debt
Source: Marla Dukharan 2017 ICAB presentation

Since being elevated to office on 25 May 2018, the Mia Mottley government has moved at a frenetic pace- or so it seems- when compared to the the former Freundel Stuart administration which was characterized by sloth. It should be obvious the path being pursued by the government was planned before winning the government. The speed at which it has assembled a team to support government tells a story of preplanning.

What does it mean?

The new administration gets an A for preparation and the willingness to wrestle with the many nettlesome issues affecting the country. The pundits have fodder for debate why the former administration was unable to secure the support of stakeholders in the social partnership and wider civil society.   This week for example, we learned that the NUPW National Council agreed to a low single digit wage increase for public sector workers. In a sentence, the former government was unable to lead the various parties to achieve positive results, a prerequisite of a leader.

It is only the most loyal supporter of the Democratic Labour Party who continues to reject the position that after ten years at the helm of government the economy refused to positively respond. Twenty plus downgrades from international rating agencies, declining foreign reserves since taking office, running annual current account and budget deficits, inability to deliver wage increases to public servants, there has been a visible deterioration in physical infrastructure- roads, buildings, sewage plants, supply of water, inadequate bus and garbage collection service, unable to enact transparency legislation, declining confidence and misuse of the NIS Scheme unable to public recent audited financials,  unable to respond to Auditor General concerns, increase backlog in the case load of Barbados Courts which attracted frequent uncomplimentary remarks from the CCJ, to name a few.

The failings identified had as an undergird a pervasive lack of discipline how the affairs of the country were managed by the former government. The electorate responded by its 70% response vote at the polls that enough was enough!

For the first time many Barbadians will be transitioning to a reality that it is not business as usual. The feel good factor of jettisoning a non performing government will disappear in the coming days as more austerity measures are delivered. The blogmaster anticipates that Prime Minister Mia Mottley will will move quickly in her term to implement draconian policy measures to achieve improved results in the three year time horizon promised to get to light at the end of a long tunnel. On cue a mini-Budget is scheduled for Monday.

There is the danger Prime Minister Mottley faces that the unprecedented mandate she received at the polling booth last month can be eroded in quick time if the recovery path she has committed the country goes off track. We are in the hurricane season and all that it promises, oil price has been increasing, OECD countries have been curbing flight of southbound capital along with other external influences. Then there is possibility of bad policy formulation because of a misread of the symptoms of the local economy.

All eyes will be on Mademoiselle Prime Minister Mia Mottley next week as she makes the shift from communicating the political rhetoric of the political campaign trail to delivering a policy statement which will impact Bajan households in the pockets.

#brace

84 responses to “Mademoiselle Prime Minister Mia Mottley to Deliver Mini-budget – shifting from the rhetoric”

1. A govt that defaults on its debt and missed an imterest payment is go
    given an A what de RH am i hearing doah

2. Wait…whatever became of the other exyardfowl Alvin…he turned out to be the smarter one, jumped ship over a year ago…that was the instinct of the scholar in Alvin…

3. David,

I can’t believe that some posters here would honestly believe that, a master tactician and strategist like our very able, intelligent and empathic, The Hon. PM Mottley, would impose such drastic hardship as a $5.00 bus fare on those who may be least likely to be able to absorb it at this time, the most vulnerable of our society.

To be sure, we know that we are all going to have to put our hands to the oars to help keep the ship of State on a corrected course as directed by our helmsperson at the wheel, none other than our Hon. PM. Just remember folk ” the Lord has been the people’s guide these past 400 (?) years and with him on our side (AGAIN) we have no need to fear”. I added the word “again” as I do not know just who the last administration had guiding them for the last 10 years, it surely was not our Lord God or His Holy Spirit……. not when I could hear a member of the last administration on a political platform swearing very blatantly calling the Lord’s name in vain and another one so lowedown as to use some of the vilest language to describe a future Prime Minister of this country.

So, like our PM Mottley has asked of us, let us “watch her” and her team as they go to work trying to avert the Peoples’ Bus from being driven off the cliff at top speed. Please note, I wrote, “Peoples’ Bus” and not “The Peoples’ Army Bus” !! We should all be aware of just what happened to that particular bus. I guess it will wash ashore sometime in the future after going off the Crane cliff. That is if the sea weed does not keep it buried forever somewhere off the Crane!! Lollll, Murdahhh!

