The biblical quote ‘to whom much is given, much will be required (Luke 12:48) best describes the position the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) finds itself having decimated the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) 30 zip in the recently held 2018 General Election. Put another way, ‘with great power comes great responsibility‘.

One of the first decisions made by Prime Minister Mia Mottley was to appoint a 26 member Cabinet, supported by 2 Ambassadors. The unprecedented size of Mottley’s Cabinet must by supported by a civil service structure that should require additional manpower, we know taxpayers will have to carry greater cost of her team to compare with her predecessor.

The Prime Minister has given the explanation that the perilous – dire is the word she used – state of the country’s affairs will justify the large Cabinet. Her message throughout her campaign was- many hands make light of the work to be done.

The blogmaster agrees the optics of Mottley’s decision to appoint a large Cabinet at a time the country is experiencing serious economic challenges is not good. However, her decision if viewed through a Machiavellian lens suggests she has had to weigh the political cost benefit of keeping her large team happy compared to spending one million tax dollars. Time will tell if her 26 member Cabinet and supporting cast will perform better than the Stuart Cabinet to justify the added expense. She starts as odds on favourite if one reads the result of the 70% of the electorate that voted for her on the 24 May 2018.

Barbadians heard the ‘deja vuan’ promise by newly installed Attorney General Dale Marshall that he will be going after members of the former DLP administration who committed wrong. Public sentiment is running high that the time has come to prosecute elected politicians and public officials of perceived wrongdoing. The blogmaster sides with the view that Barbadian politicians are not washed in the blood of the lamb. All over the world politicians are being prosecuted for crimes. Members of the local political class possess the frailties of being human and are therefore as susceptible to temptation as the other politician living elsewhere. The blogmaster has had it up to HERE, election cycle after election cycle, being on the end of promises from elected politicians to prosecute corruption that is never delivered on.

One way Prime Minister Mia Mottley will be able to justify the cost of her Cabinet and support team is to discretely list savings to taxpayers. The blogmaster goes further: there must be a concerted effort to ‘prosecute’ transactions that smell of corrupt behaviour. Let us witness a vibrant Public Accounts Committee with active followup on Auditor General Reports. Let us hold members of Boards of SOEs accountable for decisions taken and prosecute to where the trail of wrongdoing leads.

The time has come to redefine Barbados as a just society. It isn’t fair to jail Barbadians from the lower strata of society for ‘misdemeanors’ and ignore the flouting of the financial rules of government by public officials, and cases of obvious malfeasance hinted at in successive Auditor General reports.   The willingness of the Wickhams and other operatives to turn the other check must be seen for what it is- a business as usual condition to protect the cabal.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley is perched at a watershed moment in our history. The task to turnaround the economy and enact policies to assist with stitching the social fabric of Barbados will require a herculean effort from her team and Barbadians everywhere. One suspects she and team do not want to be relegated to the political  dustbin of history to follow her predecessors. The time has come for politicians to followup on accusations of corruption delivered on the platform with action.

This is a different time.

Over to you Prime Minister!

133 responses to “Time to Prosecute, Mademoiselle Prime Minister!”

1. How is such prosecution working if the GG and the DPP are obviously DLP-supporters? And the same is true for many judges on the bench from Magistrate to Court of Appeal.

The Dems still think Barbados was their personal property. They won´t lift one finger to prosecute crimes committed by their blue brothers and sisters. The blue plantocracy is one solid block. A secret society like freemasonry.

2. Hamilton Hill Avatar

The chance is here for her name to be written on history’s page. Peter Wickham and others have endorsed the political add that lamented the fact two billion dollars were spent with one man,while small contractors suffered. Now we are supposed to accept that a couple million for a forensic investigation is wastage……we brek….but we ain’t foolish. Bajans voted for change and must not accept exchange. The voice of the people needs to be recognized. NEW DISPENSATION.

3. charles skeete Avatar
    charles skeete

Prosecute whom may I respectfully ask. Other than a litany of allegations which make salacious music to the ears of some of us but which must first be proven I have not yet seen anything other than speculation linking those who have fed off the bony calf of stealing
    perhaps bribery but hard to prove since the briber would hardly implicate himself or herself

4. Charles,

There is something called “American interrogation”. If the Americans can do it, why not Barbados? Or just ban food for Big Sinck for THREE days. He will break down and confes all his deeds.

However you are right to some extent. As long as the present DPP is in charge, all the crimes committed by the DLP won´t be prosecuted. The sister DPP won´t prosecute their blue brothers.

