Greater love has no man than this, that he lay down his life for his friends [country]” (John 15:13) – Fr. Augustine Vallooran VC

The unprecedented 30-0 victory by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) at the polls on 24 May 2018 created a Constitutional crisis UNTIL St. Michael West M.P. solved the problem by agreeing to be Leader of the Opposition.

Events to date confirm that the decimation of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) caught even the BLP leadership by surprise- tinkering with the Constitution – always a messy business – with a basket of pressing issues to confront from Day 1 is not what Prime Minister Mia Mottley has the appetite for at this time.

In the short term Atherley has made the sacrifice to cross the floor to assume the Leader of the Opposition role. His monthly salary will jump from 60K to 129K per annum but this is the smaller issue. He has averted the need for Mia to tangle with the issue of making deep amendments to the Constitution of Barbados at an early stage in her administration. Ask yourself, which member of parliament crosses the floor after one week of being elected without first declaring his grievances to his constituents and the wider public as a matter of courtesy?

Atherley’s decision to assume the Opposition role is obviously strategic. A ‘sympathetic’ leader of the Opposition in the House of Assembly opens up a pathway for Prime Minister Mia Mottley to attack governance issues, more importantly it removes the nettlesome issue of making significant amendments to the Constitution at an early period in her tenure.

The blogmaster is pleased that the citizens of Barbados have a front row seat to observe the fragility of the democracy we practice exposed. It should be a learning opportunity we grasp with both hands. A past US President Thomas Jefferson is credited with saying that “Eternal vigilance is the price of freedom”.  Now more than ever in our history if the democracy we practice is to work as envisaged by the framers of the Constitution, people and stakeholder participation will be critical. The level of apathy and disaffection by citizens is well documented on BU’s pages.

We need to participate in our government in ways we have not done up to now.  We hope Bishop Joseph will live up to the biblical meaning of his name.

325 responses to “Bishop Joseph Atherley Saves the Day!”

1. Georgie Porgie

I have seen you made references to St. Kitts?

Have you lived there?

During my time there I found Kittians take politics more seriously than Barbadians. One is either a supporter of the People’s Action Movement or the St. Kitts & Nevis Labour Party.

Otherwise, it’s a nice quiet island.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yes I did for about 5 months teaching medical students at IUHS, and also serving in my church group.
    I enjoyed myself there very much.

3. Georgie

I’m not suggesting Natlee’s “community service” isn’t a good service or any service at all.

That would depend on those that require her services……….. especially the repeat and regular clients……..and if those clients recommend her services to other potential clients……….

………….and if she hers is a niche market, whereby her particular services are aimed at satisfying specific market needs, as well as the price range, production quality and the demographics she intends to impact.

4. Sit down and comprehend. Sometimes certain ideas fly over our limited heads. Natalee is a former sex worker, which suggests that she comes from the very bottom of the social pyramid. It is suggested that someone coming from the bottom of society can make a very positive contribution to policy-making, rather than the conventional top down policy-making.
    This is the contribution she can make, she will not be prime minister, even if I do not see her past career as a disqualification, but a member of a 51-strong parliament.
    In a nation that pretends to be a meritocratic society, how can the son of a former prime minister, with no obvious talent, skills or knowledge, (and what appears to be a sculpted CV) be better qualified than a woman who had to sell herself to survive, when it comes to social policy?
    Sometimes we need to drop our party allegiance and go beyond our limited education and wear the cap of intelligence. It can be tough, but try.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Artaxerxes June 1, 2018 1:51 PM
    Sir your analysis of Natlee’s “community service” is comprehensive!

6. Hal you need prayers.🤣🤣

7. lol..unbelievable, if I did not see it for myself, no one could convince me.

John…are you sure you did not pay any money to SBs campaign.

Mind you I did not read more than 2 or so of your posts, but those were quite enough.

Anyway, there is now an opposition leader whom am sure will choose enough people to satisfy the required amount of senators and opposition members,, for those stuck in their delusion of being political party supporters, which is not necessary to carry out the functions of the Constitution.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HAL

re It is suggested that someone coming from the bottom of society can make a very positive contribution to policy-making, rather than the conventional top down policy-making.

