This first budget provided all of us with the Government’s priorities during economically challenging times.  They evidently consist of sustaining both people and businesses for as long as possible, while giving them bitter medicine with a smile.

To be fair, this was the stated priority of the last administration during their budget speeches, but their medicine was unpopular, and delivered with a frown.  What a difference a smile makes.  We must now  continue working as before, and see whether the planned revenues will meet their targets.

Once the Prime Minister made that fateful decision to pursue the austerity option, the best that we could hope for was that the pain would be spread equitably.  In the current economic circumstances, the Prime Minister must be congratulated for a responsible effort.  It is not a sustainable solution, but it does carve out enough of a breathing space to enter binding negotiations with the IMF – which is their plan.

Despite the salary increases for public workers, it seems that households will generally have much less disposable income with this budget.  That is not a criticism, since one would expect to have less disposable income in an austerity-based budget.  If the Prime Minister can convince the IMF that this is the outer limit of austerity, then she would have done exceptionally well in managing an austerity-based solution.

Now that the bitter medicine has been administered, and given their preliminary discussions with the IMF, the Government needs to tell us how long we are expected to keep taking this medicine.  Prior to the general elections, the austerity duration normally mentioned was between 5 and 15 years.  Knowing the duration will allow people and businesses to assess planned spending risks.

If we are to remain on-board this ship of austerity for close to 5 years, then couples may consider deferring a new house mortgage for 5 years.  However, if it is closer to 15 years, then a couple with a new mortgage can better assess the foreclosure risks, and may decide that now is the best time to consider selling their house.  A similar assessment may be made for any type of medium to long-term purchases.

If the BLP’s austerity is of a long duration, or if the IMF prescribes severe austerity for us, then the Prime Minister is well-advised to seriously look at Solutions Barbados’ non-austerity plan, which provides a surplus of over $1B in the first year without austerity.   It has been published on SolutionsBarbados.com for the past 3 years, together with the implementation plans, so that any administration can start implementing the plans at any time.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

62 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Bitter Medicine with a Smile”

1. Theophilius Gazerts 250 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 250

Grenville need to step aside or to share the microphone with someone who is more aggressive than he is.
    I am unable to assess his ‘economics, but his willingness to play by The Marquess of Queensberry Rules tells me he needs to have a pit-bull at his side.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David June 16, 2018 11:48 AM
    “Does it bring into the question the creditability and reputation of the professional that signed of on the SB plan?”

Absolutely!!

How any ‘real’ professional with any sound background in accounting or economics could have ‘signed off’ on such an unrealistic and most impractical single-cylinder tax proposal to fix the massive fiscal problems facing Barbados?

How the removal of all existing taxes (across the board, both direct and indirect) to be replaced by a single tax of 10% on ‘Incomes’, both corporate and individual, could ever be the panacea to the fiscally ailing Bajan economy already in the emergency room?

Barbados has a massive underground (unofficial) economy with many participating in the unregistered (No PAYE No NIS) workforce.

If the VAT and other indirect form of taxes and levies are scrapped how would SB go about making sure that most of the Voluntary Idle (estimated to be in excess of 70, 000) pay their ‘fair share’ of taxes as is done under the VAT regime?

Did that same accountant/advisor take into account that the implementation of SB’s one-trick-pony tax proposal would spell the quick death of the same profitable accounting profession?

The myopic Grenville and his imaginary sidekick tax expert should have gone to see a fiscal optometrist before putting such child-like fiscally immature proposals on the debating table.

Given his size and simple economy Barbados has a fairly comprehensive and relatively sophisticated set of tax system(s).
    What is blatantly missing is the necessary efficiency needed to ensure a higher rate of compliance and collection. Too much nepotism in the Bajan small-island society along with incompetence at the top of the management family tree is the main driver for the too many loopholes in the leaking tax bucket in Barbados.

You can bet your last tax dollar that neither Greenverbs P. of CLICO fame nor his legal advisors in tax dodging game like Hal G. and Michael M. have yet made their fair contributions to the Treasury for the millions fleeced from the taxpayers over the past 7 years.

3. @pieceuhderockyeahright June 16, 2018 12:48 AM “Ambassadorial roles are always rewarded to senile ole menses or women who have NO EFFING CONTRIBUTIONS NOR VISIONING SKILLS. We have traditionally awarded our incompetent friends and long serving civil servants these critical jobs and then we wonder why the badword our country is dying…”

You are so right.

Our Ambassadors should be be brightest, the best, the hardest working, the most fluent in multiple languages, unless we can afford to do like the rich countries and appoint elderly politically connected duffers as ambassadors, and then appoint brightest, the best, the hardest working, the most fluent in multiple languages as deputies [any by deputy I DON’T mean young, foolish outside woman] with the understanding that the young deputy does the real-real work, and the elderly ambassador is strictly decoration…and not even good looking decoration at that.

4. They should also be experienced wise in the ways of the world.

5. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ Mr. Grenville Philips these folks on BU are standing at the side of the road without a Bicycle License cannot even ride a Bicycle watching Buses pass down the road and making comments about how the Driver of the Bus should drive, the Conditions of the Tires of the bus, the Colour of the bus and the Music that Playing in the bus. Don’t mind what they say, you may be able to listen to the Back Seat Drivers in your own bus because they might be saying something worthwhile…like lookout for that Pot Hole or Sheep in the Road.