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Easily remedied, when the malfeasance, corruption and theft of taxpayers and pensioners money is investigated and traced to those who committed those crimes against the people, per the auditor general’s report ……..and the judges, DPP, CJ , Commisioner of police etc all appointed by the ex government refuse to do their jobs per the evidence at hand. …the constitution clearly defines that the GG, who is also appointed by the exgovernment and a party supporter ……has the power in her hands as being owned by and representative of the crown, the only one on the island who does, once she is approached by the current PM and a request made to that effect….to fire all their asses for not doing their jobs because of yardfowlism and party affiliation….because it will be dereliction of duty….because it’s the taxpayers paying their salaries and not any political party…

….it is repugnant that these crimes were allowed against the people for decades…aided and abetted by GGs who turned the other way because of party affiliation and being appointed by the government of the day……despite they being the representative of the crown.

If the GG does not engage and stop this clear abuse of the Constitution and dereliction of duty by her fellow party supporters…she too will be guilty of dereliction of duty and should be exposed to the privy council and buckingham palace…those who own her…they should see where her loyalties lie and it’s not with the people or with them….she is well aware that the constitution does not provide for political parties or supporters of political parties. ..all of it solely exists outside the party affiliation that the constitution never mention.

Party affiliation is a crab in the barrel mentality of the politicians own making and exists outside the realm of reality and of absolutely no use to the people.

If Mia does not request from the GG that these paid servants of the people do their jobs and prosecute any exministers etc found to have stolen from the people, robbed and disenfranchised the people because of their relationships with shady minorities, committed crimes against the people.. if these servants of the people are not doing their jobs per the allegiances and oaths they made to do so……as paid by the people to prosecte the criminals who destroyed a country, it’s judiciary and it’s economy…….and if Mia does not request that they all be fired under the process that is available for such remedies, she too needs to be exposed for dereliction of duty as PM and for protecting her fellow members of the political cabal….the electorate should never forgive that abuse of that ckear contempt fir their security come election time.

These repulsive practices must end here, this party affiliation that the politicians, elected ministers, senators etc project that is more important than protecting the welfare and wellbeing of the population who pay their salaries must be put in its place.

if party affiliation is so important, the political party should be paying their salaries …not the taxpayers.

These recent acts of criminality against the people by individual ministers and groups of ministers cannot be overlooked this time, it will be sending the wrong message to the current and future governments….too much money is missing, the thieves have to pay, the money must be recovered….the perpetrators must be arrested….all the minorities involved in these crimes againt the people with government exgovernment ministers must be identified and arrested…

The bajan population should accept no less, the people are the ones suffered all that loss.

Plenty limes to make lemonade..

It’s never any fun when the rabbit got the gun..

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

.the electorate should never forgive that abuse of AND CLEAR CONTEMPT FOR THEIR SECURITY by the current government, come election time.

7. What seems to be falling on deaf ears is that Mia says there is no money although with her ridiculous 8million annually to the debt in a one week period it question her truthfulness
    Then again she calls in the IMF to find fixes for the economy
    My question to the blp yardfowls who is calling for investigation where will she get the funding

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I will not stop until those criminals who formerly occupied the parliament and the minorities who bribed them, pay for their crimes against and thefts of taxpayers and pensioners money, just watch me.

9. @ Tron
    There is something called “American interrogation”. If the Americans can do it, why not Barbados? Or just ban food for Big Sinck for THREE days. He will break down and confes all his deeds.

A leopard can’t change his spots. He will still lie. It’s in his DNA.

10. Check Charles Skeete’s comment which typifies the lazy curiosity many Bajans have acquired that feeds the lack of urgency by the political class.

11. bajanfreeparty Avatar
    bajanfreeparty

To All, Now after an Election your eyes and ears open to Our words for years here on BU, If you all think that the crooks have left office, Think again THIS WAS A SWAP NOT CHANGE,,the crooks has now entered where it all started and look to cover up their Massive land Fraud and PONZi with IMF money which they will look at all Bajans to pay back, The DPP is she-it and the COP is a Perp,The CJ ran like a Bit-coin after they killed DPP Lecock as maybe PM David when looking to the Corruption in Barbados, The IMF needs to have a full Audit done before giving them one CENT,,We will see if the Whites get fooled by these Negroes, BFP/CUP Alex Mitchell the True Oppsition in Barbados, Our Bill stand Now at over $9.18 Billion to Mia and the Government added to the $15 Billion, Better tell the IMF Bring more USD$ or Pounds for the land were bought in Pounds in Barbados from 1926-1969 Plantations Conveyances

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster, my ‘lazy’ curiosity or cynicism was fueled by the headline.

For the love of life (or maybe a morning smile) I initially read the headline as ‘This is the… Time to prosecute Mde Prime Minister … for her previous malfeasance. And I was aghast…that again 😁.

But then I got the gist …Time for her to start some prosecutions…well good luck with that.

You call it lazy curiosity…others call it cynicism.

13. @ David
    The propensity to disregard such blatant criminality and to ‘forget the past’ is the clearest sign possible of an intent to expect the same ‘courtesy’ when your time comes.
    We saw it with David Thompson and then Froon, with respect to criminal activities which THEY HIGHLIGHTED before coming to office….. then NOTHING….

Now we know why.

