The biblical quote ‘to whom much is given, much will be required (Luke 12:48) best describes the position the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) finds itself having decimated the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) 30 zip in the recently held 2018 General Election. Put another way, ‘with great power comes great responsibility‘.

One of the first decisions made by Prime Minister Mia Mottley was to appoint a 26 member Cabinet, supported by 2 Ambassadors. The unprecedented size of Mottley’s Cabinet must by supported by a civil service structure that should require additional manpower, we know taxpayers will have to carry greater cost of her team to compare with her predecessor.

The Prime Minister has given the explanation that the perilous – dire is the word she used – state of the country’s affairs will justify the large Cabinet. Her message throughout her campaign was- many hands make light of the work to be done.

The blogmaster agrees the optics of Mottley’s decision to appoint a large Cabinet at a time the country is experiencing serious economic challenges is not good. However, her decision if viewed through a Machiavellian lens suggests she has had to weigh the political cost benefit of keeping her large team happy compared to spending one million tax dollars. Time will tell if her 26 member Cabinet and supporting cast will perform better than the Stuart Cabinet to justify the added expense. She starts as odds on favourite if one reads the result of the 70% of the electorate that voted for her on the 24 May 2018.

Barbadians heard the ‘deja vuan’ promise by newly installed Attorney General Dale Marshall that he will be going after members of the former DLP administration who committed wrong. Public sentiment is running high that the time has come to prosecute elected politicians and public officials of perceived wrongdoing. The blogmaster sides with the view that Barbadian politicians are not washed in the blood of the lamb. All over the world politicians are being prosecuted for crimes. Members of the local political class possess the frailties of being human and are therefore as susceptible to temptation as the other politician living elsewhere. The blogmaster has had it up to HERE, election cycle after election cycle, being on the end of promises from elected politicians to prosecute corruption that is never delivered on.

One way Prime Minister Mia Mottley will be able to justify the cost of her Cabinet and support team is to discretely list savings to taxpayers. The blogmaster goes further: there must be a concerted effort to ‘prosecute’ transactions that smell of corrupt behaviour. Let us witness a vibrant Public Accounts Committee with active followup on Auditor General Reports. Let us hold members of Boards of SOEs accountable for decisions taken and prosecute to where the trail of wrongdoing leads.

The time has come to redefine Barbados as a just society. It isn’t fair to jail Barbadians from the lower strata of society for ‘misdemeanors’ and ignore the flouting of the financial rules of government by public officials, and cases of obvious malfeasance hinted at in successive Auditor General reports.   The willingness of the Wickhams and other operatives to turn the other check must be seen for what it is- a business as usual condition to protect the cabal.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley is perched at a watershed moment in our history. The task to turnaround the economy and enact policies to assist with stitching the social fabric of Barbados will require a herculean effort from her team and Barbadians everywhere. One suspects she and team do not want to be relegated to the political  dustbin of history to follow her predecessors. The time has come for politicians to followup on accusations of corruption delivered on the platform with action.

This is a different time.

Over to you Prime Minister!

133 responses to “Time to Prosecute, Mademoiselle Prime Minister!”

1. @Enuff
    While you lie and get palpitations over the next 5 years, we’ll perform. Watch we!
    Looks like the ubiquitous butterfly finally got you to admit what you have been denying for some-time.

2. Barbadians fight about commas, forgetting the bigger picture. I really feel inclined to comment that … However …

At the same time, the international financial markets has delivered its verdict:

“Barbados has issued three international bonds worth over $600m — all of which had coupon payments due this month — and their prices plunged from about 90 cents on the dollar to under 50 cents on the dollar by Tuesday, as investors digested the news of an immediate payment moratorium. That equals an annualised yield of over 33 per cent for the bond due in 2021.” (FT)

To make it very clear: This is NO debt restructuring. This is called unilateral declaration of an hair-cut.