4. Jeff

I am looking but I can’t find Pedro Welch’s article now.

Also look at Sir Ronald Saunders, page 20 of Barbados Today..

My feeling is that if an election cannot throw up a leader of the opposition naturally, then it needs to be held again until it can produce a constitutionally sound parliament.

5. Note Skeritt in Dominica!

“There is no need for an opposition”

This is a problem throughout the Caribbean.

6. Fractured BLP Avatar

Well on this coming Monday all Barbadians will experience the first effects of tropical weather for hurricane season 2018 as ……Madam PM unleash her ” mini storm ” !

Brace for winds topping 160 mph !

7. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

How about enlisting those residents of Dodds to engage in the removal of the sargassum weed? Any chance of our “elite” university doing some thorough research on this intrusive weed? Can it be used in cosmetics? Perhaps it can be ingested and promoted as being a health drink. The raw material is there in abundance; we must exploit it.

With regard to managing this weed matter, Czar Mia has shown that she intends to be proactive – unlike her predecessor. If she can manage this weed problem then there is a list of of other low hanging problems that she can resolve which will not break the bank and will highlight to Barbadians that we as a nation are still capable of fixing problems.

@ Piece,

You commented recently that there are many important people who visit BU. Having listened to Czar Mia’s government proposed programme at the opening of our new parliament; would you not agree with me that she has harvested a lot of our ideas that we have generated over a number of years here on BU.

I applaud her for that. After all, if an idea is sound and valid why battle with it? Was it not the previous Prime Minister who stated that he was not interested in “noise” with reference to social media. Two leaders with very different styles. Let’s hope that Czar MIa does not develop the same set of hard ears as her defeated opponent.

8. How about enlisting those residents of Dodds to engage in the removal of the sargassum weed? Any chance of our “elite” university doing some thorough research on this intrusive weed? Can it be used in cosmetics? Perhaps it can be ingested and promoted as being a health drink. The raw material is there in abundance; we must exploit it.
    With regard to managing this weed matter, Czar Mia has shown that she intends to be proactive – unlike her predecessor.
    +++++++++++++++++++

Most of the weed on Crane Beach has gone, without Auntie Mia’s help!

It has decayed and some pretty smart people have cut channels through it to allow the sea to wash in and then wash it out.

They used the natural rip action of the tidal flows that cause beach erosion.

I think they can even get better if they get a high volume pump to cut the channels with water and without an excavator.

The source of the water at the Crane is inexhaustible ….. the sea.

Use what is there already.

The financial value of the moss to Barbados is the damage it does the economy and the prospect of converting that physical damage into legal monetary damages.

9. Keith Claudius Mitchell was born in the community of Brizan, Saint George’s. Mitchell graduated from the University of the West Indies with a Bachelor of Science degree in mathematics and chemistry in 1971. He gained a master’s degree from Howard University in 1975 and a doctorate in mathematics and statistics from American University in 1979.[1]

What is the difference between Keith Mitchell and Auntie Mia?

KCM is a genius, Auntie Mia is a lawyer.

KCM has spent much of his life modelling and understanding how systems work, Auntie Mia has spent little time in court pitting her brains against sharper brains.

Keith Mitchell in the Grenada environment can do anything.

10. ” Minister Humphrey said, adding that in the future Government intends to in-vest in a plant to utilise the seaweed ”

So what happens is the Sargassum does not land on the shores of Barbados. ?

Remember what happen with flying fish ?

11. Grenada since its independence has had Gairy, then Maurice Bishop and then more confusion

It is one party territory by nature.

A genius has conned a connable population who know no better into believing he is the answer …. well not everybody … there are 20,000 who voted against him in a population of 100,000.

12. http://dominicanewsonline.com/news/homepage/news/politics/pm-skerrit-says-there-is-no-need-for-opposition-in-dominica/

Meanwhile Skerrit over in Dominica is watching and licking his chops.

We need to do this thing right.

Elections need to be called and a constitutionally sound parliament formed.

Unfortunately, all the interest groups who have financed the parties will howl in protest for a simple reason.

Their two boys, B and D will start from scratch with all the other parties.

People are already vex at the Dees and will become increasingly vex at the Bees the longer this charade continues.

The two may start from way below the fresh faces that have presented themselves … and I suspect if elections were to be called, a lot more Bajans may answer the call of duty fearlessly!!

Fearlessly because the Dees and Bees will be under the cosh and the new candidates can concentrate on selling themselves and their ideas to the voters!!

