The blogmaster regrets to share the news that Senator Caswell Franklyn was dismissed this week (12 June 2018) from the role as a columnist at the Nation Publishing Company. Senator Franklyn has established a reputation as a  social commentator who is never afraid to challenge kith or kin. One would have thought given the paucity of Opposition in the House of Assembly the Nation newspaper would have seen the benefit in giving a platform to one of two Opposition Senators in a configuration where the Lower House is represented 29 to 1 and the Governor General had to exercise a razor thin judgement to appoint the leader of the Opposition.

The blogmaster hates the idea that the Senator was fired because he was critical of the government in his one and only column as an Opposition Senator.

139 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Fired by the Nation Newspaper”

1. Please point me to any press conference where David Thompson is on record discussing very serious matters of state and tells the listening public:’don’t panic’ or watch me.Steupes

2. Maybe one cannot…………how many did he do?

No wonder wunnah get REDWASH!

3. Let Google be your friend. Hope you guys have assembled to rebuild the DLP? So far to judge from the ‘mouthings’ on social media it is the same tired narrative 70% of the electorate rejected.

4. @Mariposa June 16, 2018 9:49 PM “the idiocy of the masses….”

Thinking that the masses [I call us the electorate] tare idiots, treating them like idiots, calling them idiots is exactly the DLP in now shut ot of the Big House?

Learn some respect woman.

5. Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right Avatar
    Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right

https://i.imgur.com/k5ScF0N.png

The corrected version

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Firing is nothing new to me. I should be used to it by now. That is what happens when you speak out or stand up for what you believe in. When it comes to getting fired, I might have a record; I got fired three times from NUPW and even after that I was still approached when they had a vacancy for general secretary.

I am humbled by the outpouring of support since I was appointed to the Senate. I am especially grateful for the kind word from David and other commenters on BU.

Rest assured I will continue to call a spade a spade

7. “These news conferences come across as manipulative which targets people ignorance for not wanting to know the truth. In dictatorship govts having no opposing views relies on news reel and so called news conference to kill truthfulness and gingerly massage the idiocy of the masses in accepting what govt says is the gospel truth. I shudder to think Barbadians have taken that course with eyes wide open.”

Mariposa

Please bear with me as I’m trying to UNDERSTAND the rationale behind your opinion.

Could you please REMIND me of any situation where an individual, business, political party, etc………held a press conference and brought in ATTENDANCE, someone to REFUTE statements and give an OPPOSING view?

In the interest of clarity (and to satisfy my curiosity), could you please EXPLAIN to BU what are the differences between press conferences held by the former DLP administration and press conferences held by the current BLP administration that CAUSED you to BELIEVE we are now “on the horizon” of a DICTATORSHIP……..

………especially under circumstances where there weren’t ANY OPPOSING VIEWS or REFUTATION of comments during the DLP held press conferences as well?

Then, in all FAIRNESS, would it be REASONABLE to assume that your above comment could be likewise APPLICABLE to the DLP?

Considering how your former DLP administration USED the state owned CBC TV8 to the party’s political propaganda and broadcast news items pertaining ONLY to DLP ministers, DLP sponsored events and annual conferences…..does this SATISFY your definition of a dictatorship?

8. I have one more question that deals with “truthfulness.”

I recall BU posting articles relative to press conferences held by Sinckler and Estwick, during which both ministers accused the former BLP administration of being responsible for the state of the economy and the problems associated with the flow of sewage on the south coast respectively. These press conferences were HELD UNDER CONDITIONS SIMILAR to the current press conferences being held…..i.e. no opposing views.

If you were to peruse these BU articles, you would notice that, as “ac” and “Angela Skeete,” you posted contributions DEFENDING the opinions of the ministers…….and DID SO in the ABSENCE of anyone REFUTING the ministers’ accusations or giving an OPPOSING view.

Could you please tell BU how you DETERMINED or CONCLUDED that these ministers’ statements and accusations were TRUE?

9. T. Inniss

I’m curious as well…..so….. could you “please point me to any press conference where (Mia Mottley) is on record discussing very serious matters of state and tells the listening public ‘watch me’?”

