) except in the Solicitor General’s Office?

If there is some kind of deficiency in areas of law in the Management/Public Administration programme, which most senior public sector managers are expected to complete, why not expand the programme to make it compulsory that some modules involving legal studies be pursued?

How about Principles of Law and definitely Contract Law?
    Can there be other modules of law which can be offered to beef up public sector managers’ knowledge in certain areas like labour relations and international law?

Maybe there is already in place some kind of symbiotic relationship between management studies and law on offer at the UWI.

Jeff Cumberbatch our BU legal luminary should be able shed some light on the menu on offer on the Hill

5. Miller you hit the nail on the head. Thank you.

6. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

How about Principles of Law and definitely Contract Law?
    Can there be other modules of law which can be offered to beef up public sector managers’ knowledge in certain areas like labour relations and international law?

Maybe there is already in place some kind of symbiotic relationship between management studies and law on offer at the UWI

Jeff Cumberbatch our BU legal luminary should be able shed some light on the menu on offer on the Hill

Miller, All University courses are on offer to the general public. There is no need to pursue a full degree. Courses in Administrative Law, Revenue Law, Corporate Law, etc. are availed of by public officers from time to time. The notion of the occasional student is well entrenched at Cave Hill

7. @ millertheanunnaki June 17, 2018 2:28 PM

“Don’t you think the recipients of such outrageously large fees should be made to repay at least a portion of the ‘costly’ education they received ‘free of personal cost’ while pursuing studies at your Law faculty?”
    ……………………………………………

One of the most egregious revelations during the last campaign was from former Education Minister, Anthony Wood.

He said that when he became minister and looked at the outstanding loans of the student revolving loan fund and realised that there were many bad debts. He saw that many of the debtors were gainfully employed and were in a position to repay their loans. He was prepared to publish the names to shame these persons into taking responsibility for their indebtedness to the fund.

One such person was David Estwick, he owed $52,000. Somehow before the name and shaming was to be done…….unbeknownst to the minister……..someone whom he did not named took it upon themselves to forgive the loan.

One law for me and another for thee.

Go to You Tube and watch the BLP meeting at St Patricks.

8. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

There used to be postgraduate Diploma and Certificate in Public Administration which would have covered the appropriate mix of courses including Public Finance. Since then they up the thing and required Bachelors and Masters degrees with no appreciable increase in productivity.

9. One of the most touching stories coming from the CEE this year was a story of a little girl who is the top student at her school.

I read the article and I teared up………the child lost her mother and her brother. Her dad said that although her mother tried to prepare her in a way on how to cope after she passed, he had to be there for her. He said at times he did not want to push her because he did not want her to go into depression…….but just encouraged her to do some work.

For me she was the best this year…….for a little girl to go through so much and still get in the high 80’s was remarkable……..and what is so touching is that it seems that the dad is a working class dad but is determined that his child succeeds. I pray God will bless them!

10. I may be wrong but I recall that the names, marks and schools to which a child was allocated were published in the Sunday papers at least up to 1970.

i would appreciate if anybody else recalls this or has evidence of this.

And so far as I know nobody came to any harm.’

I recall too that both BCC and UWI publicly posts’ students grades semester to semester, and also piblishes the names and class of degree in the booklets which are publicly available at each year’s graduations.

11. @Jeff Cumberbatch June 17, 2018 2:31 PM “No disagreement from me. But the home environment will;l still play a starring role in most…”

Maybe. Maybe not.

Some years ago one of my children was in the 11+ top ten. The child of a Simple Simon and an entirely absent other “parent.”

I would say that parents should be available to their children. Even the poorest and most poorly educated parents can still take their children to the library. Can still borrow books for free from the library. Can buy books instead of nonsense. I got a good deal on good quality hard cover books just last week. $3 BDS each, about the same as a sweet drink, and much less than a snack box or a $300 cell phone.

And by the way why is there 17.5% VAT on books, especially on children’s books?

Are we a serious people or not?

And I don’t recall ANY party mentioning a new public library, or upgrading of current libraries during the recent election campaign.

Are we a serious people or not?

12. The more pressing issue is the extent to which some poor households have these types of issues uppermost in their minds given the vagaries of everyday life they have to contend.