The article “Barbados braced for tough measures to clear debt burden” in FT also claimed:

“Over two-thirds is domestic debt owed to local investors and banks, which raises concerns that a tough restructuring could imperil the solvency of the domestic financial system.”

“However, that means that much of the debt relief Barbados is seeking will have to come out of international creditors, which would also lessen the drain of dollars from the central bank’s coffers.”

Only Barbadians think that Deutsche, CS and the hedge funds will waive any claim.

And also read this from wikipedia about Argentina:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argentine_debt_restructuring

Read this article very carefully. No sane international bank will borrow Barbados any substantial amount of USD to buy more SUV´s more villas and to spend more holidays in freaky Disneyland for the next 20 years.

3. @ David,

I just searched “Veco” and “3s” and found blogs from 2007. Just refreshing my memory of the previous accusations of….

4. “How in God’s earth can she prosecute anything or even anybody when she says the country is broke? Idiots, that was just another bunch of jobby talk to get votes.”

Maripoa

Yes, I agree with your above comments……and I understand WHY you are UPSET. I had similar feelings when I realized the DLP’s manifesto promises of 2008 and 2013 that have not been fulfilled…….and called the DEMS “bold faced liars” as well.

I recall that, during the 2008 general election campaign……..and on the “eve” of the recent global recession (when Owen Arthur warned Barbadians that because “storm clouds were on the horizon,” there would be a need for careful management of a situation that had not yet reached crisis level………

………..an AMBITIOUS David Thompson and the DLP made some very “attractive” promises to ENTICE the electorate into voting for the DLP.

Thompson promised to IMMEDIATELY introduce integrity legislation requiring: a DECLARATION of ASSETS by public officials, a Code of Conduct for Ministers, a new Freedom of Information law, amendments to the Defamation laws and new constitutional provisions to rationalise the powers of the Prime Minister.

I’m sure you could also remember the DEMS promising:
    • Duty-free cars for police, nurses and teachers; VAT off electricity;
    • 2000 lots at $2.50 per square foot;
    • A special interest free fund for public sector employees;
    • There will be no user-fees for public patients at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital;
    • Setting up a General Practitioner service as an adjunct to the A&E unit to streamline patients entering it, thereby alleviating the long waits.
    • Upgrading the geriatric hospitals to treat the elderly for emergencies thereby taking the strain off of the A&E unit and freeing beds.
    • Extending the Textbook Loan Scheme to include Primary Schools.
    • Subsidizing the Amenities Fee for Students at the UWI.

They also promised to:
    • Create a Sports Administration Centre for all sports without a home.
    • Construct a National Sports Hostel for athletes from home and abroad.

An electorate that was completely fed up of the former Arthur led BLP administration, BELIEVED the DEMS’ manifesto “GIVE AWAYS” and gave Thompson a resounding victory at the polls.

Similarly to you, Barbadians likewise viewed these promises, many of which REMAINED UNFULFILLED as at May 23, 2018, (10 years and 3 months after)………. as “jobby talk to get votes,” while insisting Thompson and the DLP LIED.

Hence, the 30-0 THRASHING of the DLP, which you have not yet grasp, causing you to live in DENIAL.

My advice to you is:

……….the election campaign ENDED at 11:59 PM on May 23, 2018…….so STOP campaigning; accept the electorate’s decision and the DLP’s overwhelming defeat……..and MOVE ON.

……….give the new Mottley administration time.

5. “Trade unionist and newly appointed Opposition senator, Caswell Franklyn is of the view the first order of business in the House of Assembly should be to annul a number of contracts awarded to agencies and companies under the former Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration.

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the swearing in ceremony of senators at Government House on Monday, Franklynn said he will be “lobbying for change in the country”, starting with the annulments of the contracts.

Caswell said he has come into the position with “preconceived notions”, one of them being that to hand out contracts and lucrative tax concessions to friends and business associates of government ministers, right before demitting office, is both unfair and corrupt.

