Submitted by DAVID  COMISSIONG, President, Clement Payne Movement
IF  EVER  THERE  WAS  A  TIME for clear and principled thinking in Barbados, that time is now!

I would therefore like to publicly say to newly appointed Senator Caswell Franklyn and to all other Barbadians who – like him – may believe that governmental policies to restore free tertiary education at the University of the West Indies (UWI) and to increase non-contributory old age pensions are signs of largess emanating from a governmental administration that is acting as if it is “awash with cash”, that they are barking up the wrong tree !
The reality is that the fundamental economic and social development strategy of Barbados is to base our national developmental efforts firmly on the foundation of a well educated and trained population.
The basic concept is that our nation’s economic development will arise from our people’s educational and cultural development, and vice versa. Thus, these two spheres of development (our nation’s economic development and our people’s educational/cultural development) are symbiotic and must mutually propel each other.
It is therefore critical to our country’s economic welfare that we ensure that a sizable proportion of our young people be exposed to tertiary level education!
When the former Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration first imposed the payment of tuition fees on Barbadians attending the UWI, they assured the country that this change of educational policy would NOT result in any fall off of Barbadians accessing university level education.
Well, they were wrong! And immediately after the change of policy well over 4,000 Barbadians dropped out of the UWI system! (The university administration was subsequently able to engage in measures that reduced the number to some 3,200.)
A country like Barbados simply cannot afford to maintain an educational policy that — on an ongoing basis– is causing some 3,200 citizens to be deprived of university level education!
Restoring free university education for Barbadians at the UWI is therefore not a sign of irresponsible largess, but rather is a pressing economic developmental necessity for our nation.
Now on to this matter of increasing the amount of the paltry non-contributory pensions that are currently given to the most vulnerable segment of the Barbadian population.
We Barbadians must insist on Barbados always being a “civilized and humane” society.  And in a civilized and humane society, when economic conditions become difficult, the poor and destitute are NOT abandoned! In fact, it is precisely in such difficult times that a Government must show its true worth as the principal defender of the “general welfare” of the people.
In the final analysis, governance is all about determining priorities, and for sure, the welfare of the most destitute and vulnerable of our old age pensioners  must be deemed a priority.
I would like to conclude by advising my friend, Senator Caswell Franklyn, to resist the temptation to try to profit at the expense of his fellow trade union leaders in the NUPW and the BWU.
The fact of the matter is that it was not that the leadership of the NUPW and the BWU “refused to cooperate with the last government”, but that the last government – the Freundel Stuart administration – refused to cooperate with the trade unions and indeed, with the entire working class!

208 responses to “Time to Think Clear and Straight Caswell”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well

My dear lady, You have seen my post which is in suspense but ehich the Honourable Blogmaster will soon release

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Kirk Rueladel

And you know them to be the “absolute best sovereign debt restructuring consultants” because?

Pronouncements that are unsubstantiated yet repeated by the neophytes with the hope of finally being accepted as the truth

3. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

PUDRYR;

Your post above looks real serious, yuh!

I hope that Mia will do what is the right thing. i.e. Investigate this thoroughly and, if warranted, let Rawdon Adams go and find another Minister to do the job he was slated to do. Otherwise crapaud waiting to smoke we pipe.

Lucky for her she has an exit clause in this case. Hope a small dose of Festina lente will prevail in the future.

Looks as if your instincts were right on this one!

4. Piece…ya know me..I am the Bushman’s witch, complete with broom…just ask him.

5. “Remember that the IMF and other international agencies monitor the more serious of these entries.”

And what many don’t know is that there are “persons of interest” within that group of names being so proudly displayed.

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I WONDER IF CASWELL CAN GET THIS IMPORTANT QUESTION ANSWERED

ARE THE TEACHERS AND OTHER STAFF AT WHAT RONALD JONES CALLED “THE SIX REGISTERED AND CHARTERED BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS IN BARBADOS” PAYING INCOME TAX IN OUR CASH STRAPPED ISLAND.

WAIVER OF INCOME TAX WAS THE NORM AT THE SCHOOLS AT WHICH I TAUGHT

CAN CASWELL ASCERTAIN WHAT IS THE COST OF THE CHARTERS, AND TO WHOM AND WHEN THE MONIES WERE PAID……..OR IF THE MONIES WERE PASSED UNDER THE TABLE AS IS THE NORM ELSEWHERE?

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

CAN CASWELL ASCERTAIN IF THE STAFF AT WHAT RONALD JONES CALLED “THE SIX REGISTERED AND CHARTERED BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS IN BARBADOS” PAYING INCOME TAX IN OUR CASH STRAPPED ISLAND….HAVE THE APPROPRIATE WORK PERMITS .

OR ARE THE STAFF MEMBERS WORKING WITHOUT WORK PERMITS

8. @ WW&C
    …ya know me..I am the Bushman’s witch, complete with broom…just ask him.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    For the record…
    Bushie ‘has no witches’ … with or without brooms.

That said….the bushman is AWARE of the various shenanigans of assorted BU residents – and has, in the past, been disposed to expose such…
    …Some have run away from BU…
    …Some have retreated to one-liners
    …One has employed transference to deem Bushie a ‘son of the Devil’
    …and you have continued to fly and to cast your spells…..

Bushie is simply an ex-brass-bowl-whacker-wielding-BBE-yardfowl.