13. If the brother-in-law to the Spanish King is not above the law http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5855941/Spanish-kings-brother-law-begins-serving-six-years-jail-fraud.html
    And the CEO of Volkswagen can be arrested http://money.cnn.com/2018/06/18/investing/audi-ceo-arrested-volkswagen-rupert-stadler/index.html
    Even an ex-Prime Minister is made to pay for his sins Ehud Olmert – Prime minister of Israel from 2006 to 2009, cabinet minister 1988–1992, 2003–2006, mayor of Jerusalem 1993–2003. Convicted of breach of trust in July 2012, and of bribery in March 2015. In May 2015, Olmert was sentenced to six years in prison, but his sentence was reduced to 18 months in December 2015.

PM MAM, we watching yuh, nuh!

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Ping Pong

The lesser and more prestigious school comment referred to previously was not an assignment that I would have ascribed but one that obtains in our socially stratified settings.

I personally don’t really care which school you come from or who is you muddah or fahr

I assess each sentience I encounter in its own merit.

My submission spoke to how a so called literate and technologically progressive society as we to it ourselves to be, can, AFTER US $236M INVESTED IN EDUTECH, still be in a backwoods that is segregated on those same archaic lines of lesser and more prestigious schools.

Do you have a smartphone? Does it have WhatsApp or FaceTime?

Then extrapolating to a matrix where education can be employed using a similar technology in our geographically separated schools on this 2×2 rock in the Atlantic CANNOT BE A BRIDGE TOO FAR FOR YOU TO CONTEMPLATE IS IT?

What I am saying to you is that , notwithstanding the several other issues about the anachronistic curriculum, we have the technology to facilitate the simple virtual integration of our school plant AND CERTAINLY SHOULD HAVE MOVED TO THAT 15 YEARS AGO.

Ooops but that would mean an overlap of 10 DLP years with 5 BLP years wouldn’t it? which would bring certain people with impeccable credentials into view, wouldn’t it?

I sorry for my blasphemy

15. Are-we-there-yet June 18, 2018 8:44 AM

I am disappointed at not seeing classifications for Bushtea and Millertheanunnaki – lol

16. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Bajan in NY;

That post and my other related post totally vanished from off BU.
    Something weird might be happening.

17. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Oops!
    Those posts are still there in the Mottley … Mugabe blog. My apologies to David

re. partisan classification. I would place Bushtea in the B group and Miller in the C group. Another frequent poster that I forgot is Artax. I think he is a group B.

18. HENCH FORTH “yardfoul” should be referred to as “COUP CRAP”.

19. The truth is that child raising is extremely labour intensive. It is like working the land. You have to do some hard work everyday. This hard work applies to wealthy parents, even moreso for middle class parents and is absolutely mandatory for poor parents. The thing is though that poor people, middle class people, and rich people are given equal amounts of time everyday. Everybody gets 24 hours. All parents have to decide how they wish to spend that 24 hours. I would advise that after giving 8 to 12 hours to work and its related commuting, parents should give all of the rest to their families, and by family I mean principally to their children. Much of the volunteer work, much of the social service club work, much of the partying, much of the lodge meetings, much of the drinking with the boys, much of the church going and its related demands, much of the TV watching, much of the video watching, much of the partying, much of everything else should be left to those people who do not yet have children, and to those people whose children are grown.

It is actually not that hard to have a child score between 70% and 100% in the 11+. Most children (except those with severe learning disabilities) including most poor children can score between 70% and 100% on the 11+. But parents must be prepared to give to their children the only asset with which we are all equally endowed. Time.

But the $6 million question. Are we all WILLING to do this? And if we are not willing to do this for our OWN children, who then do we expect to do it?

Of course we could offshore our elementary school aged children. We can send them to a boarding school like the one described below, where for a hefty fee, of up to $46,000 USD per year SOME OTHER HUMAN BEINGS will make our children go to bed on time, get up on time, make them take their baths, comb their hair, make their beds, cook their meals, wash and iron their clothes, take them to church, take or send them to school on time, and SUPERVISE their homework EVERY DAY.

But the $6 million question. Are we all WILLING to do this? And if we are not willing to do this for our OWN children, who then do we expect to do it?

For those who are not willing or able to parent your children, here is a school for you, and there are hundreds more schools like this in the great white north.

@Saint Andrew’s School. Address: 3900 Jog Road, Boca Raton, FL 33434. Website: http://www.saintandrews.net/
    Saint Andrew’s School is a private Episcopal school located in Boca Raton, Florida. The school was founded in 1961 and currently serves approximately 1,300 students from all backgrounds. The campus itself is situated in coastal Boca Raton on 81 acres of land.
    The school became co-ed in 1972, converting from a boarding-only school to a mixture of both day students and boarding students.
    Tuition ranges from as low as $19,240 for Junior Kindergarten day students to $46,600 for boarders.”