“You have people with a contract for a year and then you renew them for five years. Even though that the boards and the Minister had the power to do it, they did it improperly. It is a crime and I am going to lobby to see that something is done about that crime. You cannot be using the people’s resources to feather the nest of your friends.”

Parliament sittings are expected to resume today and Franklyn said he is eagerly anticipating the discussion on the review of the contracts.

“It has to come to the Senate and it has to come to the House. I am waiting with bated breath to move a resolution to annul them. We are struggling for resources in this country and we can’t just give them away because we have good friends who want concessions.”

Caswell said he will even go so far as to recommend that investigations be conducted into government’s actions. He said he suspects there is enough evidence for the Director of Public Prosecutions to bring charges against the transgressors.

“If they are not charged it won’t be because I didn’t try. It is because somebody thought better.

He said as a trade unionist he was well aware of how these “fancy arrangements” cause public sector workers to be saddled with the brunt of the work while those at the top reap all the benefits.”

6. What lies i told
    The article ask the relevant questions which Mottley needs to adress as to how on one hand. she has made glorious promises while stating the country is broke . isnt that a lie?

7. What lies i told
    The article ask the relevant questions which Mottley needs to adress as to how on one hand. she has made glorious promises while stating the country is broke . isnt that a lie?

8. Good on you Hants @ 2:24 p.m.

.Maybe these blogs should be reproduced to show what was the state of play prior to 2008.

9. Mariposa,

You are right. Government cannot raise the state pension and offer other waivers then ask the IMF for a loan. Just look at the ten Washington Consensus principles.

10. @T.Inniss

Your dear loving party had ten years to lock up people, let us see if Mottley can deliver.

11. @ David,

Did anyone break Town Planning laws ?

12. @Hants

Specific to which project?

13. Agree David. To be fair to you even before 2008 you were breathing fire about BLP CORRUPTION.

Now you are screaming DLP CORRUPTION.

It seems the more things change,the more they remain the same.

14. @ David,

You putting me between a ROCK and a HARD place with no safe HARBOUR forshelter. lol

15. @ David,

I gine try to take COVER while LYing in wait for your responses.

16. Will Baloney be on the prosecutorial menu ?

17. FearPlay June 5, 2018 11:38 AM “In addition to the alleged Mercedes vehicle for which duties and charges in the vicinity of $333,000 was waived, there is a rumor in circulation concerning an additional three vehicles of similar manufacture and for which there is mystery surrounding similar waivers. The alleged recipients are a wife, a brother and a senior manager/director of an associated company. ”

I still do not understand the lust for Mercedes’ Is this lust for a Mercedes something that a Simple Simon can understand?

After all if you are going to town, a ZR van at rush hour will likely get you there in just about the same time; and whether you disembark for your Mercedes or from a ZR van the 100 degree heat and the 98% humidity will hit you in exactly the same way.

So what is it exactly that a very expensive car does for you? Except potentially to get you into debt?

18. Who the fox prosecuting the hen house
    Again let Mia show balls by unlockkng the ministers assests profile starting with George Payne
    Until then her credibility remainsbin question in lieu of the fact that she has made promises which she cannot keep

19. @ Simple Simon wrote ” So what is it exactly that a very expensive car does for you? ”

Pleasure, excitement and speeding tickets. lol.

20. David BU

It is clear that both the BLP and DLP are using a similar “game plan.”

Prior to the 2008 general elections, for example, Thompson and the DLP made some very attractive promises, which included the following:

“Introduce a minimum pension threshold for all Barbadians. No Barbadian citizen will receive less than BD$500 a month on reaching pensionable age. • Maintain the differential between contributory and non-contributory pensions. • Ensure that old age pensioners receive a non-contributory pension of $6,032 per year which is $502.66 per month and contributory pensioners will receive $7,384.00 per year or $615.33 per month.” [Page 17, DLP’s 2008 manifesto]

“Subsidizing the Amenities Fee for Students at the UWI.” [Page 13, DLP 2008 manifesto]

………especially on the EVE of a global economic recession. After assuming office, the DEMS used their “mantra” of high debt, cost over runs and an “empty” Treasury, as excuses why they could not fulfill their promises.