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

You said and I quote “…So what happens is the Sargassum does not land on the shores of Barbados. ?..”

What happens with de Bigfoot plant de New minister man Humphrey want to build??

You see why de ole man ent say word one bout the BLP candidates when de grandson was did running de Not One RH seat campaign?

You see how mia had was to give each of dem a script to spesk from during the election campaign?

Steupseee

All dem ingrunt swine got to do is nice a large capacity wood chip machine and spread out de sargassum cow a few days pun aluminium sheets and after dem dry out in de sun feed de sargassum through de chipper

Of course you would have to modify de blade a little but any machine shop can do dat.

You see how a next batch uh ingrunt people now running de mad house?

You see how Prime Minister Mottley going got to monitor all 30 uh she people’s all dem Ministers, she senators and all dem permanent secretaries?

Steupsee

14. So what happens is the Sargassum does not land on the shores of Barbados. ?

++++++++++++++++++++++

More BS hot air which you have spotted Hants.

Remember the new $400 million sugar factory?

Same rubbish.

Neither party, B, or D, is tooled for the issues before us.

They are parasites and can create nothing.

15. I see Reverend Joe has provided Caswell with a mate.

“Crystal Chandeliers”

Oh the crystal chandeliers light up the paintings on your wall
    The marble statuettes are standing stately in the hall
    But will the timely crowd that has you laughing loud help you dry your tears
    When the new wears off of your crystal chandeliers

I never did fit in too well with the folks you knew
    And it’s plain to see that the likes of me don’t fit with you
    So you traded me for the gaiety of the well to do
    And you turned away from the love I offered you
    Oh the crystal chandeliers…

I see your picture in the news most every day
    You’re the chosen girl of the social world so the stories say
    But a paper smile only lasts a while then it fades away
    And the love we knew will come home to you some day
    Oh the crystal chandeliers…
    When the new wears off of your crystal chandeliers

16. Look at Matura Beach in Trinidad in June 2015.

June but 2015!!!!

Look at Trinidad’s response

Why would you want to store something that will decay?

Same BS hot air … but money spending!!

The Caribbean is spending a wash of money to solve an environmental problem that may have its origins in the 2010 BP oil spill in the gulf.

It is the same in all of our neighbours, Grenada as well.

The islands need to provide a united front and try to convert this disaster into legal damages.

It is hammering our fragile economies!!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/letters_to_editor/70245/bp-called-account-sargassum-invasion

Do you see the difference between a person who has the background in STEM and a lawyer?

The STEM people need to be directing the lawyers!!

Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

Lawyers are useless as leaders because they think in precedents past.

STEM folks think in the future!!

This Government will be a disaster left to its own devices!!

17. How many STEM cells in the House of Assembly?

18. @Hants
    So what happens is the Sargassum does not land on the shores of Barbados. ?
    The beaches are alive with the smell of sargassum….. This man was touted for his academic credentials prior to the election, in another medium he is quoted as saying the sargassum weed chase away the flying fish….. ah wonder what happen in the other years when Bajan fisherman were arrested in T & T waters while chasing flying fish. This is an opportune time for Mottley to reduce the size of her Cabinet ah mean two idiotic statements in such a short time when he isn’t even under pressure?

Mottley said she will keep an eye on her Ministers, this one bears watching.

19. Interesting words John in that song by Charlie Pride -‘Crystal Chandlier’.

Note in particular: But will the timely crowd,that has you laughing loud,help you dry your tears;

when the New wears off your crystal chandlier. Whappax. Wuhloss!

“You are the chosen girl of the social world so the papers say,

But a paper smile only lasts a while,then it fades away.etc etc etc..…………

Lyrics to die for ha ha

20. My only question about tomorrow’s budget “What is in it for me.”

21. @John June 9, 2018 8:03 AM “I found Pedro Welch’s article on the constitutional issue in Barbados Today yesterday to be interesting.
    He posits that there needs to be a plurality of opposition members.”

All well and good. But he is Maizie’s son. Maizie the former DLP parliamentarian.