20. And the truth is that poor people perhaps have less demands on their time that middle class or rich people, therefore more time to give to their children. For example Professor Jeff [thank you for the good work which you are doing at Cave Hill and elsewhere] likely has to take work home, papers to set, papers to correct, curricula to revise, board meetings to attend, some people have Cabinet papers to write etc.

The truth is that when you are doing a “low level” labouring, clerical or service job, you can take up your bag and go home to your family at the dot of 4:30, since nobody expects you to take work or work related worries home. So go home to your families and supervise your children’s homework, so that our children like mine can do better in the 11+, at secondary school and and at university than the children of Cabinet ministers and others with “high level” jobs.

21. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

The truth is that when you are doing a “low level” labouring, clerical or service job, you can take up your bag and go home to your family at the dot of 4:30, since nobody expects you to take work or work related worries home. So go home to your families and supervise your children’s homework, so that our children like mine can do better in the 11+, at secondary school and and at university than the children of Cabinet ministers and others with “high level” jobs

@ SS, all that you say might be true in theory, but how many of those parents will be seen by their children writing or even reading a book? How many of such parents will see it as more more critical to watch the latest soap opera or a movie on cable of an evening? I am the product of parents, not highly schooled but who perceived and drove home the great significance of education and learning.

22. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Simple Simon;

I almost fully subscribe to your last 2 posts (except for the info on the St Andrews Boca Raton school). I think that the majority of Bajan children who do well in the Common Entrance Exam, do so mainly because of the influence and hard work of their Parents or Guardians allied with the hard work put in by their Class 3 and 4 teachers, especially if they find themselves in the A or B streams of Class 3 and Class 4. (i.e class 3A or 3B or class 4A or 4B). Class A and B stream teachers are normally driven to extend their charges to their limits to get the best results possible while stream C and D teachers, I think on the whole, tend to be satisfied with minimal performance by their charges. e.g. The children in the A streams tend to get a much higher amount of homework to do than the other streams and are also likely to be more up-to-date with the syllabi and less likely to have to catch up with new concepts in the third term of their class 4 life..

Jeff;

I think, fwliw, that Dr Simple Simon’s point is a good one. I am also a product of 2 parents who perceived and drove home the great significance of education and learning but I think that there are significantly greater numbers of parents than you think, who are role models and strict guides for good learning practices for their children even if they do watch a little soap opera or TV of an evening.

What might detract from that number might well be the seemingly large number of single parents who bring up children these days. Indeed, I think that single parenting, at all levels of the society, might be a significant factor in influencing the final grades that individual children might get in the BCEE of current times.

23. In the animal kingdom the survival of a newly born depends on its mother.

Sometimes the mother dies or is killed but the new born may still survive.

The others in the herd/pack/group see to its survival.

… plus the urge to live is strong.

Children need to be shown the ropes.

Some can learn for themselves.

Some don’t need as much help as others do.

But it is far easier for a child to grow to adulthood if care and nurture are given!!!

It isn’t true to say that Barbados Scholars or children excelling in 11+ have perfectly functioning families.

But it is true to say that families of most for the most part get the important things right.

The child responds to the expectations of their parents and close family members because they want to do so.

While the child of a disadvantaged family can make it too, it is much harder and more unusual.

… and guess what, the Constitution addresses the important issue of Family.

“Now, therefore, the people of Barbados (a) proclaim that they are a sovereign nation founded upon principles that acknowledge the supremacy of God, the dignity of the human person, their unshakeable faith in fundamental human rights and freedoms and the position of the family in a society of free men and free institutions;”

… the position of the family in a society of free men and free institutions;

24. And there are still many parents like yours.

The truth is I don’t know the answer or answers either. I don’t understand how your parents and mine though not highly schooled understood the value of education. Maybe we need to talk to our parents? Maybe the churches need to do more to encourage good parenting, maybe the NGO’s. Maybe communities.maybe we need to talk more about where we came from, not seeing it as a negative, but as a way of showing people that lack of money must not define you. But that time and commitment to children can make a difference

25. @Are-we-there-yet June 18, 2018 2:24 PM “What might detract from that number might well be the seemingly large number of single parents who bring up children these days. Indeed, I think that single parenting, at all levels of the society, might be a significant factor in influencing the final grades that individual children might get in the BCEE of current times.”

Single parent here. Since I was 14, I have been parenting. In my late 20’s my own children, but from age 14 other people’s children. Ask yourself why would a 14 year old have to supervise the homework of 8, 10, 12 year olds when the parent (s) of the children are alive, well, working, but has made a decision to cease parenting?