We know that the man at the side of the road that can’t ride a bicycle that have no License to Drive a Bus have a Constitutional right to MOVE HIS LIPS and hopefully one day when you are passing that road again you will have a message that they may be willing to listen too. And when you give the Clarion Call “All Aboard”, that he may be welcomed on the bus and until that time we wish you God’s Speed.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CuWv5aLUMAEUkpw.jpg

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ John

After what paralled “40 days in the wilderness” with the 28-2 ting you returned with this

“…This will be a sign of Barbadians becoming adults when each candidate must fully explain his/her beliefs and demonstrate willingness to work with other independent groups and individuals to make Barbados work…”

Brilliant!

No candidate seeking national service, be they parliamentarian senator or ambassador, should be appointed WITHOUT MEETING THOSE STANDARDS.

Having said that the flip side is that if they have to impress sheeple then it is equally a waste.

How many people do you find yourself discussing those detailed procedural instructions about advancing motions in parliament ?

10? 5? I would hazard 1 or 2 at most.

The facts are that we have sheeple leaders and sheeple electorate and thus converges with superlative perfection in Barbados.

Anyways hope springs eternal from the human heart…

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item

8. “How any ‘real’ professional with any sound background in accounting or economics could have ‘signed off’ on such an unrealistic and most impractical single-cylinder tax proposal to fix the massive fiscal problems facing Barbados?”

Miller

Perhaps Grenville received his economic and tax advice from an old journalist…….hence, the “unrealistic and most impractical single-cylinder tax proposal.”

9. I tell wunna when Mia and the BLP done in this first 5 years, there will be no platform for UPP, Solutions and the other new parties. The Dems’ will keep their old support.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces and Simple, may I respectfully say that you are both talking 1st form utopian gobbly-gock re ambassadors et al. The blogmaster opined that “they should also be experienced wise in the ways of the world” but I go further to say they definitely should be political animals of the best breed and for thise most important posts be absolutely a political ally of the country leader or Foreign Minister.

The top professional staff at the embassy are the ones who must be fluent in multiple languages etc surely…but the ambassador must be otherwise a sharp politician who can finagle and finesse the interface between his nation’s leaders and the leaders of his/her posting.

If an ambassador is also a gifted linguist in addition to the other skills he/she possesses then excellent …yes of course there are also piss poor ambassadors/consuls general when an ole fogey is so enjoying the fruits of political patronage then the embassy pro staff quickly will fess that out and generally minimize any stupidity impact.

So what instances/evidence are there that Bajan political appointments have had a devastating bad effect on our foreign policy and made the country so comatose to be dying? Bushell was a political appointee in Miami years ago and from all reports worked tirelessly to the good of the nation…so too the political appointee in NY some terms back around the Thompson time…so too the former C&W man who was in Brussels or wherever he was.

It’s facile to make these grand statements but we do need to clean our spectacles and see the reality that we elect POLITICIANS to drive these posting decisions and surely a political calculus will be made on whom to appoint…we could not have gotten this far if professionals were in fact not diligently manning the show in conjunction with the political appointees, now could we!

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght

@ De Ingrunt Word aka De Pedantic Dribbler.

I will pause a while me ole friend to discuss with you what the real world demands of the roles of a diplomat.

I have copied a bit from the US Diplomacy Site which speaks of how “they all have the same mission—to represent the interests and policies of the United States.

But what does that mean to the unitiated?

Does it mean getting into rangles with your deputy head of mission in london and then, when your government that gave you the pick is soundly defeated at the polls to send an internal document to the newspapers because your deputy will supercede you in the new administration?

So where do de ole man begin to inform you of the real world functions of Ambassadors from serious countries which do not take these postings as a reward for long service in the Public Service?

Sometimes I get the impression that you does have these Cuh Dear moments for these people because you might know Errol Humpries Personally or Trevor Clarke erstwhile at LIME and figure that your loyalty comments would assuage their disgruntled spirits cause de ole man ent sparing a feller.

Dis is simple 101 diplomacy common sense.

Why is I going send one of dem scvunt to Merica to hobnob wid de white people dem in Washington? Fuh dem to give dem dog Immunity when it bite someone?

Fuh me to pay for croisantes at Little Washington at $300 a sitting?

Whu after all DIW dem is not dere to acquire any state secrets about the russians or restricted cities in Moscow.

Dem is dere to find opportunities for trade and FOREX generation for Barbados NOT ONE BADWORD ELSE

I going gots to visit you soon in Murica causing I see dat you getting a little ammmmm slow wid dese tings and I jes wondering effing you alright and ting

Whu after all people like me also getting down in age and fighting wid de vagaries of life and health but it ent affecting de brain jes yet.

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Piece…when I lived in NYC..the Barbados government bought a US 2 million dollar property in the swanky part of Forest Hills, Queens NY….with taxpayers money…that was in the earlier part of 2000…last I heard, not only was that property not being maintained, but it burnt down….have not heard a word about it since.

While in Canada…I heard about the neglect of the Barbados taxpayer funded Consular property in Ottawa…

Wuh if they can’t maintain the damn properties they live in….what diplomatic skills they got what…

….I have met some of them personally in the consulate in Toronto…they are the biggest bunch of small minded, petty, backward and unknowledgeable jackasses ya can ever want to meet calling themselves diplomats.., and if anyone want ti challenge me.., there aint nothing wrong with my memory nor mouth.

I also met the ones in NYC on 2nd Ave and Lexington….they still cannot hide the slave in them….steuupps..