22. Alvin Cummins Avatar

I have neither jumped ship, or become a Paling Cock. I am still a loyal member of the DLP; been one since 1964, and will always be. I have been busy with other pursuits: just completed another book, which should soon be published. It should be of interest to you, Well Well especially. It is called:”Friends and Relations; Indigenous Indian Enslavement; Slavery in The Americas, Barbados and Bermuds”. It looks at slavery in the 17th and 18th centuries, and sheds light on the part Barbados-plantation owners- played in settling the Carolinas; especially South Carolina; the part it played in extending the plantation system of slavery to the American continent, and the American Civil War, and the effect of the importation of Indigenous Indians as slaves into Barbados and other Caribbean countries.
    The election is over; the tumult and the shouting dies, and the revulsion of the populace for the DLP, its policies; remedies for correcting what was needed for the success of the economy, etc has been palpably shown; 30-0. I shall refrain from commenting on the performance of the current government, until later; but I shall certainly comment, because they have begun with failings and foibles, right away. But later in this regard.
    I withheld many of my opportunities to comment because of other matters. But contrary to beliefs I am not a coward. The DLP has won elections, by wide margins and have lost elections, badly (26-2 at one time), and the BLp has won by large margins 30-0, and lost by large margins (25-3). Thus you can expect the Phoenix to rise from the ashes again.

23. @John June 9, 2018 12:38 PM “What about Auntie Mia?”

You know don’t you that there is a Bajan saying “you look like you living at you aunt”

Ask some of the bright boys here what it mean?

All I can say is that “auntie” is not always a term of endearment.

24. Well hello Alvin..glad to see you ..I see you are still as cantankerous as ever when it comes to mindless, blind loyalty …

You must post a copy of your manuscript when it’s finish, I would not mind reading it.

This is a different era Alvin..no one wants to see that gang of idiots ever again, don’t hold your breath for any resurrection in this lifetime, not after that amount of damage to the people, I have never seen bajans so rightfully angry.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Talking Loud and Saying Nothing

Not only does she come here but so do her team members who come and take (nearly said teif) people’s ideas.

Here is the thing Talking Loud and Saying Nothing, for there to be a healing and an enabling environment for growth they would do well to assimilate what you said

Which was “…then there is a list of of other low hanging problems that she can resolve which will not break the bank and will highlight to Barbadians that we as a nation are still capable of fixing problems…”

The issue that is central to this rebuilding is that NONE OF THESE GOVERNMENTS HAVE EVER UNDERSTOOD HOW TO ENGAGE ITS PEOPLE.

Some time mid week I had spoken of the rebuilding effort by Germany after the War.

I had quoted about their use of its female citizens to move the stones and the rubble in the rebuilding effort.

What HAS TO BE CENTRAL IN THIS EFFORT IS EQUITY.

People have to know that they are noted for their contributions.

We need to understand and nourish the “me-ism” gene and phenomenon in a positive way.

The town hall concept has to be modified for the benefit of the nation BUT WITH EQUITY FOR THE CITIZEN.

And therein lies the real issues.

The common man who votes for said government AFTER SAID GOVERNMENT IS ELECTED, is treated as the enemy of the State.

As simplistic as it might seem Talking Loud and Saying Nothing, because the average man IS NOT accorded respect we feel alienated from the same society that dem does chant bout enfranchising when dem sharing out dem covenants and manifestos

So let de ole man tell you how your ideas MUST BE IMPLEMENTED FOR THIS LEGACY TO WORK.

THAT LIST OF LOW HANGING ISSUES has to be circulated more actively by the Virtual Town Hall.

The lists gots to be out there AND the actions of the common bajan TO RESOLVE THESE PROBLEMS have to be highlighted and a continuous “big up” whether just verbal or monetary OR A COMBINATION OF BOTH (AND ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION) must be utilized on a daily basis

We need to replicate what parallels that single recognition ceremony for the King and Queen of The Crop on a national basis with its focus on these low hanging problems

AND GIVE CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE.

The Government of Barbados SPECIFICALLY IT’S MINISTERS AND THEIR ACCOMPLICES have to stop competing with is citizens and create a new national expectation of what pride and industry means.

If I see my black ass referenced in resolving the issue of sargassum pun Accra or on Sir Kyffin’s beachfront or a nex feller promote a non solicited community tourism initiative and it attract tourisses dem den let it be dat dat feller get noted for de idea AND DAT IT ENT GET TEIF BY DR MINISTER OF TOURISM.

Better still if the idea is sustainable ensure that it can be nurtured to become a partnership that refunds to the benefit of its progenitors.

Else you create a feeling in your citizens that government is a thief WITH IMMUNITY ACROSS THE COMMUNITY. pun intended

I will never sing the National Anthem of Barbados again because i see tat there is no Piece of the Rock for people like me.