When one parents defects/disappears the other parent must redouble her efforts [it is often a her who is left to raise the child or the children] Sadly too often when one parent abandons his parental duties the other parent cuts back on her commitment as well [if he is not doing anything, I won’t do much either] when in truth she needs to redouble her efforts, that is to go from 100% effort to 200% effort.

26. Barbados must be one of the few places in the world where heads of government, well supported by the taxpayers, and with significant tax funded domestic help still choose to live apart from their own minor children.

27. Are our children important?

Or do we still see OUR OWN CHILDREN as lil’ pickney in massa’s nigger yard?

28. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Simple Simon

@ Jeff

I agree with both of you that the interests of parents whether single or not is the key to the academic success of children in the Common Entrance exams,. Very often the child is ready to learn but he/she gets no support from his parents. Too many of them go to school with no breakfast and no books.
    These same parents expect the teachers to work miracles.

29. Single parent here. Since I was 14, I have been parenting. In my late 20’s my own children, but from age 14 other people’s children. Ask yourself why would a 14 year old have to supervise the homework of 8, 10, 12 year olds when the parent (s) of the children are alive, well, working, but has made a decision to cease parenting?

That is indeed a very sad question to ask, Maybe the answer will be more saddening.

I will try to answer it this way. Humans get tired. They become fatalistic. They don’t see the outcome as being rosy. Promises made promises broken. A whole slew of things can get u down. Drugs alcohol and other addiction serve to pull u deeper into a hole that only u can pull yourself out of. But do u really want to leave the comfort of your hole?

Mental illness is often described and diagnosed by the unprofessionals as someone being lazy and acting in anti social and and in anti-societal ways. Many out there need help; but don’t know they are ill or prefer to be called lazy etc than be seeing a medical attn; that they may or may not be able to afford. The madhouse is bajan society is not a holiday resort. No one wants to go there.

Unfortunately; these citizens have children of all ages, and they suffer because of the parents neglect. Mental illnesses are more wide spread than we may to acknowledge. Many go undiagnosed.

30. Sir Fuzzy

The legacy of Barbadian politics of the last 15 years (and including those now in authority) will be the widespread sad characterization of many simple Barbadians as described in your 4:57 p.m. post.

31. Fuh true?…. fuh real?

” But while the Chief Justice was unsure about whether the new provision in the Evidence Act had in fact been proclaimed, Pilgrim told the media on the sidelines that police were aware of the change and electronic recording was being done since December.

He said: “The days of moving through without confession evidence being electronically recorded are now over. That is the effect of the law effective December 11.”

32. Jeff must be embarrassed that this proviso in the law was activated since last year and the CJ expressed publicly that he was blissfully unaware.

33. Why are we attacking parents? The one remarkable thing about parents of past generations is that although they themselves were of limited education, they knew instinctively that education was the way out.
    They outsourced that responsibility, a singular outstanding decision, to teachers and the teachers responded. Those were the days before parents beat up teachers.
    Parents sent their kids to ‘lessons’, teachers offering private tuition after school and at weekends. Schools also assessed their pupils. At St Giles, the best school of its kind in the country during the 40s, 50s and 60s, people such as J.O. Morris, Atherley and others offered a kind of class-room management and tuition hardly matched today.
    If parents have the skills and knowledge to help their children with their homework, that is fine, but that is not a key parental responsibility. Good parenting is to know when help is needed and getting that help.
    Santia Bradshaw, one of the outstanding young politicians in the government, has a huge task at hand. She must not hesitate in carrying out a widespread reform of the educational system.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Do you think that Andrew Pilgrim QC can get the police to retroactively review their evidence concerning the interrogation and subsequent arrest of Nazzim Blackett for 6 months this past DECEMBER 2017?

This is the same young man they held previously.

Just in case you forgot one of their usual Mugabe style apprehensions, this the same young man, OTHER OF THE POOR BLACK BAJANS WHO WHEN YOU POOR DE RBPF does do what dem like to you.

DEM HAD TRY TO KILL HE in 2017

Ironically Nazzim, who is now lock up for months to mek an example of he, was Andrew Pilgrim’s client as well

35. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Jeff must be embarrassed that this proviso in the law was activated since last year and the CJ expressed publicly that he was blissfully unaware.

David, the proclamation would have been published in the Official Gazette. Perhaps Sir Marston missed it. The media should publish these things in the public interest however.