10. Thanks!

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar
  12. William Skinner Avatar

“A wise old owl sat on an oak. The more he saw the less he spoke. The less he spoke the more he heard. Why can’t I be like that wise old bird?”

Two weeks into a “new” dispensation and we are already guaranteed that for another five years the pot will be calling the kettle black.

Keep up the good work Brother Franklyn. I am certain BU will carry your columns. Its the nation newspaper’s loss.

Jah help us all.

13. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

De fellow came home late from the bank job and he wukking man, he wukking lololol

https://i.imgur.com/kaMsaCm.png

14. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

The 1550 x 500 – he did not see the dimensions

https://i.imgur.com/jXmpTaf.png

15. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Dat grandson is someting else doah!

Sometimes I does look at he and I does say “grandson, you know dat you is wasting you time at dat bank?’

“When you going leave deah and get a real job with a company dat gine appreciate you skills and a cuntry dat will permit you to excel?”

And he does say “Gramps, I know dat you got a vision for me in dem cuntries but gramps “but how can men die better than facing fearful odds, for the ashes of their fathers and the temples of their gods?”

And I does look at he an say to meself “meself dis boy is certifiably mad, why he beleive so much in dese barmaments, whu effing i was he age and ting I wud lef de damn place and let um sink but den I realise dat youth is wasted on the young and he is very young and bewitch”

Hope springs eternal from the human heart

https://i.imgur.com/nPi0d4M.gifv

16. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar
  17. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

I have to go now though for the next 12 hours or so

I will try to check in later but driving and reading dont gree with de ole man

Do have a Great Father’s Day

Of course de ole man expect when he return to get he “blessings” from de readers dem heheheheheh

Whuloss hold muh I gine fall

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Happy Fathers Day Piece and to all the other Fathers on the blog and even to those who have mothered children.

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Nation news cannot be considered much of a newspaper, that is the same rag showed 2 underage school children in school uniform having sex on its pages..saw nothing wrong in doing that …..and will also see nothing wrong in hiding vital information from the public that will educate the public because of partisan yardfowl politics, they have done it for decades, no real newspaper does that…..that says everthing you need to know about that rag.. a well established .moral decay and no sense of fairness in reporting to the public,

Caswell can post his articles to BU, other social media, Loop News…and Facebook….a much wider audience in the millions awaits and he will receive much better exposure than at some 2 bit wannabe newspaper.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, that was an interesting comment re “Do not think for one minute your silly and puerile attempt to post nuisance comments about Trump have gone unnoticed. “…in fact a good LOL moment.

Is it that the public make nuisance comments about Pres Trump and his team or is it that the man makes himself a veritable nuisance with HIS remarks and actions!

Most Trump supporters cannot understand or appreciate, it seems, that to speak practically about Trump does not mean that one hates the man…one hates his ridiculous behaviour as the Pres of the USA.

Is it a nuisance comment to say that Pres Obama would have been cut to political shreds if he had saluted a DPRK general but Trump is somehow applauded for a totally ridiculous misstep!

Is it a nuisance to say that the man’ is a pathological liar in repeating over and over that somehow the opposition party is responsible for this separation of parents and children policy on the border when in fact the entire process has been initiated and perpetuated by Trump and his AG!

Is it a nuisance to repeat from Trump that he wants citizens to worship his words and actions as they do of the leaders in communist nation like DPRK orvRussia! The man demands ‘loyalty’ even when there is evidence of wrongdoing and he bashes a free press like BU…just like communists do.

Of course Trump has made much change and done ‘amazing things ‘ but he has done so in the most destructive and divisive way that was possible….why does one have to be a hater or a nuisance writer in making that declaration!!

21. Thanks PUDRYR, would have ‘stretched’ the other one as you see but as you know the quality is degraded some when this occurs.

Hope you have a peaceful Father’s Day whether blogging or doing other things.