If the BLP fails to deal with the CLEAR CRIMINALITY which THEY highlighted before taking office, then we all know what to expect from them….

Peter Wickham is an abomination to Barbados – representing all that is warped and degrading to a national ethos…
    A pathetic little freak.
    No wonder he did not have the balls to stay on BU…

That VOB insists on imposing him on Barbados only confirms their anti-Barbados philosophy as maintained by Bushie now for years…

Imagine a Call-in-Show – where the HOST has to be constantly moderated by the producer….
    Steupsss

14. @ Dribbler
    She CAN possibly do it.
    None of us are perfect – so only a ‘maripussy’ would require that Mia must be so…

If she confesses her sins and commit to a new style and to a new approach, she can win even more respect and support than she currently enjoys.
    It is called “sackcloth and ashes.”

If on the other hand, she seeks to cover her (well known) sins with deceit, and with compliance with the status quo, she will end up just like Froon and Stinkliar.

That she allowed (engineered?) the hiring of Caswell tells us that the tendency is towards sackcloth…..

That both the DLP and Owen went after her dirty laundry with gusto – with no kickback from her – even AFTER winning …
    …is so impressive to Bushie that the bushman is tempted to ask a favour of the God-father on her (Barbados’) behalf….

The God-father has NEVER yet refused a bushman request…. even silly ones… 🙂

There is a chance – slim – but hopeful.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

There is nothing in the constitution that provides for the practice of corruption or the enabling, colluding with or protecting of those who practice corruption among those who pledged allegiance to, took oaths and are owned by the crown or their bribersvin the minirity business sector….I have perused the document back and front,.

It also makes no mention that the owned civil servants of the crown are entitled to collude with minorities to steal from the treasury, taxpayers and pensioñ fund via contracts or whatever evil scams their twisted, greedy minds devise, just as no political parties garnered any mention in the constitution, neither did minority crooks and thieves so they should neither of them be up front in any political landscape….these evil schemes and intent flavored by pay to play bribery and kickbacks were devised by all the above mentioned for the sole purpose of robbing the people.

…..from the GG, PM, senators and all the civil and legal services on down, corruption should never have become the main staple in the judiciary or the popular practice of those owned by the crown….the Constitution makes no provisions for those blatant acts of criminality by those on the taxpayer’s payroll….if the crown wants to continue enjoying the sideshow…they are free to, but the people, the taxpayers who pay these jackasses do not have to continue accepting this abuse of their existance and trust by a bunch of house negros owned by the crown, let the crown start paying their salaries if they want to continue their experiment…a la Bush.

16. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

let the Crown in UK start paying their local human property salaries if they want to continue their FAILED parliamentary and civil service experiment…a la Bush.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

After reading all of the other submissions and the overnight comments de ole man said I would come here last.

My reason was that I wanted to reserve my reading time to what whomever had hah the balls to write this article’s title.

And then to examine the responses AND THE RESPONDERS.

Let de ole man explain with this quote from something Well Well and Consequences said above “…These RECENT acts of criminality against the people by individual ministers and groups of ministers cannot be overlooked THIS time…”

THE CAPS ARE MINE NOT HERS…

Of late the ole man noteth the easy reliance many here hath for The Holy Bible and de ole man oft prays that for the many who read one Word, It shall hesitate and bloom in their souls.

Here is a passage from Luke 8 verse 7 which reads “… So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her…” as it relates to the proposed stoning of the whore found in adultery.

That Bible lesson aside let de ole man jump in to this ramble patch…

I searched my conscience much like many here can search de ole man’s text AS DALE & EDDIE & LUCILLE & SANDRA & LYNETTE are doing even as we speak and others do and have done

I did so because in my heart I was seriously convicted of the challenge that Dale Marshall will have with this task that faces this incoming administration

I mean it is not that they are not going to find the indiscretions IT IS MORE SO WHAT IS SHE GOING TO DO once they come to light!

So it would be obvious that the prosecution of infelicities WILL as Well Well and Consequences imputes BE PERFORCE, FINITE and limited to the DLP gang and their enablers but what then?

Say I lock up Chris Decimals Bond Stinkliar for teifing $500 million what then?

What can I expect for VECO? Or CRAB HILL?

So while de ole man would understand why BAJANS would like to know that buffalo sincks up in Dodds with his face in the sheets talking tender words to Bubba or Pornville de former WEB man insisting to Nurse dat he want condoms cause he botsie raw …such will only mean that either they leave it out altogether OR DEM DO A BIG FOOT MOVE

Yes de ole man heah wukking ex officio…

@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

Prosecute Decimal Bonds and All uh Dem within the first year and mek sure to get back as much of de money dem teif (Good luck with that second part)

Most of dem going go overseas to live but the ones that remain mek sure to lock up a few.

For the ones who flee the jurisdiction and WHOM YOU ARE UNABLE OR UNWILLING TO EXTRADITE, effect the usual international warrants that will briadcast the sentences of the BARBADOS courts for all the wofld to see dat dem is teives.