36. Enuff (3.35)

Spot on. But it is very difficult to get this over to some Bajans. Same thing with accounts and other vocational courses. Because you have a degree does not mean you are a historian.

37. @pieceuhderockyeahright June 19, 2018 2:36 PM “OTHER OF THE POOR BLACK BAJANS WHO WHEN YOU POOR DE RBPF does do what dem like to you.”

But aren’t most of the police poor and black also.

Some people, not me, might even ask if not so poor as not to have a po’ to piss in nor a window to throw it through?

38. @David June 19, 2018 1:02 PM “Jeff must be embarrassed that this proviso in the law was activated since last year and the CJ expressed publicly that he was blissfully unaware.”

Why should Jeff be embarrassed?

I don’t see where Jeff has done anything wrong.

Isn’t it the Chief Justice’s responsibility to keep himself up to date?

Jeff must do hand holding?

Stupseee!!!

39. Media Invitation

Official opening – Bayview Hospital Intensive Care Unit (ICU)

Bayview Hospital invites your media house to attend the official opening of our new Intensive Care Unit (ICU). The new two-bed ICU will support doctors to perform more complex surgeries onsite and allow for the provision of 24-hour care by an experienced intensive care doctor for any patient warded in the Bayview ICU.

Date: Friday 29th June, 2018

Time: 3pm

Venue: Bayview Hospital, St. Paul’s Avenue, Beckles Road, St. Michael.

Overview:

The Minister of Health and Wellness, Lieutenant Colonel, the Honorable, Jeffrey D. Bostic MVO MP will deliver the feature address to attendees and officially declare the new ICU open.

There will be a blessing of the facility by Father Paul, as well as opening remarks by Hospital Administrator Jules Reid and a vote of thanks by Assistant Hospital Administrator Major Marilyn Patrick. Guided tours of the new ICU will also be conducted for invitees.

More information:

Amy Goulding, PR Consultant

+1 (246) 820 8695, +1 (246) 844 8273

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    ” At St Giles, the best school of its kind in the country during the 40s, 50s and 60s, people such as J.O. Morris, Atherley and others offered a kind of class-room management and tuition hardly matched today.”

Obviously you have never heard about Bay Street/Bay Primary. We have the distinction of producing Sir. Garry Sobers, the greatest West Indian to date. The only one, in his chosen field, whose skills have never been surpassed.

You are forgiven for this glaring blunder. LOL.

41. I see that angry and twisted woman Cuffy-Sargeant is now calling a complainant a ‘victim’. I am sure someone can explain to this woman that the idea of a criminal trial is to find out if the complainant is really a victim. With a distorted sense of justice, I would not be surprised to hear that she sends more people to Dodds than the other magistrates combined. What are the qualifications to be a magistrate, other than a bit of paper saying you are a lawyer?

42. charles skeete Avatar

“iam Skinner June 21, 2018 8:23 AM

@ Hal
    ” At St Giles, the best school of its kind in the country during the 40s, 50s and 60s, people such as J.O. Morris, Atherley and others offered a kind of class-room management and tuition hardly matched today.”

Obviously you have never heard about Bay Street/Bay Primary. We have the distinction of producing Sir. Garry Sobers, the greatest West Indian to date. The only one, in his chosen field, whose skills have never been surpassed.

You are forgiven for this glaring blunder. LOL.”

I am proud to have completed my elementary schooling at Baystreet/Bay Primary and am also proud of the achievments of Sir Garry who attended Bay Street and of the greatman personally for the way he has conducted himself throughout his life having never lost the common touch despite the accolades he has received. I am also proud of those other persons of renown who attended the school such as Mr Rose (artist and musician) and his son Erskine of Selby, Rose and Mapp fame;
    Mr Maurice Drakes Artist and tailor of distinction; Mr Hubert Brathwaithe Artist and painter of distintion,;Mr Robin Garnes of Basketball fame whose contribution to the Police Girls and Boys club is unmatched. and they are many more of distinction who would have benefited from the tutelage of Headmasters Cuffley and Lorde in my time.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

charles skeete June 29, 2018 10:49 AM

RE Obviously you have never heard about Bay Street/Bay Primary.
    OBVIOUSLY HE HAS NOT!
    TOO YOUNG TO HAVE MET MR CUFFLEY BUT HEARD ABOUT HIM
    S O. LORDE IN 1958 PREDICTED THAT I WOULD WIN A BARBADOS SCHOLARSHIP
    UNLIKE YOU, I COMPLETED MY PRIMARY EDUCATION AT ST LAURENCE