A few people only would have accurately predicted the outcome of last Thursday’s general election that resulted in the former Opposition Barbados Labour Party romping to victory by capturing all thirty of the parliamentary seats at stake.

Among those who we may number as not having foreseen such an eventuality would have been the framers of our 1966 Constitution. Indeed, if we were to judge from the text they produced, it might be argued that, to the contrary, they contemplated that there would always be an opposition in parliament and a possible leader thereof, although that individual might not always be willing to serve in that role.

This is my assessment from a reading of the various sections of the Constitution pertinent to the issue. First, there is section 74 (1) that appears to presume the continuous existence of an Opposition in Parliament –

There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.

Second, section 74 (2) provides for the mode of his or her appointment, once more apparently making an identical assumption-

Whenever the Governor-General has occasion to appoint a Leader of the Opposition he shall appoint the member of the House of Assembly who, in his judgment, is best able to command the support of a majority of those members who do not support the Government, or if there is no such person, the member of that House who, in his judgment, commands the support of the largest single group of such members who are prepared to support one leader: [Emphasis added]

At least two of my learned friends, Justice Christopher Blackman in last Sunday’s issue of the Sunday Sun, and Ms Lynette Eastmond in Tuesday’s Barbados Advocate, have expressed the view that the issue is satisfactorily resolved by the provision in section 75. According to this-

During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the Governor-General shall-

(a) act in his discretion in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition; and

(b) act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition…

It seems clear from a preliminary reading of this turgidly drafted section that while it is premised on the absence or non-existence of a Leader of the Opposition, that premise is not the broad one contended for by some in the present scenario, but rather is cribbed, cabined and confined by that absence or non-existence being for the express reason stated and that reason only, namely, by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office… [Emphasis mine]

We should note that the section does not present the two elements as alternatives, in which case the draftsman would have used “or”, but rather as cumulative (“and”), thereby intending that both elements should be satisfied. Nor does it seem to import clearly that the second element (willingness to accept) is relevant only where the first element of qualification is satisfied.

It is readily conceded that the section is regrettably drafted and it is to be negatively contrasted with the much more lucid (though to different effect) provision to be found in section 83 (6) of the Trinidad & Tobago Republican Constitution of 1976-

Where the office of Leader of the Opposition is vacant, whether because there is no member of the House of Representatives so qualified for appointment or because no one qualified for appointment is willing to be appointed, or because the Leader of the Opposition has resigned his office or for any other reason, any provision in this Constitution requiring consultation with the Leader of the Opposition shall, in so far as it requires such consultation, be of no effect. [Emphasis mine]

It would appear that both of my learned friends and others have read the Barbadian provision as being identical to this one, when in fact it is not; since the T&T section requires only one of the stipulated prerequisites to be satisfied.

In the absence of a clear provision to cater to the current circumstances, the Honourable Prime Minister, Ms Mia Mottley, seemingly in agreement with the argument advanced here, has graciously indicated her preference for a constitutional amendment that would permit the party, other than that which comprises the governing administration, that captured the most votes in the election to nominate two members of the Senate, as the official Opposition would be able to in ordinary circumstances.

This amendment too will require careful drafting as it purports too alter, even if only slightly, the entitlement to Senate representation from one of the number of those first past the post to a semblance of proportional representation. I imagine, however, that she is contemplating a sunset clause to fit the current scenario. It is now up to the Democratic Labour Party to determine whether it will be aware of Greeks bearing gifts or whether it will look this gift horse intently in the mouth.

It is not an open and shut matter and will bring into sharp focus the regard of the political effectiveness of the Senate in our system of governance.

293 responses to “A Jeff Cumberbatch Column – An Unforeseen Event”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

As to your question about the offer to the DLP…

That offer could not have been accepted in the first place since they were not technically the “opposition”

And NOW THAT AN OPPOSITION EXISTS, that offer can only be effected by Joseph Atherley

2. Hmmmmmm…………..

ALL OF A SUDDEN……..and CONVENIENTLY after the general elections,…….. “T.Inniss,” has now becomes a regular contributor (in support of the DLP).

Perhaps he/she has been recruited to replace Carson C. Cadogan?????

I noticed Inniss has returned to referring to the old, worn out issues, such Greenland, VECO, Crab Hill police station, Edutech, etc……..deeds the electorate punished the BLP at the 2008 polls for committing. Unfortunately, this strategy was not as effective during the 2013 and 2018 election campaigns, as it was for 2008.

Since Inniss is PREOCCUPIED with “HISTORICAL EVENTS,” I recall during a press conference after winning the 1986 general elections, Barrow “ordered” heads of departments and officials at statutory corporations to take their assigned MP and ML vehicles to Central Police station.

I also recall immediately after winning the 2008 elections, David Thompson held a press conference at which he disclosed the names and associated salaries of consultants hired by the Arthur Administration, as well as mentioning “the mess” they inherited and have to clean up before they could embark upon delivering their promises. During those times the DLP’s buzz word was “mess” and I remember UDC Director Derek Alleyne talking about the “mess” he discovered at Urban.

Rather than mentioning Sinckler et al could hold press conferences to speak on the issues mentioned, perhaps Inniss should be more concerned about the fact that the DLP had the opportunity to investigate and prosecute BLP parliamentarians for the financial infelicities and the “mess” they “discovered.”

However and unfortunately, after 10 years and 3 months, they did not make use of that opportunity……. and continuing mentioning these old issues could be only for purposes of political posturing and political aggrandizement.

As it relates to the BLP consultants, for example, after Thompson’s “hullabaloo,” he replaced Mark Williams, who was the BLP’s special events co-coordinator, with Cranston Browne; Hamilton Lashley was replaced by Undene Whittaker as Advisor on Poverty Eradication and the Millennium Development Goals;

This is “par for the course” in politics and it amazes me why Inniss should become so UPSET because Mottley has similarly undertaken a course of action as her predecessors.

I believe that having been given a “summary” of the indiscretions committed by the former Stuart administration, Inniss should be asking for full disclosure and the perpetrators brought to justice, so as to eliminate such occurrences happening in the future.

At the end of the day, they aren’t any philosophical and ideological differences between the BLP and DLP.

3. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

Joseph Atherly will not have much to do and will collect a big salary.

4. “The Bridgetown Sewage Treatment plant is less than a month away from breaking down due to stress placed on its systems from trying to cure the ills at the South Coast Sewage Project.

While Government is still trying to find a solution to the South Coast sewage problems, it also has to focus urgent attention on the Bridgetown Sewage Treatment Plant as well.”

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

Whuloss ehu i do you?

Please do not het the ole man started about the right reverend Joseph Atherley a man of the cloth

Please do not get de ole man started on the pretend christians lot of whom certain people number foremost

You left Fleur and gone to Glennis and de ole man ent say a pang (but then I left *** and now am all for *** so why de ole man saying?…)

In the grand scheme if things Atherley is just an enabling mechanism

He never was and never be a mover and a shaker and is not A Soldier of My God

The person who is important is Prime Minister Mottley

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Whu not ehu*

7. Residency issues, small potatoes, residency rules should be relaxed for Bajan citizens living in the diaspora anyway….new era, their contributions are required to drive the island..

“It was announced yesterday that Rawdon Adams, son of late Prime Minister Tom Adams, and Kay McConney, the proposed Minister of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology, were outside of the 12-month residency requirement.”

8. Of course people still miss the info that says, “the constitution does not recognize political parties”…read..vote candidates, not party, of course through the years politicians turned it assbackwards to suit their corrupt agendas..and the electorate went right along with it…to their own detriment.

Not only should the electorate not vote for political parties, but when voting for individual candidates, it should be a performance based vote…if you as the minister never performed competently, efficiently, progressively so that the people in your constituency ALL benefitted, whether they elected you or not, you are a FAIL and do not deserve any votes and should not get any votes come next election.

There is nothing difficult about that to understand, if your constituency representative at the end of his or her 5 year term has 5 cars and 5 apartment buildings including a mansion and businesses and overseas bank accounts in the millions of dollars, they were not serving you, but themselves…and deserves no votes next election.

9. @ pieceuhderockyeahright who wrote “The person who is important is Prime Minister Mottley”,

I hope she can lead Barbados out of the quagmire it is in. The picture she painted is dreadful.

10. As revealed by the Constitution..

“(1) There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.

(2) Whenever the Governor-General has occasion to appoint a Leader of the Opposition he shall appoint the member of the House of Assembly who, in his judgment, is best able to com- mand the support of a majority of those members who do not support the Government, or if there is no such person, the member of that House who, in his judgment, commands the support of the largest single group of such members who are prepared to support one leader:”

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@Brother Hants

I believe she will

The first step has been the way she has commenced this engagement

And the teams that she has on the ground sifting through the faeces of the DLP.

And therein one must take serious stock.

IT speaks to HER READINESS

I have been rather quiet leading up to this Election as it relates to saying any disparaging remarks about her team.

And yes. I absolutely desisted in remarking about her but you will note my *** for many comments about members of her team.

The fact is that there are 30 candidates.

You dun know I wanted not one RH seat for the DLP

But the fact is that Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley realises that the individual competencies of several of her team’s ministers is suspect.

That is a euphemism for dem ent got a clue about what to do.

So what do you do brother Hants?

Throw your hands in the air and say “oh me miserum”?

So she has titular ministers and awarded ministers and senators.

2.She has a second tier of sycophants at Permanent Secretary level and statutory corporation level

3.she has inherited an army of occupation in the snivel service

4.she has a set of workers unions that are still entrenched in the mentality of wages increases for our members else we strike

And then she has the average 15 second attention span bajan who just want Kadooment every day and to wuk up pun a pooch

So what does a Prime Minister do WHO WANT TO LEAVE A REAL LEGACY.

SHE ENGAGES THE BEST EXPERTISE AROUND HER BEFORE ENTERING THE FRAY!!!

That is the Tsar Tier which she has had time to prove in the background while all of this foolishness was unfolding

And this is why de ole man tell you that even on its best day, the Third Party Movement WAS NOT READY.

I HAVE SEEN THE BELLY OF THAT BEAST THREE TIMES AND DEM DID NOT KNOW WHAT IT TAKES TO RUN A GOVERNMENT

MOTTLEY DOES.

But there is a thing that I want you to watch Brother Hants

I want you to watch the eyes of her team and catalogue their isokinetics

What do you see?

But let de ole man desist lest you become wise beyond wise with such sight beyond sight like the Thundercats….lolol

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with…

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

One final submission before I take the meds.

Many people are wondering what is going to happen with the size of an oversized public services

And rightfully so.

IT has been bulging beyond its sustainable capacity for 25 years and requires trimming

Trimming it today WILL CSUSE HARDSHIP OF A TYPE THAT WHILE THE STSTE WILL ACHIEVE THEIR GOALS IN ONE REGARD will have extremely adverse effects in our society if there are not alternatives

De ole man suggests this as a short term consideration PARTICULARLY since the alarm bell was sounded yesterday about oil prices are rising.

An OPT-IN wages freeze for the public sector with a Sliding Schedule option

1991 and Sandiford presented some hardships and some actions

BUT, in order for there to be a containment of wages as part of a downsizing programme here are some options for consideration.

The Wages Freeze Option will be an Opt in Programme.
    It will be a finite programme
    Persons who opt will be exempt from first wave downsizing actions. To be exempt from any downsizing programs one wohld have go opt in to the maximum proposed scale.

5.a First in First Out policy will apply when the program closes.

6 such opt in Programme WILL NOT BE EXTENDED TO STAFF WHO WERE PADDED TO THE PUBLIC SERVICE AS OF *** DATE.

CREDIT FOR THE BASELINE IDEA FOR THIS SUGGESTION GOES TO ARE WE THERE YET

14. Pieceuhderock
    Yuh remember Mottley’s words during the campaign “Bishop Atherley is the conscience of the Barbados Labour Party”. Get yuh LOO pay Bishop. Only yesterday I said that given the Dems’ delaying tactics, we’ll cross the floor and remain in control of Parliament–Lower and Upper House.

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Enuff

“There is more than one way to skin a cat or is that (DLP) dogs”

Whuloss eff he is de conscience we need the Lord indeed…

@ prodigal Son

On June 1st yo seem to be calling Atherley a traitor

Explain that to me when on May 31st at 9.02 a.m you were actually recommending the names if senators

How else given the current impasse could we arrive at the selection of senators unless a fellow did what Bishop Atherley Did?

We all wants to go to heaven but not a feller wants to die heheheh and note dat de feller ent say a ting bout where him holeyness going why after all if a feller does do a special absolution for de girls dem who is to say anything bout de “conscience” heheheheh

16. “He said he is convinced that if his administration is able to bring together all Grenadians, including the estimated 20,000 people who voted against the NNP, the country will be better off.”

Keith Mitchell is not only the Prime Minister of Grenada but he has also taken unto himself the post of Leader of the Opposition!!

He has done it three times already

Mia Mottley, if we continue on this path, will be the Prime Minister and will take unto herself the post of the Leader of the Opposition.

Mia Mottley will be the second Prime Minister/Leader of the Opposition in the English speaking Caribbean to preside over an unconstitutional government.

Keith Mitchell has achieved a three peat … Mia Mottley is only now getting started!!

“Give me the vote and watch muh”

Are these words attributable to Mia Mottley?

So, what will Mia Mottley go down in history as?

First Female Prime Minister of Barbados to take the post of Leader of the Opposition

First Female Prime Minister, holding the post of Leader of the Opposition to achieve a clean sweep in elections in the English speaking Caribbean

If we continue on the path we are treading she will also become:

First Female Prime Minister holding the post of Leader of the Opposition to preside over an unconstitutional government

… and she may become ..

The First Female Prime Minister holding the post of Leader of the Opposition to achieve a three peat and preside over an unconstitutional government for three terms like her male colleague in Grenada, Keith Mitchell..

The sky is the limit!!

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

There has never been a better time to call in outside agencies to help find all the missing money bellonging to taxpayers and pensioners….and prosecute all the thieves in the business communuty and the ex government.

“(4) In the exercise of his functions under the provisions of
    subsections (2), (2A) and (3), the Auditor-General shall not be subject
    to the direction or control of any other person or authority.”

18. The PAC going unto full gear just now, with full support from all members and there will be no government Ministers to thwart its functioning. Hearings will be streamed live for public consumption. This “crossing” does not appear to be a “casualty” as Barbados Today is reporting; but when you have an axe to grind you only see the trees. #bossstrategy

19. (1) There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.

There must be a Leader of the Opposition!!

30-0 can’t work.

The Government will be unconstitutional.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John…take a read of the Grenada constitution. ..not only is it a sovereign island, but also a republic, complete with a president and power resides in the hands of the people…who are very vocal..when pissed off, despite the population’s small size…

They have handed Mitchell his ass on more than one occasion and will again when they have had enough of him.

21. There has never been a better time to call in outside agencies to help find all the missing money bellonging to taxpayers and pensioners….and prosecute all the thieves in the business communuty and the ex government.

There has never been a better time to grow up and do it ourselves.

But, we need a constitutionally elected government.

Back to elections.

22. They have handed Mitchell his ass on more than one occasion and will again when they have had enough of him.

Meanwhile he will fleece them and leave them destitute!!

23. Note the timing of Bishop Atherley’s letter–the evening after the press conference highlighting the skullduggery. Amendments to PAC and orher Commiittees of Parliament–check. Locking up?

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The constitution also does not make having an opposition mandatory, it is more of a constitutional courtesy…

There is now an opposition, happy to see the DLP laggards lose out again with their sluggard ways.

Enuff….ya gine kill Vivek with stress,..lol

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Not unlike what goes on in Barbados…despite successive GGs being in charge and having of the island for 52 years …through representing the UK,..

.same fleecing in Grenada, albeit at a smaller level given the population size…of Grenada.

I will bet unlike Barbados, they are not missing possibly billions of dollars between the treasury and pension funds though..

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

and having CONTROL of the island for 52 years …through representing the UK,..

27. There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ok Jeff

I am one of the 4,100 who voted Solutions

I fall into the category, “Those who do not support the Government”

I am guaranteed under the constitution to be represented in Parliament?

Can I come to you as a lawyer and ask you to sue the GG because she will not appoint a leader of the opposition to represent me in Parliament as is my constitutional right?

Do I have an open and shut case?

If I bring along a few others who like me oppose the Government whether they happened to have voted for Nahtalee, the DLP or the UPP is this a basis for a Class Action Suit against the GG?

28. The fracturing of the 30-0 to maintain power was called by several on BU. What remains to be seen is if we have a functioning opposition or if it is so by name only.

The constitutional crisis was meat for pure theorists and for fools. Understanding the desire to have and maintain power would have been a more practical approach to providing a solution to this problem. Even, in my ignorance, I could see an easy way out.

Instead we were writing nonsense about ‘founding fathers’ instead of admitting that we had was a copy and paste by someone in the British civil service.

𝐈𝐭 𝐰𝐨𝐮𝐥𝐝 𝐧𝐨𝐭 𝐬𝐮𝐫𝐩𝐫𝐢𝐬𝐞 𝐦𝐞 𝐢𝐟, 𝐚𝐭 𝐬𝐨𝐦𝐞 𝐭𝐢𝐦𝐞 𝐢𝐧 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐟𝐮𝐭𝐮𝐫𝐞, 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝟑𝟎 𝐨𝐫 𝟐𝟗 𝐢𝐬 𝐟𝐮𝐫𝐭𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐫𝐞𝐝𝐮𝐜𝐞𝐝.

𝐈𝐟 𝐌𝐢𝐚 𝐢𝐬 𝐮𝐧𝐚𝐛𝐥𝐞 𝐭𝐨 𝐚𝐝𝐝𝐫𝐞𝐬𝐬 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐩𝐫𝐨𝐛𝐥𝐞𝐦𝐬 𝐜𝐨𝐧𝐟𝐫𝐨𝐧𝐭𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐢𝐬𝐥𝐚𝐧𝐝, 𝐰𝐞 𝐦𝐚𝐲 𝐬𝐞𝐞 𝐚 𝐟𝐞𝐰 “𝐫𝐚𝐭𝐬 𝐥𝐞𝐚𝐯𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐬𝐢𝐧𝐤𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩” 𝐨𝐫 𝐚 𝐝𝐢𝐫𝐞𝐜𝐭 𝐜𝐡𝐚𝐥𝐥𝐞𝐧𝐠𝐞 𝐭𝐨 𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐥𝐞𝐚𝐝𝐞𝐫𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩.

𝐓𝐡𝐞 𝐟𝐮𝐭𝐮𝐫𝐞 𝐢𝐬 𝐧𝐨𝐭 𝐬𝐨 𝐨𝐛𝐬𝐜𝐮𝐫𝐞; 𝐜𝐨𝐦𝐩𝐥𝐞𝐱 𝐬𝐢𝐭𝐮𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐬 𝐦𝐚𝐤𝐞 𝐟𝐨𝐫 𝐠𝐨𝐨𝐝 𝐝𝐢𝐬𝐜𝐮𝐬𝐬𝐢𝐨𝐧, 𝐛𝐮𝐭 𝐚𝐥𝐰𝐚𝐲𝐬 𝐥𝐨𝐨𝐤 𝐟𝐨𝐫 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐬𝐢𝐦𝐩𝐥𝐞 𝐚𝐧𝐬𝐰𝐞𝐫.

30-0 can cut both ways. It may be a blessing or a curse. Let’s hope Mia is able to rise to the occasion ad is able to prevent Barbados’s spiral into the black hole

29. *are further

30. @ enuff
    Why are you surprised that so many fail to see the game plan?
    What could be better for the BLP than an opportunity to not only appoint the PM, but ALSO the LOTO.

Given the PM’s demeanour at the press conference, Bushie would not sleep very well if the bushman was one of those thieving scumbags involved in relocating public resources to private hands….

The FACT that Ms Mottley so OPENLY and TRANSPARENTLY outlined the facts of the skulduggery bodes ill for the culprits – and sends a message that HER government intends to be different…. hope springs eternal….

Bushie is prepared to give her the benefit of the doubt….. for the time being at least.

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yes Bushman..

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother in Arms Bush Tea

Whuloss

You like you watching this thing with a microscope

How many bajans do you think have even been observing those nuances

Did you see how Dale Marshall adopted the genuflection mode?

IT was incredible to watch

Some of them are going to do some prison time and when they flee the jurisdiction while appealing AND ON BAIL those persons who they leave will rue the day that they did not give them up as part of the plea bargaining

33. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

PUDRYR

Today’s press statement was even more interesting.

The body language of all the officials standing behind Mia was the most funereal I have ever seen in any Press statement.

Those faces were grim.Those people knew that we are now going fully into uncharted territory and that they themselves are the only thing that stands between Barbados becoming a failed state or fighting our way back to near the status we once had. Even the brave Mia, of the stiff upper lip, appeared to have broken down near the end. They all realised that we have reached the point of no return.

This is the real deal. Barbados has to support this Government. Barbados has to trust Mia and her Government to do what is right.
    Why? Because she and her government cannot afford to fail. That is not an option and they know it. Their faces said so.

34. An unforeseen event for my fellow CanBajans living in Ontario.

“Staring at certain defeat, Kathleen Wynne has conceded she “will no longer be Ontario’s premier” after Thursday’s election.
    https://www.thestar.com/news/queenspark/2018/06/02/wynne-concedes-she-will-lose-thursdays-election-urges-voters-to-elect-liberal-mpps-as-a-check-on-ford-or-horwath.html

35. Lawson must be wetting himself with glee..lol

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Are We There Yet

You said and I quote “…Why? Because she and her government cannot afford to fail. That is not an option and they know it. Their faces said so…”

And THAT is THE MILLION DOLLAR STAYEMENT

“She and her government CANNOT AFFORD TO FAIL…”

Few persons are appreciating that central theme AND WHAT IT IMPORTS TO Prime Minister Mia Mottley

37. @ my fellow CanBajontarians,

The Liberal party is projected to get less than 8 seats and could lose official party status

Similarities to the DLP.

Apologies to those of you focused on the rebuilding of Barbados and the locking up of Dems and friends.

https://www.cp24.com/news/liberals-could-win-as-few-as-seven-seats-in-2018-election-poll-1.3348908

38. @Hants
    Can’t understand Wynne’s strategy but she has access to all the polls that we don’t see. I normally do advance polling but so far haven’t done so but today an NDP canvasser approached me in the Parking lot at the local Superstore, first time I was approached all year so the NDP are pretty hopeful in my area.

Bottom line I don’t think people like Dougie or Horvath very much but they want change.

39. @ Sargeant,

I voting for Mitzie Hunter.

I Think Wynne is angry because she feels Ontarians should be more grateful and forgiving for her “transgressions”..

Ford is Trump lite and Horvath is a female Bob Rae.

Interesting times ahead.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wynne is in the same position as the Dems. Having won the last election under “ideal conditions” she proceeded to throw a good phuck into her citizens during this last term. Now it is payback time.
    She will lose because of her failure to address the issues under her predecessor. One 4 month sentence under appeal? For costing the Province billions in gas plant cancellations, a dirty Green energy program, and mismanagement of Hydro. Not that either ‘other option’ is very attractive, but the people are rightly not giving Winnie another chance.
    Whomever carries the GTA becomes the next Premier.

41. […] provision’s lack of clarity. The latter is a view that I espoused last week in a column entitled An unforeseen event and was one seemingly shared by the government, even if only ex abundanti cautela (out of an […]

42. […] weigh in intelligently on the matter. I had commented a few days ago in an opinion  piece entitled An unforeseen event that the Constitutional draftsman had made a hash of our section 75 which might have been intended […]

43. […] in An unforeseen event in May, I again sought to contrast this with the much clearer provision from Trinidad & […]