After all you gots to give de people de impression you is effecting change and ARE WILLING TO LOCK UP DE TEIVES. Both past ones and those within your fold like De Pain in Edmund’s side.

Remember that your objective is to eradicate the DLP forever (as is that of de ole man heheheheh)

Den ammmmm and here de ole man gine use SQUARE BRACKETS for me advice to you alone [[establish a panel to prosecute yourself and All of the BLP persons who are also purported to be NOT BLAMELESS IN THESE SHENANIGANS

NEEDLESS TO SAY WHAT THE OUTCOMES OF THESE TRIALS NEED TO BE ACCORDED WHAT WILL AFFORD DOUBLE JEOPARDY STATUS TO THOSE PROSECUTED IN THE BAJAN COURTS….heheheheh.

De ole man dun know that you gots some political advisors and “ministers in the Ministry of…” WHO IS NOT TOO BRIGHT SO I GINE HELP YOU WID A FEW THINGS MIA

The serious facts though are that Barbados is in “ducks guts” and that the mandate that you have received from the people HAS TO DELIVER]]

Finally back to the Honourable Blogmaster.

De ole man shall repeat your quote “to whom much is given much is expected”

You are the only guard left for this Blogosphere and irrespective of what they WILL TRY KEEP YOUR FIREWALLS, both digital and physical, in place, else we fall in this wilderness and there will be none to record “WE WERE HERE AT THIS BRIDGE …”

In the fullness of time de ole man may write explain an article titled “Extraordinary or Irregular Rendition” here on BU but not today

But for the time being de ole msn shall quote from my favourite poem

“…Then out spake Spurius Lartius;
    A Ramnian proud was he:
    ‘Lo, I will stand at thy right hand,
    And keep the bridge with thee.’
    And out spake strong Herminius;
    Of Titian blood was he:
    ‘I will abide on thy left side,
    And keep the bridge with thee.’

And out spake de moufer PUDRYR,
    Of VPN blood was he:
    I will abide behind this anonymous IP address,
    And keep tekking dese sniper shots with these.

Until Dale close we down?

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please…

@ de Ingrunt Word

She you see de ole man’s post you will see that you were peeping…

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bernard my friend, I figured the whole thing out, Bush experiment and all, but it is never good for the perpetrators when I have to sprain my brain to figure out 60 and 70 year old mysteries.

20. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

However you are right to some extent. As long as the present DPP is in charge, all the crimes committed by the DLP won´t be prosecuted. The sister DPP won´t prosecute their blue brothers

@Tron, this is a very serious accusation. You are right about one thing though. It is not for the AG to prosecute anyone.Or you may launch a private prosecution.

@ David, As did DPD, I also fell victim to misreading your headline here. A comma placed between “prosecute” and “Mademoiselle” should do the trick.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Is there a bajan dictionary for the IPad? Dis ting correcting eveyting de ole man write…steupseee

22. @PUDRYR
    “Then out spake Spurius Lartius”
    +++++++++
    Glad to hear that is your favourite poem wuh only a few days ago I wrote that Bishop Atherley is “no Horatio at the bridge”

As you put it hehhehhehheh

23. charles skeete Avatar
    charles skeete

I coo in one choir and that is St Paul and so I ask where lies the criminality of which people speak
    Except for ascribing ulterior motive to the unethical conduct of the past administration during its lame duck days; there is no evidence to charge the signatories to any of the contracts or the waiving of duties of criminal behaviour since they were all legally if not ethically executed
    Yes this action in the dying days of the administration should be regarded as disgraceful and distasteful and shold be frowned upon but it is evidence which counts in a court of law and not speculation or feelings or emoton or spite.

24. I note several commentators here have pointed out the difficulty of prosecuting the outgoing maladministration’s myriad thieves owing to Fumble’s holdovers in powerful positions. I would like to point out that this is the very same problem faced by Donald Trump with the legions of criminal Obarmy holdovers, and likewise in the UK, Brexit is being thwarted by lefty civil servants who consider themselves to be masters, not servants..

Which one of you will complain as loudly on behalf of America’s saviour?

25. Is George payne included in the investigation
    Or even Mia herself who was part of the OSA administration when her father received 1 million of taxpayers monies.
    I meaning if she is going to investigate lets go right across the board starting with her ministry first by unlocking and releasing the finiancial reports of everyone of them Mia is secretly holding
    Transparency starts at the top

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch June 5, 2018 8:31 AM
    “David, As did DPD, I also fell victim to misreading your headline here. A comma placed between “prosecute” and “Mademoiselle” should do the trick.”

Quite!

For small things can mean a ‘legal’ lot like the difference between a contract “Of” service and a contract “For” service.

You can also refer to the missing “Oxford Comma” case in the USA where three truck drivers sued (and won) Oakhurst Dairy; Dairy Farmers of America, INC. for a tidy sum of retroactive overtime pay.