And so Talking Loud and Saying Nothing if the Mini Budget that Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley will produce for tomorrow with all its grandiose ideas CANNOT ADDRESS THE FUNDAMENTAL ISSUE OF HOW BAJANS CAN SEE THAT THEY ARE VALUED CITIZENS IN THIS SYSTEM & NOT MINIONS she is wasting time

And her legacy will end at being the first female Prime Minister of Barbados FULLSTOP

26. For Professor Cumberbatch. Pedro Welch’s article “Atherley at odds with Constitition” appeared in two parts in the Nation as follows: part 1: The Daily Nation of Thursday June 7, 2018, page 12. Part 2: The Weekend Nation of Friday 8 June 2018, page 18.

27. You cannot say this enough times, the last 40 years have been horribly disenfranchising for the average black bajan because of the nasty actions of both governments against the people….unless you were part of some yardfowl brigade and most times not even then.

“AND GIVE CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE.

The Government of Barbados SPECIFICALLY IT’S MINISTERS AND THEIR ACCOMPLICES have to stop competing with is citizens and create a new national expectation of what pride and industry means.

If I see my black ass referenced in resolving the issue of sargassum pun Accra or on Sir Kyffin’s beachfront or a nex feller promote a non solicited community tourism initiative and it attract tourisses dem den let it be dat dat feller get noted for de idea AND DAT IT ENT GET TEIF BY DR MINISTER OF TOURISM.

Better still if the idea is sustainable ensure that it can be nurtured to become a partnership that refunds to the benefit of its progenitors.

Else you create a feeling in your citizens that government is a thief WITH IMMUNITY ACROSS THE COMMUNITY. pun intended

I will never sing the National Anthem of Barbados again because i see tat there is no Piece of the Rock for people like me.

And so Talking Loud and Saying Nothing if the Mini Budget that Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley will produce for tomorrow with all its grandiose ideas CANNOT ADDRESS THE FUNDAMENTAL ISSUE OF HOW BAJANS CAN SEE THAT THEY ARE VALUED CITIZENS IN THIS SYSTEM & NOT MINIONS she is wasting time

And her legacy will end at being the first female Prime Minister of Barbados FULLSTOP.”

28. Fractured BLP Avatar

In a few hours time Barbados’ most magucal Minister of Finance – Madam PM – will announce the following :

• Bus 🚌 fares up to $ 6.00 per journey ….up from $ 2.00 !

• Pensioners traveling on public transport ” free ” abolished immediately !

• Non Contributory pensions to be adjusted upwards once the IMF gives the all clear !

• Constituency Councils disbanded immediately !

• Wage hike for public officers on hold until January 1st 2023 !

• NSRL & VAT to remain in place until talks with the IMF are concluded !

• 30 Cabinet ministers to be appointed immediately !

• 12 Government Senators to be appointed immediately !

• Avinash Persaud to be appointed immediately !

• Ambassadors at large & Plenitentiary to be appointed immediately !

• Special Envoys to be appointed immediately !

It appears that once you are in Red House ……you will get immediate benefits !!!

While all those who are on the outside will get PROMISES !!

Looka muh crosses …..!

Mia cares ……but for whom ????

29. I didn’t get any of the fatted calf which the DLP slaughtered and shared.

Where’s the beef?

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…the exyardfowl without a yard can now talk from experience and with authority about what his political masters did to bajans for 10 long years….he can now predict the actions of the present government. …based on the ex government’s wicked actions.

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I understand it was reported that Dumbville is trying to assume leadership of the defunct party, like if he and them have not done enough damage to the majority population, it appears he thinks there is more to be done in his thirst to become prime minister.

32. Fractured BLP Avatar

Will Madam PM also default on the $ 30 million a year repayment for the Doods prison – that she negotiated last time around ??

A fine example – of one’s past deeds coming back to haunt them !!!!

33. charles skeete Avatar

No John
    Since we are presently in the business of amending the constitution
    we could also do end to reflect that that if only one person from the group opposing the government has been elected then that person should be appointed should be dppointed leader of the opposition or the person who have the support of the majority of elected members of a group who oppose the Government
    and while we are at it erase the discriminatory reference to “his” which suggests that the post of Governor General was only intended to be for a female
    Stewpseeee

34. Good she does not have to worry about Cahill!