Now, we have Mottley and the BLP, promising to restore government funded tertiary level education and increasing non-contributory pension…….which she may have to “rescind” because of the “dire state of the economy.”

21. Simple Simon, you ain’t so simple.. right on cue about the obsession with these Mercedes…but Bajans want to keep up with the Joneses….

22. “You are right. Government cannot raise the state pension and offer other waivers then ask the IMF for a loan. Just look at the ten Washington Consensus principles.”
    +++++++++++++++

I would prefer to hear the opinions of reputable economists on this issue, rather than from a so-called journalist that admitted he is not a trained/qualified economist and whose comprehension skills are questionable………

……..and who has been unable to present any successful economic policy initiative HE developed for any country.

I await the pejorative remarks.

23. @ David,

Is Barbados a multi lingual country ? ” mademoiselle ” “czars ” ?

I remain a loyal BU blogger with great taste in women but a propensity to write sheite. lol

24. Simple,

Right. 90% of the current debts are based on excessive gov and private spending for Mercedes Benz, BMW, Landrover, Miele washers, holiday in Europe, visits to Disneyland and other fancy stuff.

However, no politician so far is telling the voters that there is no human right to such things.

If all Barbadians had been wise you like, the island would be in perfect shape.

25. Sargeant
    Wrong! When I say we, it simply means the government/party I support not that I am an insider or involved. Stop fishing nuh and just watch we.🤣🤣

Mariposa
    Woman you spew lies purposely and repeatedly. A vile and dangerous human being.

26. @Hal Austin “Financial education in schools is cutting edge; the big problem now is who is going to teach young people about finance: conventional teachers trained in finance, or financial advisers trained to teach?”

Remember we will be teaching from reception upwards. I don’t believe that there are many financial advisers willing to work for elementary teachers’ wages. So the financial advisers will train the teachers, then the teachers will teach the children.

Financial literacy for a 4 year old will be best taught by someone who knows how to teach 4 year olds.

27. Enuff..everyone is suddenly out of sorts, yet I see so much opportunity, even Vivek is not his usual effervescent self….ya should ask him why.

..their world changed significantly in just a matter of hours, ya might have to exercise patience, unlike me who would kick all their asses down, there has never been a better time…lol

28. @Hants June 5, 2018 4:00 PM “Pleasure, excitement…”

Sex also does the pleasure excitement thingy very well and it is still free and non-taxable. Not even the IMF would dare to suggest taxing our greatest pleasure.

Would they?

29. Simple Simon,

I bow to your ready wisdom. I will also pass on your view to the prime minister of the UK and the bank of England who have been struggling with how to deal with financial literacy since Adam was a lad. Fools. The answer has always been there staring them in the face.

30. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

there is no evidence to charge the signatories to any of the contracts or the waiving of duties of criminal behaviour since they were all legally if not ethically executed
    Yes this action in the dying days of the administration should be regarded as disgraceful and distasteful and shold be frowned upon but it is evidence which counts in a court of law and not speculation or feelings or emoton or spite.

Charles Skeete

If the contracts are not ethically executed, my view is that they cannot be legally.

There is a little known offence called, “misfeasance in Public Office” that would apply in these circumstances. A person might have the legal right to perform some act but he must do so legally or properly. Failure to do the right thing could see the decision maker before the court.