However the devil is always in the detail so David can always claim it was the Printer’s devil at work throwing spanners all around the place even in PUDRYR’s i-Pad (LOL!).

27. I love the blessings that come all disguised.

A caring monarchy would at this time see the need to apply the reparations being sought by paying their human property of the Crown in Barbados salaries for the next 52 years, no better dollar could be spent.

Wuh they monitor them anyway and have for 52 years and they own them anyway, says right so in the Constitution, cause they pledge allegiance to the monarchy and all the other oaths which makes them the personal properties of the crown. IN UK…

.. this time though, there would be low to no chances of the UK Crown employees in Barbados practicing corruption and all the other destructive forces that have brought the island to its knees, seeing as they would be on the payroll of UK who will never stand for their money in salaries being fcked up like that…by a bunch of crooks and thieves.

..and it would take the now terrible burden off the taxpayers given the current financial and economic hardships that the Crown’s most recent ex employees in government wrought on the people and island….the monarchy can own that destruction perpetrated by their former employees in the exgovernment…it is their property committed those atrocities against island and people…they are directly responsible also.

Hope yall are feeling me.

Though the constitution can do with an upgrade and transformation to be in lock step with this era, I see no need to change the overall template, not for another 52 years anyway.

Yall are welcome…des deaux cotes de la fracture…

28. Never heard of “American Interrogation”, but how about “Bajan Interrogation” where a form of waterboarding is used? Just collect water from the road in Hastings/Graeme Hall swamp etc. but don’t restrict the use to politicians use it on all the people under arrest who intend to plead not guilty to any offence that way we have 100% guilty pleas.

BTW that waterboarding on politicians may not work after all there were two who immersed themselves in the ocean in a case of extreme waterboarding and emerged unscathed.

29. ….and it would take the now terrible burden off the taxpayers of paying the current salaries of the Crown’s human property now occupying the Crown’s parliament……. given the current financial and economic hardships that the Crown’s most recent ex employees in government wrought on the people and island.

Gotta get this right…an intelligent government when seeking grants from UK, which they will do anyway, as they have been doing for 52 years……should start negotiating in this vein, which will also allow for the IMF program to work without the burden of salaries for the UK Crown employees….something the Barbados taxpayers, should never have to worry about again…until the island’s leaders become mature enough to seek republic status for the island.

30. Forget prosecution for now; first things first. Parliament opens today and there will be no DLP members or supporters on site and I expect that the whole area will be bedecked in red.

I now declare that the name of the area surrounding the Parliament buildings be dubbed “Red Square”.

31. All that would be perfect and deem the 52 year old Bush experiment a complete success finally, if the monarchy was not so damn greedy and self-serving themselves.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Charles Skeete

There is something that the Sage Annunaki I believe it was recently referenced called the Public Accounts Committee and then there is the Auditor General’s annual report

The latter is a physical document which is available for in-depth forensic examinations as might be a prerequisite for emergency external financing of defaulted sovereign debt mayhap?

But then again, you seem to be au fait with these issues and by your brief, yet coogent submission intimates that “nothing can be done”

The thing about that statement and it being broadcast to say, the youth of Barbados, is that what you, a seasoned elder are saying is that “this teifing is ethical in its execution so wunna gots to grin and bear it”

An excellent message.

The choir that I am cooing in is one which says that if a purported satan can effect the prosecution of other DLP satans then let the prosecutions begin

But, unlike you, who seem to be saying “there is no evidence of criminality, these are legally binding acts and”, even in the face of the Auditor General’s annual report, “we cannot do anything” de ole man is saying “use said AUDITS and prosecute dem”

Here is what will happen.

We won’t catch the big fish but enough shyte going stick on the little fish who enabled the big fish.

As part of the legal procddures I would mention all their names and show which little fish SIGNED the indiscretions.

Merely the imputations will be enough for them to bring forward evidence to show who is responsible.

You are not a reader of bajan character are you?

Your defeatist attitude about what options we have, ultimately works out to be a “throwing up our arms and giving up”, is not gojng to cut it.

People like you feel that ignoring this teifing behaviour, and being nonchalant about it is only gojng to end with us pretty much abdicating our responsibility which is what you have suggested here

But it isn’t.

Its real and pervasive outcomes are manifesting themselves variously e.g. like in the court system where dysfunctional behaviours are cropping up in substandard service, to the detriment of citizens like me and you.

IT IS manifesting itself in the care we are experiencing at QEH when a doan carish doctor can misdiagnose medication to your relative and kill dem but I, the hospital administrator, going tell you what I like cause you accept my “…unethical conduct” but, according to your lame duck chant ” there is no evidence to …” prove that my WEB dictors have done anything illegal.

Wunna so Chales Skeete feel that GOD IS A MAN…as you can gloss over anything you like

33. If they take it to the logical conclusion the BLP will be decimated.

They will join their partners in crime in jail!!