ARE YOU COMPARING NATALEE TO THE WOMAN AT THE WELL DESCRIBED IN JOHN CHAPTER 4, WHO SEEMED TO BE FAIRLY INTELLIGENT DESPITE BEING AT THE BOTTOM OF SOCIETY

IN FACT SHE SEEMED TO BE QUICKER IN “COMING FROM NIGHT TO LIGHT” THAN NICODEMUS, WHO CAME FROM THE VERY TOP OF THE SOCIETY.

9. Well, well, well,

Didn´t Tron predict “operation sunset” for the last days of the Demonic gov???

Nobody listened to me …

10. Enuff

For a journalist, Hal Austin often comes to this forum with a lot of shiite, believing he epitomizes intelligence……. Far from it.

Then he implies “party allegiance” without any proof to substantiate his characterization.

This man whose education is limitless and wears the cap of intelligence wants to convince us lesser mortals that a hooker is in a much better position to frame social policy mainly on the basis that she sold her body to survive……and without any formal training in disciplines such as social work.

This is tantamount to suggesting that an individual would make an excellent journalist because he/she reads newspapers on a daily basis and sells them to survive. In other words, it would not be necessary to know the intricacies the English Language or develop writing skills and a knowledge of the stories that individual plans to report on……..all that is necessary is to sell the Advocate and Daily Nation……and read Barbados Today online.

And this comes from a man who mentioned in this forum that he attended the best schools and universities, which enabled him to analyse and interpret financial data.

11. Artax,

Whoever you are, having someone explaining their history is much better than having a so-called social worker talking about a case study.
    Just think about it for a minute. She will not be making policy, but informing it.

12. It’s done

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/163035/atherley-sworn-opposition-leader

“Member of Parliament for St Michael West Bishop Joseph Atherley has been sworn in as Leader of the Opposition by Governor General Dame Sandra Mason.”

13. AHHH….

“I indicated that in the absence of an Opposition that that was absolutely critical. I need to confirm this morning that in the presence of an Opposition, it still remains critical. Some may say that having received the benefit of the victory I now have the burden of the victory relieved of me and for that I am grateful to the Almighty,” Mottley said.”

14. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ dpD

Re contracts of G o B

All contracts signed by G o B are signed on behalf of the State and should be binding if they are legally and correctly so signed.
    The question of ethical or conventional behaviour of the ministers and Public servants is a different kettle of fish. The only effective punishment is dismissal from office. And even then the remedies must be within the four corners of the Labour Laws and the terms and conditions of the contract between the parties.

Criminal offenses are matters for the Law Courts.

I do not know the details of each case. So cannot advise. Whether they will be any change from past behaviour. I will not even hazard a guess,

15. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

It’s been only 1 week since the BLP made a clean sweep of the DLP in the General Elections. In that week PM Mottley strategically allowed the manifestation of a LoO out of thin air; averted a looming constitutional crisis; exposed the most horrendous rape of the Treasury in our history; met with the media in Press conferences or other media events more times than the former PM had done in 5 years; visited and engaged with stake holders at the site of our most serious environmental hazard and identified strategies for its correction; met with the Social Partnership perhaps more times in this week than the former administration had met with them in one year; directed her Cabinet members to produce detailed papers in mere days that would have taken such officials in the previous Cabinet weeks or months to prepare; appeared to have already inspired a work ethic in her subordinates that was seemingly grossly lacking in the previous administration; etc. etc. etc.

However, there were also faint signs in the allocation of a few Cabinet positions and some other strategic posts that there might be some incipient causes for concern in the future. Constant vigilance by the electorate and the BU family is needed to ensure that this fledgling problem does not metastasize.

But the balance sheet so far, suggests that the new PM has the potential to make the right decisions and provide the type of leadership that will underpin our being able to quickly start rising from the morass that the previous administration had propelled us.

I think that the new PM has shown in this short time that she deserves all the support she can get from all Bajans and that she is prepared to work indefatigably, strategically, sensibly, singlemindedly and purposefully to correct our current woes and get us back, perhaps sooner than expected, onto a proven path of development. This path, given the disclosures made yesterday in her post-cabinet press conference and reported quite extensively in today’s Press, must of necessity entail significant belt tightening by nearly all Bajans. But one would hope and expect that her avowed policies of transparency etc. will ensure that things will significantly improve in the relatively near future for most of us.

The PM and her Cabinet deserve a reasonable honeymoon period to allow proper evaluation of her direction and progress toward her stated goals before advocating non-strategic resistance.

16. Blacklash from promises which Mia cannot deliver.this is just the beginnjng
    Except the lord build the house. There labour is in vain that built it. Tek dat

17. The grapes are indeed sour, just saw Carson exyardfowl…drooling more sour grapes.

Hopefully the outside agencies that investigate theft, fraud and money laundering are soon engaged to trace all that money stolen from the people….lol

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THAT IS WHY THE BAJAN HOUSE FELL DOWN WHEN THE DEMS WERE IN POWER
    CAUSE THE LORD WOULD NOT COME NEAR IT … ah lie? Tek dat

19. With these stark-ling revelations, no wonder the morons were shouting from their bare platforms….where is she going to get the money from?

We all now know that the SOB’s licked the money out!

Lock them up!

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

they not only licked the money out……they went out de way to make it hard that any dat come in could be useful for de country

21. Why would someone rejoice that Mia cannot fulfill her promises as a result of the economy they left behind?

Woman, you should hold your head in shame………..the same economy that we were lied to about……the economy is growing….every year and now this? Shameful!

22. I am wondering if the government cannot invite qualified appraisers to have a look at all of these multi million dollar projects which were give to one or two of their bag men………with a view to evaluating whether the cost paid is good value and whether the right monies were charged.

Certainly there must be cause for concern when the amount of units to be built at the Grotto was reduced but the overall cost increased by nearly double the original cost…………..with the crazy millions paid for projects not tendered in the port including the molasses tanks.

MAM needs to get true valuations of these projects and the fees paid to these DLP lawyers!

23. each and everyone of theDems ministers under the rule of Stuart survived a ten year period
    It is not even a week and the blp house under Mia has lost a rafter
    You bees should be concernrd
    30-1 = 29
    Look at all them ministers belly feed
    A hungry man is an angry man

24. Prodigal
    Bit..ch beware u gonna spend many a sleepless night counting empty bean bags in the name of promises undelivered
    Mia pull a big foot move and the people fell for it
    Will sit back with my hands folded and watch the dominoes fall one at a time

25. So, let’s see, Reverend Joe the recent convert to Independent is off shopping for two senators so he can advise the GG who he wants appointed.

His first stop should be the DLP but he has dissed them and they dissed Mia, scratch 1

His second stop should be Solutions Barbados. They are all fussy about corruption and integrity, ISO9001 standards and things like that and I doubt if Reverend Joe knows how to frame his offer to meet ISO9001 standards or if he even knows what they are … Scratch 2

His third stop should be UPP. Hereby lies a tale. This one is the closest to the BLP of the three so far. I reckon he will stop by there first rather than hurt his head over IS9001 standards. This is a definite possibility.

His fourth stop will be CUP but the problem is it has in the BIM. The I stands for integrity so good chance that he will use this as a last resort. – Scratch 3

Randall Rouse, Independent got the most votes (700) as an independent BUT, he also was/is a DEM!! He is a former member of Parliament for St. Joseph. – I think, Scratch 4

So, his shopping list will have UPP at the top, then some independents.

McCLEAN, Leroy Hensworth IND 155
    HAREWOOD, Natalie Nicole IND 54
    JORDAN, Joseph Kenneth IND 49
    DAISLEY, Iramar Rosie IND 37
    POLLARD, Stephen St. Clair IND 35
    BISHOP, Lesloyed Lester IND 15
    LARRIER, Buddy Aaron IND 14

Out of a slate of over a 100 candidates other than B he is possibly restricted to 6 independents like himself now, with less than 300 votes between them and the UPP with 1,965 votes. So he may have less than 30% of the candidates available to him.

The CUP has 580 votes so if you were having to estimate what percentage of the people who voted against the Bees (~41,000) you would get about 5%.

Even if Randal Rouse’s 700 votes are thrown in, he is still in single figures, about 6-7%.

The DLP has about 33K and Solutions about 4,100 which accounts for the balance, 93-94%.

So when he presents himself to the GG with his selection for his senators who are opposed to the Government he will probably be unable to account for 93-94% of the electorate who are opposed the BLP, ie, the Government.

He needs to swing the DLP somehow but he started bad in his comments to the press about them.

But he has to convince the GG that he is opposed to the Government which he has muffed in his interview.

He should in theory have close to a zero chance of convincing her but you can never tell.

About 30 candidates will probably be approached and they will have their choices to make.

… and then the GG has a choice to make regarding Reverend Joe’s bona fides and credibility as being “opposed to the Government”

Hopefully by then she will have had a chance to watch and listen to his interview with the press.

26. I think this recent move by Reverend Joe is a knee jerk reaction.

They can’t have thought this one through.

Maybe the exposure of the infelicities of the DEMs is being used as a lever to get them “on board”!!

But one thing is sure, the move confirms that 30-0 is a freak result and cannot work!!

27. Owen Arthur was right in 2008 when he called the DLP members of the House a bunch of wild boys.Only immoral,low life people would have inflicted this mountain of debt through sleight of hand manoeuvres and bare faced thiefing that this now dead party did to the bajan people.

28. None of dem should ever be allowed near the people’s parliament again..

29. @Hal
    Thought highly of your last two posts on this topic.
    Ignore the critics.

30. If Errol Barrow could only return and see what Freundel ‘Coward’ Stuart has done to his beloved party.Not a damn seat in the House of Assembly and not a damn seat in the Senate.To all intent and purpose on the 1st June 2018,exactly 31 years after his death,the DLP is as dead as a doornail.And the big JA that made sure he never communicated with the masses of people is the main contributor to its burial in ignominy.Not a damn seat in the lower house and not a damn seat in the upper house.What devastation has been wrought on that Dead Lying Party,notorious for failing to account for some 9 billion in debt during its 10 years of achieving no growth to show for the money “misplaced”.

31. Anyone know which tax haven Chris has disappeared to?

32. Hal Austin

It’s obvious you (and others) have an “antiquated” view of prostitution……….i.e. that growing up in an impecunious household, forces a woman into the trade.

Nowadays prostitution is seen as an ORGANIZED BUSINESS and an easy method to “earn a living.” Hence, some women (and men) from various socioeconomic classes voluntarily use this method to earn a substantial amount of money.

33. @David re your 11:38 am post, I am in agreement that the opposition votes for the 2018 election should have determined the Leader of the Opposition. If not coming from the 30 who were removed, there should be no appointment of anyone to that post.
    I believe that in the past 24 hours that we have witnessed a political coup in Barbados. It happened too fast and GG herself acted swiftly to install Mr. Atherley.
    I have not a clue what Mr. Atherley is opposing since Parliament has NOT even opened. How can he be a leader of the opposition when the group that he is to lead simply do not exist. It is indicative that every leader has followers.
    I cannot say that what has been done is legal or illegal. What I do know is that he has betrayed the public trust and that of his Constituents. In addition, knowing full well that the Prime Minister was working on a solution, both he and the GG went behind her back to install Mr. Atherley.

34. @Heather

We have to accept that the 30-0 created a constitutional challenge. This was explained by Jeff. Dont be naive to dismiss the fact that the situation prompted backroom iterations of what is the best path to take. Through it all the citizenry must be eternally vigilant and be prepared to raise their voices if and when necessary.

35. Artax,

I think you have been watching too much CNN and reading the tabloids. A bit of background: my paternal grandparents owned a rum shop and bakery in Nelson Street and did so for decades, when it was the centre of nightlife in Barbados. I spent 14 years working for the Daily Mail and have worked for the News of the World.
    So, common sense tells you I know, or should know, about organised prostitution. This is not it. If you want to see organised prostitution in Barbados, go to the West Coast, focus on Bajan white women and some tourists who come in to work and keep an eye on hotel rooms. Not Bush Hill.
    Policy-making is based on reality, not some fake moral outrage. As a sex worker, in a society in which the issue of inequality is not part of the grammar of politics, in which the redistribution of wealth is not part of the discourse, in which the urgent need for an inheritance tax is dismissed, what better than to get someone who has lived a life of misfortune to explain it at the very top table of decision-making in Barbados?
    Of course, her father was not a lawyer/politician nor has she an “impressive finance” career CV (however much inflated), so this automatically disqualifies poor Natalee. How about amending the constitution to accommodate her?

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Heather…in this case and having read the Constitution, it really does not provide for anything other than what the GG has now determined…and she alone has the power to make that determination..

If the previous GGs had done their jobs as the constitution intended and not become part of the very illegal yardfowl brigades, illegal because nowhere in the constitution does it say or provide for the fantasy that becoming a member of any political party is a necessity…..it does not even mention the word political party….

….. the island would not be in such as mess, if the constitution was adhered to from conception and not twisted to suit the narrow, backward agendas of both political parties and the resulting governments over the last 52 years….I have to concede that reality no matter who created/drafted and enforced the constitution.

It’s perfectly legal and will hasten the constitutional reform that we are all asking for.

37. “A bit of background: my paternal grandparents owned a rum shop and bakery in Nelson Street and did so for decades, when it was the centre of nightlife in Barbados.”

There you go……….

How do you know Natlee has lived a life of misfortune? Where has she ever stated she lived a life of misfortune?

Your above comment answered the question and essentially SUBSTANTIATED my assessment re: your view of prostitution is “ANTIQUATED.”

You are still of the “old time” belief that a woman working on the streets or from a Nelson Street club, is poor and comes from a particular segment of society.

I agree that poverty forces some women into prostitution. But mentioning your paternal grandparents operating business in Nelson Street, perhaps during the early 1900s, does not make you an expert in assessing prostitution in Barbados in this era.

When last have you visited Nelson Street (or the Ivy), talked to the residents, business owners, hookers or people liming there?

I grew up in the ghetto and unlike you I still associate with my people. I know the owners of night clubs in Nelson Street, where women from all walks of life, Caribbean and South American countries ply their trade. I know women who operate from Bush Hill and the clubs that are involved in organized prostitution. Some of these women cater to tourists staying at luxury hotels such as Sandy Lane and Royal Pavilion, the “big boys and girls,” private parties or you could get a girl for a weekend. Some also ply their trade on cruise ships and the neighbouring islands.

My friend, you are out of touch with reality. Clearly it is you who has “been watching too much CNN and reading the tabloids.” Sometimes you need to come of your “high horse” and show less contempt for people you believe are beneath you.

A bit of advice, do some research and stop basing your arguments on articles you wrote during the 1970s…..times have changed significantly, my friend.

And by the way, you need to get rid of this silly habit of trying to assess things in Barbados based on your experiences in the UK or what occurs or occurred in the UK.

But, what the heck……..to you we are all ignorant.

38. To be clear, Bishop Atherley confirmed yesterday that he will be appointing the two opposition Senators.

A reminder for what it is worth, Atherley was the organizer of the School of Politics initiative which as BLP politicians invited to Bank Hall on Sundays to talk and share ‘politics’ with the people.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Are We There Yet

An excellent synopsis of the efforts of Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mia Mottley

I shared that my “conversion” on the way to Damascus was from a “vision” which overtrumped former predispositions.

I will admit that it went against all thinking processes and accustomed logical thought but “it’s Source” was inviolable and de ole man has oft times “seen” that that source IS NEVER WRONG.

SHE will prove to be the best prime minister the country has ever had

@ Mr Bernard Codrington

Much appreciation to you for answering the queries of My North American friend de Ingrunt Word aka DPD

As it speaks to these binding contracts which you strenuously opined might not be capable of being struck down in a court of law, de ole man would again comment on the practical side of beneficiaries of these contracts being able to enforce payment schedules.

So say for example I have a contract with CBC and it is for $300 a Month for 2 years

What happens when I don’t pay CBC? for 3 months? Dem does put me in court and the judge, after an assessment if my income will direct me to pay $x

Now say as opposed to paying $300, before i go to court, I pay $y continuously, which is less than x and then use my lawyers and the tedious process of going to court to frustrate the beneficiaries of contract proceeds DOES THAT NOT EFFECT A NON PAYMENT OF THE CONTRACT?

I am not too knowledgeable about these things but I see how Trump’s lawyers and Bajan lawyers and The Barbados Registry does do things like this so, please indulge de ole man …

40. LOL. What a move by the BLP and their bishop! The Dems even nuked out in the Senate. LOL.

41. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Piece Uh de Rock. at 7 :16 AM

In my opinion it has the effect of breaching the contract.

I must point out I am not a lawyer. My knowledge is based on my study of Law Relating to Banking which I studied and passed in The Institute of Banking Diploma U.K.

42. Bernard,

Do you mean the Chartered Institute of Banking, now the IFS School of Finance?

43. Artax,

Apologies if I give the impression all BU contributors are ignorant. I am convinced however that you certainly are – and appallingly so..
    Just re-read this stream to see how ignorant you are. It started with me saying that Natalee deserves a seat at the high table; you objected. I made the point that she could inform social policy from the bottom up, you mention nonsense about social workers.
    Being unable to sustain a reasonable argument, you then tell me of your association, thus you know more about active sex workers than I do.
    How about Natalee’s ability to inform social policy from the bottom up, or is this just for the social elites? I repeat, room should be found for Natalee.

44. @ David
    Just because we have always endured a confrontational approach to political management does not make it mandatory.
    The tradition of having two oposing fractions of society alternate as government and opposition is antiquated and completely counter-productive – given the externally competitive nature of the REAL THREATS that we face as a society.

The ‘opposition’ need only be honest, ethical persons of good repute – who are tasked with the role of critically assessing the actions taken by government. Why can such not come from the BLP?
    …and such opposition should SENSIBLY come from WITHIN the lower house….not just the senate.

If Bushie wore Mia’s shoes,(winning 30-0) such an appointment would be my next priority AFTER the AG…. and Atherley is as good a choice as any…

It is simply a brilliant move… and also a sensible one.

Now if she can contrive a Senate that focuses on COMPETENT and ethical citizens of reputable character and outspoken nature, …we may even stand a chance of survival…..

…and that is saying quite a lot for a nation of brass bowls who are currently deep in a shit hole …and still in a digging mode….

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal, if one agrees that room should be accorded Natalee of ‘he like to eat boxee’ fame why necessarily must it be in the Senate.

At minimum it’s quite viable that given her new found public appeal that she can be afforded a regular opportunity to advise the minister as a spokesperson for persons similarly situated as herself.

That can be done in traditional ways or more modern fashion where in addition to meetings she is given a web site so funded by ministry from which she can propogate the gospel of self help and growth according to Natalee.

Why this fixation that she must now automatically ascend to any of the ‘august’ traditional centers of power and authority…there are others current which are actually more powerful…if used well.

46. @Bushie

Have no issue with your line of argument, the discussion we have been engaged has more to do with operating within the four walls of the Constitution.

47. Has PM Mottley commented publicly about the appointment of Mr Atherley? If so what did she say? If not, would that not be odd?

48. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Bush Tea at 11:02 AM

God Bless You. You understand the art of the possible.

49. “As it speaks to these binding contracts which you strenuously opined might not be capable of being struck down in a court of law, de ole man would again comment on the practical side of beneficiaries of these contracts being able to enforce payment schedules.”

Since I aced Contract Law..if the language in those obviously shady but may not be illegal contracts are binding, the contractor has to perform their duties, whether it’s the delivery of goods or services…if they don’t….fire their asses, per the terms of their contracts..

In the case of these hastily signed and extended contracts…since they are all the now defunct DLPs brigade of leaches, parasites and hangers-on…they cannot play the yardfowl card with Mia…no performance and no delivery of services, they immediately become ex-employees to go right along with their ex-yardfowls status..

50. @Bushie
    “The ‘opposition’ need only be honest, ethical persons of good repute – who are tasked with the role of critically assessing the actions taken by government. Why can such not come from the BLP?”

I’ve a great deal of respect for your opinion, but you became caught up with your thinking and ignored reality. I am watching events play out but I believe that if the opposition comes for the BLP then It is only a sham. Only lip service will be paid.

I would suggest “whacking yourself” but you may misconstrue the suggestion and get caught up with matters of the flesh.

Leave a Reply to piece uh de rock yeah rightCancel reply