31. Enuff. Where is the lie?. Isnt there evidence in the blp manifesto to support the fact of Mia promises
    Isnt there evidence supported by Mia statement that the country is in dire straits and needs the help of the IMF to pay its bill
    Then calling me a liar would not suffice the lies and contradictions Mia told the public to get the votes
    When you can explain Mia contrary statements then u can call me a liar
    But from my vantage point the only liar is Mottley
    Either the country is broke and she has to seek IMF help or any other statement or promises in reference that does not support the level of dire conditions of the country would make her a liar

32. Senator,

If there was no crime, the CS loan (which defaulted last week) could possibly constitute credit fraud. The CS loan is an international syndicated loan facility based on private law. The MoF might have been aware in 2013 that Barbados as a state would never ever be able to pay back the principal sum plus all interest. One must also consider the junk status of Barbadian public finances in 2013 when the deal was finalized.

I really do not understand why the DPP has submerged. Or does she only investigate when there is clear evidence, some kind of smoking gun?

Why do the officials in Barbados not take care of the fair interests of international creditors and investors?

33. Mariposa
    I should have also said, not too bright. Cuz I don’t know what the RH you just argued. Go and call Maureen on Talk yuh talk.🖐🏾

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Torn

The DPP in Barbados does not investigate; he/she does not have the resources/staff to investigate matters. The Police investigate what they consider to be breaches of the criminal law. After the investigation, a file is sent to the DPP, who would decide if there is enough evidence to prosecute.

35. Folks, gov confirmed that S&P and Moody´s will downgrade Barbados to C/D.

Devaluation is now for sure. The only open question is if the ATMs stop working for the locals.

Be happy, there are many letters in the alphabet left so far 😉

36. Senator,

Thank you very much for your remark. Then the new gov needs to expand the DPP´s power and office. The Royal Barbadian Police is not the right place to investigate a possible 250 mill. USD credit fraud. You cannot expect some police officers living from hand to mouth to understand the technicalities of an international syndicated loan facility.

I can only tell you from the places where Deutsche and CS are located that the prosecutors there start independent investigations in such cases and use the police as mere helpers. Deutsche and CS won´t excuse the Barbadian gov on the basis of these minor details of the local rules on criminal investigations.

If I follow your remarks, senator, Barbados is now without a proper unit for high-level crimes and white-collar crime.

37. Freedom Crier Avatar

Opposition senator wants DLP government prosecuted

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/opposition-senator-wants-dlp-government-prosecuted

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

RE: “You cannot expect some police officers living from hand to mouth to understand the technicalities of an international syndicated loan facility.”

@Tron. I suspect it’s not the intent of your post but you make a profound point: why would anyone who has the technical and investigative knowledge to carefully decipher financial crimes be living hand-to-mout!

Don’t berate the possible skills of Bajan police detectives… rather recognize that even international detectives (Police depts, FBI, SEC or whomever) working on finance crimes are decently remunerated to help keep them on the side of the law and of course they have the great perk of being a ‘powerful’ law officer.

That said to advise that Bajan police detectives can certainly be given the same training, salary and perks to operate at such a level…BUT as fast as they break the first big money case some private corp would swoop in and offer them superior rewards to leave public service.

Life can be complicated in small economies with certain types of public service jobs…and maintaining competence often is not a fault of the aptitude or skills of the locals!

Incidentally, there is more than enough finance investigative skill available at Interpol and other international agencies where the financial shenanigans ether start or where the money is deposited…Bajan detectives are more than competent enough to work with these officials when/if serious investigations are REALLY intended.

39. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Mia needs to get an international investigation going on these exministers and their business partners and bribers, but just as important. ..put their pensions in a holding pattern.

“The Government stated that it has held discussions with the rating agencies since last week’s announcement, and it is expecting that Barbados’ credit rating will shortly be adjusted down to Selective Default (SD), as is customary when comprehensive debt restructurings are announced.”

40. Will the “prosecutions ” include people other than BLACK BAJAN politicians ?

41. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

This is a called a plan…you treat the symptoms. Patching here and patching there never works, treat the root cause.

“Barbados bonds off lows after collapsing on restructuring talk

By Paul Kilby

NEW YORK, June 4 (IFR) – Dollar sovereign bonds issued by Barbados were recovering a touch on Monday after dropping up to 50pts following the government’s announcement it would suspend payments to external creditors.