No prosecutions will happen.

34. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

For small things can mean a ‘legal’ lot like the difference between a contract “Of” service and a contract “For” service.

You can also refer to the missing “Oxford Comma” case in the USA where three truck drivers sued (and won) Oakhurst Dairy; Dairy Farmers of America, INC. for a tidy sum of retroactive overtime pay.

@ Miller. Indeed, as in “hang him not, let him go” and “hang him, not let him go” !

I wrote in my column on the legal matter to which you refer. I do not know whether David can unearth it.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

Am I to take it the your astute comment about the “missing comma” in to be interpreted in the vein of he eho the ole man verily believes has “sight beyond sight?”

For if it were so then it might then be further misconstrued that the “missing comma” was not unintentional

And if then it was not what would such mean?

Now let it be dat de ole man who Keith here on this fandangled motorized bed speak to this hypothetical tangent of thought IF ONLY FOR A FEW MOMENTS

THERE ARE BUT 13 COMMENTS HERE ON THE SUBJECT, A PALTRY FEW, OF WHICH YOURS NUMBERS

IT IS of note that you brought up the “missing Comma” heheheheh but did not qualify that comment further heheheheh

But even that heheheheh… dem dots of continuum is very useful

You would hope de ole msn had was enough sense to use dem more regularly….

With the Comma acting as a delimiter it would have partially (though not completely) isolated our Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley from the verb “prosecute”

As it stands now it imputes some first person or proxy association with some deed in times aforetimes to which there might be blame.

Now de ole man noteth that WHILE either interpretation is of equal interest that it has not attracted the usual suspects like Manypussy nor John.

Now far be it to be an article developed to test the waters for such would be even more intriguing.

But de ole man being solely one who thinks ghat life, or what is left of it, is to be guarded zealously an discoursed vigourously, feels that this article should be commented on by all BUT THE ABSENCES ARE TO BE NOTED because such will guage the fear…

36. In addition to the alleged Mercedes vehicle for which duties and charges in the vicinity of $333,000 was waived, there is a rumor in circulation concerning an additional three vehicles of similar manufacture and for which there is mystery surrounding similar waivers. The alleged recipients are a wife, a brother and a senior manager/director of an associated company. When are we going to hear something concrete about the legality of these waivers? There is also another unsubstantiated rumor regarding a high end pickup truck recently acquired by the brother and around which some speculation is swirling. It is only fair that the good name of this family be either cleared of speculation and innuendo through an official statement or a confirmation of the dastardly deed be forthcoming. If the above is true, we are talking in excess of $1M that the treasury has been denied. Could the waivers be justified?

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Ephesians 4:28 a reads Let him that stole steal no more

If you insert a comma after stole this injunction becomes Let him that stole, steal.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

De ole man sent a comprehensive query/comment to you earlier

I referenced your apostrophe article tangentially

IT IS IN suspense and while it does have some things that you wouldn’t ever have reason to respond to I do hope one or two might ammmmm elicit your astute comment

39. The speech was a bit too long, and flawed in parts, such as the jargon about mission-critical. But that is the problem with creating anything by committee. I shall deal with some of the proposals:
    Restructuring the national debt is a necessity, even if the so-called re-profiling is a bit disingenuous. The decision to pin our economic future to the fixed exchange rate is flawed, so is the decision to abolish road tax. Instead she should have introduced policy of one car per household.
    The debt of Bds$1.7bn owed to Barbadians should be repaid gradually with printed money; the only threat from this will be inflationary, which could be managed.
    Declaring the south coast sewage scandal a national priority is a good decision, especially calling in local and international experts, something that should have been done by the incompetent DLP government within days.
    Reforming the criminal justice system, including anti-corruption legislation is a necessity; what is needed is actual enforcement.
    Financial education in schools is cutting edge; the big problem now is who is going to teach young people about finance: conventional teachers trained in finance, or financial advisers trained to teach?
    The Sovereign Wealth Fund is good in principle, but it needs a lot of meat on the bones; in fact, it should go along with fundamental reform of the NIS.
    The so-called blue and green economies are just jargon, they are just part of the national economy and should come under the minister of economic affairs.
    Further, the blue economy and maritime affairs should be linked; also, the prime minister may be a bit young, but Barbados has a history of mariners; just go to the Bayland and check out all those seamen and families of seamen to hear about our history.
    Part of the masterplan should also include refurbishment of the dry dock, which has been left to rot. Any policy on developing our maritime resources should include making he Dry Dock the leading dock of its type in the Eastern Caribbean.
    The promises about improvement at the QEH, the betterness programme, the social safety net and the changes in the structure of nursing should form part of the overhaul of the health and social care policies. This is but another of the ill-thoughtout and badly framed policies.
    Any progressive health care policy must be focused on care in the community and hospital policy should be based on emergencies (A&E), treating the most urgent cases within no more than two hours and all cases within four; for those admitted, there is a need to separate treatment (free on the state) and the bed and breakfast, which patients should be compelled to pay for. No private patients should be allowed to use the facilities at the QEH.
    The education policy is muddled. Re-introducing fee higher education is going back to a time when few school leavers did no go on to university.
    The proposal to develop specialised secondary schools is first class, but why just stop at sport? Santia Bradshaw, one of the brightest and best in contemporary politics, has an opportunity to expand these specialist schools to cover such areas as STEM, creative arts, business, etc. This is the future of Barbados and it must be more than sport.
    The idea of a world-class every two months is not only impractical, but silly. A better idea would be to merge a few of the festivals so that for two weeks of the years there would be crop-over, a national film festival and a book festival – the sum of the whole is more than that of its parts. The thinking is simple: people who may not be fans of Crop Over may find films or books interesting enough to visit the country when others are coming from north America and Europe.
    I like the land reclamation, with the commercial leases, but no commercial lease should be longer than 50 years.
    The proposal to digitise payments is a good idea and the government should start with the BRA. It was the lunacy of Sinckler that blocked this; the creative hub around Cave Hill is brilliant, the challenge now is to stop training so many economists and lawyers and get people trained in the new technology.
    I like the idea of People’s Assemblies, but is this with the constituency councils or will they be abolished? And they must be voluntary, not a single person paid by the taxpayers.
    What does the government mean by ‘parliamentary reforms’? Does this mean a republic?
    All in all, seven out of ten.

40. Eats, Shoots & Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation Paperback – April 11, 2006
    by Lynne Truss (Author). Perhaps this book should be included in the school curriculam in #Barbados and future problems with punctuation will be solved at a pen stroke..

“A panda walks into a cafe. He orders a sandwich, eats it, then draws a gun and fires two shots in the air.

“Why?” asks the confused waiter, as the panda makes towards the exit. The panda produces a badly punctuated wildlife annual and tosses it over his shoulder.

“I’m a panda,” he says, at the door. “Look it up.”

The waiter turns to the relevant entry and, sure enough, finds an explanation.

Panda. Large black-and-white bear-like mammal, native to China. Eats, shoots and leaves.”

41. I forgot to mention, the US ministry of justice is now investigating crypto currencies. If I had any influence on this government I( would not be in rush to get in to bed with them. According to the US MoJ, cryptocurrencies are the favourite method of money laundering by gangsters, Be careful.

42. Thanks Jeff, put it down to a careless error in the early morn.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YES , there is one
    He is A SON OF THE DEVIL. THAT IS HOW HE KNOWS. SATAN , HIS DADDY TOLD HIM.

NOTE 1 Corinthians 12:3 Wherefore I give you to understand, that no man speaking by the Spirit of God calleth Jesus accursed: and that no man can say that Jesus is the Lord, but by the Holy Ghost.

NOTE THAT THE BU RESIDENT DEVIL NEVER CALLS JESUS LORD.

NOTE ALSO 1 JOHN 2:22-23
    Who is a liar but he that denieth that Jesus is the Christ? He is antichrist, that denieth the Father and the Son. Whosoever denieth the Son, the same hath not the Father: (but) he that acknowledgeth the Son hath the Father also.

ALL SERIOUS BELIEVERS IN GOD CALL JESUS LORD, BUT ARIANS LIKE THE CULTIST IN THE JEHOVAH WITNESSES AND MORMONS ARE UNABLE TO CALL JESUS LORD

FINALLY 1 JOHN 4: 1-3
    Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.

Hereby know ye the Spirit of God: Every spirit that confesseth that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is of God:

And every spirit that confesseth not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is not of God: and this is that spirit of antichrist, whereof ye have heard that it should come; and even now already is it in the world.

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Surprise me Mia Mottley. At least show me that I am wrong when I refer to you as a rogue. If you have the evidence to prove gross mismanagement of the economy then you have the evidence to follow the money trail and discover the corruption that says 1 billion dollars in Swiss banks started just around the time the DLP took up power. If Sinckler did things as finance minister that he should not have done, man shows us that you ain’t frigging around. Let the law speak concerning his misbehaviours and show Barbadians that you ain’t mekking no sport this year. Prove ma wrong Mottley, Prove ma wrong.

