It would be remiss of me if I did not congratulate Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, and the Barbados Labour Party on their emphatic victory at the polls on May 24th. I would also like to commiserate with the vanquished Democratic Labour Party (DLP), the other parties and independent candidates who failed to make any appreciable showing. The people wanted to rid the country of the former administration and have spoken in a loud clear voice. But as they say, “Vox populi, vox dei” – the voice of the people is the voice of God.

That said however, I am forced to point out to the Miss Mottley that one of her first proposals as Prime Minister reeks of contempt for the wishes of the electorate to my mind. It would seem that she has not heard that loud clear voice of the people/God. And in an effort to appear magnanimous, she announced her intention to amend the Constitution to allow for the participation of the DLP in the Senate. She has advanced some specious reasoning about them getting the second highest vote to justify tampering with the Constitution. So far, this country does not rely on a proportional representation system to constitute the Senate. If that is her intention, let her put it before the people in a systematic way rather than in the knee jerk way that she is going about the matter.

The people of this country have given Miss Mottley an unprecedented mandate to govern which she is apparently questioning. The electorate appears to be saying, we trust you to do the right thing but by her proposed action, she is seemingly saying that she is incapable of managing her parliamentary group and would be happier with oversight from the DLP.

I am therefore forced to ask, why the DLP and why not Solutions Barbados, the United Progressive Party or the Barbados Integrity Movement? Why this indecent haste to resurrect the DLP? Is she afraid of the new talent that is located outside of the two musical chairs political parties that have swapped places with each other since 1961?

Literally while writing this column, I learned of another proposal to amend the Constitution this time to qualify two of the Prime Minister’s picks for appointment as senators. How is this different from the last administration amending the Supreme Court of Judicature Act to secure the appointment of their preferred candidate as Chief Justice? Mind you, the BLP while in Opposition castigated the Stuart Administration for changing the law to accommodate their man.

These two impromptu proposals to amend the Constitution, just because you can, should give the people of this country cause for concern about electing a potential dictatorship. With an opposition of one and no backbench to speak of, I am fearful that if the dear leader does not like something, however desirable, she has the unrestrained power to do as she pleases.

Under our present system of governance a cabinet minister would first have to resign if he/she opposes government policy on the floor of House of Assembly. On the other hand, backbenchers are free to oppose government policy. By appointing almost all of her colleagues to the front bench, the Prime Minister has effectively silenced any dissent from within.

After appointing almost all of the elected members of parliament to the Cabinet, Miss Mottley still saw it fit to appoint three persons from the Senate as ministers. In making that announcement, she claimed that the Constitution requires that three members of the Cabinet should come from the Senate. That left me to wonder if this would be one of her spontaneous amendments to the Constitution, since I know of no such requirement. As far as I am aware, section 64.(1) of the Constitution which provides for the Cabinet. states:

There shall be a Cabinet for Barbados which shall consist of the Prime Minister and not less than five other Ministers appointed in accordance with the provisions of section 65.

Section 65.(1) provides for the appointment of the Prime Minister and subsection (2) goes on to say:

The other Ministers shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, from among the members of the two Houses.

The way things are shaping up, it looks like we have the makings of a Mottley Dictatorship but only time will tell.

63 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – The Makings of a Mottley Dictatorship”

1. @Hants
    Yours @4.18 pm

After Thompson died Stuart made sure that Hartley was persona non grata in the DLP and Hartley had to make his exit.
    Somewhere Hartley is repeating the phrase “Revenge is a dish best served cold”

2. Heard Annankani put his foot down on his demands
    Fool he is past govt made him an offer which he refused
    Now getting on brass tax flexing muscles.
    Wuhloss. What a huge dummy

3. Wonder what is Annankani thinking after endorsing the blp free giveaway plan now to find himself having to explain to his members that they might be job losses and no wage increase
    My granma taught me that a bird in the hand is worth a thousand in the bush
    As for the private sector a matter of spinning mud in the tub

4. These are the convolutions so far the BLP has had to make to get just one of two opposition senators named in order to collifox the existing constitution.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/26/mottley-makes-provision-for-two-opposition-senators/

On May 26 2018

“In the absence of an official Opposition, Prime Minister Mia Mottley today announced that an amendment is to be made to the Barbados Constitution to make provision for the appointment of two Opposition Senators.

And based on its performance in the May 24 poll, those two senatorial positions are being offered to the Democratic Labour Party, as the political party which mustered the second highest number of votes in the just concluded poll in which Mottley’s Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was swept to power after capturing all 30 seats in Parliament.

Following consultations with Governor General Dame Sandra Mason today, Mottley said that in the event the DLP chooses not to take up the offer of the two Senate seats, the Governor General, acting in accordance with her advice as Prime Minister, would proceed to appoint two other representatives to the Upper Chamber.”

On May 26 2018, the DLP refused the offer and Bobby Morris indicated they will earn their seats in Parliament ie, they will follow the constitution as it exists.

On June 1 we learnt, Reverend Joe had crossed the floor to the BZeeP and saved the day.

Then on June 2 we see the new leader of the coalition BLP/BZeeP opposition has named Caswell as one senator who is to be sworn in on June 4, tomorrow.

We now await the second opposition senator being named by Reverend Joe.

Perhaps Nahtalee and Caswell will be the opposition combination of senators, perhaps not.

I agree the country is in a mess and needs urgent attention but do we need to descend to these ridiculous political stunts just to get a Parliament at all costs?

It is a recipe for disaster.

If we finally figure out an election is required, instead of starting ahead of the game the BLP will struggle.

We will see if it has effectively shot itself in its foot.

Tomorrow is another day.

I am sure there can’t be another instance in world history where in order for a Government to form it is necessary to create a coalition opposition with an imaginary party and not a coalition Government.

Zero is a b!tch!!

5. Lol Annankani begging for new supper after being served a big bowl of crow to give to his members by Mottley. Ha ha

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

Like dem does say in dem hardware movies “I would answer dat question but afterwards de ole man would gots to …..”

The single most important strategy in a political campaign is

DISCREDITING ONE’S OPPONENTS

IT IS of secondary rather tertiary import what your economic message is once you understand that then the battle is won.

You must understand that the BLP did not win.

THE DLP LOST!!

AND THEREIN LIES THE SUBTLE DIFFERENCE

Look de ole man rather de grandson could run a campaign against The Donald and win…

Don’t think that this is some sort of pain killer induced hallucination me brother

You need to understand the mindset of the audience and their triggers…

Do you know how long it takes to get a good catch phrase?

Looka at Hartley’s message in 2013

“Tings Dread We Voting Red.”

Now de ole man ent would not comment on the efficacy of the word “dread” nor the ammmm the impact of the sentence but….looka de results heheheheh

Nor would de ole man speak to the “transition” required to move from imagining what dread means to a non homogenous bajan (not rastafarian) community to who you going vote for.

Nor am I going say buffing bout ***

Now looka the simplicity of “Not One Effing Seat” or the repetition of “RH” as an adjective before seat!

Add the attention span of 15 seconds to that Brother Hants and tell de ole man effing Hartley should be begging me fuh a job or as it is, de ole man begging Hartley heheheh

By de way you know he doah?

Dr. Simple Simon say she putting in a word fuh me but I ent hear a ting yet…

7. Interesting choices for independent senators, made by the Governor General. Seems as though George Street was on her mind.

Monique Taitt (the daughter of Branford Taitt) and Kevin John Boyce (son of former health minister, John Boyce).

8. Opportunity for the NEW government for a Capital works project to create dams and increase water storage.

” The Barbados Water Authority advises residents and businesses in parts of St Andrew, St George, St James, St John, St Joseph, St Michael and St Thomas that they may experience low pressure and outages as a result of low levels at the Shop Hill, Golden Ridge and Castle Grant reservoirs.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/06/04/bwa-warns-of-water-outages-in-some-parishes/

9. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn

The following Constitutional Crisis Brief is credited to you.

https://i.imgur.com/CsHuYRy.gifv

Where de grandson has truncated the words that is only because he needed space in the render so he cut the 4 to 5 words.

Like I said for you to be truly effective AS A ONE MAN SENATOR you are going to have to engage someone or someones who will make sure that your message with hit all of the airwaves and cyber halls AND BE HEARD

On the other hand you can adopt a Fumbles and use the old ways and see how that works for you.

It is your choice

10. I rarely comment on your posts.
    But count me as one of the thousands of “silent” Bajans who support you.

11. Dear BU,

Do you share my view that Dr Ronnie Yearwood, an authority on WTO rules, and wit legal experience in the Caribbean and UK, should have been considered to be a senator?

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Caswell Franklyn

You May be inclined to publish a part II to this article?

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

@ Mr. Caswell Franklyn

Provide another stark example of Mugabe schemes or breaking of the law and de ole man’s grandson will do an Enhanced Stoopid Cartoon that simplifies your comment showing the Mugabe gene