The country’s 7.25% 2021s were trading as high as 91.65-93.65 on Friday only to fall 35.00-50.00 in early trading on Monday, according to a trader.

Since then the sovereign’s entire curve – which also includes the 6.625% 2035s that have a coupon payment due on Tuesday – has bounced back to be quoted at around 42.50.

“I am only seeing buying interest,” the trader said.

The assumption is that distressed players were moving to buy bonds on the cheap and below calculated recovery values.

The government’s decision to suspend payments on external creditors came as a shock to foreign investors who had assumed that they would be excluded from any debt restructuring.

“Everyone expected a restructuring, but most thought it would be local debt because external debt is such a small percentage of what they owe,” said the trader.

By leaving dollar bonds out of a restructuring, the sovereign would have created some good will with foreign accounts and hence have left external financing avenues open, say analysts.

That was the model Jamaica pursued in 2013 when it carried out a domestic debt restructuring, and what the International Monetary Fund suggested in its recent Article IV consultations.”

42. Mariposa

is grabbing at straws……..

(1). “Isn’t there evidence in the blp manifesto to support the fact of Mia promises?”

Yes, there is evidence in the BLP manifesto to support the fact of Mia’s promises.

To be fair, the promises in the BLP’s manifesto were made PRIOR to the May 24, 2018 general elections and BEFORE Mottley had ACCESS to the island’s financial/economic information and the release of the recent IMF Article IV consultation report.

(2). “Isn’t there evidence supported by Mia statement that the country is in dire straits and needs the help of the IMF to pay its bill?”

Yes, once again you are correct.

Mottley said “the country is in dire straits and needs the help of the IMF to pay its bills,” AFTER she was sworn as Prime Minister and AFTER availing herself of Barbados’ economic circumstances.

Unless you can PROVE Mottley was in POSSESSION of information relative to the island’s finances BEFORE making the “manifesto promises,”……….

……….how can you state she is a LIAR?

However, Freundel Stuart and Chris Sinckler MISLED Barbadians into believing the economy was “rebounding,” while with-holding the last IMF Article IV report, which gave the true position of the economy…….

……….thereby proving Stuart and Sinckler to be the REAL LIARS in this situation.

43. The exgovernment as usual hid information from the public.

“The Caribbean island is still reeling from prime minister Mia Mottley’s revelation on Friday that it had discovered previously undisclosed financial liabilities, which lifted the country’s overall debt from 137 per cent of gross domestic product to more than 175 per cent. This is the fourth-highest debt-to-GDP ratio in the world after Japan, Greece and Sudan.”

44. @Caswell
    If the contracts are not ethically executed, my view is that they cannot be legally
    ++++++++++++
    Not so fast Caswell It all depends on the circumstances, people can act unethically but still legally within the law. Legal standards are set out in law, ethical rules are guidelines governing human behavior. There are many examples of unethical behavior where prosecution cannot be contemplated, if the unethical crosses a legal threshold you may have a case but if it is based on ethics alone you may be drilling a dry hole.

Originally posted in the wrong thread

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Whether the malfeasance is unethical and/or illegal de ole man wil advise the powers that be MUST DO ONE THING

THEY HAVE TO BROADCAST EVERY SINGLE ACTION AND INDISCRETION OF THE DEMONIC LABOUR PARTY

AND KEEP THE DISTRIBUTION CHANNEL FLOWING WITH THE INFO

Keeping that info secret will come back to bite them in their badwords

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ de Ingrunt Word

What have you been imbibing recently?

You can’t be serious

You said “…That said to advise that Bajan police detectives can certainly be given the same training, salary and perks to operate at such a level…”

Are you fuh real?

You already dun know the intricacies of the spectrum of the digital financial spectrum and you seriously going say that “with a little training the Royal Barbados Police Force is going to be on par with a trained financial expert of the calibre capable of interrogating these existing financial indiscretions to the level required for successful prosecution ?”