45. Any of our wonderful DLP ex-politicians who are under the impression that their use of Bitcoin to move their ill-gotten gains are anonymous and untraceable are in line for a very rude awakening. EVERY transaction is permanently etched on the blockchain and Mia only has to bring in a crypto expert or two in order to recover any stolen Barbados Taxpayers money. The sooner the better

There’s a popular misconception that Bitcoin is anonymous and untraceable. It’s an understandable mistake given Bitcoin’s first popular use case was the infamous Silk Road — a market known for dealing in illicit substances. The truth is that Bitcoin is pseudonymous and fully traceable. In fact, every transaction in Bitcoin maps inputs to outputs, allowing anyone to follow the money trivially.
    Satoshi even went so far as defining a bitcoin — literally — as a history of its custody:
    We define an electronic coin as a chain of digital signatures.
    — Satoshi Nakamoto, 2009
    Bitcoin’s transactions are tracked as a graph that resides on the blockchain permanently. If someone learns of information that links your identity to your bitcoin address, they can learn a ton about you. It’s possible to infer your spending patterns (where you spend, how much, how often), your wealth and income, whom you associate with. How do you feel knowing those whom you transact with may be able to learn so many personal facts about you?
    There are countless ways that identities can be linked to a wallet address. Some people share their address publicly. The exchange you bought your bitcoin from has both your identity and your addresses. Merchants you pay can make the association. Two companies, Elliptic and Chainalysis, are in the business of linking identities to addresses, and compiling all their insights into commercialized databases that track all bitcoin activity in an effort to de-anonymize Bitcoin.
    So what? I’ve done nothing wrong
    It’s easy to fall into the trap of thinking that you, presumably a law abiding citizen, have nothing to gain from privacy. There are a few problems with this line of thinking:
    First, the government isn’t the only entity out there trying to snoop on you. Unsavory attackers are also collecting as much information as they can to identify marks. Second, your government may be fine and trustworthy, but many governments in the world are not. Financial tools are needed to help citizens of these nations express their financial self sovereignty and find financial inclusion. Third, a lack of privacy actually has a chilling effect on a monetary system. It can even destroy the money.
    Fungibility
    Money — at a minimum — must be scarce, divisible, transferrable and fungible. Fungibility is a fancy way of saying all units are worth the same amount. If you have a ten dollar bill and I swap it out for another ten dollar bill, you don’t mind. They have the same value, and thus ten dollar bills are considered fungible.
    Fungibility is dependent on money carrying no history. If cash could speak, suddenly a bank note that was received from selling drugs or stolen goods would carry extra risk. This risk would cause that note to be worth less, breaking fungibility. Please note that this is a problem not only for criminals, but also for innocent individuals and merchants who are accepting payment. Suddenly, they’re responsible for doing diligence on incoming payments to ensure they won’t be looked at funny, or worse — called in for questioning by law enforcement— when it comes time to spend their money.
    Recall that a bitcoin is defined literally as its chain of custody. Each and every bitcoin has a fully transparent history recorded on the blockchain. Many are now in the business of understanding the flow of the bitcoin stock. Requiring everyone to check various lists adds significant friction, damaging bitcoin’s utility. Breaking fungibility has a chilling effect on bitcoin acceptance, and it’s not a theoretical threat.
    Remedies
    Financial privacy means being able to transact without revealing or leaking identifying information. The goal is to make it as difficult as possible for others to profile your crypto use. Privacy puts the user in charge of their data. They can remain compliant by selectively revealing themselves without revealing their activity to the entire world.
    When making a payment, it’s of course impossible to avoid creating observable information. At a minimum, the recipient must be able to confirm the funds are now theirs. It is however possible to limit how much information is created, how identifying it is, how long the information lives, how far it spreads, and who has the ability to interpret this information.
    It’s important to note that following are just a sampling of efforts to improve privacy on the blockchain. More technologies are being proposed and developed all the time.
    Bitcoin
    Today, most bitcoin wallets and users are atrocious at privacy. The following are common and damaging for privacy:
    Wallet address re-use, linking your transactions together into a single profile. Note: Ethereum is designed to encourage this behavior.
    IP address re-use, hinting to the world that a single party — you — controls various addresses.
    Combining inputs from multiple transactions, revealing the contours of addresses you control.
    Using lite clients, effectively revealing to a third party your full set of addresses.
    Using bitcoin privately is an expert level undertaking, and an uphill battle. Each bitcoin’s history is permanently etched in a transparent ledger. Therefore, even if the tools to de-anonymize don’t exist now, they can be developed and deployed later — publicizing previously thought private activity. However, that doesn’t mean broken fungibility will doom bitcoin as a medium of exchange.

46. How in God’s earth can she prosecute anything or even anybody when she says the country is broke . Idiots that was just another bunch of jobby talk to get votes
    But if Mia is serious instead of putting her ministers assests under lock and key she would release them
    But of course not why should she when she has the blp yardfowls to persecute and agitate.

47. Read barbados Today article in which the article almost come close to calling a two faced Mia Liar

48. Mariposa
    The more lies you write, the more discredited you become. While you lie and get palpitations over the next 5 years, we’ll perform. Watch we!

49. Piece…that is why I stopped reading a lot of contributions, don’t want to take the chance that stupidity is infectious…..

the laws are very clear on crime and punishment for the majority population…it’s common sense to say those who fall under the false titles brigade rotating in and out of parliament ARE NOT and SHOULD NOT be exempt from their dates with crime and punishment….the consequences of their decades of criminality against the people and island.

Leave a Reply to pieceuhderockyeahrightCancel reply