22. Can u please remind me where in the history of barbados since independence there was not an opposition sitting in the house of parliament whose views were not in alignment with the govt
    The socalled opposition in the house is a farce . The leader Atherley has not cut his political ties to the blp by stating openly he is not a member of the blp .In my humble opinion barbados has entered a new political territory that needs careful watching and critical analyse so far what is to be seen is a govt holding press conferences with no voices to critically anslyse what is being told to the public is that of the truth and that should be a red flag which should be of major concern to all.

23. Not one but other international financial institution has hoisted a red flag at this govt stating that this govt has not followed the rules and guidlines in a manner consistent with the G -20 endorsed Principles for Stable Capital Flows and Fair debt Restructing which includes transparency and timely flow of information open dialogue good faith actions and fair treatment among creditor classes
    Now if this govt makes decisions to bypass its creditors with all information before defaulting on its debt
    Why should anyone not belive that in similar fashion this govt would not withold all necessary information so as to not cause concern or disrupt or disadvantage their course of action in the public mind
    Sorry to say that barbados has entered unchartered waters heading down a slippery slope dangerously close to a dictatorship when their are no voices of opposition sitting in parliament
    It is apparently clear that this govt narrative would be one of a physchological mooring to tell the populace what they want to hear and to control how they think
    My opening remarks about creditors concern with an application to trsnsparency speaks loud and clear as to the way forward as to what the populace would know and how the truth would be measured and dispense by the govt

24. Jesus Christ! Again we’re focusing on personalities. One individual made it clear that Senator Lisa Cummins’ article has also been discontinued. If true, it shows the Nation is at least fair and consistent. The same people that previously bemoaned partisanship are now supporting an Opposition senator’s right to have a column in the Nation. The point remains that Caswell has a platform in the Senate where he’s free to speak freely without the constraints or dictates of the Nation or libel laws. BU also remains free. Those complaining should start listening to the Senate debates and stop the RH pretense.

25. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Would not Caswell’s columns now carry even more gravitas seeing that he is a legislator? Anyway, I suppose it is the Nation’s call as to who should be the columnists in its flagship publication. Barbadians will not boycott anything… unless it can be done under the cover of anonymity…or secret ballot!

26. Mariposa
    The Opposition is a “farce” because your beloved DLP government was a farce; and the people made the decision that the DLP lacked the requirements to be the government or opposition. A decision that was fueled by the behaviour of the DLP inside and outside Parliament, including yours here on BU. #watchmuh #watchwe

27. @enuff

You are missing the point big time. Here is a comment the blogmaster posted to FB.

The point is that Caswell who has been a tireless advocate against wrongs in our little island is required now more than ever given what transpired on the 24 May 2018. The ease with which some of us are happy to accept some old irrelevant rule of engagement ignores the bigger issue. The blog is dealing with Caswell and his track record of public service.

28. @Jeff

So true but it should not deter those whose tirelessly chip away so that the ignorant can one day see the light.

29. Rest easy Mariposa. I feel sorry for you because it is clear your party’s loss hurts you to the core. Our democracy is healthy. I was never so proud of Barbadians than I was on the 24th when collectively they said no to the continued degradation of our country by a corrupt government. If Mrs. Motley becomes corrupted like they we the people of Barbados will vote them out too.

30. “……….so far what is to be seen is a govt holding press conferences with no voices to critically analyze what is being told to the public is that of the truth and that should be a red flag which should be of major concern to all.”
    +++++++++++++++

Rather than answer any of my questions, you wrote rubbish.

If Mottley holds a press conference during which she accuses the former DLP administration of some wrong doing, what PREVENTS the DLP from holding a press conference to explain their side of the story?

I recall a few days after the contract signed between the Port Authority and Global Ports Inc. was exposed, the DLP issued a statement in the press explaining the reason behind their decision.

The DLP does not have a presence in Parliament, yet a few days after this new BLP administration delivered its “mini budget,” 4 DLP members held a press conference to criticize it.

Solutions Barbados’ Grenville Phillips II and UPP’s Lynette Eastmond also commented on the budget…….reinforcing the fact that Barbados REMAINS a democratic society.

If the DLP, SB and UPP were prevented from expressing their opinions, then I could agree with you that we have to be careful of a dictatorship. But this is not the case. Freedom of speech and association still exists in this island.

But for you to suggest that a government should hold a press conference and invite people to refute statements or give an opposing view, when such has never been done before…….is ludicrous.

I suspect that, because of the 30 -0 situation in parliament, the DLP’s strategy is to stir up Barbadians by mentioning, in innuendo, that the society is set to become a dictatorship. And that is your role in this forum. However, they should have allowed someone that is much more intelligent than you to “spear head” the agenda.

31. Mariposa has long gone past the defeat of the dlp. However it seems to be a narrative in play to keep dlp supporters mouths closed when criticising this govt
    My focus will remained on govt interaction with the populace and its truthfulness as to whether the govt sole purpose is to ride on an agenda to keep the eyes of the populace close while in doing so delivers a pseudo form of subliminal dictatorship which is hard to see ir undermine but easy to partake
    The red flags of such interaction with the public are already put in place and staged as repetitive news conferences with suttle phrasing and repetitive words to sensitive the mind that what govt is doing is right
    Watch me ! I got this one! words to penetrate and to convince the mind without having to show proof or giving people a need to question or seek answers

32. David Bu….your assistance, please.

33. It will not work, Barbadians in great numbers have become turned off by the tired narrative of the political class.Truth be told, if the electorate had credible alternatives on the 24th the BLP would have felt the wrath of the electorate as well. It is why Mia should realize that she needs to exploit her political capital with haste.

34. Listen up peeps Once again the defeat of the dlp does not bother me.
    I have never seen or met any one of these ministers in ten years or previously so any defeat to this party would not affect me mentally or physically or financially
    However what is upsetting to me is a Democratic process of free and fair elections which can be easily undermined by a govt without a opposing voice in Parliament which can be a for sure stepping stone to lack of transparency ! corruption and other illegalities which would never be seen heard or brought to the public attention
    Already such concerns have been highlighted by international creditors after Mia had a news conference to tell public barbados had defaulted on its loan but fail to give relevant and pertinent details as to how she made the decision and who where those economic advisors in agreement with here decision
    Here now at the eleventh hour barbadians are being told that those creditors to whom barbados has defaulted was not involved in the decision making
    This is a matter which goes to truthfulness and to how what and in which manner the truth would be told to the people

####buyer beware

35. Blah blah blah

Have heard that the dlp been punished multiple times repetitions does not make a difference most have already dealt with the result
    Now it is time for the new govt to deliver on its promise so far what is being rolled out are a potpourri of poisonous injections placed upon a political rhetorical propaganda of news conferences absence of any form of critical analyses or opposing views for all to swallow

Not me###:

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“However, they should have allowed someone that is much more intelligent than you to “spear head” the agenda.”

Lol, lol…

37. David BU

I believe any individual has a right to support and defend the political party of their choice and to criticize any party they choose to.

However, what I am currently seeing is the DLP and its supporters have been using this forum to stir up disharmony in the country by constantly pushing their dictatorship narrative, not based on factual evidence, but “manufactured evidence”……..and in circumstances where the current BLP administration has not done anything, so far, which suggests a dictatorship is on the horizon.

So far, we have seen a government that is willing to engage the public, stakeholders, special interest groups and the social partnership………something unheard of during the DLP’s ten year tenure.

I believe what these people are doing is wrong.

38. Mia Mottley holds a news conference on her return from meeting with the IMF nothing of substance pertaining to what concerns the IMF might have about the budget and govt abilty to satisfy its external creditors and internal creditors demands based on a budget that have giveaways that can impact drastically on expenditure and which might in the long term asked the populace to sacrifice more
    Now what was rolled out was a news conference built on steam rolling more of the same stlyed campaign propaganda to draw people into belivieng that this govt have all matters negatively impacting the economy under control which is a grandstylish method akin to dictatorships brainwashing and keeping the peoples eyes closed and mouth shut.

Relax i got this
    Is Mia fuh real

39. David

I am not!! I have said I do not support the Nation’s decision. Isn’t it ironic, however, that only a few weeks ago this “happ[iness] to accept some old irrelevant rule of engagement [while] ignor[ing] the bigger issue” was strongly supported?

40. @Artax

And just like what happened on the 24 May nobody is buying it.

41. I am not against govt engaging with the people given that there is an opposing side to refute a oneside narrative as it is now been seen as the case and is clearly manifested
    There in lies a danger than can lead this govt into beliving that everything they say or do is right because the voice or voices are not there to oppose
    The evidence of which i speak is clearly shown or reflected in dictatorships which use the media to control the way people must think or behave because the voices opposing are muted since they have no way of acessing govt documents in ways that can refute or disclaim
    Here in barbados the media has not been shy in advocating a political bias for this govt
    So therfore a question which should be asked who will bell the cat.
    For certain not a blp supporter or anyone having an affliation with the govt be it Union Private Sector or media
    Yes the red flags are already up as to what kind of goverance would emerge from this mandate

###: eyes wide open

42. Not asking anyone to buy or belive any thing i say in my comments
    However this i would say that barbadians are slow to react and quick to follow until it is too late
    If this govt is allowed to speak without any retraction or criticism the slippery slope of an abscence of opposing dialogue would encompass this country and shut out its abilty to be engaging because of a fear to speak out a fear which has nestled itself within the hearts of the people.

to thine own self be true

43. Mariposa

Of late I am beginning to able to read and digest your comments a little better.You keep on doing what you are doing and don’t respond to the BLP Detractors who feel so smug in their ignorance and arrogance that they boldly declare who is stupid and seek to put their spin on anything that goes against their party’s Public Relations.

Haven’t you heard Mia saying in her first or one of the early press conference where she outlined what she intends to do and stated – watch me?

Thompson in a few of his early press conferences asked the people of Barbados to ‘wrap themselves around the bdos flag’

Now contrast the two -‘watch me’ and ‘wrap yourselves around the flag’.

If there were honest pollsters around this election result would be dissected for :

(1) What it said and;

(2) What it did not say

And then the mouthings would be different and some people would feel less intimidated to voice dissent – or else the red brigade would jump down their throat telling them ‘Redwash’.

Don’t only listen to the very loud voices of some of the BLP CALF EATERS – BUT PAY ATTENTION TO THE SILENCE OF A LARGE SEGMENT OF VOTERS – the majority in fact who did not vote for Mia or any party or voted for one of the other parties.

Long may the third parties live.

44. Another thing Artax, this blog is not about yardfowls like ac, do not make it so. Let us change the narrative on the blog. Let this period be about ideas and engaging the BU family who see Barbados first. This is not meant to be taken in a personal way. The country is at the cross roads in a perilous state, all sincere Bajans will have to have country at the centre of what we do.

45. @T. Inniss

You should also ask why they did not vote for the DLP.

46. David BU

Re your 8:35 AM post……I agree wholeheartedly.

47. Any patriotic barbadian would want to put barbados first and along that narrative all must and should have a voice in how goverance impacts a democracy
    For crying out loud how can any one in good conscience who says that they are patriotic should not be allowed to speak freely without a concern as to how govt presents an agenda exclusive of opposing views
    Sooner rather than later the scenario becomes titled too far to right and almost impossible to pull back

48. Another thing Artax, this blog is not about yardfowls like ac, do not make it so. Let us change the narrative on the blog. Let this period be about ideas and engaging the BU family who see Barbados first. This is not meant to be taken in a personal way. The country is at the cross roads in a perilous state, all sincere Bajans will have to have country at the centre of what we do.(Quote)

Well said. About time. We now have to condemn the foul language, including banning the term yardfowl, and calling people party supporters.

49. David for peat sake the election is over stop your continual disrespect for the dlp supporters who have another point of view that is crtical to good goverance
    You are begining to come across as a spoiled brat having a temper tatrum who dare anyone to take the cookie away

##:::##::all about transparency

50. Changing the narrative of the blog whatever that means
    However i would interpret those words to mean
    ” leave govt alone and let govt do as it dam please” no need for accountability transparency
    Mia got this

Leave a Reply to ArtaxCancel reply