Why after all the crap of trying to kill Nazim Blackett while in police custody and the Commissioner of Police saying how he going get to the bottom of that matter dem same policemen IN AN EFFORT TO DISCREDIT NAZZIM, returned to the Pine in December and harassed him further and carried him to the police station that month

In his ensuing anxiety attack he started to act out and they arrested him and held him from then till now.

Dat is how we RBPF does roll and if you black and poor you going become a casualty of the game

As Waveney Bannister ex policeman? Now judge is showing Andrew Pilgrim the lawyer for Nazzim Blackett.

Yet you going talk bout a likkle training to mek dem financial experts

Steupseee…”for beauty hath fled to brutish beasts and men have list their reason…”

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please…with an item

48. More than ever, the criminals that comprised the exgovernment should be arrested for these blatant acts of sabotage between them and Maloney of the people’s Port and resources, these concessions must be rolled back post haste..

“A contract and a letter was signed with a company called Global Ports Holding PLC, that will see them receiving a 30-year concession to operate the Barbados Cruise Pier for a paltry sum of US$34 million and in exchange they would have the Barbados Port Inc, pursuant to a concession agreement, assign its right to collect certain charges from cruise lines directly and the Government would receive instead a service fee pursuant to the service agreement [for] which we have not yet seen what that fee is,” Mottley had disclosed, adding that she had asked the Attorney General Dale Marshall and the lawyers for the Bridgetown Port to look into the issue as a matter of urgency, “particularly since this contract seems to be tied to a Berth Six contract” at the Port.

The Prime Minister also revealed that a range of tax concessions were given by the Ministry of Finance to Berth Five Projects Limited “in the middle of the [election] campaign” as well as to Vision Developments Inc., the company behind the proposed US$100 million Hyatt Centric Resort project”

49. WWC, Your citation is very valuable:

“By leaving dollar bonds out of a restructuring, the sovereign would have created some good will with foreign accounts and hence have left external financing avenues open, say analysts.

That was the model Jamaica pursued in 2013 when it carried out a domestic debt restructuring, and what the International Monetary Fund suggested in its recent Article IV consultations.”

Everybody should read these sentences very carefully. E contrario: By not leaving dollar bonds out of a restructuring, the sovereign lost all good will with foreign accounts and hence all external financing avenues closed..

50. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

Some here have said that you read Barbados Underground

So de ole man I going to presumptuously assume dat you going read this submission to your August self

I shall call it “why the BLP has to lock up somebody”

De ole man shall rely on parry of what is purported to be an excerpt of what you have said recently pertaining to a pybirice subset agreement at the port

It reads “…adding that (you) had asked the Attorney General Dale Marshall and the lawyers for the Bridgetown Port to look into the issue as a matter of urgency…”

Now any simpleton understands that “no one hand can clap” and these lawyers at the Bridgetown port WHO NAMES YOU WILL ANNOUNCE AS PART OF YOUR RECENTLY ANNOUNCED TRANSPARENCY POLICY, cannot themselves be BLAMELESS in this forever contract.

Whu after all this clearly is a situation where you have caught one of the co conspirators!

Though de ole man will share a crude joke from our lawcourts that might be relied on by those who claim one hand can clap with a ghost partner.

Some years ago a mendicant was caught at the base of Nelsons statue at 2 a.m. in the act of “self catering” if you get the Onanism reference.

In court at Coleridge Street a few days later, he was conducting his defence and claimed that “he was not “badword off” but was “fooping a ghost!”

During the thunderous uproar the judge asked the public assembled in the court if anyone present could attest to “foopin* a ghost and incredulously the hand of a man in the back of the court went up.

Indeed the din immediately receded when the judge called him to the fore and asked him to confirm if he too had “foped a ghost” to the wit the man responded ” oh your honour i sorry cause in de back i thought you had said foped a goat”

Most respectfully, Do let us bajans know who these currently unnamed Port Lawyers are…

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply